(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

hi all, need some advice on pram/strollers. Haven't bought any as yet and want to do it this weekend. Which is a good brand and what is a good place to buy where I have wide brand range for selection? Thanks

Miemie, py,
looks like all the carat club princesses have the same hot fiery temper. Thot im the only one w a chilli padi on my hands. Hehe... Stupid hb said she got my bad temper... Hmph!!!

hi all, need some advice on pram/strollers. Haven't bought any as yet and want to do it this weekend. Which is a good brand and what is a good place to buy where I have wide brand range for selection? Thanks

Ladies : Can give me some feedbacks? Urgent!!

What do you think of the name - Cullen?
Was thinking of naming my didi Cullen Yan.

His Chinese name will be 袁榮樂.

vin: if u gg for japan / korean brands, can try baby kingdom. for european brands, can try baby hypermart or baby avenue. they have huge selections for baby strollers..

for brand wise i think it's very individual.. cant really comment much abt that. but i'm using quinny buzz

funzee : Amelie is so cute.
well taken pic :D man.. nice silky hair *jealous*. my kid v little hair. grandparents took their 1st look at him and say 'no hair'.

i think i got a night owl in my hands
from what i monitor for past 2 days.

daytime he can sleep like 3-4 hour stretch (may be longer if i dun wake him up). night time request feed between 2-3 hours.
seems like he still no no diff between night and day?
hmm since at night he feed more often.. u think the daytime 3-4hour stretch i should let him sleep as long as he wants? his eye bag starting to pop out le.

5-9pm is a v odd time. He is normally v cranky. request for feed. but can't possibly feed him for so long right? this is the time he eat, poop, pee, wanna eat somemore..cycle.. not sure how to deal w this little man.

Trying really hard to catch up on the older posts. Seems like all problems you all encountered are coming to bug me.

Bf is still a nightmare for me. Bb yuxi has this 'smacking' habit using her tongue that latching her is really painful. Nipples are chewed n blistered although could see improvment yet becos
the llatch is not ideal very hard to stimulate milk to come. Suspect I'm still serving colostrum thought it's flowing form
already. Anyone has any idea how to kick this weird habit of hers? Very helpless lor. Last night she Woke up hourly to
feed N no poo poo since yesterday. Also want to start pumping but at this stage dunno if it's worthwhile. Any kind advice??

CL still ok. Although suggested me to supplement with
fm but did tell her I want to do total bf till at least wk2 so if I
let bb yuxi sleeps with her she will send her tome.

Honestly i dun mind supplementing with fm but CL doesn't
want to feed by cup or spoon. So decided to be stubborn.

Also spoke to my mum about stop pressuring me about fm. Told her I really need bb's suction now to stimulate milk so that I can at least keep some in 2 weeks time. At least for now she's on my side. Next is mil. Later she is coming. Sigh told her that CL will take care of me but she still wantto cook food over. Going to ask hubby to explain to her. Else she will keep thinking that I'm starving her grand daughter.

Anyway I'm going to call breastfeeding.org to ask for a lactation consultant to come to my place. Going to hang on still.

Astro, I'm going to lose all my sot-ness already! Motherhood
is darn serious! I'm going to be a boring person soon!

hi all, just to check did you all let baby sleep in aircon room? whole day or only at night?

the room that i'm staying in is damn stuffy and hot! so i on the air con 24/7 only off it during baby bath time or changing time.. so my mil is really paranoid over the air con usage!!

Most of the time baby will be in the room as there's a dog in the house, (mil uses the wan jie lin chu chen zhi to "clean" the floor daily) but of coz there's bound to have fur all over.. yes she nv mop or vacume the floor daily!! or should i say she NEVER MOP the floor .. never see her mopping the floor since i'm with my hb during the dating times.

i'm afraid it will affect the baby.. so we didnt put her often in the living room..

now she open the window, on the fan in the room.. wah lao it's still very stuffy .. if baby kena heat rash again or what i gonna make noise again.

Ytd she came back from her doc visit.. she told me that she asked the doc if baby can sleep air con.. the doc say better not.. ha ha i think even if the doc say can, she will tell me doc say cannot or better dun. *rolleyes*

gal,
I normaly put keith on my combi stroller n stroll him aro d hse 4 few mins during his cranky hrs n it works as he wil b in lala land within mins.or u can stil sit on your sofa n uses your leg 2 move d stroller back n forth. Becos d stroller is small,so he feel veri secure inside.tis will oni works if he is nt hungry. Tis method works 4 both my boys.

Dreamygal,
Nt sure hw 2 pronounce d name so cant comment. I rem u wanted 2 name him glendon last time?glendon sounds nice 2 me.

Funzee,
D hair is exactly wat my no 1 had last time !my keith got nt muc hair leh.amelie looked so alert n cute ! I shld hv sign up 4 d package earlier on.

Funzee,
Wow, your baby is lovely. My babies have little hair. My elder gal at 15+ months now still has thin hair. Don't know what to do.

Tien,
It's not easy. I got post natal blues because of bfg last time. Don't be too stressed up while you press on.

Astro / Dreamgal / ddnikz / Funzee,
I'm glad that CL said my boy's diaper rash is gone today. 9+ am fed him with 60ml of EBM. Hurray!!!

re: breast feeding

i am also of the mummies who have prob in bfeeding.. not sure if my supply is enuff for my bb. haiz..

my bb doesnt seem to be very well versed in latching. he usually latch for abt 5min, then he will stop.and it's almost impossible to latch on both breasts at each feeding.

mummies with huge milk supply, pls correct my BF method if i am on the wrong track.

what i have been practising is feed on demand, then pump milk when breast is full or after latching the bb or 2.5-3hrly depending. however, i dun understand why every time after i pump my milk, my breast still feel full? (note: pumping for 30min) anyone has the same prob?

then if i only pump single side at one time, the total for both breast will be ard 10-40ml max. however, if i do dual pump at same time, the qty shoot to 30-60ml.

and just 2 days ago, i found a new method, which is latch bb on one side, then pump the other side concurrently. and WAH, the qty shoot up fast. the 'pumped' breast immediately will have the let down effect which result in getting more milk.so after latching, i will pump the latched breast to empty out the milk. sometimes i will have like 70-100ml. Mummies with low milk ss, try this method and see if it helps.

someone, pls comment on my BF method. need to get the correct method before my supply starts dropping.

thanks in advance.

ong : hmm.. the ting is 5-9 when i test using my finger if he wanna suckle, he will greedily suckle (like never ending hunger?). hmm . i have a combi shaker. will try that out tonight (if he becomes cranky) :D

PY : when we at TMC. bb pretty much in a cool room ah (nursery) no?

my babe oso have heat rash. but its clearing (except the back). v tempted later to put him on his belly (while i watch him of coz) to 'cool his back'.

Tien :
Let's jiayou BF together ya. dun give up. am sure the LC would be able to assist you. hang in there.

limmil : latch and pump one side. wow.... i was tinking of trying that. after reading what you wrote. am going to do that during next latch!!

my pumped out quantity still not as much as yours. However since my bb got poo/pee the required quantity (6-8 wet diapers) and he got sleep 1-3 hrs stretch, me thinks he is full. monitor his poo/pee.

gal: try it.. u wil be surprised with the result..

but i stil trying to figure out what causes my breast to be blocked. i can only have let down when i use dual pump or latch and pump at same time.

my bb day 10 today. but they say by day 10, our supply should be at least 750ml per day.. haha.. wah, not easy for me to reach that qty.

ya.. i am monitoring his pee/ poo everytime. but his is more on smear de, so not sure it is becoz he has not been drinking to his required qty.

dear mummies,
do you know where / any freelancer who shaves baby hair at full month? The stylist who shaved my elder gal's hair is also doing confinement now, so she can't shave my boy's hair.

or do you know where to buy those baby shaver? I googled but can't find info online.

limmil,
I think you are doing a good job, it is good to latch one side and pump the other - this was advice given when I called breastfeeding support group for help last year. Good for you!

Sorry me can't comment from my experience cos my having terrible time. Short nipples and bb can't latch after we gave him teats. (sniff). And my supply is low cos bb can't latch.

ewe: yaya.. for 2 days i gave bb teats, then after that he nearly forgot how to latch. *faint*

so i decided not to btl feed him. but we are risking coz dunno whether is he drinking well?

but its really not easy to latch and pump at same time. sometimes, bb get choked by the let down, then he starts struggling,or coughing..

sometimes really feel helpless.. esp after pumping, we need to wash and sterilise the pumps.. tiring..

as for shaving bb's hair, i think i will only shave on his 4th mth when his skull more hard.
for full month, i just yi4 si4 yi4 si4 cut a little bit hair first. else, wait botak take photos during full month not handsome.. heehee

gal: try put ur baby on those netted bouncer during daytime.. more cooling, then slping in their bed.

maybe will help reduce heat rash..

limmil :750ml p day? err....... *faint* maybe each bb different? its just a guide :p (pacifying myself hehe)

pee/poo - what u mean smear?

limmil,
good that you have latched him again. For me, my boy had high jaundice in his first two weeks, so PD told us cannot let him go hungry - cos he needs liquid. Therefore, for his wellness, I wanted to give him formula.

I try to bond with him at times,... hoping he will latch, so far none times successful. Deep in my heart, still hoping for miracle, but I don't dare to dream about it too much - afraid of disappointment.

don't be discouraged. it's good to latch and pump - but if too difficult then don't do it too often. yeah... washing and sterilising pumps are stressful.. esp if you are on 3 hourly pumping cycle. that's why I like to use hand to express. ahhaa. Also because nothing much comes up when I use pump lah.

I shaved my ger's hair when she was 1 month.. so I guess I need to do the same for didi.

gal: hmm.. 750ml is based on the following link.. hee..

so far, i dun have that qty also.. but think py or famela can reach there .. based on the qty they expressed. hee..

http://www.hollister.com/us/files/pdfs/breastfeeding/establish_milk_supply.pdf

http://www.hollister.com/us/files/pdfs/breastfeeding/basics_effective_pumping.pdf

as for smear
http://newborns.stanford.edu/Breastfeeding/FeedingChecklist.html

i also dunno how to explain..the poo is little bit only. machiam like when he farted, then the poo come out with that.. haha.. anyway, i failed the above checklist.

ewe: now latching too much also prob, bb is treating my nip as his pacifier ( i stopped myself from getting a pacifier incase he dun want to latch) to fall asleep in the night.
jia lut !!

limmil my express qty in my fb is w/o latching the baby leh .. just purely wake up and pump. i use bottle feed at night
so far no nipple confusion.

gal> yah.. but i think the nursery room is not as cold as our ward. coz when the nurse push the bb into our ward, we were ask to switch off the air con haha

Gal> yah Ida also ask me to latch and pump at the same time. this can help to increase milk supply ha ha.. but i think v difficult leh need someone to help

py: haha.. i see.. but considered v good le.. at least the pumping can hit that amount.

mine must combine both side.. so good, no nipple confusion. my boy now last feed will treat my nip as pacifier, trying pulling away few times, but he will cry for it.. must find ways to stop him b4 he get too used to it.

re: aircon rm
so far my bb only occasionally stay in aircon rm, otherwise,we will turn on fan for him.. during daytime, we seldom wrapped him coz weather now super hot.. (dunno why after i gave birth till now, no rain at all)..
anyway, i already broke some of the confinement rules.. hee..

ehh that amt is the total for both side lah! i pour all into 1 bottle and keep in fridge hehe.. if 1 side can get 150ml wah power lor!

we gave her pacifier at night if she toss and turn.. but she will spit it out before she goes to deep sleep. seems like she dun really like pacifier haa gd gd

ya hor i also realise leh no rain at all. HOT HOT HOT!!!

limmil,
for first few weeks, it's okie to latch on demand. I think after some weeks got to start a routine.. so that bb doesn't snack - bb should get full meal, then wake for some time and them sleep.

having said that, I failed to establish the eat/wake/sleep cycle with my elder gal. was so stressed up about it until make my in laws stressed.

this time I take it easy.. can do do, cannot nevermind - as parents we just got to be more "xin1 ku3" if no cycle is established.

THANKS ASTRO FOR UPDATING!!!

Ladies, u can find out my birth story from facebook. :D pictures with caption.

Finally, the wait is over... phew...

and i think Mt A food is good.. simply because it doesnt taste like hospital food. :D

my baby not even one day old and here u girls are talking about one month celebration. hehe.

Have been glancing thru the post but no mood to post anything....

Had gynae check yesterday, have not dilated and gynae thinks it will be another week before any action takes place. Really hope baby will be an Oct baby and not wait till EDD (02 Nov) to pop...

My baby girl has gained another 200g and is now at 2.6kg. She is so comfortably snuggled up inside me that she is not ready for any action. Was told by someone that based on 8 characters etc., 28th Oct is good for my baby to pop *keeping my fingers crossed*

I am so anxious to meet my baby, in fact getting quite impatient (especially with everyone asking) but also nervous coz dun know what to expect and worried of the pain....

Guess can only pray about it and wait, wait, wait......

Astro:
Glad that I still have u for company....hehe

py: i think my gyne did quite a gd job stitching me up.. hence it wasnt tt bad...

angie: i think 2.6kg seems small.. let her grow a little more first? but 28 oct still seems hopeful!

i feel my baby is never full when he latches, even for more than an 1hr.

must pump out and feed him then he's satisfied

funzee: reading ur comment about digital scale made me feel so stupid! haha, I tried to weigh baby after reading about the digital scale, I put him on the scale, but he's too long, so ended up cannot measure. Then I was thinking of finding some container to put him in, but there isn't one that's big enough.

never occured to me to weigh myself then carry him and subtract.

limmil/PY : *sniff* i tried latching left and pumping right. so excited and keep staring at right. saw milk 'squirting' out. sigh.. but only pump 20ml. will persevere and continue since it will increase milk supply. (a bit ma fan though to wash and sterilise. haha)

hand express :
those who hand express. u take bottle, aim and press?
how long do u hand express?

angie : er.. take tis time to sleep as much as you can
. after bb pop.. hee hee..sleep is luxury :p

Hi, mummies..

My milk supply is also dropping as days goes by.. so sad.. wonder why.. Wat can we eat to boast the milk supply? I used to have a lot.. but now only need to pump once a day and sighzz.. the amt was quite miserable..

Is it true tat exessive pumping will reduce milk supply? This is wat my sis told me.. dunno true or not.. Sighzz.. I want to latch my bb but it seems like he is still hungry after suckling.. dunno is it my milk not enough

Btw, any1 doing the "Tai Mao Bi" (the paintbrush) using bb's hair?

Hi mummies just to share some Charlotte's new born photoshoot that we took ytd
for those who do not have my FB account hehe

3148395.jpg

3148396.jpg

3148397.jpg

3148398.jpg

She's only 11 day old lol

Angie >> don't feel anxious abt the bb's birth..she will arrive in her time. take the opportunity now to enjoy a movie, go and have a succession of good restaurant dinners and sleep alot! As you can read from the posts here, the first few days/weeks are very sleep deprived days so it'd be good for you to charge up yr sleep batteries now

PY >> super cute pics..i love her large and expressive eyes!

PY >> haha..i thought whoa..D cup is powerful..150ml! grin..but 150ml for a combined output is still very impressive!

tien >> awww...you'll regain your usual self in three weeks' time except for the natural eyeshadow...anyway, ((((hugs))))

fiery temper >> Audrey joins the club...

xoxo>> hahaha yeah her eyes are big.. but those shots hor really dun look like newborn man.. more like 3 months old liao lol... she's growing fast!!
sometimes within 1hr + already crying for milk. I scare she drink too much man hehe..

When i pour into the bottle see 150ml wah v shiok leh hehehe :D must continue to drink papaya soup dunno is it bcoz of that so got more and more milk lol

Loke>> yeah actually i tot i'll enjoy visitors leh but during that time.. the stitches was so painful and i hope they wont come! i want to rest lol.