(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

tien: i see.. shucks. i think one scan of yu he he was sucking his fingers?!.. i read it is common.. and i hope it is nothing indicative that the little chap will foil my bf-ing plans this time! i dun see teng, in his ultrasound scans, sucking on his fingers but he was a strong sucker who has an obessive need to suck.. haiz.. meanwhile. u take care hor

hippo: u can read jap? i clicked on nepia link.. cannot enter the english site leh..

ladies who are more established on bf-ing now.. nipples all good and fine now? no more soreness/cracks/bleeding? haiz.. wondering how it will be like for me this time round..
chiam i anyhow think already.. must mantain a certain level of positiveness..
please help to encourage me a bit bit when it is FINALLY my turn? haiz.. sian..:S

PY: mdm rokiah didnt tell me who is my therapist. she say someone will call me a few days before my first session to tell me timing etc. then pay $200 on first session n balance when all sessions have completed.

think u shd get NB size too. my boy is 3.5+kg now n using huggies NB size still. usu NB size can be up to 5kg, unless of course charlotte got really chubby thighs... hee

Gal^,
hahaha u think i Wonderwoman ah?! I fully latch her so far lah. Thats my #1 priority n so far supply = demand. I only pump twice a day after two of the feeding sessions. Normally the sessions right after i wake up from nap cos thats when yield is highest.

Cos i dun wanna intro bottle too early so no point storing so much so soon. Cos nutritional makeup of bm changes w babys age. I only store some in case of emergency. But am increasing pumping frequency in anticipation of 3rd/4th wk growth spurt.

http://www.nepia.com.sg/english/index.html

astro,
i try my best. But i also not very expert leh. Encouragement sure can!
talkg abt schedules, i hve been recording all the feeds in a diary as well. But not able to achieve 3 hrs til now leh. Still on demand n interval is 2-3hrs. it fluctuates lor. At least now can get some 3-hr stretch at night so we catch up on sleep. *pant*

hippo : hahaha.. i reli tot u wonder woman.
was wondering how u do it. hehehehe. coz' i got latch but reli no strength to pump out.

hippo: thanks

i feeling a bit emo.. actually woke up sobbing cause i had a touching dream?! what is this man? hormonal imbalance me.. chiam..
i think it is because isabel not back to birthweight. but i have this sense that you are doing fairely well with her.. once she hits birth weight.. i think she can stretch liao.. slowly... isabel's progress very encouraging so far leh..

Astro,
really? Good something to look forward to. Shes 3.4 kg now already so almost there. Hopefully can stretch. Heli back to work nxt week. Dun want his rest n work to be affected.

my dream darn funny.. and super ridiculous..

i went to france because i had to bring back my little sister who was raised by the lady who i used to stay with for my student exchange. My little sister had to come back because dunno why i offended the daughter of the lady when miser and I met her on the streets of france one particular night in a cafe. i was asking how come a particular church closes so early in french.. but as uaual some vocab mistakes they couldn't understand.. then thry spoke in mandrain.. then we realised they are singaporeans! huh. how did the french lady have a singaproean daughter?.. ok. nvm. move on.. then asked them to show us around. nitialy they dun want.. then they said ok.. so we went to find them the next day.. then dunno why miser disappeared from the picture.. then all of a sudden i had to thank the lady for taking care of my little sister. i took my little sister's things which were actually clothes of teng?!!! then i woke up crying.. :S
then teng was ready to go to school. same thing lah. opening the door and demanding me to wake up to go with him. i had to wipe my tears else ellie think i sot liao! now i wondering.. how come i cried? sot.. really sot..
the whole dream is RIDICULOUS!

Good morning mummies,

My CL showed me my boy's bum... they are very red. CL said it's because he is gassy and poos as if he has diarrheora after taking my EBM the past few day (he only takes them in the day / afternoon).

I suggested to CL to feed him FM totally today so that his bum will have time to rest. But after a sad night, this morning, I told her maybe give him alternate feeds, e.g. give EBM in between FM.

Then next thing I know, MIL say boy's red bums and I could sense "ouch" from her heart.

So what's next? I don't know. But last night, I lost the motivation to express. I slept longer. (*guilty*)

I threw away 1 bottle of EBM this morning (about 40ml only)... after I used some to apply on eyebrows of baby, elder girl and my own haha... we have thin eyebrows.
Tears rolled before I threw it away haha.. my hardwork down the sink.

The next bottle (same volume), I used to feed my elder gal who has been consipated. She cried a few times the past few days when she was passing motion. I hope my EBM will make her poo. She hasn't pooed since Tuesday morning. Went to see PD last night already... Sigh.

What's wrong with me ahr? Short nipples lah (so cannot latch), low volume of EBM lah... and boy boy drink already got diarrhoea and red bums lah.. aiyoh-yoh! (my elder gal's favourite phrase)

Loosing it.

:-|

Ewe: first of all.. what's the evidence that ur CL has to say that ur EBM caused all the gassiness? . i feel that is very accusatory of her leh.. BM is naturally laxative leh. and bf bbs can poo after every feed.. so maybe according to her.. that is diarrhoea..? and what is the consistuencty of the stool? did u manage to take a look? if it is the yellowish mustard.. then it is ok wor.. it is not going to e like the firm poo of a FM leh.. ur cl knows about the diff or not? regarding the diaper rash. she needs to be mroe careful if she is the one taking care mah. how can everything also blame u?? as much as Astro dun like CLs.. but i am rational aout this wor...

cld ur boy be lactose intolerant? he is ok on FM?
or the EBM isnot stored properly? ur fridge is cool enough?

Astro,
yeah loh, it's mustard yellow. She say gassy leh... cos got "air bubbles" in the stools.

I told her maybe it's diaper rash but she say it's due to the pooing loh.

No choice lah.. got to bear with her... and hope things turn out well.

Lactose intolerant - maybe cos I am a little bit so. But he seems ok on FM leh - he slept well after FM, says CL... but can't sleep after EBM.
(aiyah, her words also not quite true lah... my boy now wide awake after FM just now.)...
Cos we are not experts, so no one can "fight" CL loh...

I was stressed about this same issues last year with my gal and this CL... but I thought this time I will be ok... I guess maybe now I can take such stuff better than last year.

My fridge is 3 degrees celcius and I keep them at the back of the fridge on the first level leh.

Astro: Encouragement sure can.. free flow for you (provided you leave some girls for my Andre) *wink* :D *pat pat on the shoulder* *hugs*

Hippo: i also record all the feedings, how long baby fed and poo in a diary. Cos sometimes, left breast or right breast i also blur. Andre is not very consistent. Sometimes he goes on marathon feedings, solid suckling for 50 mins, sometimes, 15 mins, he doze off liao.

Ginger: oh dear, CL left liao, how are you going to cope? You seemed happy though ... Mine is starting to get on my nerves too. Talk too much, and she keep repeating her story over and over again. Last night, baby fretted from 2-5am. Everytime, he "Ek" a bit, she will bring him to the room for me to pacify and ask me to feed. She didn't even bother to swaddle or rock him a little to sleep. haiz...

And because i moved home from my mum's place mid of confinement and got this CL, my mum will drop by and call now and then, and tell me this CL no good. *URGH.....* fan si ren le

siangjiao,
Our CL so different. My CL doesn't like to bring my baby to me. Keep asking me to rest and sleep.

siangjiao: dun like that lah.. u chope the girls can as well.. can? can? :S

ewe: The CL is talking nonsense.. can she read english? or chinese.. if i were u.. i reach my limit. i will stuff one parenting book at her and ask her to READ.

Ewe: Nowadays these CL all act like they are specialists and doctors like that ... Whatever i do always seems wrong. They all got their theories..

Yours may be a case of diaper rash. Did she check and change baby regularly? Did the nappy cream help? 1st time i hear this thoery, gassy poo can make the bum red.

Ewe: are u a chinese? can read chinese characters?
Astro feeling quite mean now.. maybe u can tell the CL this when u have the chance? ' auntie, 请你过来一下。我有-本书。你收下。 这对你以后工作非常有帮助!'

ewe : red bum = diaper rash no? no relation to ur EBM wut.
diarhoe, bb poo is still liquid at this stage ah. not the hard hard kind yet.

astro : think hormones ba :D amazing leh, u can remember ur dream.
no worry. preggie period get weird dreams one ah.

tis morning i started using cloth diaper.
aiyoyo, once he pee, a bit damp nia cry liew. i change two cloth diaper in 2 minutes :p. but am happy, coz' now i can see how many 'wet' diaper he has. And since midnight till now, he oledi got 5 wet(urine) diaper. confirm will hit the 6-8 wet diaper a day :D and urine is clear colour.

gal: coz it is simply too ridiculous. hence i remembered :S

ur boy is ok.. no worries.. u monitor a bit more.. weight should be back to birth weight soon. how much did u say he lose?

Astro,
haha... I can't offend this CL leh.. cos she will be doing my SIL confinement in Jan 2010. Already booked her. My SIL is the very easy going type... so she should be fine with this CL lah.

Yeah, I'm a chinese.

gal^,
don't know leh... she say today his bums got little raised bumps. Aiyoh. Yeah loh, I thought yellow mustard poo is normal for breastfed babies. Aiyoh.

siangjiao,
Just now I told her to apply rash cream again... she seemed to agree leh.

Candy White,
I never really time the 3 hourly pumping thing. I just ensure that I pump 3 to 4 times per day. After each pumping, my breasts felt very light and soft cos emptied of milk already. So the next pumping, I always "weigh" the breasts (with hands) to feel if heavy or not. If got weight, I will pump. Normally that is around 3 to 4 hours time. For hand pump, please do not squeeze. Will only damage your breast tissues and end up getting no milk. if you need to squeeze, the only area to squeeze is the aerola. The breasts area is for add pressure only. How come you get to leak milk? think lucky for me, I don't get to leak unless I sleep sideways at night.

Good luck to your next tryout. Not to worry, 7th day is the beginning to your flow of milk. My first spurt of milk is from the 7th day also. (even if then... that day only got 70ml which to me is great achievement).

Ewe,
CL got help with breast feeding? I didnt know that. Mine never help me leh. She just shook her head in pity at me whenever I got the weak attempt to breastfeed without much success... and then will have the most hated moment where she will ask me "give FM lah?" She is a nice lady but the truth hurts. and it is definitely not too encouraging. However, when she sees me very persistent in expressing milk, she started helping me by suggesting and cooking stuff that will increase in my milk supply. Happy for me also when I managed to get 90ml per expressing.

manage to get PD's clinic nurse.
fyi as well.
the drop is not drastic i.e. didn't drop to below 3kg so its still okay. so now just have to monitor poo and pee and if bb still look jaundiced. if yes then when bb 2 weeks old gotta bring back to see PD.

astro :
Baby birth weight : 3.265 kg
Baby weight @ Day5 : 3.15 kg
Baby weight @ Day 10 : 3.13 kg

BM shit looks like diarrhoea, maybe it's because u expressed mainly the fore milk. If express a little longer, then will reach the hind milk, then less explosive shit.
the only problem is i dunno how long to express to reach the hind milk.

glass: almost there.. 68 sweets :p

Ewe: ok then. for ur next kid, please dun get her back! :S

ladies.. the lady, Fave, who just posted her nursing gowns and bras.. is quite good. i had some dealings with her.. gowns are good and cheap.. she is very frenly.. i ordered the wrong size.. she welcomes my exchanges .. can go to her house for fittings before u actually order also.. prompt svs too. reliable spreeist

How's everyone doing? I've been mooing away, pumping at 2 hourly interval. And because my pump is Avent manual, I couldn't type. But has been slient reader.

Realise that I'm not alone in unsuccessful latching. I thought I was doing well in the hospitalafter sister kang came to me. But Reagan didn't poo for 1 whole day after we came home and that's when I'm doing total latch on. I panicked and ordered DH to go and buy formula. Gave him one feed and thereafter, I concentrate on my pumping at 2 hourly. Thank god, his poo and pee became normal. I have been wanting to go back to Mt A to look for sister kang and find out what's wrong with my latch.... but I really have no energy left. Nowadays, I will latch himon once a day but it's all comfort sucking till he sleep

I was rather depressed and broke down a few times.

Let's all jia you together in this mooing business!

Astro,
They were saying if you can remember your dreams, then it will not come ture...

ewe,
I think your cf lady just want u to do formula so that it's easier for her! Don't fell for it!

glass,
my bb is taking hind milk plus some foremilk leh... but her poop is still the sticky kind. I think that is normal? PD told me that the more darker the poop is the better coz means the jaundice "toxic" flows out of the bb's body. Guess I still happy to see the yellow poop.

Ewe,
If your CL really that bad, don't recommend her to your SIL lah... afterall, she has to "tolerate" the nonsense for 1 full month leh.

I am pretty firm with my CL. No arguments. If I say is not means is not. She listens to me. Maybe you should start practising that...

sotong: sometimes the latching is so long, I get tired, he falls asleep, and I'll just express the rest. He can drink that from bottle much faster, plus someone else can feed him. I'm starting to feel lazy. coz when latching, takes up so much of my time.

Glass,
It depends on how you define squeeze. The 4th and 3rd fingers should add pressure to the breast. but not literally squeeze. I read that if we squeeze too much, the breast tissue will be damaged and then will lead to those block ducts and stuff. Cant say that i am professional enough to give advice, but from 1 week experience in hand expressing, I do not have any block ducts or engorgement using my method. **cross my fingers**

astro : i called the LC hotline they immediately say i underfed bb ma. worry or not. heheeh.. coz' they say day 10 should be birth weight.

ya. i sms-ed my hb to go buy the digital weighing scale liew.

glass : ya ya. haha..there was one time my HB carry Elias to put him back to the hospital nursery. Elias was zz. then at the door we hear a super loud fart. Elias open eye big big as if saying ' what was that, was that me?' hahaha...so funny :p

my mom say i must eat a bit of ginger so my bm got a bit of ginger to help bb release air. yest evening i ate a bit. seems to work i think coz' i heard him fart 2 times today.

glass : hey. But you used algebra? This one psle, cannot use algebra solve :p

Sotong : glad to hear from you. If you want bf raegan, think only thing is keep trying. How about getting lc come your house? I know that's exp though.

The dream can't come true coz simply too ridiculous. :p

Ewe: yeap pls dun be tied to this particular cl. I'm sure there are plenty of good ones in the market!

glass,

My problem is he will just fell asleep after 5 mins of sucking. after that, no matter what I do, he will not wake up or will just comfort suck. I did the latch n then express for a day or 2. That's when I broke down. cos really no time to sleep at all! I was on night duty as dh has return to work n I refuse to let him sleep with us. So it's latch for about an hour, then feed baby for 20mins then pump for an hour, wash & sterlise. after this, bb will wake up again.

gal : ha. You increase your feeding frequency. Wake elias up. Don't let him over sleep. Shd be fine.

I remembered i asked the nurse an innocent qn last time, how come my boy doesn't cry one?. The nurses laugh at me. Now i know why cause i want stuff paper balls into teng's mouth when he whines!

sotong: that happened to teng last time also. I took his top off! Then he screamed and was wide awake for his feed. The lazy bummer was too cozy swaddled up!

Astro,

Any idea roughly how much does it cost to get the lc to come? My supply has establish so I'm now trying to get back my energy. But the thought of going out with reagan alone with the troublesome ebm method is keeping me away from going to mt A.

Your maths sum remain me of what happen to me in my son's cc. One day, when I reached the cc, the teachers was so happy to see me. They have been trying to solve one P4's problem sums but can't do it. I tired and can only do 2 out of 3. It's really not easy! And I took half an hour to think and do! Really not easy to be a student nowadays!

ewe: since when diaper rash is due to EBM??? dun let her fool u! my boy had diaper rash upon discharge from hosp. so my sis suggested using cloth nappy n liners for the time being until rash clears up. oh, n avoid using wipes for the time being... using cotton n boiled water to clean before applying cream.

astro/siangjiao: we wanted to sack her this sat anyway but good that she resigned on her own accord. she is basically incompetent; cooking, babycare n hsework all CMI. scolding her everyday whenever i see her take shortcuts or do things in unhygenic manner. duno how many mummies she has fooled alr. luckily my sis n mil has been telling me what she has been doing wrongly. ytd, during the midnight feed, the milk spilt to the hanky n her own fingers but she didnt even feel it. until my husb scolded her n ask her to pay more attn to the bb. this morning, when we woke up, she told my husb she is sick n wants to go back. we didnt bother to retain her n my husb quickly go n withdraw cash for her n send her packing. pay her pro-rated amount.

Hahaha Astro, that's a "cool" method! N I assume you are in air con room? Hmm... can try this but gotta lock the door to prevent my mil from seeing! But what if he still carries on with comfort suck only? Cos he can do that for half an hour to an hour! I know now that's what he's doing cos he didn't poo at all for 24 hrs.

Im back again...finally unload my bb boy Naven on the 10 oct 2am, exactly same birthdate as mummy. He weighs 3.255 at birth. Yesterday went for check up weighs 3.8 oredi... overall feeding well. On total bfeeding