(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Astro,
I don't dare to try be SAHM... cos financially it will be stressful to start off with. Though I keep wondering if I can be a good SAHM.

Aiyoh.. I just let CL be lah. Last time I had her, I told myself not to get her again.. but this time I still get her back... for selfish reasons - her cooking is good (ROFL) ahhaa. I told myself to be happy regardless of what happens.... if baby seems better after stopping my EBM so be it lah... then I also no need to express miserable volume until so charm haha. (yeah yeah.. I say that now.. but later I'll be upset to see EBM thrown away.. know myself too well).

ddinkz,
haha... I know lah.. heartache leh.. to throw away. But me in difficult position lah. I stay with in laws.. and they tend to believe what CL says cos they are none the wiser mah.. so I don't want to stage a rebel lah. I will still express and see how loh.

Btw,... how do you wake up at night 3 hourly har? I keep oversleeping tho alarm is on leh... pek chek leh.

ddnikz: goon? got such brand? my massage lady ask me to try err.. nepia? is there such brand? and she say can get it from SMH .. but i cant seem to find it

Gal^,
u may wanna consider at least 8 feeds a day? Ideal range is 8-12 times a day. Isabel averages 10 a day now. She was still -10% of birthweight when we saw pd on mon. He said shud try n feed more so i just feed her on demand since. Today she has gained back abt 8% so we r good.

PY,
m using Nepia cos was told got very good reviews abt it being dry n airy. I dunno what other brands price r like so just let u know a pack of 60 diapers cost $15, based on order of 4 packs.

hippo>> hmm i went to see the website (search via google) they dun seem to have M size or bigger?
if i buy 4 pkts of S .. if later cannot wear liao how ?

Ewe>> ok
maybe gotta get small pkt and trial and error hehe!

Ewe,
Oh... should recommend you my CL. Her cooking is good... and she super flexible (even allows me to go out buy things).. but... I using her now. Your next one I recommend you bah? :p

Ah... Night time I ask the CL to give her FM. Else she will use the expressed milk in the fridge. So I no need to wake up at all.

PY,
I got Goon from diapers.com.sg. Read somewhere can get from NTUC but cant see it at all. Request for a sample to try first bah?

Candy white: *Hugs* Read your breastfeeding woes and dun worry about feeling all emotional. I broke down several times when i started breastfeeding too... breast engorged, baby went on nursing strike for one full day, nipples bleeding and crazily pain. All the issues seems to come together at the same time. And when i realized supply drop, i started panicking again. I tried looking for support, but KKH one totally sucks. The LC sounded so impatient. I called a 2nd time, they did not return my call. Do you know, they have only 3 LC and one is on maternity leave? It's crazy lor, so many people give birth everyday, many are 1st time mummies eager to start on breastfeeding and they only got 3 LCs? I realized many hospital LCs are like hotcakes like that and they simply are understaffed and not very patient. Worst still, i find them cold even though its a very emotional time for us. Anyway, i ended up calling joyful parenting. Its a voluntary breastfeeding hotline and i found the lady at the other end (Maureen) very patient and she gave pretty simple instructions and good suggestions to follow. I think you'll be able to find "professional" support there. Do give them a call if you need help (see website for #).
http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/alternative-breastfeeding-help.html

PY: i am starting to order full month cakes next week. Decided to do the following: For those who pao small ang pao (like colleagues), i will just get Bengawan Solo vouchers. I took some baby pictures, will print them out as photos, write a short thank you note behind and enclose with the vouchers for personalization. For those with big ang pows (like relatives who gave big vouchers, or gold trinklets), i'm going to get the more premium cakes from sweetest moments. Just like you, hehe, i like those baby cards leh :D

Astro: I tried the Pet Pet free sample from the hospital and think it's quite good too. A lot of my friends recommend. BTW, don't chop all the girls leh. I know i asked before but how do i shrink photo size to upload here? Hehe, i wanna "da dui tai", and do some advertising for my son here... *wink wink*

Anyone has a very sleepy baby here? My little Andre is quite a sleepy head leh. From what i see, normally babies will be the one waking their parents up to feed. For me, i have to wake him up every 3-4 hours to feed. The CL and my mum says to leave him to sleep all he wants, but since chatting with you all here, i'll ignore them and wake him up anyway. But the sleepiness, do you think its any cause for concern? Other than that, he seems pretty contented and happy leh..

siangjiao>> yeah i also like the baby cards.. but it's sad to know if some pple really throw them away lor.. like v wat leh.. anyway i'll use the photos that we'll take this fri at studio hehe hopefully charlotte coperate with us if not we wont be able to have a nice photo shooting session :D

anyway i've also yet to select my maternity shoot photos lor! wahaha.. so outdate liao

btw i remember seeing some hotline to call and ask for free diapers samplers.. i dunno where i've saved the URL liao. anybody know here? :D:D

Tien, hugs hugs. It's over and most importantly you hv your little precious with you now. And our kids share the same birthday!!

Talking about CL, i think some of them do add to our post-natal woes too...

After 4 days of starting with this CL... then i realized she is not very experienced. Haiz..
1. After diaper change, don't use nappy rash cream.
2. After bath, don't use 'ru yi oil' or the compact baby powder. She thought the powder was for my face! All these items i provide, she just keep all in the cupboard
3. Dunno how to coax baby to sleep. All she wants to do is to physcho me to give FM which i firmly told her "NO". She realized she cannot physcho me, she went to physcho my hubby. I realized if FM, then baby will sleep longer and not disturb her!
4. All my pumping equipment, she never use the baby utensils detergent to wash! She just keep in the store.
5. My baby clothes, although separate from adult ones, she still throw in the washing machine! EVERYRDAY! haiz waste water and electricity.

Her only redemption is she can cook. And she don't mind cooking a bit more for my husband. But i live in a 2-bedroom apartment lor, there's nothing much for her to do, so she just watch TV lor.

Phew... feels good to rant! But what to do, i got her last min.. just bear with her a little more.

re nepia
oh . saw it efore.. was told to me that it is good for kids with sensitive skin wor.... sounds exotic. but never try efore. i think it is one of the more premium brands also leh..
i think i try sealer for day use first.. hahah. i was telling miser.. sealer must up its marketing and packaging a bit.. newborn bb.. aiyoh. u all go and take at its model.. can laugh.. hahaha. but they got cute cute prints. i tink newborn is.. leopard? then nextone is zebra or dunno what. forgot liao :p

siangjiao: u just chope. no problem one.. eventually hor.. they will shortlist one another one. whahahah.. teng got shortlisted by a girl in the other thread leh.. everytime the girl see him.. she comes andholds his hand and goes .' teng tenggggggggggggggggg'.. dragging the last teng one.. hahahah. :p

dun teach u first.. :p. ha joking lah... depends on what editing software u hae in ur computer.. kinda complicated to tell u.. hahaha.. why not u tell me which software u prefer.. then i can give u the direct steps? :p

has andre regained his birth weight? and when u say u need to wake him up to feed hor. if u let him be.. how long will he take in excess of a , let's say, 3 hours nap to wake up? i am seeing if andre is ready for a one -two week schedule

ewe: pet pet not bad hor? :p.. mamypoker is not bad. teng using the pull up pants for night.. i think he can be totally off the night liao.. but i lazy to train. given his drastic 'fall from heaven' these days. i tink hold it first lah. his night toilet training :S
btw, how old is ur elder girl?

PY : Yar lor, my crappy husband told me "you think people very interested in your son meh?"

But I dun care lah, i happy can liao .. heheh Good luck for your studio shoot! I'm sure the professional photographer will be able to capture Charlotte's pretty moments

ddnikz: My gal is a week old today! More alert and I love her smiles.
It makes today my 7th day of birth. Find it hard to keep up with the 3 hr routine. The best I achieve is 40ml during a session today. The rest are about 20ml only. Actually my CL supplements all feeds with FM. How do you keep up with pumping 3 hourly? If u don't wake up at night to pump so will this break the momentum then end up less milk again? Tried using hand squeeze but felt painful leh.. Resort to pump.. one side electric and other side manual. Will try again tmr morn n see if there's better result.

Siangjiao: Thank you. Will call Joyful parenting tmr too. I don't wish to go down to hospital again.

Btw, how should the suction force be for pumps? It seems like the aerola and nipple get sucked into. Is that correct? Do I set it to slow then fast? I have a feeling that I may not know how to use it properly so my breast gets painful.

I m trying very had to get the stress of me...

Re: Breast pads
Now under confinement, the body temperature gets so high and I perspire a lot... Anyone in same predicament as me?... Got to change breast pads all the time... cos keep perspiring.. if don't put, milk keep leaking... If put on, Gosh... itchy like crazy...

ladies.. i am vERY bored. so decided to ask u all to help me solve a maths question :p

---------
Jim bought some chocolates and gave half of it to Ken. Ken bought some sweets and gave half of it to Jim. Jim ate 12 sweets and Ken ate 18 chocolates. The ratio of Jim’s sweets to chocolates became 1:7 and the ratio of Ken’s sweets to chocolates became 1:4. How many sweets did Ken buy?
----------------------
anyone game ?:p

Hippo: ya she really overtook your gal in terms if weight. But hor... She is not the chubby type very long and lanky. Think very heavy bone like me..

ginger: din opt for GA becos I know my hubby also wants to be there but if I have a 2nd one epidural is out of the question.

Astro: was very emo cos c-sec with epidural want never my birth plan. I was all ready for natural w/o epidural turned out it was all gone cos of my stubborn cervix.

Bluesea: so your induction was a succes! Congrats... cool my bb kay has another kaki sharing same bday

actually got a question. My darling girl is struggling with bf. She keep sticking her tongue out... Prefers licking to sucking. The LC here tries but apparently it needs a lot of training. Yet tomorrow is my last day of stay.. Getting a little stressed... Wondering anyone encountered this problem and how u all overcome?

PY: i m getting the 7 day jamu package starting 2 nov. did u pay deposit upfront? cant find the cheque book after searching for 2 days!

re: diapers
my frens all rave abt mamy poko but because it is expensive, we use it at night only. when CL leaves, we will start using diapers in the day too. nepia is cheap and good apparently, but haven tried before. saw a lot of pple snapping up nepia at motherhood fair then until the available size left was L. ntuc carries this brand though.

siangjiao: u may want to check with ur PD why y baby sleeps so much. lethargic could be a symptom of something. i read before but cant remember. my CL also sama sama but she can't even cook well. today is her 7th day n still haven cook vinegar pig's trotters for me!

re: sweetest moments
i ordered their tarts n puffs for my Guo Da Li and packaging is thumbs up but taste is so-so nia. i was so excited abt the wedding photo cards but i tink end of the day, only my mum n i kept it.... lol

ha. noone is trying the maths question. i am so lame :p
anyway...

Tien: i see. huh.. diva prefers to lick than suckle.. eh.. what did the LC teach u?

tien: i agree. epi is like the scariest part of the whole delivery. how to curl into a ball when our tummy is in the way? the sensation of tugging n pulling is not as bad. how come u just stay 3D2N nia?

Astro: The Math qn u posed looks like one frm this year's PSLE paper. Thot I saw it in the newspaper. The answer is given but I have to look for it. Can't solve it easily. Haha..

Tien: I had the same prob during hospital stay too.. Now, a week later, still got prob latching. My gal will look for my breast and keep sticking out her tongue but cries out, real loud whenever I offer her. In hospital still can do it but mostly with the help of the nurses. While you are still in hospital, just ask and ask.. If you r doing confinement, hope your CL is supportive and u can get her to help too. All the best.

candy: yalor. i took ONE look at it.. and i tell myself 'forget it'.. hahhaa.. then i asked miser (who s very strong in maths) if he wants to try it.. he said 'psle maths must be solved in a certain way'.. hahah. how PHILOSOPHICAL.. chey :p

hippo : I'll aim to feed more times. can i ask, u mention u weigh your baby today. how did you weight? u got digital weighing machine? i got the normal type but dun tink can see the decimal point in terms of weight.

gal: it is ok.. i dun expect anyone to do it :p. it is just for amusement sake that there are so many little genuises in our P6 cohort whohave to go thru such tough questions.. hahahahah. God bless teng man :p

ddnikz,
your CL good with breastfeeding? Mine is not leh.

Astro,
yeah, Pet Pet not bad. My elder gal also using Mammypoko pull up pants at night too and she is not yet toilet trained haha.

she is 15+ months now.

I would agree with you to postpone the toilet training for you elder child until your family settle down with arrival of younger child. It's not effective to toilet train with major changes in the house / family.

Candy_white: Don't get too distress ok? (I know easier said than done, cos a few times i just lost it too .. and no matter what, i cannot hold back my tears) The good thing about these issues are they only occur all together in the beginning phase. As you adapt, and adjust along the way, these bf issues will go away one by one (and fairly fast). So if you are all for bf, peservere yah, i'm sure you can make it. Baby can sense your tension, try to relax and dun gan chiong ok? For me, baby andre only started to resuckle after i kind of "gave up", told myself i will still let him play with my nipples, up to him if he wants to pick it up again. On hindsight, in my anxiousness, i was wringing his little neck everything i force him on my breasts. No wonder he went on strike la. Oh yes, leaking breasts... i got them too. Many forummers recommend Liliypadz which can be used in place of pads, but i did not get, cos i think my body kinda adjusted and stop leaking. But well, when it did, i thought i smelt of spolit milk all the time. One recommendation that Maureen (Joyful Parenting) taught me was to cut baby's washcloth into 2, fold them and use them as breast pads. Although soaked up fairly fast, they provide air circulation to the skin. Maybe that will relieve some itchiness. At the same time, can save money too!

Astro: Microsoft Photo Editor can? Using my office laptop, so got software limitation. For Ru yi you, it's my mum's idea to use everyday to keep the wind out. Well, if CL don't use everyday, i guess i just close one eye.

Ginger and Astro: My boy can sleep up to 5 hours if i don't wake him up lor. If i follow his routine, it will destroy my BM supply. But i just weigh him, i think he put on 0.8kg. He is 15 days old. When he is fully awake, he is not lethargic leh, and bawls for his milk (by then, super hungry liao). Anyway, i'll monitor a while more before calling the PD. Astro, i went to Dorthoy clinic once cos Andre got pus in his umbilical cord. Dr Dorothy was away, another doc stand in. I would say they are good! better than the rowdy polyclinic.

gal: i got a digital scale. I carry baby and weigh. After that, i put baby down and weigh again. Then do so subtraction. I think it'll be hard with those needle-kind scale. maybe you can ask your hubby to help see?

Siangjiao: yeap. continue doing that. i mean.. waking andre up. i think if he is what u have described.. he is able to go longer on one feed of milk. but u are doing it correctly. dun let this block of consolidated sleep be in the day instead! then he reverses his day and night!.. good good. happy for u. andre.. once u are ready.. can be on a more predictable schedule liao.. if u want lah

Dr ong is away ah? oh ok. teng just seen her yesterday :p.. Dr ong is better lah. who is the stand in doc?

PY,
ntuc only sells nepia M size n above. I just ordered one carton (4packs) NB size. Got free delivery n if outgrow size in future, unopened packs can change size.

Gal^,
yah i got digital scale. Hb carry her on it, then subtract his own weight lor.

Mascot: ya. dun use ru yi oil all the time. it can become a form of irritant. and hor.. after bathing will have wind to use the ru yi oil? *siams ur mum* :p joking lah.. :p

microsoft photo editor? :p ops.. i dunno hwo to use that. u have Paint.. or photoshop? :p

Ginger: I also took 7 days but now I thinking of reducing to 5.. Spent alot recently on last min bb stuffs
plus charlotte's ct scan also cost a bomb Liao sigh.. I nv pay deposit.. Ida payment is pay everyday after the massage one

hippo: so let's say I order a carton of s size if outgrown I can change the remaining to m? Hw come u still buy nb? Isabel still can wear nb? Mine cannot Liao the poo and wee wee keep leaking out. Think I gg to get a small pkt frm ntuc before nepia arrives

Astro: It was a lady doctor. Dr Julia? I asked her name, but now cannot recall. But she was quite thorough and answered my numerous questions. I thought the consultation will costs me at least $200 like how some of my friends describe their PD. But the price was quite resonable.

Yar, i got paint.

alriety, logging off.. tired liao ...

Astro: you need to catch some sleep. Otherwise when your number 2 comes along, the initial part, want to sleep also cannot sleep

been busi n no time 2 log in.cant finish readg d posts.

Congrats 2 mummies who juz popped over d last few days.

Even since cl left,i am on full latchg at nite as well cos is so muc easier as no ne 2 wash pumps etc.so surprise i hv enuff bm 4 keith as his weight has increased fm 3.3kg to 4.85kg when 1mth.currently trying 2 set d routine 4 him n his nite feed has decreased fm 3 times to 2 times n to none so he can sleep thru d nite.so far so gd hope he dun wake up 2nite. I hv stretch his last feedg time fm 9+pm 2 11pm or 12pm so he can sleep thru d nite else reali can pengsan.

Btw, i prefer 2 latch him öni when he is veri hungry so he can suck stronger n drk faster as i am those no patience type n cant latch beyond 20 mins. Peifu those mummies who can stretch beyond 30mins.

4 water, i do feed him some when i ne 2 stretch his hrs but with gripe water added. I dun reali feed on demand as i find it 2 tiring so prefer 2 train him on routine early so i can rest more. Ha ha, in short i am a lazy mum.

PY,
how big is charlotte now??? I think its the diaper not the size thats y leak leh. Isabel now 52cm, 3.4kg. NB size still very gd fit. U sure u wanna get S rather than NB? Anyhow u double check when placing oda. Deliv guy told us can change if size wrong as long as u havent open the packets.

HI mummies...
Just send BB Yu Xi back to the nursery. Now waiting for breakfast and my lactation class to start. Got to latch her on for 1/2 hour again! Yeah..fortunately, it did not take long to get her mouth latched and she managed to suck on both breasts.

Astro: The LC said that it's a bad habot of her when she was in the womb. She asked us if we often see her in scans with her hand inthe mouth, I was like 'HOW DID YOU KNOW?' Hahahha...cos I remember for both her detailed scans, we couldnt see her face cos of her hand. So this licking habit and sticking out of tongue was a habit in the womb. It is a habit tough to change so must be very patient. So fasr Yu Xi could only latched on with that particular LC and another nurse around. The rest of the nurses seems to have different ways. But one tip if to constanly push her lower jaw open. Hopefully later at the lactation class, Yu Xi won't embarass me by refusing to latch on.

Ginger: I am staying for 3 nites. But including that nite of surgery. Doctor will decide if I need to stay another nite and also depends on bb's condition. Today they are going to tell us if her jaundice level is ok.

Totally agree with ong, so far my Yu Xi can latch well only when she is really hungry. Otherwise I can forget about it.

Tien,
congrats! Nothing to be embarrassed abt being emo lah its the hormones. Yah the nurses all have diff styles iwas confused initially.
Then i decided football hold is easiest cos she wouldnt be restg on my wound. After tt just ask all the nurses to help w a particular style so u keep practising the same way.

Btw, u can ask them for glass bottles for ebm storage. Sometimes they have tons. They gave me like 20! Then ask them where to buy the caps.

PY,
think charlotte can use NB size leh. She same size as isabel what

Wow you are up early too, hippo!
Ya tried both football hold and cradle. Both are ok but just can't get this stubborn girl sucking!

Okie thanks! Will ask them for the glass bottles. I hope they have as many for me!

All: I FINALLY CAN GET 60 ML OF MILK FR 1 BREAST DURING MY 3RD TRY OF PUMPING!!!!

hippo: nepia is the diaper brand?din see b4. im using huggies ,any idea where have discount? Matthias use 3 packs of NB diaper just for the past 5 days abit siong

tIEN: u need make sure bb's tongue is below ur nipple wo coz sometimes when we put in when bb crying it might end up below the tongue

PY,
well i like it keeps her dry n no leaks. Btw, u order from nepia itself right? Those come fr jpn, ntuc ones fr hk apparently got some leaks.

Annette,
yup brand is Nepia. Think its www.nepia.com.sg

tien,
ya lor milkmaid duty calls. Welcome to panda n moo moo club!

Annette,

astro/siangjiao: thx. hmm i may invest in a digital one.
tink needle hard to c.

hippo: i v curious
u feed 10-12times.
n pump after each latch
u got time to sleep??
each feed take x min? 20 each boob?

annette : tht's good!