(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Hippo: Wow! Yr baby is really absorbing the nutrients v well. Dun be too upset. Cheer up! 10 oct is a nice date. I have quite a few wedding invites for 10 oct. Must be a v auspicious date.

Just went for my 39th week check up. Still no action yet. No pain, no contraction and no dilation. I told my doc many of you have popped already... He said why the rush..i kept quiet because the reason is i dun want to waste leave. hahaha. I started my leave last week and have finished with all the cleaning and prep.

I was cheeky and told the doc that there was about 20% less bb movement. So he went to check in more details during the ultrasound... no cord around the neck and blood flow in umbilical cord is normal.

I asked him if he encourage induction. he said no for me because success rate very low for first time mummy.. will end up in C-sec so no point. BB is at 3.2kg to 3.4kg at 39 week. I gained 1.6kg in 1 week =p. Dear all, if you want bb to be big, eat durian, it really works. The week i ate durian twice, my bb gained 600g in 1 week.

Disappointed that bb cannot come out today as it is our ROM anniversary. but anyway, guess that should be the lowest priority. so we'll just let bb choose her own timing. just a bit sian of waiting. Got nothing to do for the coming week. hahaha.

I forced my HB to "that one, that one" with me on Monday thinking it will "induce" bb to come out today. hahaha. doesn;t work and we end up with sores... he got stomach muscles ache while my wrist hurt because I was supporting my own weight on top while he tensed his stomach muscles to try avoid crushing BB. wahahahaha.

Hope to learn from you mummies who have popped about breastfeeding soon after I give birth. We will make it as long as we put our heart and determination at it k?

tien,
i guess its my character. i dont like it when i cant control the situation. better i bite the bullet now than to suffer some stupid consequences which happen because its not within my control.

ya lah. i'm a control freak lah. ...

At least all of you have a regular update of BB's weight every appt...me...sigh...no idea at all...tomorrow I am going to insist on matraich telling me the weight of the BB! I dun want to have a rude shock.

Anyway been having contraction (painless ones..think BH) since after lunch at 10-15 mins interval. Underwear got brown discharge..nothing like the so-called bloody show...dunno to start panicking or not...want to call the clinic but then tomorrow is the appt...will see how...maybe like sotong, I shall wait to see if there's any intensity in the contractions.

Astro: I also been having wet panties...but also dunno to panick or not. cos' it's more like droplets than dripping...

Kind of irritated by all these so-called labour signs! Make me all paranoid only!

Hippo: I can understand the part on not being in control of situation. I am a little bit like this...usually if I 'lose' control I will break down and cry...but I guess the control can only be applied on all things but labour...Jia you Gal!! Mummy and BB safe and sound is the most important thing!!

hippo,

the best way? i simply love the style when i m lying down. haha guess i m a lazy mummy
lie down n both bb n mummy can sleep in peace haha

hippo>> yeah i'm also quite a control freak too. hope everything to be on our way. but sometimes it's really totally out of our control. gotta look at it openly ..

if baby comes out to be only like <3.5kg u better smack his head!! total bullshit lor. hehe cheer up k! I hope i can see my baby girl this weekend.. but i think chancea are v v low

meiting,

me too, 39 weeks liao, not action leh. only got BH contractions frequent at nites.

bb still moves a lot everyday. i only feel he is pushing my bladder, think his position is lower.

gynae said will induce nx monday (one day past edd), but if there is a choice, i wanna let bb comes out on his own. gynae didnt say much if i got plenty amnio fluid, or bb engaged or not. he didnt provide me much details. so i dunno if i shd wait for few more days. my nx appt is 2 days later, c wat he say then.

really hope bb will come out on its own.

induction is it that doc will insert pill to soften the cervix, then let it dilate? if in this case, why is it more painful than natural delivery?

yah we are all in the same boat.. damn sian.. i'm losing hope soon
my doc refuse to let me induce this weekend. sigh.. really the same story as what meiting described. maybe we share the same gynae haha!

Hippo: If bb come out <3.5kg We all help you to smack his head! Ask your hubby to STARE at the weighing scale carefully..in case they pretend and add marbles!

hippo: alamak.. i hope my peepeeteepees.. (hahahaha) have made u laugh slightly?
i just can't help being amazed at the ingenuity of this design. the creator must be a fed up mum (or dad) who keeps gena during diaper changes!!! hahaha. chiam. i can't stop laughing.. go take a look.. it is funny :p

hey. dun fret.. 3.7 -3.8kg is a GOOD weight! and yes.. bigger bbs are easier to care for.. at least u know for the initial weight loss.. or when establishing supply/sick (touch wood).. they wun lose too much wieght

and cheep up.. u are still in control wor! see how isabel will turn 1 years old on 10-10-10!! steady leh!

and ya. devour those durians!

meiting: i can't stop laughing at ur 'that one that one' :p

tien: hmm my crampy feelings just went away! false alarm! hmm .. brown discharge.. monitor.. think might be soon. u tired of waiting right? :p

mylvera,
orh, the lying down one? yah hor... hehe... ok. i try that first then. was thinking of football hold... ha! how silly. yeah pump and latch every 3 hrs. roger that.

tien,
well, my consolation is, it'll be elective c-section under GA. i dun want epi where i can feel them tugging at my stomach. quite gross that one. doc says straight forward, KO for 45 mins, when u wake up can see bb. i was like "orh. ok, i can deal with that."

ipeh,
yah lah. me lor. paying the price for swallowing all those durians and mooncakes lah. well, too late to regret now! been a nice journey for me tho i have to say.

tien, PY, meiting,
would've loved to be on that boat with you guys. but doesnt make sense for me anymore... oh well, ...

I try to make full use of each appointment to find out more. Whatever I read here (ie. every mummies' experiences), I will ask my doc. He never say but I will ask, like amnio fluid level still ok hor, bb's estimated weight how much (he almost miss this today), bb engaged but now very low yet? blah blah. So mummies thank you all for ur contributions here so I know what to ask and look out for.

Btw, I dun have frequent toilet trips and I dun wake up at night to pee so i know my case surely right on the EDD or late. but I got insomnia... always wake up at 3 4 am then cannot go back to sleep. I was playing minesweeper at 4 am today. wahahhahaha.

angie: hee..

hippo/tien/PY/ginger: easy..
there are more things to worry about than this mode of delivery .routines/medication/childcare/discipline conflicts.. ok.. let's not go there!
..nearing week 39 is ok.. it is just bored nia :p enjoy the last ounce of FREEDOM?? :p

Tien: add marbles? wah liew.. whahahahha

tien, my checkup is sat.... now feel like bringing it forward to tmr. at least if i need elective c-section, can have more dates to choose. my ideal date was 09 oct 09!

ha! if isabel come out < 3.5kg, i will make sure the whole world know "what a laughing stock he is" lor (he said so himself). eh but c-section GA HB cant go in leh. haha... scali he really add marbles. knn. ok ok but his stitching supposed to be work of art k. we will see.

astro,
got laugh lah. so spastic how not to laugh???
yah confirm tonight whack the bloody durians. hahaha... no need to worry if she's 4kg or 4.5kg already right??? heh! i think i better go and chope Mrs L's James already. all the other princes will be too small for my michelin bb... hurhur

Astro: Ya I am DAMN tired of waiting!! Think I am so going to regret saying this...hahha been calling my darling Ms Diva...maybe shld just name her DIVA NG!

Brown discharge very little actually. Say, 20 cents coin size....ya monitoring..been trying to tap her to wake her up...cos her movement also very sparse today. Have to tell my doctor that...the thing is I always become very very little in front of matraich..all questions I have will vapourise in her presence!!

Hippo: Good choice of Electice C-Sec under GA! I think I won't want to hear or feel any tugging at the tummy...my hubby seems to want the other way if I had to go through C-sec. Anyway enjoy the durians!! Wanted to buy some just now...got stopped by my mum!!! ARGH!!!!

tien,
hahaha... i also called mine diva leh. want to make grand entrance... tsk tsk. but now can change to isabel michelin lee ah pui. hehehe... little fatso! :p poor gal, looks like she got mummy's fat genes. better starve her a bit when she comes out... (just kidding!)

Hi all!!

The posts are zooming by and I just have time to read. So hard to catch up!! Little samuel's quite a handful... A little milk n poop monster! Both me and hb gng to be daddy n mummy panda soon :s

Congrats to all the mummies who popped over the last few days!

Hippo: c-sec has it's good points too! Cheer up and look forward to seeing your bb soon! 10/10... Nice date leh!
excited for you.

shugar,
one take day shift and one take night shift lor!
hehe... yah lah nice date lah. stupid HB said buy 4D only 6 permutations. save $$$ in the long run. idiot! then my mum lagi better. she said 11 Oct only 4 permutations, even cheaper to buy 4D. *peng san*

shugar,
oh yah, i cannot 相亲 isabel with samuel already. later fatso roll over and flatten poor samuel... kua kua kua...

astro>> i'm starting to think that working moms tends to pop earlier.. those stay home one always nua at home and seldom walk.. is there a linkage here? haha! gonna go prepare liao going to taka and WALK MORE. dunno what nice to buy there also

AStro: I know! That's why I say I better not say so early..later regret...since my princess is so diva-ish..bet when she is growing up she is going to be more diva-ish....choy choy choy!! I will spank her lor!

Hippo: Yeah...under GA hubby can't go in...that's why my hubby wants me to be under Epi if I have to go through C-sec...anyway I shall not go into that...

AND please say his name loud loud on the forum if your doc is wrong on the weight!!

Ginger: Hmm why do you think that you might go under elective C-sec? Actually I am mentally prepared to wait till 40th week liao...just now my mummy has yet again 'kindly informed' me that I was an overdue bb by 1-2 days...if my friend's genetic theory if correct...I have so many more days to wait!!!! Then I will just eat lotsa nice nice food to make sure diva has the best last min intake of nutrients!!

Re: Induce for 1st time mummy most likely end with c-sect

Hmmmm not really. Based on my unofficial statistic collected from the 10 preggy colleagues and 1 ex-colleague. 5 had to be induced (first time mummies) and only 1 sent through emergency C-sec! So, it really depends...

tien, coz my bb was 3.3kg at 38W. so most probably alr hit 3.5kg by now?

ur fren's genetic theory does not include husb issit? was ur husb born close to EDD as well?

PY,
eh if u see anything nice let me know k? i din have time to gai gai in the end. finished BW and rushed over to clinic right away. there's a sanrio fair i wanted to see if got any cute hello kitty things to buy... hehe... maybe tomorrow i shud go again. last day of freedom mah hor?
enjoy your "walk"...

Hippo/Tien/Gal/ginger>> i told my hb i wanted to call up the clinic and told my gynae i wanna induce this weekend.. he told me that he's feeling v sian also.. because it's neither here nor there..

he feels that gynae is the best person to make decision and we better dun decide rashly. If really end up with fail induction, which we already prepared for it, then bo pian.. but if we really go ahead with what we wanted instead of listening to gynae, we might end up regretting not listening to their recommendations..

Btw i have a qns to ask:

if first child is c sect, then 2nd child is there a possibility that i can try for natural? i heard it's quite difficult? hmm ..

hippo>> yeah will update u .. i'm tempted to buy some skincare haha..

PY: if yu he comes early.. then one evidence to ur hypothesis liao! with teng. i was nua-ing at home. he came 2 days short of EDD..

hippo: nice name.. easy to remember for isabel! whahahahha...

tien: i was 1st time induced. i gave up in the end and asked for c-section when teng refused to come out.. then my gyane said 'dun worry.. dun need induce yet.. vaccum.. out in 2 minutes'.. wah liew. she didn't tell me earlier?!

hippo: alamak.. like that my yu he no chance for isabel.. never mind.. I send in his bro, ah Teng! ha.. this one Mrs L's james also cannot fight.. muahahhahaha.. heh.. why must GA for c-section? epidural not good enough?

Tien: diva ng! nice name.. i am serious wor :p

Hippo: Hahahhaha.... we'll know when your lil hippo is out

PY: I asked my gynae about natural delivery after one c-sec and he says its possible and if I have a no. 2 he will encourage me to try natural if its favourable.

PY: i also got super strong urge to call the clinic! guess we too eng... haha. my gynae was saying we mummies shd not be too hung up on bb's estimated weight to decide method of delivery. there are so many other factors involved... haiz.

if first child is by c sect, the chances of 2nd child by natural birth is lower. my colleague who just gave birth in may was in this situation. her gynae told her she has only 4 hrs to try natural, after which she must go under knife le

PY: can. it is call.. VBAC --> Vagina birth after c-section.. but quite few gynaes support this.. coz they say old wound might tear.. but oer the other thread.. have seen many successful stories on this also.. also. many opt for c-sections after c-sections coz scared of tears in old wound.. so u see .. this is ultimatly.. a personal choice again

tien: how about this as u tell ur mastrich ur concerns?

' eh.. mastrich.. i have something to tell u.. but cld u pls smile before i ask? else i dun dare ask leh...'..
whahahah :p:p

hey! is flunctating moods a sign of labour?! :p

Ginger: Ya my friend's theory includes daddy's edd...I just din want to call my MIL to find out hahaha...

PY: I think so leh...working mums will tend to pop earlier...I took MC from 37th week onwards...see? I am still waiting hahaha..
Anyway, I heard that it is possible to go through natural delivery after C-sec for the 1st child. But the wound must be fully recovered. Huh you want induced...pain leh...I scared scared...

Think I will stick yo my option 4....WAIT! Hahah

And I am tempted to buy make-up!! Hahah

astro,
i dun really wanna be awake in the OT. dun wanna feel the tugging in my tummy either. neh mind lah. GA GA lor. at this stage since is already c-sect, GA or EPI no big deal already.

yah i was thinking AH TENG sure good match for my AH PUI!!! hehe... so i also aiming for Teng...

PY,
yeah most gynaes dun encourage VBAC leh. astro already answered for me.

AStro: So did you go C-sec or vacuum for teng? If the former...your gynae is another kind!

Hmmm I am going to adopt your suggestions...shall see if it works on matriach!!

Tien>> if wait and wait and nth happen, also will end up inducing... so yeah now i'm waiting.. for miracle to happen. ha ha .. i also dun wish to induce, hopefully baby heard mommy wish and is waiting for 10 or 11 to come! :D

To those mommies who have delivered via C-sect, which is better? General anesthesia or regional (spinal block)? On one hand i want to hear baby's first cries but on the other hand, scared that I won't be able to tahan the equipment sounds and knowing that someone is cutting me and pulling my internal leh..

If scheduled for the procedure at 3pm, does that mean i will be given anesthesia at that time or before that? Also, roughly how much will the total cost be like? Im delivering at Mt Alv.

Astro: For me, I m still not 100% ready for my bb to come yet. So keep telling her to give me another wk or so. Tat's y now can only look at other bb's photo n swallow my saliva. Hahahaha.... Actually our EDD just 1 day apart leh. Mayb we wl bump into each other at TMC. U having contraction alrdy ar? Wait for me leh.....

Babytum: Dun worry abt the VE. It's little uncombfortable but it's not pain unless ur gynae is not skillful:p Most importantly just be relax while ur gynae performing the VE. My gynae told me there may be bleeding but I din have tat at all.

PY: I m not on GD diet leh. I ate a lot lately.. In fact fr wk 35 to wk 37, I gained 1.1kgs but my bb only contributed 200 ovr grams.. Sigh! I try to feed her with all the gd stuff but she just refused to absorb.

Happy Birthday, Angie! I have not been eating crabs for 9 mths!!! U really made me craving for tat. So bad!

Congrats, ddnikz! Rest well....

tien: it is seriously a nice name.. i am SERIOUS :p
i had vaccum for teng.. what i am trying to say is. alsmost died-ed on the bed coz so numb.. no feeling dunno how to push like what xoxo said.. i was thinking. i dun poo horizontally lor!.. then this joker gynae come and tell me.. vaccum will get the boy out in 2 minutes!.. wah liew. asked her how come so long then tell me? she said she thought i want to try first mah. wah liew..

hippo: but i find GA scarier.. :p epidural.. at least i know what is happening :p.. ok. u can chope teng also.. teng got soem girlfrens oer at the other thread liao. but they go and find him. he didn't go and find them one hor.. so. ya. teng is still available.. whahahhaah.. :p

Astro: Ok OK I KIV the name...although from a teacher's pt of view...she is going to be a laughing stock..

Speaking of name...think we more of less decided on Kaylea...kind of like calling her Baby Kay these days..Or shld we spell it as Kaylia? Kaylea is of hawaiian origin which means bright...