(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

talking abt weight.. my cousins are 51kg (11 yrs old boy) and 43kg (9 yrs old girl) wah lao!!!! bth lah.. my prenatal weight was 55kg.. wanna win me liao man

Hi mummies...

Cat: Your girl is soooooooo pretty!! Fair fair one...I like

Astro: Your posts are always funny and straight to the point. NOw I know why you call your darling miser...but hor why doctor want to give you MC you dun want to take...JUST TAKE LAH! And why wait till Tuesday...take whole week off next week hahah...i very bad influence...

Re: Tubing of medela pumps
Ok from what I know we are not supposed to wash it...it will be be in contact with milk even if milk leaked into it...you are supposed to switch on the motor and let it run and 'blow' dry it. So, I won't be sterlising it. I will see if I pass by any mums and babes later and ask. If not I will call them to find out then let you all know.

I was so bored preparing notes for my kids that I went to google on 'How to make baby come out early'. In my 10 mins of research, apparently only 4 methods stuck me:

1) WALK! But result differs...

2) HAVE SEX!! Woman top better! Apparently, sperms stimulate some hormones that encourages contractions and MUST have the O!!!!! Cos' that also encourages contractions!! But one lady commented that her water bag burst straight after the act...not sure if I want that...and honestly, the last thing I am feeling now is sexy and horny (pardon my language)

3) Stimulate your own nipples..seems easy and safest Muahahahha....cos it is supposed to encourage contractions...

4) WAIT until bb wants to come out...I was like DUH!

SEE? How desperate I want to pop? The more I want...the more elusive it seems!

jaz>> i didnt have my rojak ytd. gonna eat it today!! rojak not that fattening lah hor =x

Tien>> wahaha good research! yah my gynae told me orgasm helps to encourage contractions! hahahahaha.... we are all despo now. when is ur EDD and what's bb estimated weight now ?

Astro: haha tts the joy btw u n hubby :p

Py: wah 3 times aldy!!! I will be panicky like hell if i see red now.i asked my gynae abt it, she dun wan do it too early scare trigger labor. since ur bb of bigger size, y doc nvr recommend c-s or u prefer natural?
My hubby dun allow me to eat rojak coz of the shrimp paste which he said not gd for health

Re:nipple cream
any gd brand to recommend?mine getting real dry, need start using liao

annette>> my gynae told me to try natural as she said i'm still young.. anyway i also dun wish to go under the knife leh... after watching the the labour clips shown in prenatal classes and i think c sect is so much scarier than the natural way..

she say she wont anyhow induce for no reasons.. unless today i have high BP, or baby weight is >3.5kg, or low water level.

but it seems that my water level is ok. BP ok. baby weight still pretty ok.. 3.4kg she say hopefully her estimation is +20% haha she dun want baby to come out then turns out only like 3.2kg.. so it's like a gamble lor

she try not to induce yet coz scare it might fail and end up with emer c sect.. i think she encountered quite alot of failure cases.. i asked her why will fail she say coz our body not ready yet and we are here forcing the baby to come out.. so wont sucess also.

i eat almnost everything.. hahahaha that's why my baby absorb so much and she's so big now.. wah lao.. i seriously regret drinking milk tea for a period of time.. i think if not bcoz of the milk tea her weight now should be ard 3kg only. TSK!

anette: now my ankle a bit of swelling sensation.. u can't see it kind but can be felt.. tonight. am going to put my ankle on his head and tell him, 'see?'.. he most likely reply 'what?'.. stupid man..

tien: i called him Miser coz.. he is thrifty too.. that's why.. now that u have mentioned. he really deserved this nick!
coz my school doesn't like us (academic staff) to take annual leave during term time.. unofficial policy lah.. sure i can take.. but sian lah. wait 'record' against me u see..
then today MC no pt.. waste my .5 leave only so.. u see why i say next tuesday then?

Annette: I remember during the first session of the antenatal class at mt A, the nutritionist did mention can use olive oil to apply on nipples and massage breasts. It's 100% safe for bb if BF too. I haven't tried it yet thou.. But I hv an avent nipple cream currently which I only applied about 3-4 times when I have cracked-like nipples. It works quite well... no more itch or pain almost immediately.

annette>> i have seen some successful cases of smaller size girls pushing out big babies. as big as 3.8kg! (but she is 3rd time mom la) but nvm hehehe

so i'm still trying to be hopeful hahaha... i'm 1.66cm so i tell myself if 1.58cm 45kg can do it, why cant i? =x

PY: gentle reminder.. that time parent craft nurse.. not Mrs Wong.. another one.. once told me.. 3.5kg is AVERAGE size hor.. fyi.. fyi ONLY :p.. u can still eat . u can still eat.. hahahahahah..

thanks babes, for the concern..

just wanna rant a bit here coz im feeling kinda frustrated and upset and depressed.. had a long cry last night even though we're not supposed to cry at all during confinement..

and to make matters worse, today's visit to PD showed that Isabelle's jaundice level has gone up, and we've been given 2 options - phototherapy at home for 5 days or phototherapy in the hospital for 2 days
and so Isabelle has been admitted into hospital today.. i cried the whole morning too.. heartache.. damn pain.. the pain is worse than my c-sect wound..
i know jaundice is a very common issue with babies, but to be separated from my naughty belle for 2 whole days just tears my heart apart...

xoxo>> isabelle's PD is also Terence Tan, a very funny chap i would say, and he's got 4 kids! my idol!

PY: are u sure ur cosins are that weight at that age?! that is grossly overweight!!! me, miss fatty since young, also not like that leh! *imagines teng like that.. shudder*

py: it doesn't have anything to do with size. It has to do with our pelvic bone shape. Whether you are tall or short, fat or skinny, the pelvic bone shape is different.

Mie: *hugz*.. yes.. jaundice is qutie common.. post natel changes.. hormonal changes.. and hence u feel that way.. ok to cry.. dun keep it all pent up.. it is not good

just vent it here lah. whine lah .. curse lah.. whatever.. get it out of ur system ok?.. coz all of us will go thru those bb blues one..

eh. ok.. i must say this.. though it ain't going to sound appropriate.. take these 2 days as additional days for u to rest and recuperate.. Belle is stuck to u for a life time.. so u must apply ur 2 days leave now.. else ah.. very soon. i will hear u saying u want to pull ur hair out at the antics of notti belle! :p

what's with ur parents? they not supportive of u bf-ing? common. common. i teach u.. prepare some paper balls.. and stuff them into their mouths! (ops.. mean and infillal astro). i plan to do just that to my own mum!

and guess what? these days.. whenever i complain i am feeling blue.. this miser will pretend to go ranshack the shelves.. then i will ask him what he is up to.. he will reply ' i need to find the number of that pyscharist lah. u will need to see her again'... wah liew! how's that for a hubby?

PY: wa complicating.but bb still consider average so dun worry too much.maybe tts y my bb wt jump so much also coz been drinking milktea haha.

Astro:aiyo u shd just take HL like me la. fortunately i took, tt piercing pain is back again but not whole day then past 2 days feeling nausea whole days

CandyWhite: thx thx

miemie:patpat then u shd opt for phot
otherapy at home then can be with belle whole day

has anyone heard of drinking coconut juice one week before labour?

my hairstylist says it will help to reduce the whitish layer when baby comes out.

my relatives said the baby will not be so heaty when born.

my mother doesn't want me to drink, but i drank 3 times in a week. She thinks it's too cooling.

annette: i want to! :S.. i kicked start my ML a week early leh.. :S.. do me a favour. . go and tell that miser.. when i suggested taking HL to rest at home.. his eyes big big.. 'u sure u want to do that??? if my employees do that.. blah blah blah.. haiz..

Mie: just to try cheer u up slightly.. let me intro u to my gynae.. she has FIVE kids! how's that?? i feel VERY safe that she is my gynae.. whahahhaha..

cat02 : OOoo kai lin so cute.

PY : I really find ur gynae v good. dang.. i din manage to get her. She was fully booked.

astro : be it school term or not should not apply to u ah. they know u can pop anytime what and should be prepared.

tien : ahahah .. i will tell my hb ur research
i was only thinking of the walking and squatting a lot this friday.

Mie : no worries ya. 2 days v fast one. my friend bb oso have jaundice and need to go phototherapy tis sunday. which mummy won't feel v attached to bb..summore urs so cute. *big hug* no worries...

b/f-ing :
haha..i pass my mum the breastfeeding book to read. she bought me fenugreek tablet just in case.

herbal bath:
haii.. my mum no believe in the herbal bath thing. look like i gotta boil it myself liew since i bought else wasted. er..sorry..recap a bit. can we use pot that we use to cook other thing one to boil the herbal bath. not toxic right?

glass: that white layer is the vernix.. (eh.. spelling seems wrong). it will peel off itself one. not to worry..
but yes. i have heard of that coconut juice suggestion. but my frens at the other thread.. hahhaa.. drown themselves.. end up.. also complain how come kids so tanned?! they drank coconut or coffee?! heh..

gal: ha.. well.. let it be lah.. fed up over that liao. dun want to think abuot it..
hey. can we 'exchange' mums ah?? :p:p:p.. i wld love my mum to be able to be so helpful to buy me fenugreek and dun need me to bathe in that herbal bath ah!!!

congrats to all mummies that have popped!!
must take good care during confinement!
i am still waiting for the arrival of my little one.. due on 9th oct.. but it seems that he is very comfy in me.. went for checkup this morn..doc says no sign of him wanting to be out yet..can still tahan for another wk.. have to decide on a cut off date for induction.
wanted him to come on the 10th oct, but my doc dun do weekends induction.. so no choice, set on the 13th.
so if no sign of him by this week, i have to go hospital and induce on the wee hrs of 13th le.

its like soo close yet so far... =D

Loke : Must be the angle. I always warn my hubby not to make me look fat or ugly when he take photo. Haa...
I was drained of blood that day that the nurse got to poked me 3 times at different places just to get enough blood for the cord blood test. So my face colour definitely wouldn't look good.

mie : Take care of yourself. 2 days later, belle will be back, smiling at my mummy. You must be a brave and happy mummy ya.

dreamygal: I'm thinking of putting on makeup just so that I won't look horrible in the photos.

astro: the coconut juice has nothing to do with baby skin colour

on a side note, according to my friend who's super tanned, he said his mother drank a lot of coffee during pregnancy. then for his younger brother, she had craving for soyabean milk, so she drank a lot. THe brother turned out very fair.

astro : er u sure u wan my mum? :p ehehe.. anyway shall c how. my MIL initially say ya bf is good then add on, what formulae u plan to use? :S i just told her breastmilk. :p

<font color="aa00aa">Fitti diaper Size New Born</font>

I left over 2 packs of Fitti diaper size NB (same as TMC used ones, but big pack 52pc per pack), not opened. Today went for vaccination, and my girl is weighted 4.8kg! Going to switch to S size liao. I bought at $14+ and let go at $10 per pack.

Interested pls PM me. Thks

tomorrow it's my D-day. More mummies have popped! CONGRATS!!

RE:glass bottles VS milk Bag
well, my take is that if you're really someone who's blessed with lots of milk as in can express like 1 litre a day, i guess milk bags is a good investment because you can really save a lot of storage space. but if you're like me every time can only express 70-80ml every 3 hours, then milk bags are really expensive! moreover you can only use once. before you can even fill up the milk bags, your bb already finished the EBM..hehe..

if you're 1st time mummies and really unsure, then may be you invest in 1 packet first and at the same time get the milk bottles from the nurse. if the nurse has been giving these milk bottles to BF mum for the longest time, i would believe it's not that risky to use these bottles.. won't go too wrong right?

for me, my freshly express milk will go to the fridge first(the coolest compartment) to preserved the antibodies. any unconsumed bottles (hardly lah) will go to the freezer for longer storage. I will keep my EBM for abt 3 nights (longest) - followed some advise in the forum. I'm sure some mummies are shocked to hear this but really my girl has been surviving on my EBM since she's 2 months plus and she's perfectly ok. Doing this because i want my girl to get as much antibodies from me. Those frozen EBM has only nutrition and no more antibodies. So, my friday EBM will stay in the normal fridge compartment to be consumed on monday when i'm at work. Weekends, i will latch my girl all the way.

re: coconut,
I've started drinking for the pass 2 weeks. for my no.1, i did the same thing. someone told me the baby will come out clean (as in not as bloody) and it was true for my girl! so, i'm doing the same thing for no.2. anyway, it's my excuse to enjoy coconut water lah..so shiok to drink leh..keke..

astro,
really want to LOL at your hubby lah.. if i'm his employer, i would really want to keep him the longest! my hubby has been telling me the exact opposite. he said i should make use of my pregnancy and take ML to rest. no one will question that..wahaha..anyway, if u really feel like taking MC, just go ahead!

ha! Back and bump into another colleague in the lift just now. She asked when due and which hospital and stuff then commented that must inform her so that she can visit me. Jokingly told her don't want cause i'll be ugly. She said not see me, it's the bb she wants see! Heh. I not very close to her else i'll say 'you win liao!'. Ha. Astro, you are too unpopular!

astro>> thanks very much.. but the 2 days leave came too sudden and i wasn't prepared at all.. i mean i had barely had enough of my naughty belle, and i have to leave her in the hospital..

my parents.. im really damn pissed with them.. coz my mum brought up her 4 kids up solely on formula milk, and my sisters did the same, she keeps wanting me to feed formula when my milk has yet to come in.. (thank goodness it is starting to come in now).. and she just insist that i dun have milk. i told her, if i dun latch, dun pump, of coz my milk wun come in! and she even fed my baby girl plain water without telling me!!!!!!

and this is MY baby, when i want to wake her up for feeds, everyone protests and refuses to let me wake her up. i am unable to carry her up coz she is sleeping on the mattress in the living room, and i cant bend down to pick her up and stand up un-aided.

last night isabelle was wailing at 4am in the morning, and my dad came knocking hard at my door, and came in to teach us wad to do. i mean ok, i appreciate your kind thots, but i know wad to do! and when isabelle fell asleep, my dad wun budge, he just remained in my room, wanting to 'teach' us some parenting tips. hello, it is 4am in the morning!!!!

Congrats to all mummies who have popped!

I just got back from my 37wks visit and gynae did VE for me tdy. 1.5cm dilated. I will be induced on 9 Oct as there's a cord around baby's neck. I will be 19 days ahead of my edd. VE is painful but bearable.

For those who induced, how long does it take for the contractions to kick in? Do i go home or stay around after being induced? Any idea?

mie: :)
Ha. All the unnecessary comments at inappropriate timing! In situations like that, i have learned, put on a black or smily one depending on your kuan. My default is black face. And tell them, 'thanks, i know what i am doing' and just do what you want to do.

Then your dad. Very eng. Should just tell him 'very eng ah you, don't need to sleep?'

mie: also tell them bb before 6 mths shouldn't be given water. Bm or fm is their main fluid. Of course when bb is slightly older at abt 4 mths, a little water, sips on hot days wun harm. Now should give, excessive can cause water toxification , if they tell you drink a little bit nvm one, tell them stomach only size of marble, fill it up with plain water cannot drink milk liao, don't say bm la. Fm also no room drink, they want hinder belle's growth? Wah, astro mean hop? Heh :p

i think i shall not read the forum anymore.. getting depressed cos baby's not coming out and she's still so small! i dun wanna be induced to get cut!

Didnt come in here for the whole day as I was finishing up the final packing of my bag for tomorrow's big event. Can't wait to see my bb :D

clumsybabe,
Though hav't see you before. Hope that will have chance to get to see you at the hospital tomorrow. Have a smooth delivery!

Aria Jo,
Same to you... have a smooth delivery tomorrow!

dreamygal: we have the same gynae.
looks like u had a gd n short labour. That's gd!! Then i prob shouldnt go home after being induced. jus in case.

ipeh: normally not advised to go home after induction.. coz sometimes things can happen super fast.. but also.. can be like mine. induced yet 14hours plus.. so really can't put a finger on it one
stay at the hosiptal.. safest lah..

Just dropping in to say 'hi'.

Little Andre has been demanding milk the whole afternoon and is finally asleep for a while. My milk suppply is still low, i need to keep latching him so that hopefully he can suckle enough.

After much pushing yesterday, my piles came out. Now sitting on a "you wong quan", swimming float. But i would say my gynae did such a good job with the stitch work, its the piles that hurts but not the stitch.

I think walking really helps. I walked much during the pregnancy, and the night before induce, i went to walk 1 hour. It helped open up the cervix from 2 cm to 2.5cm the next day.

Coconut Juice: i think if you are full term, 37 weeks onwards, can drink away. After all, if its too cooling and induce labor, you are on track also.

Maternity pads: Initially i didn't think of buying cos its like wearing yellow pages between your legs. But now i fully appreciate it, cos the extra padding acts like a cushion for your wound. Giant, Shop and save sells it like $6.60 for a pack of adhesive 10. KKH only sells it for $2.2 for the same thing at its pharmacy. So shocked at the price difference!

Visitors: Hate those vistors that come and refuse to leave! So tired oredi, still have to entertain and smile and repeat my birth story for the X number of times. Its nice for them to visit, and i really appreciate their well meaning deep in my heart. But from a tired mum's perspective, long visits simply do not help. Sorry ah, need to rant a little here.

Astro: Cheer up ok? don't feel so blue. Baby will be here soon and you can enjoy 4 months of leave... Just loon a little.

For those that are eagerly anticipating the birth of your precious, jia you! The stork will drop by real soon. Meanwhile, enjoy some private time while you can.

My little 'hi' has become so chiong hei. Meanwhile, any mums who is going to give birth in KKH, and have questions, can ask me. I'll still be staying here one more day.

Mascot: heh.. so funny! yellow pages between the legs! ya.. i am quite grouchy so i only let my very close frens and family know i have delivered.. colleagues. just sent to reporting officer.. and it is enough.. dun have to tell them where i am! :p

no lah. i am not mad with my colleagues. my miser lah! argh. anyway.. keep latching!
post pics of Andre leh..

ipheh : Caroline will advise you if you can go back. Wait for her to advise bah.

That day she initially told me that she can give me 1 hr to go home and settle my girl, but after inserting the medicine and monitoring me on the CTG, she advised that its better for me to stay in the hospital.

mie,

how abt some "jokes" to lighten yr day?

my "darling" mil would rush into my room when she heard her 1st grandson crying (even tho i m bf-ing) n without 2nd tots, stuff my nipple to his mouth! i was shocked!

my "darling" fil would keep asking me after every bf-ing, how much did my sons drank? how many ml they drank?

re: medela tubes
xoxo specifically called up The First Few Years and they told her NOT TO STERILISE THE TUBES! so i guess we just dun do it.

PY,
hahaha... your gynae got good sense of humour hor? i shud let my heli read your post. cos he also like your HB scared bb hippo drop out! haha... idiot such ignorance.

so ate your rojak already or not? eh dun make me happy leh. i also got big ass leh. that's why stupid HB always say he thinks i got no prob to squeeze bb out, cos of my big ass... idiot! :p

miemie,
you shud really come in here to rant and not keep it to yourself. bottling up doesn't do you any good. the old folks i.e. our parents generation - you have to understand - during their time, our country was exploding thru industrialization and living stds shot up. at that time, it was considered like very "got face" to feed bb with formula milk. so they all went thru that phase.

anyways, my fren was telling me (her supply came in late also, but after that had AMPLE supply) to take it easy. its ok to supplement a little bit of FM if really no milk in the first few days. can still correct bb's behaviour and latch on successfully one. just dun make ourselves overly stressed over total breast feeding.

in my case, i am a little apprehensive as to how my folks will react also when bb hippo really arrives. but so far, luckily, my mum doesn't seem to remember much about her child-bearing/rearing experience, thus dun impose anything on me til now.

in fact, its my father that's the imposing one. but he also knows his daughter got same temper as him, so i will retaliate and tell them off if they overstep their boundaries lor. too bad lah. i'm PRINCESS all these years mah.

astro,
yah lah. type B+++ is this kind one lah. mine also not much better off lah. can i pls tell you my equivalent story? Mr Heli's team has been downsized over the last couple of yrs from staff strength of 4 to 2 currently. him and this other idiot immature butch. yes BUTCH. in reality, he's the boss without the official title lah. anyways, his whole bloody office already knows that i'm popping in October this year k? cos we used to work together and they all know me. then like 1 mth back, he came home, said butch wants to take leave on 9th &amp; 10th Oct.

bloody idiot had the whole year to take leave she had to choose these 2 days? and of course since he's more senior, she asked him right? so i asked him "what did u tell her?" (already guessed he didn't reject her leave). he gave me this helpless look and said "but i can't give her a blanket NO right? what if bb DOESNT come out?" i was already so super TL that i wanted to cry already. then i just black face him all the way. that night i hardly slept. cos lao niang so super TL right?

then next day i woke up still TL right? So i emailed him...
"I dun care what you do with her leave application. Just know that if your daughter choose to arrive 1 of these 2 days, and you cant be in the delivery ward because you FREAKING HAVE TO GO TO WORK, i am going to be F**KING PISSED OFF OK!!!"

so after i used vulgarities, it finally got to his stupid head. so then he told her cannot. then that bloody work of art went to ask another staff NOT on their team, to be on standby so that in case my HB needs to go hospital, SHE can stand in for her. and he knew all about these tricks but yet he never stopped her nor gave her a piece of his mind. i mean sorry hor. if u'r the junior one then suck it up and when pple say no, its no lah. but stupid man dun wanna be "not nice"... never mind. so i moved on already.

then last night said to me "think thu i cant go to gynae appt with u. cos butch is on leave and i'm alone, nobody to cover me". I GLARED at him right?! HELLO!!! here you are asking me all these questions which only gynae can answer, then there you are, telling me u cant go to gynae?! WTF!!! anyways i told him he better make it OR ELSE... we'll see if he actually shows up. IDIOTIC TYPE B MEN!!! damn COCK LAH!!! :pPPP