(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

jRRt: Thanks for the advice. Didn't dawn on me to get the freezer organised. Looks like I got something to do tomorrow...clean up the fridge and wipe any residue away. Actually we are staying on our own. But if the CL is going to cook, surely there will be food in the fridge and freezer. But good idea to put the meats at the bottom. Thanks jRRt!!

ong>> wah lao!! i cant stand her attitude leh.. if i were u i will say her indirectly haha and find more things for her to do.

If I expressing milk during work time. Then when I bring home in plastic bottles and then transfer to the glass bottles. Don't think will contaminate the BM... right?

Sorry for the many questions... Worried that I got the wrong things...

RE: CL
I understand fr the confinement agency tat CL will have to wash clothes for both mother & baby. Some even will wash for the daddy also. As for floor sweeping & mopping, it wl normally be done twice a wk. Tat's pretty standard. Ong & Rooster & Moo, ur CLs are simply too much. Heard the story also feel very angry leh.

fyi :

jamu lady mdm khatijah just ffk my friend. initially saying that she cannot make it today. the just now say she injured her hand. i mean of course there is a possibility its not intentional. but fyi if u have engaged her
i did. sigh.. c how la

jrrt,
hehe..u definately din offend me lah
i didn't store my milk more than 4 mths actually.in fact i think at most 3 months plus.. those more than 3 months, i discard away lah..towards the end when my milk was dwindling down, my girl is drinking these leftover milk which i kept for abt 3 mths and she's ok leh.. i stored at most abt 20 over bottles and usually deep inside. not close to the door as close to the door the temperature not as low. i would say as long as the milk is in frozen state, it should be ok but if it ever thawed even a bit, need to discard liao.

diana,
my gynae also came in the very last minute when i'm ready to push and not with me all the time. most of the time, it's the nurse that keep doing the VE for me till i dilate 10cm. anyway, the most important thing is asher is safe and sound and so are you! yes, when we're induced it usually takes v v long to dilate and especially so for 1st time mother. my SIL not induce but in the end also need emergency c-sec cos bb heartbeat dropped suddenly. that was why throughout my 12 hours (from the time of admitting), i prayed so hard to be able to give birth naturally with epidural because i was worried i will be like my SIL. worse, at that time my girl was not really engaged! she got engaged only during the birthing process! slowly turned to the best postion which is her face facing my backside. and she's huge to me.. i really wonder how i managed to push her out, 3.5kg!

ong,
mm, your CL really a bit too much leh.. i never hire a CL before but i think yours a bit too much lah..my SIL also don't have a maid and count on her maid to be her CL! her MIL first trained her how to cook soup and what dishes to cook for her. she took care of the boy herself at night.. i'm going to do the same too..hope your confinement quickly pass!

yes, pumpping is really v tiring especially in the initial stage.

re: glass bottle
I've been using it for my elder girl cos it's BPA free and it's lasting!those milk glass bottles given by the hospital very sturdy one lah.. if crack, you can surely tell.i cracked a few bottles because i filled it up to the rim! bad mistake lah..

astro,
u sent ellie to parentcraft class? hehe... great idea. my helper already took over my gina ford book and she's indon btw! haha...

gal^,
wah lau. she better not be what i was worrying about. remember what i told u abt her right? eeekkkk!!! i'm gonna be pissed lor. wonder if its too late to source for another one now.

PY,
so what u eating tonight?!
hehehe...

re: storing BM
thot just store in milkbags and freeeze??? no one seems to be talking about milk bags i wonder why...

hahaha im going to turf city to eat crab :D but dunno either chilli crab or black pepper..

yeah i bought milk bags for storage too..

hippo/gal>> u wanna try Ida? cammie and me booked her.. but since cammie can only do her massage 1 month later.. maybe she or the sister might have some slot to slot u girls in? haha i not sure ah no harm calling her and ask :D

ida - 9424 9829

astro,
haha... isit? too many posts. i din read everything word for word.
when are you gg on leave exactly? can tahan gg to work meh?

PY,
owen's ah? my HB was just there last fri. but i din go. so Ida comes from referrals too? yeah ok. will try and call her. i dun feel very good about this khatijah. a bit flighty. cos i wanted to try her for pre-natal so can gauge whether good or not. then she like ask me whether i can go her house, then later say how about after she come back from msia. like not very gian like that. so i din have the massage in the end. think i'll fire her first b4 she play me out. i not like ong so nice can put up with service providers cock attitude. hehe...

ong,
actually i know why u put up with her lah. just ren 2 more weeks. some more she taking care of bb right? but u really very nice lor. if its me i prolly ask her to get out and then suffer on my own already. hahaha...

ario,
my uncle got her maid to double up as CL too last time. His wife taught her the dishes to make beforehand and hw to prepare the herbal bath etc and seems to be a great idea cos this saves them $2k of hiring cost(for CL).

hippo,
ya juz 2 more wks and it will pass easily.

Came in to announce - i've popped. Gave birth on 3 Oct. Baby came out 21 days before EDD.

My birth story -
11.30pm - Reached gynae's clinic for my normal 37th week check-up.

12.30pm - Seen gynae and she did a scan for me. She saw the cord around baby's neck. Did VE and found that i was already 3cm dilated. She suggested that i induced that every day as no one can assure what will happen during the weekends. Plus i am already 3cm dilated so she believe labour will be fast.

1.30pm - Pill inserted. My hubby rushed down to do admission and send my girl to my mil's place, picked up hospital bed. I was sent to the waiting room.

2.30pm - Mild contraction. I was so hungry and thirsty as i only had a glass of milk and light breakfast that morning. Asked the nurse if i could eat. Nurse said must wait for gynae to come and check with her.

3pm - Hubby reached.

3.30pm - Gynae came and checked - 5cm dilated. Water bag burst. More intense pain kicks in. Still hungry but gynae said only can drink sips of water as i may end up emergency c-sect if the cord tighten when the baby move down the birth canal.

4.30pm - Intense pain. Asked when will i be transferred to delivery suite.

4.50pm - Transferred to delivery suite. Contraction very intense and have the urge to push. I felt baby already near exit. Screamed to my hubby that baby is coming out and he ran like a mad person outside shouting for the nurse. Nurse came in, took a look and shouted at me that its not yet and don't ever push!! Just use the mask. She kept pushing my legs down and assuring me gynae on the way.

5.15pm - Gynae came and i was already feeling high from the gas.

5.25pm - Baby out in a few pushes.

In fact, when gynae came in and they lifted up my legs, my hubby said he can already see the hair.

Very surprised that baby wanna come out so early at 37 weeks and a lot of things not prepared. But glad that he is safe and the labour is only 3 hours. He weighs 2.75kg.

dreamygal,
CONGRATULATIONS!!! love your birth story. i need more of these positive type stories to inspire me! haha... such short and sweet labour...

miemie,
isabelle is VERY BEAUTIFUL!!! love her pictures. hehe... eh i wanna go and carry and play with her!!!
maybe she can ask my little tortoise when she wanna make her grand entrance???

Congrats dreamygal!! Another monncake festival bb!! Very inspiring birth story indeed! Envious!!!! Great to hear that bb n mummy both doing well!!

shugar,
heard sam will be home in a couple of days. great to hear. then u wun be so free to come in here so often already hor? hehe... take care. btw, did u end up getting the belly bandit?

dreamygal: i was just away for a little while.. to exchange my nursing wear.. and u popped! ha.. hey. congratulations! 21 days earlier.. ok. remind myself dun fool around.. :p

hippo: go lor. but nothing to do leh..
leave? hmm.. i honestly got no clue.. coz i want to maximise but dun want to get myself trapped with no annual leave left.. coz i want to stretch till end march then go back.. hmm. seemed a bit difficult...
ya. one day. i am going to teach ellie how to follow the GF routine!

astro,
hahaha... eh, u wanna chope all the oct princesses ah? *ahem* must see what kind of MIL you'll be first. heheheheehhe... but u better think twice about mine lah. HB thinks she'll be kuai lan like the mother. in that case, she wont be a very docile DIL wor...

Congrats to Roxie & dreamygal! Reading all the birth stories really makes me more prepared for the day to come... though I know the actual thg may turn out to be totally different.

hippo: u dun have to worry. ME shall TAME ur girl.. whahhahaha.. :p

dreamygal having her 2nd. came 21 days earlier. ok. i better tell Miser.. ask him dun pray pray! hahahha...

angie,
hey, just saw that you're in childcare industry. hmmm... i wanna ask something that i'm been wondering for a long time now.
what's so special about the likes of Eaton House, Chiltern House? other than the fact that they charge an arm and a leg? cos we have a fren that have their own childcare centre and even THEY said really good things about these guys. just trying to get another opinion here...
thanks in advance.

astro,
but i wanna chope shugar's samuel leh... hehehe... k lah i very democratic one lor. let her decide... hehehe... but uh, little miss tortoise still no signals leh. even the later EDDs popping already... never mind i ren... hehehe...

today was a real good day lah. me and sotong went swimming, then ate lunch at imperial treasure. then finish off with gelare waffles. come home was nice and cool 28.5deg. turn on AC bubble and zzzzzz... if everyday like this then i dun mind if little miss tortoise come out on or even after EDD man... sigh... HEAVEN!!!

ddnikz: no la if i snack i would have gain wt liao.instead bb put on mroe then me leh, he 800g n i only600g

Dreamygal: congratz. how i hope mine pop out soon too. recntly really veryvery uncomfortable

Re:CL
Wa i better check out on mine too, but shd be min me n baby clothing n cooking lor

happy hippo: wa u n sotong stay very near?so nice.me home alone so bored.my tummy wt is straining me out too

annette,
yup. we like 5 mins apart. hehehe... u have elective c-section coming up isit?

PY,
so was it pepper or chilli??? i nearly went out and tabao one chilli just now k.

hippo>> i had salted egg and chilli hahaha.. almost wanted to order pepper as well. but afraid cant finish hehe

i went to the owen seafood restaurant at turf city they have 50% on life seafood!! both crabs only cos $17 after discount! wahaha!!

yeah alot of pple recommend Ida too.. there's a thread abt her but i cant find it now haha. Cammie tried her pre natal and she said it was good!

Congrats for all mummy that have popped.
I have delivery my baby boy Avan on 03 Oct, weight 3.02kg.
For those mummy havent pop yet.. jia you!

Congrats dreamygal!!!! ur birth story is so funny hahaha esp ur hubby shouted like a mad person for nurse lol. so cute lah :D Photos pls!

u didnt go for epi hor wah brave mama!

omg... i'm feeling very weird after my crabs.. i kept telling charlotte to wait for another day please hahaha..

suddenly my left side of my waist damn suan... and she keep wriggling ard my bottom there and i can feel her head movements..

PY,
hehe... yeah i guessed as much. saw their promo on papers. my hb's fren treated. they ate lobsters some more. i was too lazy to go. ok good. i call Ida tomorrow. think can fire that khatijah already. i got the "fong fei kei" vibe from her first time round already.

astro,
hahaha... damn kiasu lah u... i dun mind teng. big and strong!!! hahaha... can protect my princess. hehehee...
lets see if yu he turn out as sturdy looking as teng.

my EDD 18th. how to make tortoise crawl a bit faster ah? I HAVE NO SYMPTOMS! hahaha... was telling sotong, m wondering if i can be blur like her 1st time. having contractions but didn't even know?! anyways i am certainly curious where all my exercising is gonna land me in terms of labour and delivery. its been my main motivating factor thus far.

soh,
congrats! another mid-autumn festival baby!

hippo>> i'm just afraid that i'm too used to the cramps and if it's really a real labour i might just tot it's just another false alarm. lol!

loke, PY,
thu. MIA gynae is finally back. but i felt really weird last night. bb hippo was moving a la bob-the-builder but between like midnight to 2am, which never happened b4. after that, my pelvic area was very sore and had more painful cramps than ever b4. then she din move much rest of the night. wondering if she was trying to engage. ... ... ???

Dreamygal>> Congratulations! So yours is a mid-autumn festival baby too!

Loke>> Me too, wondering when's my turn. This is my 37 weeks, feel so heavy and restless. Dunno how to get through this waiting period. Seeing gynae this friday, will see what she says. *tired*

colostrum: how do we know whether we have them or is there any feeling when the baby is sucking for the colostrum?

anette: yeap, haha.. can arrange for a meet -up after delivery and let them play together!! haha..

Congrats to dreamygal, your birth story sounds so interesting and packed with excitement!! =0

List obtained from other threads in Sg Motherhood Forum -but unsure what are the items exactly, are these really needed?

For daily red dates drink
• 1kg Tong sum
• 1kg Boxthorn fruit or Chinese wolfberry
• 1kg Red dates
• 1kg Blue dates
• 1kg Black dates
• 1 pkt Dried Longan Flesh
• Bei Qi

Others
• Angelica (Dang Gui)
• Pao Shen
• 2 pkts Sen Hua Tang (pre packed. Suitable only for mummies with vaginal delivery)
• 3 pkts Ba Zhen (pre packed)
• 3 pkts Shi Chuan (pre packed)
• Chinese yam (huai san pian) used in conjunction with meat and other herbs aids digestion, regulate sugar level and control inflammation of the uterus.
• Du Zhong – For wellness of back
• Solomon’s seal (yue zhu) is used to alleviate many ailments, especially those affecting the throat and lungs
• Black vinegar is made from glutinous rice and lowers PH of food. It leaches calcium from bones cooked with it, therefore it is used to prepare high calcium food especially for breast feeding mothers and it also relieves a windy abdomen
• Black Wood Fungus

Optional expensive herbs
• Ginseng (Ren shen)
• Gao Li Shen
• Dong Chung Chau (Cordyceps)

MEDICATION:

For Mum:
• Su He Wan – pill to expel wind, 2X daily for 30 days
• Wu Jin Wan – pill to cleanse the body, only need to take for 3 days after delivery
• Bu Shen Wan – pill to strengthen the kidney
• Bai Feng Wan
• Su He Oil
• Herbal Bath for Mother (Da Feng Ai)

For Baby:-
• Pearl powder – 1 immediately when baby comes home
• Qing Ke Wan
• Jing Feng San
• Bao Ying Dan
• Hui Chun Dan
• Qi Li San
• Hou Zao San
• Yu Yi Oil
• Gripe water
• Shan Zhi Zi
• Herbal bath for baby, if there's jaundice (Ku Gua Tung)

hippo: teng these days very notti. getting very very playful.. will entertain ur princess DEFINITELY because he trie to be funny all the time! just sunday.. he crawled around Parkway borders.. trying to be funny lah this boy.. as he crawled.. he kept giggling and lol-ing to himself.. i think he sot sot liao...

hippo>> i think the uncle wont help u to deliver liao since u said isabel is a tortise haha. i've been feeling alot of her head movements since 2-3 weeks ago and now still alot.. the feeling is like as if she's squeezing her way thru haha.

last week i asked my gynae she told me that all these movements and soreness i felt doesnt mean that i've dilated lor...

astro,
wah... u came all the way to my "playground"???
hehe... i guess he's at that age right?

backpain,
wow... very cheem leh. ur list. i m totally clueless. will leave it to my parents... take it u'r not having CL? i bot a couple of confinement recipe books from popular. will pick and choose what i wanna eat and my parents + maid will try and follow recipe. hehe... not a great big fan of chinese herbs. so will prolly have those like ginger, sesame oil, DOM, rice wine type dishes. all the other things i may TRY but we'll see lah... hehe...

hippo: ya. SG very small.. nowhere to go!.. ya. he very playful these days.. said funny things, do funny things. try to be funny..

PY,
hahaha... yeah unlikely i will need "uncle's" help. k lah. that means my gynae SART lor. quite zhun with his estimate lor. HB and I were just discussing whether we shud ask gynae about inducing if worried bb hippo getting too big. i think he saw i fed her waffles today somemore wanna peng san already hahahaha... but i think induce also no point if she's not engaged right? so i think it'll really have to depend on whether ENGAGED or not! million dollar question...

hippo: yeapz, ya guessed correctly! I'll not be having a CL as MIL had said that she will be cooking... =p concern's tt mi tink i'll be downing lotsa ginger and all things heaty during this period.. coz din really suss out what's her idea of confinement.. haha...

was browsing other threads too and came across the list, but it doesnt really make much sense to me.. so wat checking out to see if anyone knows what's this list for.. especially those for the baby... very curious on the purpose of the pearl powder thgy as I've been hearing that pretty often but seems like no one really knows why and what's it for... ?? hmm...