(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Selamat Hari Raya to all ... !!!

re: birdnest
thot birdnest is usually consumed during the 2nd tri??

sweetzinc: good luck and all the best for ur last paper. it's certainly not easy to have exams as well as having baby at the same time. how did u manage that? thumbs up for u !!

all ...

have u prep all the stuff needed (such as herbs, dry tonic etc) for the confinement?

can share what are the stuff needed.. lazy to think ...hee..

time is running out.. think got to buy soon.

<font color="aa00aa">py, aiyoh....be careful...extra extra careful...

limmil, who is your CL?? my CL is my mum, i just tell her to prepare then she will buy first. if you have no idea, think you can ask the medical hall ppl. my mum bought 淮山 当归 玉竹 枸杞 红枣

红枣 桂圆(longan) for drink</font>

3006076.jpg

Hihi! uploading a pic of baby samuel

PY: aiyoooh! Pls be careful!

gal^: nope the nurses not giving him any formula.

shugar : he is so cute :D er..how come bb samuel's hat got so many safety pin and rubberband?

limmil : i going to chinatown medical hall later to check out e herbs. my MIL was telling me just get the '10 herbs soup' or '8 herbs soup' can already.

ong: tts gd news.ur bb discharged as well?

shugar:When u n bb can be discharged?

ddnikz: oh did dr choo said 2.5kg is normal at wk36? Hope mine can at least hit tt when i see her on wed, hasnt been eating much this week.

Happy face: All the best

Nomsnosm: aiyo, better hold on to the railing whenever u go up n down the stairs,dun playplay wo. tts the package i mentioned few mths ago fr national library. is it still restricted for 1st time mummy only? N ya same here, i dun have proper lunch for mon to thur when im on leave hence just make porridge for myself n taste terrible haha, hope my bb will gain some wt when i see gynae next wed.

Gal: wa 1 cm dilated means u be giving birth soon this coming week?

nomsnosm/sweetzinc/all mummies: is it true tt as labour is near, our foot,hand n face will swell even more? now my foot r like like piggy legs,look so weird with the tiny toes haha. nomsnosm n swweetzinc, mine aching like both of urs too cant walk much together with the pubic pain back again think need c physio next wk again.PY: be more careful wo, rally cnat imagine if any of us fall

Re: Diff btw urinating n waterbag leaking
I just told of this when im zzing.whats the diff in feelign btw urinating n waterbag leakage?Im thinking would there be such a case where when zzing, as preggy do lead to urinating leakage prob also, how we know its not waterbag leakage:p

annette : i guess waterbag leak (if u smell no smell), if urine leak (then got urine smell)

er..duno leh. depend on how fast i dilate right? am still hoping oct baby so... my dear baby...dun rush okay?

shugar >> samuel has such chubby cheeks!! hehe..
how's yr first day at home? who's doing yr confinement? guess it won't be long before samuel can go home!

bblove, ddnikz >>yah, i also recognise that my insomnia is pretty bad. decided not to look at my laptop all day to see if i can sleep if i've absolutely nothing to do aka nil stimulation! guess what happened...cannot sleep means cannot sleep..forcing myself was sheer torture...but i did what my gynae suggested which was, even if u can't sleep, just lie down....

jRRT >> But the funny thing is I did not put on any weight. Since the beginning of pregnancy till now, I have only increased my weight by less than 2.5kg (and that includes my baby!!!). So I am not sure if I should still continue my sugary stuff... My husband is afraid without all the sinful stuff, I will put on even lesser than 2.5kg! *confused*

Long long time never posted in this thread
Hope you all still remember me.

Have converted to be a silent reader since my last post on "Hair Dropping". Was abit heldback to post anything regarding my pregnancy as I have not been having a smooth progress thruout this pregnancy.

Was admitted to hopistal twice (May and Aug) due to gall bladder infections and the last round, had early contraction and nearly had a premature birth @ week 33 (EDD 04 Oct). But was given ventolin drip to ease off the contraction.

Finally on 19 Sep 09 (week 37+6 days)
5 am - water bag leakage or maybe urine leakage
5:15 am - surf internet to chkout out on how waterbag leakage is
5:30 am - pain started (every 12-15 min), decided to bath and clean myself before going to hospital
5:45 am - quick packed my hospital bag
6am - wake up hubby and tell him to bring #1 to babysitter house which is jus upstairs
6:10 am - rush to hospital (by the time the pain was 8 min interval)
6:30 - reach hospital, was too painful to walk. nurse check out and found me to be 6cm dilated
7am - 7 cm dilated (I urged them to call my gynae and tell them my # one came out fast)
7:20- Gynae arrived, checked on me, its 8 cm dilated. by the time the pain interval was ard 5 min once
ard 8+ : Finally pushed out the baby.

Shugar,
bb samuel is SO CUTE!!!! Hehe... Makes me wonder wat bb hippo looks like. Im pretty sure she got daddys nose. Hmmm but i think my nose nicer leh...

PY,
one more paper to go hor? All the best! N pls walk carefully.

Diana,
take care too hor.

Gal^,
wah!!! 1cm dilated?! Whens ur EDD agn? Excited or not??? I would b so hyped if i were u...

xoxo,
the resident owl had some proper zzzz last night? ;)

rooster &amp; moo >> congrats! hey, you keep my hopes high for a quick and easy birth...

hippo >> resident owl was meditating...zzz is still elusive..

xoxo

I am trying to relax cos my first bb is super small so scare #2 having the same problem.

But I put on alot, just too bad my bb nv take what I am eat so is all in me.

Rooster &amp; Moo>> Congratulations! Take care and hv plenty of rest.

Shugar>> Baby Samuel is lovely!

PY>> Take care leh, at our stage, we may be more prone to falls due to the extra weight infront, causing some "imbalance". As it is, I'm also feeling so heavy now. Cant wait to deliver!

<font color="aa00aa"> thank for all concern about my nearly-fall incident..i am taking extra care and be alert all the time.

rooster &amp; moo - so smooth delivery and short &amp; sweet birth story. how I wish I can have a short story like this..ahhaa rest well ok..Congrats again !!

Re: weight loss at 3rd trimester
I am still putting on, 100 gm but baby put on more, is that consider weight loss?

shugar, baby samuel soooooo chubby!!! very sweet, hug hug! you rest well!!

gal, I am like you also, want a oct baby, everyone is sooooo busy now (sept). my mum won't be around, hubby is extremely busy now with his work. Going to see doc on fri and see if I am 1cm dilated or not..hahaa..I can really feel the baby moving downwards, a bit of pressure...

Finally, my nursery room for baby asher is READY!!! so cute, love it so much... I always walk in and peek..hehehheeee...

Re: waterbag leaking
KEEEEEEEEEEP peeing is the sign, they said very obvious, like NON STOP PEEING, I know most of us are like that but then it is actually baby's weight that pressing onto the bladder then signal send to our brain, then we got the urge to pee but when we pee, not much urine.

water bag leaking is obvious because there is fluid coming out.(or most of us assume is urine) If you really think you are peeing a lot of urine, go to the hospital and run a simple test.

Re: BORN TO READ package
expected mummies and mummies with kids below 5 can take. hubby was there then hubby take one on my behalf because I forgot to bring IC. SO I think can take a few sets (they assume you have twins). Not only for first time mum so grab a copy!

Re: Home Alone in week 38
Luckily Mon PH, my bff is coming to my place to visit me. then tues wed thu I will be alone. Friday see doc...baby asher, be good and don't come out on these 3 days..</font>

gal^: Thanks! this pic was taken whe his condition improved. previously the rubber bands and pins on his cap held up his oxygen tube that aided his breathing.

annette: I'm back at my mom's place for confinement but BB samuel still at Mt A. We're being updated on his progress daily and HB goes over every evening to drop the expressed colostrum.

xoxolight: Hmm chubby cheeks ah? must be from me bah... :p hahah. but he's a very small BB. Birth weight was 2.1KG and length is 45cm.
Mom's doing confinement for me. Phew! its really super warm leh... only me feeling so warm that's the worse part. Haiz, lucky i cut my hair short man!
Doc called this morning to give update about BB. His breathing has improved, no more need for oxygen tubes and his glucose levels are also stabilizing. Hope and pray he continues to get stronger. Now they just monitoring his slightly bloaty belly.

hippo: haaahah .... you'll find out soon yah? ;P

bluesea/noms: thanks thanks!

noms: good to have everything done and ready. Bet your nursery looks great wor!

<font color="aa00aa"> shugar, how come BB weight only 2.1kg? were you inform before your delivery, i mean the est weight</font>

noms: yeah, i knew all along that he was a small BB. In fact last gynae visit b4 i popped he was only 1.9kg at 35 weeks. I guessed it was my being on the GD diet lor. A lot of things cannot eat then... sigh

shugar,
Your bb is soooo cute! The hat is his own or hostpital provide one?

annette,
Dr Choo say the size is norm. Btw, she didnt give me any swab test leh. Not sure if it is cos' I am opting for C-section?

Re waterbag leakage,
I ever asked gynae how it is like. She told me that waterbag leakage is just like when you hold up a bag of water with small hole then the water continuously drip out.

Guess another way is like what has been mentioned, the smell.

Have been MIA-ing due to work again. Nowadays insomnia is no longer a problem. Work is so stressful and tiring that I could knock out fast at nite!

Anyway, congrats Rooster and Moo!! Envious of the smooth and fast labour. Like everyone else, I hope mine will be like that too!

Shugar, good to hear that BB Sam is doing well and he looks like a good looking boy! You take care too, ya!

Diana: must be really careful these days! For me, cos work requires me to climb up and down the stairs, I really try to make sure I watch every step. Now a big fan of the idea of giving birth in school.

Re: Swollen face, feet and hands!!
ME ME ME!! A complete victim of it on a day by day basis. MIL and mum kept saying that if the swell comes and goes 3 times, I should be rady to give birth but I told them mine comes and goes on a day by day basis due to standing and sitting (to given students small group discussion) that this Old Wives' Tale does not apply!! Really hate to see my 'pig trotters' every day. It's so bad that my ankles basicaily go hiding!

gal^ >> BW= Brazilian wax hehehe

shugar>> he's so cute! Congrats to u once again hhehe hopefully he can go home soon!

hippo>> haha i also keep wondering how Charlotte will look like hehe :D

limmil/nomsnosm/happy hippo/Bluesea/annette>> haha thanks!! One more paper to go lor.. experienced some cramps in the middle of the night too.. like menses cramps..

after the incident yesterday, my hb is more careful with me when walking liao hahaha!

noms: my CL shld be my mum.. but i will need to prep all the stuff first before she comes over.

sweetzinc: i have washed the cot bedsheet once 2 mths back, coz my elder gal wanted to slp in it.. hee..
shld be giving it a wash and clean all the dirt nearer the date again bah.

Selamat Hari Raya to alll!!!

PY,
no, its just the mattress in the cot right now. i'm not putting the sheets on yet. my HB always walks behind me when i'm going up the stairs, behind when i'm going down and right next to me if walking on flat ground. i think he realised how clumsy i've become. hehehe...
oh i'm contemplating brazilian wax too btw.

xoxo,
aaww... sorry to hear that... my lower back was a little sore and tight. went for a swim, had lunch, then massage. eeerrr, that wasn't really me snoring in there today... hahahaa... i was a bit dazed. sorry din realise that you and HB haven't met til it was a little too late. my bad.
am feeling nicely stretched and relaxed right now. feel like i could snooze for another hr. ...

hippo>> hahaa.. i did mine when i was in week 27 now grow back liao and quite a no. of ingrown hair.. which i cant take it out myself! haha cannot see man. only can feel it.

i'm going for it on tuesday after my paper :D
yeah i also feel that i'm getting clumsier these days and he always ask me to becareful waha.

limmil>> icic i've washed the sheets liao haven put it on yet.. maybe i can put it on next weekend hehe! my 6th sense tell me that she will come out within these 1-2 weeks haha :D

ddnkiz: yup, i am using breast pumps for that. No choice.

Tien/Angie: thanks a lot!

PY: same like hippo I also just have the mattress in the cot w/o sheets yet coz I duno when BB Samuel will be back so didn't want to put on the sheets yet.
One more paper to go?? Jia you! :D

Haiz, i'm so bored already and its only 1 day into confinement. Probably coz I dun have BB around with me now that's why. :S Hmm, wondering if i should be enjoying the peacefulness for now or what... but really feeling kinda xian, hahaha... zzz then eat then come online a while then its time for the breast pumps and the cycle continues.
Hahaha, can't wait to go out! I want aircon!! :p

My baby gal is supposed to due in late Oct, but she decides to arrive early on 16th Sept. I had low placenta problem and was bleeding. So gynea advised me to go for emergency c-section. Baby Megan arrives at 34wks, 2.17kg, but thank God
God, she is well, and should be coming home soon.

Shugar,
Our babies are born on the same day. Megan is also through c-section. But she's premature at 34wks. I just came back from hospital yesterday, stayed there for 5 nights. Megan is still in the hospital. Miss our babies right?

hippo >> got snoring meh? haha, i didn't hear.
guess i recognised yr hubby immediately becos of yr facebook pics lah. he must be thinking what a sulky friend you have.

still can't sleep. the reflexologist said the same thing as my gynae ... "it's like that, cannot do anything..."..yeah, thanks.

i am splitting hairs soon. actually, i was and still am in a really bad mood today. highly irritable and doing my best to keep my lid on the big bad monster. even mooncakes from ritz and fullerton (the box is really something) can't cheer me at all.

the nausea level is ceiling high as well, heartburn doesn't make this package more brilliant..for the first time, i really wish i can deliver soon. nvm, no need to be on oct 14...it can be NOW. argghh!!!

shugar >> yeah, icky icky hot and windless weather is also on my nerves today...yr mum sounds really traditional...i've no intention of following the "no bathing, no aircon" rule. in fact, i am gonna break them all except try to adhere to the confinement diet.

hey..2.1kg is okay leh. i'm a premature baby myself and maybe that explains why i was considered petite pretty much all my life. labour for my mum was only 3.5hrs so that says alot of how easy it was to deliver me cos i was really quite small. think barely 2kg..but i never really asked except my mum did say i was so tiny, she couldn't bear to lift me up.

i say consider-ed because, i certainly don't think i am very petite now..wahahaha...

i think the sugar-less diet did play a part.... but impt thing is that bb samuel is getting stronger day by day and he looks so peaceful and adorable! hooray for being off the breathing bit yah!

haha, when you first saw samuel did you "recognise" him from yr ultrasound scans? gee, i think it'd be real cute to place actual and scan side by side..

celline: hihi! oh same day? wow! :D another one! Which hospital did you go to? Yah lor, a bit miss BB. Did you go visit her?

xoxolight/owl! You're here! Hahahha, just when i was feeling a bit xian!
I'm feeling a bit like a cow off late instead of an owl! :p

Yah man, its an awful warm day isn't it?
Phewww!!! At least my mom allows bathing, but no going out for now. She says wanna go out gotta wait at least 2 weeks coz she feels my body's weak right now and should stay home to get rest.
As for air con, never had air con here at my mom's place... just that after getting married and getting our own place, i kena 'spoilt' by aircon every night. hahahaha :p

Shugar: U delivered at Mt A rite? Share yr bill can, I'm also going to deliver there and still quite confused with this bill and medisave thingy.

Celine: congrats!

xoxo: I'm also experiencing the nausea and the morning sickness symptoms like first trimester. So xian and I feel lousy after meals. Mouth want to eat but after taste is yucky and the digestion is super slow....Tend to burp a lot too!!!

shugar >> haha, cow, owl...the way pregnancy changes us..amazing!! and you are now a Mum! how do you feel abt this huge leap of identity?

i am sure under the tender lovin' care of mum, you'll heal quickly! how's yr wound coming along? better?

went off for awhile now because of the nausea...can feel the wooziness coming again..so gonna lie on the couch and stew for awhile now. hopefully that wretched sensation would go away...

angie >> you are in this merlion club with me? a bundle of hugs then..i hope you can keep food down...cos i couldn't do so today and that's making me miserable....usually i am used to the nausea/merlioning cos it never really went away for me thru'out this pregnancy. but today, for some reason, my patience kinda ran out and am feeling rock bottom at the moment. sigh, so like what i mentioned abv, gonna go lie on the couch and wish all this ickiness away..

celline: hey, just wondering, are you expressing milk/colestrum for Megan now?

Angie: My bill ah.. mine is c-sec with 3 days hospital stay. I gotta check with HB.
My first day i took the family suite coz no more single or deluxe room. Subsequent 2 days took deluxe room coz still no single room available. :S

Hi Shugar,
I delivered my baby in TMC. Stayed there 5 nights. Didn't go to see her today, but my hubby brought my colestrum for Megan. I'm a milk cow now...though supply is still low.
The PD/nurses said Megan is not suckling milk well, taking her own sweet time, usually more than 20mins.

Whoa Shugar, you lucky gal. The deluxe room must be real shiok...

How's your wound? Still very painful? I heard that sticking on some plaster call Cicacare helps it to cure faster. Not sure how true but maybe worth a try?

You mentioned that you use breastpump for the colestrum but you mean you do that in the hospital?? Cos' I heard that in hospital they just squeeze the breast hard and use a spoon or cup to collect.

Tien,
Though I do not have swollen face and hands, my feet certainly makes up for the "loss". The feet looks like bear paws leh... no bone structure at all. everyone looks at me in pity when they stare at my feet. then start asking me if I walk or not... need help or not... etc

celline: oh same here. my hb just left with the colestrum for samuel too.
yah, now like cow wor.... and same also, supply still low but its ok... slowly lah

ddnikz: Yah the room was not bad, but the suite was the best man! hahahhaa... haiz burn hole in pocket leh :p

Wound is healing ok. I am wearing a surgical band now. Thanks!
Yah you can loan the pumps from the nursery. They change a one time $20 for that.

<font color="aa00aa"> very happy today, went out to try mooncakes at orchard (only yam mooncakes) and had a fantastic high tea at Zhou's Kitchen, not the food but the companies..hahhaa..whole day eat eat eat, now not taking dinner aleady.

Very angry just now because hubby hits my dog! I can tolerate everything except this!

Re: Lilypadz Reusable Silicone Breastpads
PARCEL ARRIVED !!! Will sent out all the pads tomorrow.

Someone asking about mattress sheet, I already done it this morning, really got the feeling baby akan datang and we will be kelam kabuh...so preparing earlier.</font>

xoxo: wound is feeling much better now. only hurts occasionally when I'm getting up from bed or chair.

I hope you;re feeling better now! *pat pat*

celline : congrats

xoxo : big hug. hope u feel a lot better soon.

hippo : my edd 10-10. er..not excited. nervous and panic more like it. aha. trying to rush to complete what is needed.

herbal soup for confinement :
er..i went chinatown today to inquire. u know those herbal soup packet from ntuc type? like soup tht revitalise, soup to improve blood circulation, etc etc. generally what they say is we pick what we need and drink. so.. sounds like nothing specially specific that we really need? but guess chinatown herbal packet/those medical hall one should be fresher compared to ntuc.

swollen feet

my feet seems to be not so swollen liao leh. at least now can see abit of bones haha.. they heard pple saying if the swell goes off, means gonna go into labour soon!