(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

diana>> heehee.. i dunno which is which, i only know there is this 6 + 1 or 6 in 1 jab which will be completed when baby is 6 months old..
wad other jabs are necessary? if im not wrong, these injections can be paid for using the CDA funds?

Hi limmil,

Thanks for updating on what to bring for delivery at TMC.. =)

I've found one webby on the things to bring but not sure what TMC provides tho.. Thx for your update.. http://www.hospitalbag.org/Print-hospital-bag-checklist.aspx

Btw, does anyone know how would TMC's billing be like? as in if one is admitted then pushed to the delivery ward then din give birth, pushed out again to normal ward, then pushed in a second time to delivery ward then give birth.. would the charges for the use of the delivery ward be 2x or would it be based on the no. of hrs spent in there? coz i've read somewhere in other forum that this happened to one of the mums but she din give some light on the charging wise..

<font color="aa00aa"> Mie mie, first time mum is like that, I have to learn all these (till now still blur at time) when I join the team at KKH from 2008-2009. we have to be alert all the time when comes to vaccination, cannot depend on the doctor at all! So far, only neonatologists/ ID doctors made no mistake on ordering, the rest, order wrongly still blame us so we have to count properly before breaking the packaging and jab the poor babies...

I know there are some can use CDA funds like prevner, rotavirus. can't remember hexa(6 in 1) can or not.

the website dreamgal provides is very very useful, go read up then you won't be confuse. do a timetable if you are super busy mummy then giving those combined jab is a good idea but of course it is costly. very very costly. I am not so sure if I wanna start my boy on prevnar too early because I am not bringing him out to singapore before 6 months of age. imagine in the past prevnar was not so popular and my sister only found out when her girl was 2 then she only took 1 jab and it saves her at least $300-$400.</font>

morning everyone,

noms: then think its better to have your phone by ur side at all times, any hiccups can call ur hb.

re:vacinnations
didn't know that there are so many types of vaccinations, i only know about the 6-in-1 type of vaccination.

<font color="aa00aa">bbseed, yeah loh, now go toilet also bring phone..ehhee

Re: Vaccination

This is what I schedule

at birth - BCG , Hep B

2 mth old - Hexa, rota

4 mth old - 5 in 1, rota

6 mth old - Hexa

13 mth old - prevenar

15 mth old - prevenar, mmr

18 mth old - 5 in 1 booster

24 mth old - varicella

7 yr old - mmr booster

baby doesn't need booster as I am not a hep b carrier. will check with my snr if the schedule just in case I don't miss out anything in 15 mth old...can't remmber if there is a booster or not..</font>

hippo, oh yar i should check with gynae too. i was planning to buy one from his clinic as i saw he has it at the reception cabinet

btw is 1 night gown sufficient for 3 - 4 days stay at the hospital? m thinking whether i should bring 2 incase bleeding stained 1 gown.

mrsL,
hehe... actually thot hospital will provide? i think mine does, but i will still bring 2, just in case got stained.

dreamygal,
i like the name glendon. just Glenn on its own is also nice. thanks for the link. hey, i think u mentioned something about milk storage bags before? any recommended ones? just realised i bought the wrong ones. they're bottle liners, not storage bags!!! ack!!! if u r doing BP on any, can let me know? think i quite lazy to go and buy online already. hehe...

<font color="aa00aa">hippo, i bought lansinoh after a lot of rave, got it at the selling thread, a bit expensive than others but should be good, zip lock also.</font>

yesterday evening i rushed to Mnt A as i was not feeling baby movements for about 3 hrs.. went there for CTG. as soon as i took the cab, i started to feel baby movements slightly. then at hospital, baby was super active. Still I went thru the CTG to be on the safe side. Naughty baby made mama lie down for 1 hr with the CTG belts on.. :)
but felt very relaxed after CTG as nurses mentioned that everything is ok...
i'm in my 38th week now but baby still quite high up and cervix also not opened up at all....lets see how the next week gynae check up goes..

Reg night gowns - Does Mnt A provide the one with front openeing or we have to take our own? pls advice.

Vin>> I also experienced this, didnt feel much movement yesterday evening and got worried. Somemore I was having a bad cough, so didnt know if it affected baby somehow? Plus I was in a meeting whole afternoon, so I didnt consciously feel his movements.

But I decided to wait a while. When I had my dinner after work, he kicked and I was so relieved, then whole of last night, he regained his activeness right up to this morning. *phew*

Think with less room to move about now, baby movements will decrease but we shd still be able to feel them. Hv you tried doing a fetal movement count and record them in a chart?

I will be delivering in Mt A and hv bought button front gowns.

<font color="aa00aa"> Vin, thank god everything is fine now... your baby naps for 3 hours, that's why..hehee..then when u walk, u wake baby up..haha

I am also seeing gynea next week, you update us ok..</font>

Hi Shugar,
Glad to see your post again. Not to worry, your bb will be fine

Mummies, can advise me whether it is necessary to get a high chair?

Also, do we need to start sourcing for a paediatrician?

not sure abt other hosp, but for TMC, they only provide a 'surgery' gown on the delivery day, by the following day, we got to wear our own clothings once we are able to step out of our bed, so maybe best is bring 2 sets incase we stain bah..

bill size: no comment at this moment. ;-)

Diana - generally my baby naps for an hr or so only. but yesterday i guess baby was also tired along with me as i walked around a lot in the afternoon.
i guess the last few days will be difficult - monitoring baby movements and managing body ache!!! have been having a lot of lower back ache only while sleeping since last 2 nights.

Bluesea - i do monitor baby movements but don't record it in any chart form. my gynae mentioned that baby should move around 10 times in 5 hrs. But the nurse at Mnt A yesterday mentioned that 15 movements in whole day is also ok at this stage.

i'll buy some button front gowns. thats the only thing pending for my hospital bag.

ddnikz: i checked with one of the sales girl when i bought the stroller and cot, they say no need to buy so early coz they will need it like ard 3 mths. so in the end i didn't buy.

as for the PD, my gynae will ask us to shortlist one PD otherwise they will assign one for us.

re:clothings
ya, understand that TMC need to bring own so think i will be bringing 2 set(in case stain) + 1 set of going home clothes.

MrsL,
Wow, thks 4 the suggestions!

Diana
I'm here.... sometimes will 4get to check the thread...
Then at times forum oso got problem leh!
I'm gg taka later for the mooncakes!!!!!!!!!!!!!! woohoooo~~~!!! but provided my bum dun ache coz i am gg isetan sale 1st.

Eh its gd to find someone tt can make fun of ppl's name so at least we will know how bad it sounds and can decide if we still wan tt name.

Astro
Rayner is a nice name too!

Oooohhh, Rynette is v special! I like the sound of it! I thot Reyes sounds more like a boy's name? Oh yah, it can b unisex oso...
I like Renee oso... in fact i almost decided on this name but on 2nd thots, the older folks might not b able to prounounce it. Haiz... I like names with 2 syllabus oso. easier to pronounce.

<font color="0000ff">Shugar popped? CONGRATS!</font>

Btw, i went for my gynae check-up yest @ 34 wks. baby weighed 2.4kg and gynae was alarmed coz she said at 34 wks, baby shld weigh ard 2kg... mine is considered overweight!
i was amused! she gained almost 1 kg for the past 3 wks. gynae asked me to watch my diet and cut down on mooncakes. I replied, "But i haven started yet!" hahahahahaaha...
I am def not overly concerned thou she said baby is overweight at this stage. I believe baby will b the right size 4 me to deliver when the time comes.

<font color="aa00aa">Vin, i find my baby doesn't nap at all, he is always moves here a little, moves there a little

jRRt, I want to go taka for mooncakes today also but my sister fly kite la..yo, my baby 2.8kg at week 36 leh...is 60th percentile..a bit heavy also...haha, we eat less sugar ok..I only eat OR NI mooncakes..die la, calories and fat</font>

bbseed,
So that means for the highchair, we definitely need it at later stage. Just not NB stage.
Ok. that sounds good.

Diana
Heng i got u as a "partner" oso!

Gynae says next check-up @ 36 wks, baby shld b 2.6kg... if baby keeps increasing weight so exponentially, i shld b afraid. hahaha... in fact i think baby is so smart. she gained half of my total weight gain these past 3 wks. everything muz share share with mommy mah hor? heee

but seriously will watch my sugar intake. hv been craving 4 so much sweet stuff recently... but mooncakes, i cannot let go of them lah! hehehe.. i only eat snowskin and preferably wif egg yolks! salivating...

ur sis fly u kite u still can go mah... but then again, no hurry since it'll b there till Mooncake Festival. Dun wait too long in case baby decides to come out early!

<font color="aa00aa">jRRt, haha...same, our babies good la, i put on 900gm then baby puts on 1.6kg ! he takes all the weight la but my gynea not concern bout it one.. i shall control my own intake like you also...wah..saw 食珍 yam mooncake on the tv now!!! sigh...control control...</font>

i'm getting nervous!!!

the swelling on my feet has reduced since yesterday.. i hope i'm not thinking too much. when baby engages, i'll feel less breathless right????

BABY please wait for daddy to come home from hk!!!

Just got back from Gynae check-up, am now 33 weeks and baby is around 1.8kg. I gained 500g since 2 weeks ago and in total have gained about 8kg from start of pregnancy. Gynae said all's well for us and that baby's head is down. Originally, I opted to do C-sect and have been quite persistent abt it but gynae is trying to persuade me to do natural. She thinks I should be ok and not too much of pushing if I dilute by delivery time coz baby is quite petite. She reckons, baby should be around 2.6-2.7kg at delivery time. I am now so confused as I am worried about my chest/rib injury from a previous car accident and history of piles plus worried that I may not dilute then hv to rush for emergency C-sect, cost$$$ will go up.Guess I'll need a lot of prayers!!!

Shugar: Glad to hear all's well with you. Will pray for you and baby

Mooncakes:
Was at Taka earlier after gynae's. Wanted to check out the mooncakes too but hubby had to rush off to work....sigh...

Hi Mummies;

I selling of the below item as some is from a gift and I dont need it ;

1) Medela Mini Pump(Plus) @ $260
- Bought in August 2009 (thus there's still 11 months warranty). Will include 3pcs of BN Pigeon storage bottles for free.

2) Almost New LATIDO CAR SEAT (red) @ $70
- Condition's 9/10

3) BN LATIDO CAR SEAT (red) @ $190

4) BN Baby Bond Sling @ $30

5) BN MIM Silk Sling in Navy Blue @ $ 40

6) BN Avent Milk Storage Bottles with seals @ $18

7) BN Mustela Stretch Marks @$15

Interested parties please refer to http://www.flickr.com/photos/42550566@N02/.

For queries, please at [email protected].

Diane and jrrt: My baby is on the big side too. Today is 35W4D and baby is abt 2.8KG. My next check up is 2-1/2 weeks away, and gynae will probably do a VE. If conditions ok, might induce due to my diabetic condition.

so far my gynae visit has been scheduled like almost 3 weeks once, even at this stage.

hey Angie, Natural delivery is always good. and since your baby is on petite side, then hopefully there shouldn't be any issues with it.
Just be positive about it and everything will be ok. :)
will pray for you...take care..

vin>> i almost went thru the same thing 2 weeks ago.. i can totally relate to that.. it was such a scary experience not to feel baby's movements.. but hor, i tink is due to our baby having their lazy days or wad..

<font color="aa00aa">Angie, thanks for updating us..
you will be fine, must trust your gynea...

siangjiao, looks like 3 of us are having good size babies...ahha and our EDD sooooo close somemore..maybe pop on the same day, you see how la, if gynea suggested induce then just listen to him, afterall, he knows your condition more than anyone else..ehee.. vin and I are week 37 this week eh...

MieMie, now your girl moves a lot?</font>

diana>> my girl moves throughout the whole day, machiam no need to sleep.. and she moves till i feel my tummy is going to rupture at the sides.. damn pain one lo.. sometimes i will just smack my own tummy (at the location of her butt) and tell her to stop it! haha

Hippo : Thanks. Just thought its cute, cos then i'll have the 'Glen' siblings. Haa... But #3, then i will have problem le.

I've got blue egg milk bag, ready stock. This one quite a lot of people find it good. I used this brand as well the last time i breastfeed. Ok for me.

Am also bringing one new brand from Taiwan called donbaby. Shipment reaching this monday. Its more economical. Each piece is individually sealed somemore, which i find it good. If you want, can mail you a sample.

wa now talking abt injection aldy! i thought all jabs r scheduled for us in the bookletand we just follow? tts wat my gynae told me wo, nvr really go think abt it.

Shugar: take care wo. waiting for ur bb pics

All mommies: miemie,maybe we shd create a album at teh 'oct mummies' site in facebook n upload our bb pics hehe

Re: Baby Jabs

Has any mummy found out what's the cost of having jabs at different clinics?

1)Polyclinic
2)GP
3)pediatrician

Also, which are the clinics where we can use CDA account for the jab payment?

Where can we buy gowns that open in front?

Tomorrow is my last day at work! yeah!! But I think I still have some work to do at home coz I haven't finish.

Miemie: Ok thanks. Will go shopping this weekend.

P.S. for those delivering at TMC, a nurse told me to buy lots of disposable underwear, so that you reduce staining and washing problem.

Can somebody help me to update the name i choosen for my bb as well, since my 1st child named glendon, i named my 2rd children, Alston Gan.

Really duno when he is ready to be out n see his mama n papa... these days have been feelng aching n slight pain on my virgina bone, doc say it is normal as bb have enaged down ler.... i hope he can come out on 20sept... hehee.... 20.09.2009 mah hahaha.... 16more days to go to reach my edd 3oct.

Diana
Yeah, we got big babies! Haha.. but the actual size can only be determined at birth. My son was estimated to be 3.6kg at full term but he only weighed 3.1kg when I delivered him at 39W4D. So everything now is juz a gauge. 
Aiyoh, my EDD is later than u girls leh. I am at Wk 34 now while u r alrdy Wk 37 and our babies’ weight r comparable. Hehehe…

Oh I did not make it to the mooncake fair @ Taka. Bum was threatening to ache aft Isetan and I quickly came home.

Blink_girl
No not necc true tt u’ll feel breathless when baby’s engaged. I am alrdy feeling breathless at this stage.

Dun b too anxious. Keep talking to baby. Being anxious is oso not gd 4 u now. Relax….

Angie
OMG, we r only a week apart and our baby’s weight difference is so huge!
Trust ur gynae and juz do ur best when labour starts. U might b surprised at wat ur body can do.

Siangjiao
Ohhh ur check-ups r still only 3 wks apart? Mine is now 2 wks apart (from 32 wks) and aft the next check-up, it’ll be weekly (from 36 wks) alrdy. U r wif KKH? But dun get overly worried, mayb ur gynae has a reason not to schedule ur check-ups so frequently? U ever asked him/her why? Juz say u r curious lah.

Glass
I pampered myself this time round. I got the front snap buttons PJs fr MotherCare!
U can get cheap ones fr pasar malam or most wet markets. Taka 3rd level near baby station oso carries PJs sets. Alternatively if u wanna splurge, can try Marks &amp; Spencer as well.

Vin/Diana/jRRT: Thanks for your encouraging words! Hopefully can do natural and everything goes well, then can even save $$$...hehe. Pray, pray and pray....

jrrt: hmm i got taka vouchers, so i think i'll go taka and get the pjs. I don't wear pjs at home. i wear old t-shirts and shorts, so i think it's a bit waste money, but if i want to breastfeed, I guess that will be more convenient.

so we have 2 gals named isabel(le) and 2 boys named glendon here right? hehe... interesting. next time set them up for double date! hahaha... i'm obviously feeling quite bo liao today.

miemie,
eh i also lah. mine like bob the builder thru out the day, sometimes i just FLICK my tummy tell her to stop it. hahaha... :p

dreamygal,
ah ok. maybe i check out your site for the products and we take this offline? hmm... i forgot your msn now... never mind, i'll go find it now...

siangjiao,
your EDD also 18 Oct right? same as me. guess what? bwahahaha... my gynae told me the same thing today. 2.8kg. think he cannot tahan already, must be thinking "better drop the bomb on her today so she'll bloody stop EATING!!!" hahahaha... anyways doc says we have to see how bb grows in the next couple of weeks. but he's quite pro natural and will encourage first time mothers to try natural barring any medical conditions. from now on its weekly checkup for me.

xoxo,
u and your big mouth. luckily never bet bb's estimated weight with you. anyways i'm sticking to your 30% error rate so she could be anywhere between 2.0 - 3.6kg. hahahahaha...

abt jabs >> poor babies! they are taking more jabs than us adults..any day! what's SG's community immunity percentages like? i am more concerned abt the potential reactions to the jabs...

hippo >> You've got SMS...these docs are all very interesting. gotta engage us in mind games
...hehe, no need to win this bet...i am still sticking to mine abt u being first!

shugar: samuel is a nice name!!! congrats again!!! cant wait to see pictures!!!

hippo: i think all the girls in my carat club are dancing babies!! my angel is the SAME!!!! can be quite painful sometimes..

xoxo,
really? think sotong may emerge the victor. isabel's head not "low enough" to be engaged, according to doc. what's wrong with 2.8kg? nothing in my opinion. but doc says "hmmm... bb QUITE BIG. so cannot rule out c-section if she really gets too big". but he did say he normally will encourage 1st time mums to try natural first anyhow.

loke,
sometimes i wonder if i'm really carrying a CALF. feels more like a little chimpanzee inside... :p

Shugar >> BRAVO!! So happie for u my dear!! Samuel is a nice name!! May u be blessed with a speedy recovery and he will be also be out of nicu soon too!! share with us the photos soon ya
May u settle back home with ease too. Huggies!!!

<font color="aa00aa"> angie, my expected pregnancy = unexpected expenses..hahaha, i was worried about this problem when I was choosing which hospital to go in wk 5.

xoxo, our poor babies got so many jabs waiting for them. that's why this morning I look at the schedule and try to avoid many jabs.

shugar, kiss kiss baby samuel!! You going home tomorrow? How's your wound? Hope you are coping well, speedy recovery!!</font>

Shugar: Hi Baby Samuel!

Hippo: yar, the analogy is if the durian is ripe, then we can pluck, no need to wait until the durian drop. In my case, my gynae's rational is, if I continue keeping baby till the 40th week, baby will only get bigger (riskier for a natural delivery), and he will be exposed to the "sugary" environment longer. Not very advisable.

hey gals, i bought some baby toys for baby. Like rattles, all these need to sterilized or not? (some come in the opening packaging, and we dunno for sure who touched it before).. hope i don't sound like kiasu or kiasee mummy

Haha, can feel all the excitement in here after Shugar has popped

I am presently in my 36th week. Praying hard that bb will stay in there till the day I want her to come out. My EDD is 16 Oct... but since I am opting for C, hope she stays in there till my week 39th.

Mummies who have packed their hospital bags,
do you sterilise your breast pumps before hand or bring to the hospital to sterilise? Hospital got such service or not? Do they charge for this?