(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

astro>> you best! you forgot how to write teng's chinese name!!! i tink the best is to name teng's didi 江一一, sure wun forget one! just kidding hor.. heehee

after wad you said about the 'xin’ and ‘wang' for babies born in the year of the ox, i realised my girl has both that in her chinese name.. 恺琦 has both xin and wang.. i asked my hubby if want to change her chinese name coz though i like this name very much, im a bit undecided.. quite sad in fact..

Astro: itch is still there but under control. Legs, arms and tummy is all disfigured. I took pictures, will show my boy in future. But i suspect he will be indifferent, just like his dad.

limmil: en lei and zi bin are nice. Though en lei seems more unique. what's your husband's surname?

For us, we more or less settled Andre for the english name. For chinese, we are leaving to my PIL. (Apparently, my DIL and MIL are fighting over the names now.. hahah)

For me, cannot combine hubby surname and mine. He is Zhang. Mine is Lan. Our son will end up being a cockroach!

<font color="aa00aa"> astro, icic...my hubby really has no time to sit down and talk about chinese names now, no choice, just leave it to the master.</font>

thanks astro, Francis abit common for boys but agree with you the feminine version is looks for class.

your miser so hardworking at least make the effort to go look up dictionary, find out the strokes.. mine, think he carry the dictionary and slp. to him the lesser strokes it is the better.

noms: that is classic. :D

shugar >> time to party! time to have all yr forbidden food too..you made it!! hehe and to top it off the first mummy in the oct forum to pop!

HEARTIEST CONGRATULATIONS and rest well 'k!

miemie >> i've just returned from breakfast with sotong and hippo and yep, she's delivered safely ard 7+...that's all i know....now let's just wait for her little one's pic and the birth story!

<font color="aa00aa"> siangjiao, we nearly took Andre, or else our son will have same name...we wanted Azure ended up no one can pronouce it correctly except hubby's colleages because all hardcore programmer!

hahha...you make me laugh with the combined name la...!!</font>

<font color="aa00aa"> I already bomb shugar's facebook with congrats!! so happy for her... finally she can rest well, was not able to rest and sleep for days</font>

annette: great minds think alike. :)

nom / Astro: haha.. i intend to give my boy this english name.. Damien Low .. haha.. dun think it sounds funny hor.. haha

siangjiao: thanks. my hubby surname is Low.
me too.. have been itching at my tummy area since 2nd tri..

Congrats to shugar !!

actually favian was my first shortlisted and also the name means - bright one.. but was being rejected. coz scared those elders dunno how to pronounce and become fabian.

thn still gotta read together with HB surname to make sure it dun sounds weird. otherwise will be one of the classics noms mentioned.

siangjiao: like that you also can think. but to be the truth when saw this i laugh out (sorry).

limmil: ya. many stones.. and so funny the way u say his life very hard and will be very stubborn.
ur elder girl's name also very de nice! limmil.. i am stretching it slightly ah.. but matched against liu. en lei. can be contorted to be come ..流眼泪'? :p

miemie: yeh! yiyi is a nice name leh! for a while. i was really considering that.. coz.. REALLY NOTHING TO MATCH WITH yi liao!!!. hahahah.. yep. sure wun forget.. actually 江 X X also quite easy for me to remember.. :p:p
whahahhahah

ur chinese name is very nice leh. if u really like it.. keep it.. dun be affected by what that book says

mascot: wah.. disfigured? if it happens to me. i wil make it a point for Miser to REMEMBER it very VIVIDLY .. ALL THE TIME..
zhang lan?! whahahha. i burst out laughing when i saw this.. and i thought miser and mine surname combined is bad enough!! :p:p:p

hehe, i got one colleague in China. Her name is Qiu Jie (秋杰)which sounds pretty decent ... until i found out that her surname is Zhong.

So while naming our precious ones, better permutate all the possible combinations, and consider the dialect spelling too. It's their branding for life.

Hi mata,

My gynae did not perform the VE on me on Monday
... cos he was rushing to deliver the baby at TMC. He mentioned he will done it on the next visit instead.

Me still around..... still anxiously waiting for the baby's arrival

<font color="aa00aa">bbseed, you ever considered Fabian? it seems like a nice name, there is a very nice endo doc at kkh called Fabian Yap and another famous Fabian Lim internet marketing genius.</font>

yeah! let's welcome our first Oct baby who popped today at 7+am!

shugar can resume her sugar diet! and first on the list is mooncakes? wow, i cannot wait to listen to her birth story and see little baby's photos..

bbseed: ha. i nagged at him to do so. else he will also carry the dictionary and sleep.. yes. to him. less strokes the better.. he keeps complaining the teng in teng's name is difficult to write. yet he still named teng, teng.. wah liew..

shugar: *whistles*.. cool! congratulations!!! spam this thread with our FIRST bb photo!!!! i go bomb ur FB later .. have a good rest

limmil: ops :p. eh. for ur Damien. he wun be big face or noodles :p:p ..

Hubby's surname is Chen (Tan in dialect), so think shd be quite safe. But even so, still difficult to think of a name, plus his family side got "jia pu" for the middle name, so we can only think of the last character to see if the whole name fits well together.

Diana>> For Ethan hor... we tested on our kids first. My eldest girl said "What eaten, mummy?". From then on, I know it's a no go already.
We may choose Isaac for English name.

bbseed>> Frederick?

Congrat to Shugar!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

For my boy name, I only want one syllabi. Hopefully can start with Z so can be similar to my elder boy.

mie: i was stresed by the authentic chinese teacher from china.. then throughout the lesson. i kept instructing teng in english.. omg :p:p i told miser.. i wun take chinese lessons. he will take it.. he replied 'no. as u can see.. u need the exposure more than me!'. idotic man..

xoxo: ask Hippo leh.. i asked her if her BIG helicopter can come out with funny variations for yu he or not leh..

<font color="aa00aa">mascot!!! you make me laugh like crzy woman at home, my 2 dogs stare at me!!! I share your joke with my hubby...his reply

" Oh hahaha, luckily her name is not 元杰"</font>

sunny: i find one syllabus names very cool..

bluesea: yeap. that's how miser makes fun of ethan too.. haiz. it is a nice name leh..

siangjiao>> shugar's having a boy!

bluesea>> you know hb and i chose Isabelle this name. then my BIL's first reaction was "Is a bell?" then when we told my hb's sister, she also went "Is a bell?" i was kinda pissed. but actually nothing wrong, coz Isabelle = Is a Belle, so im going to have a pretty girl.

And i tink Ethan is a very nice name for a boy. Before we knew we having a girl, Isaac and Ethan were in our list of names too.

siangjiao >> i am joining you in the slacker category. hahaha zhang lan...this is very amusing...i have yet to pack my hospital bags too. keep thinking..i've got time..ok, shall do it this friday...hehehe..now my nesting instincts are gone! replaced by sheer laziness...

speaking of which, the nurse at my doc's clinic was saying to pack an extra pc of disposable underwear and pants in yr bag nowadays..just in case yr waters break while you are outdoors. guess i will have these extras in the car too...just a tip.

annette >> shugar has delivered. ong is anytime in these few mins (11am scheduled c-sect)..i dunno abt joyce..
eh..my helicopter is permanently grounded..how to make fun of yuan(2), jin(4) ~ you mean "eyes"?

astro >> muahaha, the way you talk abt miser...i mean, you call your hb MISER! big grin...that's something! ok, for the one-needle-see-blood....i suppose inspiration must hit. but i like the yu he name. has a tranquil quality to it
..so inspirational job by miser!..and my english banana hubby...he had this high idea of calling the girl "chen gong" i.e. successful..v.v.v.good wor...duh. i'd to remind him that it's not that "chen"... that's why i took over and dragged elements of significance in my relationship and came up with yuanjin....didn't calculate the strokes and all that cos i don't know much abt all these things to believe/not to believe in it. er...you think can help me to count strokes? what bk is this?

noms, HB rejected Fabian straight from the start. that's why Favian also down the drain.

what do you all think of Ferren,Feivel,Farrel,Faegan?

astro: at least he still did after you nag. mine dun say chinese name, eng name also i go find and tell him.

bluesea: ya its best to test out on kids coz they will give you the best ans.
Frederick is good but taking into consideration my HB spelling capability, dun dare to try otherwise when registering that time he can anyhow spell to get the correct pronounciation. haha.

bbseed>> my hubby already wrote baby's full name and chinese name on a pc of paper, and put it inside his wallet, he is that prepared to make baby's birth cert! heehee
if you wanna choose Frederick, I tink you may consider this as an option leh.. heehee

miemie >> time to update the table liao! make garlands!! hehehe, i am so looking forward to see our thread become like the aug/sep ones...the babies are all bawling arriving...woohoo..ok, hyper xoxo better pipe down. what are the categories you are going to ask for to update the table? my HB just bought jumbo king prawns to cook for lunch...he was saying to tuck in with all these "banned-in-your-confinement" food now so as to satiate my cravings for these later :p
and try to hang in there with the food bit..shallow for me to say this..but we are just days away and i am sure all these sacrifices will be super worth it with isabelle safe in yr arms!

astro >> the puma helicopter of hippo passed this yuan jin name! hehe, she says got the grass (so e calf in this case, would have food)..i was more zeroed on the fact that there's money in the name..hehe, see the "yuan" word! so you have the nice shed for your boy and i have food for the girl...and the world is peaceful...hippo..hippo..your services are required!

agree that Ethan is a nice name, wanted that once we got to know the gender, but HB say our boy shld start with F coz his start with D and mine start with E.

me too will pack bag this wkend, now in 35wks think still have time to drag till this wkend.

xoxo, thanks for the reminder to pack extra pc of disposable will do that tonite.

haha.. 流眼泪 .. feel like laughing...

my hubby say 刘梓斌 sounds like lazybin/ lazybum .. haha

no worries.. i am not offended by the comments .. in fact its better to joke and know more abt how ppl preceive the names first rather than after we name them, then they let ppl laugh for life..

in fact, i think i will still go ahead with Damien (99.9%), for ur info,i also filtered xenon,but my hubby dun like it.. haiz.

xenon was the name i saw and liked for my first birth, but not suitable for gal's name..

and for chinese, either one of the 2 listed. coz quite diff to name as got to avoid clashes with his cousins/ our relatives /frens' name etc.

<font color="aa00aa"> MieMie, I think they are just funny, that's a very very lovely girl name!

bbseed, icic...then have to think again for names...farrel - nice...</font>

miemie: good idea, will be doing that in case, will prepare another piece in maternity bag for safety purpose. oh btw think i have not given my info to be filled into the table after so long. sorry to trouble you below are the info:
EDD:18 Oct 09
Baby#1
Hospital: TMC
Doctor: Dr A.L.Lim

xoxo: so sweet of your HB..

xoxo>> you've been busy sharpening your pencils and packing your stationary, you din realise that i already included all the info in the table! LoL

I sort of copied the Sept thread's table to include
<table border=1><tr><td>ADD</TD><TD>Weight (kg)</TD><TD>Length (cm)</TD><TD>Method of Delivery </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Diane: Azure is very hard to pronounce. Spelling is quite exotic though

bbseed/bluesea: Fabian and Ethan are nice names for boys. I did consider Ethan too, but scared my parents cannot pronounce, then end up "Eaten", that's why we gave up the name.

Mie: Isabelle is a very girly name. I like!

http://www.kabalarians.com/index.cfm
Anyway, here is one website you gals may want to check out. It's like counting strokes for chinese names, but this website does it for english names. Well, not too sure it's accuracy so take it with a pinch of salt and fun.

xoxo: good idea, i think i will bring some pads along with me too. I bought some nursing pads to line my bed and car seat, will probably start using them next week.

Alritey.. lunch time... I'm going to pop by expo for a while. If the John Little mega sale is good, i'll keep you gals updated.

mie: hey! i like isabelle!.. and u are right.. isabelle is a belle!

i like ethan also.. but stupid miser must make fun of it! haiz.. but actually ethan kong. sounds quite wrong.. as in 'eaten and empty?'.. haiz...

xoxo: heh. i dun call him miser in person. but he does kow i call him Miser in the forum!! and he is 'okay' with that.. hahaha. like i say. he is a type B++++ person. very seldom all these get to him.. he doesn't have a temper.. as in nothing makes him angry.. or rather. i am the only one who can make him angry.. or hmm. i should say.. any thing .. as long as i am the one who does it. it can make him angry..

one needle see blood is the way he normally speaks.. he is not like me.. engage is useless chatter.. still waters run deep kind.. although he still talk nonsense (with me).. in general he is a quiet guy lah..

ya.. i like ur hb's suggestion for chen gong.. :p:p nice mah? no? *siams xoxo*.. hey. what's ur girl english name?

ya.. i asked miser to count for u.. :p
i dunno what book that is. coz we anyhow buy one :p
it calculate teh stroke in a given name.. but it doesn't match it to the time of birth of the kid..

eh. what annette meant is.. 缘尽 (ehh. cannot remember if it is this jin).. it means.. end of fate .. something like that.. hmmm..

bbseed: nah. i also have to find english names for him.. and he machiam like director.. 'approving' the names.. he is so picky!! and irritating coz eveyr name i suggest.. he can come out with funny variations to it.. !!!.. then orh.. if u tell him 'since u so good, u find lor'.. he will say 'it is ok.. I dun have to have an english name u know?
ARRGGHHHH..

<font color="aa00aa"> siangjiao, yeah so we dropped the idea and get Asher - almost the same but meaning is diff, there is a condo in singapore named Azure. haha.. so far, there is only 2 kids in singapore called azure and both are angmoh.

thanks for the idea of extra pads. will take note!</font>

Gosh, Zhong Qiu Jie??? Sorry, cant help it, but I really laughed hard.

Shugar>> Congratulations!!! Do share with us your birth story and bb's picture when you hv the time yeah? Take care!

Diana>> Read that you hv flu? Me recovered but the cough still there and it's killing me too. Urgh ...
I hv been having only 3 hours sleep every day due to going to bathroom or irritated throat. I hv seen doctor twice but doctor said my recovery will be slower as I cant take stronger medicine. Now I only take those super mild ones which are suitable even for young babies, so imagine my road to recovery... if this continues, think I will become panda within a few days. *cry*

bbseed:
how abt Franz? sounds like friend .. hee

The meaning of the name Franz is Free
The origin of the name Franz is German

or Felix..
The meaning of the name Felix is Happy And Prosperous
The origin of the name Felix is Latin

xoxo: ya.. when i saw ur suggested name for ur girl. i know it will clear.. coz got the grass.

yep.. food for ur girl. shed for my boy.. yes.. the world is peaceful! hahahaha..
Puma Helicopter cleared the name. I am just wondering if got possible funny names about it or not :p

bbseed: wah. ur first boy name is exotic.. hey. zeth might be difficult to pronounce.. coz i have a fren's kid named seth.. and pple always misprounounced it as 'Set'.. :p

Zayne.. i have a student who is just named Zane.. same pronunciation.. right?

i wanted to take the name Zane.. but matched against Kong. it is very wrong again.. haiz..

astro: seems like we are of the same. choose already let them approve and come out with funny funny combination.

sunnyling: Zayne looks good to me. special and not very common.

noms: how to pronounce Azure?

limmil: felix looks good to me, easy to spell and nice meaning. thank u, will add into my name list for my big boss to choose. :D