(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

re coconut: Agree with Joyce about the green type. Think they are fresher also.

joyce: your friend really is wei da.. think for me i faint..

mrsL: ya according to my friend, she told me to drink ard 2 to 3 not too much later too "liang". think its ok not to eat the flesh..

vodkarib: ya as per joyce reply, its the kind of green one that can be found in most of the hawker centre like the one you mentioned - East Coast Park Lagoon Hawker..

haha now i know why i hav been sprouting mouth ulcers (heaty!!!) after drinkin quite a bit of these thai coconuts the past 2 weeks.

Regarding the coconut, u can also get it at supermarket like NTUC or vegetable stalls at wet markets. Choose those younger one which has more juice.

vodkarib: hahha.. you gotta take care ah.. ulcer very pain...

envelope: if we were to get it from supermarket or vegetables stall, issit already cut open or we have to open on our own?

erm i got one question to check with you ladies, can we take pineapple tarts? coz my colleague gave me a box due to the coming of hari raya but dunno whether can eat or not coz of the pineapple..

Joyce>> didnt know the small type is considered heaty type leh, my MIL always buy that for me to drink once a week.. didnt know she's ignorant as well =x ok i shall drink the green big ones ! :D

me too. last sat doing last min shopping at taka and paragon. walked for a few hrs then when reach home whole body want to collapse. next day whole back aching.. anywhere also cant go.

"the older generation believe bird's nest is good for pregnancy ladies - improve their health and benefit the foetus, it also help in post natal recovery better. Home made bird's nest is better due to no preservatives. Bird's nest contains pleanty of natural nutrients, mineral such as high-soluble glycoprotein, calcium, iron, iodine and vitamins. if anyone interest to try, please email us at [email protected].
"
Have a happy pregnancy and lovely family.

ddnik,
Me using cotton ball 4 face n wash cloth 4 body as well.

Bbseed,
My gynae told me tart is ok but nt fresh pineapple.fresh pineapple can stil eat but in moderate amt. I eat tarts as usual but nw mayb nt 2 many in a day else sore throat.

Seems quiet 2day.mayb all gg 2 robinsons sales :)

ong,
thank you. have been looking at that box of tart and drooling. haha.

ya seems alot quieter today.

think i will be dropping by robinsons also, see whether anything to grab.

heyo..i just returned from polishing all my accessories...didn't realise that there were that many pieces i've not worn. hmm..now wondering if this baby will have a shock of hair or peach fuzz...my gynae did mention that hair can be spotted on her scalp already...didn't enter my brain to ask her "how much hair"...sigh..so imagining things now..

famela >> not crazy lah..just homely
saw your packed drawer...u win in folding clothes!! mine's not even half decent..so i cheat and hang everything..hehehe..

ddnikz >> I am mummy C plus Mummy A for the eye area

ong >> yeah!!! home improvement works too! guess there's a real kick in doing this...better than food sometimes for me. i think i won't plan on having my child taking care of me. mine and my hb's parents are taking care of themselves though we do provide support (informal), company (gg out for meals, interaction)..but actual 100% support and i take it to mean financial..nah. i'll leave that for insurance and savings etc. but she'd better be my travelling kaki!

bbseed >> once the cleaning bug hits you...you'd have the energy
i am bad at ironing though..so better don't try..either i end up burning myself or burning the clothes...or just making the iron really redundant from some stuck streaks, whatever..

jRRt >> so this is nesting? hehe, i wonder why i didn't "feel" this way when i was getting married...maybe someone should isolate this hormone..then all the baby bonuses etc will have magical pluses and turn normally corporate types into homely, wifey types..! i think you're right..i am sure i'll miss her being in me...

mrsL >> how envious i am that u'd a long deep sleep!! i can't get that at all *frustrated*..... think positive...read somewhere that with each contraction, just tell yourself, it's one less from what u need to bear..almost there...but i am also nervous lah!

Just came back from the Taka Baby Fair and I'm exhausted!! Really cant walk for long these days, my feet were screaming for me to sit down.

Famela >> Tks, will check out your blog later.
Can PM me your email addy? I'll invite you to my blog as it's opened to invited readers only.

Ong >> I'm not courageous to hv 3. I hv my deliberations too but since preggie already, just gotta accept it. But I must say I still hv my worries at times but oh well, at this stage, I dont want to think about those already. Just awaiting eagerly to see my baby. The rest, will deal with it when the time comes.

I also hv a gf who is an only child. Like your friend, I can see it's tough on her to take care of aged parents alone. Esp when both parents are not in good health, it's really not easy. She needs to take leave when her parents are unwell and I think it leaves her little time to socialise. Till now, she's still single.

Annette >> Aiyo, me too leh, even raising my legs to wear pants is tough now! But general cleaning, still can lah. No choice, I still got 2 young ones at home, so I need to ensure the house is clean and the basic chores are done. Thankfully, I still hv a weekend helper to help me, otherwise, dont think I can manage that much chores.

ddnikz >> I hv been using normal wash cloth for my elder kids when they were babies. More economical, I guess. Cottons are used to wipe their faces.

bbseed >> I will drink coconut once a week, starting abt 1 to 1.5 mths before delivery.

Thank you all for helping me with the bathing queries :D Now I roughly know what I want liao.

I have been going to John Little and Robinson since last week. Both have 20% off but for some items, there isn't any discount. Perhaps to add on, OG also having 20% sales. For those who hasn't gotten enough from Robinson and John Little, can pop by OG to take a look. Their baby section quite a big range too!

xoxo: i think i probably sleep too much in the day that end up cannot sleep at night or the other way round...can't sleep at night and end up sleeping in the day..haha..anyway, i m officially off from work starting today! of course, i still check my email when i can as i manage a team at work. i have to learn to let go and not think too much about work now.

Envy some of you can still go shopping. guess i m one of those who might pop early. hence, afraid to go too far and by myself. i was thinking of going to suntec or taka or robinson to treat myself to a nice lunch today and then do some last minute shopping for bb...but once i got to downstair, i changed my mind and went to a nearby food court to eat. haiz. maybe i try again tml >_<

btw, my mom told me that last nite news reported that some couples chose c-sect on 09-09-09 and even to do it at 9am or 9pm. really? a bit over board lah. hahaha

xoxo,
i wont depend on my children to take care of me nx time cos nowsaday, many of them dun even earn enuff to support their lifestyle, materials needs. My main objective is to add a companion to my son. Else u can imagine hw helpless he is if both of us r gone.

btw, i ask my gynae if my bb have any hair and he comment tat he can't see it at all as the m/c is unclear???? so curious when u gals mentioned can see hair etc. R your gynae using 3D m/c?

bluesea,
i have seen few cases rpted on paper that the only child(mostly woman) was taking care of the aging/sick parents and therefore stil single due to no time for social outings etc. So sad to read news like tat.

Angie: thxthx.had fixed an appt with the physio my gynae recommend this sat, see how it goes. Ya im in teaching line also.

Shugar: thxthx

Joyce/Shugar: so we have to start takign coconut juice now?can take with ice?take till delivery or?

Bluesea: wa now im like so painful till i dun even wan to walk to canteen to buy food lor haha

All mummies: LEAVE application, nots ure if any of u share the same way my sch policy works which i just found out from my HR. I am given 30days MC or 60 HL a yr(Note tt 30 days mc is part of these 60 days) &amp; tt 16 wks maternity leave(ML)(8wks fr own organisation,2 wks fr govt) BUT on top we have this clause of a MAX CAP OF MC+ HL+ ML OF 86 DAYS ANNUALLY.

Eg if i deliver on 20oct, means ML:eek:ct 12 days+nov 30days+dec31days=73days then i aldy took 7days mc for this yr thus 73+7=80 days means im only left with 86-80=6days of HL . So now even my gynae wan give me HL from now till 20oct,i can only take 6days HL the left over till 20oct i need kick in my ML earlier

annette: not sure how you calculate this, but some companies don't consider giving birth as HL leh. Think for mine, only can touch AL and ML. As for MC, is another matter.

ong: I think my 3D scan hor, my bb looks like botak leh... kekeke

bbseed: I am not sure abt other wet markets, but my side here can find those cut one. For me, I dun prefer cut one coz sometimes it's not very fresh. True enough, to save the hassle, drink at hawker centre better. For me, I hardly eat at hawker centre so can only get from wet market. Cheaper also as 1 only cost me $1-$1.30.

Saw many mummies at Robinsons Raffles City today. Any1 of u there?

ddnikz: nono my ML is not HL.Is MC as part of HL.That apply for my sch lor, just check with my HR ,abit shock actually. UR company dun give u HL?

bbseed : Today my office pantry auntie also juz told me tat I can start drinking fresh coconut juice.. It's to help the baby kill germs on their skin and give them better complexion.. Tat's wat she told me la..

Anyway, I'm so pissed.. I duno wat's wrong with my ofc IE.. I can sign in but I cant enter this forum page.. It shows done but it's a blank page!! Has been like tat for the past 2 days.. Duno y suddenly it juz din work.. =(

coconut : hmm my MIL say can only drink once (small/big one oso can.. hee.. but i plan to take the big one) during the last mth. all older folks advice is different one?

nightgown:
i went JL today to have a look at the Kamy brand. nice material. but quite big for me.
still tinking...tinking...tinking...

about young coconut juice/water:

beyond the older generation's beliefs, I was speaking to a nutritionist for a press activity we're doing on Singapore's hawker centres and I happened to ask abt the above and what's up with it and pregnancy (esp abt drinking coconut juice in late pregnancy).

I was quite happy to learn that drinking young coconut juice (cholesterol and fat-free) can help to alleviate quite a few conditions that women experience in late pregnancy. Coconut juice can:

1) kill intestinal worms and parasites naturally ~ they takeaway nutrients from your developing baby;
2) help with itching skin and boils, outbreaks and rashes (it is working for me now..i used the pulp for a boil behind my ear and it kinda resolved in a matter of hrs);
3) help the body to maintain a stable blood pressure (it has the ability to function as a blood plasma substitute), aids our kidney function and detoxify the liver (all the McDonald's ~ guilt-free!)
4) help control diabetes;
5) help with giving the body energy in preparation for childbirth;
6) help with difficult bowel movements

i've taken abt them whenever i spot them and when i fancy it at restaurants or hawker centres..no prbs, think i did go beyond the one per week. helps to cool my over-heated system (from all the sleepless nights) fast.

ddnikz,
oh, so yours is 3D oso and seems like same for most of the other mommies here. KKH so outdated as the u/s m/c is so blur leh.

gal,
mine happen to be kamy brand as i bot 2 sets 5yrs ago and after confinement,been keeping it and just took out few days ago to wash it nia. Have survey many other brands b4 and seems like the designs all nt nice leh and this brand happen to be better among the rest so just buy lor. I bot those with front buttoning for easier BF/pumping.

annette,
Nv take HL before so nv check out hw many days i am entitle to.

okie, gg to take a rest liao. Gd nite to all!

Hi annette,

Once you reached Week 36, you can start taking the coconut drink. But make sure not more than 3 per week as it may lead to overdose....

Hi Elise,
I claiming 6 days of childcare leave for 2009. Going to take 8 weeks of block ML then childcare leave then followed by 40 working days of ML.

xoxo: ur info is detailed hehe. have been avoiding since pregnancy coz seniors told me cant take.

Joyce: from wk 36. if end up c-s, also need take?

Elise: not for me.

Ong:haiz no choice lor. initially i also dun know abt all those clauses, so ma fan. somemore my HL inclusive of sat n sun, HR ppl still tecah me to ask my gynae give wk by wk haha so dun need include sat n sun:p

Elise/Meiting:we r only entitle to childcare leave if we ahve kid b4which or for my case, this is my 1st bb, am i entitle for tt? Nvr think of maternity leave

vera: hope u get better soon... must be feeling very frustrated with all that aches and pain. U have just a leeeetle bit more to go and baby will be here.

seems like all mummies are clearing and cleaning fanatically now. LOL... that's our nesting instinct, i guess.. I have washed and packed all my baby's clothes &amp; nappies too. And I just finished washing the pushchair fabric (everything that can be washed isn't spared....) and the soft toys. i feel so much more prepared now that the washing's done.

Now i just need to clear out some space for the steriliser, bottle warmer, breastpump equipment etc etc.

joyce: if u r thinking of having #4, i wish u all the best. I have a fren who has 4 kids. She has absolutely no time for herself... even with extra helpers. Good luck...

gal >> abt sleep..i am dreaming of sleeping like a baby...original plan was to gain sufficient rest during this period. end up, getting more and more tired. now really wondering how i'm gonna cope with the sleep deprivation post-delivery?
thanks for the reference though

Annette: I take the coconut about once a week and w/o ice.

xoxolight: for so much cleaning/packing you're doing, surprised you're still being an owl! Maybe I shd say you're like energizer bunny??

re bb hair: oooh shall ask gynae to check for us at our next visit!

Maybe heading out to robinsons in the afternoon. Yay!!
any other moms going there today too?

My insomnia is back..
have yet to go to sleep for the whole night!

Xoxo/Famela,
I'm reading "My Baby" now and there's an article about "Mom's nesting instincts"! Apparently it's the build up of birth
so babes, you are normal!

I was cleaning up my son and my bedroom yesterday. When it's done, I started on the toilet. Went down on all 4's to scrub the tiles. But still find my works unsatisfactory. In the end, I gave my hubby a mission to get a miracle solution that is stronger then Mr. Muscle!

sotong >> sms me lah...i didn't know u were owling...hehe. spent the entire night reading..needed something calmer than computer games and didn't feel like beating scores and winning stages :p

Sharing an article which talked about "The ABC's of Birth". This might explain why some mummies are feeling the way they do.

THE BUILT UP

Lightening effect -About two to three weeks before labour, your baby's head will start to descend into the pelvis and you'll feel a lightening of your chest

Braxton Hicks contractions - feels like a tightening or cramping in the abdomen area and may feel uncomfortable or mildly painful.

Nesting instinct - an urge to clean up the house during the final stage of pregnancy.

Excitement - Your moods are likely to alternate between excitement, restlessness and frustration when nothing is happening.

Weight loss - you may have a minor weight loss of about 1kg-1.5kg in the last week or so before birth.

THE REAL THING
Labour begins when there are the following signs:

1) Bowel movements - you may have diarrhoea or feel a need to visit the toilet more frequently

2) Slight bleeding - you may experience a pinkish vaginal discharge or even blood. Consul your doctor if there is heavy bleeding.

3) Waters breaking - the amniotic sac or membranes surrounding the baby has broken and the amniotic fluid (usually a clear liquid) will leak out. An induced labour is needed within 24 hours as the uterus is now susceptible to infection.

4) Regular Contractions - different fromm Braxton Hicks. Contractions, the actual contractions will not go away and will grow increasingly intense, longer and more frequent and eventually settle into a regular pattern.

xoxo,

I thought after all the cleaning up, you will be too tired to stay up till so late! Ok, next time I'll sms you. I have been spending the night playing games and reading as well.

xoxo,

Since you are up, how about mac breakfast at east coast followed by a walk?! Let us tire ourselves out so that we can have a deep sleep later?

sotong >> after maid duty...i kinda tried aromatherapy to get myself to doze. worked for 45mins. i think what shugar says is right. this lithium ion battery is going on and on and on...

decided not to be too itchy and gotten myself a pile of novels to wallow in. hopefully that's a cure!

Hi annette,

Like what xoxolight has mentioned, the juice actually help the bb to detoxify the body. All my friends who drink the juice before birth, their babies have not much heat rashes on the face.