(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

fifi>> my brother-in-law warned my hubby and told him to go in full armour - wrap his arms with towels! he say, dun make the same mistake as him and end up injured.. hahaha

miemie,
towels??? i need he needs metal guard lah!!! :p

ong,
orh. then maybe can moderate salt intake a bit? not sure if it helps. but nowadays i like never eat salt leh. so no visible swelling. if it bothers u can consider lor.

NO EPI
SO MANY WARRIORS HERE! GO XENAS!!!!!!!! hahahaha... hippo is a chicken and zero tolerance for pain. so EPI it will be for me. hehehehe...

hippo: i am not chosen per se.. i am there because i expressed interest to participate in the project.. and did some groundwork to realise that there is an existing project already in NIE.. and hence my 'inclusion' into this..

what is interesting is because there is already such a programme in existence.. and if there is no potential hinge-on/addition.. then project will not commence at all.. i dun decide. the heavy weights decide because it will represent the department's programme .. along tat line..

I interpret my presence as.. take the minutes (def).. and to be the leg and hand to implement/plan the programme (if the heavy weight choose to implement it).. but dun think there is any 'slated to take on bigger things' because i took the initiative ot ask if i could help with this.. actually got several other pple. i am the lastest to say i want to join. but turns out.. i turn up the only one who did something.. :p

.. if all goes well..then good lor.. if flops.. it wun be me alone. coz senior manager in charage.. heh.. so ya.. that's why it is so funny :p

hi all, just came back from my detailed scanning.
everything is fine with baby.
baby was yawning first and then later drinking the fluid inside...so cute..:) can't take the moment and baby's image out of my mind!!
at 28 weeks, baby is weighing approx 1300 gms.

vin>> 7th month also have detailed scanning? my next detailed scan is in 8th month leh..
you mean you saw the baby drinking? wow!!!!

Mie, am having detailed scanning every 4 weeks since 4th month cos of some complicaiton during my first pregnancy. otherwise they generally do it in 5th month and then 8th month only.

my next detailed scanning is due in 34th week. Hopeing and praying that everything goes fine this time around!!

For me, detailed scanning is not included in the package. I go to NUH for my detialed scanning. and everytime i pay there separately.

my gynae has included the 8th month detailed scan in the package.. aiya, my gynae is expensive and kiasu one, so she everything also want de..

astro: he is 1/2 swedish and 1/2 english but was born and raised in us.

shugar: i m alone for 3 weeks as hb is overseas. i told myself don't kan-jiong too and remember new.

vin: can see your bb yawning - so cute! how much is the detailed scan?

i have oredy decided to go with happidural! hehe

My gynae want me to get the detailed scanning done. It is done at NUH by another gynae. they charge arnd 100 SGD for every detailed scan.

i would like to try natural without epi. But heard that there is a risk... if it gets super painful, and the mummy starts pushing like crazy, it will cause more tears down there.

Mrs L: ah.. now i remember. i think ur boy would be so handsome.. given the ang mo looks! :p
ha.. happidural huh? :p whahaha. nice one..

vin: like that the detailed scan is quite cheap leh..

siangjiao: asian women.. more likely to require the cut (episiotomny - i very sure wrong spelling!) because our pr (dunno how to spell area) is stiff as compared to causcasians. Also if it is an assisted birth (using either forceps or vaccum) def need the cut.

Vin: wow!! Must be so fascinating to see baby yawn and drink!:D

Wah so many brave MTBs ah!! Hehehe, i am still wondering if i can be so brave anot.

Oh by the way, ask you ladies ah... have your babies turned to the head down position yet? Coz my gynae commented at my last visit that my BB still in breech position... happily sitting up. He says he hopes bb will not get too comfy in the position and try to turn too late. :S

MrsL: Oh my Hb is away this week on reservist... so I'm alone this week too.

dreamygal : haha.
i like your post on glynnis @ 38wks. going to tell my HB ;) so he better be careful what he say. hee hee.

and towelly armour, got it.

epi : hm.. i target to join loke..no epi. heard v itchy + will get backache worr. but when e time comes..see if i can take e pain or not. jia you to all mummies.

Hi Vin, not too ex for a detailed scan. My gyne charged me $120 when he did mine at the 5th month. And you got to see such interesting things! Everytime I scan, I only see my bb lying there, not doing much.

Shugar, I don't think my bb has moved into head down yet. I think still got some time to go bah... although they are supposed to start doing that from T3?

Good luck to all the mummies going w/o epidural. I take my hat off to you. I'm going to have epidural FOR SURE. Hope won't come to a situation where I have to go C-Section.

p/s: Attended the TMC doctor's talk last night. The doc said, to differentiate between pee and waterbag liquid, pee is yellow and you can control the leak whereas for waterbag, the liquid is clear (sometimes with little white bits) and you can't control the leak. Hope this helps.

been working my a** off these couple of days. quite upset when i learnt that at an event i was at yesterday, one of the participants is confirmed with H1N1! she was sick, yet she turned up and stayed for 5 hrs in that plc..i am so-so in distance from her. didn't hear anyone coughing etc. she isn't hospitalised, just told to stay home, given tamiflu and to monitor. what's with that itch in my throat now? doesn't help when i learnt that KKH now has a serious MTB, 24wks pregnant in ICU. depressing. hmph.hmph. my gynae actually asked me to consider taking tamiflu even b4 all symptoms present itself cos i am also asthmatic...i haven't done that yet...still thinking.

xoxo:i also just seen the news.. the case of the 24 weeks.. my gyane said that the complication is the pneumonia that might arise.. as in the case of this 24 weeks (same as me!) preg lady in KKH.

Haiz .. plenty of such pple everywhere.. my school's h1n1 situation is, what i think, under control.. any increases is limited to the one or two cases daily.. well.. students who appear sick are strictly told to go home. but students being students.. of all time.. they tell u they don't want to go! chey..

h1n1 virus is not air born (unless the infected sneeze/cough in ur face).. more on surfaces.. 2 metres and beyond is actually quite ok..

tamiflu cannot be taken to prevent leh lest it causes any possible h1n1 virus (touchwood!) to mutate itself and become resistant to the medicine.. i am sure ur gynae knows that.. my gynae said that is really nothing we can do except take better care of ourselves.. vit c, hygiene.. i asked about mask.. coz i cannot imagine wearing N95 all day long in class! ..i am wearing the 3 ply mask (which i know doesn't help me from being infected but prevents me from infecting others... what the !@#$!#$!#$) all day long from 9 - 5 in the darn class! stupid measures.. but really.. what to do?

Asthmatic? must take good care of urself.. wear a mask.. dun care which one.. my gyane said.. 3 ply better than nothing.. and load on ur vit c.. hand sanistiser everywhere!!

*sigh*

xoxo: between taking tamiflu as prevention.. and taking the flu vaccine (both cannot protect against h1n1). my gyane would rather me take the flu vaccine. which i haven't .. >.<

sleeping.. night

shugar: ur friend's cousin leaking urine is indeed EMBARRASSING!! btw, my baby's in the right position at this moment. dunno if massaging ur tummy helps..

mie: ^5 to no epi! :D

btw, i also think sleep on the left is more comfortable.. the sonographer told me to get up from lying position from the left side also..

xoxo: lots of hand sanitizer. just follow astro. haha. she seems to be the guru taking after her gyne. get ur system strong. i think there should be no prob.

Updating list:

Dinner
Date: one of the weekends during August
Time: TBC
POSSIBLE Venues: Vivo Marche (CONFIRM???)
Possible activities: Kids play at gymboree at harbourfront/waddle in kids pools, biggest belly competition
1. Astro
2. Hippo (except 4-6pm sats)
3. blinkblink/aloevera
4. Dreamygal (TBC. Except 3-4 on sats)
5. Sotong mum (timing?)
6. Siangjiao the Mascot (except 29 August)
7. Miemie (except saturdays)
8. Ong (if she can walk properly :p)
9. Glass
10. cjdg
11. Shugar( except 4-6pm sats &amp; sunday afternoons )
12. joynbaby (except on 29 Aug)
13. gal^
14. xoxolight
15. BB (to be informed via [email protected] if possible)
16. Sunnyling (depends on date)
17: Pei Yu, Sweetz (Depends on location)
18: Vin
19: Jazol (except 1 and 8 Aug)

Looking at the list, i presume that Sat Evening or Sunday evening is the best timing??

halo halo >_<

During my 26th wk visit, the scan showed my bb already head down. Don't think it will turn back up again hor? Looking forward to see gyane on friday to check on bb status.

wah, 1am oredy - i better head for lala land! Nite beauties

gal^ (lydiagal) : Haa... And before that we were at IMM eating White Macadamia Chocolate cake. This time round, he said he will do the same when we are ready. Haa...

Actually ok to me for Glynnis to come out at week 38... She's already 3.4kg then... Wait another 2 weeks, may be even harder to push... :p

What we did before going hospital (just to share, thought its fun) - hubby packed some food for himself as he was afraid that he will fall asleep since its in the middle of the night, i drank a bottle of Chicken essence to prepare myself for the battle (Haa... ), we opened a bottle a sesame oil and put on the headboard (old wives tales).

This time round will be more challenging. Need to park Glynnis somewhere.

I did it without epidural. Can be done...

Vin (vinbaby) : My boi boi was digging his nose when we saw him last Wednesday.

Hope his nose will not be as big as his daddy... Opps...

xoxo: load up on vit C like what Astro suggested and make sure you get lots of rest so yr system will be built up better to .

blinkblink: Hope this lazy bum BB starts turning soon too! I'm at week 28 already. always massage my tummy and ask him to move his butt butt!

Dreamygal:Hahahah... digging nose?? :p So cute! Mine just ZZZzzz most of the time... Or sitting there covering ears!! :S Hahaha, too noisy in my tummy??? :p

so envy, all your babies so action action one... mine is such a sleepy head.

Yea, i took the flu jab and Vit C everyday to boost my immunity. Although there is no vaccine for H1N1, my gp doctor says the jab does helps in a way to boost the body's defense system

Dreamygal: baby digging nose...so cute :)

Siangjiao: Don't worry, our baby also used to sleep hiding the face most of the times earlier. For a change, in last 2 visits we could see baby's face and some action from baby.

I was working from home last 3 weeks - cos of H1N1 scare and someone in office (sitting right next to me) got chicken pox. Am planning to go to office starting today. hope all goes well and I stay away from this H1N1...

Wow, we have a baby drinking fluid, one digging gold. I wonder what else we will see.
My baby at last visit was doing some ultra man pose. Couldn't see the face coz hands blocking. Going for my visit on Monday! Can't wait.

dreamygal>> 3.4kg and you did it without epi! you are my heroine! if you can do it, so can we right? heehee

you saw baby digging nose? wa seh.. so interesting leh.. everyone saw baby doing something so cute.. mine only sucking on thumb nia.. but now baby got pi sai ma? wahahaha

and my girl hasn't turned down yet at my week 24 scan..gynae's first sentence was "baby is in a breech position" duhz.. i din know baby supposed to turn down already leh.. next scan will be next thursday! woohoo~

Mie: ha.. ur qn is so cute.. following the logic, where do the bb flick his pi sai after digging ah? *straight face*
whhhhhhaaaaaaaaaa...

my boy at week 24 is also breech.
actually to lie upside down for such a long time.. dizzy hor for the bb :p

astro>> mm... ya hor, then he flick the pi sai le, then will go into the amniotic fluid, then baby will drink the fluid, then come out as the first poo?

hi babes,
i grounded myself at home today...hope to recover soon. sore throat still on. stuffy nose now up.

astro / lokey >> admit, cannot siam at all..they are everywhere. moi called up kkh and they said they won't dispense tamiflu straightaway. they would rather keep u in isolation and observation, monitor, test etc b4 deciding what to do..my HB says going there is like gg to H1N1 central...

next alt, i think i will ask my gynae to chart a prescription of tamiflu on standby. see if i get any worse first then decide what to do...what do u think? only measure of comfort, i don't remember anyone coughing/sneezing into my face..and i have been very particular abt the no-fingers on the face rule.

wao... all ur baby so much actions for mine just went for check up last week my baby was facing down actually gynae wan to do a 3D scan on his face and this is the second time he is facing down faintz..... he like too pai seh to let us see his face. Baby weighing at 800g in 24wks.

hi all, am new here :D just wondering wat is the ideal weight for 25wks? my gynea commented my baby weight ard 900g-1kg, and said not "big" enuff? am kinda small size... already walking like a clumsy lady around, cant imagine wif the later months to come tho :s

re: natural w/o anything sorta birth..

i was very into that stream of thought. as the date draws nearer..(thanks both hippo and sotong mum for reminding me only 1 good mth left with the last one in "agony" and impatience!)...i am feeling a creeping sense that my guts are deserting me...

xoxo: are u feeling unwell now? dun have to worry about getting the tamiflu first? coz i feel.. the cons outweigh the pros if start on tamiflu as prevention on our own. . coz we won't know when it is really critical to start on the med.. skali.. start liao. virus become resistent.. then end up no drug treat!
if you are not feeling unwell.. then it is ok.. i feel. load on ur vit C and rest more??

tell me abt going h1n1 central? been here EVERYDAY since the start.. ok. but to be honest.. the h1n1 central here folding up liao.. which is GREAT!

hippo : thks, guess it's kind of tough to reduce salt intake since i am used to it for the past many years. Hopefully it will go away quickly after i gif birth.

How comes everybody's bb so many cute actions? Mine like doing nothing as i only managed to catch a glimpse as my gynae seems very kanchiong type. I can't even c clearly where is the head etc.

Breech bb
Mine #1 was breech all the way till wk 38 and i had to c-section. Guess somehow he was too big to turn at the later stage so give up turning. Gynae say is dangerous to turn at later stage as space constraint and there is a risk of cord being routed aro the bb neck when doing the turning due to space constraints. Therefore i was told to c section on wk 38 since is a big bb.

xoxo : i took lots of honey water, pi pa gao plus paoseng when i had sore throat few wks ago. As for block nose, i burn the essential oil, eucalytus, using those lamp berger burner thru out the nite as it is effective to clear block nose. I was ok after 4-5 days w/o seeing doctor.

xoxo: sorry. i din't read ur post carefully.. hmm. see a GP first.. wear ur mask.. and get some ordinary med to see if it goes away? then if still there after like 5 days.. then would be good to go request for a h1n1 test before we confirm it is h1n1 and start on the tamiflu..

ong >> i like all that aromatherapy stuff. i have been doing it the last two days. now to step up, might follow hippo's lead for the cloudy experience with ultrasonic humidifiers...

astro >> u know the achy bone sensation? the prb with us is that we are already so laden with aches and pains, hard to distinguish. i feel generally not too bad actually. just an irritating, itchy throat and a whiff of a stuffy nose. that's all for now. coughed a grand total of 3x in a 24hr period so that's not really it right? my gynae was so sweet..she called and enquired what's the MOH procedure now. apparently, it's to go to KKH and get tested if u are pregnant. Her idea is that tamiflu can clear any flu infection now and to prevent me from getting complications since I am also asthmatic. I am caught cos on one hand, i remembered how traumatic it was to be down sick with a respiratory infection and u can nearly feel yr lungs weighing like sandbags..and on the other hand, u must not forget that tamiflu or even relenza is cat C...loading on Vit C...and the water, and the honey and the everything...oh yeah, plus sleep. first time in weeks i slept for more than 10hrs..shows how tired my body is already...but i think i might take up my gynae's suggestion to get tested just to set my mind at ease? go there with a mask? what mask are u using at school?

xoxo : i guess i was ok after 4-5days is becos i get well b4 coughing kick in. Once coughing kick in, it will be hard to go away and complications like pnuemonia might happen. So i guess it would be better get treated fast if u r worry. H1N1(if reali suay suay kena)will heal faster if it is treated early.

xoxo: same here for me lah. haha.. but i think many mums here also did it without epi.. so i'm going to get their support here.. wahhaa!!!!
anyway, i feel to get ur mind at ease, u can follow ur gyne's suggestion. but i dun think there's anything wrong with u lah. cos i also got irritating throat for about a week.. a little stuffy nose here and there.. plus of course the aches. haha. so just get ur mind at ease, and wear powerful mask. take vit C like what astro suggested. try to avoid crowded places too..