(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Funzee and siangjiao, i'm also using babyplus.
Agreed that it is very loud and was worried that it will harm bb ear too...Did you start using when you are week 18?

lin and loke: ok la... i guess different men show their affections differently. My hb is those boh chup that kind. So long as he continue to help do the housework, i happy oredi. Though he is not very expressive, at least he is raking his brains to think of the baby's name.

Funzee: me FTWM, working late 2-3 nights a week. Babyplus recommend 2 times a day, 1 hour each time. So far, me only used in the night for 1 hour. sometimes use until i fall asleep. I also check wif gynae, she said no harm, at the same time also said benefits also not scientifically proven. Babyplus was passed to me by a friend who delivered in Mar. Her baby also no problem with hearing, in fact, i find him quite responsive and cute which is why i continue using until today. But my hb keep telling me not to irritate our baby. If someone keep playing pom pom sound at our ears, we'll be very pek chek also. That's his explanation for the violent kicks. maybe i should try the ziplock bag experiment too!

Re: GD Test

Please note according to my gynae, he has mentioned that this test is not compulsory for all pregnant mum. Unless you have gain excessive weight and your bb is bigger than the normal percentile. Then GD test is required.

Always remember to check with your gynae is it really necessary. Cos can save this money to buy bb's stuffs....

hi astro

pardon me, but i thought packages should be cheaper. i used to pay $100 per visit + all medicines, when i have not sign any packages.

den, afte 3rd mth, i sign $500 for package, it includes daily consulation, although its once a mth for the time, and i only pay $50 for medicine.

maybe i too kiasu, pardon me hor

Joyce: yup! heard that its not compulsory... but this was included in my gynae package, so went for it lor. Cannot opt to take it out of the package also :S But i thought maybe might as well check since my dad's side of the family has many diabetic cases.

Re : GD test
I hope I wont hv to go through GD. I dreaded that test because when I took that glucose drink, I wanna puke. Took that test for my last 2 pregnancies due to tested glucose positive during my routine urine test, so this time round, I'm extra careful about what I eat before I go for chkup. Hope I dont hv to do that test.

Re : Hubby feeling baby kicks
My husband is also those very eager type to feel the baby, although it's his 3rd child already! Haha ... But baby always play trick with Daddy. When he places the hand on tummy, baby hardly kicks but when he removes his hand, baby will kick and move alot, that even my 4yo child could feel it. So it's just Daddy, who only manages to feel the baby kicks twice so far. :p

Wooh, going for gynae chkup this friday, I wonder how much has baby grown. Looking forward to the visit.

Siangjiao: Totally agreed with you.
I'm using 2 times a day and every morning i will use while i'm in the office.. everytime i will have to use a pillow to cover it cos i scare i will disturb my colleague. Sometime at night, i will also used until i fall asleep.

I hope this babyplus works or else all our effort will go down the drain.

I notice that my BB doesnt not respond much to the babyplus "pomp pomp" sound now.. maybe bb used to the sound now but my bb will respond to the environment sound- like in the cinema threatre sound effect, photocopy machine etc.

yeah, GD test is not compulsory, but coz my mum is diabetic, my gynae wants to play safe and thus i will be taking the test in 2 weeks time..

siangjiao: yeah.. some guys are the more thoughts and less action type. heheh.. my hb no patience because his mind always got other things on.. then he'll put his hands and remove it without knowing also.. hahaha.. but i just need to get him back to reality sometimes.. so must "show face"... i chose the creative guy type so bo bian.. must bear with the "lost in another world" minded kind of person..

astro: so cool to see ur baby clearly! i hope i can see something clear next tue too! btw, nowadays my baby response to hb's voice. quite cool.. he'll talk to her then she'll start to kick. when he touches my tummy, she'll kick a little more. if he touch and talk to her.. she'll kick a lot.. i think she's going to be a daddy's girl.. then daddy will give her lots of nice jewellery as she grows up. haaha.. our walking advertisement..

Hi mummies, i am now 24 wks and wld like to check if any mummies is not really gaining weight yet? I hv almost regained the weight loss tt was lost in the earlier mths to my pre-pregnancy weight but hv yet to really gained weight for this pregnancy. And i am alrdy 6 mths. check up last wk shows tt baby is growing well and as normal though.

blink: i will make sure my ah boyS.. get into the favour of ur ah girl..
whahahaha..

wah liew. been doing some 'scholarly' thinking and reading and searching till my eyes popping out of their sockets! how come my work cannot AUTO disappear one!?

ladies. out of curiousity.. what has been your Blood pressure ah?
i noticed mine was 110/70 the last time.. today it was 120/70.. and i been having headaches..

blink: any idea .. not sign of high blood pressure i hope?

Lin: nothing to pardon lah. just thought i should highlight that not gynaes out to cheat money.. but a way of price differientation..
yes indeed packages are cheaper.. but there are other factors which we look for in a gynae mah..so sometimes the extra money is going into that factor.. that's all i wanted to highlight..

Jrt: same here. i am regaining my weight loss.. at the same period as u.. week 24.. think of it this way? u are gaining weight in order to be back to your pre-preg weight?

astro astro,
hahaha... ample patience, laced with generous amts of tact! if its me i bang me head on the wall already lah. *straight face*

re: blood pressure
but did ur gynae say anything tho? if not probably no real cause for concern yet? mine was like 100/65 or something, if i remembered correctly.

loke,
haha... of course choose the creative type, especially if he's dealing with GEMS!!! bwahahahaha... ;)

i never pay attn to my BP one leh... as long as gynae never say anything alarming, i just take it that everything's fine.. i dun even know wad is within the normal range.. lol

astro,
u'r a smart gal. u know how to read between the lines. lets leave it at that. ;) hahaha... of course i'm CALM, what's there not to be CALM about??? unless u measure my BP when someone is hogging the road when i'm driving, then it'll prob be different.

astro,
I am almost back to pre-preg weight now... then lost abt 1kg the past wk. am v puzzled! my tummy is obvious now, so guess baby & tummy growing and its me myself losing the weight.

Phew, luckily I am not alone. Ur baby's growing well oso rite?

Got a big scare yesterday. Was bleeding from below last evening.

But wasn't feeling any discomfort at all. Called gynae about 10pm last night and went down to see her this morning.

She checked baby's heartbeat and sign of contraction. Placenta also ok. Everything ok.

So she suspected it due to infection. Got to do further test. She also told me not to carry Glynnis too much le.

hippo: kekeke. roger .. heh..
100/65.. heh. to me that is an indication of a super 'unruffable' person.. coz how to make that kind of bp 'go up'? :p:p what was ur bp before u got preggy ah?

dreamygal: bleeding due to infection?? what tests did she advise?
ya.. maybe dun carry glynnis, if u cld help it? till now, i have not carry teng.. for a long time.. at most twice.. he is way too heavy!

Jrt: ya.. as of now.. everything's seems alright.. but i suspect he wun be on the big size.. coz with my firs boy.. also like that.. #2 is 634g now. i checked.. abuot that size at 24 weeks.. not losing anymore weight.. think starting to put on liao..

astro,
bwahahaha... pre-preg BP is prob around 105-110/70? OH my BP goes up very EASILY one. hehehe... like reading certain posts sometimes... *wink* of course i'm very good at filtering what i wanna respond to. so. there you go.

dreamygal,
wah... that sounds scary. hope you are fine. pls be careful, maybe really gotta stop carrying your daughter?

jrt,
i suppose as long as your bb is growing well that's the most important??? dun worry too much about your weight gain/loss. like xoxolight says, tis only a NUMBER
hehe...

dreamygal: I had some spotting few weeks ago due to a slight infection too. it can be cleared up with medication. Maybe rest more now and try not to exert yourself.

dreamygal
u said bleeding as in staining ur panties/pantiliner? Thk goodness check-up shows tt everything is fine.
Yah best to refrain fr carrying ur girl. Rest more.

Astro
ur boy is bigger than mine... she weighs 580g at Wk 23. But i am not tt paranoid abt her weight as long as its within normal range. I still need to gain back the weight tt i hv lost during my morning sickness b4 really embarking on any weight gain.
I am concerned but not overly worried. thks 4 ur assurance.

shugar: wah.. ok. i have a much higher bp! :p

jrt: week 23.. i think still on track. i am in week 24 u see .. norm for this week is 600g..

actually, i also never pay attention to the BP. Don't even know what is the normal range. But i failed the pee test once! that got me quite alarmed, but subsequent month, it was normal. My gynae ask me to go easy on the sugar and scheduled me GD test end of the month. Got history la, grandparents and mum all got diaebetes. Worst thing is, i gave my mum GD and it never went away; so it has been with her the past 30 years. *hang my head in guilt*

dreamygal: take care okie?

i really envy you gals who lost weight initially... haha, for me, it has been an upward trend since the beginning... and i just wallop one box of durians tonight *living in more guilt*
but ok la, so far my gynae has not said anything about the weight gain

heh. i got my answer to my BP question liao.. :p from a nurse mother on my other thread..
---
"Systolic pressure is peak pressure in the arteries, which occurs near the end of the cardiac cycle when the ventricles are contracting. Diastolic pressure is minimum pressure in the arteries, which occurs near the beginning of the cardiac cycle when the ventricles are filled with blood
in short....
top means maximum heart pressure....
bottom is resting heart pressure
top part...can change..even if you touch 140/70...dr wun be that alarmed...coz need to rest a bit..might go up....
systolic pressure can go up due to anxiety....+10/20...is quite normal. Can change quite fast.
diastolic...won't fluctuate so much. In short....Bottom more important. Your bottom reading din change"...

heh :p toomorrow i go hint hint my bosses that i need to 'rest for a while'.. ha..

Dreamygal, do take care and hv lots of rest. Yeah, refrain from carrying your daughter or heavy things for the time being.

astro & hippo: i really like both of u... trains up my comprehension skills.. hahhaa... and filtering posts...hmm.. i better not chap one leg in.. hahahaha....

astro: ur bp is within the normal range.. headache maybe low glucose? or just stressed? my bp about the same as hippo's and gyne commanded his nurse to give me iron pills.. haha.. cos on the low side.

and yeah. rest is important.

hippo: haha. sometimes when i drive... i shake my head so much i wonder if my neck would be loose. hahahhaha... u get what i mean..

blink: heh.. anyway.. ya. i heard it is normal. i think i am stressed.. :S coz today had so many things to do.. was trying to complete.. as i was waiting to see my gynae.. haiz. now it must be higer liao.. ya. headaches again.. now :S

Astro : She did a transviginal scan and collected some dried blood sample to be sent for testing. Need to wait for her to get back.

happy hippo : Will try.

JRt : Actually like when we have menses... Maybe 3rd to 4th day of menses.

shugar : Ya. Gynae said if infection, need to go back to get some medicine.

siangjiao / Bluesea : Thanks ya. I will.

dreamygal >> did u experience any pain? is bb still moving abt normally? really hope it's just an infection and nothing else. my gynae actually "borrowed" the antifungal cream from dr khi cos she ran out of stock the last time i got my scare with the big leak..after one application, e discharge went away...keep yr spirits up. there's the internet and maybe u can use the time to think of how to navigate yr shopping sprees!

maman >> my bp is always on the "low" side of 90/65 - rarely registering abv 100/70. as many of my family members have high blood pressure, we have a bp monitor at home. if u enter the clinic after walking ard and do the bp check immediately after sitting down, u will get a high bp. wait for a moment or two. i think there's nothing to worry abt. the irony is that while my bp is "low", i still have road rage. muahahaha...like i like to say (committed to memory by hippo), all these are just numbers!!!

hippo >> I went to pepperoni again this evening. walloped a 21" on my own. now i am hungry again. i think the next time u see me, u might be shocked. time to temper this pacgirl in me.

xoxolight : No pain at all. I only discovered it when i bathed. I quickly sit down on the bed and start talking to baby. Luckily he is still responding.

This morning, while the nurse tried to strap me to the machine to monitor bb's heartbeat and sign of contraction, she cannot find the exact spot for heartbeat. Baby moves too much le. She took very long and kept saying that my baby is too active and violent.

I'm ok, not feeling negative at all. After this morning gynae visit and Dr Khi confirmed that its not the worst case, i set my mind at ease le.

I have to be careful with my spendings as i have no income.

Got a pair of hawk's eye monitoring... I always secretly order, paid and by the time the items arrive at my place, too late for him le. Sometimes i will send the items to my mum's place. Haa...

dreamygal >> good good that you're setting yr mind at ease already and don't lift heavy things! my gynae specifically says that at every visit so it must be impt. i must also be careful with my expenses cos i won't be working soon too. already decided to surrender my credit cards after aug and pare down my lifestyle where i can (like giving up cable tv). rest well and hope to hear your news of recovery soon

hi jrt

i only gained abt 3.5kg, and if i were less off the MS weight loss, onli 2.5kg... doc say tummy small nvm...i also try nt to think too much, if doc says bb fine, den no worry le... now only hope bb deliver faster

Loke,
aw... U cute lil chickadee, i like u too!!! Hehe... U r more than welcome to chap one leg... If u r on the same orbit...

regarding baby plus, when I attended the antenatal class conducted by TMC, the instructor said that some babies were born deaf. Not sure whether it's linked to the baby plus per se, but she said that there is already sound in the womb, so having additional sounds from the baby plus thing, it's very loud and irritating to the baby.

If it is that loud as you say, siangjiao, then better reduce the volume.

Sometimes, when I try to sleep on my sides, I get the movement. Makes me feel as if I'm squashing my baby. Then when I change side, I feel the movement in the other side I'm sleeping on too.

xoxolight : That's the bad point about not having own income... But i think when baby comes out, you may not have the time to watch cable tv.

glass : I also heard about that in class 2 years ago. That time Mrs Wong mentioned about a lady from China who put headphone on her tummy to play classical music to baby for long period of time.

dreamygal, yes she's the one who mentioned this. oic. I'll just play the classical music on my radio.

hey, is anyone not getting a confinement nanny? I'll be home alone if I don't get one, plus it's my first baby so I don't know whether I can cope, but at the same time, I hear too many complaints.

I think need very loud and very prolonged playing. Mummies here don't worry too much, k??

Just make sure not too loud, should be ok.

me too! not getting any confinement nanny, my mum's going to do my confinement for me..

glass>> i tink for a first timer, it would be better to get a CL coz the CL will cook and wash and bathe baby for you.. and you will have the time to rest and recuperate.. ask ard your frens for CL to recommend..

the bb is able to hear now (though muffled) the noise in our surroundings.. plus all the noise we are making inside the body.. so already , there is an orchestra inside playing all kind of 'noises' (music if u want to call it :p ) to stimulate the bb.. so loud noises tend to startle the kid..

i think prolonged exposure for sustained period of time is not advisable.. occasionally, if u want to 'check' ur kid still there or not :)P) or u feel it is time for him/her to wake up.. why not? ha.. i am talking nonsese.. coz .. i am tired?