(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

supplement
i'm on
- 1x DHA
- 1x Multi-Vit
- 1x Calcium

That's all.

Detailed scan
Now hubby cannot go in? Oh... Then i will expect my girl to scream for mummy outside le...

xoxolight : That is sooooo scary. That 30 mins must be terrible.

Anyway, its over now... Happy belated bdae!!

Anyone has purchased medela breastpump from overseas (i.e. Physically or online)? Or anyone using medela breastpumps which have 2 pin rather than 3 pin plugs?

Cos i was told that if ur pump is a 2-pin plug, then its a parallel import n sole distributor will charge u an arm n leg if u need to repair.

So far have found cheapest medela advanced PIS to be S$599. But i just saw amazon selling for only US$236 online. The difference is quite substantial n i m tempted to order online.

What do u guys think?

Miemie,
Hehehe but main reason why i dun care abt diaper bag is cos i dun think i b the one lugging the bag.
it'll probably b daddy hippo or the helper. Hahahaha...

Anyhow i dun think HB will b impressed if i said i m gonna get an LV diaper bag, or any brand for that matter. Hyuk hyuk...

hippo,

i jz bot medela freestyle fr overseas. no idea how many pin cos the box still unopened. but definitely cheaper to buy overseas den in sg.

happy hippo : I will be ordering from the US. Was thinking that i will wait for either my hubby brother or sister to go there and ask them to get for me.

About what you said on the distributor charging a fee for repair, its correct. But i feel that the pump wouldn't spoil that easily and even if need to send for repair once or twice, the savings we got from ordering oversea far outweigh the repair fee.

Was wondering if anyone know if i ask them to go over and pick it off the shelf, is it as cheap as the online price??

mylvera : Will also be getting Freestyle. Can share how much you got yours?? Is it online or off the rack??

$500+ still very good price. Now selling $998 at mums and babes.

If my brother and sister cannot get it for me, i will most likely purchase it online as well.

hi all, good morning.

went for chkup ytd, my gynae scanned and saw kkb... hehe... we guessed as much. will be doing my detailed scan on 8 Jun for further confirmation.

miemie, can update for me. thanks

Regards to the restriction of hubby not able to enter the room while scanning. Is it applicable for all hospital?? or all hospital?? Which is the hospital that do not allow hubby to company wife in for the first 30 mins??

xoxo>> that was really a horror story! so the gynae has confirmed is nothing abnormal? but why the discharge is so much?

fifi>> ya, same case here.. but my fren has suggested that i get a backpack instead of a sling bag for diaper bag.. coz she says if you happen to bring baby out on your own, a backpack will be must easier to carry as the weight is distributed on both sides of the shoulders.

chynle>> not too sure, but so far is for TMC..

the medela electric breast pump is supposed to be more powerful than other electric breast pumps ya? but the price is also so 'powerful' sia.. i thot the breast pump is like at most $300 nia..

dreamygal,
amazon selling freestyle for US$310. aiya, now i'm wondering if should get freestyle instead. only $100 difference. yikes!

miemie,
hahaha... price of course powerful. they are quite a popular brand mah. advanced PIS is cheaper lah. alamak i worry about all this after i come back lah. go and enjoy first. scarly i see it in europe. hehehe...

any mommies of #2 daunted by the increased responsibility?
am having a low day again. the trigger is always lack of sleep. my son keeps falling ill. last week had to go KK 24hour after work so tired, then some power antibiotics, then went back school one day and his cough has returned. he coughed all night n i have not slept since i woke at 3am. i don really have a choice is either maid or childcare, and i have both now. new maid is so so, only 2 weeks but i keep her hands off my son, jus look after household chores. childcare i believe is good for him socially/mentally, but he keeps falling sick, and as it is, he is a small sized boy.
i think #2 come, with new born and if my boy keep falling sick (and my hubby tends to fall sick right after my boy fall sick, weak immunity), it is like non stop tiredness...
vvvv daunted all of a sudden.
ive gone thru this depression b4 n come out of it, some of u r aware, but how to stay out of it?

i know all this is 'normal' but why do i find it so hard? is it im not a strong person? but i have the perseverance to run a half marathon. is it im greedy thats why i want to work? but im so careful with what i spend. his childcare aint an expensive one, and i don buy him lotsa clothes/toys.
what i worry about is paying for their education later (insurance agent recently scared me ... again), i want to move to new place (current place is 2 room cos i collapse 2 rooms into one large master), and my parents (father not well)
truth is, if money just dropped from the sky, i will stay home and look after my own children, but cos im economically viable (earn about same as hubby) i feel it is 'not right' (dun even know who is telling me is not right to stop work.
i wan 3 kids, so i have to give up that dream?

sigh, overwhelmed. going to go toilet and cry. v tired, want to just lie down and sleep in peace. also my boss asked me to re-edit a whole piece of work, which means all my other work delayed. which by right means i should work late, but no way am i gonna.
i think i have chronic depression, but how to overcome? pregnancy also cant take meds ...

pups: look at it this way, our parents were probably very poor when we were growing up. I remember my parents earning just a few hundred dollars, and they had to pay my babysitter, my music lessons, my expensive specialist bills as I was constantly falling ill, and other stuff. They just managed their best, without complaints, though I'm sure they gave up a lot of things.

I think my husband is thinking like you. He's constantly bombarding me with money issues, even though we are relatively doing ok as we have iron rice bowls. Perhaps you just prefer to plan ahead and think of various factors that could lead to hardship.

I can't advise you how to stay out of the depression, because you could be in manic-depressive mode, where you swing from extremes. Probably just stay positive, don't think of #3 when #2 is not out yet.

Some SAHMs do freelance work to supplement the income, or start a small home biz.

hey pups, i believe that if God bless us with kids He will provide us as He will not leave us astray. Prob you may want to pump vitamins into your kid n hubby to increase their immune system esp ur kid cos whn they are in childcare they prone to fall sick as if their frens are sick and go to sch they will also get affected. same for ur hubby if he's immune system is low.

i remember in one of ur posts, u mentioned ur church has a women group, you may wan to join them and see hw u cn adjust ur emotions. most impt, lean on God's strength and nt on ur own understanding.

hi glass
thanks for speedy response.ya usually im okay, whatever other people say, i don care, am cool about it. im v different from a lot of mommies in today's world already, i don buy expensive things for my son at all, or for myself. i just lavish him with a lot of love, but i feel it taking its toll on me.
i hate talking to insurance agents seriously - i am covered w basic, ie, hubby son n me, hospital bills for sudden lif events. agent asked me my hubby suddenly die how, i said well in such a scenario, and in the worse case my parents his parents don help, i will sell the home, she said but y go thru such discomfort etc etc. u know the same rubbish la (sorry this jus my opinion) 15-20% of income to be in insurance.
then remind me about inflation n uni fees. i told her i will tell my children clearly what i can or cant afford all e way, and tell them they will hv to work hard if they want this n that. which i always tell leon. have a piggy bank for him everytime he is a good boy, he will get to put $1 coin in and he loves it.
but agent scare me lor, make me feel so 'naked'

hi jazol
thanks for reminder. seriously this morning im sad n sorry to say i forgot god is there for me. i should not procrastinate joining that mom group right. is jus that weekend am so tired i end up sleeping all the way.

pups: dun even bother to entertain those agents if u r not comfortable. my husband always scold them over the phone for calling him.

and Yeah. just join for once even if u feel tired and want to sleep. better than feeling depressed all the time.

Xoxo: Very relieved to know it's a false alarm... I would've just fainted on the spot if it'd happened to me. Seriously, pp with low lying placenta should really take extra care. Go read this month's issue of Motherhood(I think) which features Diana Ser and a cute chubby princess on the cover. She got low placenta too n her waterbag leaked at 5ish months. Thereafter she had to do complete bed rest until bb was born. So no joke.

For mummies having 2nd bb, the same magazine also has an article on what to expect when having 2nd bb. I found the article very informative.

Xoxo, do take care. Hope all mums here too keep well.

ooh i must go n buy this months motherhood, thanks chiapatty!

kkbt - the agent actually a close friend, and she try not to stress me abt it but really says im under insured. i seeked her consult in a saving plan for future home, but instd she told me to pump more on insurance than new home .. but i told her, home is impt to me

kkbt>> my depression is so drama. like when i have it, im at the pits, when its over, im fine and dandy ... drama right .. wonder how my hubby survives

pups: God must have done something in him so that he could survive u..
dun be too bothered by your friend lah. she also needs to earn for a living. as long as u know what u want, i think that'll be the best for you..

chiapatty: thanks for the info.. i should start reading those mags too..

sweetzinc: I just had mine yesteday at TMC. They will do temp check downstairs, and the scan took about half an hour. The sonographer checked everything first, then the husband came in later, and she showed him what she showed me earlier.

BTW, my baby is confirmed a boy. He was in some yoga foetal position, so we couldn't see very clearly but the sonographer experienced enough to see something. The measurements and checks were ok, just that my baby's head is a little bigger than the rest of the stats.

My gynae wanted to give me flu vaccination, but I didn't want to.

kkbt >> haha ya man. well his 'defence' is always when im ok, im lovable haha, and he believes the best in me. ive had a rough childhood so i suppose that doesnt help. my sis suffers from depression too i jus thot i overcame mine. hence the extra stress on me to get it right for my children.

Pups: I think I sort of know how you feel especially recently when my #1bb was at KK with high fever. I took urgent leave for 3 days to look after her all this time dreading at the back of my mind the work pile up. But then she got better, I got back to work and tackle my backlog 1 piece at a time and soon things are back to normal again. My point is the storm will settle eventually.

And I'm quite sure your hormones are acting up as well making you super emotional. I take a whole cocktail of vitamins which I feel is not only keeping me physically reasonably well but also emotionally. Check with you gynae, he may be able to prescribe some supplement for you. It seems you should also feed your #1bb and your hubby with vitamins/supplements etc too!

Sometimes it may help to sit back and observe things happening all around the world everyday and realise how extremely lucky many of us are. Don't worry too much ok?

kkbt: I think insurance plans don't really work. They just want to earn commision. 20% of income on insurance is way too high. We still have CPF, medisave and other things. If you want to have insurance, it should be something you are comfortable with, rather than pay so much in premiums.

What you can do, is to save 10% or more if you can of your salary right from the start before you pay your other bills. Put it into some savings plan which you can take the money out easily. One thing about insurance is the money is not liquid enough.

If you really want, you can consider term insurance. You pay much less, and if anything happens, you get the money. If nothing happens, which is good, you don't get back a single cent.

Pups: I should clarify that the article on what to expect when having #2 is not really about how to handle 2 kids in the home, etc. It's about what to expect when delivering/giving birth to the 2nd baby (a topic discussed here few days ago).

jazol: I think you are right about the vitamins. I'm now taking vitamins, and I find myself falling prey to flu less compared to before. Last time I can have flu for months without recovering. The only problem is the multi-vits I'm prescribed stains my teeth.

hello all,just pop by to de-stress a bit since work is piling up non stop.

xoxo : hope u r fine now. i experience before for my #1 and even #2 now but seems like it will stop by itself. I googled the web and seems like nothing much the gynae can do so they sort of tell us is fine. My gynae told me is due to discharge etc. They simply hv no answer for us so just tell us the std answer abt discharge etc. I told him is not discharge cos is not sticky type but he still nt convince. *give up*

BREAST PUMP
I bot my ameda dual electric purely yours breast pump fm online directly fm US. Mine was with the tote bag, cooler bag, pump and 6 bpa free bottles. Got it for aro $270. Adaptor can get fm any hardware shop easily since oni abt $2 nia. After adding shipping, it cost me aro $340 !! Didn't want to invest too much as nt sure hw long will i be able to BF. For new MTBs, if u intend to get breast pump, then maybe dun hv to buy too many bottles since breast pump fm ameda and medela comes with a few bottles as well. I tink the cap can use pigeon since shld be same size.

Pups ; i tink u tends to think too much and confusing yourself at times. maybe due to hormones change i guess. Cant really advise u wat to do except to look at the bright side. Situation shld get better.

glass: i'm not too bothered by insurances. ;) i've got some not so long term savings plans which i calculated should be able to give my children a choice to study in singapore, overseas or start their own business. whatever they want. my parents already bought life insurance for me. so the rest is more on savings..

thanks all mommies you r of wonderful help to me really, i thank god for blessings like all of you, so eager to help and show me im not alone.

eating yong tau foo now and sort of feel better.

ong: u r right! my hubby says it all the time too. my son coughing and 3am, i start talking to my hubby about my sahm vs working mom battle again, talking about the big pic of issues, trust, loyalty .. i also dunno wat man..... and he has to keep reminding me leon is jus having a cough

kkbt>> i got nothing much at all, no savings plan. if i don work n have 3 kids, no money to send all to uni i feel .. altho i dunno
parents bought me nothing ...

Astro, Dreamygal >> haha, thanks for the birthday wish... didn't know i'd have this scare so fast! As she went thru' her checks, I became more and more relieved. One can go nuts with this sort of stress...a swab's taken to test what could be the reason. she says no call to me means everything's fine...

Miemie >> think the increased discharge is due to a fungal infection, common in pregnancy? anyway, the doc did treat me with a single dose pessary. prb seems to have cleared today. no discharge.

Dreamygal >> yah, i got an earful from my mum though, for moving/packing stuff over the weekend.. it's a "dry" day today so far...thank heavens..

ong >> i am OK, thanks. i hope the discharge is due solely to the fungal infection and nothing more than that...yep, the discharge is watery - very different from what you'd normally get..

pups: dun think too much lah.. ur CPF and ur hubby's CPF sure can bring them through uni... that's what my father does.. my mum also never worked, got 3 children and both me and my sis went through uni, bro went through poly and doing very well in his own business... things arent as bad as u think.
btw, my father retired at the age of 45 cos he was in the army.. if my parents can do it without God, i'm sure u and ur hubby and do it with God!

hippo >> someone should setup a pricelist similar to what geeks do for their PC parts aka hardwarezone. haha, i'll call it mumwarezone. the many different prices and urban legends are enough to confuse, rattle..it actually prevents me from being daring abt a decision..

OK..don't forget my "standing instructions"! hehehehe..

hippo >> someone should setup a pricelist similar to what geeks do for their PC parts aka hardwarezone. haha, i'll call it mumwarezone. the many different prices and urban legends are enough to confuse, rattle..it actually prevents me from being daring abt a decision..

OK..don't forget my "standing instructions"! hehehehe..

xoxo: provided there's a "Sim Mum Square" around. haha.. at least its a one-stop mall for mums to shop around for cheap, moderate and expensive stuff.. or even build-up-your-own-cot kind of thing..

pups: haha.. no chill pill.. chilli pill can work?

i guess worrying is normal. just worry for a moment, let it out, put it aside and get on with life..

kkbt>> u so funny. chilli pill.

ya i think once i sleep tonight i will feel better. i truly spiral downwards with lack of sleep. but if tonight i cannot sleep cos of leon again, i will b mega depressed tomorrow. somehow i jus seem like so no strength to overcome adversity. i realised my mom is like that too.

pups: haha.. its like i get frustrated over everything and anything when i have lack of sleep.. since u know u gonna be depressed if u have lack of sleep, then u must learn to tell urself that if it happens, u gonna control ur feelings as much as possible lor..

kkbt>> somehow when it happens i become so overwhelmed, probably hormones too, not usually so teary and emotional.
i guess cough for a kid 2+ in childcare is truly v normal right? nothing life or death to worry about.