(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

loke >> conclusion: opposites attract! hmm..u studied pharmacy? in NUS? how old are u? asking cos i'd a close friend in JC who also took pharmacy..i wanted to bug her recently abt my monumental consumption of medication..but she's on vacation now. anyway, she has migrated to australia..can i bug u instead? just need more info/reassurance that the medication i took are "safe"...

xoxo: aiyoh.. so sweet! :p:p..
so nice.. gosh. my hb's ang mo cannot make it.. else i want him to do my homework for me too! ha..
what weird subject combi the two of u doing???

loke: ops. u are not a virgo.

xoxo: yeah. i was a pharmacy student in nus... grad in 2006.. i've not touched anything pharmacy since i graduated... so my info all from my other friends.. hahha.. but u still can ask me.. cos i'm sure i have pretty reliable sources for the answers..

loke: ha.. scorpio.. dark and intense :p
wah. pharmacy student.. gosh. how do u ever spell the names of all those medcine CORRECTLY!? :p

precious moment: i have hair loss problem too. when i had my first one, i cut short my hair as i realised it do help to prevent the loss slightly. i always have hair loss problem as my scalp is oily too.

astro : boys generally r slow in talking. my son only start to speak up when he aro 3. B4 3, he is like speakg nt more than 3 words in a sentence & is only playing by himself. I even worried he is autistic and send him for speech therapy at NUH for 1 yr +. think the therapy is nt really helping. i even enroll him at CC since 24mths. Then gradually he start to talk more when he's aro 3. There r many boys that only start talking when 3+ but not girls. Girl r fast in speech. I have few frens that having same problem too and their boys will only speak up after 3+. Now at 4+, my boy is a chatterbox and is talkg non stop.

ong: hey. i wanted to send my son for some occupational theraphy too.. but figured not too. coz the therapist who was 'therap-ing' me.. was erm. sorry to be blunt.. quite crap :S
ha. i am waiting for him to become a chatter box :p.. hahahaha.. then when he asked his 'why' questions.. i will say ' go ask ur papa lah'.. whahahahah how mean can i get? :p
he is starting to vocalise more now.. every monring.. he wakes.. then will go and hug his bears .. and kiss them. then he say ' Hallo Nana'.. 'sit down Po'.. ' nana eat!'...' doggie dance!'.. hahah. real cute i find
.. the longest sentences he has spoken so far are 'rayner brings nana go out'..' mama, rayner, nana, doggie kiss!' and '婆婆明天不要来!' (which freaked my mother out! she went like.. are u sure u dun want popo to come tomorrow?'.. my son said , 'yes, bu yao lai'.. then she pissed.. and asked agin.. my son said the same thing again! whahahahah )
it is likely suddenly he got a life.. i like

Xoxo: Eh, you should be higher up on the scale of happiness since it sounds like you've got a near perfect husband because opposite of him will be a talentless and low IQ party animal! Cannot socialise and party (and meet girls!) is not a disability in my books!

Your discussion on autism is very interesting. Here's another story to add to the statistics. My friend's sister has 3 kids, 1st is a boy, 2nd girl, last is boy. The last boy has developed mild autism immediately after the jab. The older boy is fine because he missed his jab when it was due because he was not well then, and delayed taking that jab by 6mths or so. The girl is normal. Sounds like got a pattern yah? Better not take risk man.

Astro: My black line also still there! But slightly faded already thank goodness. I religiously applied stretch mark cream so my tummy is stretch mark free! but I neglected my fat thighs and they look like stripped watermelons now.. Boohoohoo...

Eh, you describe your hubby very funny..plays dizi but without the looks to match.. can't image.

WW: You make me suddenly want to drink soya milk too, but not with char siew bao. I think it goes better with yu char kuay! Yums.

loke >> haha, so i am older than you...counting back the years, she belongs to class of 2002...but which means yr knowledge still more current lah..

ok..here goes..just let me know what the risk factors are. docs don't seem to want to be frank...owe you lunch which can be made good once my MS is over..drooling over all the buffets we can tuck into...spicy MTBs can join in! anyway, beore all that..here goes my long long list of scary medication:

1) Augmentin - took for 2 days x 2 caps = 4 caps
2) Zithromax (azithromycin) - day 1 :1 tab; day 2 - 4: 2tabs each >> total: 7 tabs)
3) 3M Duro-Tuss (15ml of pholcodine, bromhexine hydrochloride)
4) 3M Difflam-C (I realised this gargle had ethanol so stopped after 1 round)
5) Gaviscon (took 3x..for heartburn)
6) Euphon Lozenges (atomised erysimum officinalis) - freely eating..but limit to 4 per day.
7) Flumacil (Acetylcysteine) - 6x, once every morning
8) Xyzal (Levocetirizine) - 6x, once every morning
9) Nexium (Esomeprazole) - 1x, agst gastric?
10) Panadol - 5x, agst fever

zombie: hahaa.. that's y i've never touched pharmacy ever after i graduated... i was even luck y to graduate.. whatever is left in my brain at remnants when i did listen to the lecturer. the rest... all disappeared into thin air..

xoxo: wah! so much medication!!

chia: but dun take MMR also dangerous.. esp for bb girls.. coz rubella if they dio when they preg (when grow up).. dementrimental to their bbs leh.. haiz.. dilemma hor?

ha.. seeriously.. he doesn't have the suave suave look to match the typical kind u imagine playing dizi mah.. :p but if u are thinking of those old taiwanese uncles. coming their hair striaght up.. ah.. then it is a match :p
wah.. stripped watermelons! so apt.. for my tummy now :S

loke, astro >> i am the lazy type in school. only study at the last minute..so having a ghost writer is good...hehehehe..

astro >> I was taking E.Lit, Hist, Econs and Maths C.. So you can see there are MANY subjects I had that required lengthy essays..I still keep those essays..always fuzzy when I think abt them.

chiapatty >> unfortunately, he likes classical music so got no $$-making potential lah (he recognises that as well)..but yes, he has been good except when i upset him then, it gets very tough to make amends..contrary to expectations..i maybe an extrovert, but I don't relish parties too..it's more like if I try to get a big family gathering..he won't stand for it...so it's always small dinners with the same old people at the, you guessed it..same old places..can imagine my cantankerous cravings are not at peace with him now. he sounded stressed over the phone just now with my beef noodle order..

astro :seems like your son can talk up to 5 or 6 words and that is not bad liao. My son only nt more than 3 words and he nv ask "why" last time since he can't talk much. He only start asking "why" when he is 3+ . Seems like your son is probably gg to be a chatterbox soon by another few mths.

xoxo: for agumentin, i completed the whole course that gynae given to me and is defintely more than 8 tablets.since it is given by gynae, this shld be fine.

loke >> thanks thanks thanks...i am like grasping at straws trying to decipher what the risks are. i am sure there are. out of the whole list, only gaviscon is a Cat A, azithromycin went thru' a Canadian study on expectant mothers and they found deformities not abv the natl avg of 3%..of course, it takes a much more complicated understanding of pharmocological interactions to understand how one drug can affect the other etc etc. Sigh...now u can see how i can become looney just thinking abt it..

chiapatty, astro >> i think can delay the vaccines till the child is a little older? I am thinking of delaying the vaccines except for polio, till the boy/girl is 4 and before s/he begins preschool..anyway, no fear abt measles & mumps..as for TB..it is not that common, same for diptheria. rubella..it'd be a long way off for the baby to come to our stage now! but these are just my thoughts..i know it won't be easy making up your mind abt this.

ong>> the antibiotic isn't given by my gynae..it's by the respiratory specialist (to treat my pneumonia). then they realised the augmentin was having no effect on the mycoplasma infection (loke..) so they changed the antibiotic to zithromax..
my gynae's kept informed though..but she super chinchye i got worried..my teleconversation went like:
xoxo: "Dr Sim, I am asked to take zithromax.."
Dr S: " no problems..just take."
huh??? really????

xoxo: i speaking like ks mummy hor.. dun take the risk. can understand about not taking MMR or chicken pox.. coz those are optional.. but for the complusory for diptheria/TB and such.. it is complusory.. and PD would really advise u to take..
hey. cut the readings u are doing! (sounds funny coming from worrywart Astro).. too much.. too much :p
oh. that's is a weird combi? ha?! see. i konw u must have done english or something like that! E lit.. gosh.. :p:p
i did econs, accounting and management of bix.. mine was the last batch of comerce in JC.. but i dunn why they asked me to teach english?! .. aiya.. anyway..

ong: ha. . as mentioned. i am nore concerned about his gross motor wor.. aiyo. his jumping .is joggin on the spot! and hor. he is so reserved and cautious going up and down the steps.. and u know. raised platform.. he will stand there and go 'no no.. hold hands!'.or he will walk one big round to find something that he can laid his hand for support. coz he scared to step on it to go up by himself! haiz.. give up..

Hi Merlions...

Ok now I'm a bit lost here. This thread is going like 180km /hr.

Anyway, I'm in my 8th week this week. Feels crappier than ever..

Astro, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!

xoxo, i know this wont make u feel better, but hope you will be able to survive it. I'm a nono to rice also. Even the sight makes me wanna puke.

Astro: I don't mean don't take jab. I think take later better like my friend's oldest nephew who took it 6 mths late.

Wah old taiwanese uncle with hair brushed up playing dizi. Ok now I can imagine.

Xoxo: Whao! So much med. Sorry can't help, I know nuts abt med. But I do know that docs know lots about them and they'll never prescribe it if they know its dangerous for preggies. Anyway, let's await good news from Dr Loke.

Same old people, same old place.. Eh sounds like me and my lau ah peh too! haha I think we must be both mildly autistic because we're a pretty antisocial couple! haha.

ww : He's ok lah. He can only blame the bad hormones at work loh. Anyway, he came back during lunch. Was touched.

xoxolight : Thanks. Just now my MIL just brought her other 6 grandchildren up to my place. Luckily my hubby was in
and chased them out. If not, i think i should be cleaning up the house now.

Astro : Now we really snapped at the slightest thing huh.

xoxo: Dr Sim is super steady one. That's y i dun know if gd or bad. Advantages is she dun make u worry unnecessarily.

astro : Guess my son motor skill is slow too. maybe kids who r slow in speech will indirectly affect their moto skills. when other children can wear their own shirt, my son still can't last time. he is slow in motor skill if u compare among his peers. my son oso super cautious type. everything he say " i scared". Same like your son, he will insist to hold hands or refuse to perform some task that he think is risky. until now, his moto skill is still slightly slower than his peers. However, his memory skills is much better than his peers. Guess nothing is perfect lor .

heya mommies!
what's the topic today? seems like everybody is feeling chatty today..

i've been mia for a while again... would love to catch up.. how's everyone doing now?

rina: ha.. nice greeting.. merlion.. hahahah

thanks for the bday greeting.. i spend it in bed though.. nua coz of bloatedness and such.. and super tired now! i need caffeine. but dun dare to drink leh. sian..

ong: seemed like our sons sama sama development! however. i think amongst my frens . i note this pattern..
excellent gross motor skills.. normally.. indicate bositerous characters.. then they find it hard to concentrate.. also they tend to speak slower..

but having said that. i think Carbo is fine like that.. just be mroe active. can liao..a weeny bit will do. too much . i wun be able to take it.. ha.. how old is ur boy again?

hi famela.. how are u? found a gynae yet?

chia: hahah. graphic hor my description? whahahahah.. :p but i find he looks good in his zong shan chuan.. when he performs last time.. sauve in my eyes lah. ok. dun puke :p

chiapatty: i'm no Dr... haha.. i have the BOOK that says it all (almost)..

famela: topic today?? a few.. haha. about xoxo's medication, the MMR vaccine, kid's motor skills etc...

today's my worse.. never merlioned 3 times in a day. today's the first.

hey astro.. me found gynae? eh, you reali zombie today ah? kekeke, i long time found gynae liao.. i think you're confusing with some other mommy lei.. this one my 2nd pregnancy mah? hehe
but nemind, since you preggy, i shall forgive you for the mix-up

xoxo, i was just skimming tru the page and some posts, you've been hospitalised? hope you feeling better now.. heads up girl, the good times will roll over soon enough
btw, i did the same subject combi lei.. e lit, econs, history and maths c hehehe

loke: funny leh. the book tat says it all.. hey. u should cap the 'all'..--> the BOOK that says it ALL..
ha.. u know .. 天书?? the book that says it all .. hahah :p

astro: haha.. yeah.. the BOOK that says it ALL.. those are expensive books... spent hundreds of dollars getting them cos they were compulsory for practicals.. but end up i'm in the gemology field now..

poor astro... eh, poly now hols rite? go back and rest la.. take leave? or go back see doc and take mc for the rest of the day and tmr so you cna rest at home? anyway now not much at skul rite? got chance to rest, must rest ok?

loke: wow!! gemology.. hahaha. u see diamonds everyday? how cool is that?1 hahhaha.
hey. is there a yellow gem ah? what's its name? i keep forgetting leh..
diamond, sapphire, ruby,emarald. topaz.. ya. the yellow one. what's the name ah?

famela: ya. hols. but i am also doing staff training.. haiz.. and it is during the holidays. they need to clock up hours.. so running workshops one afte another lor..

astro >> it's really tough being a parent! damn if u do, damn if u don't..

rina >> yep..strictly no rice for me..the beef noodles came..took a bite of the noodles then realised..omg! it's rice..instant reaction! so drank just the soup and ate the beef
rice alters the taste in one's mouth..

chiapatty >> i'd long wanted to tell u, u gave yourself the same nick as my aunt. their surname is chia..so she always uses the chiapatty thingy in her emails.. autism is now the new cute. there's always a silver lining

dreamygal >> your fuse seems short today..do u feel like taking a walk outside? i am eyeing a walk near the reservoir later in the evening..cannot spend the whole day cooped at home..

ong >> Dr Sim really cool hor..she was nice enough to drop by and check on the BB (very clear..not on me)..and did say the BB's "happy"..I was like "huh? like how can u tell?" and she went like "it's fine, don't worry." but i am the sort who needs information overload..can get very antsy when i don't seem to catch the whole picture...sigh.

loke >> bless you..yesterday was 11x for me..never ending. today so far so good..nothing for now..though i can feel that it will come later..

famela >> unfortunately, yes. i was hospitalised and forced-fed tonnes of medication...Mt Misery. how old are u by the way?

loke,

your family bis in the diamond industry?? wowwwweeeeeeeeeeeee! must be pretty cool to work with diamonds and other precious stones daily rite? after all, a diamond is a girl's best friend. hee

xoxo: ur Gynae is very cute leh. comes in and tell u the bb is happy?! :p i would be like.. amused? and then back of my mind (doctor's very happy today hor? :p)

i like loads of information also.. hence i am always asked 'dun think/read so much lah'.. aiyo..

i was staring at ur 'Mt Misery'.. then i couldn't figure out why. trust me. normally i am faster.. it is just today! ha.. u cute lah. Mt Misery! :p

loke >> i'd be hopeless at pharmaceuticals....trust me. once more, thanks in advance for helping me..i know u probably emerge with the idea that most are cat B..but maybe u can shed more light than that...

astro,

oh ic.. ok once work done, get out of there and go home and rest ok?

xoxo,

glad that you're out though.. take it easy at home ok? and since the doc says the medication is ok for baby, then just trust his judgement and think positive alright? i was having pretty bad MS a couple of weeks back such that gynae gave me 2 weeks hospitalisation leave and a referral letter to go back kkh to get checked in for a drip in case get too dehydrated. lucky i didn't have to resort to using the drip. that was about 3 weeks back. i'm feeling tonnes better now. still have the nausea but no where as bad as during the 6th to 9th week.

i'm 30 this year btw. old liao.. hehe

astro: haha.. got many types of yellow gem leh.. sapphires also got yellow colour.. topaz can be yellow too.. diamonds can be yellow... citrine is another yellow gem.. which one u want? haha

astro >> I think she meant well..humour..but the print out didn't help too..the shape of the amniotic sac was like that of a mouth and the BB was shaped like a laughing bean at the bottom..just imagine it was like a big big grin by BB..Dr Sim can be pretty dead pan at times..

famela >> glad u are feeling loads better..i am feeling a wee bit more cheery today (hence the non-stop chattering), though still mindful this can change at a moment's notice. 30yrs not old lah..i am nipping at your heel. i am 29yrs..don't mind me asking the next qn..which JC were u from? cos i don't know of many jcs offering this combo..

famela: hubby's family ah... we specialise in diamonds, rubies, sapphires and special stones like colour-change garnets, alexandrite, colour-change sapphires, cat's eye alexandrite, star rubies and sapphires... my hubby's side of the business deals with jewellery, like custom made rings, earrings, pendants, repairs, replate, re-set... my side of the business deals with education, e.g. diamond course, gemstone identification course, jade course. FIL's part of the business is in certification, evaluation, appraisal of diamonds and gemstones.

loke: alamak.. i thought there was ONE type of gems who is yellow and that's it wor.. saphhire can also be yellow? gosh. ok.. can liao :p

xoxo,

glad that you're oso feeling better
i still have my bad days or periods of time during the course of the day when i feel like shit. (pardon my french, hehe) but generally getting better. thank god! 30 feels a LOT older than 29 la... imagine jumping from twenty-something to thirty-something.. ewkh.. i hate the sound of it. although it's only a difference of a year, it feels like a totally different era la.. the big three-oh, KWIM? heeheee.. i was from rj. what about yourself?

loke, wow!!! i loikeee the sound of your hubby's family's bis!! i lurveeee just the sound of diamond. too bad, my hubby thinks that diamonds are only for courting days. no more diamonds since married. whahahhaa

astro: haha.. yeah.. yellow sapphires very popular among indians.. its supposed to bring them better health.. but i also dunno how true it is.. but if they like it, and they got to money, want to buy from us, i'll be very willing to sell. hahhaa... come for the gemstone course.. u'll learn A LOT!! haha...

astro: no leh.. i'm extremely low in work efficacy now.. just bo bian... hb and fil all not in singapore.. i'm the only one to jaga the place... so got to work everyday except weekends.. no matter how groggy/ms-y/pukey/sickly/tired i may feel..

where did the rest of the ladies go? out for lunch still?

i've not posted a photo of my son before. tot i'd post one. hehehe.. feeling bored la. wanna go online shoppping but nothing interesting on the BP thread. bah!

2254876.jpg