(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

astro: teng not yet 2yo right? can say so many things already.. that's not bad lorh.. my friend's child 2 years old already but no much vocab except mama and papa..

precious: erm. that link on spinach that i googled .. said.. should avoid taking when raw. .coz oxalic acid is only broken down when cooked..

shugar: yeah. moderation...

the talk on beef noodles... my gosh... hahaa... sorry... as the rest of u are drooling over the thought of it now... i am too but drooling in prep of merlioning.. haha...

loke: no lah. teng just turne 2 lio.. in fact 24 mths.. he is on the slower end of the normal specturm.. miser concludes that teng is autistic..
.. some of my frens in the other thread.. their bbs younger than teng.. light years ahead in vocabuluary and gross motor.. teng slightly better onli in fine motor..

shugar: i agree with u.. everything in moderation.. hmm. maybe i should try telling that to my hb whenhe 'bans' me from taking sha***mi??

loke: i guess every kid developemnet is different bah .. My brother's son didn't speak until he was almost 3... Freak my bro and SIL out. Even bring him to specialist. But well, once he started, cannot stop

Astro>> NO Shasimi!!!! I used to like it a lot.. but now no cravings for it.. dun even feel like eating it even i was sitting in front of the conveyor belt!

Astro,

Every kids differs. Never measure your kids development with other kids as the time we spent to input the kids is different for each family.

I have a friend who teach her child nothing but sanzijing and flashcard (Food).. she can recite well in San Zi Jing, and only the food shown in the flashcards.. but she is not able to communicate her daily needs as what the other kid can do.

No worry.. it takes time, u will be surprised that he will argue back with u soon.

siangjiao: haha. started and cannot stop.. that's interesting.. dunno how true is this talk that girls learn to speak earlier than boys...

Oh no.. i found a few strands of grey hairs!! Is it part of the "pregnancy package" too.. I am not really prone to grey hair b4 pregnancy...

<font color="aa00aa"><u>Hair</u></font>

Talking about hair, any mummies here whom had given birth before, is experiencing hair loss?

Ever since I gave birth to my #1, i noticed I drop lots of hair. Sweeping / Vacuum the floor can freak me out whenever i clear the dustbag.. I can see all my hairs! and sometimes I found my son picking up my hairs from the floor and started to chew on them.

for everyone's feeling under the cloud today..here's a hilarious series of kid-maintenance stuff: http://www.mdolla.com/2008/01/complete-idiot-guide-to-deal-with.html

cream magnolia >> yeah! we are taking the same prenatal vit..i went off it when i was hospitalised for the whole of last week. perhaps that's the reason why i have developed this sudden nutcase craving for copper...

shugar >> hanging hanging...but can get so "mang zang" and full of discomfort that it is almost unbearable.

siangjiao >> i am targetting beef noodles! perfect for this rainy day..must have more of the chinese celery too

astro >> my HB was diagnosed as autistic. didn't speak till he was 5! he is a man of few words still... anyway, his mum places blame on the vaccination. strangely, my BIL's child is also now exhibiting signs of autism - became less responsive after his jab apparently. now he's 3 but doesn't maintain eye contact, doesn't speak at all..but he seems to understand instructions.

precious moment >> i am the opp..growing hair all over the plc! not to be disgusting..i realised i was growing tummy hair!!! yikes...plus i noticed that my nails is growing long at an exponential pace!

I had a lousy morning clearing my dog's LS. He always spend the weekend at my MIL's place and every monday, he will LS. I scolded my hubby so many times to tell his mum not to feed my dog rubbish but nothing goes into her ear.

After clearing his watery poo so many times, totally turned off by any food.

Called my MIL and told her to get the maid to send my girl's lunch up as i totally got no appetite and not going to her place. Actually i don't want to go to her place and see her. Instead, she came to my place and bring my girl away!! I felt so lousy when i see her bringing my girl away!!

Xoxo

I am panicking now. thinking after given birth to #1, I loss half of my hair (volume of my hair was thinner)
With #2, I will loss by another half.. by the time I will be botak liao.. how? Any foolproof remedy for hair loss

Or it is due to diet wise? I wonder

Precious_Moment : Ya. I lost lots of hair... From the 4th mth after my girl was borned. Keeps dropping... Until i felt so scared.

My hair got thinner now. Luckily, i've got a big bundle of hair previously... So still look ok now.

precious moment >> she thinks it was the MMR. given when he was 1+. he has two older brothers and she found my HB developing normally till that day of the jab. he developed a fever immediately after it, lost weight and became listless. after that, she felt his cognitive development became stunted. my MIL is in teaching and over the years since, she has even written letters to MOH to commission a study into this as she found large numbers of students, boys especially, afflicted with autism and attention deficit disorders. she also tried very hard to persuade my SIL not to give the MMR to their BB. quite suay or what, they went ahead and now my nephew seems quite different..as a newborn, he could hold steady eye contact, started babbling at 9 mths etc and after the jab, it's like time reversal..

Dreamygal>> Think she meant well ba.. tot u not feeling well, so, she brought ur gal out.. so tat u can rest more! Erm.. i think i am a little like u leh.. dun feel like seeing my mil and sil at all.. dunno why! I know it sounds quite bad of me..

dreamygal >> i feel pp like you coping with this preg and having a toddler around is really not easy. i can't imagine. MIL prbs can get more pronounced now. mine just called to say she wants to come to my plc..dread.

precious moment >> i think it is hormonal...do u have long hair? I went to a hair salon to get them to wash my scalp for me the other day cos i was feeling greasy all the time. it does help make things more comfy..

Mrs Neo/xoxolight : I think i should go for counseling le. Felt very negative lately.

Scolded my hubby last night and today. But i just feel sad and angry...

xoxo: I know that the weather is erratic. I am so scared that i will end up like my Sils. Crying,shouting and screaming alot
when they are pregn.

So i try to go for walks.
Beside I have a kopi session with a friend soon.

Dreamygal/ Mrs Neo: What is their reaction?

My hb will reply 'Just lie down on the bed for 10mths. The baby will be out, what is the anxieties about.' My jaws dropped.

Ah, i think on my way home after the appointment.
I will buy a packet of soya bean milk.
Maybe with some char siew pau.

I wonder if they open so early.

We talked about MMR jabs at my other thread also.. but studies done are not conclusive if it causes autism.. anyway.. (xoxo, correct me if i am wrong).. an austistic brain is wired very differently from a normal brain.. when we are able to recognise social cues.. an autistic person cannot.. not because he chooses not to.. but it is simply the way the brain is wired. it doesn't happen all of a sudden.. or triggered by anything.. (as in the case of MMR).. it is inate in the person..

I applied for Pathlight before i come to my current school. Pathlight is the secondary school for autistic kids.. (but i didn't get selected.. apparently either my temperament or my knowledge of autism is not enough :p).. that pt in time.. autism fascinated me.. :p.. i looked at my boy. i know he is not autistic.. just very reserved and anti-social.. a chip off the old block :p

xoxo: so.. do u notice ur hb communicate differently from u? erm.. i dun mean the mar/venus thingy..

dreamygal>> i was mulling abt this for awhile. maybe we should have grp counselling..KKH has free counselling for their patients..but don't seem like TMC has it..i was also feeling rotten the whole of last week and entertained quite dark thoughts..but alot of you comforted me..i think we need to keep telling ourselves this will pass..tell HB not to give too much weight to what we say now..cos we don't mean it.

ww >> the crying bit i hands up liao..now i am a wawa baby myself. easy to make me cry..remember my ATM nonsense? not to mention, when i was at the hospital..cried loads from the stress. abit thankful though i have not graduated to screaming and shouting..lung got no power!

xoxo: with regards to ur nephew.. what he is displaying is a 'reversal' of skills.. or losing skils which is once mastered.. also associated with autism..

Xoxo: Welcome back! Looks like you're still not feeling too good but it seems the worst is over. It can only get better from now albeit bit by bit. But once you hit 13th week you should be feeling much better. For now just take things slow, relax and recuperate.

And don't worry about getting a hairy tummy. It's normal. For the 1st time mums out there, don't panic when you start to see a faint dark line showing along the length of your tummy. That's normal too.

Astro: Happy belated Birthday!

Precious Moment: Do you have oily scalp? If you do, perhaps you can change your shampoo and conditioner? Use that Phyto(sp?) brand for oily scalp. I'm using that and my condition has improved.

ww: erm.. ur hb.. i think i will start a quarrel with him if he says that to me.. but maybe this is my character.. argumentative..sorry ah..

astro >> i don't think it is innate. we all noticed that my nephew is VERY different post-jab. like my HB, he too developed a fever. i guess not everyone can take the "weakened" virus in the jab. autistic pp have prbs communicating their emotions. even now, i have to be patient when trying to "figure out" what my HB maybe internalising. there is a spectrum in autism - it manifests in different ways. my MIL is very insistent it is the jab and her interactions with the autistic support grps only reinforced her beliefs..majority are males who are afflicted with the severe form. having said all that, my HB had intensive home coaching and managed to go to a normal school. needless to say, my MIL barred him from taking all vaccinations since (no BCG etc at all) and since then, he gradually came off the "shell". hearing my HB talk abt how he felt when he was young is interesting also. he felt he had no memory till he was 8! so it is really like the brain doesn't function well in autism.

chiapatty: thanks
ops. the dark line. i still have it now.. gosh. it hasn't fade for 2 years! ermm.. ha. not as drastic.. it ididn't show up that much when preg with teng. but can see lor.. the stretchmarks are beyond redemption..

xoxo: u know. my hb will just laugh.. when he sees me throwing tranturms.. then i will stop.. and aplogise.. then he says.. 'ha.. actually u are not much different from when u are NOT preggy!'.. aiyoh..

Mrs Neo: haiz.. no shashimi? haiz..

precious: the hair losing part is quite normal wor.. but my frens at the other thread. is bp-ing hair tonic.. hormonal changes..

as with regards to not comparing teng ot other things.. believe me. i eased up quite a lot.. ha.. coz that boy. skipped crawling and straight to walking. then after that. he likes to crawl.. gosh! but coz he is big build so his gross motor is slighlty delayed.. but i am just harped up on the gross motor part. speech i a m not as worried.. so now. he can run, (trying to jump), walk, crawl etc.. i am happy mama now.. ha.. last time i was really quite worried..
but it is also with this kind of experience.. thati am more sensitive in communicating my boy's milestones to oter mummies.. coz i undrestand how it feels when pple are chirping with happinese when u are worried about ur child's growth

dreamygal: i also snapped at my hb last night! coz he was pressing on the quilt!! irritating! then my boy woke up.. babbling to himself.. then throw his bolsters out of his cot at me.. and started laughing to himself as he did that! argh.. now.. i am very groggy.

honestly. i think ah. Teng likes to see my reactions. and he finds it amusing leh! ok. form now on. i shall keep very cool.. and just glare at him..!then he will shudder.. and pee in his (diapers)..

loke: girls do speak and develop faster than boys.. but after a while (forgot the age) the boys catch up liao.. so i am hoping for #2 to be a girl.. so that i can do a study on this.. hahahah..

astro >> he was babbling, like simple mama stuff and then he stopped. we also noticed he no longer wants to hold eye contact with anyone. plus he is always fidgety..never liked hugs when in the past, he was very affectionate. it is quite heartbreaking..now everyone in the family (thanks to my HB's condition), knows it is a clear sign of autism except for the boy's mother who doesn't want to see it that way..

chiapatty >> on a scale of 1 to 10, with 10 being the happiest, i am on a 3. maybe this is my first baby, and i am not used to feeling so rotten..hence i am not adapting as well. my hairy tummy..made my HB laughed non-stop. i can't see, but i suspect my back is also becoming very hairy. abt the line, the hairs are grouping in thicker bunches along the middle..not to be racist at all..but i feel indian

my hb lucky not in singapore these few weeks.. otherwise he sure kena a lot from me...

but he's coming back this friday!! yay!! long awaited...

today's not the day for me.. i nv eat.. just drink water only i feel like merlioning.. argh. vomitted as i was typing all these..

wow i took short naps and so many more posts!

DROPPING HAIR
i have a phobia of that cos to begin with i have fine hair. i dropped a lot of hair post natal the last time. sighs.

astro>> pups is fine
unlike first preg, where i felt positive about everything, this time im all worried and negative. maybe it comes with age i dunno. (im 32 this year, had my boy at 29)
actually planning 3 kids, the last before im 35, but right now i have no idea how to even cope with 2. my place is quite small i really dunno how it will be. also always worried how my #1 will take to the new baby. hubby says as it is i seem to favour #1. tho i really don wan to, my #1 is really a v special boy to me. sigh im sure when #2 appears i will feel better.

just had lunch ... extremely not satisfied. nowadays my throat very smart. Stuff i don't like, simply will not go down, cannot even force feed. N i'm super sleepy now. And still thinking about beef noodles.

xoxo: i see. interesting.. but i can't quite reconcile the fact if the autistic brain is wired differently. how could a jab just change it overnight? .. anyway. this is quite controversial as u pointed out.. i guess ur hb is on the mild side of the autistic spectrum.. the severe one is really quite severe.. and yes.. if diagnosed. it must be rectified with home coaching and such. else it will just go in a downward spiral..

does ur hb display any talents? like exceptionally strong in maths.. spatial awareness etc?

hair loss
its the work of hormones... i noticed my sis had hair loss when she had her daughter.. and i studied that when i was a pharmacy student too.. hair loss and pregnancy comes hand in hand sometimes... many times its reversible.. means after child birth, there'll be a great loss of hair.. and when the hormones balances again, the hair will grow back on its own... so not to worry about hair loss..

zombie: I agree with you. And that is what makes me shut up. hehe. Yr Hb find it amusing when you snap at him. I find these men amazing. hehe

siangjiao >> the craving for beef noodles is strong...getting HB to buy it for me now..

astro >> HB is still a very quiet person by nature. maybe that's why it takes a super-extrovert like me (hahaha..sounds similar astro?) to counteract it all. u should see the look on his mom's face..it's like my boy who doesn't say one word now has a girlfriend (then)...ok, on the serious side...he does have a decent IQ otherwise they won't allow mainstream schooling..and he has very strong 3D visualisation, memory skills. whatever u say, whatever u do..he will remember..u cannot play card games with him ditto for mahjong also. musically, he is also quite talented. never had a teacher coaching him but managed to learn the piano, clarinet and flute on his own. he likes music..and can play by ear. but in social skills..e.g. go to parties, meet new pp..he is still unable to.

xoxo: hhahaa. i think u and me.. similar.. our men also similar! ha.. wah. our men are really similar leh.. my hb keeps saying he is autistic.. (and to play along.. i say 'ya i think u autistic also.. no offense.. not insulting autistic pple hor
) then he will reply ' i think u also autistic.. coz u can be very anti social!' !@#$%#$%$@!

ya. i dun like to play games with my man.. coz i am a sore loser.. and he has such strong analystical skills. it just take the fun out of the game!
ha.. both os us are interested in music. he plays the chinese dizi. (suave huh? :p but doesn't match his looks! hahahahha).. then i play the clarinet and the chinese sheng..

and bingo on the social skills part wor.. i have to drag him out.. LITERALLY.. so when we do meet up for outings.. and u see him. u know what i mean liao lah..

hey. but hor.. cny.. ue hb sure win a lot one :p

ww: ha. amazing? despite his nerdiness.. this man got high eq.. and can see the humour in things.. he 看破红尘..very soon going to attain nirvana liao..
he wanted to be a monk before.. i am not joking..

astro >> regarding your thought that my HB's autism was mild..gotta say this..he was considered a severe case. they thought he was completely deaf and he shuts the whole world out..i can imagine my MIL having a really hard time with him. there is one habit of his till today that i consider it a remnant .. he must use the SAME thing at the SAME time everyday or he will become uneasy. so like clockwork, he will dress in the order he has set for himself and his things are placed with precision everywhere ard the hse..that's the reason i cannot have a domestic helper..e.g. he has used the SAME wallet for years..worn the SAME shirts too..and they must be ironed in the SAME way..tiring i know. i just tell him, at least i am sure he wants the SAME wife!!! hahahaha...they call this the compulsive aspect of autism..

xoxo:wow!.. ya.. true.. there's this aspect in them..
.. hey. u are right wor. no worries about getting ditched.. he wants the SAME wife :p

just out of curiousity and astro's kpo-ness coming out.. what drew u to ur hb ?

xoxo and astro: my hb is soooooo different!!!! i think i'm the autistic one... my hb is a messy guy.. though he'll try to be neat at times.. but he's still very messy... i'm the one who's not v sociable and is precise in almost everything... haha...

actually i also wanted to ask xoxo the same qn..

astro >> i think cupid is blind...cos most pp think of how can the two of u even communicate? i have asked myself this before too. he is a very sincere person..only says things he really means and can keep his word type. initially, i was the one doing all the talking..just attracted lor. i didn't even know he was autistic then..he used to reply to me only in one liners written on paper napkins, rather than reply to me by talking.. think he was terrified! on the funnier side, we happened to take the same weird subject combi even though we were in different schools..and owe him too much lah, as we got along as "friends"..he was sweet enough to do alot of my homework for me..