(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Afidah : Welcome. True that not all male gynae are more gentle.

I remembered when i gave birth to my #1, i heard the male gynae in the next delivery ward shouting at the mummy... Very loud leh... I think the mummy don't know how to push... So he got a bit fed up.

Afidah: mine is 26 oct. hmm. i dun throw up per se.. but as with other symptoms of preg.. i have bloatedness/indigestion, mood swings.. occasional crampy feelings etc lah. as per usual lah. this is my second bb.

Mrs Lundquisto: wah. haha. u have quick thinking to 'borrow' the card to go in :p
ya.. medala PIS.. got discount?

dreamygal: i meant i do't know if it is any cheaper than the retail store

Hello Afidah!

precious: on the contary, fizzy drinks help u to burp to relieve the bloatedness! think emo, the drink? also works for 7 up and coke.. my gynae (she has 5 kids herself) always telling me.. '7 up to help u burp'. ha...

mrs lundquisto: ha..
hey. u ur nick long wor :p lazy to type so long.. can i shorted to 'mrs L' ah? :p
what does lundquisto mean? ur hb's surname ah?

Astro,

maybe, but just do not have the crave for fizzy drinks

Dreamygal
yes, i am refraining from "liang" food totally bcos elders at home will nag..
but as for "leng" food, i am still taking like cold fruit juice, ice milo..

Liang food are those like "Gui ling Gao", "Chng Tng", watermelon, "Black jelly".. all these was prohibited by hubby thou.

Elsie: Thanks!
Finally I'm on the list! Yay!

Dreamygal: So poor thing your bb! I think its important to feed bb with enough water. Lack of water is a major cause of infant constipation.

ww: Actually I look forward to Oscars because during the procedure I can see my bb for a long long time. Everytime with the gynae, before I can even make out head or feet of what I'm looking at on the ultrasound monitor, the scan is over! Also, Oscars is non invasive and it gives me a peace of mind over the health of my bb.

Shill: Don't worry, eat more during this period is normal. Just don't overdo it because we run the risk of getting highblood pressure and diabetes.

Angie: No, he was no motivation for me to lose wt after giving birth. I still fat fat wor from my last pregnancy. sigh..

Ipheh: I think under TCM all 'leng' drinks are bad for everyone whether pregnant or not, adults or kids because it weakens the general system. That's what a TCM practitioner told me last time. She actually took 1 look at me and knew I drank a lot of cold drinks and scolded me.

Afidah: Welcome. I think Astro covered the topic very well.

Xoxo: hi there! How are u doing?

mrs lundquisto : Its ok. Later i go and take a look.

Astro : Later i go see, and let you know. Am also looking at PIS or Freestyle.

Afidah : I think at that time, the mummy only got 1 thing in her mind... Push that baby out... Haa... So painful already, heck care the gynae shouting... Haa...

Precious Moment : Hee... I do drink cold drink as well. But tried to limit. Hee...

Angie: Looks like its better for me to drink less cold drinks.
I also hv the feeling of vomitting but nothing comes out. Just feel nausea n having sore breasts. I hope the nausea feeling will go off soon cos it makes me lose my appetite.

Afidah: Welcome and congrats on your pregnancy too. I'm also in my 7th week but my EDD (28 Oct) is later than you & Astro.

Hehehe, i just took a short nap and come back so many posts already?! :p

Afidah: hello there! welcome.

Dreamygal: wah, what an impatient gyne to yell. not really helping mah like that. My fren told me her gyne joked while she was pushing, said lucky she wasn't singing opera(screaming) like next door, coz he hates 'opera' singers! hahaha :p

about fizzy drinks, my gyne also says its good for getting air out! i tried once with some fizzy ginger beer, it worked. but waiting for it to work was not comfortable, so i nv tried again! :p

Precious Mement: i thot cheng tng was not 'liang' leh. coz got lots of dried longan in it. thot that's 'heaty'?

xoxo 'tested' the forum last night and never came back online liao!
roxie also disappeared! have they started the 2T party without us?!

shugar : Ya. Me and my hubby were shocked. I thought only the mummy will scream but next door turn out that gynae screamed together with mummy. Quite funny but we do feel sorry for the mummy tough... So painful yet still get shouted at...

Astro : Welcome. Anyway, i also wanna check it out.

Dun need to rush to buy the breast pump yet. Source for one better in pricing. My boss bought her breast pump from US online and the cost is much cheaper compared in SGP.

If you prefer manual pump, Avent brand is good and I have tried and use it. My output is 120ml per breast in 45 mins. In term of cost wise, is abt $70, much cheaper compared with electrical one.

As for the electrical type, Medala Swing is not bad. But more expensive cost around $700, I think US is selling chaper. I have tried it before, but my output is not take good.

In conclusion, it really depend on your preference on the type of pumps that you want to buy. Note: There is the rental service as well, and check with your selected hospital. If you like it and want to breastfeed for long, then I think is worth to invest in one of them.

Breast pump:

I knew some mummies actually order online for Medala and ameda and is cheaper compare to retail here.

I am using Avent Isis iQ Duo Breast Pump (for my #1) and will use it for #2 too. it can be used as manual pump as well. To me, it is very easy to use but i m the only one who use this pump
out of all the mummuis i know.
most ppl i know are using Medala. one more thing, Medala bag is nicer and smaller. Avent's bag is too bulky.

Agree not to rush to buy now. do more reseach and find out what is suitable for you.

TMC also provide rental service for pump if not wrong. you can even try out first before you buy ($10, refund if u buy that pump.)

Hope the above helps.

I read fr some articles saying 100plus is gd but u can try taking it at normal temp..or root beer because there r no caffeine in it.

My dad advise me not to drink cold drink as my mum drink so much during my younger bro pregnancy leading my bro to hv asthma!!!

So believe it or not

Any1 or u know whether can we shift house during these period?? I am thinking of shifting back to my own house. no renovation needed jus moving bk some furniture...

Avent manual breast pump

I use this for my #1 however, i found that my hands was aching after probably 2wks later as u keep repeating the same actions 3 or 4 times a day until i can feel my hands or finger getting a bit numb. The pump is good but just find that manual pump is tiring if u are repeating it few times a day and u gonna do it for the next few mths. Decide to get a electric one instead for this round.

cold drinks
i find that cold drinks do provide some form of relief to me as it helps in preventing me to puke. i been drinkg the lemon tea packet drinks fm pokka. Know that is no gd and hopefully can stop by 2nd tri soon. having sweeth tooth ever since pregnant.

Hi Honeylemon,

Just shared with you... I have shifted to new house in May last year. At that time, I was just pregnant. But in the following week, I had the miscarriage.

But I really dun know if it is coincidence....

Joyce...I am so sorry to rake up ur past..sorry.
Yes my hubby also said that to me. He says better play safe not to shift back.
Really thks for ur advice.

Astro : me showing early oreadi ! now look like 4 mths. surviving on day to day basis searching for clothes as wat one of the MTB mentioned b4. me used to be quite slim n tall but now look like giant as i gain 6kg oreadi
disadvantage of being tall is u look like giant once u put on weight

ong: *wee yu wee* slim and tall ah? model ah? :p
for me.. ha. never was a model.. but having said that ah.. tall also got advantage coz u dun look as fat as opp to being more vertically challenged with the same amount of weight put on. I have excess 10kg on me after Carbo.. my frens are quite shocked to hear my weight. they know i sure heavy. but NOT AS HEAVY .. ha..

I am starting this preg overweight.. worried about getestional diabetes, high blood pressure, more discomforts in third tri etc..haiz..

hey. how far are you in ur preg? so fast look like 4 mths?! ha. maybe my 10kg makes me look already preg.. so i dun think i look any different. :p

ww: Roxie and xoxo will plan a 2T (2nd trimester) to celebrate our MS leaving us forever! ha.. Roxie promised to bake good pastries for us for the party. I am quite thick skinned.. i 'invited myself' for the party.. heh

astro : no lah. nt slim but look quite slim cos i am tall at 168cm. used to be 59kg but now become 66kg!!! i piled on 8kg after my 1st one but as i am tall, therefore still look quite proportional as i am a bit underweight last time before 1st bb at aro 51kg.Now just look like a giant that i hate to look at myself on mirror

everyone aro me tell me i look like 4mth + cos i just eat like a pig this round and is really beyond my control. sianz.... that's y i hate to go out now & anyway i am too tired to move aro. My favorite place is my bed now . haha!

siangjiao is also missing.
I thought there will be bolster for pregnant woman on sale in taka fair. But Hb said dont have.
My shortness of breath came back these two days.
Just watching television program also ...
miss xoxo..

ww: hmmm, i think i paid about $24 for it? about there lah. its the length of about 2 pillows put together so u can use it to support your head, boobs, tummy and hug between yr legs also. :p

Shugar

I duno ler.. my hubby say "liang", so i trust him lo.. anyway, i never like to drink chng tng, so no harm to believe him.

Maybe its the other ingredients tats makes it cooling bah.

Breast Pumps

I have been using Medela Mini Electric for my #1.
For me, thats good enuff, and I used it thru'out my 2.5 years of BF-ing. Still in good condition, but the motor is getting noiser each day.

I just received this email from Moms R Us.

"There is a baby talk organised by cordlife & TMC. It is held at the PanPacific Hotel, Ocean Ballroom, Level 2 on 14th March, Saturday. It starts 12pm onwards and features talks by doctors on various topics.
Admission is free for couples with a gynae appointment card. There will not only be goodie bags but also free $10 NTUC shopping vouchers to be given to each couple.

We will be dishing out our specials for selected items at the talk too. The event is open to the public. Do drop by to grab your specials with us. One such item is the Ameda Breast Pump ( U.P. $388 ) which we will sell at $333 at the talk – complete with one year warranty and a gift of our VIP card which entitles you to discounts storewide. We are also selling selected nursing and maternity wear with discounts up to 50%! These are limited in stocks so do come by to grab your deals. Please come with adequate cash. We will try our best to set up a payment portal for eNets and Visa and Masters Credit card payment but this is not confirmed yet so do bring the good ol’ cash!

Meanwhile, some new stocks and colours have been replenished and are already on the racks in the shop at United Square. We need time to update the website hence these latest colours and styles will only be available online at a later date.

Do make a date with us either at the Talk at Pan Pac ( this is where the goodies are… ) or at our shop! ( this is where our new styles and colours are ) Our online web store is available anytime so you can really shop 24 hours , 24/7! You’d be amazed what retail therapy can do for you…

Marie & Partners"

I am new here and is my 1st pregnacy.

I will like to check with all of u, is it advisable for me to go to Cameron Highland now since its my 1st trimester?
Do all of you get ache on ur back and the backside joints? Mine aching badly,cant be expansion of pelvis right as i am like in early stage

astro : guess we just need to stay positive now til the bb is out then we can start to work on our diet plan. worst come to worst, may visit slimming centre for me.

precious moment : me thinkg to get the medela mini electric as this seems to be so much cheaper than the PIS or swing as i intend to BF for 6mths only. btw, can we use teats fm pigeon or any other brands for medela bottles? thks!

And gers how u all know ur EDD?
my gynae can only give me a approximate period from the 1st scan and based on my last period.
Mine is Dr Choo WanLing from Pacific health at Paragon, tag to Thomson, anyone of u under her as well? Is she good?

<font color="0000ff">ong</font>

For medela pumps, its fits well with Pigeon bottles, NUK bottles. Not necessary have to buy back the medela bottle.

And yes, the teats of pigeons fits the medela, pigion and NUK bottle covers.

Looks like most of you r 2nd time mummies..
WW : those pillow also available at Aussino.. my husband loves e pillow and we can hug together cos its so big and can cross our legs on it so shiok.

Hi annette,

Welcome, mi also 1st pregnancy here, i think u can calsulate ur EDD base on ur last menses. u can visit those website like www.babycenter.com they have calsulators for you to calsulate. cheers. you r also 8th weeks now?

To calculate your EDD, you can make use of the Due Date calculator online.

Or to calculate manually, just take the date of the first day of your last normal menstrual period and add 7 days to it. After that add nine months, tat should be your Due date.

astro: hb is half english &amp; half swedish but he grew up in US. I asked him whether our bb will be 1/4 english &amp; 1/4 swedish? He also don't know. haha

i just came back from IT Show! I went early around 11:30am to have lunch with my team. By 1:30pm, it started to get very crowded! I left suntec with a headache although I didn't tired myself out. Going to lie down and catch some beauty sleep now...zzzz....