(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

<font color="0000ff">Astro</font>

O.. will opt for Combo Set Test which is 95% Accurate

1. NT Screen @ 11-14 weeks
2. PAPP-A @ 11-14 weeks

Think 95% is good enuff bah.

You mean Bubble tea oso cannot?
I do drink Green Tea with Milk + Pearls ocasionally wor..

I also crave for Pokka Green Tea.. Trying to curb the crave, but cannot.. so i am taking one pkt in every alternate day.

I am also a chocolate crave nowadays.. on the contary, I cannot stand potato chips, fried food (which I used to like them).

hehe .. i know its impt to avoid cold drinks... but i have been having bubble tea like no one business...

Last night, i met my gfs for jap dinner. I reached at 7.30pm The moment, i sat down .. i said, cannot wait liao, need to eat, need to eat, and started eating the sushi off their plates.

Chiapatty :I m better now.but i dont understand how you can seems so happy about doing Oscars. heheheh
Chicken looks a bit yucky today.
I miss mocha > coffee bean.

precious moment: ok.. my gyne going to do blood test and another one.. cant remember what..

sigh.. my mil cooked glutinous rice.. i was so hungry i ate.. and i have to eat cos i got no other food to eat.. after eating i puked some out.. then the stomach like got something stuck.. now i dunno if i'm hungry or if its because of the difficult to digest glutinous rice..

Loke: Do not wait til it is too late to stand by/eat some food. She should have some sense than to cook glutinous rice for you. Indigestion.
Mil are funny people.
Hb always Stop me in eating it because of indigestion though i couldnt care less..

ww: sigh... the worse thing is my hb is not around!! i also dunno why everytime i eat her food i'll puke... so i try not to eat... but hb not around.. and mil alone at home.. cant leave her by herself all the time also... dil really not easy to be..

shhhhh.... my mum is still the best.. she'll always ask me what i feel like eating.. then she'll give suggestions until i think i can take it.. so far everytime i go home for food, stomach could take it very well...

loke: what do you mean? Then who usually accompany her? Ask the person to help. Call your Hb for standby food.
No matter what Dil do is never good enough for Mil.
Been too hunger makes me angry.Eat some fruits if you have any.

ww: haha. i cant eat anything. i just want to puke out the glut rice. anyway, its complicated lah. hb and his father is away on a biz trip. and hb's grandma is in the hospital. hb's sis also busy with her things. so mil got to do all the nitty gritty things for grandma and also the household stuff.. so its not nice for me to be not around all the time. at least try to eat her food once a week..

shugar
prune juice is gd for constipation. try it!

angie, Chiapatty
waah! all this talk on food is making me so hungry &amp; i hve just had half of a black &amp; a whitecarrot cake for supper! my appetite has doubled of late.

precious moment
agree absoultely wth u re: amnio test - that is high risk test

just woke up.. crampy sensations.. no spotting.. dunno what's wrong. crappy mood. coz hb coming home late again. he is such a workholic .. argh. haiz..
just had dinner. lousy dinner.. nw drinking efferversent vit c to help me burp..

precious: i meant. i tried not to.. but these two days gave training.. always drank some tea.. caffeine dun consume in excess.. when preg with carbo.. really didn't drink any.. but i figured out.. slight wun harm.. coz eventually i will take tea when bf-ing.. so a little exposure now is good? my warped theory..

avoiding bubble tea painfully coz high sugar (already overweight) and of course the caffeine.. once i start.. i know iwun stop one.. so still on cold turkey.

i am not a chocolate person.. so for that. not much prob for me.

midnite liao..m sitting here infront of the puter..sigh! i had a terrble headache an hour ago. i tried to tahan for a while but 20 minutes cannot anymore and took 1 panadol. then went to lie down and rubbed my neck + head for a while to ease the pain. getting better but still unwell. woke up and made myself a cup of hot milo and surf a bit - now i feel better! i hope i can sleep tonite , man

knock knock...anybody here?

mrs lundquisto: here. u better now? dislike such headaches.. i also get them. coz i cold turkey off caffeine.. haiz.

xoxo: tested!
hey! how are u feeling now??

hiya! i thought all mtb should be kooning oredy
I m feeling better now, thanks. I really dislike headache. I was planning to bring my team to IT show tomorrow. I now have second thought. The crowd will definitely drive me crazy and probably headache

Wishing both of you sweet dreams.zzzz...

I'm another mtb who simply cannot go to sleep! Going crazy, m so tired but yet can't enter into dreamland. Decided that I'm hungry as I keep wanting to vomit. Just had tom yam maggie mee... shall see if it does the job of full filling my tummy or letting me merlion once and for all!

xoxo: are you still in hospital?

mrs lundquisto: hope you are better and is having your sweet dreams now.

Haha I completely can't catch up on the posts! BUt did a quick glance and I guess many of us are at the same stage.

Constipation: I finally cleared by bowels after 5 days!! And the formula? Sunraysia Plus! This is specially for pregnant women apparently. It has calcium and folate! My mum also forced me to eat waterchestnuts. My hubby practically forced water down my throat. And it worked! Feeling sooooooooooo relieved.

Siangjiao: I have the exact feeling as you when I had my KFC craving satisfied on Wed. Now I not just hate KFC. I hate chicken!!!

I am going to be into my 9th week of preganancy. MS still ongoing. But for some weird reasons, havent been having cravings...just not much appetite. And yes, I do feel naeseous when I am hungry...like now...

mrs lundquisto: whoa, your husband ate from your little snack box?? Win ler.. haha..

Chiapatty: haha, okie, hopefully your hb will be your motivating force to lose weight after birth.. haha.. I guess most prob I'll be stuck with the excess weight after pregnancy coz my hb doesn't even care if he or I grow fat.. =p tsk tsk, this is not gd.. haha..

siangjiao: i think i've totally cut out cold drinks fr my meals already.. Been having the weird combi of Milo with fried beehoon, Milo with KFC, Milo with Mac breakfast.. faint..

There was once hb ordered the Minute Maid Orange Juice for his breakfast and I really wanted to drink it, but he managed to make me feel guilty for having that thought. Sigh. In the end, he gave a crap suggestion of asking me to drink the cold drink, hold it in my mouth to cool my mouth down from the hot milo then spit out the cold drink.. =( but funny thing is, hmm, this method seems to have curb my desire for cold drinks and it is as good as I had drank them.. haha..

morning everyone!

xoxolight: How are you!!

mrs lundquisto: glad your headache is gone. SIL also asked me if i wanted to go to the IT show with her, but i think not good idea. Sure super crowded!

Tien: wah, sunraysia plus? woo, sounds power leh! how's the taste? :p

For #1, I started eating so much that I gained a total weight of 24kg till I gave birth. After birth, I am still carrying the extra 13kg with me.

Finally back to my pre-#1 pregnancy weight, I am preggy again. However, this time round, I lost weight gradually.. whenever I went back to gynae for chku/ review, i was like 0.5 kg off. weird cos, I do not suffer from any MS, nor vomitting..
I eat every meal + chocolates! duno wat could be the cause

Xoxo: How are u? I hope you are recovering well.

Angie: U mean we cant take cold drinks? I've been drinking those chilled magnolia fruit juices. oops!

Cold ("Leng") drinks should be okie bah..

I think when people mentioned preggy cann take cold stuff, they meant to refer to those "liang" things as in greenbean, xian chow (black jelly), ch'ng tng, watermelon...etc

As long as u do not feel any discomfort after taking the "Leng" cold stuff, it think it should not be a problem bah..

xoxo: how are you feeling now? better and well -rested?

precious moment: Hmm, I also do not have MS nor vomiting, just the feeling of puking but nothing comes out.

ipheh: My colleague said for her #1, she used to continue taking cold drinks, then turned out her son's lungs is not that good and suffers from cough quite easily. Then for her #2, she did not take any cold drinks (at least during her first trimester when his lungs and everything is still developing), then she said her second son seems to be stronger leh. So not knowing what to expect as this is my first pregnancy, I heeded her advice and try not to drink any cold drinks, at least during the first trimester when the baby is still growing bah.. =)

Hi everyone.. eerrrmmm.. am new to this site.. was told by a friend that this is where she learned everything she knew about pregnancy..

Anyone can advice me on the steps of choosing a gynae? Im just 7 weeks pregnant.. Went to polyclinic 2 weeks ago and what they did is to just check that im positive.. and schedule me for another appointment next week.. I really dunno what to expect or what to do next.. Help anyone?

hello everyone

stomach still strange strange. munching on some crackers to settle the stomach

precious: ha.. interestingly though.. watermelon will relieve nasusea..

welcome afidah.
hmmm. there aren't any fixed steps to how to choose a gynae.. a lot of it depends on ur comfort level..
perhaps some guiding questions could be:
- male or female gynae?
- any religious considerations (ya muslim?)
-cost of service?
-location of clinic?
-waiting time?
-personality and good vibes with gynae
and the list can go on..

if u scroll up. u see a long table.. those are our gynaes.. my gynae is Dr Eunice chua from Thomson Medical centre. quite exp and long waiting hours.. but i like her for her patience and sensitivity.

i think u can try surf around the major hospital websites. they do have a listing of the different doctors in the different fields.. choose from there or ask ur frens for some opinion?
erm.. I am also 7 weeks preg.. we might share a close EDD (estimated date of delivery)

<font color="0000ff">Angie</font>

Maybe individual health differs bah
For some people, their body is already veri "Liang", thus drinking cold drinks will aggrevate their condition.

For mine, I am always the "Hot" base. tats why i can drink cold drinks thruout my pregnancy

Ya nowadays i only feel like taking cold drinks. warm drinks make me feel like puking.

shugar: i do get mild cramps on/off too. but it feels like something is stretching my uterus kind of cramp.

is anyone's belly showing a bit yet? now when i wear tight skirts i look like i have a paunch! dun think its belly fat cuz i actually lost weight since my pregnancy. looks like i can't wear my sexy clothes anymore.

For those who have been drinking soft drink, must take care. Dun take too much cos it will cause the bb to develop cough easily. I have a friend who had been drinking coke till she delivered and the bb is having cough and later the bb develop pneumonia at the age of 2 months... Please refrain from taking too much cold drinks.

As for the eating the chocolate, moderate amt is alright. Why chocolate can cause allergy is due to it contain peanuts. And now it advisable not to take too much peanut as afraid your bb is allergy to it. Esp if you or your hubby is G6PD deficiency.

For bird nest consumption, it is able better to take after 12 weeks. It is because bird nest contain collagen and some bb will develop allergy to it as well.

Hope this information is helpful.

I am always "Pu Rua".. Feverish
and I have constipation always.

before I was preggy, my hubby likes to brew herbal soup or "liang" things to cool me.

My body is the extreme hot type.. whenever i touch my colleagues / friends, they will say i felt like an oven

While drinking cold soy drink this morning, i was thinking whether i should stop drinking cold drink. i m also concern that cold drink might not be good for bb. My mom has adviced me once few weeks ago to avoid drining too much cold water. But I prefer cold water especially in this hot humid weather
I better be good for bb sake.

Hi all..i m back! hehe no time to chat in the forum coz of wk..hows everyone?

anyway an update, i went to see my gynae on TUe, can see the bibi's heart beat le...he only says EDD estimated to be early Nov or late Oct...hmm gonna see him 2 wks later den confirm again...

so far no MS but at nite appetite is no good...eat a bit den full le...

Hello Precious moment,
I want to correct the statement "For mine, I am always the "Hot" base. tats why i can drink cold drinks thruout my pregnancy", drinking cold drink is okay for you but not for your bb.

I am also "Hot"based, but my chinese physician still asking me not drink too much cold drink as it will also cause my body system to be upset. He said must Yin/Yang balance... So too much cold drink will cause my body to be weak.... If my body system is not strong, it will cause the bb to have poor development.

heh heh, my boss very cute one, she said her physician told her that she has hot base at the top half of her body and cold in the womb area, that's why she will feel cramp during her menses. Not sure how true it is, but guess it''s good to err on the side of caution bah, stay safe for baby. =)

cream magnolia: at week 6/7, i oredy can't wear my skirts and pants. i quickly went and bought some maternity skirts and pants. i really can't hide my "bloating" tummy these days.

joyce: did you buy anything at the taka babyfair yesterday?
I left you my no in a private msg. not sure if you got it. I bought a bottle of Avent Indulgent Body Cream for stretch marks @ 30% off.

mrs lundquisto: heh heh, why not you try to keep the cold drinks in your mouth to taste/feel the coolness then spit it out? haha, just like what my crappy hb suggested.. =p it seems to work for me leh, cools my mouth, then i dun feel like drinking the cold drink anymore coz my thirst is quenched. haha..

Mrs Lunduquisto,

I managed to buy some clothing for my girls only... I dun find the things selling at the fair is very cheap compared to last year. I remember last year I have bought a pair of rompers for $6 but this year is selling at a pair for $9.90.

u ladies are showing early? i am still in my jeans.. BUT then again..it is because i am quite big lah.. so. cannot show so early.. else become a bigger than normal giant

joyce: ur info quite useful. i like what ur chinese physician says.. 'must have yin/yang balance.. too much cold drinks...'
so i think everything in moderation.. not cannot drink per se.. but not excessively perhaps?

but it is true that cold drinks doesn't rest well with a disturbed tummy.. warm water will sooth a disturbed stomach more though..

Hello Joyce.

Thats the difference with "ang mo" doctor vs "sinseh"

Angmo dun actually believe in restriction of cold stuff.. normally only TCM will advise on avioding cold food.

My gynae and typically my GP will not ask me to avoid cold drinks when i am preggy with #1.

For cold drinks, i would normally take cold Milo, Cold Hocklick, carrot juice, fruit juice.. not fizzy drinks cos I was already feeling bloated, thus dun like to be more bloated with the fizzy gases.

Hi Astro.. thanks for your advice.. People tell me that male gynaes are "gentler" than female gynaes.. not sure if that's true eh.. Anyway I will check out the list.. my MIL is insisting that I go private cos its my first baby and she is very "kancong" abt it.. :D

My EDD is abt 25 Oct.. wats urs? Do you have MS? I throw up at least 3 times a day.. cant wait for this trimester to be over! :p

mrs lundquisto : Taka fair got pump?

precious moment : I am also those 'hot base'. But still have to refrain from taking 'liang' food. That's what those chinese Sinseh said.

joyce: first time to such fair for me. so, i dont know whether the bb stuff cheap or not and it is a bit early for me to buy. but it gives me an idea how much things cost and for future comparision
i only look out for things that i can use. too bad it is not a mother and bb fair.

btw, i also dropped by isetan private sales yesterday. since i do not hold any isetan cards, i can't go in. anyway, i saw a lady taking out her wallet. i went up to her and said "excuse me, i forgot to bring my card. can i follow you in?" She said "of course". hehehehe.. I was hoping to find a matenity section at isetan but they dont have.