(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

astro : nope. as gynae mentioned amniocentesis test is the most accurate test(100%) as all other tests only offer up to 80 or 90% accurate. As i am 35, therefore is recommended to do this test.Still have 3 more wks to consider but shld be going ahead..

ong: i see.. ya.. amino is the most accurate..iszit exp?

gosh.. i am watching a home an health programme now. i seeing Carbo.. in the tubby toddlers! chiam.. dun want him to grow up obese sea.. haiz..

astro : cost aro $600+. Other tests cost around 200 to 300+ but is not 100% accurate. heard fm my sis that not many gynae will perform this test as this is invasive and the gynae doing it will be under tremendous stress as they need to use the scanner to check for the right place to extract the fluid as bb will be moving constantly. This is what her gynae told her. Her gynae was KC Yeo fm TMC and she is full of praise for him as my sis is a complicated high risk case as hospitalised few times and with diabetics etc. For me, the test will not be done by the gynae himself but will be performed by a consultant who is only specialised in doing this test at KKH.

Not to worry about your chubby boy. As they passed the age of 3 or go full day childcare, they will slim dwn naturally

How is the OSCAR done? is it just by drawing the blood?

my gynae told me that amniocentesis test is very dangerous and normally they will do the OSCAR before the aminocentesis.. not sure how true is that but my aunt did that before but i heard it was a v painful process

ong: i see.. wah. but the needle inserted like that.. dunno ifpainful or not

i hope so.. he is too tall, and too heavy!.. haiz.. a 2 year old looks like 5 years old built leh! alamak.. but he is getting picky with food liao.. hmmm..

sweetzinc: guess oscar test shld be just drawing of blood. nt very sure though.

yap aminocentesis test is pretty risky and that's why it is 100% accurate. But only very experience gynae will do it for u or they will refer u to other gynae. my sis did not mentioned painful but just telling me the process is scary as she don't even dare to look at it. She told me her heart was pounding non stop. Heard u need to take one day MC in order to do this test as rest is required.

sweetzinc: ya.. OSCAR is done thru drawing of blood and also by measuring the nuchal thickness of the bb (the amount of fluid behaind the bb's neck) between a specified duration..

astro : when my son was 2+ , he eat everything plus fruits. Since he goes on to 3+, he suddenly become so picky with food too. He dislikes veggies, pork, fruits and bread. However, he does eat veggies in school only as he say sch veggies is tasty but nt those cook by grandma or outside.. funni rite.

Ong: i did the aminocentesis test when having my 2nd boy at 32yo , i did the triple test, it show high risk so my gynec advised me to the test. It nt painful at all dun worry. But u will hv to hold ur breath when the gynec insert the needle in....after the process u will feel abit of discomfortable arn ur tummy, must rest after tat, dun carry any heavy thing. This time round i also 35 but my gynec wan me to do oscar test nia....

ong: oscar would be safer tho it may not be that accurate, but if the risk for aminocentesis is higher and the risk is higher, do you think it is worth the risk for the test results? it sounds pretty risky to me.. =(

reposting the table coz my EDD is pushed back to 16 Oct.

<table border=1><tr><td>NO</TD><TD>NICK</TD><TD>BABY#</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>HOSP</TD><TD>GYNAE</TD><TD>FACEBOOK </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>ong1312</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>01-Oct</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>sportyangel</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>01-Oct</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD>Dr.Selena</TD><TD>angelina kusuma lee </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Carlyn</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>01-Oct</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Moobb</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>03-Oct</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr L N Sim</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Mrs Neo</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>03-Oct</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>[email protected] </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>baby_glendon</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>03-Oct</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Mrs Lundquisto</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>04-Oct</TD><TD>TMC/MT A</TD><TD>DR WH Kee</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>shugar</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>05-Oct</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Joyce</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>06-Oct</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Woo BH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>glass</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>07-Oct</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>lildaisy</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>07-Oct</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr A. L. Lim</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>xoxolight</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>08-Oct</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr L N Sim</TD><TD>[email protected] </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>famela</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>09-Oct</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Irene Chua</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Sotong_mum</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>10-Oct</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr K C Ching</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>glad</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>11-Oct</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian B Woodworth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Grace</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>12-Oct</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrance Ang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Bubble_min</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>12-Oct</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Kenneth E.Lee</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Soh</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>13-Oct</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Joanne</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>13-Oct</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Tan</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>cream_magnolia</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>13-Oct</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Roxie</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>14-Oct</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr. Woo Bit Hwa</TD><TD>[email protected] </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>MieMie</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>15-Oct</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Chen Chern Yi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Catherine Tan</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>15-Oct</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrance Ang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>yeet7</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>16-Oct</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Kang Wei</TD><TD>[email protected]. </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>ginger</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>16-Oct</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Woo Bit Hwa</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>_piggy_</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>17-Oct</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Sweetzinc</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>19-Oct</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>clumsybabe</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>20-Oct</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Kenneth E. Lee</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>lingxin5</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>20-Oct</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr W H Kee</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>elise44</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>22-Oct</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Loke</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>21-Oct</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr. L S Lien</TD><TD>[email protected] </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>siangjiao</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>25-Oct</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Judy Wong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>Astro</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>26-Oct</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr. Eunice Chua</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>ipheh</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>28-Oct</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>happyface</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr K T Tan</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>dreamygal</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>poky</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>huimin</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>39</TD><TD>pupsandcups</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr HY Wee</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>40</TD><TD>ww (jot)</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Koh C H</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Currently, i am at 9 weeks and I will be doing OSCAR at 13 weeks. I am not scheduled to see gynae b4 that. Is the gap alright? I had thought we will be seeing gynae every 2-3 weeks.

hi mummies, can i join in?

This is my no.2. My EDD is 11 Oct n i have the same gynae same hospital as Sotong_mum! Oh gosh, hope we dun have to fight for gynae at the same time....hee

Hi Ginger, for Dr Woo he will see you in every 4 weeks intially till 32 weeks, followed by every 2 weeks till 36 week, finally once every week till you delivered.
So will you be seeing Dr Woo, after you have get the OSCAR result in the same week?

Hi Joyce,

We had requested to do the OSCAR on a Sat so I will be seeing Dr Woo the following Wed. So, by then I will be 13 weeks plus. I guess scheduling OSCAR on Sat wasn't easy hence upset all schedule.

Hi Ginger,

You are right. Scheduling the all kind of testing in Sat is a challenge..... Cos everyone is thinking of not taking leave on the weekday..... So when is your appt for OSCAR?

Wow.. Really envy those who are reaching their 12th week! Still a long way to go for me. Feeling super nausea in the late afternoon till evening time. Luckily i'm given 1 wk hospitalisation leave this wk, due to spotting. My spotting has finally stopped these 2 days.

Joanne : thks for your info.

Angie : Well, gynae recommend to do the amio test since it is 100% accurate and i am 35. So guess will just go ahead. HB agree too as he say test is 100% accurate so why not. Just pray hard and stay positive lor.

Hi Ginger,

I am reaching my 11 week this Sun.... So excited...
Now my MS is reducing quite alot already... should be clear when I reach my 12 weeks..
Nope. I will not be doing OSCAR as I have selected the Triple test... But for whatever result is I will keep the bb cos the bb is God given to me as a gift. And I will pray hard for bb's healthy life.

Joyce: it is really informative. Thx! =)

ong: yeap, guess have to stay positive and according to Joanne, it is alright for her. Good luck to you too! =)

Merlion Club members, do you feel very faint after each puking session? I feel as tho i am about to pass out each time after I throw up. and i can't eat anything after that for the rest of the day. dunno how i'm going to survive past the first trim. sigh

Hi cream_magnolia,

Hang on... The MS should be reducing by 11 Weeks... Yes, I have the same feeling as you.... so my gynae has prescribe some anti-vomitting pills for me to take as and when I needed. Maybe can call up your gynae and request some... I have paid $10 for 20 pills

pupsandcups : I have the feeling that i may be in Nov thread as well. Hmm... Cos now 7 weeks mah.

I see a lot of MTBs EDD were pushed back. If mine pushed back somemore, should be Nov liao.

But again, maybe baby will want to come out earlier. Hee...

pupsandcups: OSCAR is an non-invasive test to detect Down Syndrome

ipheh: during my last checkup, dr saw more blood streaks outside water bag but no spotting so he just gave me 1 week MC. no medicine this time round

joyce: husb insisted on the OSCAR test coz it is 20% more accurate than triple test. really envy you on reaching the end of first trimester!

Hello Mummies..

I just got the following information from my gynae. Now considering which option to go.

1. NT Screen (70% Accuracy) @ 11-14 weeks

2. Blood Test<ul>[*]a. PAPP-A (75% Accuracy) @ 11-14 weeks <LI> b. Triple Test (60% Accuracy) @ 14-20 weeks[/list]
<u>Combo Set</u>
(1) + 2a ==> 95% Accuracy
(1) + 2b ==> 80% Accuracy

<u>Amnio Test</u>
100% Accuracy @ >= 16 weeks
<font color="ff0000">Risk --> Miscarriage (0.5% - 1%)</font>

ginger : I think my hubby will also vote for OSCAR since its more accurate.

You take care of yourself and rest well ya.

cream_magnolia: I will feel better after I merlion but the feeling will only last for a while. After which, I will feel nausea again. Just made lime juice to kill that feeling. Hang on there!

Yokogi: Welcome! You are using KC Ching too? Guess what? I'm thinking if I remember my menses date wrongly! I really can't remember if I had my menses in Jan. The DD is guage by my GP using my last menses date in Jan. Tomorrow I will be seeing Dr Ching so I guess my dd will be confirm. Hopefully we won't end up fighting for the same gynae at the same time.

ginger: Ya. i also some blood outside the sac but its ok. My spotting has stopped. Doc has also assured its common and not serious but she gave me a 1 wk leave to rest just to prevent from further spotting.

Dreamygal: i'm also in my 7th week now. My EDD is 28 Oct. You might still fall within the Oct EDD.

Hi pupsandcups &amp; Dreamygal,

I dun think is really matter if you are belong to Oct or Nov thread. Because the most important things are your bb is growing healthy and you are getting the moral support that you need at the moment.....
So I dun think the mummies in this thread will "chase-you-out" if you are not belong to Oct thread... :p I will always available to offer my leading ear if you need one as u can send me the private message to me.....

ipheh: hello! glad to know everything is doing fine for you.
that this time to get a good rest!

yokogi: hi and welcome!

Thanks Joyce and Sotong Mum for your feedback. I think i'd get some of those anti-vomit pills too. Really envy all of you who are getting past MS liao. can't wait to eat normally again. I miss my foodie days!

ginger>> thanks. i believe i did the OSCAR for my first preg.

i will just go with the best that my doc recommends. i think below 35, less issues ... i'm 32 this year, this is my #2, actually planning to have my #3 by 35 heehee. my hubby said crazy at this stage thinking of a #3.

u know what i feel like eating? HAMBURGERS. haha.

which mommies here work in raffles plc area? mayb we can meet up when we are all better.

i'm near lau pa sat side, not near enough to raffles plc, i feel like buying MOS burger but in this dizzy state, feels like too far away. sigh. think my side no burger

Precious moments: what are those tests for.. and what are they accurate for?

pupsandcups: my mum had me when she was 36.. the medical facilities not so powerful at that time.. so if she can do it, i think any of us can do it too.. hahhaa..

Hi Everyone! I just got home from my gynae check-up, finally can see bb's heartbeat! So reliefed! But bb's EDD is moved back from 9 Oct to 20 Oct now.

Can someone please add my info on the list please? Thanks.

Nick: Chiapatty
Bb#: 2
EDD: 20 Oct
Hosp: TMC
Gynae: Dr Phyllis Liew

I'll be doing my OSCARS in 5 weeks' time. Fingers crossed (for everyone)!

will feel nauseous when hungry but currently i've no MS. Will just have cravings but when am tucking into the food, will still feel hungry but at the same time, will feel like puking with every bite..

angie>> thanks!

i ran out and bought a $9 ham and cheese sandwich from nearby. the best i could do for my tummy.

siangjiao>> definitely. now that im preg, i never let myself go hungry. people late for dinn appt, i also say too bad, i gotta eat now, i gotta eat NOW!

am hoping i wont put on too much weight
im the super hiao type haha.

sigh from this time onwards, i start to feel really crap. i feel guilty that i am so unproductive at work. got a lot of things to write up, that i told my boss are in the works, on the way, but truth is, hardly progressed with. q a stressful feeling.
sighs

chiapatty: Congrats to ya for seeing your bb's heartbeat, it does seem more real now is it? ;) how many weeks are you at now? What's ur bb's measurement? =)

My next appt is next fri, whereby the gynae said that I should be in the 7th wk and should be able to see the heartbeat. Am worried from all the readings on pregnancy online. MIL is real ecstatic over the new bb and I hope that I will not disappoint her or myself. =p So hope that baby will do well.. =)