(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Joyce >> Oh dear.. do try not to overload yourself ya.. rem to eat regularly and keep some food available within an arm's length.. whenever u feel hunger is approaching liao.. better faster pop sth in your mouth k? take some breaks in office by walking to the pantry and toilet, clear your mind from the monitors, numbers, papers at least for a a few mins also may help ease some pressure.. and try to rest whenever u can when u are at home hor! when is your next visit to the gynae?

Nat: I will pray for you too! Don't worry too much.

My spotting has stopped already. It was only a little yesterday. Thanks!

It's finally my first time to see the gynae this evening. So excited too! Will update all after my visit.

joyce>> ya the moment im hungry i eat, just nibble some dry biscuits. i also take more walks than usual, just to clear my mind. likewise i am not v productive, but i also just came back from 2 week break so it probably is an accumulation of that as well.
brought my #1 (who turns 3 in august) to perth, his first ever holiday, we like just made him passport. still reliving the holiday and really cant sink into work mode ...

anybody knows if preggys can go to a place with strong magnetic field?? cos i need to go to NUS physics department, one of the labs with strong magnetic field later in the afternoon...

my boss wants me to go actually.. cos we have a group os australian guests here this week.. i dun mind going NUS.. haha.. can skive a little.. plus go and eat my fav yong tau foo stall.. i'll just stay around lor.. dun go in..hehe.. thanks pupsandcups!

btw, y is it pups and cups? haha..

loke >> ya just stay outside.

was a silly decision, it is cos when i first ever logged on here was long ago when my hubby n i figuring out wedding stuff. and he calls me cups (like short sweetie cups but if u ask me it sounds like bra B cup, C cup?) and i call him puppy (in fact i don even call him that anymore), so ya lor ..
anyway is a name that i don think any of my colleagues could guess was me ..
got a phobia of being 'discovered' by my work place. haha.

Not a great day for me...my town council just began fogging again! They did that last week! The fumes have entered my home and I just can't take it! Threw up very badly almost immediately. Very upset and worried..

Hey mummmies and mummies-to-be
I should have come in here to chat earlier. Being a 2nd time mummy, I tot T1 would be like my first, a breeze. BUT I WAS WRONG. I vomiitted so much, felt I was throwing up my entire lungs. I just could not play with my son who is 16mths, pangs of guilt. I felt so depressed at work. My boss lectured me for not keeping up and taking MC (saying times are so tough now, we got to be tough also)All these factors make me feel like resorting to abortion.
But knowing there are mummies-to-be who are so strong like roxie and joyce who is going thru the 'merlion' symtoms, I feel more assured. The best thing about forums are it can help someone out there even without you knowing it. The comfort I get from this forum is overwhelming. So I shall stay positive!
Any 2nd/3rd/4th time mummies out here? I feel being the 2nd time, my tummy seems to bloat more easily now. At 8 weeks my pants is already stretched to its max..

hi hui min! welcome!

yes, its nice to come in here and share our ups and downs or just to talk rubbish! :p
How many weeks are you into yr pregnancy now?

xoxo
I understand how it feels. When my neighbour cook those fried food, I puke immediately too. But since you are home, rest and sleep. It is the best remedy I know.
shugar
hi Shugar! thanks for the welcome note. Yea. For me now is a DOWN, I cant wait for T2. But i heard some mums puke till 9th months!!anyone here experience that?
I am into my 8weeks, going for my 2nd check up on Monday. How about you?

hey xoxo!! >> u are not alone! hope your fogging over there has stopped!! my whole block is like clashing down already.. hdb doing redevelopments and i think they are now drilling all over!! so noisy and i cant even rest my mind in peace.. so dusty also!! super sian.. have a hard time catching breaths. no mood and appetite for anything, only managed to gobbled down a slice of softmeal bread and tink it just wont help.. so i ordered mac delivery.. just nuggets n a cheeseburger.. gosh..delivery time is 1h30mins! *fainted*

huimin>> welcome to the club! hehehe* hmm since u are 8 weeks now.. bad news is its approaching the peak period..(as mentioned by my gynae.. worst has yet to come.. i am also in my 8th week now) thats y will experience more severe vomitting then usual..but the good news is that.. we just have to endure another 4 more weeks!! already conquered more then half the lap!! jia u jia u!!! hmmm, i m only a first time mummie, cant share much valuable feedback, but i think becos ur skin is already stretched during the first pregnancy, thats y your 2nd pregnancy will bloom faster then your first.. cos your skin has become more 'elastic' already?

hehehe** just trying to get some logical thinking in the midst of the %Q#*%&#Q*(% noisy environment i am in now!!! drilling, knocking, pi pi pia pia, ting ting tong tong, king king kong kong!!! *im so pissed & angry**

ya, sad to say.. i have a fren who really vomited thru out her 9 mths of pregnancy.. she has to quit her job cos she apparently cant work at all.. but she has assured me that hers is a very exclusive vip case.. so lets be positive , keep our fingers n toes crossed and declare this merlion battle to come to peace when T2 starts!! hehehe

Hi All, I only joined the thread yesterday and is finding it interesting & resourceful

I went to the Gynae just this Tuesday and from the V scan printout (the sac & womb) there was a measurement of 6.1mm. May I know what is this referring to? The sac or baby? Based on my 5 weeks pregnancy, is the size ok?

The Gynae has prescribed Duphaston though I have no bleeding & spotting, can I don't take it as I have heard some negative news from this drug from the Internet?

hi twinkle star! welcome!!

hmmm based on the web astro shared hor, if you are 5 weeks now, your embryo should be measuring abt 1.5 to 2.0mm.. i supposed the 6.1mm is the measurement of the size of your waterbag inside your womb.. Duphaston is prescribed during 5-7 weeks in early preg.. to stabilize the uterus lining and pregnancy.. they are practically hormones pills.. and i think when doc feel your preg has not yet stabled down, they will prescribe u with this medication...only side effects i have is that i tend to be more nausea then usual..thats y i dread to stop. did you doc ask u to take 2x a day? if so, thats the normal intake.. for mine i started to take 2x a day and after bleeding, i was asked to take 3x a day.. =) i m in my 3rd box already.. doc say i can stop after this box liao.. i think doc wont ask u to take once u reach 8 weeks..

references below;
http://parenting.ivillage.com/pregnancy/0,,nc26,00.html
http://www.tiscali.co.uk/lifestyle/healthfitness/health_advice/netdoctor/archive/100000875.html

hui min: i'm starting in to week 9 now. I've not merlion-ed yet so far, but have lots of gas like a balloon! :p hunger pangs on and off... but overall, ok, i am grateful no merlion!

xoxolight: we had some fogging here too! i thought it was my block and was wondering why no notice put up! then they finished my opp block and stopped and called it a day! Pheew! hope you feeling better now.

Twinkle star: Hi there! Welcome!
Maybe you may want to check with your gyne why you were given Duphaston?

shugar>> I am also like u.. full of gas leh.. kept having the urge to break wind and burp.. Haizz.. Time passes.. think i am in my week 10th le.. 30 more weeks to go.. Counting down.

Think i also emotional vulverable leh.. a little bit will get me feel upset.. Sighzz.. Think MIL wants to move back after the episode.. my fault again!

Thanks Roxie & Pupsandcups for your advice.

Hi Roxie, I am going to Week 10 this Sun.... 2 more weeks to go and hope my symptons can be better... my next visit is 27 Mar....

Hi Twinkle star, welcome to the club!!!

mrs neo>> let her move back la.. since now she wants to move back on her own accord, that's great. but im sure its one of her 'tactics' to make her son pity her, and then she can go complain to the relatives.. and she confirm will be expecting your hubby to ask her to stay de..

hui min >> welcome to our little oct ship..i am actually home waiting to go on a weekend cruise later..but cannot rest! panicked when the fumes started to enter the hse...

roxie >> you know the chicken little in me started to panic lor...the fumes were really strong! and i cannot open the windows & doors cos it would only make matters worse. i tell you, if i can stop breathing for 15mins, i would...of course i can't. really dunno who they want to kill - the cockroaches/mozzies or me! now i am becoming paranoid, my domestic help has just arrived for the week and i am asking her to wipe down all the surfaces i would touch, throw all the water in the flasks and reboil them...plus i gagged really badly and had a rather enormous MS session..think it's my body's natural reaction..this puke is quite different from all my others..sorry for being disgusting...and haha, the softmeal bread is not supposed to be a meal leh...it's just helps to "cushion" your tummy..you must still eat your meals.

shugar >> i've called my town council (nowadays very free)..and asked them to give me a schedule of their fogging..and they send me from pillar to post..i give up!

mrs neo >> let time pass..bound to have some awkwardness..but your facebook status wasn't that harsh ..it was clear you were upset over the stranger in the hse rather than your MIL per se..on the bright side, maybe this episode can help your MIL see your pt of view and you can work something out?

shugar, joyce >> words cannot express how much i'd like to catch up with you in your timeline...i have circled the week 13 date...telling myself, just a few more days, oops, weeks..just a few more...just a few more...this is psychotherapy...

miemie..thanks! they had one last cabin left..(or so they say..) and so we decide to give it a go...
at least they don't fumigate on board! hehehe..

wahaha.. envy you leh.. and somemore you mentioned that you wanted to go on a cruise for quite sometime ya?
have fun.. wad time you leaving yet? means this weekend we gonna miss you inside SMO le..

miemie..i hope i don't get seasick though...i am leaving ard 4..gotta check-in at 5...haha, then i can get to read loads in one go when i am back! will miss you & this forum too

xoxo >> woahh.. enjoy your hunnie cruise holidae wor! will be missing u menz... **hugs** [[ btw can give me ur domestic helper's contact? i tink i asked from someone here but no news yet? forgot liao.. =D ]] ya loh... still consuming them but i m tinking of stopping forever liao.. but dr kept asking me to finish till the last pill.. very sian.. feel like defying his instructions.. in a dilemma lah.. 'dao di kai chi hai shi bu chi hao ner'??!? sighhzz

same as xoxo, how i wished someone can just box me and let me faint like sleeping beauty, let me age gracefully (meaning still got ppl clean up my face n comb my hair) and then wake me up when 4 weeks have passed!!!

btw the king king kiang kiang and ting ting kong kong still haven stop!! how i also wished i have sound proof doors at hm.. gosh!!

and i wish.. and i wished... Aladdin can appear in front of me now!!!

shugar : Thanks for your kind words ya. My hubby is the youngest and he is 10 years younger than even his youngest sister. So being so much younger than all his sibling, my MIL doted him the most. No choice, see how it goes. If really bringing her, i told my hubby i wouldn't want to go OZ le, go somewhere nearer and shorter.

hui min : Welcome. Me! 2nd time mummy. My girl is coming to 23 mths in a few days. I also find that my tummy seems more obvious. For my #1, 3rd mth still not obvious.

Twinkle Star : Welcome. I am in week 6.

Mrs Neo : If she is going to move back, its good ya. Even tough now your hubby and you will feel stressed by this, but her moving back means the 2 of you will start enjoying some private time.

Maybe let your hubby know that you have been very stressed with her bringing stranger home every now and then. Plus the everyday habit is so different. You are very upset and this is not good for your baby. What's wrong with letting it out somewhere. Better than suffering from depression right?

But i think MieMie is correct, she wants her son to feel guilty.

Dreamygal>> Actually, i tot the stranger part is solved.. cos hubby spoke to her abt this issue le... Just before my sil went to tell her abt my facebook.. Sianzz.. N of cse when the FB thingy come to light, she broke down lor..

Mrs Neo : Nvm lah. See how it goes.

But i think the most important thing is to let you hubby know where you are coming from. Tell him at that time, its really how you feel. I believe he is also not comfortable when he see stranger. So, nothing really wrong with you posting that ya. And you never want to hurt your MIL.

No matter what happened, make sure you communicate with your hubby and get him to understand.

Guess he is upset wif me.. never call me liao.. just dropped a msg asking me whether i have taken lunch.. and tats it.. Never mind lah.. expected this coming after he question me why i put in facebook..

Article from babycenter. Starts sleeping on your LEFT..

Although there's no real harm in sleeping on your right side, lying on your left side is actually good for you and your baby: It improves the flow of blood and nutrients to the placenta and it helps your kidneys efficiently eliminate waste products and fluids from your body. That, in turn, reduces swelling in your ankles, feet, and hands. If you train yourself to sleep on your left side early on, you'll have an easier time falling asleep when your belly is bulging later.

During the second half of pregnancy, avoid sleeping on your back, a position that puts the full weight of your uterus on your spine, back muscles, intestines, and the inferior vena cava (the vein that transports blood from your lower body to the heart). Back-sleeping can also put you at risk for backaches and hemorrhoids, inefficient digestion, and impaired breathing and circulation. Lying on your back in the second and third trimester can also cause changes in blood pressure. For some women, it can cause a drop in blood pressure that can make them feel dizzy; for others, it can cause an unwanted increase in blood pressure.

Hi all, thread is moving too fast and i missing out alot!

Hi Twinklestar: Not sure why your gynae prescribe u Duphaston when u have no spotting etc. The gynae could be very cautious type, i guess. Either u call up n ask or u can seek a 2nd opinion with another gynae since every gynae react differently base on their experience.

Hi hui min: I'm 2nd time mum too and i am always bloated during evening time. Realised our belly are more obvious this time round as probably due to belly have been stretched before last time.

Hi Mrs neo: just an advice that probably u & your HB could think of some ways to make your MIL cool down else your HB will be caught in b/w during this sensitive period. I believe u are as angry as your MIL but try to work out something else it's not too good to get frustrated or agitated during this period. This might lead to depression w/o u realised it at the later stage. Perhaps u could tell your hb to tell yr MIL that pregnant women are easily frustrated during this period and hint to her to be more tolerance towards u. Probably hint to her abt pre-natal depression happening if nt handle properly. Yr MIL might be worried too so she may try to give in to u during this period. this could be a good excuse .

Hi all:I'm into my 10th wk now and visiting the gynae on next wed. Hopefully bb is growing well

Hi xoxo: spend your time lazing aro and eating aro as this will sure cheer u up and make u more relax when back

Mrs Neo : Talk to him tonight, ok?

You are already not comfortable from all the pregnancy symptoms, shouldn't let this affect your mood. Take care.

Hi to all!

May I join you guys? I'm 8 weeks (more or less) preggie with due date on 10/10. This is my 2nd child and my first is 5 years old. Very excited because my 1st pregnecy is more the 5 years ago! Really can't remember much about it.

I think I'm the only one who haven't seen a gynae yet at this stage. The reason is becuase I can't decide if I want to return to the gynae who delivered my son or to go to the gynae whom did an opt for me 2 years ago. I feel more comfortable with the 2nd gynae but the location of the 1st gynae is more converient for me. Can't imagine I got to travel all the way from the east to town for appointments!

Have been reading all your postings (Yes, all of them!) and finds them all very interesting, informative and supportive! You guys are great in rendering support to one another!

shugar, dreamygal & ong >> thanks!!

it was loke's contact..but i cannot reach her and my friend gave me this other contact. this newly-engaged domestic help is from an agency. quite professional, they will be responsible for any breakage up to $200 and after my first briefing for them, the 2 staff seem to tidy up everything reasonably quick and quiet..it's like waving a magic wand..haha..i am indeed living it up for now. check: www.comfyhomes.biz (look for gavin). you might find the hrly rate a little higher than $10/hr but i find the price ok for the quality so far. i am dreading it when my lift upgrading works start in july...been thinking of moving to my aunt's plc..sigh..hard decision again as i want the BB to stay at his/her "real" home from the beginning...

mrs neo >> don't feel too down. try to put this behind you. it will pass...hope to "see' you more cheery after i am back... take care!

okie guys..will be hanging up now...gotta go...here's wishing all of you babes a great weekend..(hooray! we are now counting down YET ANOTHER week...8/13..5 more weeks to go!)

roxie
Haha your &%#^ reasons sound very logical in fact..I thought its cuz I have loose skin 'left' from #1 so the loose skin has looked more bloaty now.
DUn scare me, 9th week will be worse??I wish I can take an entire month off to be at home.
xoxo
Lucky you still have mood to cruise. Enjoy!.
hi dreamygal and ong
thank you for your views and welcome notes.

Who is going to deliver in TMC?

xoxolight: byeee!!! have fun! *hugs*

sotong mum: hi and welcome! hehehe, I travel from north to the west for gyne appt... :p its about a 25min drive with smooth traffic... more than 30mins if got slow traffic. but i can't complain too much coz i'm not the ah mat!:p

Hi Xoxolight, enjoy your cruise....

Hi Sotong Mum, Welcome.... Yes... YOUR nickname makes me want to eat sotong balls... Will try to get one after work from Old Chang Kee... Kekekeke