(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Hey everyone! I am back from my first gynae visit at KKH with Dr Kang Wei! Everything went past so fast! So, fast that I forgot to ask how big is the bb! I am officially 7w6d preggy! nearing 8 weeks! 4 more weeks to end of 1st trimester. EDD remains unchanged, still 16th Oct.

And yes! I saw the bb's heartbeat! Not very obvious actually. It took us a while to recognise that it's a heartbeat..hahah...I thought it would be blinking really brightly. Was not as excited as I thought I would be...but am very happy becos' doc said that bb is doing well. I am just thankful that bb was very guai...so my doc didn't need to use anything to poke me.

AS for prescription, I just need to continue to take folic acid. She did prescribe fish oil (for DHA), calcium pills and multi-vits but told me to take only after another 4 weeks of folic acid because if I take them now, I will be 'merlioning' all the way.

Next appt will be 4 weeks' time for the down syndrome test (have to go to another clinic..meaning I won't meet her) and the next round of screening/scanning will be 11 weeks later. That's when we might find out bb's gender. Find it strange that the appt is fixed so many weeks apart. I thought gynae visits are monthly affair? Hmmm...or is it just my gynae.

Honestly, the gynae seems very experienced but not sure if I should still look for other gynae?

dear all, i just got back from my 4th visit!! =D did the v-scan and can see bb's heartbeat blinking away! its now measuring 0.88cm and i should be nearing 8 weeks now.. seeing him in another two weeks time and dr woo also ask me to go back home and consider if i wanna take the oscar test or the triple test
i am now filing the ultrasound photos up.. thinking of doing up a collage next time hehe.. hmmm i hv no appetite still.. only ate loti for dinner with horlicks.. doc say we can don drink water (cos hb complaint to him tat i never drink).. just take watever i like as long as its not alcohol.. haha..

he mentioned sth that i felt so worried was that.. i m not at the peak of my vomitting yet.. said the worst is from the 8-9th week onwards.. and said i really buay tahan, can opt for a jab but that will only ease my vomitting for 5-6hrs.. =( dono hw to work like that.. asked me to take another day rest tml..

Just ended work for today... super hectic and the super hormones are making me short-tempered... I actually raised my voice at a technical counterpart. Super DL.

Now counting down... Another 8 mths to go before my 3 months break? hehehe

roxie: wah. MS peak at 8 - 9 weeks? alamak..
Gyane says i am only 6 weeks leh.. hmm.i thought i 7 weeks leh. but well. scan also said bb's dimensions is 6 weeks kind.. EDD pushed back to 26 Oct.. ok.. i 'still have time'..
now i feel no apeitite.. and something stuck in thorat kind. if i have not eaten for a time being.. there is a 'want to vomit but not vomitting' feeling
..my OSCARS is also planned.. april 11.. going back in a months time.. for a regular visit.. (by then 10 weeks)
what is happy that she tried to do a tummy scan.. and despite my layer of fat.. can see the bb and heartbeat.. gynae was impressed. but i opted for a clearer vaiginal scan just to put myself at ease.

Tien: congrats! wah.. u are almost 10 days before me in EDD wor.. and ur first tri is ending liao. ENVY!

ya. they do plan way in advance.. and they actually have patterns of visits kind.. now two weekly.. then it becomes one month once. and when u nearing delivery.. it can be weekly liao..
OSCARS normally need to pre-book.. coz quite hot..

I feel so happy to hear 'successful' gynae visits. As in bb is growing well, can see heartbeat etc. I'm going to my gynae next week. I pray everything goes well. My GP did a scan for me today, didn't look good. Sigh. Hopefully she's wrong...

hahah really alot ah? maybe i really very ks hor? opp my house only n since already sign up package n start fm 2nd visit so i very tempted to see him.. (he already became my punggol's tom cruise liao) missed my menses on 7feb, went 1st visit on 10feb.. see nthing but my fats via ultrasound.. then went on 19feb.. saw a waterbag nia.. then went on 23feb when i bleed.. saw waterbag and dimmering light inside.. and today was the most fulfilling visit.. can see the foetus and blinking blinking wor.. doc say vomitting is gd.. ask me to be happie.. such 'comforting' hor? sigh.. sometimes really dono how to tahan.. i still have 1 mth of the peak aka worst period for merlion-ing.. lets all jia u jia u together with bb then!!

hey xoxo >> did u see the Jagabee potato (french fries tibit) advert on tv?? i was tempted and bot fm ntuc just nw.. not bad leh.. i hving gastric and now eating tat with milo

chiapatty>> not forgotten at all babe! i am still trying to hang in there too...remember, we are all going for Roxie's Pastry Party come April! (sorry roxie, doing intensive promotion for you but really, this is the Glorious 2nd Trimester we are all so looking forward to

astro >> seriously, i was thinking of getting a pro help with my depression. i have never felt so down in my life. the sunshine just went out of me. it was scary. this forum does help me alot hence you find i am merrily contributing to the word count here. my HB has been great and fantastic. so has my own family..and that's also exactly why i don't know why i am feeling so out of sorts. which was why i thought, it must be the work stress... = my decision to opt for early retirement
no saying why really, and i am not out of the woods yet so really don't have any bright idea to contribute. the physical malaise (nausea is really bad, i can now empathise what chemotherapy patients go thru')..not being functional at all also doesn't help things..i guess i am too used to being lively and healthy..to go from that right down to being almost incapcitated by hunger pangs and nausea is quite alot to take (plus v.v.sore boobs)..

my gynae perused my GNC prenatal pack which included fish oil and she said, it's fine. i did ask her if it was premature and she said if the body finds anything extra, and that goes for nutrients, it would just discard it..so don't worry..that sounds very sensible..i am only taking 200mg fyi. i am not taking the OSCAR. my blood test is normal and my next appt is 20 mar...

roxie roxie >> 4 visits is alot! i fully agree that the tom cruise factor can result in more visits than one has planned! hahaha..my doc don't allow me to sign a pkg..only from the next visit when i am safely into the 2T zone will she allow me to ...

i have just returned from a family dinner actually so haven' had the opportunity to plonk in front of the tv yet.. i had my jack and jill yesterday and promptly did a merlion on them so guess BB doesn't completely like it...whatever! i was thinking of getting kettle tortilla chips, the one with chili lime....

on the ms = good sign thing by the doc..yep, that's what mine had in mind too..i am now around my 8 weeks..and i think so far, earlier this week has been the worst for me...peaking at 9 weeks...oh dear..

xoxo >> i m also feeling very lousy and down lately..felt so helpless..never felt so depressed in my 25 years on earth.. cried n vomit together in mornings n nites.. and also in office.. sob sob.. **huggies** but thank god for our wonderful hb and family who cares.. we must be strong ok? mother is the greatest.. our moms can do it.. so can we hor?? embrace the love and gift we are blessed with and look forward to the 'rainbow' after the rain hor?? the one above will see us thru.. this gift is wrapped with box and tied with ribbon one.. we just hope for the strength to empower us thru this tough times..and surely will see the fruits of our labour one.. hehehe.. our bb sure all will be so cute cute n chub chub n healthy!! we all surely have the depression periods... must fight on and i believe we will all march thru this tough battle with glory!!! jia u jia u!!! yea if i feel better already will surely bake for u all! [= the pleasure is mine!

xoxo >> i have yet to take any blood test (only did my prenatal check up in july with all the tests for hiv,hep b, rubella, generic condition etc) any idea what blood test haven u been tested for thus far? i m tinking of opting for the triple test done at gynae's clinic (70% accurate for down syndrome) at 16 weeks and give the oscar test done at tmc (90% accurate for down syndrome) a miss too! don find that really necessary.. what are ur tots? care to share?

nat >> sorry to hear that but there's really quite a good chance your doc may not be able to pick up the full (healthy) picture...the BB is afterall, is very very tiny..so you must think positive..must must!

xoxo: my hb is irritating me.. he said i contributed to my son's 'misery' when he was very young.. infant. coz i was suffering form PNA (Post natel anaxiety) and i kept insisting my son had reflux while.. ehh. it was a simple case of us overfeeding him and hence he spit milk quite badly. i went berserk leh. i see PDs after PDs and read up on the net non-stop to the extent i almost send my son to for all those barium (metalic liquid test used to see if reflux) test leh! then i will always be super nervous around my son. i had a CC tv on him.. an i will sit glue to the tv sceen and just stare at him all night long.. and should he fidget, my heart will race! coz i scared he will wake up cryign and i wun know what to do. then it became a case, when i wasn't willing to go near him.. and i know.. i had the problem. not the boy.. so i went to see a pyscharist to get professional help.. thinking back.. it was kinda silly..
but there and then.. it was not lor!
ok.. long story.. but what i mean to say is.. my irritating husband is suggesting that i go see the doc again because i just suggestd my son needs to see a PD coz he kept scratching an insect bite and the scab cannot form.. got anything wrong meh? argh. the stupid man said 'u better see the doc again before u 'inflict' more damage on teng'.. arghh.
so babe.. i can understand when u are coming from.. darn sian to be moody all the time esp if u have always been bubbly..If u need to talk to someone.. KK has a helpline.. it is good to call up and talk to the counsellors if it is boring u a lot.. and there is nothing wrong with that. Ialwas take it as a chat to vent and rant!

hey.. i want to ask.. am i invited to Roxie's Pastry Party ah?!!! i want leh!!! *thick skin* :p

200mg? hmm my fish oil has a potency of 50mg (split into 2 softgels a day) i am taking onli one.. so is that too much then?

Roxie: u are tempting me to eat tidbits wor.. chey.. *makes a face* i go grab my sugar prunes :p:p

Nat:What happen? How come GP says scan not good?

roxie >> yep. i think many pp feel we should be in cloud nine with the pregger news..and because we also don't look pregnant at all..the natural sympathy isn't there. also not everyone is aware that there is such a thing as prenatal depression..but we must watch it..cos i did read that this is a precursor to postnatal depression. haiz. i am seriously thinking why not much publicity is being done abt this (since i work in PR and deal with the media all the time)...my idea of "fighting" this is to tell myself that the "feeling down", "feeling useless", "feeling uncomfy" side of things, isn't really me at all..and try to count to 50 b4 saying to that feeling, "ok..it's time to leave me"..sounds cranky hor? that's why i am thinking of speaking to someone versed in prenatal depression..cos i am really sliding into it...there was even one day when i didn't want to get out of bed to do anything..no brushing of teeth, bathing, toilet..nothing. just concussed on the sheets..last bit, from this experience, i really have newfound respect for my mother too...but i didn't tell her..cos cannot describe in words without wanting to cry.

hahaha.. astro >> i bot so much from ntuc today loh.. a tub of honey, florida lemonade, grapes, strawberries, prunes, lays potato chips, jagabee potato sticks, 7d mangoes, my sour 'unbearables' gummies and a red bean loaf all stocked up for tml when i m alone at home! hahaha.. of cos u are invited lah.. we were discussing tat day whether to have a gathering after we hit 2nd trim.. hehe.. i will bring along simple pastries if i m well by then

natty >> yeap.. do call and arrange ok? they surely can slot u in one.. be more optimistic abt it..one of my fren, she has seen a gynae at 10 weeks and the gynae mentioned there is no heartbeat and definately not a gd sign and ask them to be prepared for the worst.. cos there is nothing he could do also.. just know its not a positive sign at all.. in the end, they rejected it and also, sought a second opinion.. glad all turned out fine and well.. and now the bb is sooo cute! YEAH! miracles Always happens.. don worrie ok?

astro >> ya loh.. very emotional n need also of self-comfort lately.. if not very hard to pass by the tough times.. lately i very easily will start tearing one.. sigh.. hope all the BLUES we are facing will be gone with the wind soon...

nat >> why don't you seek a 2nd opinion? in any case, what i understand so far is that in some cases cos the BB is shy, the heartbeat can only be seen as late as 12-13 weeks..so maybe s/he missed it? the light flickers so faintly i tell you (on mine at least) that half the time i cannot make out anything!

nat: hang on dear.. stay positive..
GP does not have the most sophiscated gadgets to detect the heartbeat at this stage.
i have the same encounter with teng.. i went to a gp cum gynae.. and he told me teng was small for age when it was the fact that i ovulated very late.. i got jabbed for nothing! and cried for nothing .. because i couldn't believe that i was so 'lucky' a 2nd time..

my first preg.. bb's heartbeat stop at 9 weeks. and i did a D &C. my world crashed then but it is normal because 1 in 3 women miscarriaged for a variety of reason. AND up to 3 miscarriages before a normal preg is still considered as normal..

i am saying all this not to freak u out.. but to just try to cushion u not to put too much blame/pressure on urself hor?

seek a second opinion, it helps greatly

astro >> teng's a boy..let him rough it out! i used to pick at my mozzie bites when i was young and eventually, i just stopped when i wanted to. think of it this way, scars and scabs and all..they make him tougher! men are like that, they sometimes (cancel, all the time) talk without thinking..esp now that we are so hormonal and windy, we can take offence really fast. don't read too much into his comments otherwise it'd become a mountain out of a molehill..yebber?

xoxo: Miser is just being irritating! i asked him.. 'do u realise that u like to laugh .. at my expense .. most of the time?' to which he replies' maybe that;s the greatest joy i derive from you!' how irritating!
argh.. just he wait..

last preg. i didn't have mid night cravings.. somehow i know.. he not going to have such an easy time this time round! please call him... Mailboy! hahahahah

astro: That's what the GP said. She simply said, 'Well, try again!' But the fact is that I'm already so ready for the bb but now.. But I will not cry that much yet till I see my gynae. Hopefully, like what you said, I prolly ovulated late too.

xoxo: Your words are comforting. Hopefully my bb is shy and prob faced another direction or something. I dunno.

roxie: Thanks...

oh babes, i managed to squeeze myself on board superstar virgo tom till sun! hope i don't get seasick..can't believe in a blink of an eye, it's been 7 yrs with my HB...time to get itchy..hahaha!

on a more sombre note, astro, like what you say, i cannot agree more. my 2nd SIL had 4 miscarriages. 2 happened in the 1st trimester before 11 weeks and the other 2, late - around 20 weeks plus. reason was incompetent cervix. at the back of my mind, i am also thinking of all the things that can go wrong..that can get me quite stressed. what to do? que sera sera..now you know why they call this a miracle of life..so much to navigate and go thru' b4 the BB can be delivered successfully...

natty >> the cute cute bb i was talking abt! (no heartbeat at 10weeks! and now she is 1 yr old!) don worrie now..till u seek another more professional gynae's opinion.. reject all the nasty things the first has commented.. cheer up! *huggies**

2222180.jpg

Nat >> your doc really needs to improve her bedside manners..they gotta realise they are dealing not just with pp's bodies but pp's feelings! if i were her patient..god bless her..cos i can certainly cut my words if i come across such blase remarks!! she thinks this is like a simple class test? fail, then retake? pls, pls don't let her affect you. i think your gut feeling should be more than right. talk to your BB...and to settle your mind, which should understandably be restless, make an appt with your gynae urgent..tom..but don't tell her what this first doc has said (don't skew the opinion at all). just say, you need an urgent appt, got some pain etc...last but not least..here's a hug from me to you ((((( )))))

Nat: have u made an apt with ur gynae tomorrow?
*hugz* Babe, i understand the anxiety but think positive? if it does happen, it is NOT ur fault.. sorry if i am so 'wet blanket'.. coz ibeen thru it and i am trying not to let ur world crash like mine did.. if this is disturbing u.. tell me, i will apologise

xoxo: yes. .que sera sera.. what will be will be.. hence even the differently abled child is a champion because it is the lone sperm which made it!

yea thats the chub chub me and the chub chub baby gwyneth!! =P she is really so cute loh.. lots of her photos in my fb.. hahaha.. one more amazing thing to add, she is weighing at 3.8kg at birth!

:'(
I keep tearing non-stop. I'm so afraid. But I'm very sure it's good news tmr when I see my gynae. Thanks gals for your comments. I was so upset this afternoon I didn't wanna do anything. I just slept away till 7ish.

roxie: Thanks for the living example! She looks soooo cute..

nat, i find this link useful - http://www.brooksidepress.org/Products/Military_OBGYN/Ultrasound/1st_trimester_ultrasound_scannin.htm.

it gives you parameter guidance on how to counter-check what your doc say. i think you should also find comfort in the following sentence:"It can sometimes be difficult identifying a fetal heartbeat from the background movement and maternal pulsations. You may find it useful in these cases to scan with one hand while taking the maternal pulse with the other. This makes it easier to identify sonographic movements that are dyssynchronous with the maternal pulse."

i am sure your doc did not rule out your pulse or ask you to shift, hold your breath while s/he tried to figure it out. my gynae had to tell me to hold my breath before she could see clearly, without doubt...and later explained that my breathing was interfering with the ultrasound imagery..

nat:

that's what my hb said 'hope for the best but be prepared' talk to us here.. talk nonsense.. ? it can help. should i start singing a song for u now? *clears throat*

I went to my GP because I'm having a bad tummy ache. The ache was from last night. I called up my gynae to ask whether I can eat Poh Chye pills or not, he said better not and seek a GP for medication. So I went to my GP.

xoxo: She didn't ask me to shift and hold my breath le. She shifted instead. I feel so much better now.

yeah. Belly scan... She measured the bb size too. Saying not so good. My water bag is of the 9-week size but my not bb. She even said by now I should be able to see the bb's head and limps but she can't. Sigh...

this thread is so fast manz. skipped most entries. hehe.

the thing about peak MS.. i feel that mine is dying down leh.. i peaked at it last week for a few days.. but when i stopped the supplement i was taking, the merlioning also stopped.

however, this merlioning thing was replaced by cramps and boneaches and boobaches...

btw, according to the check i had on tues, i'm only about 7wks and bb is already 8.6mm! wonder if its because hb is 1.91m.. haha

and i think fish oil is ok.. DHA should be pretty good for development of bb's brain and this should be the time to take.. my sis did that too.. and her kids are BRILLIANT.. haha..

nat >> what sort of stomachache were you having? did you eat something wrong? is it gastric (upper centre); cramps (lower down)? do you have any bleeding? sorry, moi not doc but alot of us here have all sorts of aches, pains and complaints..so i think by now, all quite expert in home remedies..

yup, natty >> i have the same query as siangjiao.. did the gynae did an abominal ultrasound on u or the vaginal ultrasound? my gynae always do the vaginal one whenever he cant see clearly on my fattie tummy
he will do the v-ultrasound before he even start commenting if everything looks ok or fine.. a v-scan is usually much clearer n accurate.. (its my 4th visit today and all of my visits, i did the v-scan) try to opt for it tml when u see your gynae ok??

yea.. try not to tink abt it first.. reject all negative thoughts at least for the time being.. no point dwelling on it till u have sought another gynae's opinion k and hmmm, perhaps u can try communicating to bb, build up your faith..

and if can, lie on your left side when u sleep.. it will ease the pain abit.. rather then u lie on your back and sleep k? try not to take cold drinks first and acidic stuffs like lemonade etc.. in the beginning of preg.. we tend to have loads of wind n gases in our stomach cos our digestive system is slowing down.. it does not really mean a bad sign.. cos it helps to transmit nutrients in a slower pace into our bloodstream and to be absorb by our placenta (to get prepared to take over the role of the yolk sac).. tink our placenta is not fully attached to our womb yet.. so need to be more 'gentle' with our movements too..

nat: belly scan at such early stage may not be able to show anything.. transvaginal ultrasound will be able to show something at 5wks... which my gyne did for me...

loke >> you provide inspiration..i was thinking of stopping my prenatal vits..unfortunately my theory of it causing my nausea didn't bear out..i think i might just stop the multi-vits in the 2T..take every three days or something. i agree with you on the fish oil. my girlfriend's BB (just born in Oct'08)..and she was super on eating fresh fish and taking her DHA..the BB (now 5 mths old) have managed to sit up unaided and babbles non-stop. sorry to say this, but we have another common girlfriend with a child older than this girl by 3 months, and he always seem to be in a daze..like not noticing the world...and the mum is a meat, not fish-eater..sigh, so even though i don't have the means to eat fish everyday, i am trying to...even if it's fishcake! hahaha...

xoxo >> i also stopped all my multivits and dha liao.. just eat folic acid now.. i used to love milk.. but now already stopped too.. cos i puke milk mah.. sigh.. will only resume all the etc in my 2T. i have checked with dr woo just now too.. he mentioned what we need most now is just folic acid.. stay focus first bah... if not we just end up having a hard time swallowing the platter of pills and have another tough time puking them out.. yucks.. anyway.. also don wanna waste the pills.. have a feeling even though i ate 5mg folic a day.. my body only perhaps absorb 1mg.. cos i vomited so much loh.. =(

my pain is exactly in the centre. It is like as though I'm really hungry that kinda pain, but once I try to eat, I can't even finish half a plate. Sometimes I'll experience sharp pain across my stomach. I keep drinking hot milo to ease the pain. Is there danger in drinking lotsa milo? I think I've drank about 5 glasses so far.

I've done on V-scan with my gynae. But since the doc I see today is only a GP, she just did a normal belly scan for me.

oh nat... cheer up okies! dun give up hope coz you've not gotten to see your gyne yet! like xoxo said, maybe BB's position was not conducive for the scan to pick up anything. as for the doc...haiz.. really not sensitive enough!