(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Hey ladies, I'm turning in. Thank you for all your hugs and advices. Appreciate all your kindness... Update all of you tmr... Nites...

xoxolight/roxie: i'm also considering stopping my multivits coz i tried a few days w/o them and I find that i dun have so much gas when i dun take them. folic 5mg i'll still take, quite small so easy to swallow. :p coz i dun like drinking room temp water now(funny taste..
), so kinda hard to take the big pills coz got to drink more water. :p

nat: maybe its what i experienced just sometime ago... someone told me its because our stomach lining is very sensitive now.. so when we are hungry, the gastric juice is biting into the stomach lining.. that's y got that kinda pain.. also, hot milo may not be a good idea cos got caffeine.. i think not too much yah.. cos it hinders absorption of certain minerals.

xoxo: i'm seriously considering fish oil very soon.. wait for my sis to get back from japan then i'll ask her all the questions.. haha.. she's got 3 brilliant kids.. i think it really works cos my youngest nephew can actually talk quite a bit like the common bye bye (he says da-da).. and hello (he says ha-ro)... and he's only 15mths old.. my friend's child who's 3 years old now still cant say a lot.. only a few more vocab compared to my nephew...

roxie: hopefully ur body will begin adjust better after u stop popping in all the extra pills. then slowly take the pills again...

nat>> i think then, your prb is not gynaecological. i suffer from GERD (gastroentestinal reflux disease)..all thanks to my job that doesn't allow me to take meals on time... i am so happy (weird right?) that your pain is in the centre..cos it is a symptom of bad gastric rather than anything else.

the sharp pain is caused mainly from a highly irritated stomach lining. trying to eat food without chewing them properly won't work. if you trust me, try this out but you must stay on course for at least three days. the gastric prbs will be gone for quite awhile..this is how i take my own "pain time outs"..:

1) from now, BLEND all your food if you can... you heard me right. normal sized foods that is eaten, chewed will still have "rough" edges around it that will further irritate your stomach linings, causing pain and discomfort. any medicine you take to "relieve" the pain, isn't going to solve the fundamental prb - which is that of an irritated gastric lining. so you're better off without medication anyway (you're still pregnant!) and you must understand that if your lining is irritated, sore etc, it cannot do its job of absorbing nutrients...it's not the most appetising sight but it works.

2) my BLENDed mix includes: brown rice (boil them in a saucepan for 20mins with 3x water); red beans (soaked overnight) and chye sim. use a good blender. it will look like some gruel..but it truly helps your linings heal. this "recipe" is not from me but from a japanese dietician.

3) if (2) is too troublesome, take a slice of plain softmeal bread (i like sunshine's) on its own. no water, no jam, no butter. just plain. do this every morning the minute you wake up b4 you brush your teeth. no water is so that it doesn't "flush" the bread down..giving it time to slowly graze across your linings and soothe it. give your tummy time to relax around a non-threatening food source. white bread or flavoured bread won't work the same way. you can do this immediately now to bring relief to the pain. this method has never failed me. better than any antacid.

4) no acidic fruits for the next week at least..try red apples though.

5) milo won't work cos it has chocolate, which means, it has minute doses of caffeine, which is known to activate a flushing reflux in the tummies (that's why colon cleansing therapy involves cocoa beans!)

xoxo: oh.. so u were the one who told me about the stomach lining.. hahhaa... thanks lots.. cos i really felt much better.. always have some soft food with me so i can eat when stomach starts growling.. otherwise the pain is excruciating..

sorry, not trying to be lor-sor...but just more food for thought:

nat..why brown rice/brown bread you might ask...the same japanese dietician (by the way, i found this 'cure' only in tokyo when i was posted there and fell terribly sick..not in singapore where they will just pack you home with antacids), is that brown rice has the capability to be a super-absorber of liquids - be they acidic or non-acidic. soak brown rice in a pot of water and soak another pot with white rice, you will notice that the brown rice will absorb the water..not the white rice. hence it does have the ability to immediately decrease the acidity of the gastric and any microbial bacteria in the lining that may be causing you discomfort...i really hope this helps you...and i wish you a speedy recovery.

thanks xoxo, i m hving gastric now and i am gonna do no 3) now too.. and shall also cut down on milo intake.. any suggestions to hot drinks tat we can take? apart from milo, milk and tea?

i m also eating 1/2 brown rice with 1/2 white rice combi now.. will try to change the proportions more to brown rice liao.. to ease my gastric.. thks so much my dear!

loke >> no issue at all! if only brown rice can "absorb" my bad mood...but this nausea thing..well, i don't always practise what i preach. i still like to eat normal food too. and i cannot always prepare my blended brown rice cos it is very very hard work..got to soak here, boil there. now just too tired. this method also will work with pp who have high-blood pressure. just a day with brown rice, and their bp becomes much better. fyi pls.

oh babes..one thing also abt brown rice..you know they have the "light brown" and "red" variety in the market right? if you are eating for a digestive prb, take the light brown option. if you need this for high-blood pressure, take the "red" ones. and don't use the rice cooker for brown rice. not enough moisture content for each grain. it must be boiled...sigh. not to make your lives tough but i have experimented liao..just no shortcuts. meidi-ya supermarket has a fantastic "rice cleaning" service for its brown rice which i find is probably one of the best in singapore..not that much expensive too..you might pay perhaps, $3 more..but the taste and the softness is very much more palatable.

roxie >> you can try chrysanthemum flowers..just add a couple of buds to warm water..no sugar..nice. i checked with the chinese sinseh abt whether it is too "liang" the answer is nope..it's fine.

xoxolight: my mom also mentioned brown rice to me just yesterday. she also mentioned a japanese brown rice gruel tea. maybe that will solve your problem of spending time to prepare. i'll ask her about it!

haha shugar..yes pls..it's the red beans that makes life tough. gotta soak overnight..and cooking the chye sim separately before i blend them all together. usually i make one big pot, freeze it and slowly scoop throughout the week...i think our BBs are gonna be really healthy - fish oil, brown rice..whew!

shugar: yeah.. my mum mentioned about this rice tea thing too.. something like those cereal tea we have in the market.. i think that'll help to curb hunger pangs a little too..

oh ya, i know that red brown rice are more heaty! i soaked the brown rice for 30mins before i cooked them in rice cooker.. is it ok? if not then i will use tan-yu pot to cook.. btw, i buy the short ones.. cos they look cuter.. any idea if there is any difference between the long brown rice and short ones in terms of nutrition value ah? hehehe.. thanks xoxo! i will try ju-hua tea tml!!! maybe can add some honey into it? =DD

roxie >> long brown rice is less starchy than short brown rice so if you don't want to load up on carbo...choose the former.
skip the honey lah..go sugarless - it's sweet!

loke: yah, my mom was telling me shd eat healthier... think she is doing more reading up than me! :p she also dun understand y my gyne say no fish oils. Haiz, i will ask him more abt it next visit coz that day he was rushing a bit coz his patient was about to deliver liao.

" i buy the short ones.. cos they look cuter"
HAhahhahaah roxie! u so cute!
wooo, its really pouring down tonight!!

thanks xoxo =D u can be our consultant liao! hhehehee rally appreciate all that u have shared wih me.. muacks!

shugar >> i missed u so much leh... hmmm cos i tot it look cuter and when i mix with my white rice (long ones) vs the brown rice (short ones), they look more distinctive hahaha.. hehehehe still foraging for food or nt?? now raining so heavily wor.. and i m getting hungry wor.. eating the loti now.. =))

**huggies** to everyone and have a good nite rest with lots of warmth!

roxie: hahahaha... u really very cute leh! first time i hear someone saying that short grain brown rice is cute. ^_^ i just eat... nv thought abt cute anot! hahaha. hehehe, i'm done with my foraging! gobbled down my supper liao :p

b4 getting preggers i had sleepless nights due to heartburn. i had to sleep propped up. doc said it was stress induced. i tried many diff things and finally, licorice extract and apple cider vinegar fixed it.
when gyne warned that pregnancy will bring heartburn back, haiz, i was so xian.

shugar >> the many dreadful things that can come our way..it's countless..

roxie >> we are like meerkats..everyday got to forage for food.

that's all folks..i am way passed...the rain is so timely too! nite and hopefully tomorrow will be a better day..

Baby Fair
Thu 12 Mar to Sun 29 Mar 2009

For those who are sourcing for household products, this is a fair you should not miss.

Calling all mums, get the best deals on all the baby necessities from diapers to strollers to baby clothing and toys for all mums and mums-to-be. What’s more with every *$50 same-day purchase (maximum of 3 combined receipts), made at Babies’ Section, Children’s Department, Level 3 and/or Takashimaya, B2 and stand a chance to be one of the lucky winners in our Baby Fair lucky draw and walk away with the following prize:

1st Prize: S$3,000 worth of Baby products
2nd Prize: S$2,000 worth of Baby products
3rd Prize: S$1,000 worth of Baby products

http://www.takashimaya-sin.com/events.html

Hi! Anyone interested in this? Like new coz used less than 5x in 3M -- coz mommy prefer to hand-carry precious baby

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">FOR SALE: Lascal Baby Carrier w Superior Support for NB &amp; Adult</font></font>
- Colour: sunset red
- Popular European brand (Swedish)
- Front carrier suitable for NB due to built-in spinal support brace to ensure NB's spine develops properly (NB is carried facing in)
- Also provides great support for adult's back
- Generic design &amp; colour scheme that even Daddy don't mind using
- Adjustable to accommodate growing baby
- Baby can be carried facing in and later (when neck is stronger) facing out
- Bamboo fabric for baby's maximum comfort
- Machine washable
- Possible to purchase interchangeable "bib" cover from range of 6 colours (not included)
- For more info:
a) http://www.lilimay.com/carriers/lascal-m1.php
b) http://www.lascal.se/web/Lascal_M1_Carrier.aspx

<font color="ff0000">Selling @ $150 inclusive of daytime courier delivery. Local retail price is $269.</font>
See local retailer here -- http://www.babytown.com.sg/index.php?sessid=169722&amp;bg=dark&amp;regid=0&amp;regitmid=0&amp;pagenumber=1&amp;page=product-list&amp;viewregistry=no&amp;ecatid=1504&amp;itmid=12636&amp;regprodid=

To deal or enquire, pls PM me. I also have some breastpads to clear: Evenflo, Lasinoh, Pigeon (Jap made, 144pcs/box) and baby girl clothes... too many to post. PM me pls for details. Tx!

hi ladies..
my Carbo pooed last night.. woke up and wanted his diaper to be changed and then refused to go back to sleep! haiz. end up i zonked out with him! hence u all see that i left so 'abruptly'..

anyway. interesting brown rice discussion.. particularly xoxo's observation that brown rice absorbs more water.. maybe that's why if we keep feeding our bbs (ah.. this is still long..WEANING!:p) brown rice, they get constipated! interesting hor? i find it strange though.. ha.. i thought brown rice got fibres

wah liew. Carbo is throwing all the stuff on the table onto the floor.. and he does it with such a intense and focused look. i pity my domestic help.. only she has the patience to quietly clear it up after Carbo. i start screaming when i see carbo does that!.. sometimesi think my maid also lost patience with Carbo. coz he is so notti!

ok. going to work.. chat later pple..
yes.. today is a GLORiOUS day! (trying to kid myself here! )

Astro>> Come on.. it will be a glorious day!!! Cos its Friday!!!

Sianzz.. Some1 told my mil abt the remarks i put in FB.. and guess wat.. she cried! Of cos kena chided by hubby lor.. why go and put all these in FB for wat? So, i become a big big time sinner liao! Sighzz.. now i know tat if anything conflicts shld arise, i jolly well protect myself cos Hubby wld never be there to standby me de! Sighzz.. Sings "ALL BY MYSELF.... ALL BY MYSELF"

Hi ladies, I am back from my 2 days MC... I was fainted in the office during lunch time.... and I was so worried abt my bb's well being... After check up, everything is normal.... My doctor said that is normal to feel giddy esp if I have high BP now... So he said if needed, I may required bed rest till my first trimster is over..

Nat : I will pray hard for you as well. Take care.

Mrs Neo : What did you put? Don't be upset. I believe when your MIL cry, your hubby really don't know what to do at the moment, so he scolded you. I believe he is not feeling good either.

Joyce : That is dangerous. Please take care ya.

Grace : I think sometimes old ppl can be really difficult to handle.

My MIL ya, she will cry and throw temper if my hubby went out with us for the whole day and she did not get to see her precious son. This started to happen after my FIL passed away. Weekends we cannot afford to stay out for the whole day.

Very drama - she will bang door, cry loudly, said she don't want the son, said she want to die, refused to eat anything.

dreamygal: wah.. i think she is very insecure liao.. understandable though (despite it being drama).. coz lost the life partner liao.. i also can't imagine Miser leaving before me! ahhh...

Thanks gal! I am okie!!! Not as upset already..

Dreamygal>> Wah.. tats very dramatic leh... so, how do u handle her? Just give in to her everytime?

Sighz.. 1 of my guy friend was telling me.. sometimes mothers need to recognise the fact that after their sons are married, they belong to other woman (their wife) too.. And they cannot be as possessive as b4.. I wonder wat kind of mother in laws we will be when our times come.. :p

Astro : Ya. So we tried to let her be loh.

But the bad thing is that this will only happen to my hubby. His brother and 2 sisters will not ganna.

Now i am worried if i can still go on holiday. Cos totally forgot that this time situation is different. The last time we went on holiday, my FIL was still around.

Dreamygal>> Maybe compromise ur bil and sils to come and accompany her when u all are away for holidays lor.. also cannot go holidays becos of her mah, right?

DEPRESSION

Seems like many here are going through this.. Xoxolight, Astro, roxie? It is really the hormones acting up compounded by many other factors - anxiety (about the pregnancy, bb and so on), sickness, tiredness, family woes, low work efficiency, work stress caused by all the above and so on. How not to not be depressed leh? My advise is this - seek professional help quick! You have nothing to lose (save for some $) and lots to gain. I say this because of a friend of mine who went through rather serious antenatal depression when having her 2nd bb. She is a medical doctor herself and even so she was in denial of her condition. She couldn't overcome the taboo of seeing a shrink and couldn't come to terms that she needed medical help. It got so bad that she found herself shouting at her 2 year old bb#1 over the littliest thing. Finally she succumbed to family pressure and guilt and went to see a doc. Her verdict - "S***! should have gone to see the doc from day 1!!". The rest of her pregnancy became a breeze and she was happy as a lark (back to her usual self) all the way!! If you want to see a shrink, ask your gynae to recommend one. Seek help at the outset and nip the problem at its bud!

FISH OIL

May I know what is the problem with taking fish oil in T1? I actually took lots of fish oil for my 1st pregnancy from T1 all the way to T3! My gynae encouraged it and said its 'baby's brainfood'. My 1st bb is er...quite bright I think.

Nat: Hang in there! I've also not seen my bb's heartbeat at my 1st scan at 6wks..
But I keep telling myself it's ok coz I've been feeling like a bloated puffer fish since then and these MS symptoms suppose to confirm bb is doing fine.. I really hope you get great results today! Fingers crossed!! My next scan is next week. I also very scared.

Dreamygal> this is probably she loves ur hubby most compare to others.. she might also feel lonely and not get used to it.. or is 'gen1 nian2 qi1'? i heard from my mil that these period is very tough coz hormone is inbalance.. i only see my mil 4-5 times per year or more if they come to sg. so far so gd, sometimes, i found she is better than my mum, more understanding. :p

Mrs Neo : My hubby suggested bringing her along. Even tough she's ok with me but i'm sure i wouldn't enjoy myself. Because simply got too much differences le.

Actually she will see all her sons and daughters everyday because all the grandchildren are at her place when their parents went to work. But somehow, the brother and sisters can don't need to appear, my hubby cannot. Maybe because he is the youngest.

gd morning mummies!! ;D

joyce >> hope u are feeling better now.. did dr woo gave u some medication to reduce yr blood pressure that caused ur giddiness? so glad bb is fine. if really there is a need, maybe can discuss with ur hr if can take a mth's leave or sth for adequate rest ya.. take goodie care hor!!!

chiapatty >> its not my girl wor!! hehe its my churchmate's coming 1 yr old daughter! =P very cute hor? she is quite heavy leh! i tink about 12kg liao.. also hope my bb will be soo cute n adorable and then i tink i will 'shi bu de' to leave her for work liao! Heeeez

good morning all!!!

sigh.. i was just saying that my MS is slowly going off cos only got nausea in the mroning and no merlioning throughout the day...

lo and behold!!! i just merlioned this morning!! like the chinese saying "shuo cao cao, cao cao jiu dao".. in this case, its "shuo merlion, merlion jiu lai"... sianz...

chiapatty: totally agree about the fish oil. i think astro's #2 will be very very smart cos she's taking so much fish oil. hehe. i'm gonna gt it after work tonight. any recommendation?

hahahahahha loke!!!! u are so funnie! sigh.. i still haven start my merlion-ing at least for today! u reminded me loh.. i still haven ate my breakfast too.. pondering on what to eat yet.. sian

hey i also have the same fish oil as astro, bot them at the usual place when i get my vitamins.. 'vitakids' they have two outlets.. one at paragon and the other at forum.. in case u need references to compare with others
this is the dha i m taking(same as prenatal dha but with strawberry essence) they also have the normal ones without strawberry named prenatal dha..
90 gels at $53.90 and 180 gels at $99.90 (member get 10% but i dono if can just give the member id.. if can u let me know i give u mine if u decide to get fm there ya! (btw astro bot from sprees...cheaper.. if u wanna wait.. can wait for the sprees too hehehe)

http://www.vitakids.biz/shop/product_view.asp?id=99081&amp;StoreID=90947917688E4F3FA58839EEF7E6FC03&amp;private_product=0

Locations

Forum
583 Orchard Road #B1-28/29/30
Forum The Shopping Mall
Singapore 238884
Tel: 65-67334964
Fax: 65-67336822
Email: [email protected]

Paragon
290 Orchard Road #05-47/48
Paragon
Singapore 238859
Tel: 65-67333964
Fax: 65-67335948
Email: [email protected]

Dreamygal>> if she die die 1 2 follow, i guess got no choice lah.. otherwise, will have another drama coming out..

Loke>> I think its a gd sign tat the "merlion" frequency is getting lesser.. and its a matter of time it will be gone! Press on!

roxie: hey.. thanks lots! i'm prolly gonna get it at Forum.. my office just opp only.. hehe..

how to become member?? i think i get the smaller pack first.. cos 90 gels means can last for 3mths. the strawberry taste one sound good leh. hehe.. oh. .but the 180gel one is cheaper. nvm. i'll go and see first..

hehehe good good.. i get mine from paragon cos my office is at heeren.. =D

member need to spend $150 i think.. cant remember. should be around there if my memory doesnt fail me. ya.. i like strawberry one.. at least it brighten up my platter of vits ;))

btw, any one of u cut your multivit into 2 before consuming? i find mine a bit huge.. feel like cutting them into halves next time.. but also tot of cutting means double swallowing! =((

morning ladies! its friday!

Nat: praying that everything goes well for you today!

Dreamygal: you HB must be your MIL's fav son! sometimes really hard when mothers find it hard to let go of their kids... hehe, maybe we will know when it's our turn next time.
I had similar problems with my own mother sometime back, coz being a single parent and with my only sister living abroad, she found it a bit hard to cope when i got married and moved out. think she felt like we were leaving her behind and moving on with our own lives. I often felt guilty going on holidays!
Now, she's much better after taking part in church activities and going for talks and seminars at WINGS. think when she got more friends to talk to, i don't need to worry so much when telling her we are going on holiday.

Chiapatty: about fish oils, i really not very sure why when i asked my gyne, his quick reply was a big fat NO!
i will ask for more info on my next visit. maybe he had some patient with bad experience with it.

Hi Roxie, thanks for your concern... Today still feeling not right.... But no choice now work is piling up and need to process urgently... Furthermore my partner is on her maternity leave at the moment so cannot take too long leave..... But I will take leave if really is needed. Dr Woo did not give me any medication at the moment, cos this period is bb's major organs forming so dun want any chemical to interupt the process...

roxie: ooo.. hehe.. i'll go and check it out later ba.. thanks!!!

shugar: that's good for ur mum. i think they just needed company and feel they are important, especially if their other half is not around.. sometimes they get really depressed.. worse than windy pregnant women..

i cannot keep up with the postings!
i have a rather OPEN table, plus i dont really spend much time at home on my comp ...

DEPRESSION
i think i definitely feel anxiety, short temperedness .. but come to think of it i am always an anxious and short tempered person haha.

so far i been fortunate main symptoms are hungry MUST eat (can eat anything) and sleep longer hours than usual. think body temperature also goes up esp when i lie down, cos last night was a cold night and i turned on my aircon and i still didnt use my blanket...

DHA
My gynae said start later so ok lor. Scotts Cod Liver Oil not as good as DHA pills? My #2 take the Scotts Original daily..