(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

ooh ok! thanks Vankel
only at cold storage ?

PY: Have you tried Fitti Premium? Jus started using this after Pet Pet leaked. Find it pretty worth the $$.

Bought from carrefour at $22.50 for 2 packs.

I like Fitti Premium next to Mamy Poko! I use it for at night or going out as I find it can hold better than Pet Pet which is for my girl's day use...

WAH SO GOOD LOBANG! I want but got work sigh

Diana
Wow tt is such a gd lobang... if i din know u, i wld hv thot it was a lobang to lug drugs! juz joking! u read the papers last wk? TNP was featuring reports on several SG women asked to transport drugs by their african bf and 2 r jailed there now. So when i read ur lobang, the modus operandi is so familiar...

cjdj
u can still BF but pls ensure u wear mask etc when u r near baby to minimize any risk of passing the virus to baby. i assure u tts the last thing u need when u r sick urself. so far i've been sick several times & still bf RN wif my mask on & she's fine. juz b extra careful wif hygiene.

Angelina
Hope Josh recovers soon soon. Heartbreaking and muz b v tiring 4 u & family.

Wishing all the babies a speedy recovery. I know quite a few babies r down. Mine included. Kena the coughing monster! And she is nursing a mild fever too. bringing her to pd in a while. Sigh... how i wish i can suffer on her behalf instead. Seeing her cough so hard and crying in frustration really makes me v sad. Take care, all the mummies & babies. Hope we can all see sunshine very very soon.

morning gals, seem like the thread is super quiet recently. Alot of babies were sick, super bad weather. All must take care and drink more fluid

Everybody take care n speedy recovery.

Weaning: anyone using healthy times cereal? Box say two tbsp. I put 2 tbsp w 20ml milk. Is that ok? My boy diaper this am look like he fart out some poopoo n it's dry w dry lil solid pellet. Constipation ah? Or ...

Teething: during tis period does ur bb drink lesser?

Bbseed/gal: me using healthytimes. It's in flake form. Ya I use abt two tablespoon sometimes wig less than 20ml bm cos I find t too liquid. My boy also constipated big time. It doesn't help that my mum keep feeding him. She thinks he need to eat a lot. Only thing I can do is feed him more water. N I tried pear purée as someone recommended, it helps a bit. But his poo is pellet like too! Poor boy

Re: healthy times cereals

I'm giving my girl abt 4 tbsp (i went to daiso and get the spoon (measurement for all the various tsbp or tsp size) lol so i see the tbsp is quite big ah!

and mix with 40ml of ebm.. initially looks quite thick.. but after u stir and stir, it became quite watery.. anyway she managed to finished the whole bowl haha!

Thanks vodkarib..

tot spoil coz in flake form as I tot it shld be in powder form..
Hahaha.. Pai seh mi first time.. :p

PY: I use the scoop for milk powder one leh.. Can or not? My boy now drinking 160, so wat I did is to make 160 of FM but decrease the scoops of milk powder then I scoop 2 scoops of HT in his bowl and mix with his FM abt 20ml and the rest of the milk I let him finish using the bottle. Is tat ok? And just to check with u, on top of cereal do u stil feed Charlotte purée on the sane day?

esther: yes she wakes up ard 930am.. then i will bathe her ard 10-1015am..

ard 11-1115 will feed her 2 cubes of puree..
then after finish eating, she will go zzz liao haha.

at ard 6-630pm will feed her HT cereals mix with apple puree.

most of the time she finish everything haha! other than that, i still feed her on demand.. (most of the time is before she zzz) cos she wants to latch to zzz =.="

they ask me to feed her cereal in the evning so maybe she can sleep longer at night.. but after i tried, she will wakes up abt 3-4 times at night.. =.=" but she is not hungry lor. she just want to latch sigh...

btw the scoop for milk powder is very small compared to the one i bought from daiso leh lol!
i not sure how much is mine drinking.. sometimes give 100ml can finish.. sometimes 60ml also cannot finish =.=

Charlotte's timing good leh...

Wah 2 cubes of purée ah, I only dare to give my boy abit scared over feed.. Will try to see his signal then..

I tried feeding my boy apple purée, he give me the kind of expression like eating sour plum like tat.. :D

PY did u still feed Charlotte one more time before her bedtime? Coz my boy used to be like that also but my friend told mi before their last slp feed them again whether they can finish or not it's ok.. So wat I did was to still feed my boy before his bedtime (usually he slps at 10pm), regardless whether his previous feed was 1hr ago or 2hrs ago.. U may wanna try this method.. And u can to give her FM coz compare to BM I think FM is more filling..

Huh the scoop small ah, in tat case I also go get the spoon.

PY,

What time is the last feed for Char before she sleep. I usually will feed Rhys at 10pm again and he sleep at 8+. I will carry him up and feed him the last bottle.

Now he eat everything I intro to him and like it so much everytime and finish it everytime. When my spoon go near he will open his mouth automatic.

esther> i feed her before bedtime too.. usually she latch to sleep ..

her bed time is ard 9-10pm . and normally she sleep till 1-2am (the longest stretch)
after that she wakes up almost every 2hr or 2hr 30 min ..

PY: u may wanna try FM? Coz it's not good for her as shedoes not get enough slp and u will be even more tired as u still need to look after her..

i got alot of bm leh. hahaa i not very keen on giving her fm.. nowadays i get engorgement too! wahaha.. i think even i give her fm hor she still wakes up one ..

it's already her habit liao. she suckle for like 2-3 mins then she'll go back to sleep. =.=

Just wanna share, now i am giving my girl cereal 3 times a day ler. is that too much? most of time 2 tblsp cereal + 1-2 scp fm.

PY> wahaha you sound so happy to have engorgement again.. that time was saying the boobs felt soft. but yeah, me too not too keen on trying FM. not sure when i will stop BFing but i know i dont want to stop yet

mummies.. just saw from Angelina's FB status that Josh is alot better today. So happy for both mummy & baby!

re: sleeping patterns..

megan would demand the lights & tv be switched off before her bedtime. else.. she wont sleep at all. so literally her bedtime becomes our bedtime too.. lol. we sleep at about 11, most of the time she would sleep through till 5/6a.m. before waking for one feed. sometimes all the way till 7/8a.m. then i will wake her up to latch her before i head off to work.

Any working mum claiming for tax relief?? Am goin thru all the rebates and am seriously confused. Wah how to work out with spouse to get the best deal?

Hey all Mummies, can I ask for mummies who give their bb EBM? How long do u keep in freezer? Websites n books say 3-6 mths for separate door freezer but today my colleagues say CANNOT. Milk no preservatives. Cannot keep so long. My Bb drinking my Jan stock. HOW?? THROW AWAY?? Feel like crying.

PY: So far i have seen the same offer at Guardian. Guess cos they are the same group. So whenever there are any promo at cold storage, guardian will have the same promo.

Where do u live?

Recently, i jus spotted a provision shop that sleep very cheap diapers and FM of majority brands. They are selling MP 44pcs @ S$14.90. Jus bought one pack today to try.

Megan drank my 5 mths old FBM and she was fine too. Anyway, my FBM is stored in a deep chest freezer, not the normal fridge freezer..

Jo, 3 months EBM shld be fine. I have confirmed this with the lactations ppl before when I was beginning to store the milk...

natalie: heheh yah lah! coz i started taking fenugreek hehe.. if not the boobs always soft soft i'm not sure if she's drinking.

Now i can feel the fullness and at least i'm sure she has enough to drink! :D

i also dun feel like stopping BF :p

weaning :
I ask my nanny tdy whether i gave too much. She told me too little.
She fed him with 10 tbsp of cereal + 2 scoop of milk powder + 25ml hot water. She is an experience nanny so.. should b ok.

I asked her what do I feed over weekend. Do i feed puree. She say no need, she settle. If i wan, i feed cereal la. >.<. Sigh.. I feel like i'm missing a lot. I apprecaite my caregiver. but also feel a bit..sad..that cannot do much for my boy
. I'm beginning to feel like I'm losing his pattern as well since only see him at night and weekend.

PY : er..tot you did a CIO last time and it worked for CHarlotte?

OBligation vs responsiblity :
Everytime I bring my bb to inlaws..
I get an overtired baby. Coz.... he dun get to sleep. Thinking how to arrange. I already taking cab to my ILs to reduce the time from the time after feed..take cab zoom over. let them play. but he dun sleep.

that night..he slept and cried. think play too much..nightmare. Feed was also horrendous..didn't finish milk. Any tips on getting a baby to sleep outside (quietly???)

Lydia: have you tried using pouch or sling to get bb to sleep when you are out? The bjorn works for me and he will sleep for about 30 mins at least.
Hmm yah, my mil always tell bb not to sleep when we are ai il's place. She tries hard to keep him awake... Even cranky also still wana play... But when he gets too cranky I will usually try to take him back from her coz he just not used to her patting n fails to fall asleep whenever she tries to carry n pat him to zzz. Hehe... How to sleep when she pats n talks so loudly to him??:s

Lydia>>Yeah, I also have the same feeling as well. I have a helper and my mum is in town to look after my bubba. I don't even get to see him at night because by the time I zoomed back home from work, he is already sleeping. I only really have him over the weekend, and at times, I felt that I no longer know his pattern and his schedule. When during my maternity leave, I prided myself being the one to feed and settle him, nowadays, I have to ask helper/grandma, what to do next, etc. Sigh. But at least he's in good hands right? so have to console myself.

Mommies>>wonder if you can help give me some advice. My bubba recently developed stranger anxiety. My sister and brother in law came over for visits last couple of days, and my bubba cried himself silly when he saw them. I felt really strange because I took him for walks in shopping malls, etc and he is ok looking at strangers. So not sure what happened. And sister and brother in law were not even trying to hold him or talk to him and were just sitting in the living room. So we brought him to another room and then try to slowly bring him out to living room again. He is ok in the room, but the minute we stepped out of the room, he started crying...how should I ease this? Quite worried that he will become anti social....then how to go to school like that? Should I do something differently? Btw, he cries when he sees Daddy as well these 2 days..

Vod,

I claim the working mum relieve and I have some tax rebate for giving birth to the 2nd baby.

Babymax,

My boy also will cry when he see stranger in my hse and took him a while to get use and stop crying. And the cute part is he will keep looking and them and trying to peep and cry and stop, cry and stop. I find it very cute.

Recently I like to disturb him when I put him in the rocker and I walk near him he will be very excited thinking that I will carry him. So I purposely go away and he will cry when see me walk off. I will keep disturb and play with him a few times and find that is funny. This remind me of an old Macdonald Advertisement when the baby see the M Logo he will chuckles and swing away he will cry.

I have 1 Nestle Nan HA (expiring 3Dec2010) &amp; 1 Nestle Nan Pro (expiring 30June 2011), willing to let go $10 each.My baby is not taking this brand of FM.PM me if interested.

Morning mummies!!!

Re: Tax relief
I had submitted my tax returns le.. I was confused wat is the difference btw QCR and Parenthood Tax Rebate.. Called up IRAS and check:

a. QCR (Qualifying Child Relief) can be claimed by either the daddy or the mummy...

b. Parenthood Tax rebate (For child borned after 2008, I think).. $5K for 1st child. Its to rebate ur tax and offset.. For example: If ur tax is $5800.. u will only need to pay ($5800-$5000=$800). U can discuss wif ur hubby how much percentage to claim.. like hubby 90% and u 10%.. so, u can work out and see how much is ur tax lor.. then, decide accordingly.

Hope the info is useful!

re tax relief
apart from the QCR and the Parenthood Tax rebate,
working mums also get 15% off for the first child, and it adds up for more children.
So what I did was to calculate how much my income was, take 15% and add it to the tax relief (even though IRAS will do it for you in the real return)
and then see how much to allocate to each parent.
I'm really glad that I gave birth last year instead of this year, because last year I got bonus from employer (not every year I get), especially since I'm not working this year to enjoy the tax rebate.

Babymax / Sunnyling : My boy also the same will cry when see stranger. Not only that even all the relative every week come once he also will cry to see them. But for a while only he will play with them. When he 3mth onwards start cry see stranger till now coming 6mth.

I split the rebate between my hubby and me. 70% for hubby and 30% for me as he earning much more than me.

Yap working mum relief is accumative and it can hit up to 100% if you give birth to 4 kids.

For QCR I let my hubby claim both since my working mum relief is 25% +15% for 2 kids if I am not wrong.

As i found mostly Oct mummies is BF baby. As me only BF 2mths and start FM. I found Oct mummies baby weight is around 9kg as mine is only 7.5kgs for 5mths plus...Wonder how to pump my baby boy bigger size hehehe...

gemson, i think my girl does not belong to the average category then. she's only 6kg+ at 6mths! hehe...
but doesnt matter, so long as she's healthy

Hi, sorry to interrupt your thread. I'm from the May MTB thread. I have extra baby and mummy formula powder to sell.

1) 1 Tin Nestle Nan Pro 2 400g Expiry date: 2 October 2010
Selling for: $14.40

2) 1 Tin Similac Follow On 400g Expiry Date: 13 June 2011
Selling for: $18.40

3) Mamil Mama 900g (I have 2 cans) Expiry Date: 27 August 2011
Selling for: $22

Interested pls sms me: 90086345 (self collect at west coast)

cjdg : ya the most important is healthy. tat is wat my hubby told me. but when saw bb same mth as my boy really different a lot...hehehe...

Jo: as i know, deep freezer EBM only can use latest for 3 months. u could ask to confirm it to singapore breastfeeding support org.

Mrs neo>>was also confused abt the QCR and PTR. Finally sorted it out after reading thru all the fine print heh.the WRking mother child relief is quite good hur hur
yea, filed my tax n one task off my to-do list

stranger anxiety: my boy too!! Sometimes he will cry upon seeing his uncle. Sometimes he doesn't until my bro caries him. At times, he cries at strangers in the lift.
I think at times, it helps when I try to say "boy, say hi to auntie/uncle" cos I suspect he will feel more at ease that the stranger is not staring at him..heh.. Mummies can try.
Am also worried abt him bein anti social n feels embaraased at times in lifts ;p wish I cld join playdates in future so that he wun be anti social

obligation responsibility
same sentiments. Feel torn on visiting in laws vs letting baby (as well as myself) having a good nap at home. But well..what to do.. In laws only get to c him once a week n they r too old for me to ask them to come my place instead

Hi Sunnyling and Gemson>>thanks so much! Yeah, I guess I have to keep going at getting as many people as I can to him (slowly) so that he can be a little bit more brave. I admit - kind of cute when I picked him up when he cries and he just keep quiet for a while. Warm feeling.

This baby tax thing...if my bubba is not holding a Singapore passport but mum is Singaporean and Dad a Singapore PR, can still apply? Sorry if it is a dumb question, have been out of the Singapore scene for a while now, not sure what is the latest. But I still file for tax, so not sure if I should just add him in to claim? Not that I have any income in Singapore.

Thanks vodkarib>> good idea! And good spot! I never thought he could be feeling strange at people staring at him. He must not feel safe. Ok, I will try adjusting him to people stares.

Max>> U may want to refer to this website for the tax relief explanation:
http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page.aspx?id=110

Vodkarib>> Yah.. the wmcr is gd! Hope my tax wont be a lot.. heheee..

Re: obligation responsibility
Ya.. I also need to bring my baby to visit my mama every weekend.. I am okie wif it cos its my parents.. as for in-laws.. they are staying wif me, hence no issue. But we are intending to get a new hse and move 2 years later.. I think we wont stay wif them anymore.. But frankly speaking, i rather go visit them once a week than staying 2gether.. really lor.. staying 2gether is not easy... Counting down.. counting down.. :p

sunnyling : ic. i saw oct mummies post their bb photo look chubby and so cute. after i seeing i always tell myself when is my javier turn. hahaha silly mummy rite?