(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

hey all, here's more info; think yoghurt will be fine if its from pasteurised milk. same goes for cheese ;)

chiapatty >> maybe u can also try taking milk instead of chamomile tea before u zzz? healthier too wor.. and also, plus the tiredness we are all facing together, i concuss within 5mins ;)

http://www.netdoctor.co.uk/ate/pregnancyandchildbirth/205189.html
Other foods to avoid include;

* Avoid soft cheeses particularly continental ones, also some blue cheeses that contain unpasteurised milk.

* Avoid undercooked meat, pates and raw eggs as in some mayonnaise.

* Avoid shellfish and prawns, these and the previous items may contain listeria or salmonella.

* It is also suggested that high levels of Vitamin A may cause birth defects, for this reason it is wise to avoid liver and liver products.

roxie:
yah... as long as i make sure i dnu puke anymore until my next gynae visit, i think i still can hold my husband off. :p he's quite paranoid. we're both first-timers..

loke:
good to hear all is well.
take care and we'll hang on togethre!

chiapatty:
camomile tea cannot drink. hah.... i went to borrow tihs book from library. eat right for your blood type (for pregnancy)... (something like that) and they said for tea i can only drink camomile (i'm O+)... actually wat can or cannot really very headache.

glass:
yakult... hrms. i shall try it. the whole of last night i cannot sleep cos i have the "full of shit feeling"...

sweetzinc:
yah... i've lost 2kg since knowing i was pregnant too. loss of appetite and nausea... actually sometimes i wish i do gain some weight...

citrus: ya lor the ms is v terrible for me.. sometimes it's better when i stay at home if i go out to work it'll be worse.

i didnt lost appetite lah but just that i get hungry every like 2 hrs? and i must eat immediately if not the gastric will come liao. so must have stand by 24/7 lol

i think i got my first bout of morning sickness. I suddenly felt damn hungry, so i reached out for some wasabi crackers. It tasted damn nauseating in my mouth and next thing, i was by the bowl throwing up breakfast and everything... Oh gosh, is that how it's supposed to work?

I think MS is also generic ba.. Cos my mama told me tat she didnt have MS when she was expecting me and my sis.. And now.. luckily.. i didnt really have much problem wif tat too.. Doc said this cld be generic also.. But of cse worried.. cos dunno the little 1 is growing well since i do not have much symptons and MS.. do only feel nuasea on/off...

Wooo hooo... the thread is moving sooo fast.. Din know u ladies are so active at nite.. by that time, i'm already in my lala land..

Gosh, me too apply ru yi oil on sunday nite after a terrible tummy ache..

Roxie, ur gynae is under Thomson's Women Clinic?

Clumsybabe,

Maybe u can try ebay..

Hee.. went to see my gynae yday and did a V-scan and thank God, can see bb's heart beat le..
Next visit will be in two weeks time.. Me kiasu, signed the package during my 1st visit 2 weeks ago.. cos unlimited visits too..

Roxie>>> Dr Woo's package is slightly cheaper.... His nurse has mentioned to me is around $700 inclusive of GST. For my first two, I only need to pay $550.... Cheaper right??? Actually I have request him to charge me cheaper since all my children are delivered by him but he mentioned to me he cannot do so cos the TMC/MT. A also has given him the price list to follow.

cirtru>> I have gained 2kg in the first week that I know that I am expecting... But you know what I am starting to lose weight again... now in total I have lost abt 3kg liao..... I noticed the drop is partly due to the MS that I am suffering for the past few days......

sweetzinc>>> Can try to curb your hunger pang by taking fruits cos I dun think you want to gain too much weight for your pregnancy, right... I have stored up fruits and fruit bars at home as well as in the office.... So that lesser chances for me to eat the junk food....Hahahaha

All>> I have been taking Yakult and yoghurt for throughout my first 2 pregnancies... there is really not a big matter here. Cos all the live bacteria that we are taking is good for our digestive system... can relieve the constipation issue as well... so dun need to avoid totally... My 2 girls are growing strong and healthy... In fact, I also give them Yakult and yoghurt for dessert as well.. My 2 girls are 31 months and 16 months respectively.... And they love it....
Going thru the postings on revealing your ages.... Seem like I am the oldest of all... kekeke

glad >> congrats!!
it must been such a joyous day for u ytd ya? is ok to be ks lah.. hehehee =DD i m also counting down to my next visit on 5th
so exciting!!

Yea Dr woo is under thomson women clinic (tiong bahru) and open his own clinic at punggol plaza =)

joyce >> thats cheap at tiong bahru then! my package after gst is $856
yours also start from 2nd visit ah?

siangjiao, wasabi crackers?? u steady la.. i cnt even take spicy stuff now.. I used to be chilli queen before.. :p

Drank milo this morning, within seconds.. merlion.. gosh hated this feeling, hopefully it goes away fast!!

Roxie, thanks!!
Counting down to 5 Mar har.. definitely gona be one excited moment!!
Realised that Dr Woo has increase his package ya? Cos Dr Adrian the gynae that is sharing the clinic with him in Punggol, package pricing remains at $550 excl GST.. Rmb 5 yrs ago, dun even need to pay GST now must pay le.. must still cheap la.

For those delivering in TMC, is it worthwhile to apply for the FBI/SBI card? Still thinking whether to sign up or not...

glad >> now the clinic at punggol hor.. is not shared with dr adrian.. hmmm are u refering to dr adrian woodworth? he is at sengkang's thomson women clinic, last time dr woo shared with him at sengkang and then shifted out and open his own clinic at punggol now.. the clinic name is 'women's choice'

actually i m thinking, $856 (gst inclusive) for unlimited visits n all regular jabs,med,vits,ultrasound is quite reasonable lah.. starting from 2nd visit till full term and have two post natal visits too.. maybe its convenient for me lah.. so i find it worthwhile..

ahh. i am real bored.. ok. let me contribute to this thread to make it move even faster :p

roxie: great that bleeding has stopped for u!
i am also going to the gynae on the 5th.. 930am slot somemore.. after that rush to work..sian *yawn*

u keep bombing places huh? :p:p:p
my gynae has 5 children herself.. all delivered one by one.. all dun have MS one. i think she quite yaya about that :p

poky: yalor. my gynae is asking me to bring the boy (whom she delivered 2 years ago)to checkups so that she can see see and play with him. i asked..'are u sure? he will cry ur clinic down!'.. hahahha
i thin later lah.. when more stablised and i tell my parent and family relatives about it.. now still. nobody knows.. :p

my hb always sigh. when i asked him to help me to do TT for payment of sprees.. hahahahha :p

i also intend to apply for SBI. when this preg is gauranteed to be viable..but hor SBI.. hmm my gynae not covered leh.. haiz.. but my PD accepts SBI. so not too bad.

yalor. my son's an ah bui leh. he's only 2 years.. but already 18.5 kg and 1 metre tall! miniature giant! the nurses at the clinic keeps warning me.. dun carry him.. :p

chiapatty: yep.. Reine is a french word.. it means 'Queen'.. hahah. powerful hor? 'la Reine du Monde!' Queen of the world! hahahha.. sot liao me.. it is pronounced as 'Rain'..

poky/chiapatty: how abot using the sling? i didn't manage to get to use a sling successfully the first time. but it is handy. coz twin strollers also very bulky..

mie: in general.. anything to be applied to the tummy is not very good when preg
try ginger tea to help u dispel the wind

citrus: yes.. if i hve very bad MS.. i wll go see the gynae.. because i worry about dehyradration

Mrs lundquisto: hello! wah. 330am huh? :p.. wheni was second tri with my boy.. i also couldn't go to sleep properly.. alamak..

shugar: ah.. u went missing as u search for ur food.. :p hey. not that one.. i have 'evolved'.. kekeke. u know the smiling cow brand (la vache qui rit). they got biscuits sticks.. and an attached cheese dip.. my boy loves it.. now i know why he likes it that much. hahaha. not bad lah.. :p

xoxo: u horriblel ah.. chey. i decline ur good intention of the red carpet.. i decline ur invitation to join ur Merlion Club.. *snort*
whahahahha

hey u want some info on doula right.. go check out www.parentlink.org..contains some information on hypnobirthing as well..

loke: rest well.. bleeding (spotting or not, old or fresh blood) must be managed carefully. ignore ur bed lah.. kekeke. dun bother to do it.. no strength.. tell u family members :p

chiapatty/xoxo: ehh. i used lavender to help me get to sleep during the second tri when i was like birght eyed all day long!.. i guess it was past first tri.. so it is still ok.. but u are right in saying certain oils should be used incaution.. ditto with camolie tea.. that is something which is actually recommended to help to drift off to sleep.. (after second tri).. if not.. a warm glass of milk can help too

joyce: how old are u ah? or hav ei already asked?

Mrs Neo: i took the FbI card and i delivered at TMC leh. but hor i think it depends. coz some gynae (like mine) not under the list of gynae for FBI wor.. but most PDs are covered.. so good lor.. coz discount at certain stores also.. hahaha :p

Wah. hw to check if my gynae is on the list for FBI? joyce >> u hv any idea?? =P

astro >> such a long post!! yea loh.. im bomberwoman now! hehehe i m going after work on 5th! will keep u all posted too ;)

Hi Joyce & Astro,
I am not any younger as i am under the high risk age group & may need to take many tests. Me 35. Anyone under the same age group as me??

Xoxolight: Yes, that would be an interesting column. Btw, most of my friends have not been punctual. One was 4 weeks before EDD and another was almost 2 weeks after EDD!! Apparently it all depends on your menstrul cycle. The standard EDD prescribed by gynae is based on 28 day cycle. Something like dat.

Roxie: Thanks for the suggestion but I am also not a very milk person. Some more this period must be very carefull, scared I merlion if I start taking stuff I don't normally like. (Touchwood so far have not merlioned yet!)

Citrus: So interesting that there is such thing as taking food/drink according to blood type. ;P I guess you can take milk in the place of camomile tea as Roxie suggested if you are trying to get yourself to sleep. Not sure if blood type O can drink milk or not wor.

Mrs Neo: I beg to differ wor. My mum merlioned from 0 mths to baby born for all 3 of us but I did not have any faint signs of MS for my bb#1. Also, my good friend, she very bad MS for bb#1 and bb#3 but no MS for bb#2! Cannot be genetic if like dat right? Maybe it's to do with the mummy's health or the bb's sex or something?

As for FBI, you can get the FBI brochure and work out the savings and compare if really got savings or not. I think my hubby calculated before that's why we took up FBI last time. But that was last year. Don't know if the package change liao since then.

Siangjiao..your MS is a great sign that all is well I think...have you seen your gynae yet? Hope it's all clear for you soon

Mama Astro >>> I think you got both feet on my carpet and soon, one foot thru' the door! Cannot decline!! Ok..I shall not rub it in...

glad >>> I have already dethroned myself as Chilli Queen. Now I shudder when I think of spicy stuff. How quickly one taste buds change...don't know if my past favourites will make a strong comeback after this...

roxie >>> will keep a lookout! anything to help with my fast-depleting bank acct...

chiapatty:
found the name. it's Eat Right For Your Baby http://www.amazon.com/Eat-Right-Your-Baby-Individulized/dp/0425196143 . i went to borrow this book because i fainted once before in this pregnancy and i want to know wat i should eat to strengthen my body.

according to the book, dairy products not very compatible for O+. dunno true or not but i generally dun like milk so i take my calcium intake from other sources. but i do take milo so i will try that before bedtime.

astro,
wow... you manged to catch up on every posts! i always get lost if i am away for a while and just end up replying the later few posts. :p

citrus >> do u still have the book with u? will u help me check if dairy products are compatible for AB+ ? i like milk and consume alot of milk leh.. thks so much in advance.

Citrus >> I am an O+ and I think by sheer coincidence, I am lactose-intolerant. So I make it up by taking unsweetened soya milk. So perhaps, your book is right!

Chiapatty >> I have always wondered...what if you happen to be under the care of a super popular gynae and by some quirk, she is stuck with two deliveries at once..how? Must be my pregnant brain, keep thinking of weird things and been having weird dreams.

Disappeared for a few days. Why?

Sat i went to see gynae. Gynae scanned and say cannot see anything. So she told me 3 possibilities:
- baby too small
- ectopic pregnancy
- not pregnant at all

I took a blood test on Sat. Monday gynae called and told me to go back for scan today. If she still cannot see anything, then i need to go for a detailed scan to confirm whether its ectopic.

I couldn't sleep well these few days. Don't feel like doing anything.

Luckily today she saw the sac and york. She said looking at the size, should be about 5 weeks.

What a relieve.

I'm going back to see her in 3 weeks time.

http://www.surebaby.com/bloodtypediet.php

Blood Type Diet

A protein type diet called, the Blood Type Diet, is based on the theory that protein-like compounds in food called lectins react with different blood types to cause a wide variety of health complaints. To help you avoid eating lectins that are incompatible with their blood type, you must learn which foods that are beneficial and those that should be avoided, for each blood type. Although, many food lectins are destroyed by cooking and/or digestive enzymes, so many critics argue that the number of lectins absorbed through the digestive system is minimal.

Ideas are rooted in evolutionary history, and the observation that different blood types (Type O, Type A, Type B, and Type AB) emerged as the environmental conditions and eating styles of our ancestors changed. According to The Blood Type Diet, our ancestors' successful adaptation to environmental changes hinged on the relationship between diet and blood type and as a result, the key to optimal health is to eat as our ancestors with the same blood type ate. Each of the four blood types has a very detailed list of foods that must be avoided.

Type O was the blood type of the earliest humans, who were hunters and relied on a diet of wild game and plants. As a result, if you have Type O blood, you should basically stick to a high protein diet (including red meat), low carbohydrates, and enriched with fruits and vegetables and you are encouraged to eat lean beef, lamb, turkey, chicken, and seafood. You should limit the intake of whole wheat products, corn, and avoid dairy products and most nuts.

People with Type A blood are believed to thrive on a plant-based diet, and should consume large amounts of vegetables, fruits, lentils, soy beans (and soy products), pinto beans, black beans and whole grains. According to this diet, if you have Type A blood, you should not consume dairy products, animal fats and meats.

The diet for individuals with Type B blood is more varied than the other blood type diets and is more balanced. If you have Type B blood, you are encouraged to eat seafood, beef, lamb, and dairy products. Oats and millet, green vegetables, and all fruits are beneficial.

Those with Type AB blood should consume a mostly vegetarian diet, and only on rare occasions some fish, meat (no chicken), cultured dairy products (yogurt and sour cream), eggs, rice and tofu.

Many people follow this diet to improve their overall level of health. Although weight loss is not the focus of the diet, according to the theory, weight loss is a natural consequence of following a diet tailored to your blood type.

i wanna faint liao.. i am AB+... vegetarian??? banged n fainted..

here's a another article on blood-group preg diet

http://ezinearticles.com/index.php?Blood-Type-And-Pregnancy-Diet---The-Perfect-Couple-Blood-Type-And-Pregnancy-Diet!&id=1063979

glad & xoxolight: yea man, i realized my threshold for spicy food has dropped tremendously. Yesterday, i had some chilli padi, and i could feel my whole mouth on fire. I had to gurgle my mouth with cold water. No one else find it hot. And i had McSpicy for lunch (bad choice, but initially i thought it would cover that weird taste, i had in my mouth and it sent me running to the cooler again. It was burning man...

By the way, the spotting stopped on Sunday so i didn't see my gynae. Just keep on monitoring...

dreamygal: wah! what a relief it was for u!!
i was also like that for my boy second preg. hahha. i was different. was kan cheong spider. end up being pricked for nothing :p

citrus:coz i will open two windows.. one to read, the other reply concurrently. haha. like that wun miss any posts liao! idea? :p
my hb like u.. AB+.. but he doesn't like milk and stuff :p
xoxo: boo!
maybe i should have some MS to assure myself.. this is TOO quiet.. too quiet.. no good wor.. hmmm *ponders*
hey. gynaes not with u all the time in delivery one.. they only there when u are really to push. so they can straddle two deliveries at the same time.. ok. now i know what u want to ask me liao.. what happens if both can push at the same time right?? .. ha.. no idea ah!
i also O+

ong: then u might need to take the OSCAR right? or have u already taken?

roxie: hahaha. i think my hb will faint together with u! :p

i am O+.. what is reflected.. suits me.. hahha. coz i eat like that :p but i like corn leh. hahahah

roxie>> im a AB+ too! ask me to have a vegetarian diet? no thanks man... hahaha
im a carnivore ever since im preggy.. all those that they mentioned, are nonos for me coz they're like tasteless.. i need strong tasting food... roar.. ;P

Citrus: Thanks for the info on the book. Wah you fainted when you pregnant? You better take good care of your health lor and make sure you are always accompanied by someone when you are out and about. 2 lives at stake now yah. Be extra careful!

Xoxolight: My goodness. I never thought about that eventuality. Possible or not? No harm asking your gynae what he or she will do if that situation arises. haha It's like asking if A & B both drowning you save who 1st!? My guess is, they will rope in another gynae to cover. Like my gynae office TLC has 3 gynaes. They cover each other when either is on leave.

Dreamygal: So so glad to hear that everything is fine with you now! Please do take extra good care of yourself lor.

Roxie: Thanks for sharing the info on bloodtype diet. Very interesting.

siangjiao, glad to hear tat ur spotting has stopped! Good news!

Roxie.. Haha.. I got confused with punggol n seng kang.. 800 plus stil worth it.. Jus imagine, 1 visit abt 80 plus 100.. Stil worth it..

Actually i missed eating chilli leh but e sigh of it... Haiz..

Ladies, those who hv given birth before in MAH.. Can u choose ur bb's PD?

ya mens! i cant imagine myself savouring just on a vegetarian diet.. " wo de wei ru yu zou!!! " ROARS together with miemie!

miemie >> to add on to ur hunting list, can also try the organic caffeine ginger tea i am taking now.. drink liao warm warm one. =) http://www.traditionalmedicinals.co...lmedicinals.com/digestive_products/product/53

glad >> what does PD stands for ah?

everyone >> i m a chilli padi too.. sigh..now has confirmed cannot take menz. cannot resist and take tomyam soup lo.. been bombing hiroshima n nagasaki again n again and heng got my ginger tea lah.. and also luckily no casualties were hurt at spot scene hhhaha, after this episode of bombing is over.. i will be good gal and wont take spicy food liao..

astro.. Haha.. I rmbed when my gynae steadily walked in when i'm screaming away.. He even told dun scream dun scream.. Cos it was like 4plus am in TMC n was very quiet at tat time. Sometimes i wonder how those gynae arrived in time.. Cos they wil only pop in when u r abt 9 10 cm dilated just in time to give birth.. Lol..

roxie:
sorry, i returned the book already cos it was quite boring just reading off a list of food when all i felt was pukish. but your findings seem to summarise it very well! at least for O+ since that's the only one i read.

xoxo:
yah... i can't take milk too. that's why i sort of "trusted" it. :p

astro:
idea idea. haha... shall consider having 2 windows too. :p

chiapatty:
yah. fainted once last week. told my doc and he said i have low blood pressure... must try to eat more (how when i keep feeling nauseous... sigh).

dreamygal:
happy for you that all is well. take care of yourself and hope all is smooth sailing from now on!

Hi Astro : I think i was just too gan cheong. Initially my hubby suggested seeing gynae this coming Sat, but i wanted to go last Sat. I guessed too small then. But, i'm so glad now.

Hi Chiapatty/citrus : Thanks ya. I hope so.

hi dreamygal,

the first time i went to see my gynae, he too cannot find anything. he kept asking me whether the HPT was really positive and was it a strong positive. he had to probe around for a while and finally we saw a little bubble. very small one playing hide and seek.

quite rollercoaster.
but glad all is well now.

Hi Astro,
Yet to take any test yet but gynae have mentioned various tests are expected as i am 35. Have fix an appt to see Dr Han H C fm KKH on 11 Mar.

xoxo, btw my actual is 2wks earlier than EDD as mine is c-section.

Guess after our 3rd mth gynae visit, we can start to look for a CL. Will probably go to Pem confinement services as read from other thread that their services is gd.

Take care to all !!

Hi roxie : What's the use of the organic ginger tea? Is it good?

My friends took the Tea for Two from Mons in Mind. I was pondering whether to get. Anyone drinking that?

ong: i had my CL from PEM.. and she is quite.. bad
.. but PEM is ok.. jus that no choice with regards to the particular CL lady you might want..

citrus: my gyane also asked me if the lines were faint.. (then i aws thinking.. but the box says.. 'one line can be fainter than another'..) then she spots the tinny weeny waterbag..

glad: yalor. TMC in the middle of the night is... QUIET.... :p i think gynaes have good time management. they will wait and wait and wait.. before htey come up and in about 15 mins later.. they go off again :p

dreamygal: it is like that one.. nearly all the mums i met.. are kan cheong spiders in the first tri :p

chiapatty: ur clinic is TLC? which gynae u seeing? i seeing eunice chua

Roxie>> I not so sure abt the FBI/SBI program. And I dun think I will take up as well....

Astro>> I am 32 this year... Based on the recent health check, the doctor told me that my body age is 35 years old... and I should increase the calcium intake as well.... Now pregnant more calcium is needed....

mie: ehh. as much as i advise giner tea.. i not a big fan of it.. so i dunno where to find good ginger tea.. i think u can try what Roxie recommended. that organic ginger tea.. she says it is nice :p

xoxolight: thanx for the great info :p feel better le...ya i realise there is really a lot of things i cant do/eat....coz i scare will have adverse effect for my bi bi..haha...

the thread is moving real fast i couldnt catch up with it..haha..gonna see the gynae (Dr Adrian woodworth) later....hope can see something or give me some positive news.....

Astro.. changed liao.. no more call mama sliverback har.. ;p

Raywen, we hv the same gynae..
He dun really talk much but u can ask him anything. Nice man!
U gg to the clinc over at SK or CCK?