(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

Ya. I'm using aluminum foil because I don't dare to use cling wrap.

Enrichment classes

As yihui stays at home most of the time I send her to classes so that she can play with other children her age or slightly older. Children (even adults) learn through modeling. She loves to imitate older children and I find that she learns faster when she's with them. Also ti build up her social skills. Most importantly she must love the classes or I won't waste my money.

I send her to children house play club as I find the programme pretty well rounded with singing, arts n craft, story reading, drama (which she loves!) etc. It's 2 hours n twice a week. And swimming lesson which she looks forward to. I try to bring her to a play once every 1-2 months. Besides that it's parks, playgrounds, beach, botanical garden and other nature spots.

That's the best I can do with my limited time. Other than that it's reading or destroying things at home. Hehe.

potbelly,
You started her on swimming lesson? How is it?
The instructor told me 4-5 yrs old then can start. Wanted to start this early so that I can have ME time to swim on my own. NOw can only swim in the kids pool.

Itsy,
I have upgraded my fridge 10 mths ago, it was 30% bigger than my previous but now also look v small to me. My hb commented that no matter how big he get, still not enough space.

potbelly,
To me, enrichment class means those very specific classes meant to sharpen/improve/learn a specific skill.

BTW, did you bring YH for the playtime last weekend?

Playtime at Esplanade
I brought YZ there last fri to watch Rocky, the baby panda and he loves it! It's really fun and interactive. Looking forward to bringing him to the next one in Oct. =)

Enrichment classes
It's money well spent if the child enjoys the classes and you are able to afford it. For now, YZ is bumming around at home till he attends 2 hourly playgroup starting next Jan. At home, I will teach him through singing, toys, books. Got him the leapfrog letter factory, he learns his letters from the CD. Erm, is it normal that the child learns the sounds of the letter first, instead of the letter itself?

At my mum's house, sometimes my nieces teach him action songs. He's fortunate to have 3 cousins with him on weekdays to accompany him. And he likes to mimic whatever they are doing, e.g. he will be scribbling when the girls are doing their homework.

For now, I think it's ok to just let them play and play cos they're still young. I have friends whom believes that kids should enjoy their childhood. When their kids get older, they realise the kids are not catching up with their peers and starts to panic and start sending them to various enrichment classes. My sister in law sends her daughter to the child care since 2 yrs old. When she starts Pri 1 this year, my SIL sends her to phonic and hanyu pin yin classes cos she realises that her daughter didn't get the basics right in preschool. She kind of regretted not sending her for enrichment classes earlier. Haiz.. it's a dilema isn't it?

Joopz,
The playtime at esplande sounds fun! Maybe I go check it out also. Which playgroup did u register YZ for?
I Went to check out Appletree this morning... Simple classroom environment.

N found out that hv to play Sch fees for them for jun n dec even though there's no school.
(

Joopz,
Which cc did ur sil send her daughter to? Am looking at cc too. Haven't decide if want to send to child care or playgroup...
Actually I think parent Shld also teach at home to reinforce. With repetitive teaching, the child will get it.. Can't leave all the teachings to the teachers...

Kam:
May I know what is the title of the book that you shared in your blog? Would like to read this book. Thanks.

Joopz:
My gal missed the Rocky the baby panda... supposed to go with her nursery class last week, but she was sick on that day.

Enrichment classes:
I used to think that I would want to sign my children up for classes, but in the end did not. My gal is now attending full day child care, so on weekends I would like her to have family time rather than attending classes.

Rarely log on to forum on weekdays afternoon... today on medical leave... suffered from food poisoning

Melissa,
I enrolled YZ in apple tree next year, more of letting him socialise with kids his age. And yes, it's a very small and simple setup. In fact, I didn't do much research. My childcare teacher friend told me she finds apple tree curriculum is quite ok. And most importantly, it's convenient for me. :p

My SIL sent her daughter to Agape. Previously, she was in another CC and the teacher feedbacked to the mum that other kids are more advanced than her and she have to buck up. Cos she cannot count to 20. I thought that was a bit absurd. She was only 4 then.

Waiwai,
Go for the next one then!

Connie - I meant 1.5 yrs old. :p I bought a foam vest float for my dd1. She swims ard like a fish with it. No fear of "unbalance" feeling like arm floats and some other inflatable vest floats. Got mine for $30 i think, at world of sports.

Kam - I agree children shd spend majority of time with parents instead of at art/gym classes. I'm a stayhome mom and I spend all my time with my 2 girls. But I also feel a tad bit suffocated sometimes and wish they wouldn't cling onto me all the time. So I put them in an art/gym class or two, hoping they'd 'losen up' abit. So far DD1 is ok with acquaintances. DD2... cling onto me like leech still. Heh.

Hello everyone! Yeah spiders are back. Hahaha. I didn't read thru the past just this page will do. Hahaha.

Everytime I see Milkyway's S, Ling's J, myfavchoco's K, Cindy's F, kam's kids etc etc enjoying so much in sch, I feel tempted. Lolx but now not as much as my Hb said not to yet. Grrr... Spend so much of my time to search a sch that time thinking could start in aug/sept but now he said wait till maybe Jan/feb. Anyway there's no vacancy around my area till those months too. All have vacancy for me but none for Z. Duh! My fil and some relatives are stressing and pressurizing me to send him to sch.. My fil is so afraid his grandson cannot catch up and will lose to other kids inclu his grandnephews who are born in aug n jul 2009. Haiz. Poor kids these days... Last time I only attended nursery when I was 4.. Went to learn dancing since I was 5.. Never go for tuition or enrichment till I was in sec sch when results dropping.. Now kids not even 6, are going for so many diff courses classes enrichments.. Sometimes I feel pressurized too but I know I cannot afford so sometimes I feel upset. Sob sob. Roller coaster emotional mom. Hahaa.

Oh yah, these 1-2 weeks z is takih a v v v long time to eat and finish his food. He keeps food inside his mouth like hamster. Thou he finishes but it's taking way too long, previously he took less than 30mins. Usually it's 20mins!! I suspect he "kam zek". How ah? How to confirm and what should I do? Haiz. So worried so sad so scared.

Connie

For the swimming lessons you still won't get me time because you still have to hold them. Yihui can kick and wave her hands but technique still leaves much to be desired. But she's comfortable in the water without float. She can swim underwater and crawl like a spider along the wall and jump off the side of the wall into the water and swim unaided for a very short distance.

Kam

Yep she went for the panda play but I wasn't able to bring her there myself. So sad. I look forward to these sessions. My mom brought her there because it's the same day as my house moving. I bought the tickets a few months back n forgot about the date. Zzz

Potbelly,
Oh, I need to attend the class with them? Where did u attend the class? I'm keen on it. Yet to see any class with 2-3 yrs old kid.

Ionia,
I bought 1 for my boy to test. Mine from toysarus, does yours have a neck float attached to it? I find the design I bought a bit weird, I find it unsecure so I put it aside.

joopz,
They should be able to count to 30 in N1 (3 yrs old).

<font size="+1"><font color="0000ff">2nd Birthday Bash</font></font>
shall we have one?????

And do we wanna do a Little Bhubu 2nd bday t shirt also??

Connie yep. Check out aquaducks website. They have it at a few places. Not cheap though. The older kids in other classes can swim very well. Their strokes and techniques are correct. Some swimming instructors ive seen in some pools are half past 6 kind. They teach the kids the wrong strokes.

Yihui swims without a float. Or in class she uses a kick board. But have to help her balance.

mayya,
Absolutely. Life as a SAHM is very different from us as FTWM :) Or maybe I should say it boils down to what's the intention of the parents sending kids to a class. As long as you are clear of what you want, or what you want to kid to have, then just go for it.

potbelly,
OIC. Have you done with your unpacking? Have you been to the Lion King? There is now promo for 4 tix at $400 ($100 each instead of $125 each). Are you keen to share tix with me. Kids <3 don't need tix.

Kam

I've watched it but my hub hasn't. If it's 100 for two of them then it's worth it. Don't mind sharing. Is it matinee or evening? Let me ask him. Where are the seats located?

Connie
Not sure but normally the outside ones are for children at least 3-4 years old.

Potbelly,
It's cat C tix. I haven't bought yet. Can compromise on the date, think the show still runs through Aug and Sep. But we would want to go on weekend, preferably matinee cos evening one a bit too late for the kid.

Kaira,
U interested? If I take 2, potbelly takes 1, still have 1 tix left.

Kam n kaira

In that case you guys go ahead first. Because even if I take it, we will still need to look for one more person. And I asked my hub last night he didn't sound v keen. Zzz

connie - mine is exactly like the image below. no neck thingy. it fits my dd2 AND dd1 very snugly. Both of them SAME WEIGHT. haha. save money on clothes cos both wear same size.

5809848.jpg

I just came back from bukit panjang swimming pool. The lifeguard there told me no vests or ANY sort of float device allowed in the adult pool. Told me to go to wading pool. They only have 1 adult pool, wading pool and jacuzzi. I saw the wading pool is only below knee deep. My gawd. Defeats the purpose of wearing a float vest. >.<

Anyone know whats the ideal age to start official swimming lessons? Those proper independent lessons kind, not the type with parents kicking around in the pool with them.

Mayya
Thks. Will go search for it. When 1 is wearing, wat is e other doing? not swimming? I usually go jw pool. At least I still can swim wif them.

I might join e aquaduck if can convince my hb. There r some toddler class for 3 yrs old at public pool. Last round my hb refuse to let me send them but this round I told him e bb can swim on their own. Will send them for trail class n see wat he said. At clementi. Do u want join?

Connie - I'll be holding DD2 while DD1 swims with the vest on. Clementi is ok for me. Will check aquaducks website. Which days and what timing are you looking at? Gotta check with hubby cos most prolly he will be the one sending and fetching. If im not lazy i might tag along.

potbelly,
Noted.

Kaira,
So, on?!! I will message you next week, cos I have to wait till tomorrow to see if my friend can go in smoothly with her 3yo son.

Tika,
The clementi outlet is along Ulu pandan.
I'm looking more to sun as HB only back sat evening. Now still waiting for them to call me for the trial.

Itsy and whoever is interested - Event at Botanical Garden tomorrow.

There is an event at the Botanical Garden organised by OKTO, tomorrow at 5-730pm. See http://www.sbg.org.sg/calendar/regisform.asp?ID=651.

I saw it advertised on TV, so expect it to be a quality event (though meaning would be pretty crowded). We will be bringing the kids there for sure cos HR enjoys such event very much. If any of you decided to come, call or message me or FB me, k.

Kam,

I saw this ad on TV too.. but tomorrow is MJ day for us :p

Roseola}
Any mummies know about Roseola? Ian seems to be getting all the symptoms. I checked online that it will go away and no medication is needed... but I'm still worried and wonder if I should bring him to the Doc. Other then the rashes, he seems ok, playing, eating and sleeping ok.

Hi itsy,

My son got roseola before..
Ian got it once the fever gone right?
Rashes will fade away from 3rd day
I bring my son to PD that time to confirm if it is roseola and no medication given

Don't worry, he will be well soon

Itsy,
Oh, so MJ comes first huh :)

HR kinda got roseola long long time back. As usual, no, we didn't bring him to a doc. He was well after the fever subsided and after the rashes broke. If he is not bother by the rashes, just leave him, can apply lotion. Doc cannot do anything.

itsy,

yihui just got roseola 2 months back. There's nothing much the doc does. He just charged us for consultation. zz

If he feels to uncomfortable from the fever and can't sleep, just sponge him to get the fever down, or else feed him with some fever med. You can't do much for the rash, prob only calamine lotion. but it doesn't help much. It will subside after 3 days.

Kam ,

okay will be going. But I'm only can make it on Sunday .. We discuss further on the actual date. Will MSG u. I'm more free on August .

Risol_King and Kam

Ian got very high fever suddenly and gone in 2 days then we noticed the rashes on his body. Today (2nd day of rashes) seems bad, scary. He seems ok tho', rashes doesn't seems to bother him. ok ok then I won't bring him to the Doc. Thanks!

Kam
Hahaha no lah, coincidentally, my mum and aunties wanna come my place to play MJ and to see Ian so got to forego Botanic Gardens lor... else knowing me huh, sure go!

Im very worried for DS.. He started childcare in mid-May.. Since then, he is sick and taking medicine for 2 weeks, recover for 1 week and sick again for another 2 weeks.. He has been only attending childcare for 1/2 month for every month.. We try to give more fruits, veg and water.. Still the same.. Im sooo heartache to see him finish bottles and bottles of medicines. Haiz...

Any of your children like that? Any good suggestion to boost immune system?

Christina,
Eh, but I don't think I can recognise you leh

Itsy,
Keke, that's why I addressed the post to you mah, knowing you would probably go. NVM, the outdoor Chinese Orchestra and SSO is coming soon in August!

Yup, that sounded like a roseala.

Cheer,
When you said sick, meaning what? Flu, fever, runny nose, cough?

It's either the childcare has lots of bugs, or your son has not built up a strong enough immunity, or worse, the combination of both.

Connie - pai seh. didnt realise i was logged into my cousin's account. Sunday is good for me too. update me on fees once trial is confirm ok. I'm interested to join.

Hi Kam &amp; Itsy,

Yes, i mean flu, runny nose, cough and phelgm.
Erm, sometimes i do see his classmates fall ill too..

I think it is DS who's immune system is weak. How ar? I hv brought him under the sun during weekends and take some supplements.. still dont see any results.. Haiz.. Gek Xim

potbelly,
what type of swimming techniques does aquaducks teach yihui? its once a wk lessons?

itsy,
ian's got Roseola?! how come he had high fever? the other time K had high fever for straight 5 days, after that i was waiting for the Roseola to appear but they never did! how is ian now? has the rashes subsided?

Kiki

They try to get them to be comfortable in the water without float. She can put her face into the water to blow bubbles. Jump into the water from the wall. Kick holding those boards. But hv to help her balance a little. Swim underwater on her own for a short distance. Crab crawl on her own along the wall. hold her breath under water.

More or less to move in the water with ease and without fear. But think she's now not afraid of water and even tried to go into the swimming pool herself without me. *sweat*