(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

Okie... Think I shall go pump a bit and catch some sleep before my girl wakes for her feed.
See you all later if I'm not too groggy to log in.

sonnigt3> keke. no la. i dun think dere is any right or wrong to anything. is juz wat diff pple do at diff time. ya. sponging him will be de best method for him. but maybe cos i was lazy n i was rushing to go off to de philips fair, i nv tot of tat. moreover most of de mums here recommend feeding with paracetomol first.

jul> keke, maybe i shuld stop pumping for awhile. my freezer is packed with milk n i think dey'll expire soon if reaally need to consume within 2mths. but if i dun pump, my supply will drop. zz. wat to do now with all de milk? make coffee for hubby? =o

michelle
For me, I gave 10 over packs to my friend. my husband ever joke and ask me to water the plants. Haha.

Feeding
Since yesterday night till now, my boy seems to sleep alot. hardly wake up. i will need to force him to wake up and drink. now my breast block bcos of this. sigh

sonnigt3
i think we r in the same boat. with so many kids, i think breastfeeding and supply issue is the last thing on my mind though i very much wanna do my best to tbf at least 6 mths but got other kids to worry abt. aiyah i just take one day at a time lah cant worry too much abt what will happen tomo.

<font color="ff0000">Michelle</font>
ya loh.. i have clothes for 18-24months too. haha.. but thats only a few pieces..
the majority is still within 1 year de.. hehe. :p

babies > 37.5 then is fever....

in future u might wanna try sponging first before giving medicine loh.. better for bb la..

if too high fever also must send to hospital laioz...
my PD also advised cold (tap water temp) wipe down will do....

ahh....got mummies recommend feeding paracetomol first meh?? who who??
i only rem shelled recommends adding ling yang to milk before jab first...
i dun rem mummies suggesting to give first..whahaha..or maybe i did selective reading.. ahaa.....

if u wanna make coffee,,make sure he doesnt know.. ahhahaa..else he'll freak out for sure! ahhaha....

<font color="ff0000">Pam</font>
wah!!!!! 2 years!!! thats a BIG sacrifice man... u so weida...
hehehe... 1 year my mum already gua gua jiao...said i better watch my diet..else BF = nothing if i'm not eating healthy...

<font color="ff0000">angel</font>
wah!! u stimulate at level 6?? i only use level 4...and i express at level 3 or somtimes 2.....
i think the funnel is too small for me leh...
it STICKS to my breasts..and makes it painful if i on the power too high....
do u have that prob??
but soft shield dun come in other size.. grr...

u can try latching with him sittig up ma???

I've tried all positions i can or know with my girl while she was sick last week.. i even latch her with her sitting up facing my breast..she just latch and then i lie abit back..
she prop on my chest and latch.... also can leh. haha...

<font color="ff0000">prinzess</font>
garlic, ginger, onion, brocolli, milk and yoghurt is for wind??
Man... i've been eating ginger at every meal still.. no wonder my mum so much wind...
but last few days mum didnt cook and no ginger..and no wonder she not so bloated..
but i had a big cup of yoghurt..and no wonder her poo soo green...

she pooed thrice in an hour today in church's nursery...
i tot what happened to her....
all green poo.... sigh....

so no milk also.. okie....

<font color="ff0000">tlisa</font>
Mmmm...could it be position problem??
now my girl only latch with me standing up... i dunno how that makes her feel better..
but when i latch sitting down..she'll latch then fuss and search for the breast..
when its just right in front of her...she'll turn her head left right left right...
then cries...
only after i stand up...then she seem to be able to find the breast and latch..
but she was just right in front of the breast all the while.. i dunno why too..
but if standing up helps her to drink.. i stnad loh..

<font color="ff0000">growth spurts</font>
my girl is 9th week tomorrow.. i wonder if she's having growth spurt..
she's been feeding at almost every 2 hours when she's awake..and back to 20min of latching instead of 5-10min...
or is this stupid mummy unaware that weeekkkss ago she's already not feeling well and tats why only feed for 5-7min each time??

this afternoon she even empty both breasts..and both like play doh...and she still not sleepy..
normally she'll feed and then gets sleepy and falls asleep...
but she was wide awake after both breasts empty...
or maybe my breasts not enough milk today??
have been constantly feeding her at 2 hours interval today..and each time she latch 20min!

Calendula Cream..

i just posted a link few days back..for the BP on Calendula... let me go find again...
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/3192589.html?1257610957

she's selling the cheapest.coz its spreee i think. not BP..

$15 per tub..

<font color="ff0000">milkyway</font>
oh..the website says 2 months ah??
maybe loh..coz spore weather.. i wont be surprised...
and i actually keep my milk in the freezer door..thats the only place with space for me.... can or not huh?

since ur girl managed to finish everything u can try to add 10ml more??

my girl also prefer upright postion but she has no reflux prob..she just prefer that more to cradle.
but maybe coz she has lot of wind...she fart all the time... does ur baby fart??

<font color="ff0000">cookiezz</font>
man.. i miss fong seng's cheese prata..
the 1st time i had cheese prata was there..and they still serve the best one so far...
shredded mozarella cheese!!!!!!!!!! yummy!!!

BUT... i'm not sure if i had prata yest with fish curry...(i've not had spicy food since Confinement..)
and today in 1 hour, my girl pooed 3 times...
and its all green still.. argh..its Dark green.. like seaweed color....
still dunno why she got this kind of poo..but since doc says viral infection in the stomach... i shall prob call and ask..how long more do i expect it to be..
she's been having green poo for 2 weeks liaoz.... not normal at all....

9 times a day!! wah.. u dun latch ah???
i almost died washing when my girl was sick and refused to latch.. but certainly not the sterilizing part..
coz all throw in and press only...thats very easy to me..its the assemble, dismantle and wash that i got so sick of..
even though i pump like 3 times a day then.. haha...

<font color="ff0000">sonnig</font>
ahhh.. icic..

as long as u can afford it..

<font color="ff0000">mama6</font>
were u at expo today as well???

<font color="0000ff">shelled, Rach</font> Wah, so nice can go shopping....the only shopping which I get to do every week is grocery shopping at giant

<font color="0000ff">pumping pal from mumsfairy</font> anyone tried this? any comments?

<font color="ff0000">paige</font>
haha..yah.. only one kid..so can still shop.. ahhaa..
but the tot that i'm gg back to work next month...turns me off....

can i just stay at home?? wahhhaa....

I gave my babies the med once after the jab. They were warm but temp below 37.6 degree. Infact like 37. In total, I gave 2 doses to prevent a full blown fever.

michelle
not sure abt the storage of EBM...some say 2 months, some say 3 months...my fridge is a 2 door one, top part is freezer lor and currently only storing ebm n ice-cream.. so considered separate compartment?? i dont cook so no raw food also.

paige
hmm i dont know leh.. given wat i have in my freezer now.. 20 bottles not enough lor.. hahaha. Now i'm storing milk sticks in zip-lock bags.

sonnigt3
yah that's a gd idea hor.. i can just pump when i bottle feed lor.. mayb i will introduce 1 bottle day then..

rach
hmm mayb i will try 120ml lor.. since 4 milk sticks gives me 120ml.. hehe.. how much r u giving ur gal now? yah my gal farts too but seems lesser now.. and her tummy not as bloated as b4.. mayb she's geting better? but sometimes she still fusses leh...

u returning to work next month? so soon? u dint take the full 4 months ar..

Rach> you have fish curry!!! dont know le.. my CL told me not to touch chili for the 1st 4 months if not when baby poo poo will be painful bec hot hot.

<font color="ff0000">milkyway</font>
eeeh.. i havent bottle feed since she started to latch again..
when she was not well, she only took 30-50ml each feed...totally abnormal..
but PD says she no appetite..blocked nose... so normal to drink lesser...

now i'm back to total latch.. so i dunno how much she drinks..

my girl...has been VERY good for past 3 nites...
at abt 11plus 12am latest, after carrying her since last feed, she'll slowly fall asleep in arms...
then when i put her down to her cot...she continue to sleep...usually last time..she'll open eyes and cry once down...
but now she continue to sleep!!! and she sleeps till.... 2-3am for next feed..after which she goes back to sleep till 6-7am for next feed!!!
and... i dun have to really pump coz nothing to pump with her constant feeding..so i only pump at 6-7am...to empty everything for the next feed prob at 9-10am...
wooohooo.. i love this....

she just suddenly changed her pattern.... but its good!!! hehehe.. :p
at least she dun fuss like last time.. we take turn carry her she still fuss and cry make us very frustrated...
now at least she quietly sleeps in our arms..and then tada!!!!

today she didnt sleep whole afternoon at MIL place...
once home, i wipe her down, then my mum talked to her a bit..and she fall asleep in my mum's arms liaoz...
then HB carry her, i feed her, before long, she fell asleep..and down on the cot since 9pm!!!!!!!!!!!
wahhhh!!! thats why the nite feels so young tonite...
usually when i free its almost midnite..
but i've been surfing since 10pm...wahahahhaa....
and now i'm gg to sleep soon... see if she wakes up at 1-2am..coz last feed was at 9pm... hehehe. :p

I wrote in to management for ML started August 15...or somewhere there..a saturday....
coz the earlier i start, the earlier i can start to do sales.. coz for me different case, we considered self employed...
so in the 16 weeks i cant do any sales at all.. cant even do prospecting....
so i'm handicapped..
but my official ML ends 14 Dec...so i can close case if i have any...
BUT.. if i wanan stay home after that also can.. but the good thing is i can meet clients n call people....

given my job nature.. the good thing is i can still work from home or even dun go office loh. ;P

SHE"S AWAKE NOW!!! gone....

latch liaoz.

Paige:
My personal comments on the Pumping Pal, hmm.. dun have to spend so much on it. hee..
Not that it's not useful, but if you are those diligent type, will use frequently. I'm lazy lah, so i find it a hassle to adjust properly before pumping. Use hand to kiap faster.
Get a pre-loved one if you want.

okay.. i'm done latching and back.. good short 6min...

<font color="ff0000">prinzess</font>
ahh..nobody told me abt bb poo hot hot leh...
oh no...
okay.... i think for her current tummy upset.. i think i better stay away from chilli too..
sigh....

can u imagine, we stay away from food that we like for a year..and then if we are having #2, the whole process starts again just as we are abt to stop BF....
then its the cannot eat raw food etc again....then come the BF period again....

but good thing is... get it over and done with in 3 years.. hahaha...

<font color="ff0000">steph</font>
softfit shield doesnt have a bigger size......
the personal fit i heard not as comfy....

its what PISA uses....

Only Freestyle uses Softfit now..... MMmmm...

How mummies, those using PISA, u like ur personal fit shield?? its hard rite???

Softfit sticks to the breast...dunno good thing or not..coz supposed to feel more comfy during the stimulation phase... Mmmm......

<font color="ff0000">shelled</font>
checked!!

can i ask u using M or L huh??

Mmmmmmmmmmmm.....wondering if my supplier can bring in super shields from mumsfairy...
prob just a 10% off the most i think....

Anyone interested in getting the supershields???
then we can collate orders again..wahahaha...

help! warmed up the milk, but while waiting for it, he took the breast and emptied it. now i have warm ebm and a baby who's fast asleep! do i throw it away? or can i keep it warm for a few hours?

I was just look up on this. As long as the baby hasn't had any you can let it cool down and put it back in the fridge for about 6 hours. If the baby has already had some (saliva has gone in) then you can only keep for 30 mins ;(. I had to throw 60ml away, heart pain.

zzz. juz now fell asleep at 11pm n slept like a dead log. must be de full body massage i doing made me relax so well.

bb wake up for milk at 1130, hubby bottle feed him n nv wake me up for pumping. grrs. juz latch bb again at 245am. sian. y now he cant sleep till 4 or 5am like past few days oredi?

juz finish pumping. Mikayla's appetite has finally increased 2 70ml which means i gotta try harder to increase my supply which usually yields 60ml max every 3hrs. I tried pumping every 2hrs but only get 40ml which works out to b e same..sian..now gonna catch up on e thread while I drink a huge cup of ovaltine otherwise my nxt pumpg session no milk..sleepy also cant sleep..

prettymums> lol. give frens ah? no frens who have bb leh =p

aiyoh. ur boy nv wake up to drink, den u must wake up to pump lo =p

rach> haha. ya la. i oso got few pieces 18-24mths. unless i c de clothes nice, den dun haf smaller size n must really buy, den i buy big lo.

i know bb > 37.5 den is fever. but i worry my thermometer not accurate. so to play save, juz feed him de medication

erms. definitely got mummies who recommended giving first la. but i dun wanna mention names la. anyway like i say diff mummies work differently on different bbs ma. so no real right or wrong

paige> is de pumping pals refering to de handsfree n pumping shield? i use tat when i pump, den no need hold bottles.

milkyway> lol. i guess if cannot finish de milk, den bo bian keep? den let bb try n c if he rejects or not lo. if no reject n stomach nothing wrong, den let him drink? else how does jenifur store 4mths of milk?

prinzess55> lol. i've been taking chilli stuffs even during confinement?

momoteh> lol. i adjust once, den no move it, nxt time i juz fix de pump on n can use le. den i can surf net n pump easily wor =p

Hello all hardworking pumping mummies!

So tired! Spent the day shopping at Vivo. Guess Ian must be tired too cos he slept from 12mn till now, still not up for milk. How nice to be able to go shopping

itsy> haha. u r here!

lol. today i nv go shopping, went for massage n den to visit both my grand parents n hubby's parents =p

Rach: Thank you for the link. I have tried posting my order on that forum but it mentioned that I dont have permission. Why is that so?

Any mommies can help?

<font color="Ff3399">Mel</font>
I was at the Vivocity outlet of Topshop lor. But like what itsy says, really not much stuff left. But so heng they had 1 last pair of the shorts I liked, in my size! And the bubble skirts also only left a couple of pieces, also in my size. The sale was already on since a few wks ago, cos I got the emailer, but I was too tired or packed over the wkend to feel like going to squeeze with the crowd. Ytd was just a coincidence that I had to go Vivo, so shun bian kinda thing.

Actually there are more big sizes left than small sizes. Size US10 and above got more items than US6 or US8 lor. Dunno what size you are, but I guess you can go look-see? If you want a bigger branch then maybe can try the one at ION.

Good Morning!

Today is my 1st day back to work...

Pumping now b4 i head out.

Michelle, Waiwai,
Looks like I have to wait fro him to outfrow this prob. 

Paige,
Wah! Tat’s a loud burp! Now I try burp him only aft resting for a few mins aft he finish his milk and I pat his back downwards to burp him. Seems to help abit.. less throwing up..

Jul,
I cannot throw him there and leave him to wail leh. Cos he very notti! He will wail, den if nobody bothers abt him, he will purposely cough n cough till someone attend to him . >_<

VIA cups
Can only sterilize 5 times?? Oh no… I din noe and definitely done more than 5 time and still using!!!

Caspinall,
I felt juz like u did when I had my #1. I had 3 episodes of mastitis within my 1 mth confinement and I hated bf to the core which resulted in hating motherhood.. I told my mum and my mum abt it and they were so persistent abt bf and saying im so selfish to drop bf!! I endured for 4 mths b4 I totally drop bf and once I dropped bf, I enjoyed motherhood so much more…. This time round, it was a smoother bf journey for me.. 

pearlyn

haha of course not lah. i had to carry, pat, soothe, sing, distract, give pacifier.. etc until he 'forgets' that he wants more milk

i'm home alone tdy. as in at my own home with no hubs n mil. so nervous as to what will happen - my tummy's cramping from nerves!

hope i can handle sam.

I'm considering getting a Babybjorn carrier. Any idea where I can get it at a good price? Mothercare selling the Synergy at $299!

finally got light! now i can type... juz now was reading the posts in the dark. yipee finally in new hse le!! but pumping is so ma fan here. cos the opp flat is quite near so have to close all windows..

michelle - i like fong seng prata leh! cos got quite a lot of varieties! but true, the pratas there are ex... but drinks quite cheap leh! but at least better than the nasi lemak, even more ex... i used to go to the kopi thiam which sells kway chap but now demolished liao, become hotel. wow... tt was 4 yrs ago! time flies!

paige - hehe i think abt the same cos both i need effort to squeeze into them!!!

rach - hey u got my glamourmum order?

during the first wk, my boy bit my nipples till both cracked and bled, so gotta hand squeeze and then after tt tried expressing. i din wanna express so early one but no choice and gotta bottle feed after one wk. i was so afraid of nipple confusion but luckily he quite smart lar, or maybe tam jiak, so as long as got milk he dun care which/whose nipples!! so he was rotating between pigeon and avent bottles when i have to express full time, which explains the 9 times per day. i also a bit phobia of letting him latch so only after 1-2wks later then i let him latch a bit but luckily he still can latch. then after a while it was more of lazy cos when i let him latch, it will take 30-45min, very tiring for me!!

but now when today is the last day for my CL, i think i will latch more often haha! i am still thinking how to survive alone leh... been stocking up so much food! and CL is cooking food to freeze them for me also! i haben even tried bringing baby out alone or with hubby only... damned "pampered" ah.... today is the last day of my semi "tai tai" days, no one wash dishes/clothes/bottles for me le!

freestyle - yeah!! i quite love it! cos i can multi task like now!! but i feel the suction softer than mini electric. i use mini electric will need lesser time to pump but freestyle will clear my breasts better and i dun need to massage/squeeze my breast while pumping to squeeze out the last drop!

prettymum - haha now i know where ur pump went to le! but at this rate u will nv have a pump liao hahahaha!

Jul : Jia You! you'll do fine girl.

I think marc's appetite is increasing... instead of 120mls 3 hourly, he's now getting hungry earlier. he's almost hitting 2 hourly. can't give him more via bottle because he'll regurgitate. sigh. which means my pumping isn't catching up with him. which means i either swallow more fenugreek and drink more, or I give him more formula feeds. oh well. Latched him this morning for 45mins and he was hungry an hour after. And that was with a very full breast some more. Gah!

Steph : transferred the moolah already. PMed you.

Good morning to all!

shelled,
Jul's right. Freestyle I bought from that shop has warranty covered by them, not Medela. I happen to pass by so thought I might as well get it.
I just tried pumping on one side and latching bb on the other. Think it does stimulate a little more milk. Freestyle is getting more to my liking each day.

Mama to 6Js,
Yes. We definitely have not much time to think if our supply's meeting our bb's demand. All our other kids are demanding a share of our time.
Especially mine cos their age gap is very close, all abt one year apart.

Milkway,
I've found it's better to try this way than to let the EBM go to waste.
Dunno when supply will dwindle so I'd rather not waste it.

itsy> haha. ya. slowly as bb grows bigger, can bottle feed, i juz pump one session out when i need go for things like massage n pedicure. feel so good after de massage.

i remember there is a bp in forum selling babybjorn carriers at a good price. but not sure if it's still available now.

pearlyn> not bad leh. go back wk, so late le still can be at wk. u img i start wk at 830, before tat got to drop bb at infant care den go to wk. sure super early lo =p

jul> haha. how come not at ur mil hm today? it's ok u sure can handle, there's olways a first time to everything. initially tot i cant make it, but i've been handling my boy alone at my own hm without anyone for so long liao. but this wk i come to my parents hm, cos my hm there dey doing upgrading to the carpark n its super noisy

cookiezz> haha. i olways go there eat de nasi lemak. cos i like de spicy big drum stick. yummy. haha. now everywhere got prata in diff variety liao. in fact i like de prata at upper thomson =p

<font color="119911">Michelle</font>
Ya lor, tot I saw BP selling it but now I can't find the thread! Argghh!