(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

<font color="ff3399">milkyway</font>
K also used to suck his mittens. Until I stopped letting him wear them. It's normal lah. It's their method of self-comforting. Like thumb-sucking, u know?

When I had #1 also couldn't fit into my pre-preg bottoms lah. Had to change ALL of them. Tops also same problem. Nehneh too big, cannot fit in nicely. Wear machiam like cannot breathe like that. And the tummy! OMG, don't get me started on the tummy! I puffed up 1 whole size leh! Tops US8, bottoms US 12 puff up until tops 10 and bottoms 14. If cutting small, bottoms even have to go up to 16! KNS.

To prevent myself from getting upset over how much bigger I was, hubs commanded me to get rid of all my pre-preg clothes. I sold most of them at a flea mart, then use the earnings to buy new bottoms lor. Some I gave to friends who were wiling to take them. Cos back then most of my stuff branded cos they were bought when I was working.

I think if you notice, the "repeat" moms seem to lose weight faster. Cos this time we know not to eat too much during pregnancy!
Then with older kids to watch also, hard not to lose weight lah.

<font color="ff3399">Steph</font>
Belly bandit! Hahaha. I dunno leh. I haven't been doing anything special. Except wearing Belly Bandit, and not having enough time to eat. My usual lunch time is ard 3-4pm lor. Dinner ard 8pm. Then maybe a light supper ard midnight. And I don't sleep much. You think that helps to lose weight?

If you think I 厉害, wait til you see Ling. That woman lost all her prepreg weight AND SOME EXTRA HOR. Life is not fair sia. I lost the kg and inches, but I still flabby as hell. She mostly toned up already lor.

<font color="ff3399">rach</font>
If had to change TV then no budget liao lor. But TV is fixed under warranty, so didn't cost a single cent!! Hurhur. My shopping budget is reinstated!

I bought 2 bubble skirts, 1 shorts and 1 asymmetrical bias-cut top (can BF with it wor). The bottoms were all $19 each. The top $9 nia. You tell me cheap or not lah. If a few mths later cannot wear also not heartpain!

<font color="aa00aa">shelled</font> - I eating more cause not enough sleep loh.. hahaha I should wear Belly Bandit whole day ah.. BB dun like cause no Toing Toing to lie on.. hahaha

wah. managed to pump out 210ml within 20mins wor. was juz surfing net den got a shock when i look at de bottles. cos both were full =p hehe. still got abit more. keep for bb to latch on if he wakes up.

rach> haha. ya. my brother likes photography. dun think he minds to come over n take lo. he is still experimenting with new skills. but i oso paiseh to ask him over to take photo all de time. most of the time is he offer one. like tat day i juz tell him free come take photo for my boy. den fri he ask me can come on sun or not. so i told him of cos can =p

my boy oso dun really like sleep in stroller when we wake up. so either hubby or my mum will carry him. but i seldom. unless i nv take stroller =x

lor 27 not really say alot bigger. maybe abit ba. but i know dey move cos de rental at previous location went too high. n lor 27 better for parking =p

hehe. ur bb cannot wear 3-6mths old clothes meh? i think i got less den 10 0-3mths clothes for my boy. he's been wearing 3-6mths clothes since he was borned. juz big nia. but ok la. not so tight oso good ma =p

i even bought clothes tat are meant for 80cm tall bb. cos i din know he so small. -_- like u lo. only can c, cannot wear. once in awhile i take de clothes n put on him say wan let him wear, den hubby say i sot -_-

lol. u really nv take cold drinks for so long. if me u can kill me instead. i drank cold milk at day 10 or so =p

i have been giving my boy paracetomol n he's seems sleepy. juz now we go out sleep from 8-930, reach hm feed awhile, den juz now hubby feed him at 1115 n he went back to sleep. wonder when i shuld stop giving him paracetomol. =p

Reporting for my pumping session.

Wwent for a colleague's son's wedding dinner at Marina Mandarin. Food was good. My eldest girl liked the dessert best, mango sago with ice cream. Yummy!

Really must say, I like the Freestyle. Yield of 340ml in 30 min since I last pumped around 3plus. Now pumping out the rest with my Avent manual.

shelled,
Yup. I was amazed at how fast the Freestyle can pump.
Really think it's worth my $$ now.

Quite happy with the yield as I've not pumped for almost 10 hours. Happily pumping out the remaining 100+ ml manually now.

<font color="aa00aa">sonnigt3</font> - wah... when can I achieve that... *drools...

<font color="aa00aa">Freestyle</font> - I just used my Freestyle for the first time.. feel like "tie nai" hahah hubby came in to the room while I was pumping and he got a shock.. hahahah Cause I strap the handsfree connector..
Got 100ml in 20mins.. actually is 100ml in 15mins one.. the last 5 mins is no milk one... but am happy cause its half the time spent last time... Even though I was using Duo, I only used 1 bottle cause I need to massage my boobs and it used to take me more than 1 hour... I will switch in between breasts... Now with freestyle, it drains my breast quite well.. my good boobie got 60ml and the bad one got 40ml. good boob is completely drained but bad boob seems to still have "something" there although no milk come out liao...

But am happy..
No more Wires when pumping milk and I don't have to be stuck on my bed...

<font color="aa00aa">rach/sonnigt3</font> - Can I ask you ladies, when you finish your first let down and pump till no more liao, do you initiate the let down phrase again or just in expression mode?

Stephanie,
Let's hope my supply will be stable and not dip since I'm pumping more than latch on now.
Anyway, I just continue in the expression mode.

HI Mommies,

I'm here to join the nite pumpin for today.. lols..

Serve me right.. just ended mj session n nv pump for super long..cos gian buah.. then ended up hv to endure the pain of overloaded boobies..had a hard time trying to tempt the boobies to start working for the first ten minutes lo..

pumping pumping pumping...

sonnigt3 - 340ml? 30min? *looks down at boobs in despair* ok, i keep pumping... lolz

I was at TMC the other day for a lactation consult, and the lactation nurse LiQin put me on the Medela PIS and just kept switching it back to stimulation phase everytime it went to expression phase. I've actually tried that with my freestyle, and it seems to yield more milk lei.

angel,
Don't worry. As long as you have sufficient for your bb, it's gd enough. Think freestyle really helps to stimulate with ease.
Happy pumping!

I'm going to koon... Eyes are but a mere line now.
Good night to all!

Sonnig.

You didn't pump since 3pm? Never latch? 10hrs?

If I didn't pump for 7hrs (Like now) I'll panic!

Hope 200ml after 7hrs is okay. I want 340ml in 30mins too!

Reporting for pumping.

My boy suddenly can sleep 4 hourly. In the end, my boobs harden. I also totally KO. Now trying to clear...

<font color="ff0000">Nursing Poncho</font>
I'll be placing orders Monday morning, tomorrow...

If anyone still wants to add order, please PM me for the price..

michelle
y r keep giving ur boy paracetemol when he has no fever? actually i dun approve of doctors asking mothers to feed babies fever med b4 jab or after jab even b4 fever starts. fever med puts a strain on ur liver n too much of it may actually damage the liver n some degree, kidneys. so dun feed unless necessary. can u imagine how tiny babies organs r?

<font color="ff0000">shelled</font>
wah!!!!!!! $19??? but i no time to go TOp shop.. but i sure need bottoms to go with my Glamourmom!!!
In fact, i dun really have much bottom now except 2 black leggings.. hahahaha..
the rest all tak boleh wear liaoz... hahaha....

ur asymmetrical bias-cut top wear liaoz wear what bra???

<font color="ff0000">Michelle</font>
my girl still wearing 0-3months clothes...
last nite i went to dig out all the kept in wardrobe clothes that's meant for later wear... took out some that she can prob start wearing now..
and some that i still need to wait..
seems like i dun have to buy her any clothes for the next 3 months at least...
still got plenty BN and hand me downs to wear leh..
hehehe... so... no more bbmallonline... kekeke..
except i just wanna get a crib sheet.. so that i can exchange when one is in the laundry.. :p

I had TEH TARIK!! Still hot.. not cold..
but i do take HL milk also la...thats my only cold comfort.. hahha.. :p

<font color="ff0000">Steph</font>
for me.. i only strap myself to the pump, and press on, the next time i'll press anything is after the stimulation mode to lower from L4 to L3....
thats all..and i'll happily be reading the forum and replying till sometimes i forgot to off, it'll pump till 30min auto off..
hahahahhaa.... if i rem then it'll be 18-20min..then i off it..
i dun switch between stimulation mode..
but if u want to.. u can... maybe it'll be faster??
i dunno.. never tried... coz i feel the milk to be always dripping leh... never see it stop.. ahhahahaa...

<font color="ff0000">angel</font>
huh??? switch back to stimulation phase?? means it's never allowed to be in expression phase???

<font color="ff0000">sonnig</font>
in the end where did u buy ur freestyle?? from TMC as well??

<font color="ff0000">Off to church</font>
okie.. i'm outta house and wont be back home till late tonite...
dun miss me!! hehehhee... :p

sonnigt3> freestyle sounds good. hais. y nobody recommended me freestyle before i bought my ameda. grrs. now cannot buy le la. not intending to tbf for long. thinking whether to tbf for 4 or 6 mths. den supplement with normal food n bm =p

cos he took his 6in1 yesterday. i scared he get fever. so i give him paracetomol =p think i'll stop today n monitor his temp instead =)

bbq98> keke. ya. think today i will stop. whole nite he's been waking me up. guess he sleep too much in de day yesterday -_-

mamato6js> keke. cos yesterday after de jab i can feel tat bb is quite warm, din haf a thermometer with me at my mum's hm. den u see his face n head gets red. so i gave him one dose of paracetomol n another one at hm ard 6pm. after tat i have stopped

rach> keke. i dun haf to buy clothes for the nxt 1yr at least. realise i even have clothes for 2yrs old. cos my aunt came back from us recently n bought quite abit of baby gap stuffs for him, plus bb full mth alot of pple give him various brands of clothes. n i ks went to buy some nissen clothings online for him too -_-

michelle
u breastfeeding so well only intend to feed for 4-6 mths ah? so sayang but then again sometimes no choice hor esp when u go back to work. lots of moms cut down or stop bf after they go back to work. i also only intend to feed 6-7 mths, as it is now feed until hei hei chuan cos got 4 other kids to bug me all the time! dunno can last 6 mths not!

Mamato6,

Now that I bought Freestyle, I better BF as long as I can... Though it's getting tiring... >.< I intend to stretch till 2yrs if I am able to.

mamato6js> juz when i say i wan stop paracetomol, my boy got fever -_-" 37.3, zz so give him paracetomol again -_-"

haha. i not very good with bf la. wanna continue as long as possible, but if supply drops when i go back wk, den got to stop tbf, but i wun stop breastmilk totally, as in introduce him to porridge n stuffs, den when he wants milk i still give him bm instead of fm altogether. so not say stop bm lo

steph : good luck with the extra stimulation, lol! btw, you've got mail. i'm hoping to buy fenugreek from you.

sonnigt3 : I dunno if it's enough because he fusses a lot at the breast now. I think he gets upset because the flow isn't fast enough for him. My boy is rather impatient... Plus he's developed a lot of "wind" and I have to keep burping him, before, during and after, so his feeding is really very interrupted. By the end of it, I'm exhausted but he's bright-eyed and bushy-tailed. If I offer him the breast at that juncture, he'll still take it, but just to nibble a bit and occasionally take a little drink, so I take him off again. Gah!

rach : uh, ok lah, sometimes i just let it run into expression phase, but I take down the power, because i stimulate at level 6. I do breast compressions to facilitate the pumping, so both boobs machiam play doh by the end of pumping.

Any mummy with a fussy baby at the breast? I suspect my boy has reflux, because he nurses almost supine and gets very distressed by his need to burp almost every 5 min, but he's fine when given the bottle sitting up. anybody with the same experience? Does diet control work?

Shelled, Rach> ha i smart Alex.. dont know where i got the idea must on the sterilizer.ahhaha lucky still working well now.

Michelle> as long as can keep the poo and pee in and no rashes will do la somemore cheaper can save $
hope his fever will go down.

angel> my boy use to have lots of wind and merlion quite a lot last time. then when i went to the PD she mentioned that if can just stick to 1 breast at 1 feed till there is no milk when you squeeze the breast. AS the foremilk has more gas while hindmilk is richer. i use to give both breasts thus he took in more foremilk so more gas in stomach. and after feed i will put him at the rocker to keep him in a more upright position for 40 mins, taught by PD.

angel

me! me! sam has reflux.

i cut his feed from 120ml 3h-ly to 90ml 2h-ly n let him stay inclined for at least half an hr after. it works to reduce the puke a lot. but i had to deal with his constant bawling after the bottle empties. n sometimes when he got hungry less than 2h, i have to scramble to feed him, or pacify him if the interval is really significantly shorter than 2h.

angel

My daughter also fuss alot at my breast. After drinking for a while, she will suddenly cry very loudly. I checked my breast and there is still milk. I still don't understand why she fuss. What I do is put her upright and change to the other breast. I am not sure what is wrong too.

I remembered that you all had mentioned there is a cream that you all use for your babies with rashes. My daughter has rashes on her neck for quite sometime already. May I know the name of the cream you all use?

storing EBM in freezer
was it Rach that mention that EBM can be kept in freezer for 3months? not sure if it's suitable for our climate but i found this from Breastfeeding Support Group for Singapore.
http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/guidelines-on-storage-of-expressed-breastmilk.html

it says 2months... hmm means that i wont be able to use those EBM that i have frozen in my fridge now when i return to work end Jan.. cos they would have "expired".. daily i only expressed out 100-150ml in excess of wat i latched. wonder if i pump whole day how much milk can i get and if it will be sufficient for a day supply?

when should i up each bottle feed also? currently i only give my gal 100ml for each bottle feed when i'm out and she manages to finish everything.

pamelia
wow 2yrs is very long.. if i can BF fo 6months i will be very happy... dont know if my supply can make up her daily feed cos i latch most of the time and nv bother how much she gets from latching. haha

my initial intention is 1yr but now i shorten the target to 6months... dont want to stress myself first and be gungho.. at least after 6months, can give semi-solid baby food.

angel
i also suspect our gal has reflux but she dont puke nowadays compared to early days. She has a lot of wind in her tummy.. her tummy is bloated lor. Need to burp her a few times in btw each feed and she can cry after awhile after feed and when i carry her upright, she will burp on her own again. So now every time she cries after feed, i will carry her upright and pat her back.. she likes to be in the upright position so could be due to reflux also. Have not check with PD yet as she does not vomit. Mayb when i go for the next jab at 3 months will ask the PD abt it.

tlisa
most of the mommies here uses the California Baby Calendula Cream.

my gal is so cute
today i left her mittens off after bathing her for a little longer. Ok she scratches her face and left a red line.. need to trim her nails again.. and when she tries to suck her fist, she suck 2x and then dont want to suck anymore and gives a funny look... must b cos there is no mittens anymore.. so funny.. otherwise her mittens will be wet!

Pam
wow 2 yrs! i dun think i can do it hehe.. for selfish reasons i dun think i can live with wearing nursing bra n walk ard with full breasts for the next 2 yrs!

Michelle
oh u mean give solid food after 6 mths. i tot u mean totally stop bf after 6 mths

shelled - heh the patricia tank a bit low cut, i think u may like the teal colour. go bebelove bp or website check it out. on sale but limited sizes left.
haha been sleeping so late and waking up so early AND busy shifting/cleaning tt i am dead beat! so go salon rebond and sleep at the same time. save time!

paige - haha i bought both patricia and sahara so heng can answer ur qn. but i have nv worn the patricia, only tried it on. am wearing sahara now. u wait i go take a look
okie, report back - its moulded so it may not be easy to bring down the cup down when feeding or pumping and may be flattened by baby when he's drinking and the strap is not the usual clip, its a hook which you can quite easily unhook. but i think on the whole its quite pretty lor haha!! cos of the material and its long, so next time if u dun wanna breastfeed liao can still wear to work and tuck in. haha will look nice plus its cheap!

rach - yeah! fong seng prata still there! wun disappear anytime soon bah, gd biz! i love their pratas man! and got very interesting drinks. hubs drank something called castela peng i think. its kpoi and teh and milo. but i dun dare to drink, if not i wun be able to zzz...

haha u dun find sterilising siong cos u dun pump a lot. i can pump up to 9 times a day leh... so troublesome but now my CL is the one doing all the work but she will leave tmr! i think u guys will see less and less of me online liao!

stephanie - i also got my pump on fri morning! too excited so decided not to wait for my hubby to fetch and took cab there cos of heavy rain!!

aiya... gotta go out now and buy more things for the house! see ya tonight (hopefully!)

angel,
Thanks for the links. Yup, am even more convinced now that I made the right choice for myself...haha, I felt alot of social pressure to fit in but I guess one night I just snapped and came to my senses because I felt that there was something not quite right about how things were going with the bfeeding...

prinzess55> keke. hope his fever is better. nv give him medication cos we nv bring his medicine out n we're still outside now

tlisa> the cream shuld be california calendula

milkyway> 2mths? think can store for 3mths ba. if is seperate compartment, can go even longer

mamato6js> no la. how can stop breastfeed totally. juz thinkin when to introduce solid food =p

with introduction of solid food, bb will intake less bm, den not so stress to pump in office

cookiezz> fong seng nice meh? find tat it's overpriced prata. used to eat tat when we rushed projs overnite when i still in nus. n everytime without fail nxt day lao sai -_-

prinzess : ok, will try sticking to one breast, thanks. Did cutting out all that food help your child's reflux?

jul : marc's a screamer. he screams so much he turns red in the face and gets a bit hoarse, and even his pacifier doesn't do the trick lolz. so you're working with 90mls every 2 hours?

tlisa : sounds exactly like my boy. and it's foremilk that's still flowing out, not hindmilk, so i dunno what's wrong.

milkyway : dunno leh. marc only just started merlioning this past 2 weeks. PD visit on 20th. i'll ask her then

<font color="0000ff">milkyway</font> wah! Feeding bottles as storage very taxing on the pockets leh!!

<font color="0000ff">connie</font> ermm, I’m breastfeeding but I still drink coffee everyday! No effect on baby leh, maybe because when I’m pregnant I also drink coffee…

<font color="0000ff">myfavchoco</font> but mine’s a BB GIRL!

<font color="0000ff">cookiezz</font> thanks, thanks for patricia tank info. Is the sizing of patricia tank and sahara top the same?

Michelle: Where can I get the cream from? I been to Baby Hypermart but I can't find it.

Angel: We are in the same boat but this only happens occasionally. What I did was to carry her upright just in case that she was not feeling well in her stomach. You are visiting the PD? Can you ask your PD and let me know?

Updates Fenugreek

Fenugreek - I ordered a total of 20 bottles and its at $19.85 including shipping for 200caps.

Please pm me and add on to this list to avoid discrepancies. Here's the current confirmed bottles taken:

1) Stephie1735 - 4 bottles
2) Infinity_star - 2 bottles
3) jul_04 - 2 bottles
4)Im_emily - 2 bottles
5) Marie - 1 bottle
6) Chase - 1 bottle
7) 26erithink (Angel) - 1 bottle
8)
9)

Think I had a good nap today... Latched baby and fell asleep together.
Fortunately, I didn't squash her.

Michelle,
According to nurses who administer jabs for my kids, there's no need for medication before or after jabs unless the child is feverish. Btw, 37.5 or more is feverish, not 37.3.
And, young children up to 12 years old tend to have a higher body temperature. So, always try sponging to bring down the fever instead of giving medication. I totally agree with Mama to 6Js that there are adverse effects on the baby when you give too much paracetamol.
Did I mention that my bb was warded at KKH due to high fever from Mon evening till Thur morning and all the docs did were to monitor her temperature every hour and get the nurses to sponge her? No medication given except for nose drops to clear her blocked nose. They don't advocate medication for a young bb below 3mths.

Actually, I also didn't know how efficient and effective the freestyle was when I had #1.
Although this is my #4, I was thinking I'll try to put it to good use for as long as I can upon going back to work. At the most, I'll give it to my sister-in-law in future when I don't need it anymore.
That'll save her a substantial amount.

Rach,
I eventually got my freestyle from this shop, The First Few Years, at KKH. $759 seemed a bit higher but I wanted the warranty just in case.

Pam,
I've 3 others to take care of so I'll be happy if I can breastfeed bb for 6 mths. I won't want to panic cos sleep is important for me to have sufficient energy to entertain all my kids.
Can understand how you feel since this is your first. I used to be like that but got around it after #2 came along. The more children you have, the less time for you to worry about whether you have enough BM.
What's of utmost concern now is whether I've given more or less equal attention to each of my kids.

tlisa> can get it from bulk purchase or overseas spree section within forum. less den 20bucks per bottle. or u can get from guardian at close to 30bucks per bottle of 2oz.

sonnigt3> de reason why i give paracetomol is cos de ear thermometer tat i m using usually gives a lower temp reading. juz before we went for de jab, he was measuring 36.5. after de jab it went to 37.2, moreover his face were really red like he was heating up.

anyway i try to give him juz a minimal amt to bring down his temperature. din really follow de instructions n give him one dose every 6hrs.

Angel,
My girl fusses sometimes too. But, she seems ok after I change position once in a while, from lying to half-sitting. I'll sometimes end up bottle feeding if she sontinues for too long.

Milkyway,
If you don't want the frozen EBM to expire, why not thaw a bottle for your bb to consume for one feed a day instead of latching on all day? That's what I'm doing so that the EBM I store will not expire. I'm actually alternating between latching and bottle-feeding so that my bb will not miss me when I start work.

Michelle,
Try sponging him down the next time. I'm not saying you did the wrong thing. Just concerned cos I used to take all sorts of medication according to doctors' instructions... Realised my immune system is quite low in the sense that if anyone near me is sick, I'm bound to be sick. That's why I wonder if it's because of all the antibiotics, paracetamol, etc, that I've taken since I was young. So, I'd much rather try other ways and means than to give medication to my kids.
Oh, you might want to try feeding your boy with a little American ginseng drink or powder before taking him for his next jab the next time round. My mother did that for my kids and so far, they have not developed fever after jabs.

Angel> i believe it helps plus the upright position after every feed.
before that he used to merlion a lot even after burping for many times after feeds. and he will make a lot of funny noise like very uncomfortable if i let him lay down.

angel

sam's another one - he would go absolutely manic at the breast. suck.. suck.. pause.. throw his head back while pulling my nipple *ouch* then scream! hiaz..

i've just upped his feed to 100ml, then 110ml, now 120ml since last mon. so far no disastrous effect yet, just some puke here n there if he chokes while feeding / din burp properly. nothing compared to the old days when milk will overflow from his mouth like a geyser!

tlisa

try watsons - very expensive, or get from the bp here. think ard $19 or so, cf $27+ at watsons?

<font color="ff3399">sonnigt3</font>
Whaaaaaat?! $759 for Freestyle?! @$#@%! All the other places I called and checked was $988 (or was it $998) lor!!

shelled

If I understand correctly, The First Years caries MEdela pumps at a cheaper price because they 'parallel import'. They ship it direct &amp; the servicing &amp; warranty is underatken by them, not by Medela.

Ok.. finished pumping..

haven't pumped much these 2 or 3 days.. so busy n tired..

Gotta go bath! Hehe 12am got game to watch