(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

WASHABLE BREASTPADS
any mummies using gd washable ones?

steph- washable breastpads can stick on to our nipples ar? i m tinking of saving n buying washable ones to use at hm instead leh.

mel-i stay at punggol field too! me at blk 200+ u?

enxuan- i taking fenugreek capsules bought fm GNC. u might wanna consider.

mampoko:
I agree with <font color="0077aa">Stephanie</font>, the washable ones will stick onto our nipples and when you pulled away, got lints stuck onto the nipple. And they dun absorb as well as disposable ones.

*and damn "smelly" too!*

<font color="0000ff">flower4, waiwai</font> – how about setting a sleep routine for your baby? Maybe that will make your baby sleep throughout?
Also give your baby more milk during last feed…so baby doesn’t need to wake up at night for regular feeds…at least these methods worked for me lah.

<font color="0000ff"> The Pumping Pals Club</font> – so fun hor….makes me want to join you girls!! Those stickers,…. it just makes me want to pump just for the sake of having one shiny sticker!

<font color="0077aa">shelled!!</font>
i pumped finished at 11pm la.. so nv report duty lo.. :p

have to watch over my bb to sleep cos he kept fidgeting last nite, rubbing eyes, noses, head... keep waking up.. now he got red nose.. so cute

every mommy has removed ur bb's mitten already?
me havnt removed his mittens yet cos his fingernails still sharp after cut...
tried once and he scratched his face then his pimple bled a bit.. cried like mad... lol

<font color="0000ff">Twiggy</font> – My baby sleeps through the nite, 8 to 10 hours nowadays…I don’t get up to pump, hence the leaky boobies every morning…

During daytime, she only sleeps for an hour, then wakes up and play for like 1hr,then feed, then sleep again for another hour…until around 7pm when daddy comes home then, she’ll be awake until bedtime around 9pm.

<font color="0000ff">Kam</font> – OMG! You also do tissue culture!!

Jess,
I removed her mitten occasionally to let her touch things, to stimulate her senses. I read that it helps baby on her physical development if we let baby start to use their fingers at early age (ealiest possible).

Paige,
Why you say "also do tissue culture"? Who else? You too? But I used to do, now I don't do anymore.

Jess,

Mine Mine! Kairi is still wearing her mittens because she sleeps in air-con at night with mommy and daddy. Daytime Mittens on too, because when MIL and FIL look after her, sometimes when she sleeps she is unattended in the sarong, when she wakes up and no one is there for a long time she'll rub her eye... I'm afraid she'll poke her eyes! The most with the mittens on she'll just box herself. XD

Kam,

I remove her mittens when she showers... And leave them off after drying and dressing her... Air her hand if not there's moisture and it gets smelly >.<

I let her touch my face, nose, eyes, mouth, cheeks... And I'll tell her what she's touching. =3

Mama to 6j, was just wondering where you were - thought maybe it's exam period, so you are busy.

Shelled, I thought you say you busy but I see you online so many times this morning....

Yes, Paige, how you train your bb to sleep so many hours and not wake up for milk? 8-10 hrs without milk, she is really tired.

Pamelia,
That's good. If possible, let her touch other things also. Toys (that are safe for her age), teether, a piece of cloth, etc, as in let her feel different kinds of thing.

hee thanks <font color="0077aa">Kam &amp; Pam</font>

mine just like to scratch and rub his eyes n nose n head now.. so i keep it on...
bath time take it off of cos.. if not how to wash the hands :p
oh.. and he box me with his mitten hands.. ouch, can hit my specs off lo.. so strong

i will try to keep the mitens off for playtime and have to watch carefully in case he scratch bleed himself or poke his eyes :p lol

~michelle~
haha…. My coy dun encourage us to bring fwd annual leave and since I got to clear them, might as well clear 1 shot… my maternity leave start on 1st Oct even though I delivered on 5sep. : )
bring fwd 10days maternity leave…. see how, may chg to 15days, ie go back work earlier. My boss is flexible with the date since I am already away for so long.

~Shelled~
I love your stickers… v nice!

~Stephanie~
I sterilize my pump after every wash.. the most tedious part is washing part, sterilizing is v easy.. just dump inside, pour water and on the button. Heehee.

~Rach~
nope… bought from oversea spree at $469… will not buy at $988.. so the bloody expensive!
Drink more water.. weather v weird nowadays.

~itsy~
ur baby nap hrs is ok… everybody tell me babies shld sleep a lot &amp; after each feeding… initially when my bb don’t sleep, wonder what happened.. after a while, think is normal.

~angel~
my freestyle dun leak.. you need attach properly.. the soft funnel stick tightly to my boobs… so was ok. I can pump and walk round the house.

Wow.. so many diligent mummies pumping at nite here.. I finish my last pump abt 1pm plus and slept together with baby. Last nite he refused to sleep.. I latched him on until I fell asleep and he’s not even asleep yet. I just leave him to play by himself &amp; juz slept cos I am so tired…. ignored whatever baby language he was saying. (bad mummy here) Think after that he oso fell asleep.
Mayb I shld b more diligent at nite n join the pumping club. : )

<font color="0000ff">mamato6Js</font>
Yeah, very blessed to have her behaving this way lah
at least I will have the peace of mind when i go back to work...and of course my much needed sleep at night!

<font color="0000ff">Kam</font>
Ya, I also USED to do tissue culture
hehehe. Now no more working in the lab full time *phew* I said bye bye to being slaves to my cells...

<font color="0000ff">bbq98</font>
trained her from 6 weeks, she started sleeping 5 hrs, then 6 hrs, slowly slowly at 8 weeks she started sleeping 8hrs every night, if i do bring her out during the day, like weekends, she can sleep 10hrs!
But day time she latches on every 2 hrs, for the past 3 days, she has been latching on every 1 to 1.5hrs, super stressed!

<font color="ff0000">milkyway</font>
hahaha..yah.. i rather she downgrade too.. 10 or 11pm i'm okay.. but FOUR AM!!!!
man.. HB and me almost quarrelled because of it.. cursing and swearing liaoz...

<font color="ff0000">shelled</font>
yayy!! thanks for the sticker!! so motivating.. hehhee.. :p
hahaha..thanks monitress...
i wonder what other people frm other thread thinks.. hahahhaa.... we are the most ON mummies in 2009!! hahaha..

ooh... i wonder if she ordered Top at all or not.. hehe... did u check with her already??
actually i like tops better...can manuvore(dunno how to spell) the clasps easily..
the Tanks clips i got prob unclasping and clasping it back with one hand loh...
gotta put baby down and ensure she doesnt fall to the ground and giap her with my arms and then faster clasp it back..
hahaha..
but tank is definitely nicer looking la... hehhe. :p

ooh..ur baby is sleeping well.. so good.. sleep = growth... thats what old folks say... so its a good thing... wont be bugging u then. hehe..

hahahhaa... 13 mummies.. i think more will pump and report to get their stickers too!! ahahha.. so fun!!
Pumping is never the same again!!! hehehe.. :p

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Jul</font></font>
I ANSWERED U LEH.. did u read my reply??? scroll up up up!!

ya ya ya.. i did hor... Booo!!! :p

<font color="ff0000">Mel</font>
hahahaha... u can claim it from shelled.. ehhee...

<font color="ff0000">angel</font>
it leaks coz u never attach it properly..
after u hook the clips.. u must run ur fingers roung the funnel to ensure that ur bra is not in between the funnel and ur breast...
thats what will cause leaks..coz there's opening....
pull the straps further apart...then it'll be tighter also.. more to the left and the other side more to the right...
its like sticking to my breasts loh..so tight.. how to leak??
hehe..

unless u have prob clearing ur breasts, there's no need to stop and massage every 5 min la..
once i on the motor.. i pump for 15-20min.. unless i busy online.. then i just let it continue to pump..since i busy typing away...
else 15min if i see got min 100ml, then i stop liaoz.. and my boobs will be play doh...
only last week when i stressed like siao..ss dropped... heheh..
but now all's well..

u try 15min straight, if got let down.. no need to massage..and with Freestyle, there's already a 2min stimulation.. no need to massage also la..
unless.. u got prob having let down while pumping or prob clearing ur breast...

<font color="ff0000">Michelle</font>
i was told my LC at Mt A..can keep for 48 hours then freeze leh.. i still double check with her.. after 48hours can still freeze, she said yes..
but i never try to leave so long la.. after 24hours.. i buang liaoz..

<font color="ff0000">Paige</font>
yes yes..come join us!! hehehe. :p

momoteh-reali ar? aiyo..then i stick on to using disposable ones bah. tks for ur info!

mei76-u punggol field too? wah..nt bad, got 3 of us here in same area!

jess-i oni let my boy wear mittens in the nite or when we go shopping centres where the aircon is cold. he doesn't wear mittens in the day, so he's always licking his drumsticks (aka his fists).

Girly, your gal looks so demure.

All, NTUC having diaper discount for drypers, mamypoko, ntuc housebrand etc. Also 20% off for Pigeon and Avent things.

Lina, I think some of the yoga centres like true yoga may have yoga for babies. I would be interested if we can form a private group.

Paige:
really envy u, your baby is so good. i try to switch off light during the last feeding at 9pm. usually he is full after latching on one breast, 9pm feed i offer both sides... can't feed him too much coz he has reflux. sighz, dunno when he can sleep through like your baby

Jess:
I remove my boy's mittens during day time. i file his nails like doing manicure so his nails are not so sharp, but sometimes accident still happens, he scratches himself and become 小花貓, or he scratches my breasts during latching, ouch

bbq
yah exams r over but my mom has gone back hm too and so did my capable maid who has been with me for 3 yrs plus. now im left with another capable maid and a super slow new maid thats why short handed at home so v busy lor! plus my baby bullies me these few days dun wan sleep in his cot in daytime so i gotta carry him all the time. can read all ur posts but cant reply! only today he naps since 2pm to now. oh God u dunno how thankful i am! my hands r breaking already, today i weigh him he is 6.6kg!

Paige
wah how u train ur gal ah? please show this mama to many kids some pointers? i never sleep train my kids, too lazy. always feel that when they r ready they will develop a schedule.

Why all your BB double eyelids so obvious?! - Jealous -

Mine is like sometimes it can be seen... Sometimes not -.-

Don't tell me she inherited my haywire double eyelids?!

<font color="0000ff">mamato6Js</font>
Actually, i have my mum to thank, she was the one who started the whole "training", and she's also my lactation consultant!

Its actually a routine thing which i got it started at wk6.
- wipe down
- change to PJs (she likes classical music playing in the background :p)
- bring her out, while i watch TV, latch her, one breast after another
- Then bring her into her room, dim the lights and she'll sleep. I'll say a short prayer for her then it's ME time all the way till next morning!

I think most mums here are doing the same thing, but I think maybe baby girls are easier to train? Plus my mum said when i was young, she did the same thing and I also slept through at an early age
so maybe she "inherited" this trait from me
?

Paige, I told myself to always say a night prayer with my babies but because they always fuss before sleep, I always "fight" with them and forget about it.

When can all of us meet up? Will be interesting.

FYI Robinson sale at expo starting tmw.

Paige,
Your girl very good leh, sleeps early and sleeps through. But I must admit, I have never tried to train my girl. Plus that when I fetch her from nanny, nanny has already bathed and changed her. I'm too lazy to have to changed her again. She still does not have a fix routine yet. Sometime sleep early, sometimes late. I will let her be. My #1 always goes to bed at 9-930pm. So just taking care of 1 baby, no so difficult. I am not hopeful that she will sleep through the night so early. But amazingly, we always give her bottle-feed at night, hoping that she can have a fuller stomach and so sleeps longer. Last night, I let her latch instead cos of engorgement. Surprisingly she sleeps longer last night (5 hours) instead of 3-4 hours if bottle-feed. But then, that is just 1 night, not conclusive.

Talking about engorgement, my "not-so-productive-boob" is a very weird boob. When it gets engorged (happened 2 times), it's very hard, but uneven like a few hard lumps on my breast. And no matter how hard I try, pumping doesn't help, can't pump out a single drop, have to "use" my girl to help me, she needs to suck for a few rounds before my boob turns soft again. While for my good boob, once engorge, just pump, and the milk just shooting out and it's almost double the amount than usual. It amaze me how come 2 boobs on 1 single person can behave so differently.

<font color="0000ff">glamourmum top</font>
Sadly, the <font color="0077aa">M Turquoise</font> is too big for me
Anyone wants to buy over?

<font color="0077aa">mampoko</font>
i did tat too =)
but i dun wan him to lick his drumsticks leh.. lol
worried he might get used to lick drumsticks as he grows older and dun wan to kick off the habit nex time.. worrisome me la

<font color="0077aa">waiwai</font>
oh.. filing.. idea hor.. but my bb dun keep still for me even when asleep... i oso scare might hurt his skin while filing...
cutting the nails already gave me a round of heart pounding scary experience... lol

girly, wow your little princess really looks like princess, unlike mine - looks more boyish eheheee !!

Sandwich + Cookiezzz
Just now meant to upload the pictures taken during lunch but encountered some technical problems. Hope it works this time round !! I know I am alittle late in uploading heehe unlike Sandwich ~ oh ya let me know if you want me to send you the softcopy via email ?

3199817.jpg
Titus doesn't like Amber, maybe Jacob will ???

+++ jpeg +++ 3199809 +++
Titus doesn't wanna look at my little princess Amber heheee !!! +++

paige
can i swap my gal with u?? ur gal is the ideal bb that every mum wants!! ytd battle with my gal ti 2+am and she still wakes ard 4+ for milk.. sigh... when will she slps at 9pm??

mittens
i still let my gal put on mittens cos she will scratch her face if i dont! but normaly after bathe i will let her play with her fingers first, airing them at the same time. Just this morning, she grabs my hair lor.. lucky she didnt pull.. haha.. and recently i realise she likes to bite/suck her mittens also. i dont want her to be sucking her fingers leh.. hmmm.. find it quite unhygienic to suck fingers esp when they start touching things.

girly
ur gal is so princesslike leh.. my gal is so boyish looking lor.. must be her botak head :p i haben upload my photos!! simply no time cos she's a terror day and nite... see later i free i upload to FB..

Hi everyone.. I had a tramatic night yesterday.. after leaving SMH, my boy woke up and afer feeding him EBM (cause just pumped) he stayed awake!!! Oh man.. his night has turned upside down cause he sleeps more during the day..

Then on and off I latch him on, entertained him till 7plus this morning!!!
I slept from 8am to about 1plus pm... now having splitting headache...

Now trying to organise my boy's birthday party for 2nd Jan 2010... cause invites to his classmates needs to be out before the Dec school holidays.. so many things to do..

sandwich\cookiezzz\lina
wow outing with bbies.. i also wish i can go out alone with bb shopping and meeting frens.. i still can't manage the MIM sling lor and my fren does not have time to come and teach me yet.. how to go out carrying her like that?? i only did once when i brought her to the PD myself and thank god she is happily sleeping throughout the journey.

Paige,

I would love to start a routine with my girl... But I CAN'T!!! I reach home from work at unpredictable timings! Q^Q

Do any mommies give their babies a bigger feed at night to ensure they sleep longer? I realize when I gave my BB 120ml FM once a day ( Last feed for the night ) She can last for 6-7hours. Now I am trying to go on full BM 120ml but she still wakes up after 3-4hrs.

<font color="aa00aa">momoteh</font>
I'm here. Been very very very busy and tired.. and now fall ill already.. so didn't have time to type...and even online... past few weeks still have time to browse through.. now i don't even have much time to be online...at most only total online less than an hour!!! So stress.. so many things happen.... feel like going to die already! SIGH...

i keep wanting to pump milk out also can't... pump liao no place to store... sian... house fridge a little sot.... scare later milk spoil i also dont know.... so end up i just keep latch latch latch.. easier also... i have so much to complaint also no time to complaint... and really very depressed... ):

WOAH! so many nice blink blink...! :) cool! I feel so stupid... i until now also never pump... having let down almost every feed at both side also just let it be.... i think i am way too tired and sick to do soooo much.... sian... i feel like a lousy and useless mummy..... buy pump buy bottles also never use to pump and store milk.... buy warmer have sterilizer also never get to use.... every morning wake up quickly back to mum's place so that i have proper meals... night time rush back to in laws house so that they have a glimpse of their grandson.... i only have 2 hands... but i have to do so many things... sometimes people still blame me say me STUPID idiot mummy... i totally going bonkas...

kam> for 1, not <48hrs wor. is <12hrs wor. those milk tat wan to be frozen, cannot be in fridge for more den 12hrs before and after taking out of freezer

so no 4 is oso <12hrs.

cookiezz> hha. tat time i saw mamypoko at shengshiong cheap, den i buy lo. den pple recommend pampers i oso buy. den i read dey say huggies ultra same as pampers active n mamypoko den i oso buy. den fitti n drypers is cos cheap =p

basically try all brands. so far have used pampers, huggies, fitti n drypers, i find drypers de best. as in cheap n good. leak ratio is 2 out of 200pieces. fitti leak ratio very high wor. 3 out of 20 -_- pampers n huggies tat time when i use i change bb very often. so no leak

pamelia> oo. so de breast shields only effective when latching bb on ah. okie lo. den maybe i get one set. tot can use to wear whole day den no need breast pads =x

shelled> haha. i woke up wondering to make siew mai or honey chicken wings. in de end i make chicken wings =p oo. i haven get my glamourmom tops. cant remember wat i order oso. need to go check email =p

momoteh> haha. when u give ur milk to bb. make sure u include both hindmilk n foremilk. else if u juz give all foremilk, bb very hard to full wor =p pple usually suggest mixing them tgt, den give to bb. to ensure tat bb gets both kinda milk at each feed.

jess> haha. i removed his mittens. sometimes he oso scratch himself so hard, he bleed n cry. but i guess he need to grow up. let him know tat it's pain to scratch himself. den he will learn =p

but when we go to cold places, i still let him wear mitten n botties

melissa> haha. my boss oso very flexible. till now haven know when i going back wk. maybe she knows my main concern is bb now. if ask too much wait i tender =x

rach> not sure leh. but from wat i c is cannot keep more den 12hrs if u intend to freeze de milk. hehe. dunno leh. but if ur bb take le ok, den shuld b ok? =p

bbq98> o. robinsons sale is at expo n not at robinsons itself ah? grrs. so far. most likely i juz go philips fair den -_-

<font color="0000ff">Pam</font>
BM is more easily digested as compared to FM...am really not sure what's the MAX you should give her because I'm still doing fully latch on for my BB, but during the day, she drinks only from ONE breast when she feeds, during her last feed she drinks from BOTH.

But really admire you,.. up and abouts after just one month of confinement! now can still go home so late and pump! simply amazing!

I'm back with baby.. Took her to my grandma's place for a while since it's along the way home. So glad her fever's gone. Just need to apply nose drops to clear her blocked nose.

Mel,
Just saw your post. I simply soak all the parts after pumping in hot water and a little salt. When it's time for next pump, I simply brush clean and rinse with hot water. I heard from the salesgirl that sterilizing tablets will cause chemical reaction and hence the colour change in the membrane, especially for Medela PISA or Freestyle.

Just bought Freestyle for $759 at The First Few Years at KKH. Going to try it out tonight.
Can't resist buying it. Also got a few boxes of Lansinoh milkbags at 10% discount off the original price of $17.90/box since I kept walking past the shop. Sigh. Really broke this month.

<font color="0000ff">milkyway</font>
Hang in there! i'm sure your BB will have a routine soon, but must be persistent...it took me about a week before my BB is used to the routine and slept right thru!

*paige*
juz talk to her, touch her chin she will be v happy liao, haha..by the way, me and hub haf double eyelids too by my #2 don't haf leh...whole family haf except her, poor thing, haha...all the other 3 kids haf...duno next time will ask if she was picked fr dustbin or nt, hahaha...ever wonder gt bring back wrong bb fr hospital or nt BUT HOR nt possible la coz she is my hub 'photocopy' lor!

*Lina*
Amber boyish meh? no la...bt anyway i find it hard to tell the gender of all bbs one leh...boy can look like girl, girl can look like boy. Steph oso said her prince like princess, haha...

wow 2 babies together sooo cute hor!!! Titus don't like Amber?? Wah then my Terrin gt chance boh?? HEEHEE...

*Milky*
My Terrin oso another botak head lor...nt much hair oso...yesterday was telling my hub if my 4 gals at their infant stage, their hair add togther oso can't win Kam's gal hair amt, hahahaha...

<font color="0000ff">girlygirly</font>
talking about 'whether bring back the right baby or not' hor, when i got discharged, the nurse at TMC asked me, is this your baby, make sure its the correct baby, then i was like what the !@##$! Man!! all babies at that time looks super similar lah!! how to tell whether she is the "CORRECT" baby!

<font color="ff0000">Milkyway</font>
You r not alone, I m also struggling with the MIM sling. Come on join us, we should be meeting again next week.

Pamelia,
I give my girl more EBM at night. If I k.o. early, my maid'll bottlefeed abt 150ml to let her sleep longer. FM's more filling so gotta give more BM to fill bb.

Princessxiaomei,
I also thought you went MIA. Try to relax by having some alone time with bb, listen to music you like or talk to someone you trust about your problems. I also went through a bout of depression when I was still a first-time mum. Actually felt better after talking to a stranger, the Staff Nurse from TMC who called me. So, just try to relax and not think too much at times. If not, you might end up having serious post-natal blues.

girlygirly,
Your girl's double eyelids are well-defined. I can only vaguely see my girl's at times. Worst, she's been smiling frequently at everyone else, except me. Wonder if I scolded her too much so she's frowning at me more often than not...

Paige,
Nurses at TMC are like that. It's their SOP whereas it's slightly different at KKH. The nurse at KKH will ask if I'm the mummy... So, which do you prefer??

<font color="0077aa">pam</font>
BM very easily digested that y bb tend to be hungry easily than having FM... im feeding both and i jot down the feeding times to chk the routine.

sometimes at ntie, after FM my bb will be hungry in 1-2 hours, so i guess he is pretty hungry to store milk in tummy

latching on makes bb more hungry easily cos my bb drink lesser than bottle feeding EBM...

im a bit pessimistic about latching on directly cos will disrupt the time betw nex feed...

<font color="0077aa">paige</font>
i remembered during my tmc discharge day, the nurse oso asked me.. if it the correct bb...
then i double chk the wrist name tag.. triple chk...
i scare i blur too... lol