(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

<font color="119911">flower4</font>
My bb also using bottle with pigeon peristatic nipple. So far so good... but then a again, maybe my bb tam jiak so maybe any teats also can :p

<font color="119911">Jul</font>
I used to feed Ian 90ml for nite feed, then this week increase to 100ml hoping he'll sleep longer but he never leh. Haha Dun dare to increase anymore. Good luck to you tho'!

<font color="119911">mama to 6Js</font>
You're the most power one! Your bb feeds every 2 hourly plus u have to take care of all your other big babies. Super!

mamato6js/jul> i'm de most evil. give my boy only 70ml. n if he fusses before 3hrs, i'll juz give him de pacifier, den he'll either go aiyah aiyah aiyah or elp elp elp =x

Looking at these amounts... My BB is 1 mth 10days? She's taking 100ml-120ml /feed... Wakes ups approx 3hrly in the day... 5-7 hours later after midnight... AM I giving too much?

Jul,
Thanks for the advice on diahorrea !!
Pam,
True not everyone is the same, just that recently these 2 days my bb don’t really like the EBM and being quite fussy + restless. Wondering if its something that i ate !!
Flower,
Don’t be stressed out, don’t be sad okay! Your well being is very important to your baby &amp; your hubby. There’s always a solution, stop having (-) negative thoughts otherwise may get into depression. Try taking some “junk food” ? When I am feeling low, I will take some CHOCOLATE or BUBBLE TEA. Both high in SUGAR , gives me a BOOST. Try chocolate.....( I have just asked the maid to help me get bubble tea) 

<font color="aa00aa">Pam</font> - Don't worry.. my boy same age as ur girl and is drinking more than that...

flower4,
Don't stress. POSITIVE THINKING, ok! Take a deep breath now...... If you plan things well, everything is going to work out fine.

Firstly - talk to your hubby. Ask if he is 100% ok to take care of baby alone. He must be honest to you as taking care of a baby ALONE is definitely not an easy task. Give him some scenario and see how he answers it. Eg, what would you do if baby crying very loudly and you are in the midst of doing "big business"? If baby cry non-stop for 10min, what would you do? etc etc. Then you can know how well can he handle baby.

If he can do it, then your problem solved.

If he can't do it, you CANNOT leave the baby with him at home alone. A man is still a man, esp if yours is a short tempered one, don't take the risk.

Plan for alternative help - your parents, PILs, relative, nanny, infant care, etc etc. Though is tougher financially, but at least can free up your hubby time, so he can do something else?

Then prepare yourself back to work. It's definitely a great thing if you can TBF all the way. But if you can't, it's ok, it's not the end of the world, no BM, just go for FM. Don't stress yourself up. I only gave my #1 very pathetic a few feeds of BM, but hey, he grows up wonderfully with FM, and he is actually a very good kid, that a lot of my forum mummies love him so much.

Come back to your baby. If baby rejects bottles, you have to know the cause. As you have listed down, temperature, the teat, the taste, etc. You can't test everything at one go, but to test 1 thing at a time. Nobody can tell you what's your baby prefer, only you can tell by testing out. TMC parentcraft also consults mummy to get baby get use to bottle feeding. I don't know the cost though, you can call up to ask. Sure your baby will take bottle once you find out what he doesn't like.

Lastly and most importantly - never blame yourself! Every mum is a great mum, you shouldn't and should never doubt about how much you have done for your baby. You just need to be relax and plan well. Plan A doens't work, you can go for Plan B, Plan C, D, E.... sure something will work out for me. Stay positive and all the best!

Jul,

My friend recommended me to read some sleep guides for babies by this author named Gina Ford...

it is actually quite useful for my friends and me... maybe u might want to get the book and read...

It is called "The complete sleep guide for contented babies and Toddlers"

Maybe u can try...

*flower*

like i said earlier i always read randomly one, juz saw u haf prob feeding ur boy wif btls...

It cld be the teat. my gal has been wholly on btls wif BM + FM during the confinement mth. i didn't realised she was feeding sooooo slowly taking at least half an hr to 45min coz it was the CL who was feeding her all the time. I feed a few times nia so when she was taking her milk so slowly, i assumed tat she was sleepy. Later i realised tat it cld be the teat! She was using pigeon btls and teats. my older gals using tollyjoy and NUK. the silicon pigeon teats are actually harder and difficult to suck. when i changed to tollyjoy, she takes oni 5-15min depending if she is hungry/sleepy or nt...

Don't stress urself wif BM or FM okay...both haf their pros and cons. Im nt bothered by this coz to me as long as bb doesn't go hungry can already...Only happy mommy can haf happy bb...bb can sense the mood within the family.

Lina, the side effect which I mentioned and experienced is more wind. (besides smelling like maple syrup and urine in maple syrup color)

Flower4, I am experiencing the same with my babies for bottle. They were okay previously till these 2 weeks, they will cry and scream and struggle during feeding.

I checked internet, there are a variety of reasons - temp of milk, milk flow speed, taste of milk, teat and possible oral thrush etc. So many reason, I also don't know how to tackle the problem.

Michelle,
Thanks for the advice.
Will decide abt the pump by tonight.. Anyway, my girl's slightly past 6 weeks old. She drinks abt 130 to 150ml every 4hr. If I don't latch her, her sleep pattern is quite fixed... If I latch her, she might wake every couple of hours for more.

Rach,
can PM me the details for the Medela Freestyle? IS it really handsfree such that I can multi-task with both hands while pumping?

Flower4,
You have to be strong and positive for your baby's sake. Can't remember where I heard it from.. there's no room for regrets but lots of space for repair and improvement. Convince your hubby that a nanny can take care of bb better as she has lots of experience while your hubby is a first-timer in taking care. So, make the best of the situation instead of blaming yourself.

RE: STRUGGLING DURING FEEDING

there's this possiblility tat bb's nostril is blocked wif nose dirt. when nose is blocked, bb can still breathe thru mouth BUT when they r feeding, both nose and mouth will be blocked!!! hw to breathe??? so they will behave like as though they r v hungry, sucked a while and struggle to break free, feeling frustrated and starts crying...

<font color="0077aa">cookiezz</font>
pls update when u receive and tried the "Japanese Pelvic Girdle – Effective for firming the hip"!!
thanks!!

i saw this previously too and thinking of buying it to slim! but dilemma dunno if it will work for me...

<font color="0000ff">Rach</font> ok, then I must hope and pray that either I fit M or supplier has ordered additional S. *sigh* But the glamourmum website said M size is for 32 to 35 leh, and I thought since I’m 34 so take M lah…currently wearing 34C nursing bra (but before this pregnancy I was 32B!)

<font color="0000ff">Babies who sleeps through the nite</font>
For mums whose babies sleeps through the night, do you get up to pump? My baby sleeps through the night for about 2 weeks already (she’s 8 weeks plus now). Well, on average about 7 hours, sometimes 8, sometimes 6 depending on her daytime activity…. and my breast feels like a ROCK after the 7 to 8 hours! I tried waking up to pump once and she refuses to drink my EBM! So, I gave to my dog. Now am thinking whether I should wake up to pump BM for my dog or just let breasts leak and leak…

<font color="0000ff">yummie tummie shortie</font> looks good huh!! anyone tried before? can help "slim" tummy and tighs ah?

<font color="ff3399">itsy</font>
If my #3 comes as planned 3-5yrs later, the pumps might also have broke by then lor. Or grown mouldy. Or something! But I also can get my money's worth by BFing these 2 buggers for at least 1 yr mah. FM x2 if I don't BF leh, I'm sure can get money's worth after a year lor.

<font color="ff3399">Michelle</font>
But rectified the problem liao, still doesn't work as well for me lor. See when my hubs free then he send for repair, cos now I have something else to use!

<font color="ff3399">rach</font>
It really depends on individual leh. See what your weight loss pattern has been lor. For me I tend to lose all over except boobs, so I know I can definitely pick the size that matches my bust measurement, since it's the only place that won't get smaller.

<font color="ff3399">milkyway</font>
I think she's just growing up, so no need night feeds as often! Congrats!!
Unwell babies will almost always be more fussy than usual, so if she's not, then means she's just reducing her night feeds lah.

<font color="ff3399">Steph</font>
You can buy Milkies Milk Saver from here: http://thebirthshop.com.sg/item_35/Milkies-Milk-Saver.htm

<font color="ff3399">Paige</font>
If your pre-preg bra size was 32B, then M size for Glamourmom is correct la. My "shopping sense" says so!

You also damn alternative, give BM to dog?! Any positive effects not? Maybe I give my BM to my cat also.

yo mummies,

honestly i like it when my breasts feels like a rock. Cos it is easier to express the milk.

anw any sling to recommend?
my BB likes to be carried. And i wanna hands free.

Hi Huishan

I am using 2 slings... pupsik pouch and balboa sling... both are good..

Balboa sling is easier to use, but the material is warmer....
so it depends on what u want... balboa more ex though....

<font color="aa00aa">shelled</font> - Yah, I saw but want to ask if anyone else interested then can get Rach's supplier see got lobang for it or not loh.. hehee

Paige
Hehehee, you have just made my DAY !! LOL LOL so funny give BM to your DOG !! U r so cute heheee. How do you manage to train your baby to sleep through the night ?? Starting from week 6 ? Tell me how !!!

Hollow, Huishan
Balboa Sling ?? I am using MIM sling, the one with the ring. Having problems with that though, anyone having the same problems or is it just me ? Now I am going to get the Pupsik pouch but hubby just bought the baby bjorn carrier!! Do you think I should just use the baby bjorn carrier, don’t get the pupsik pouch ?

constipation

Need advice. My bb hasnt pooed for 2 days already. She is on partial bf n fm. Her stomach is not bloated. I did do some tummy massage on her. Shld i bring her to see a pd?

<font color="0000ff">shelled</font> dunno whether there's side effect for dogs, but humans can drink COW'S milk, i reckon, dog can drink human milk, rite?

For experienced mum, how long will our breasts continue to leak? My breast leaks everynight, not comfy wearing a bra, so leaks everywhere! maybe I should consider <font color="0000ff">steph's</font> milkies-milk saver!

<font color="0000ff">lina</font> my mum lah, she was the one who suggested to give my 100ml of remaining BM to my dog and my dog slurpped it up, somemore lick lick her bowl until clean clean!

Like what <font color="0000ff">mamato6Js</font> mentioned, i gave my baby a sleeping routine, I will wipe her, put on her sleeping clothes at around 9pm everyday...then latch her on and she will sleep after feeding until next morning. Nowadays, she sleeps for 8 hrs, i have to wake her up to latch her because breasts feels like exploding already! (and can't be bothered to wake up and pump BM for my dog)

And i must also add, for those who are Christians, you can try praying, i think that was what helped my baby...i didn't do anything but a sleep routine and pray for her when she sleeps, to 'kuai-kuai' sleep through the nite.

recently my supply dipped...
I'm so upset..

During my #3 time, I will still feel engorged at times but this time, I never felt engorged before... Breasts also always soft....

Am really feeling depressed man.. I know I can breastfeed but I dunno what's wrong this time.. Argh!!!

Jul

i have the book.. where u stay? i can lend it to u no problem..

Lina

i also have baby bjorn..haha... but i think bb is too small for it now... dun really trust the hea support.. so i use sling first..

esp at home when she cry nonstop... put her in sling normally she will calm down

<font color="0077aa">bernice</font>
my boy has the problem too.. keep bringing him to pd and GP.. then met a new mom whom advised me to dilute the FM and we did so.. so the next day.. voila.. my boy pooed.. a out came 2-3 days worth of poo.. overflowed and super smelly... lol

so my boy poo-ing routine is like every 2 days once..

maybe u can try? =)

Steph,
Take fish soup? Drink more water? Rest more, if u are not well rest the milk wont come. Thats what happened to me.

Paige,
Really?? Simply wipe her down &amp; create a sleeping ambience + feed her then she will slp through. Did u keep him/her awake during evening time or day time so that he/she will slp through?

My girl usually slps quite well after 10pm feed, wakes up at about 1am or so. She slps after every feed, even 7pm feed.

jul

I stay in SK! haha... i pm u my hp number... u let me know when u will be in SK, see if can arrange to meet u or not... when u finish then pass the book back to me... mine is "The contented little baby book" which talks about feeding and sleeping as well.

mama to 6Js:
my gal also had jaundice, and went through phototherapy when she was 1 week old... so somehow i foresee that my boy would also have jaundice, but didn't expect it will take so long to clear

<font color="0000ff">lina</font> we normally play with her and try to keep her up for 2 hours before "bedtime", sometimes she's happily playing and goo-gooing away for 2 hrs,(very talkative girl) but sometimes she just refuses to stay awake for long...but i have to say my baby girl can just entertain helself in her cot with her cot mobile...

Hi Michelle,

Thank you so much for the information. I will check out momsinmind but you'r right, I probably wouldnt dare to give the EBM to my baby if it's for trial use. Even if I sterilize properly, you never know....

Hi Paige,
Heheh......you're very funny. Feed EBM to your dog!! But I face the same problem as you...my 8 week old baby is starting to sleep through the night but I cant let her because otherwise breasts gets too uncomfortable. So no choice, got to wake up her every 4 hours to feed even though she's ready to sleep through. Otherwise, I will have to wake up and express.

Huishan / Lina Liu,
Personally, I like the Baby Bjorn sling the best. I find it really easy to use and very comfy. I recently bought a pouch sling but found it so difficult to get the baby in and out of the sling that I gave up. I find the BB sling clips well-designed so it's very easy to clip baby in and out of it. And baby seems to like that best too.

Anyone getting the <font color="0000ff">yummie tummie shortie</font>? must get one size smaller or not? then can "compress" those flabby flabs...

<font color="aa00aa">Lina</font> - I'm taking Fish soup 1 serving everyday (bought from TMC), Longan water (still drinking), Nursing Tea (2 cups a day), lots of water... plus not forgetting Fenugreek 9 tabs a day!!!

I really pek chek liao.. how to have rest when no one help me.. I'm expressing 2.5 hrs interval then no time to rest loh.. I look after baby myself and day time I try to ask mum to help but once baby cry, she will knock on my door.. I'm like its not that he wants milk!!! maybe pampers wet or he's tired but mum keep coming to me!

How to rest!

I've bought the Sahara Tank - Green Camo Size 12 @ $32 and Eva Tee - Black Size 12 @ $37 but feels that it is tight for me. Will need 1 size bigger. Anyone wants to buy over? Will provide free postage.

I also have a brand new Balboa Sling - Geisha Trim to sell as I was given the same print from a friend. Do let me know if you're interested to get them? Thanks.

<font color="ff0000">Jul</font>
sigh....from 9am until now...she havent feed... jialat..
how???
thats 7 hours... i went out from 12plus till now..she slept in the sling thruout..
i reach home she woke up...she rooting for milk... but i shove in she scream like very cham like that..
how how how??
last resort is to warm EBM for her..
but i scared once she get used to bottle..then she dun want my breast anymore.. how???

the nite she fell, the next feed following the fall was with a bottle.....
was that a bad choice???
but yest she still latched a few times leh...
yest she had only 6 feeds in 24hours..........

today she already had 2 big pile of poo.... >.<"

will babies drink lesser?? at 7 weeks?????????

<font color="ff0000">Michelle</font>
ur baby is bigger than mine rite?? and u are only feeding 80ml???
faint..my girl that nite drank 120ml....

only can order those inside the price list loh..those that u want.. but no price de... means cannot order...
except for shortie can order..

<font color="ff0000">Kam</font>
man...shall i call Parentcraft and ask why my baby dun want my breasts????
whats the number??

<font color="ff0000">sonnig</font>
PM-ed u liaoz..
yes.... i pump with it and online at the same time.

u need to attach it to ur nursing bra...

<font color="ff0000">girly</font>
what u mentioned abt struggling is somewhat like my girl..but her nose not stuck!!!
and she been refusing to latch.. how ah???
she is sucking very hard on the pacifier now... but dun want my breast!!!!!!!!!!
is the pacifier the culprit!!?????

<font color="ff0000">paige</font>
32B... i think u fit S... really...

<font color="ff0000">Huishan</font>
we were having Pupsik Pouch spree previously.. u can consider..
www.pupsikstudio.com

else u can buy MIM sling..

What kind of breasts leakage are you talking about? Before the milk supply stabilises, most of us would be leaking day and night. But after it stabilises, there will only be leakage on 1 side while we're nursing our bbs on the other side. Or if you "overflow" at night while sleeping. Unfortunately, this kind of leakage will most probably never stop until you stop BFing...

Usually it's not recommended to buy shapewear 1 size smaller. Cos if it's too tight, it will start to roll up or roll down whenever you move your body. Just FYI.

Stephanie,

You BUY fish soup from TMC everyday? o_O Why don't you cook it?

My supply is yoyo-ing 3 hours 90ml-100ml-110ml up and down. I SO miss my 100ml on 1 side and 50ml on the other... >.<

Rach,

Kairi feeds 5-6 times a day... I see her gaining weight.. So that should be fine... =3

Why your girl may reject your boobs can also be because the flow on the teat is faster.. Whereas the boobs they have to work harder for it.. Don't give up... =)

I latched Kairi 2 times this morning (As encouraged by you and Shelled.) And we slept side by side one another. But I noticed she wakes up before 3hrs if I latch.. And she wakes up at near 3hrs when I feed her EBM. =3

Something funny happened this morning.

After I latched her, we slept side by side, it started to rain. My back was to her and when the thunder struck, Kairi got startled and hit my back... I was asleep and I got startled by her smacking my back! XD

<font color="0000ff">shelled</font> I see, will leak until i stop breastfeeding huh? I get letdowns more often than I latch my baby on...so it does drip on occasions.
Then, like you mentioned one side nurse, one side drip lor...*sigh* so i will be dripping and dripping until i stop breastfeed, huh...

hollow

Sms-ed u liao. Thanks!

rach

Er.. as I mentioned, maybe u shdn't shove in? Anyway, here's the no. to call for Parentcraft : 91193502

Unfortunately, that is how most women are lah. You might be lucky and not drip once bb is older! Having easy letdowns is a good thing if you're pumping, but not so fun if you don't. Truth be told, half the reason why I allowed myself to stop BFing J last time was cos I got soooo sick of leaky boobs and constant breastpad use! It's damn unsexy leh. And things just got worse when he started sleeping through the night. Each morning I wake up is swollen, painful, wet, and cold (due to wetness kenna chilled by aircon). Really sucked, man.

But now that I'm nursing and pumping so regularly, I can actually sleep bra-less and pad-less! Hopefully this shall help in making me more open to the idea of BFing super long-term. (Must get back my money's worth on all those breastpumps!)