(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

Shelled,
JUst now was sleeping ~ didnt see your request so I have sent u a request.
Girlygirly,
Aiyo everybody soo busy with their little princes/princess & abusing our breasts, who R free to SPAM.

<font color="0000ff">shelled</font>, oh, didn't read all the post before posting earlier...so how's the new Medela PIS treating you? It really mistreated my nippies...i only pump once a day, ermm, for 2 days, as i was going out with hubby during the wkend (mum feeding baby) I'm already giving up (for the time being) as nippies does hurt while pumping, somemore I only turn the knob to max, '12-o-clock' position!

<font color="ff3399">Kam</font>
Yah, my wallet is bleeding from buying pumps.

<font color="ff3399">Paige</font>
The Ameda was spanking new, but unfortunately doesn't seem to work well with my weirdo boobies. The other moms seem perfectly happy with their Ameda pumps, except mine that behaves so inconsistently.

The Freestyle costs a jaw-dropping $900++ if I get it straight from the shops here, and despite the cheaper price tag, i can't wait a few wks for it to be slowly flown over from the States! My boobs would have exploded by then!
I'm ok with it not being handsfree, after all, the Ameda also not handsfree mah. I can change TV channels leh, even chat on MSN by typing with 1 hand. Just have to hold the bottles in with just 1 arm lor.

<font color="ff3399">Lina</font>
Hurhur, later when you kenna spam by SMS, or kenna prank calls, you don't complain arh...
Received your request! But still not seeing you online! Aiya, must be my MSN msgr acting up again.

Just saw your latest post. Hurhur.
Am in the process of stripping the PISA parts and sterilising them before I use for the 1st time. J woke up with a fever today, so he's extra manja (which means I have less time &amp; energy). Today is one big headache day. I wish I could take 1 day unpaid leave. Oh wait... I already AM unpaid. Sheesh.

Michelle:
Actually... i dunno how much my boi drinking now.

Just agar agar use 150ml to est. his feeding amt in another few more weeks time then i freeze loh. I lay the bag flat so that it's "evenly fat" when frozen. Each bag cost close to 40cents wor, and hopefully at a lesser risk of getting boxed by the environmentalist <font color="0077aa">pamelia</font> :p

shelled:
You threw the funnel+bottle on the floor, J didn't pounce on you ah?? hehehe... enjoyed reading yr blog, i forced hb to read the "kew" &amp; pump story and he also luff.

1k on pump... who says BF-ing saves money??

Rach:
i dunno! that's why i asked. We've been sterilizing like mad for pump + bottles + using sterilized milkbags... suddenly dun have to do so for the tray &amp; using normal ziplock bags??

sterilizing tablets
will it have a strong chlorine smell?
what brand are you all using?

online shopping> sian. i m addicted to online shopping. too free at hm until i start buying not only for me n bb, now even buying hubby's clothes -_-"

shelled> wah lau. 95+150ml. madness. din even manage to get 150ml from both sides before -_-

huh? u bought the pis liaos? madness!!!

bbq98> huh? will poke into our back one ah. erms...

haha. i oso got one glamourmum top i bought from shelled last time. de lace one. de boobs really too tight la. but i simply refuse to sell it off, cos i like it so much. even remove de clothes tag tat came with it, so i cant sell it off =x

rach> ya. juz now i saw i pour in 195ml, but in de packet, it looks like 210ml. lol =p

oo. i measure sizing by boobs only. cos glamourmum sizing i need take L according to boobs. but this one de L size all seems ok to me leh.

kam> haha. tat's de good thing abt having 2 kids. one dun wan, juz give de other. so wun waste things =p

Recently my BM seems to look very yellowish in colour, was alittle concern that’s why went online to check it out. Apparently my BM have upgraded from foremilk to hindmilk (finally). From the same article there’s something interesting to share with you girls.

“The color of breast milk can also vary based on a woman’s diet. If a woman eats a lot of yellow vegetables such as yams, squash and carrots, the carotene in the vegetables can make the milk yellowish (this is still considered safe for the baby). If a woman eats foods or drinks beverages with food dyes (such as sodas, sports drinks and gelatin), it can tinge the milk pink, orange or green, depending on the color of the dye. Some medications can also change the color of breast milk.”

Michelle, not the back, the front. I am not sure if its those girdle with thin vertical wire kind or just like our tummy binder that is more comfy.

flower4:
I TOTALLY agree!! coz when you pump/latch, you surf net. And 1 of the most frequent site i go to now besides here is.... <font color="ff0000">"Marketplace &amp; Exchange Corner: Bulk Purchase"</font>!!!!
kaoz.. spend more $$ than when i was working!

My gal is having some congestion in her nose, like having flu and she can't blow her nose. So brought her to SBCC AMK alone. Was a walk in so waited almost 2hrs although I reach at 9.10am!! The staff told me to call to make booking next time. I was like T_T how I know she'll b ill rite? She says can call at 8am as they start receiving calls then. Next mom I heard another staff says cannot take in anymore appt. So I'm lucky that I'm last.. Otherwise might just have to go any other places. Suspect my gal got her flu from hubby who was down with flu, cough, sore throat last wk and still not fully recovered but we took precautions for him not to carry baby and wear a mask.. Guess these r not enough. So heartache seeing her having difficulty breathing and she's only 1 and half month old. Lucky her flu is not serious and PD did not give oral medi just nose drops only. And I've to continue monitor her for cough, breathing difficulties and fever. Lucky brought her to PD after noticing somthing not rite last nite..

michelle,
me whole day til now have not do any pumping!!! i sooo sleepy &amp; tired. sleep &amp; sleep, and bb oso feed &amp; feed every 2hrs.. no chance to pump...

Pressure, pressure!!!
to lost weight.
to search nursing top.
to get enough EBM
to make store EBM storage enuf backup
to get more glass bottles..
to find way to get bb more better in handling. sleep longer &amp; etc.

aiyo.. mummies really not ez to handle hor. is it because of BF ah? if FM will less stressful right?

momoteh.
indeed. alot of things need to change for BF. like clothings &amp; etc.. and BF products.. and they are not cheap!! see top secret , glumour tops Bravo bra. &amp; etc.... costing very high.. where go save $$$, milktray, milkbag.. freezer , electricity.. water bill argh..... supplements for increase milk supply also not cheap on top of all these.TIME tooo.

we are tooooo engross to BF forget to stop &amp; think for awhile, which now time not allow us to think.....

for bb benefit too we are trying out best to give them BM.. leser complications to spend on medical fee, I HOPE....

momoteh> wait till u start going to online spree section. haha. tat's worse. i started with bulk purchase corner when i was pregnant. now is online spree. killer. one website can shop 300+

flower4> haha. i woke up to pump once at 6am, juz now pumped again at 12pm. nxt pump shuld b at nite liao =p

haha. i oso need lose weight. nursing top not much an issue. can wear normal top n cover with nursing cover when i wanna feed. i move on to milkbags liaos. glass bottles super waste space la.

ya. fm less stressful. cos one feed can last longer, n can get others to help. no need thinking of pumping n pumping all de time =p

shelled
so y bought the PISA?? Wow 1k on pumps is no joke.. Jiayou in pumping!!

flower4
yah I know no need to sterilise but like that clean mah?? Hmm... I'm so confused with all these sterilizing stuff.. Guess I just follow the "la sup jia la sup dua" rule lah :p anything also can and chin chin chye chye lah

<font color="0000ff">milkyway</font>, my baby also had blocked, runny, stuffy nose past week because first, hubby caught the flu, same thing lah, sore throat, runny nose etc, then I got it and passed it to her! My advice: Let her drink as much BM as often as possible because BM contains the antibodies which the babies need to fight the infection/inflammation.

I did that and my baby recovered very fast! Am still sniffing and nose still blocked but she's fine already

<font color="0000ff">shelled</font> wow! 1K! Hope Joshua gets well soon...I really salute stay at home mums, esp those who has no extra help, i really don't know how you guys cope! you should be paied more than a CEO!

connie,
4 months of jaundice is quite long... my's going for PD review in end nov. hope it clears by then, otherwise i will see if the PD recommends any intervention. i was having a dripping nose yesterday also. today a lot better. but couldn't take care of toddler so he was sent over to my mum's place. i continued breastfeeding, cos a lot of antibodies in the milk to help bb fence off the flu.

lina and cookiezz,
i don't mind meeting this thursday for lunch at anchorpoint. i have some vouchers from zhou's kitchen to use. otherwise, we can eat inside the mall. i've been thinking that i want to try swissbake or xin wang.

lina,
where are you going? i think i can't fit into anything from cottonon. the cutting (for the tops) is so tightfitting!

cookiezz,
leave me your email add then the three of us can discuss abt meeting up via email.

stephanie,
so geeky and sweet. i think the GF will sure accept his proposal. my husband didnt do anything to propose but we got married anyway, hahaa.

kam,
woah, you and pamelia are the first to go back to work. i can't imagine how my childcare arrangements will be in january. the infant care centre that i enquired (same centre as my boy) doesn't have space till april. and i haven't found a bbsitter in the neighbourhood yet!

michelle,
are you still signing up for driving? i want to take lessons from jan to apr 2010 if possible, so should i go and register with the school now? i only have basic theory at the moment.

sonnigt3,
i don't think i spend a lot, but when i buy stuff my husband's not in the position to complain abt my spending habits cos i'm spending my own money too ...

bbq and flower4,
i also have a glamourmum turqoise M size top to sell. got it from huichern, but M is too big for me ... so it's sitting in a pile of clothes in my living room now. flower4, if for any reason you're interested in turqoise, let me know. i can measure for you =)

flower4
yah so heartache lor.. See her so young and seems to b suffering. Last nite she can't slp well and keep crying. So angry with hubby cos he was frustrated with her cries. This morn after seeing doc. I so angry and SMS him say he's the one who makes her suffer so he has no rite to b frustrated with her..

Pd says she could have gotten the virus from daddy but nothing serious cos no inflamed lungs. So just give nose drops to clear her nose.. Hope will clear soon..

Flower4, it's the mentality. For me, it was very stressful x 2 because I had to supply for two and yet my breasts failed me. Later, I learnt to take things easy and pump for "leisure" and my bm supply went up. The amt is still miserable compared to many of you here, not even enough to feed one, let alone two. If I keep dwelling on why I am such a failure and how to make my BM supply increase, I would have gone mad. To me, BM is good but it's not the best thing I can give my babies. FM is good too. I believe most of us grew up on FM and we are not sickly. I also joke that my babies, being on partial bm and partial fm, get the best of both worlds. (Bfeeding supporters, pls don't stone me.) Now, instead of shopping for Bfeeding related stuff, I can start shopping for things for my kids.

<font color="0000ff">Glamourmum top</font>
Ermm, for those who mentioned that M is too big for you, what's your bust size measurement ah? I'm also afraid that it might be too big for me...still waiting for my FIRST glamourmum top from Rach's spree...

<font color="0000ff">hollow</font> I tried on Morgan...but didn't like the 'shape' as much as Sahara. If i didn't remember wrongly the material is also a bit thicker.

paige
yah PD also say BM helps cos if the antibodies but my gal dint seem to wanna nurse today leh.. 3-4hrs interval and only 10mins... Used to b 2-3hrs and 15-30mins.. So worried also.. And she's sleeping more today when she seldom sleeps so much in the day!

After reading all the posts, i guess all first time mummies are going through a new stage of our life.

For the first time in my life, im actually washing clothes and i tot i will be scared of the poopoo but well apparantly when is yur own child i guess you just know u have to do it haha

baby cayden is down with colic since yesterday midnite..so poor thing crying no stop..get better only this morn then gets better so heart pain to see him cry till his whole face so red...
Start thinking what i have eaten that causes so much wind in his tummy..

Anyway hang in there TBF mummies!!!

paige,
my bust 33.5 inches when not full with milk. it's not the bust area that's too big for me, but the areas between my armpits and collarbone, because there are "gaps" between the top and my body. and a tank is supposed to be fitting.

lina,
that's an interesting article. i've never expressed out pink, orange or green milk for #1 before, hahaa!

shelled,
i want to read your blog too ... can share the address?

<font color="0000ff">milkyway</font> oh dear, my baby wants to milk every 1.5 to 2hrs when she was ill because i realised that after she nurse she can breathe better, i think she has a lot of phlegm, so when she drinks it helps her swallow the sticky, thick phlegm. Hmmm, but sleep is good too, because my baby fusses, don't want to sleep, i think she finds it difficult to breathe when she sleeps (very noise breathing sound, can choke and cough while sleeping kind),so if your baby can sleep, it means she can breathe well, let her sleep lah.

<font color="0000ff">sandwich</font> thanks for sizing info...alamak, I'm also around there, I wear nursing bra size 34 leh...<font color="0000ff">Rach</font> the glamourmum if cannot fit can exchange for different size if supplier ordering in more?

sandwich> i'm so bz with bb now to even think abt driving. hubby say when i go back to wk, den i learn lo =p i dunno if i wanna sign sch or wat still. erms... suppose to go for advance theory before i deliver one. but i juz haf to deliver one day before my booked test date -_-

milkyway> lol. so bad of ur hubby to be frustrated wtih his bb's cry. grrrs. u did de right thing telling him off =x

paige> i'm 38c so M size is too small for me =p

<font color="0000ff">hollow</font> - Sahara has an empire cut, the bottom area more fitting, or rather flow more nicely for me... but Morgan is just straight cut, maybe its my body lah, the one i tried on fits bust but the other areas are pretty 'loose' and shapeless lor, so I thought not much shape :p
But the bright side is that its longer than Sahara...and material a little thicker
and can camouflage tummy

Paige
yah she also has sound when breathing last nite like difficulty breathing that's how I discover something wrong. Today also found her couging and choking in her slp!! But already back fr PD. Did ur PD prescibed any medi?? Mine only gives nose drops so don't know if need to bring her back for the cough?

<font color="ff3399"> Lina</font>
Eh, I'm online virtually 24/7. I think maybe my MSN conk out on yahoo email addresses again. Like what it did when I tried to add some other moms with yahoo addresses.

<font color="ff3399">momoteh</font>
Must BF both my boys for at least 1 yr to get my money back lor. Sobs.
J was sleeping when I threw the stuff lah. Otherwise he sure smack me.

<font color="ff3399">Michelle</font>
Ya, Hubs got the PISA today during his lunch hr and delivered it home to me. 10mins gave me 110+95ml! I'm in loveeeeeeee. Hahahaha.

<font color="ff3399">milkyway</font>
Wei, I already very jiayou liao hor. Jiayou anymore I got no more "you" left!!

If only get paid more than COE... iF ONLY!! *grumbles*
But at least J can appreciate my effort to pump and give him BM. Better than nothing lor.

<font color="0000ff">milkyway</font> for babies below 3 months, there are no medication. Nope, I didn't even bring to PD! (I have a friend who is a PD but not in Spore so just happen to be on msn with her), she advice no need to bring to PD unless she has fever as PD can't do much and can't give medication for babies <3 mths.
My baby sometimes coughs out the phlegm, can see yellowish-green thing amidst her curdy puke.

mummies who already start off your baby with FM,which formula did u opt for?my son at birth 2.7kg now at 7wk plus he already 4.4kg?izzit ok?so far i tbf him.

milkway,
My girl also got flu and cough from my hubby last week. Lucky he didn't make noise about her cries... think he KO after taking antibiotics and flu tablet so no chance to hear bb's cries. Anyway, she's more or less recovered since she's on TBF. I didn't even apply nosedrops... just used the Pigeon nasal aspirator to 'suck' out the mucus a couple of times.

shelled,
hope J recovers soon.. Babies don't fuss so much as toddlers when sick. I was literally drained when my 3 older kids came down with stomach flu earlier this year. Heng, my maid's quite capable in helping me take care of them.

sandwich,
I'm a shopaholic. My husband always nags when I buy things as they tend to take up space at home, especially the kids' toys. So, this time round he's not complaining though I've spent 3k or so since it's my own $$ and I'm not asking him to foot the credit card bill.

Seriously thinking if I should go back to work earlier... I seem to be spending more while on leave... I take my hat off to the SAHM who can be thrifty and take care of their kids so well without help. Think my expenditure will be skyhigh if I stay at home for too long.. I'm already planning to drive to my grandma's place tomorrow and take her out for lunch and shopping after expressing for my baby girl. Think I'm not just a bad mummy but a terrible one.

Baby with breathing difficulty.

Yesterday morning HB woke up and woke me up asking me if there was anything wrong with my BB Kairi. She did seem to be struggling to breathe. I saw there was mucus so I tried using the NUK nasal aspirator on her.. She cried whilst I was using it... And after 5 mins of left and right suction.. A big piece of dried ( You know what ) came out... If I were her I would be crying my lungs out... Nasal passage so small... That thing so big. >.<

Seeing all the yields of above 110/session... I am envious!!! Looking back at my yields in my 1st few weeks. 150ml >.<

Those that get more than 110ml/session. How many hours interval is that? I do it like every 3-4 hrs and all I get is 90-100ml >.<

Is it a MUST to massage before pumping?

Paige
oic.. Ok noted that babies < 3 months can't take medi.. But my gal got the Ridwind medi for her wind leh.. Nvm.. I don't think my gal has phlegm cos her coughs/chokes sounds like when she chokes on my fast letdown. Will continue to monitor...

shelled
okok then don't Lou you k :p hehe

Sonnigt3
hmm.. I can't see the mucus leh how to suck out?? Anyway u don't have the aspirator. Mayb I'll go get one. I can only hear the muscus in her nose leh

Shelled,
I am also online 24/7, now I am afraid that my laptop will EXPLODE heehe. If it explode I will simply die of boredom
How do you guys add colour to the text here in the FORUM ? Type in WORD doc then copy here in the Forum issit ?

Sandwich,
I will be going back to Abu Dhabi with my husband, I came back just to pop my girl out. Husband came when I was due, left when little Amber was 10 days old. Left us alone sob sob
(drama mama mama). Will will head back soon..

Actually saw the Medela Handsfree set at Taka yesterday, selling at $998. Was very tempted to buy but my hubby stopped me. Said he already bought Avent manual pump for me after my girl spoilt my Medela single electric pump last year so I shouldn't be thinking of buying... After all, he thinks it'll be a white elephant when I stop breastfeeding in future. He's sure I will stop when my girl turns one yr old. Sigh. Is the Medela Handsfree excellent? If it is, think I'll go get it tomorrow before I tell him... 先斩后奏 

kiki, angeline, momoteh, Jul, sandwich, Lina:
thanks gals... got the blood test result and PD said my boy has "breast milk jaundice" as he is TBF, and said that there is no problem and i should continue TBF. so relieved that his liver has no problem

milkyway
what nose drop did pd prescribe? iliadin? if yes, thats good enough. her cough is actually caused by the backdrip of her mucous so it will be worst if she is lying down or sleeping. if her cough is not that serious, dun worrry abt it. once her nose clear, her cough should clear too. its not good to medicate babies as young as ours actually. mine also recovered on his own. he was havg difficulty to nurse at the breasts so for that 2 ddays he drank total ebm from bottle

milkway,
All you have to do is to tickle her nose and make her sneeze and then can suck out liao.. That's what my brother taught me. He's practising to be a GP so I learnt quite a bit from him, including my cousin who's a final year medical student...

heard from my brother it's not good to medicate babies as they will become too reliant on medication, thus making their immune system weaker and more susceptible to common illnesses. So far, I don't let my 4 kids take much medication, even for fever. Hope their immune system will be stronger when they grow up without taking medication as much as possible.

Waiwai,
Glad everything is fine with your BB !! When I click to post the msg on the Forum, I was like shit forgotten to ask the rest about you ? Then there you are with your good news !! heehee So zhun.. only if its 4D yeah.

Oh no, I think I am addicted to Honey Milk Tea (Bubble Tea) ummmmm Bad BAD drink right ??