(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

rach
i'll use a tissue to wipe dry the parts first, but without taking apart the membrane portion. so basically just wipe the parts that i can see got milk...so far so good..hee..but then again, baby also don't know how to complain if i'm doing it wrongly..opps =P

Rach,
I am using Avent ISIS Auto Single pump.. tiring to hold on to it. Very tempted to get Medela freestyle.

Just fed her 60ml EBM, then latched on for 5mins then she dozed off.. Bit by bit introducing my breasts to her.

<font color="ff0000">Kris</font>
ooh..icic..

<font color="ff0000">Lina</font>
yah...thats why from now on, i'll always recommend dual pump.. if mummies are into pumping..
as long as u need to pump.. dual is always faster and better...regardless how often u need to pump.. even once a day also more efficient.. hehehe...

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Yummie Tummie</font></font>

www.yummietummie.com

Closing date of Order: <font color="0000ff">27th October, Tuesday 10pm..</font>

Those who are still interested please send me ur orders fast.. supplier will contact u for payment!!

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Bravado Nursing Bra</font></font>

www.bravadodesigns.com

Closing date is <font color="0000ff">25th October, Sunday, tomorrow 10pm.</font>

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Nursing Poncho</font></font>

www.monpetitjardin.com

any more orders?
Seller going away next week.. so if i cant confirm at least 10-15pcs by Monday, we'll have to wait till she's back from overseas 1st week Nov.. and we'll only get the stock ard 2nd week Nov... so if anyone still interested, let me know by Sunday 10pm, then i'll place order.. MOQ 20pcs...

pam

hmm.. yrah i know what u mean by time pressure. also, i think if u latch her at nite, then u can't pump enough to feed her the next day, slao stressful right?

i got my milk trays!!! sent to my door step by the postman... too big to put into letterbox.. waahhaha.. ehhee...

i'm pumping now..so just nice i can use it.. hehehe.. :p

I wonder if the yummie tummie will help trim the waist n tummy or just to create slimming "illusion" when wearing it?

<font color="119911">Rach</font>
Now that u mention it, even if I shift my pump to study room also got problem cos my duo pump is not hands free. Must hold with 2 hands.. hahaha like machine guns!
You pump for an hour! You mean the longer we pump, the more milk we'll get? I tot it's fixed amount of milk and as long as you pump till your boobs feel soft, they're empty? I always pump for about 15 min only.

<font color="119911">Pamelia</font>
Why were u crying? Cos of the pain? If so, then why u pump for so long? Take it easy lah sister, if your boobies are sore, even more difficult to increase milk output. Dun stress dun stress

rach> will u be doing more than one time bp for this yummy tummie? cos thinking of getting one piece to try first. den if really tat good den get more. else later buy 3, not effective. den sian 1/2

not all prices available means cannot buy those with no prices or wat? btw, lacie shuld be lacie cami hor? den tank is tank lo. i still thinkin which to get

mamato6js> ya lo. was thinking of buying it to put in bb's room. den sometimes he can nap or play there. sort of like his play area. oso thinking whether to get de gate to distinguish his play area =p but all in all, will be quite costly wor

kiki> not sure abt de diff size designs. but it does looks de same to me.

karen> hubby say he wan buy something with video instead, no urgent now oso. cos bb sleeping in de same room as us to facilitate breastfeeding him at nite =p

shelled> so which top r u getting? still thinking whether to buy 1 or 3. see whether rach will be doing a subsequent bp if dis yummy tummie is really good =x

jul> it's ok. i've not clean my boy's tongue too =p

momoteh> haha. ya lo. obviously bb have enugh milk, cos he can merlion so much. means super full liao la

flower4> hha. i got many many bottle la. used abt 30 now. but not all 90ml. some is 45ml. cos i wan dem in small quantity, den can feed bb depending on his hunger level. aiyah. dey wun ask la. i even went to collect for my fren before. haha. tat was before i deliver =p

de only question dey ask is how many bottles u need. my reply is olways as many as possible =p

i nv sterilise after every pump. only sterilise once every 12hrs or 24hrs, depending on de number of times i pump. other times i juz wash n keep in storage container.

kris> np. juz dun mind sharing my milkbags with u all first. since i no hurry to use them

bbq98> ya lo. i oso wanna know if yummy tummie is hide de fats or help eliminate it too. so costly!!

itsy> i oso pump 15-20mins each time only. pump so long only damage my nipples n dun really get more milk

Yea its expensive...
very tempted to get it but the funny thing is I am still struggling to latch my girl on. Have yet to be able to feed her one full meal via breastfeeding. Yet I am gettig the nursing top.

Milk stick -
My #1 so cute - she saw the milk stick and asked me what issit so i sae ice cream stick then she asked for 1 to try. she likes it and she took 3 sticks le. lol

<font color="ff3399">Jul</font>
Time to move with the times, technosaur!

<font color="ff3399">momoteh</font>
Hahahaha. This Jul also very cute. Well, at least she HAS an acct, just that it's dormant!
"We must have SMRT's spirit k? Open more &amp; more lines!" -->

<font color="ff3399">Lina</font>
Mine's also 40-60ml between feeds, and when I started power pumping, my boy was already 5wks old lor. But don't worry, supply slowly will increase.

<font color="ff3399">bbq98</font>
Yummie Tummie is shapewear, so only "creates illusion". But on the other hand, due to the constriction of the midsection while wearing it, it'll prompt you to hold in your tummy, thus toning your abdominal muscles. Alot of other slimming girdles/shapewear works the same way as well.

<font color="ff3399">Michelle</font>
Probably only going to get the Nursing T. Cos other stuff buy already also no chance to wear now. God knows when I will stop BFing lor.

<font color="ff3399">happykae</font>
Do what you would usually do to remove ice cubes from ice tray lor. Flex the tray before turning it upside down (on top of the tray cover, so your milksticks won't get dirty) then press the back of each slot and it'll just pop right out!

Eh, fantastic! Now she can have EBM the frozen way!

Shelled
Thanks for the advise. hmmm tis way the milk stick will melt alittle right? So after transferring to the ziplock bag I can actually keep the milk for up to 6mths in deep freezer?

I told #1 she can eat tis ice cream everyday.

Yummiestummies,
I like 'freedom ' but guess no stock le. maybe can try 'tank' or 'boyfriend' but cant make up my mind to get the regular or long.

Yummie Tummie -> I think you can measure your body length and see which length u prefer?

I'm not too sure about how long u can deep freeze cos my milk doesn't get to stay in storage for that long leh. My oldest milk now is 18th Oct's only. Maybe one day I will have enough to keep in deep freeze for 6 mths.

Itsy,

I was crying not because of the pain.. It was because after 1 hour of pumping I got less than 50ml when normally I could get 150ml in 30 mins. Even if I was sore, I was so depressed I couldn't feel anything. Even up till now... 30 mins max I can get 110ml? Still depressing but crying is tiring.. X3

*happykae*

LOLs...u #1 so cute...think kids juz luvs stuff tat r cold...my kids enjoy even juz plain ice cube, haha..btw, ur #1 is 2005 bb??

RE: CALENDULA CREAM

by the way, any one has any idea how often can we apply the cream per day?? only once a day? or as often as required?

Shelled,
thank you. sure, i believe one day you will hv too much that you need to store in deep freezer.

Pamelia
Dun be sad - when i was nursin my #2 i faced the same problem with you. I pumped 1hr oni get abt 40ml. After getting advise from my sister who total breastfeed her son for 1.5years, she told me not to abused my boobs. to increase milk supply we should pump/latch every 2-3hrs however not more then 20mins as the nipples will get hurt and sore.
Maybe you can try to relax yourself before you pump - you must get rid of that mindset that your boobs is producing that little of milk. Be postive and make breastfeeding a breezeful thing.... dont be over stress. Cheer up babe. you're doing very good le. i believe your baby is proud to have a mummy like you who try her very best to give her the best gift in the world.

<font color="ff3399">girlygirly</font>
I dunno leh. I only apply for them once a day cos they not v jialat case.

Don't want lah. Then like that I definitely have to buy chest freezer liao. I already need to buy another NEW pump cos apparently my Ameda isn't working out very well for me. I can't "don't focus" on the pumping cos have to adjust settings up and down to stimulate letdown.

<font color="ff3399"> I went to TMC ParentCraft</font>

Ytd had to go to TMC ParentCraft to see LC about "breastpumping issue". They made me use their Medela PISA and I got 80+100 (3hrs since last pumping) in 3 letdowns and 15mins flat. And both boobs "playdoh" liao.

Using my Ameda, I can only get 60-80ml per boob <u>on a good day</u> because max I can only get 2 letdowns. Bad days when I can only get 1 letdown, it's only 40-60ml per boob.

Then often I miss the timing to adjust the settings to slower cycle to "express" instead of "stimulate letdown" because I really can't concentrate on pumping and still keep my eyes on #1. Ppl pump, I also pump, why I pump like goondu like that...

It was also then that we found out I have some small hard lumps deep inside my boobs, cos my pump hasn't been able to empty out my boobs totally. Naturally they did the torturous massage on me, and OUCH! pain like siao. The other mommies were giggling at me lor.

The LC checked my Ameda and said everything ok leh, so maybe it's just "user error". Cos it's not fully automated, meaning I have to change the cycle settings at the right time to pump efficiently. She machiam hardselling Medela PISA saying how it's more technologically advanced than the Ameda, how Ameda used to be better until the PISA was released, etc etc.

So now Hubs is trying to convince me that we should get the Medela PISA since it's fully automated and works very well for me. But I'm very buey gam wan about the $365 that I already spent on the Ameda. I was crying so many times ytd cos I'm so stressed lah!

Shelled,

Welcome to the "regret purchasing our current pump" club. LOL

Freestyle is also automated with memory setting and handsfree! But more exp... XD

Having used the PISA and Freestyle... PISA is actually more noisy... FU FU FU FU FU FU sound it makes... But Freestyle gives out a drowsy noise... I will definitely doze of if I wasn't doing anything... XD

I don't regret buying it... ( My heart ached whilst paying for it ) But it saves me my strength and sanity because if handsfree, I won't have to keep looking at the quantity by distracting myself by doing other stuff.

Happykae,

Thanks for the support =3

I am actually trying to pump every 3 hrs if I can. Max delay would be 4 hours at work. But when it comes to after midnight I would pump 5hrs later. ( Because I will feel "wet" as my boobs would be leaking and wake up. ) After my last pump at midnight I would "AIR" my nippies as recommended by the LC's. So the milk would be trickling down my chest when I leak. XD

I am racing against my machine timing sometimes at work when I am pumping. I will always set a 20mins+ when I have to let my customers hair process... So as I sit my butt on the chair.. I have to clip on my pump is the shortest time possible... I don't even have time to massage and express the excess after I pump sometimes...

Bah... Kairi better know Mama went through so much shit for her. >.<

Jul,

When I used to latch her in the wee hours of the morning... I would be holding her and "nodding off"

I have tried the lying down position. But I feel that my boobs isn't emptied well in that way... And I am also afraid that I would squash her if I K.O completely. XD

It's contradicting... Latch more = more supply. But latch more we won't know how much are they drinking! And then if they haven't had their fill.. They'd be screaming their lungs out, fussing to be fed again... Pump = not every efficient in emptying. But pumping enables us to know that they are full and will sleep longer!

<font color="ff0000">bbq</font>
hahha...yah.. but if it will be there always to "squeeze" the flabs.. i think in the long term will have a little effect as well??
just like how wearing binder long term will trim the tummy??

but dunno how tight it is...

<font color="ff0000">itsy</font>
i used to have single pump only...
and i'll switch left to right to left to right... still got milk..
depends on what is ur definition of soft... when its empty its really like play doh...
very very flabby kind...
why dun u try for 20min and see if anything else comes out..?

like shelled says she has 3 let downs.. i never check and notice how many letdowns..
nowadays i only pump 15min..sometimes i never check the timer and too engrossed with forum will be 20+min... then i off..
sometimes still got milk coming out...but i just off it..
coz i pump just to relieve the breasts..not for consumption yet.. so i dun empty empty it..
but i ever tried pump 30min with the dual pump.. still got milk at the end de...
u can slot ur pumps into ur nursing bra...and secure it..it can become handsfree too..

actually even if u empty ur breasts..and ur bb suckle... stil will have milk come out de.. just that he/she gotta work hard to suck for the new milk to come in..

just rem demand = supply...

<font color="ff0000">Michelle</font>
i dunno how many sprees will be doing.. hahaha... depends on demand!!
haha...if after this round... more people wanna buy again..and we can hit MOQ... (which i dunno how many..)
then we can organise another one loh.. but its soo exp.. not sure how many will want anotehr round..

to be safe, i order 2... 1 tank, 1 boyfriend.. hehehe. just trust shelled's recommendation..wahhaha...

lacie is lacie tank i think...
not the cami..there's lacie Tank...

<font color="ff0000">Happykae</font>
oh ya u reminded me.. i got take a look at my milktray now!!!

when did u receive ur milk trays? i only got it today leh..

its not ready yet..still not hardened... 4 hours liaoz..just now i pumped at 130pm.. mmm.. okie...
think shelled mentioned 6 hours??
but the instructions say 3 hours.. maybe my freezer not powerful enough. haha...

you just twist the milk tray different directions..like how u take out ice cubes.. i tried just now can leh...
but the milk not totally frozen yet..so got liquid milk flowing out still...

later i'll twist again..the material is made to be flexible and elastic..so just twist..dun worry..

btw, shelled, the ziploc for snacks is soo small... how u squeeze in 5 milksticks ah??

huh?? so u gave ur #1 frozen milk ah?? hahahha.... how she eat it? with her bare hands??

<font color="ff0000">shelled</font>
eeh.. i intend to wear the rest now leh... just flip down from the top or see how i can wear it while still BF. wahhaha...
the most is 1year rite? hahaa.. but by then scared too big liaoz..if i SLIMMED down.. wahhahaa....
wonder to get current size or to get 1 size smaller to accomodate my future size.. hhaha.. *being so positive here..*

u getting Medela Freestyle ma?? kekeke.. :p
but no ready stocks de wor..3 weeks...

hahhaa,...just read ur next post.. Freestyle freestyle!!! hahaa..

<font color="ff0000">Pam</font>
i dun really agree with latching dunno have their fill or not leh... coz latch they'll latch till they're full..
and the most is they wanna latch again in hrs...
but if u wanna stimulate ur supply.. i would really suggest u latch once or twice a day... ur supply is not such that u are totally empty in the fridge now..
scarly who knows once u start latching..ur supply increase leh???
coz when u latch, then u dun need to pump for another feed liaoz ma..then after latch u pump again.. like power pumping..which shelled is doing..

Rach,

When I go back, I race against time too... Race to quickly shower, have dinner, wash my bottles/pump and sterilize, take her back from my IL's room.

By the time I'm done with dinner, I'm almost 1/2 dead. And sometimes when she wakes up, I've just emptied my boobs not long ago ( Though I don't know if it's completely emptied. )

I wanna latch too.. But it's tiring. =(

Are your babies sleeping longer hours in a stretch now? Mine is drinking the same ml in a single feed but drinking 1 less feed per day. I am not sure if that will affect their growth. Anyone has any idea?

Re the lg mat, seems like it's quite useful. I think I will get it for my babies so that they can play on it while I watch tv. May I know if it's easy to clean and if it is waterproof, ie will not absorb any water or urine leakage?

glass bottles
may I know how to sterilise the glass bottles?? Can use the steriliser??

sterilizing of pumps
no need to sterilise evwrytime after use?? Hmm.. Wat do u gals use to store the used pumps with?? I find it very troublesome to wash, sterilise for use leh.. Was wondering if I return to work, does it mean I need a steriliser in office too so I can sterilise after each pump??

sandwich: Happy 1st month! hehe let me know if your caterer is good!

BB: my bb girl always want ppl to carry... chao guan can. Empress don't let me "train" her leh.. haven cry for 5mins she go pick up then tell me, eh she really want ppl to carry. Put down cry pick up again. Really drove me mad. Hope things will improve after 1st month... haiz

dream feed: heh tried dream feeding her last night and it worked, she slept longer lo! hahaa my colleagues say feed on demand.. whatcha all reckon?

LG mat: looks pretty useful but expensive leh T_T

water absorbent pad: I removed the pad from my girl's cot as i think it's too hot... She doesnt like to sleep in it in the afternoon some more.. only can make her slp in it when she is in a deep slumber.

Milkyway, I only sterilise my pump once a day but wash after every use. So far ok. I don't sterilise the milk containers, only the mlik bottles that my babies drink from.

What is dream feed?

lina,
thanks. we had a good first month celebration today. i stay at dover actually, so that's pretty near redhill. great, we can meet up for a meal or afternoon tea at anchorpoint/tiong bahru plaza. i always bring my boy to these two malls on weekdays, cos bored staying at home alone with boy.

happykae,
your girl is so cute!!! my boy has never eaten ice cream before because of his diary allergies. now you make me tempted to want to express and make breastmilk ice cream for him too, hahaa.

girly,
i am using the calming cream range. and i apply like nobody's business. within a day, i can apply 5 times on the same spot if it's dry/itchy.

gina,
thanks. didn't use a caterer. full month party was a high tea buffet at zhou's kitchen (a restaurant at anchorpoint).

Hi mummies,need some urgent advise here. My baby will be 5 wks old tomoro, and during her last check up (on Tuesday), her PD said that she still has jaundice, and suspect the jaundice is due to breastmilk. Her PD advise me to stop breastfeeding her for 3 days, and suggest to pump out the milk 1st, but feed her with FM. Today is the 1st day that we feed her total FM. I dont think that i can tahan for 2 more days, feel like giving her my breast each time she cries for milk. Though initially she is not on total breast feed, i tried to bf her each time she cries, but will top up with FM if she is still not settle down. Any mummies have any experience with breast milkjaundice can advise?? thanks!

girlygirly
my #1 was borned in 2005. Yeah, I believed all kids love cold stuffs. The moment she heard ice cream ,her eyes bling.

shelled
Y not - if yr supply reli gd u shd consider getting a freezer. Since u're intending to change to another pump. Y nt make ur investment worth while by feeding ur children wif ur breast milk for another 1 year - 2years. Like tis can save milk powder $ meh.

I believed a gd pump is impt - I'm using Medela PISA although noisy but it can reli empty my boobs and oni takes me 15mins. each time after pump, my boobs like jelly so soft.

Pam,
urs is more to time management le. I guessed ur client will be understanding too.
Like u, I preferred pump to latch. Dunno y my baby take long time to empty 1 side, each time I latch, sure take more then 1 hrs. Best is less then 30mins, she'll cry for more milk so no choice hv to warm up the EBM for her.
Nevertheless I will still latch her 2-3 times a week for bonding purpose.

Rach
I received my milk tray yesterday.
Hmm maybe I put directly into the deep freezer hence too cold(-17 degree ) so difficult to take out.

Initial she ate wif her hands but too cold so she used a spoon and bowl. In fact Im worried she doesn't like it then there goes my 30ml of FBM but she seems enjoying and even asked for 2nd serving. The funniest part was she fed my hubby a mouthful of my FBM and she sae 'papa nah ice cream, nice? Tis ice cream is very gd, will make u handsome one.' Then hubby replied what ice cream is tat? Wif a strange look. She sae' mama's milk so nice right.' then my Hubby gave me a look. And we all hv a gd laugh.

Sorry to disturb mummies.
I'll be popping in 1-2 months. Anyone who wants to sell unopened NB Pampers or Mamy poko diapers, please PM me. I posted at WTB thread but no response so far. Collection at Tampines or free delivery preferred. Thanks.

Shelled, so far ok leh........actually, if we had used detergent to wash, should be ok right? For milk bottles, I also only sterilise them once a day though throughout the day, I may use them many times. If need to sterilise then I better do it.

Thanks for the info on dream feed.

rach.. tot i can save the money since i got package at rustic still.. n prefer going out for massage instead of at hme ley.. like no shiok feeling hahaha..

pam.. dun cry ya.. they say stress will affect supply also right? I feel the pain for you lo.. 2 hours of pumping

Kris.. i din even wipe wor.. i tot i read fr previous post can just put the pump in air tight container then put fridge and use for next pumping? hehe so far didi ok ley

yeah.. shld rec'd my milk tray next wk!

was having dinner w my friends just nw.. experienced twice let down.. damn painful lo! they all tot what happen

oh ya.. i'm doing a bp on hairclips.. hehe see if you all are interested or nt...

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/3138570.html?1256364160

<font color="ff3399">bbq98</font>
I think it's ok lah. I always feel that despite washing + steaming + sterilising water, there's still bound to be some germs/bacteria/etc that gets around. Don't think there's any way we can be 100% clean. But I guess when it comes to storing our sweat &amp; tears (aka BM), can't help but be more careful. I think it would suck big time if store away in deep freeze, then sekali 3 mths later bring out and try to use, then all spoilt due to some bacteria that was in the container. Sibei wasted.

For bottles that bb drinks out of, I think once a day is ok lah. As long as it's washed after each use? I'm still quite n00b when it comes to sterilising bottles for bb's use. I only recall that when J started on FM – therefore requiring the use of bottles – I would only sterilise once a week.

katherine
do u make headbands? my gal gal is botak leh.. hair is not long enuff to clip :p

bbq98
u wash after pump then wont it defeat the purposes of pumping?? even bottles u also do the same?? hmm.. think i very kiasu leh.. i will sterlise even after pump and after feed.. but since can put in air tight container then in fridge.. mayb i'll do it.. hehe.. gotta get the lock and lock from ntuc then... think the only think i bo chap is pacifier... i used to wash the pacifier with hot boiled water every time after use or if it drops.. now i bo chap, only sterilise once a day then wash with tap water already keke..

but not sure if glass bottles can go into the steriliser leh.. anyone using glass bottles can advised?? i got 2 glass bottles from TMC parentcraft.. tot of keeping them for storage. TIA!

shelled
i'm confused liao! so no need to sterilise after every use for bottles one ar?? washed with tap water and soap then considered 'clean'?? hmmm...

shelled
sama sama!! i got more EBM at TMC Parentcraft too.. wonder if it's the massage tat's works or the pumps there or wat!! but i'm using Freestyle leh.. so i presume it's the massage and the environment?? hmm...

happykae> wow. wat a good way to feed ur kid =p

shelled> lol. i like de lacie leh. anyway i use nursing cover everywhere. so lacie oso ok. juz remove strap of clothes fr one side, den one breast outside, can feed bb liao. now tat's how i feed bb outside with my normal wear now too =p

haha i still got some sept milk in freezer. cos i choose which bottles to use based on de capacity of milk in de glass bottles. 90-100ml ones too much. save for when his feed increase. my boy still small. cannot drink too much =x

sian lo. juz when i thinking my ameda not power enugh, u oso wanna get new pump. pls dun leave me behind with my ameda. slowly ba. we shall make ameda wk hard =p

girlygirly> i usually juz apply calendula cream as n when i feel like it. no fixed timing. i nv really apply on bb. more on myself last time when my stomach was so itchy due to de stretching of skin =p

pamelia> yaya. juz try to pump as often as possible, but short timing each time. this way it will tell ur body tat ur bb needs more milk, n ur body will start producing more milk. n when u r pumping, try to put tat at de back of ur mind by engaging in other activities. dis way ur body will haf de letdown reflex more easily. cos de more stressed u r, de less milk u produce

rach> oh. no lacie cami? can order tat? how much. wat is lacie tank. erms. so confusing

bbq98> de lg mat shuld be waterproof. so many design n some same size n thickness. dunno y so many diff price. dunno which to get -_-

milkyway> ya. can sterilise glass bottles in steriliser. at least tat's wat i do =x

<font color="ff0000">happykae</font>
hahahahhaa..so ur HB ate ur FEBM!!!!!!!!! hahahahhaa....
ooh..but ur gal knows that its ur milk! i tot she tot its ice cream.. hehehe... :p

I don't sterilise glass bottles. If we don't put glass bottles in bottle warmer fearing that they would crack, we shouldn't put glass bottle in steam steriliser because steam temp is higher than 40 degrees.

<font color="ff3399">milkyway</font>
They only massaged me after I pumped 3 letdowns leh. The amt I got after massage was only abt 10ml. Gotta clear out the lump by pumping out the milk wor. So I'm quite certain it's the pump that worked for me, and not the massage.

<font color="ff3399">Michelle</font>
90-100ml is too much?! How much is your boy drinking now?

<font color="ff3399">Glass bottles</font>
I've got 2 from ParentCraft. No caps though. Who wants? Can wrap in brown paper and mail to you lor. Or come pick up.
They gave it to me to put my EBM cos alrdy past K's feed time when I was done with my appt. Pity K hated the NUK teat, and I ended up latching him.