(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

Lochia,

After 1 month...This Sanitary Pad wearing is starting to get VERY ANNOYING. My Asshole used to be sore due to abrasion with the thick maternity pad... And now, it's another area getting sore with the sanitary pad...>.< Lochia Lochia go away... T^T

My New Pump,

Definately saves me the energy, time, and my nippies... =3

Greedy Baby,

Kairi is 1 month 6 days and she takes 100ml - 120ml. Is that considered greedy? XD Because her belly button is also quite deep.

cleaning the layer of milk on baby's tongue
i realised that there is quite a thick layer of white white thing on my gal's tongue. i'm assuming its the milk residue. was asking my friends if need to clean it, and they said yes, if not over long time might grow ulcers???? that sounds quite scary. so i asked them how to clean? 1 said use wet towel and stick your finger into her mouth...er, like that can ah? the towel probably got flint and not to mention doesn't sound very hygenic? another said use cotton bud! i'm like....huh? cotton bud? what if the bud comes off or she accidently swallows it??

so i went to look around kiddy palace and found this thingy for cleaning the tongue. so happy! but came home, i realised its too big! its suppose to be for infants, how come they don't make it smaller i wonder. my gals mouth have to be double the size now in order for the thing to even go in!

<font color="aa00aa">kiki</font> - TMC ParentCraft sells this cotton "cloth paper" type of thing that can use for bathing...

Its super good, dun tear easily, can be washed.. I bought 2 packs and now baby 1 month old already still using the first pack only. I only throw when it tore after like continously use for 2 weeks.

1 pack inside got a few pcs... and only costs think $3 plus...

We use it to "brush" tongue and bath baby..

My mum insist on cleaning the tongue and gums

update of my visit to LC at TMC Parentcraft
ok found out the prob with my gal.. she has too much wind in her tummy causing discomfort as well as her short and frequent feed.. so i gotta massage her now and burp her frequently to help her get rid of her wind.. anyway the LCs there are quite friendly.. was helped by Li Qin and Lilian.. both are gd.. hehe..

<font color="aa00aa">kiki</font> - I'm using My BrestFriend Pillow... Its a double thumbs up!

I used it during my #3 time as well and it really helped me a lot... TMC ParentCraft also using it when teaching mummies on latching...

bbq/LG mat
seems gd ar.. but hor.. looks big leh.. dont know if i got place to put at my place.. is it soft or hard type ar?? 15mm only.. not very thick leh..

<font color="ff0000">kiki</font>
dun by my brest fren.... but the kiddy palace cheaper one better... $40++
softer n more flexible to use..

i clean my gal's tongue every bath time in the morning with the wash cloth....
mouth first then face....

bbq98

what don't u like abt the nursing pillow?

stephanie
anywhere else sells this "cloth paper"? TMC like very far. what does it look like? So how do u clean it? Just stick your finger in? does bb fuss or cry when u do that?

rach
oh is it? okie, i will check out the kiddy palace one.
u use washcloth ok ah? how do u get her to open her mouth? i can hardly get my gal to open her mouth. the only time she will open is when she is hungry!

mamypoko diapers
anyone here using mamypoko diapers? how to tell if the diapers is S or M size ah? coz i received a diaper cake, but there is no size stated. i'm using the NB size now, the design is the same, but it looks slightly bigger. for mamypoko, are all their S,M,L sizes the same design? the pooh bear one?

ask her to open loh...
girl girl...open mouth...then once she does.. stick it inisde and start diggin. hahahaha...

i am sad... my boy was supposed to take 6-in-1 today, the first sight of my boy then PD said he still has jaundice and asked me how come never go see her earlier. coz pple comment that he is tanned... but he is actually yellowish!! i am not observant at all! feel so stupid. PD drew blood from back of his hand, left hand cannot, then right hand... heart so pain to see him kena poked twice. but he fussed only when the blood started to come out. result will be out tomorrow, hope it is not liver problem

Milkyway, I am not too sure about the mat but I have a lot of friends who have it and I think it's quite a good place for babies to crawl or play on. Furthermore, it looks very colorful and sure will attract bb's attention.

Kiki, I didn't like it because it had to be tightened below the breasts and it makes it difficult to switch your bb from one breasts to another. For a pillow, eg, if I start on right breasts, once done, I can just pull the pillow to my left and let the bb latch on the left. Also I think a pillow provides a bigger surface area for the bb to rest on. But you must use a thicker pillow. Personal preference.

if u see my FB pics.. i use that nursing pillow... let me post a pic...

3146350.jpg

this pillow can put in front of my waist... can also put at my side for football hold... so its quite versatile.. at nite i use it to put my legs also... sometimes rest my head....
its soft and yet hard enough such that when i first had stitches, i sit on it in front of pc... so that i'll be slightly relieved.. hehe.. :p

<font color="119911">KiKi</font>
Kiki, this is old school method...I simply use a length of cotton wool, wet with cooled boiled water, spread thin and wrap around my pinky, then like what Rach said, ask bb to open mouth, stick my pinky in and start digging! LOL Must wrap at least half your pinky, cos once I wrapped only the tip and the cotton wool got "lost" in bb's mouth! Big scare! Luckily I manage to dig it out.

rach,

wah, your gal so guai ah? mine won't open if she doesn't want to.

hmm.. i think i've seen this pillow before. anyway will take another look when i do go kiddy palace. thanks for posting the pic.

waiwai,

*hugz* u couldn't have known since bb looks more tan then yellow. don't think too much until the results are out, maybe its not that serious!

bbq98,

oh... ok... hmm, i also worried later i buy already, then i don't like it.

<font color="aa00aa">kiki</font> - Its called Bold Wipes... eh.. I dunno if other places use it or not cause I only got to know it cause baby was born in TMC.. they use this to put under baby's head in their plastic "cot" in the hospital so in case if baby pukes, it will not seep through...

They said its 100% cotton...

Where u stay? maybe I can pass you a one pc to try?

For brestfriend, cause I'm bigger size so rach's type of pillow's not suitable for me...

I find that brestfriend is very stable, I used to latch #3 in the middle of the night and still at the same time surf and chat with other mummies.. heheh lets me have at least 1 hand free to do other things... sometimes if say I am sitting down comfortable, in fact can both hands free also... lol

Actually if you want to change position of baby, can just flip baby over to the other side, or just breath in and pull the pillow to one side to football hold position and latch.. can one...

I also recommend to my friends and its definately a very good helper

itsy,

do u mean like the cotton pad (facial pads) or must get those one tube of cotton wool type? ya! thats what i'm afraid of also! the cotton wool getting 'lost' in my bb's mouth then she accidently swallows it. can get choked!

stephanie,

ohh.... yes, i remember the piece of thingy they put in the bb's plastic cot. my gal also TMC bb.

i stay in woodlands. nvm, no worries, when i go guardian, i will look around. thanks for the offer though

<font color="0000ff">mamato6Js</font> thanks for Iliadin info.

<font color="0000ff">rach</font> yeah, I ordered glamourmum from you
but am eyeing the clearance item from bebelove, so the sahara top only $32 and eva top only $37….

<font color="0000ff">mattress protector</font>
For those using the babySafe mattress, do you use a water proof mattress protector? Doesn’t it defeat the purpose of having aircirculation….am so confused…have been using the one I bought from babymallonline but hubby was saying “don’t use, baby feels hot!”

<font color="0000ff">storing sterilized bottles</font>
Must we wait until its dry then store? (and how to dry? i don't have drying oven) And how to store? I just put them in zip lock bag and throw in the fridge…is this acceptable? First time trying to pump and bottle feed my baby,…need to go Jody’s place to try on the Sahara top tomorrow

kiki
I'm using mamypoko diapers. The designs are the same winnie the pooh design.

The nursing pillow which Rach post should be the cheeky bon bon nursing pillow.

-> cleaning baby's mouth
TMC nurses recommended using sterile gauze. Wrap around ur index finger n make sure u use ur thumb to 'kiap' the end of the gauze to prevent the whole thing slipping into baby's mouth. Do not insert more than one-half of ur finger joint else baby will gag. Just swipe once sideways then remove.

Dun think cotton wool is to be used leh, cos there will be fibres coming loose even when it is wet?

WaiWai:
You're not stupid lah, there are always things to learn in parenthood and that's why we share our experiences here. Your boy is so brave so the mummy must be brave too k?

MILs
Why issit that all MILs have the impression we are STARVING their grandchild ah?????
Wonder if their sons are GLUED to their breast 24hrs last time???
haiz...

any mummies here have extra lansinoh milk bags lend me first??? or sell me also can
i already ordered from spree but it wont reach me in time
i'll go collect =)

waiwai

dun be silly. how're u to know? anyway pd is supposed to tell u he has jaundice, not the other way round.

it's ok, sam also had jaundice. even after tanning, hospitalisation, tanning again still jaundiced! but once past 1 mth, my pd said there's no worry of it attacking the brain. i did the liver test too, n everything was ok.

pd even said to stop tanning him. sam's jaundice only stopped being obvious at abt 8 weeks?

paige

u can just screw the cap on tight after sterilising then leave the bottle on the table for up to 24h. tmc's antenatal class advised can do so.

*wai wai*

R u still TBFing ur boy? if u r, hopefully it's juz breastfeeding jaundice which will resolved on its own when bb is abt 3mths old...

*rach*

ur gal has so much hair...if my gal has this much, think i will clip her hair wif those cute cute clips, heehee..

<font color="ff3399">bbq98</font>
Not that i'm an expert at pumping, but I don't think it's advisable to abuse your boobs/nipples in order to get as much BM as possible. Maybe you can try pumping for 15mins every 1.5-2 hrs – that's how I got my supply go up. Abusing them will only make it more painful to pump, therefore leading to inefficient pumping due to pain/bleeding. Like the strawberry milk, now all have to throw away.
It's not worth it, babe. Slow and steady wins the race, k? *hugs*

<font color="ff3399">Michelle</font>
It's called "Murphy's Law".
Hopefully diaper won't leak again. Next time must be "pantang" cannot say won't leak.

<font color="ff3399">Jul</font>
It's YUMMIE TUMMIE. Not "yummy tummy" lah. Makes your tummy look flat and "yummy" (aka sexy)! hurhur. Or are you thinking of food again?!

<font color="ff3399">flower4</font>
How you gain 5kg during confinement?! You really enjoy the food huh??
I also gain 20kg during pregnancy with #1, but not so bad until knees pain leh.

<font color="ff3399">happykae</font>
At least she drinks lotus soup! My boy is a big fan of soups – both Western and Chinese types. As long as it's soup, he lurves!

<font color="ff3399">momoteh</font>
Last time they don't BF one lor. At least 99% is give FM one, so no such thing as baby glued to boob!

I guess I'm lucky cos my MIL is 100% supportive of BFing, which I find really odd cos all the older folks her age tend to tsktsk against BFing. I complain dual electric pump so ex, she said it's worth it it's worth it, cos BM is priceless.
She never factor in how tired I get from washing+pumping 7-8 times at least a day, on top of watching 2 boys! She so happy that #1 is drinking EBM, keep saying how his face look so healthily flushed, I feel like asking her to sponsor the pump for her precious grandsons...

HI all SEPT mummies

Just to share. Anyone interested to get the AVENT Philips baby monitor can get from THE FIRST FEW YEARS... I just bot the $249 model at half price.

shelled:
The problem is, my MIL does BF and she has LOTS of milk loh~!

She kept saying how her milk will squirt out when she lift up her shirt in the toilet, how her sons drank until they make the "errk errk" sound etc etc...

Everytime my boy cries, she'll goes "oh, he's hungry issit?" or "oh, still want to drink ah?" or "aiyo, didn't drink enuff ah?" I dun know why, but it makes me boil each time i hear comments like these and I get very hooked up and irritated.

But to be fair, she's very nice to me lah. Makes tonic and buys good food for me to bu3 my body during confinement and sometimes she serves me instead of the opposite.

Just fed-up with my first breastfeeding journey. Sometimes jus feel like expressing out and bottlefeed and let EVERYBODY see for themselves how much is their precious son/grandson/nephew drinking 算了... Dun keep asking me questions i dunno how to ans, ask the baby themselves whether he had enuff or not lah!

Shelled,

My MIL is supportive on BF too... =3 She even wants me to latch as much as possible but my supply dropped so no choice but to supplement FM once a day at night =(

You mentioned pump every 1.5-2hrs for supply to go up... So I will have to keep washing and sterilizing? I may as well attach the pump to my body and sleep if I don't have to keep washing.. LOL.

Shelled, I used to pump once every 2.5-3 hrs but I find that too stressful for me because I didn't have the time to rest nor bond with my bbies nor bottle feed them. Now I only pump 4x a day but the amt I got is surprisingly more than when I was expressing 6-7 times a day. That was why last week I was asking if it's true that bm flow will peak during the second mth (because my friend told me that).

Momoteh,

I got fed p with my BFing too... Especially when my supply dropped... I can cry for a whole hour whilst I'm pumping for 2 hrs...

Baby is ours... So just 1 ear in 1 ear out. Don't bother about what they say.

bf,

Anyone have bb that feed almost every 2 hrs and drink 150ml per feed? Is this norm?
Whenever my bb make noise, cry, MIL will feed her. Sometimes, feeding is hourly. 150ml drink 2 times within 2 hrs n next hrs come again.
I only able to pump 150ml every 3-4 hrs.

breast pain
Any idea cabbage is place on the breast, does it include the nipple?

Diapers,
I prefer mamy poko as it can stand longer as compare to fitti n diapers. 1 disadvantage is it is too thick thus if ur bb have rashes, need to change to pampers which is thiner. fitti n diapers stick on cannot use twice. it will be cheaper if u buy from M'sia.

rach> which of de yummie tummie is suitable for nursing? only nursing t? how to choose color? is this supposed to be worn inside our usual clothes or wat?

is lacie cami = lacie tank on ur price chart? den bare bank halter = wat? skinny tank n tank diff is de thickness of de strap? erms. shuld juz get de cheapest n wear inside my nursing wear hor? actually no need specifically get nursing top. cos all de top i can juz pull down one side de stripe, den cover n feed, since i use nursing cover, cheaper n nice =p

is de effect very good? cos de tops not cheap wor. if really buy, i think i dare not throw them into washing machine. =x

flower4> wow. where do i get this bai fong wang? now i lazy to pump agn. cos freezer full of milk supply. abt 20bottles of 90ml -_-" dun wanna store too much.

wat is top secrete. u all really bad influence. make me spend all my pay while on maternity leave -_-

kiki> yaya. i bought de M size mamypoko. oso pooh bear one. bought it cos it looks cute =x

bbq98> ya lo ya lo. oso find de mat looks good. though costly. but need to convince hubby to let me buy. cos it's so costly. he was oredi compaining the play gym tat i bought at 139 very costly. now this one. i think he faint. =x

kris> u wan u can borrow mine n return me nxt time when urs arrive. i stay bukit batok or where do u stay?

shelled> ya. now must keep saying my boys diapers olways leak. heng i haven started using de fitti tat i bought. else i sure put all de blame on tat brand =p

is de yummy tummie really so effective? cos it's really costly. thinking of getting 3. one lacie n 2 tank =p but is it really worth my money???

karen> how come de bb monitor promo not on deir webbie?

momoteh> can understand how u feel. haha. cos when my mum or dad say bb hungry again. i will oso feel damn agitated =p

<font color="ff0000">girly</font>
hahaa.. i didnt buy any clips leh...:p

<font color="ff0000">Michelle</font>
only nursing t is for BF..
but i love the tank, bare back and racie too!!!
not all prices available leh..

<font color="ff0000">LG Mat</font>
not bringing in coz too complicated...

<font color="ff0000">Connie</font>
if i didnt rem wrongly, cabbage shdnt cover nipple..
and dunn use too long &amp; much...will reduce supply...

angeline
if ur baby has normal congestion, its quite normal cos baby has very narrow nasal passage thats why sometimes u hear them snorting n grunting. unless u r sure she has caught a cold or something and its disturbing her sleep and she cant breathe then u try iliadin. cos i always try not to medicate my baby unless very necessary. or u can try the sterimar spray, to keep her nose clean. its basically just aquous nasal spray, harmless. but a frd told me if ur baby has nose infection and u use that u will aggravate the situation.

bbq
i have the LG playmat. if u ask me, i find it v heavy n bulky unless u have a dedicated area to lay it. dun even think of using it like those play gym mat, play and keep, cos its really heavy. but i agree its a nice place for baby to play on, material is good. v cooling and toxic free and can even nap there LOL.. but its really not cheap!