(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

Hi Kiki,

I put on a total of 5kg since the start of my pregnancy. I never really worried about the weight gain cos I knew I would gain more starting from the 2nd trimester. Like you, I had a 'growth spurt' for the last 2 weeks and I have to admit, it's a bit disturbing. Hopefully it is only a phase and the weight gain will slow down soon. Stomach popped out and feeling much heavier these 2 weeks... GRRRR..

Wah! You didn't gain any weight the last month? Maybe the baby doesn't grow steadily like we all suspect. Maybe in spurts then it rests.. hehheh

delfine,
yup on the hindsight, hubby is just concern about me and bb lah.. anyway i'm okie now.. hee.. back fr the conference already and busy with work till now.

about weight gain,
hmm not sure how much i've gained from my last visit. Don't have a weighing machine to weigh myself at home.. but as of last visit ard 16 wks, i've gained 3kg from start. I don't seem to be eating alot. But my gynae says i would be gaining about 2kg per month. So i don't expect a huge weight gain when i visit on Fri. hopefully...

delfine,

yep, not to worry... i think should be ok lah. i've this weight chart, so i'd check against it, if its in range, then it should be fine. i think you can find it online... u enter your pre-pregnancy weight and height and it calculates for you the ideal weight over the weeks.

delfine:
Oh, don't worry, if you have been exercising perhaps it is muscle mass too
If it makes you feel any better my colleague who is also a Sep mum put on 10kg so far! But she still looks fine to me! I'm the contrary - was soo worried about not putting on weight. In fact I'm just reaching my pre-pregnancy weight now, coz I lost too much in 1st tri =P

Thanks for popping by my blog - I hope it doesn't give you unnecc cravings ;) hee

milkyway,

yep, dun get upset wif your hb lah... he's juz concerned but doesn't know how to say it nicely. men all the same one lah... not as sensitive as women. heh... better then my hb right? when i said i wanna go rebond my hair. he told me if i dare go and anything happens to bb, he'd break my legs :p but of coz i also know he say say only lah... as if he dare! grrrrrrrrrrrr.......

kiki:
You want to rebond your hair? I am soo tempted to re-colour my hair but am stopped by the fact that I think I won't be able to tahan the chemical smell now. I guess we have to put up with not-so-nice hair for now =P But that is ok
We can glow in other ways!

corsage,

haha..thanks for the consolation! yes, i wanted to rebond my hair, coz i'm like having 'bad hair day' everyday. actually the books say it should be ok to perm, rebond or colour. but aiya, can't convince my paranoid husband!

Milkyway,

Good to hear that you are fine now. I also get into a funk sometimes when I keep on dwelling on the bad things

kiki:
hehe, let me tell you what I have been doing - I've been indulging in once a week hairwashes
It feels sooo good to have a head/neck massage and to have my hair blown nicely. So at least for 2-3 days each week my hair is nice and tame. hehe. Other days it sticks out all over =P

Kiki,

Yep, still within range for this moment. Must relax and maybe choose healthier foods!

How about using those hair straightening irons for the time being? Or get a new haircut? Worse comes to worst, tie your hair up! Good thing about pregnancy is that the skin has a nice pinkish tinge. I like..

Corsage,

Hehheh, I've been walking my dog that long through the woods for ages. Guess it's not the muscle mass
Gosh, I sound so whiny. Yeah, I'm ok, need to whine and pine a bit.

Did you have bad morning sickness during your first trimester? Don't worry, when your appetite catches up, so will the weight! I guess as along as the baby is fine, it's not a problem if you are not gaining weight as prescribed.

BTW, you have a recipe for char kway teow?? Hahah

delfine:
I wish we had nice woods here to go for walks in!
Yeah we all need the occasional whine. I'm so glad I decided to join this forum. Muahahaha

Yup, I had ALL DAY sickness during the 1st tri, and actually still puked till 16th week. But thankfully baby is fine and my appetite is picking up although still not the same as pre-pregnancy (I could really eat then!)

Recipe for Char Kway Teow? Hahah. I don't unfortunately! I just go to the stalls here to eat. heh. But is the the Singaporean type or Penang type that you like? Let me check if anyone I know has a recipe for you.

<font face="Comic Sans ms"><font color="0000ff">KiKi,

Typical shelf life is bout 20mths bah. e tube I'm using now expires in Mar-2010, I rem I bot it from drugstore mid of 07</font>

<font color="aa00aa">babiesmeme,

If you are doing yr scan on lvl 4, Fetal Assessment Unit den u dun get CD recording. Think only those who paid $200+ @ level 1 gets it</font>

<font color="0000ff"><u>Weight gain / Appetite</u>

I've thus far put on 2.4kg.

My DH commented that I'm like royal highness when comes to food intake in this pregnancy. I've all sort of funny cravings. He hv no choice but to try to satisfy my cravings cuz my appetite nt very gd. I can take like only 1 meal a day if tere's nothing I fancy.</font></font>

<font face="Comic Sans Ms"><font color="aa00aa">delfine,

Here's modified Char Kuey Teow recipe:-

300g kuey teow
150g bean sprouts
150g shrimps
1/2 chinese sausage, cut
3 eggs
2 green onions, cut
1 Tbsp. chopped garlic
2-3 Tbsp. oil
Chili paste to taste

Sauce:
1/2 Tbsp. soy sauce
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. chicken stock granules
Dash of White pepper
Dark soy sauce/sweet sauce to suit

Method:
1. Heat the oil, add in garlic, fry til fragrant,add in the chili paste.

2. Add shrimps, fry til cooked. Add in kuey teow, mix well.

3. Add bean sprout, chinese sausages and sauce, fry to mix well.

4. Push kuey teow to the side, add in some oil and the eggs.Fry together with the kuey teow. Lastly add ingreen onion and fry til dry.</font></font>

hub also ask me how come this preg i so fussy. appetite also not as good. im sttill hvg only 2 meals a day, similar to pre preg. but now exam period so after finish rivising with the boys, i can finish 2 bowls of riceduring dinner! exam period is that energy draining and making me hungry!!

i thinkk i hv put on abt 6kg so far! sound v scary hor! but compare to my previous preg i thinkk its peanuts. all my preg i put on average 16kg!

Corsage,

Yeah! Totally agree with that! Wouldn't it be scary if a pregnant woman is always cheery and bubbly? Need to mope around some days!

Saw your NZ photos. Beautiful scenery! Is your hub Kiwi? The woods here are run-of-the-mill woods but it's pretty relaxing not to have to meet people and have the nature all to yourself. Today's cold, gray and rainy. Not motivated at all to go for a walk!

OMG! Can't imagine puking everyday! Must have been pretty horrible. Morning sickness seems to be a bit worse for some mothers having baby girls. But look at all the nice things you can get! Was drooling over this.. http://www.mamarella.com/kenzo.eva_for_ever_kleid_kenzo.1000.1.1.htm
Isn't it absolutely charming?

Hey, the Singaporean type wouldn't be bad! Thanks in advance for the recipe but no worries if there are none. I'll try googling for one too!

Jenifur,

Wah! Thanks! You are really fast man! Ok.. need to find a replacement for chinese sausages but the rest of the ingredients are still obtainable.

You mentioned that you gained also very little for you last pregnancy right? Think your weight gain is very efficient! All goes to the baby!

Mamato6Js,
Average 16kgs and you still look so slim. Faint lah!

delfine
its hard work after birth ok! haha...

errr... u replace chinese sausage with ang moh sausage lah! ie, hot dogs! haha... but seriously char kway teow with no chinese sausage wouldnt taste the same. but what to do hor. u cant get in chinatown there?

<font face="Comic Sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Delfine,

I cook quite often so I've lots of recipe store in my lappy. Just finish cooking Bovril Pork Chop for dinner. U can add in fish cake.. some times I add in those taiwan sausages @ my DD's request.

Ask yr mum to bring u some chinese sausages when she go over in Sept lor.

Yupz, for both pregnancy I put on about 5kg which is gd since I'm slightly heavy to begin with
</font></font>

Kiki,
I think guys not so sensitive to our emotions esp now we r pregnant. Sometimes I get emo for no reason and hb is confused n will b angry with me cos he thinks I'm emo for the sake of being emo cos articles n books I've read says preggies tend to b emo easily... Hard to explain to him y I'm emo too.. Sigh...

As for hair just have to make do with messy hair lor cos my gynae did say no dyeing, perm n rebonding. Waiting after confinement to rebond too.

Delfine, thanks for ur concern. Just need to vent somewhere somehow at times, lucky there is this forum for me... Pardon me at times when I'm venting my frustration.

Yah, ling seems to disappear this week. Hope she's fine.

Delfine,
I don't think mummies with gals will have bad morning sickness cos I don't n mine is a gal!

Jenifur, alamak.., u r hitting ur target soon meaning I might not b in time! Btw very curious, any advantage for spree n ordering individually ourselves??

Mamato6js,
Wow I also aim to work hard after birth. U r my idol!!

<font face="Comic Sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Milkyway,

I shld be doing batch 2 since got more demands.. Ling also haven give me her order yet. Then we can do a big meet up to collect e loot.

Reason ppl joined spree is to share shipping costs or to hit e "quota" to get free domestic shipping. Like for Babymall, u need to hit US$100 to get domestic shipping. Unless u've alot of stuff to buy, if not it's better to combine w others</font></font>

Mamato6Js,

Eeek, angmoh sausage will make the taste funny right? Chinatown? Don't have lor! At most there are some small chinese shops. A lot of ingredients they sell in the supermarkets are tuned to the german taste already

Hard work?!! What?! I thought only need to bf then the kgs will miraculously disappear? wahhahaaa.. Ok, did you have to excercise a lot?

Jenifur,
Next time I need a recipe I know who to ask
Will ask her to bring a lot of things in Sept.

I also like to shop online here. Usually no shipping charges and can order whatever you wish. Those that don't fit, just send them back within 2 weeks(for free also), no reasons required. It's like having your private fitting! Quite shiok!

Milkyway,
Don't worry lah, I was also whining away. About mothers with girls having worse MS.. I wrote SOME mah not all! hahaha

delfine
wah i not one of those blessed ones who bf n lose weight lor! instead if i bf i wont lose weight! haha... i dun like to exercise so hv to be disciplined in what i eat lor. count calories that type u know???

jennifur
wah how to only put on 5kg huh?? my frd told me she put on only 4kg n her baby 3.4kg. i said unbelievable lor. but u also sama sama with her that means its achievable lah! but definitely not for me! haha...

DELFINE
oh yes definitely cant put ang moh sausage to char kway teow if not u can try bratswurt sausage as well LOL!! can u get dark sauce there? i MUST have my tiger dark sauce for everything, lor bak, char kway teow, prawn noodles etc... the rest of the brands cant make it leh. the tiger brand is those v dark n thick one v fragrant too!

*mama to 6Js*
I dun like exerising too, reason being lazy, no time and hate being oily and sweaty...u still blessed la, got time to count calories somemore, i don't even have time to eat...

*jennifur*
u seems like a very good cook wor...ur Bovril chicken chop sounds scrumpdillyumptious, can share this recipe?? used to think bovril is made from beef extract bt 2 days ago when i was at the supermarket, i happened to look at the ingredients of bovril and was surprised to find that Bovril is suitable for vegetarians too...my kids take marmite...

*delfine*
I've only managed to gain back the wt lost during 1st trimester. haven't actually gain any wt yet bt my gynae didn't say anything on this. bt bb's sz is normal so i guess mother's gaining wt or nt is secondary, most impt bb is fine...

hmm...sounds so relaxing to be able to walk ur dog in the woods...sometimes really curious whats it's like to live in another country without kopitiam and NTUC...

hi mummies, sorry to interrupt. I just finished my confinement and my lochia has reduced so got the following for exchange/sale.

Looking for pigeon wipes or mamy poko/Goon/Fitti/Huggies S size diapers. Collection at Rivervale Drive.

1. 4 pack of Impression disposable cotton panties. Each pack got 5 pcs. Exchange value $3.50 each

2. 1 pack of Sofy BodyFit Extra Comfort Night Pad (35cm). Contains 8 pads. Exchange value $4.

3. 3 packs of Sofy BodyFit Su[er Comfort Night Pad (40.5cm). Each contain 4 pads. Exchange value $2 each.

4. Winnie the Pooh Bottle Warmer. Exchange value $6.

Pm me if keen

<font face="Comic Sans Ms"><font color="0000ff">Deline,

Sure Sure... gd things mus share mah. U usually cook too rite.. it will b v ex to eat out.

So nice hor.. free shipping &amp; can return within 2 wks. I heard maternity benefits are v gd in Germany too rite.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Mamato5Js,

Yupz, I'm 1 of those blessed one... I can like gain 200g but BB gained 500g type. During my 2nd pregnancy, I'm like eating almost round e clock but also put on 5kg.

I'll also lose e weight gain during bfing but not those xtra tt hv been w me since I got married
</font></font>

Mamato6Js,

Wah.. then you must count very well. Then you have to eat very little to lose weight lor! The dark soy sauce here cannot make it! Looks like normal soy sauce. Cannot find those like tiger brand ones!

Girly,

Wah, you another one. Maybe you are the petite type and so you don't gain much weight. I'm about Mamato6Js's height. So maybe our weight gain pattern is also sama sama one.

How is it like ah? The air is definitely fresher here and there is a lot of nature. Relaxing ah? Now it's hunting season and my dog has been chasing deer, foxes and hares. Can you imagine me like siao char boh shouting at my dog not to hunt them?
Around half the year is siber cold, the other half hot cos got no air con! Wouldn't mind if they opened some kopitiams here leh!

Jenifur,

Hahaha yeah! Must share!

Maternity benefits are very good here. Maternity leave is for 1 year and you get up to 70% of your pay. Can extend for another 2 years but it's no pay. The company will have to keep your job till you come back. Plus the gov gives about $300+ a month till the kid is 18 and of course got tax benefits. Too bad I am SAHM!!

<font face="Comic Sans Ms">Girly/Delfine,

Here's e recipe..you can either use bovril or marmite. Hv tried with both &amp; also pork/chix. I'm not a v gd cook lah.. but like to experiment w receipt. Plus we stayed in Taiwan for 1 yr so had to cook our own too.

<font color="0000ff">Ingredients :
500gm pork chops
Some cornflour and flour for coating

Marinade Ingredients :
1 egg
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp sesame oil
1/4 tsp pepper
1 tbsp corn flour
2 tbsp water

Sauce Ingredients :
2 tbsp Bovril/Marmite
2 tbsp honey
2 tbsp light soya sauce
1/2 bowl of water
little bit of cornflour

Method :
1. Cut pork chop into 0.5 cm thin slices and pound with a kitchen hammer/back of knife till tender. Mix with the marinade ingredients and marinade overnight.

2. Heat some oil in pan. Coat the pork chops with the cornflour and flour and deep fried till golden brown. Dish up and set aside.

3. Leave 2 tbsp of oil in the pan and pour in the sauce ingredients and simmer till thick. Add in pork chops and mixed well. </font></font>

delfine

Ooooo...tats cool! can chase deer, foxes and hares somemore...and they are in the woods. me at most can bring the kids go 'reservoirs' see squirrels and monkeys nia...

can't imagine siber cold and no air-con...means it will be either too cold or too hot lor...

singapore garmen wants more bbs, muz really learn fr germany then...bt then think no matter which country it is, SAHM always lugi one coz we are deemed as not contributing to the economy at all...

Jenifer:
Wow you really have recipes on hand! Impressive
I'm such a lousy cook made worse in recent months coz couldn't stand smells of cooking. Will try your pork chop recipe someday!

Delfine:
My NZ pics? Haha that was ages ago
It was a holiday lah. We purposely did lots of travelling before trying for a baby. hee ;)

Milkyway:
Someone just told me today too that more MS with baby girls, but I also don't think so coz there are many exceptions like yourself

Girlygirly:
Seems like I am like you with regards to weight gain! I also just reached pre-pregnancy weight. I also hate being sweaty so the only exercise I do now is swimming
Can't feel the sweat. haha

corsage,
your blog's very pretty. i love the accessories that you make! i maintain a blog too http://www.kaizerwong.blogspot.com/. keep pics of my son there for the benefit of my mum/dad who only get to see him over the weekend. blog works well only with Internet Explorer, and not with Chrome/Firefox.

delfine,
do you get to enjoy the generous bb bonus that the state is offering? your husband's german right?

jenifur,
woah, you sound like a pro cook! i've never eaten bovril pork chop before!

mamato6Js,
i cuddle and hug my son daily still! i've told myself that i've gotta hug and kiss him more often because he might not allow me do so when he gets older. okay, at least i know now that i can still hug and kiss him till 8 years old.

delfine,
my colleague told me that fully breastfeeding burns as much calories per day as swimming 20 laps. i lost my 17kg that i've gained in abt a month after i gave birth, w/out resorting to massages and other slimming mtds while increasing my food/drinks intake by about double. i love to run! but after having a kid, really have no time to exercise, except running after the kid.

jenifur
<blockquote>I have cravings for bovril when I'm pregnant. I've been having bovril drink, bovril with bread, bovril with plain crackers...

Your recipe looks really yummy. I'll try it the next time I cook dinner! Thanks, Jenifur!
</blockquote>

corsage

haha..bt i don't know how to swim leh...

ya can see that u have a great figure fr ur blog, muz have got them fr swimming? and u have a great fashion sense...

susanna,

SO sORRy...

how can this tings happen at later week of pregancy esp passed 1s trimester?

wat are the causes? tot passed 1st trimester everyting stable.

<font face="Comic Sans Ms"><font color="0000ff">corsage,

I'm not a gd cook lah... ask my DH &amp; he will tell you. He's my guinea pig. It's like a hobby. I like to cook/bake but I dun like to clean up

<font color="aa00aa">Sandwich/New_Mtb

*hee* I was abit skeptical when I 1st got e recipe too. I nv taken Marmite or Borvil but tot just try lor. Thank God both DH &amp; DD like it. But I dun cook it often, find it v troublesome to clean up after all e frying.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Flower4,

*touchwood* but anything is possible. I've a fren who lost her BB @ 8th mths &amp; hv heard of stories bout losing BB during labour too. It's less as compare to miscarriage in 1st trim but do happen. Tt's why my DH always make it a point to include our BB in daily prayer. </font></font>

Morning all

RE: Avent bottles...

they have the BPA free one in the market now...
it's abit yellowish in colour...

jenifer:
Hehehe - at least you can whip up recipes at will
Your hubby can do washing up! ;)

sandwich:
your son's very handsome! Ok if I link your blog to mine?

girlygirly:
No no, I'm just small-sized. SHORT. hehehe. I only started swimming regularly quite recently. Try to do once or twice a week.

New MTB:
I suddenly feel like having bovril too after reading what you wrote. Think I haven't had it in years!

flower4:
Although pregnancies are more stable after the 1st trimester, many other complications could possibly occur. I guess we can only take good care of ourselves and pray for the best.

I am just wondering if your gynae gave you a copy of the antenatal scan results? or the fetal abnomrality scan result?

As to date, I have been to most of the tests, but I have yet to receive any results. All my gynae say is OK.

Is that the norm? Please advise.

Christina,

So far my gynae will give test results for me to bring home. He will not explain much details if everything is ok though... Maybe you should ask your gynae to give you a copy for reference during your next visit??

I have done basic blood test during my 1st visit and Triple test in 4 mth. I got both test results.

I saw on TV there's a baby talk organise by SPH, I didn't manage to take down the details on time. Any mummies here know the details?

Christina >My gynae always gives me a copy of all the tests done. Including blood test and FA (fetal anomaly) scan results.

I believe usually patients would receive a copy, since there's a doctor's copy also. Maybe you should ask your doc?

itsy > I think this is the one you are referring to: http://bonding.mediacorptv.sg/

Went for detailed scan on Tue, is a healthy boy.

Ling, pls update for me, thanks.

I did my detailed scan at TMC 1st floor, WC Cheng Clinic, paid $190+, got a CD. My gynea is under this clinic, so naturally I do the scan with another gynea in the same clinic.

The gynea doing this detailed scan is TC Chang. His machine is obviously more advanced, can see the images clearer. After scanning all the vital organs, he save the various images in a CD for us. He also plot some measurements on a chart and assure us that all are within the acceptable range.

I'm not sure if he does detailed scan for patients who are not seeing gynea in the same clinic. In any way, can call to enquire at WC Cheng Clinic.