(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

Me also gog off liao. Bye bye

mamato5,

i really admired you - like what you said is no time taking care of them. i'm a full time working mother. my maid who is in her mid 40 cant even handle my 4 yrs toddler and 6 mths baby, cant imagine i have #3 - well my hubby and i did discussed abt it if we have #3 means we might need to engage another maid or i stop wking _ which i doubt. haiz... everything is so unplanned - who sae 100% breastfeeding wont get preggie.... i'm one good example, pregnant for nearly 3 months without knowing _ thought all puking episode was due to the medicine i consumed.

sotong mother.....

mama5> hahahahhaa.... ur wake up 6am bb still sucking is funny la.......... hahahha...
wont overdose?? hahaha... bb also fell asleep.. hahaha...

wah... ur recipe for papaya soup already like very energy consuming leh.. hahaha.. :p

girly> haha.. okok... didnt know can be done so easily.. hehe.. :p

shelled>ooooh... didnt know there is such thing as babymoon...so shiok ah... hehehe... ;p
thats very fortunate. u have a very indept bb.. hehe..

kiki> my manager told me a recipe... buy a semi-ripe papaya.. palm size... put in nan xing & bei xing, (small handful), and add bai guo.. and some bing tang..
slow cook for a few hours... eat up everything inside... and it'll be quite bu... helps in milk production..and can even start drinking now..

jul> all the nausea will be a good indicator also ma... u all pass the nausea liaoz?? i wish mine would be over soon.. almost every nite still got a daily round of toilet puking...

BTW, where's princess?? long time no see her.. hope she's fine....

kiddo> its kegels... hehehe... must do else womb muscles will be relaxed.. may drop out also.. so scary ..saw at the bb seminar that time..
the gynae showed a woman's womb come out after the bb.. coz too loose.. never do enough kegels... kaoz....
so every now and then must rem to squueze ur anus... hahhaa.. :p

rach

I din really have MS rem? Mine was more of tiredness, headache, backache etc. The tiredness & headaches have gone. Still got backache lah, but this will prob stick with me till delivery *grr*

Yeah hor, v long nvr see princess liao.

morn! today so shiok no need wake up early send my boys to school for training.

JUL
of course confinement can drink water lah. but this is my rule hor not the old wives tale rule hehe... i think traditionally u not supposed to drink water. but how not to drink? v v thirsty u know. no logic cant drink water right. i follow traditions but also provided they make sense to me lah.

KIKI
this recipe if im not wrong is from mrs wong, the lactation consultant at TMC. she also claims it works wonders. dun need to drink everydday lah. u will get sick of it. just twice or once a week good enough i feel. if u dun drink also ok lah. doesnt mean ur bm no nutrition. just that its supposed to help boost milk suppply. so if u already have very good supply, pls dun go and drink ok! if not u end up having rivers of milk! hehe...

serriz
so since abortion is not an option for u anymore, u shld think of how to solve the babysitting issue instead. really no point worrying and regretting why u can get preg even though u still bfing. i also have frds who got preg while bfing. its not a 100% thing that no period while bfing means no chance of gettg preg. i think the hosp lactation nurses and ur gynae wud have told u so. its just that the percentage is lower. maybe cos u v fertile thats why hehe...

do u have parents or in laws who can help u? at least supervise the maid while u r at work. one of my maids is 40 plus too. but the plus thing abt older maids is that they r not vain and they r more mature. my maid wont think of asking for off days, or gg out to know ppl. all her single cents earned is for her family. the other maid is younger but she is not bad too. they strike a balance. i understand hvg maids is really a headache too, esp if u have incompetent ones. and esp if u r a ftwm, of course u will worry leavg ur kids with maid at home! even for me a sahm, i dun leave kids with maids for more than a few hours. never half a day even though my oldest r big enuf to tell me whats gg on at home when im not ard.

u mention ur financial status is ok? can ur family survive on a single income? why dun u have a talk with ur husb? it may be feasible. i have frds surviving on single income cos they cant find suitable care for their kids. one told me her child actually have depression and went to school counsellor saying that he feels neglected and lonely cos everydday his mother work and he is alone with maid, even though he has a younger brother. my frd has quit her job since and will be doing full time at home from next mth. if we can just cut back on certain things or luxuries, our children will thrive with our 100% love and care at home. sorry im not undermining u working moms, for i know many of u have no choice but to work, but havg been a sahm for so many yrs, caring for every of my children's single needs, i cant imagine leavg this job to any other person, not even my own mom or mil! thats how protective i am over my kids. i believe nobody will do it better than me, their mother! hehe...

GIRLY is sahm, albeit a very busy one im sure, esp with no maid. i wonder how she does it! we can only give u advices but u know ur own situation best, so u need to work out the pros and cons. GIRLY is correct. the baby didnt choose to be conceived, the adults are the one who conceived them so we have to be responsible for our own actions. truthfully speaking, i dun agree to abortions unless the baby is severely deformed and cannot survive outside the womb.

sorry for my long winded post. just my thoughts. will be busy today doing revision with my boys! next week got tests! hv a good weekend gals!

mamato5

I also feel that it's impossible not to drink water. Like I was saying, I'm worried abt being dehydrated & getting UTI. I am rather prone to UTI, so it's impt to me to drink lots of water.

Haha maybe the big tummy thing can be circumvented by doing Malay massage & wrap? DThen I get to drink water AND not have a bloated tummy haha.

But actually no hope liao lah. Coz pre-preggie I already have a bloated tummy *hiaz*

Morning! I'm heading out for my antenatal checkup liao!!
Come back with updates on my little one.

Have a great weekend, you all!

Re: Confinement

I've enjoyed and rested well during my #1 confinement. therefore, I've not experience any difficulty in breathing and lerthagic. My mum says it was b'cos i've made a right choice in engaging a CL's help. Now, with the #2 on the way... I will still be engaging the same CL with the same agency as well as we know they can be trusted. Hope all mums here could plan early too... Having a CL really makes great difference in your health.

Thank you... I had very bad MS during my 1st pregnancy and lost 4kg when on 16th wk. This one is sparing me a bit but aft 7pm, i throw up anything i consume.. even water! So all bully mummy before they arrive.. haiz

Jul> haha.. forgotten la.. how to rem who has MS and not.. so many people here... hahahhaha....
hey.. who has any massage lobangs?? how much per session or what kind package huh??

Sparks> how much is ur CL?? what does she do?? which agency u get from?

Wow.. I am still hoping that my BB will be just 3kg so that I can chop chop give birth w/o screaming blue murder in the delivery room haah

Hi mama,

I've placenta previa (very low) covering the exit that's why my bb cannot get engaged. Otherwise, both of us will run into risk of internal bleeding. So we chose a date for C-Sect and found out that he's already so huge...

Hi rach,

I've engaged from Bliss Confinement... for initially 28days @$2k and extended for another 2weeks ($1k). B'cos the nanny I had was very dedicated and reliable. We actually had a great time (like having vacation) with anther helper to help me w my newborn and my mum likes to exchange cooking tips w her.

Re: post-natal massage
My advise is do not rush into booking it as we don't know if we will be delivering thru C-Sect or naturally...

So helped with my household chores,
cleaning up toilets (while she was bathing) once a wk, vacuum & mopping of floor twice a week
daily cleaning up the kitchen area & stove, cooking fabulous confinement food, cooking my sis, my mom, my hubby with dessert too. Went to wet market w my mom (abt 1-2hrs). Does our laundry and even a bit of ironing when she's free. She naps only when my infant is not cranky or difficult.

infant.. this is what i noticed and remembered.
cleaning up my infant eyes before each bath, using warm water to wash my infant instead of using wet tissue, uses diaper/cloth diaper appropriately or when necessary. Totally in charge of my infant feeding which includes sterilizing the bottles and warming of breast-milk, very attentive during the night too. Give me suggestions and tips on infant handling and my mom was very pleased with her experience and honesty too.

Wahhh... i'm already looking forward to it!

rayrachel

Actually if you want I have a massage contact lah. I used her for 2 times after my delivery with #1. I find her quite good, really lost a couple of inches due to toning up. But cos I lack freedom of movement after being wrapped tight tight like bak chang, I cancelled my package after 2 sessions. She refunded me the rest of the package.

You don't do any bookings or pay any deposit initially. You just tell her your name, EDD, contact number so she can tell you whether or not she is fully reserved already.

After you deliver, u just call her and then you pay her on her first visit to your place. Last time was $350 for 7 sessions. Preferably done once a day. Now I dunno what her rates are already.

I just called her but she attending to customer now. Later when she call me back I will ask her the price and post here later.

light2spark

Hi! Welcome to the club!

Your CL sounds wonderful!! Suddenly make me feel like getting one even though I've never really been open to the idea of CL. Ok, if I really need one I will definitely get from Bliss Confinement.

By the way, just back from my checkup and we found out gender... It's going to be a boy!! So yes, the Chinese calendar gender prediction was correct!! AGAIN! It was accurate for my #1 also.

Today I'm 15 wks already, so hopefully most of you mommies also can find out gender soon.

shelled> wah.. so fast can tell gender??? oh.. 15 weeks already... hehehehe....

okok.. so u're gonna have 2 boys... hehehe.. congrats.....

sparks> ur CL sounds so good too.. hahaha.. Mmm.. $2k..... Mmmmm.....

Is CL better than Mum or MIL huh??? i think at least she's paid...we can order her ard rite??? haha.. as in.. get her to help get things done... Mum and MIL probably not....

i am thinking of using cloth diapers at home. Does anyone know where I can buy them? I thought the baby will be more comfortable in cloth diapers at home cos its cooler. And when I was a baby, my mum used cloth diapers on me..but dunno if mummies today still use cos its "old school"

caspinall

You can buy cloth diapers from Kiddy Palace. They have several brands for you to pick from, and they are packed in 10 or 12 pieces a pack (if i remember correctly).

But honestly, it will eventually get tiresome to wash cloth diapers. Especially when BB starts crawling, then the cloth diapers will loosen around the thigh area and leak. There are plastic pants that you can let BB wear over the cloth diaper so you can avoid this problem, but it also means your BB's bum won't be able to "breathe".

Personally we use Bumwear at home, and despite the prices, I would still highly recommend them to mommies because it's easy to wash and won't loosen out from BB's activity.

Bumwear website: http://www.bumwear.com/

You can also read this article for more info on diapers: http://sg.******************/articles/diapers_debate

(Sorry, I am the author of the article, so this may seem a little bit... kelong. hahaha. But all in all, it is quite comprehensive if you are wondering whether to use cloth or disposables lah.)

Thanks so much Shelled : )yup...decisions, decisions...actually, there's nothing like hands on learning and experimenting when it comes to motherhood and taking care of a little one...

Re: Confinement

Ya rach, u r right. My mom is also ard late fifties and my sis and I feel bad if need to order her around doing things and sometimes in the midst of it had some emotional brush or arguement than it's not goot. My colleague had a v bad experience w her mother-in-law and hence she had not talk to her since....

Oh, better leave the Bliss Agency's website link here for yr convenience... www.blissconfinement.page.tl I notice only this agency is able to put up their confinement ladies's name for us to choose... very different way of management.

Re: cloth diapers

I bought in JB yesterday with printed pattern. Wahh.. not cheap le... RM$18 for 10 pcs.

i just visited the clinic on friday. my EDD has been shifted to 28 sep based on the scan. bb is abt 3.03cm now. bb was happily wriggling when the scan was conducted. here's how the bb looks like now ...

2204649.jpg

caspinall

True. Different children respond different. There's no one specific sure-fire method to deal with all kids. It takes time to experiment with various techniques before you hit the spot.

hi mummies, anyone gone or gg for e baby fair at expo? today last day..

was wondering if shld start to buy those baby stuff now or wait for great sg sale?

light2spark

Got printed pattern one some more?! Last time I only manage to find boring plain white ones...

peanutbutter

Wow! That is a very nice scan of your BB! Really can see your BB properly.

I have no scanner, so cannot share my ultrasound until my hubs brings the ultrasound to his office to scan.

cho

Hmm... not sure if great SG sale will have anything or not. But if you want to buy some stuff first that is on discount/sale, I don't see why not. Grab the bargains while you can to cut costs!

hi shelled.. was tinking now too early to buy cot n pram etc.. haha.. tot july time juz nice great sg sale.. can buy..

ok, mayb i'll go check out ltr.. keke

cho

Don't buy yet also can do price check mah. A bit kiasu, but sometimes certain items can have 20-40% price difference!

::

Re: PIGEON Breast pads

I saw them selling @ Isetan Parkway ytd @ $8.90 for 36+6 pcs.

Re: Malay Massage

Mdm Khatijah - 9800 1394 / 6386 9664

$450 for 7 day package, includes:
- 7 massage sessions + tummy wrap
- 2 free baby massage
- free girdle (she uses this after she wraps your tummy)

Call her to "book" her for your EDD timeframe. Payment upon her first visit to your place.

oh... okok.. go compare prices.. keke.. but e weather now like gg rain.. so comfy to stay home nuah...

zzzzz

haha.. btw, anyone got contacts for good confinement lady?

Oh, shelled... Mdm Khatijah always brings her family problems into conversation. The last time my colleague engaged her and complain that she could chat away non-stop! she endure it for 5 massage and she tell her no need liao... geez! caution: Mummies who could 'tahan' a chatty massage lady can consider...

hey ladies,

i having sore throat le. do u know if i can eat the OTC anto inflammatory medication called Leftose? it contains lysozome chloride. i tried to google but cannot find info.

If not, wht can i eat?

shelled
congrats! u wanted another boy didnt u? now ur boy will have a companion to wrestle with :p

lxlb
if u can wait, why dun u call gynae tomo and ask him what r the meds safe for u to take?

talking abt massage lady, mine also like to yak and yak a lot!! but she yaks abt her customers. can be quite entertaining at times but many times i fell asleep during massage, so if she keeps talking and i didnt respond she knows i knocked out already hehe.. this massage lady has been doing it for me since my first delivery. she is v nice, everytime buys me kuehs and always nevr fails to buy baby gift for my newborn on her first visit.

light2spark

I've used Mdm Khatijah before and I find her alright. Fine, she may be a bit chatty, but better than someone who is unskilled and unprofessional, right?

I'd rather have a cheerful (albeit chatty) masseuse, than a grumpy impatient one any day.

blessedmommy

Yes, I wanted another boy.

I think your massage lady already treat you as loyal customer already, so bring kueh for you and gift for your BB! Something like loyal customer perks? Hahahah.

lxlb

I think if you REALLY need some relief now, maybe try warm salt water, and OTC lozenges like strepsils? Those are definitely safe during pregnancy.
Then tmr go see the doc when the clinics are open lor.

btw those of u asking where is princess, i just went to her blog and read that she was admitted in kkh. but think now discharged already. poor gal, the pregnancy hormones have not been very kind to her. hope will be over soon. she been feeling dizzy so dun think can log in and stare at pc for too long. keep her in prayer ya...

shelled
no leh. the first time she did massage for me, she already bought my newborn gifts. think its a common practise/habit for her. but for the kuehs, i must admit that its special lah cos those kuehs are specially ordered and v delish. cos my frd who did massage same time as me and is her first time only got 1 box but i got 2 boxes

blessedmommy

Oh my. Why was she admitted to KKH?? Really must pray for her and her BB...

Your massage lady really very... extraordinary! Like value-added service like that. hahaha. :p