(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

shelled - ya always happen during maintenace period smetimes u can't even login..

flower4 - depends on urs need and time schedule. I would say i prefer a male. One impt thing i scare is when i give birth the female doc also carry big tummy then during the birth time she would not be able to so call help much in case one leg kick her away... also i wan an experience (at least 50yrs old) not those 30 or 40 plus scare...
coz previous experience scare me off (but not all lar)

my this one is very traditional no MC unless spotting etc those MS he also din give anit nauses pills he juz say bear with it... then he very encouraging on natural birth (but advise option depend on individual case) and would say no shouting and no crying etc.. it seem he very cold but hor i like it coz it stop me from thinking bad ways and always tell me be strong etc...

MC no need get from gynae i got another GP doc MC 2 days very easy get de... no need illness juz go see him 2 days MC liao... he very nice wahahahaha

Tot Im the only 1 having this prob, had a hard time find n coming to this thread....

mama to 5Js
so our edd abt same ya..hmm...think u missed out wat i haf said ealier, friendster gt more family pics bt FB more for 'fun' only (i approved every request initially so nw there's a lot of 'strangers' in there liao. So dared nt show too much of my personal life to keep my family 'safe') maybe im being paranoid, bt i juz don't feel secure to expose my life on the net...
if u gt friendster acc can add me also, same email add...

Mommies out there
so any1 wants to add me in friendster or FB, let me know ya, I will PM u my email add..

kiddo

wah ur chart so detailed and almost filled except for a few missing info...

think shld add another 2 column 'chinese calender predicted gender' and 'confirmed gender'...juz a suggestion. coz think it'll be interesting to find out hw accurate the calender is for mommies in this thread...

flower
just checked my last bill. Your consultation fee seems very ex leh. Mine only $50. Also female doc. You want to try or not? She is at Gleneagles in the afternoon on weekdays except for Wed and Sat. Monday to Friday morning she is at Clifford Centre. She was recommended by my friend and I found it convenient coz near my workplace. Just pop by before lunch for my visits, don't need to take leave. During my last few years with her, I discovered another 2 friends also go to her. Her appointments usually don't have to wait very long unless she has emergency operation. Actually I prefer going to a doc like that than someone who is so popular that she loses the personal touch or have to waste a lot of time waiting. I tried another gynae once for a second opinion. My friend liked that doc but when I saw her, I felt that she was in a hurry to chase me out of her room coz she has a long q. Didn't even wait for me to finish asking my questions, said anything else can email her. Aiyoh!

Oh, and she has had 4 kids herself.

About claiming, my company has a lump sum which I can claim for pregnancy. i think $3.5K for natural birth and $5.3K for C-sec. Can claim for consultancy and delivery. The rest medisave can cover. The last time, I didn't need to cough up any cash.

kiddo> thanks for updating.. hahaa... i think we'll just stand in the gap for each other la.. whoever can update update..

Mamijoan> thanks for the tips on pumps.. will keep that in mind..

How abt Korean Ginseng.. when can we take?? I've plenty at home since my last trip to Korea...
I've the Ginseng Powder and Ginseng fruit soaked in honey... costed me a bomb.. but now cant take.. prob can leave it for confinement...

Mmmm..... my Korea Ginseng(gao li shen) is in powder form.. maybe i can pour into the bird nest and take together.. hahahhaa....
Its in capsule.. but can open the capsule and pour out de...
I also bought the essence.. sticky black thing..supposed to bu other major organs too... but all these gotta stop....
wah.. i cant wait to take bird nests.. my mum got her fren to buy from Sarawak...
Its supposed to be better and higher grade and cheaper.. but need to take out the feathers on our own...
Her fren said.. those we buy locally..some are bleached white.. actually still got feathers de.. just that we cannot see....
Yummy.. i cant wait to eat bird nest during 2nd trim man.. hehe.. :p

mama5> why ventolin??? isnt that for asthma???

flower4> think that is the min consultation fee for ur gynae?? she doesnt have a package? and depends on why u see her...
So far i only seen gynae 2 times.. 5 weeks++ and 9 weeks..

shelled> wah.. ur boss so not understanding... she got children on her own or not man.... wah kaoz...

milkyway> we use the online predictors based on our conceive date and our age loh.. haahaa... my mummy has a formula too... and she does it quite accurately too..

Need..

1. First Day of Last Menses Date - Mine is 29th Nov 2008.
2. Age at that day - Mine is Lunar 28 (though I'm born in 1981.. need to plus 1 for lunar age)

If you can provide me with these.. i ask my mummy calculate for u... hehehe.. :p

Yummy... just had my lunch.. shared a $4 Char Siew Rice with HB.. yummy... hehehe...
Gonna take my fruits later.. hehehehe.. :p

shelled> my gynae Long Consultation is $60... which is for 1st visit where he explains more stuffs...
Subsequent visits are normal Consultation.. $40.. U/S scan is $40... he's very reasonably priced.. thats why i go to him..
and he's good too.. heard he has 5 kids himself..and he's super pro child bearing de.. hahhaa...

My Gynae is at TPY..and has long waiting Q time... lots of mothers and woman..

Yah man.. really hot these few days.. i sleep with fan on.. and kick the blanket away.. HB gotta put on the blanket on me..and i'll kick it away again..
hahahaha...

mamijoan> wah.. so good... ur company pays for ur pregnancy as well!! steady la...

Huishan,

its Dr Ang Huai Yan. Her clinic is in the same unit as Thomas or Thomson something. #02-08, just behind escalator when you go up, next to His Grace. Number is 63232266. I don't have her Gleneagles number with me now. Make appointment with her nurse Julie.

huishan

U're looking for female gynae? Mine charges $60 for 1st consulation, follow up is $48, scan also $60 for first & $48 for follow up.

hi jul_04, thanks for the info.

my first appointment is on this sat. with joycelyn wong at TMC. now i am at week 8 plus.

Actually saw 1 gynae before at week 5. but scan nothing. jus a small dot. that visit cost me $170.

anw saw mamijoan's doc near my office. might be more convenient for me. will discuss with hubby again. Joycelyn too popular. i booked her appointment before CNY. always fully booked.

jul04> hahahhaa... coz we are both at home... we are both considered self employed...and i'm not exactly working everyday now... taking it a little easy..coz dun feel well at times... HB is a Interior Designer... so he can work from home... hehehe.... blessed rite?? hahaha.. and save money ma... i cant eat much at one shot anyway...so just buy a big packet to share loh..heee.. :p

huishan

Oh my gynae is partner of Dr J Wong. ACJ Clinic at TMC right?

Yeah Dr Wong is v popular. Mine not so popular, so the wait is not too bad.

Yeah, rach, you so cute. Always share lunch with hubby. Newly married that's why so lovey dovey!

Me and hubby eat a lot. $4 rice definitely not enough for 2 of us. My hubby everything also like to "jia liao". Of course he will "jia" for me as well. Once he ordered prawn mee from Old Airport road (the famous Nam Seng), normal ones, $3 for small, $5 for large. He "jia liao" for both, end up $13 for 2 packets and with only a few additional prawns and some sotong. So unnecessary lor.

And when we eat at hawker centre, we usually order 3 persons portion to share. Haha! Very greedy hor?

And he told me for his lunch if he eats at food court "economic rice", he orders up to $7 coz everything also feel like eating. Haha!

You'd think we must be overweight by now but actually we are average sized and can even be considered slim.

Hi all mummies, I'm a silent reader of this thread. EDD of my baby is 5th sept. First scan was 13th sept, but after last week's visit, gynae say baby growing very fast, changed to 5th instead.

Hi Rachel, I work from home too! Hmm.. self-employed entitled to the 4 mths maternity claims or not har?

Hello joopz

Welcome

I had the same EDD as you, but was brought forward by 1 day. I think u have the same EDD as mamato5.

Hahaha! Yes kiddo. Another few examples. Some of our favourite stalls are Kelantan lane laksa. I will eat the large bowl and my husband eats 2 medium (sometimes I order popiah as well). At our favourite Char kway Teow, we order 1 large, 1 small plus 1 bowl of fish soup (without noodles). But somehow having to take care of baby nowadays has kept me slim. Always no time to eat nowadays. Previously I exercised regularly to maintain my weight.

When my MS stops, I will need to eat even more. During #1, for tea break, I sometimes eat 1 large plate/bowl of noodles and other meals as usual. Pregnancy is the best time to eat without guilt!! I was putting on 3-4 kg per month in 2nd trimester and doc kept asking me to control. But luckily appetite came down during last trimester and I only put on a total of 14-15 which doc says just nice.

wahahah mamijoan.. i so envy.. i eat air onli drink water onli also can get fat....

#1 in total i put on 10kg onli the doc keep asking me to control dun eat too much...

wah how nice if i can eat like you and yet so SLIM!!!!!

kiki, jul04> i have neck and shoulder aches. i used to do acupunture pre-pregnancy but have to stop after pregnancy. the pain kills me sometimes, i no choice have to take tylenol if not i really cannot function.

Btw, can help me update.

Edd: 11 Sep
Number 1
Hospital: Amcare
Doctor's name: to be determined (cos down here the doctors rotate, so we havent decided on one yet).
FTWM
Cannot predict gender yet.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Predict gender</TD><TD>No.</TD><TD>Stay at</TD><TD>SA/FT </TD></TR><TR><TD>shelled</TD><TD>22-Aug</TD><TD>Geraldine Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Bendemeer</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>flower4</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD>Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>jul04</TD><TD>04-Sep</TD><TD>Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>SengKang</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angeline Lee</TD><TD>05-Sep</TD><TD>Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Bedok</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mamijoan</TD><TD>07-Sep</TD><TD>Ang Huai Yan</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Bukit Timah</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>mybb</TD><TD>07-Sep</TD><TD>Lim Teck Chai</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>SengKang</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>rach</TD><TD>09-Sep</TD><TD>Koh C.H.</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>mmto5Js</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>Chan kong hon</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Upper East Coast</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ixlb</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>Beijing</TD><TD>Amcare</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>girlygirly</TD><TD>12-Sep</TD><TD>HK Ho</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>Jurong West</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jeslyn lee</TD><TD>12-Sep</TD><TD>Judy Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Ang Mo Kio</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>kiddo</TD><TD>13-Sep</TD><TD>John Tan</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Jurong West</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crystalz</TD><TD>13-Sep</TD><TD>Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Bukit Panjang</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>mei76</TD><TD>17-Sep</TD><TD>Chen Chern Yi</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>kiki</TD><TD>20-Sep</TD><TD>Y.C. Goh</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Woodlands</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chewy</TD><TD>22-Sep</TD><TD>Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>SengKang</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>milkyway</TD><TD>22-Sep</TD><TD>Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Serangoon</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>huishan</TD><TD>23-Sep</TD><TD>Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Woodlands</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Purpleclouds</TD><TD>24-Sep</TD><TD>Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt E/ MT A</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Serangoon</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>ArtNutz</TD><TD>24-Sep</TD><TD>John Tee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Tampines</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>new_mtb</TD><TD>26-Sep</TD><TD>Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Clementi</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>cho</TD><TD>30-Sep</TD><TD>Kowa Nam Sing</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

jul04> yeah... needs lots of discipline..

mamijoan> hahahaha.. mmm... maried long long also can share lunch wat... when u got no money... got no choice.. hahaha....
Its buy from coffesshop at neighbourhood.. usual price is $2.80.. $4 is already extra a lot.. but rice abit not enough for HB earlier..
told him next time we buy $4 add rice.. hahaha.. coz they give alot of meat... we finish rice still left meat.. hehhe...

wah!!!!!! order 3 portions to share?? cannot la... now i eat only half portion.. HB eats 1.5. sometimes we leave it.. heheh...
piang.. $7.... the most i order is like $4.50??? foodcourt is sooo exp....
Like yest my economical rice is only $3,20.. 2 person share..so shiok...

went down at nite..share with my mum... $3.50. coz add Fried Drumstick.. hahaha... :p

kiddo> hahaha.. married Sep 08...

joopz> no loh.. u wait long long.. but i think the last 2 months can claim from govt... hehehe.. :p
but then i not working much last year...preparing for wedding.. this year now preparing to be mother... use last year income sure siaoz...

lxlb

In Beijing there wud be many experience tui na physicians where they can help u to massage right? Massage wud help to alleviate the pain/soreness, I think.

Just now got craving for chicken wings from Mcdonalds but no Macs around my workplace end up eating drumlets from BK. So lousy, saltish and dry and expensive. Wish I had fries instead.

purpleclouds,

dr ong operates at one afternoon and evening time at ten mile. hehe just saw him last fri. next appt in 3rd march. hehe

mamijoan

Speaking of craving... I find that I like very tasty food nowadays. No bland food like yong tau fu for me. So unhealthy right?

I even find myself craving for Mac's fries, when I was nvr a potato person!

Thanks Mamijoan.

Rachel, got 2 months better than nothing. lol

My appetite now very small also, order larger portion to share with hubby. Keep burping.

I think my peak MS period is over. Although still puke these few days, my appetite has also improved. Starting to have cravings. Just now my lunch of rice with 1 meat, 3 vege still not enough. Next time must ask for more rice. That aunty very stingy with rice but last time she saw I preggy, offered me more rice.

Jul,

its ok lah. When pregnant, the taste changes. I was eating cup noodles so many times last week. Isn't that worse?

mamijoan

Haha cup noodles isn't good either. But then, beter than eating nothing right?

I was very hungry from about 4 - 8 weeks. Seems like appetite is slowing down, not hungry ghost like b4. Hope I continue this way, or I will be too fat.

hi mtbs.. anyone with kids b4 can comment if e gender prediction thingy website is accurate?

gg to be 8week tmr.. meeting gynae again tis sat.. but he nv mention to ask me do all these tests leh.. will ur gynae let u noe e prev visit b4 tat u'll be doing these tests on e next visit? or isit like an impromtu thing? b4 doing these blood tests or DS test do we need to fast 1st?

cho

No need fasting for the tests one. Only those funny special tests which the gynae recommend for u b/c u got certain condition then u need to do special prep.

OSCAR is optional, done in 3rd mth; Blood tests for things like rubella, Hep, HIV etc in 4th mth; Detailed ultrasound scan in 5th mth. But if u do OSCAR, they will norm take blood for the blood test so that u dun need to draw blood twice.

jul> mac tastes bitter to me.. the fries are always bitter to me nowadays.. dun like... fillet also bitter de... sianz...

cho> normally the gynae should let u know beforehand that u need to do those tests.. but it should be ard 12weeks.. u are still early la..

cho

I will be doing OSCAR on Sat, which is week 12. Coz Sep also got 4 weeks, so maybe some faster, some slower. U're only at week8, so gynae will prob talk to u abt the OSCAR at ur next appt.

My gynae asked me at week9 appt abt the OSCAR.

oh.. wa.. if every 2 weeks gotta go see gynae will be sooo exp!!

actually i oso find water bitter.. considering i love to drink water..

btw, regarding e gender prediction website.. mth on conception issit referring to last menses month? then m i supposed to key in e lunar mth or solar mth??

yes, I also find it hard to drink water. Usually drink diluted Ribena or honey instead.

Plus now don't like garlic and chilli. These used to be my favourites.

cho

the prediction thingy not accurate for me previously. I hope this time also not accurate coz it says I'm going to have a boy but I really want to have a girl.

Bye mummies, I'm going to go home early today.

jul04> yeah but most of the shifu here don't dare to massage if they know u pregnant. *sulk*

mamijoan> i had instant noodles twice last week. so guilty after that. =P

Btw my MS is getting better, i have started taking prenatal vitamins with 1mg of folic acid. so tht means i no need to take additional folic acid right?

re: food

I dun seem to like sweet things so much liao. Eg, I used to make my Ribena thicker. Now I make it less sweet. I also put less sugar in my Milo.

But... I still like chocolate. In fact it cures my nausea.