(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

wow, only a few days never come in and i have to go thru 4 pages of thread msgs...

<font color="0000ff">princess</font>,
u are refering to me about Dr Heng TL rite?

haha...u blur blur...

yap, i live in the east...

rach I am still cramping today hence I took leave to rest at home. This is what the doctor
told me but then he seem quite chin chye so dunno to trust him or not :p
I am taking the plain crackers with oat too and it's yummy and crunchy! Try taking with
hot milo, I realised not having hunger pangs will reduce the nausea feeling so I will
take biscuits on and off but then I also have constipation lah perhaps cause by heatiness of the biscuits :p so taking some fruits to
prevent. haha..I only dare to take papaya and try to avoid too "liang" fruits like
watermelon, pineapple, delmonte banana (not sure of the spelling).
me too, everyday pray for the 1st trimester to end, it seemed like never ending.

shelled, I heard that it's genetic too but it's better to apply the stretchmark cream early.
It also depend on how far the tummy stretch. Like my sil, her tummy is not very big
during her pregnancy and she only pile on a few kgs lucky her doesn't have a single stretchmark.
I heard clarins oil is good too but it's quite ex. No harm trying, hehe..

kiddo, maybe be4 u zzz next time u will like to have some light snacks? Nowadays it's very
hard to sleep with hunger pangs. Like last night, I took 1 "london choco roll" strawberry roll
with hot milo be4 I zzz. Keep some handy snacks at home, keke...

mt5js,I also wan to see girly's pic, keke...Having a big family sounds fun!!you must be very young when u get married, so good to have
close age gap with your children. While you are still young, your kids are already grown up. I look forward to the day when I can go shopping and high tea with my gal too, sharing everything under the sun..
However maybe by that time, they will prefer to spend time with their friends instead haha..

I agreed with you! once a while, we must go relax abit but now with no. 2 coming, it will going to be hard.

Oh, I will be reaching my thirties soon and this is my 2nd pregnancy. My first born is already coming to three and she's a handful but then I I think I need her more than she needs me. wahahahaha..

They say 2nd pregnancy will be easier but then for this time, it's like harder for me with
more severe morning sickness and also brown discharge on and off. Somemore I am working now
and I felt very paisay to keep on taking leave to rest.

For me, I am seeing Dr Edwin Thia in KK.Gleneagles sounds nice but I heard it's expensive.

hahha no choice ler... i did try to eat but i really can't eat and dun feel like eating b4 bed... have all kinds of snacks but still dun wanna eat i only wanna eat cup noodles hahahahahah

hihi. i just found out i was pregnant a couple of days ago. 6 weeks.
scrambling to find gynae now and what i can eat and avoid. Goodness..have been eating things i should not eat. :'(

Would you normally find e hospital nearest to your house?
My nearest hospitals are NUH (but heard scary stuff abt e service), GlenE and ME(I'm KIV-ing ME as I know it will be more x).
TMC not v close but after hearing e reviews..abt FBI + service. Am tempted.

Is GlenE expensive compared to TMC? Any price estimate? Can medisave?
Should we choose somewhere near to our house? or it doesn't reli matter?

Morning gals!

I went for tour at MtA &amp; TMC last Sat &amp; just wanna share info for any who may be interested...

MtA

I went for this tour first. Dunno if it's the guide or what, but it feels like MtA is more chinchai... Less commercialised.. I saw the delivery ward (has 9 suites), the er.. what is it, first stage room (???), &amp; the 3 maternity wards (Lady's, Elizabeths',, Rafael's). Most of the delivery rooms have shared toilets. All the maternity wards &amp; deliveries are all on Level 3, which makes it convenient &amp; less confusing for some pple. And there is a nursery for each ward.

But.. my hubby says that the nurseries are not 'protected' enough. Not enough security. Dunno why he seems very concerned that we will kena swop baby due to the confusion of having 3 wards &amp; 3 nurseries hahaha.

Oh the parking situation wasn't ideal. Hubby got impatient &amp; went for valet parking at $4/entry.

The goodie bag they gave us had all the necessary info on pre-natal classes, maternity packages, charges etc etc. No need to get more brochures.

The envioronment was also more peaceful. I went for the 12pm tour &amp; the smells from the lunches were driving me crazy! Think the food there shd be good haha.

I saw the single, double, 4-bedded &amp; deluxe rooms. Seriously, the 4-bedded rooms were super noisy. Maybe it's bcoz it's lunchtime on Sat, &amp; there were a lot of visitors? But the place was a 'mess'. Not conducive to me, coz I really value quiet haha. AND the strange thing.. the guide told me the diff b/w deluxe &amp; single rooms is there is carpeting in deluxe room. Huh???? But there was really no visible diff that I cud notice, except the carpet. Maybe the room was bigger, but I din really notice.

TMC

On the whole, TMC feels more commercialised, the tour guide was a lot more articulate &amp; she gave out a lot more info.

The goodie bag had the maternity packages also, but only up to single room. If u need the rates for the dunno what suites &amp; deluxe &amp; super deluxe rooms, the guide will pass u after the tour.

Delivery ward is on 2nd floor, with abt.. i forgot.. issit 10 rooms? Each with indiv toilet. But the delivery rooms are smaller than the MtA ones, with lower ceilings. More cramped, not so pleasant, but they have their own toilets.

TMC is reno-ing their maternity wards. All come with nice woon panelling, paintings, TVs, dim lighting etc. Corridors are all carpeted. The 5th floor is still under reno but will be completed in Mar 2009.

I din get to see any of the single, 2 or 4 bedded rooms coz they were all occupied. I did see the various suites, which isn't very useful lah, coz it's too expensive for me haha.

The low ceilings din matter so much in the wards, bcoz the lighting will soothe u &amp; disguise the low ceilings. The delivery suite is on 2nd flr, wards are on 3rd to 6th flr (with 6th flr being the luxurious suites). Each flr has only one nursery, so hubby felt more secure abt losing babies haha.

Jul,
i still prefer East shore Hosp...cos the place is really quiet...
went to MtA when visiting my sis...and it is not that good loh...even my mum said ESH room seems bigger as compared...keke

cloudme

Haha that's too far for me. For me, TMC or MtA more convenient. I also figured.. anything happen (touch wood), nearer to transfer to KK also.

But I agree that MtA &amp; TMC are crowded.

shelled> haha. but can u imagine if all the women decided to just stay home and draw a salary from govt? it can be quite chaotic... haha..
and only the male will be left out there to work....

i tot u were gg to sleep liaoz?? still post at 1am... my dinner was all out to the toilet bowl...
it was real awful... choked and stuck.. it was almost as bad as last Sunday.. i pray this isnt going to happen every sun nite... gosh..

my mum has.. and she attributed it to scratching.. i dun really agree on the part where it is genetic...
my fren has.. but her elder sis doesnt.. in fact.. her elder sis dun even look like she has given birth when she's in bikini...
whereas my fren would never fit into a bikini...hahha.. they have both been rather S and L size since young.. and they have 3 other siblings..
hahahah...

mama5> was able to sleep better... compared to the day before.. hehe..tahnks.. but i had a long visit to the toilet before i slept... puking out my dinner..
gosh.. i didnt know that green caixin in Hor Fun becomes BLACK color in our tummy.. it all came out in black strands.. i tot it looked like black seaweed.. then i tot hard what i ate...
and realised its caixin!! man!

susanna> yeah.. i need to eat before i feel nauseaous.. i already dunno what is the feeling of hungry like.. coz i was too used to not eating for long hours...
and now i go by time.. every 3-4hours.. i'll try to grab something to eat... so that i wont be nauseous. the moment i feel it.. its too late.. over hungry liaoz...

Dun take too much papaya too... some other fruits are fine too.. i haven been taking fruits for a long time...
hahaha.. always forgot... heheh...

My coll only put on 9-10kg.. she's almost due anytime...and she doesnt have any stretchmark too..and she's super petite usually loh...
she's bery health conscious and before pregnant, she eats only healthy food. no fried or oily food.. never... she eats a lot of fruits and veggies..
On the contrary.. she eats KFC with her hubby for the 1st time in 4 years since they were together.. amazing rite?
She's been craving more unhealthy food during pregnancy.. but she's doing fine.. she's a disciplinarian... haha..

Jul04> wah.. so fast u went tour liaoz.... so i supposed you prefer TMC??? how much are the hospital stay diff and delivery charges difference??

bryest

I just saw ur news and I'm so sorry. Pls take gd care of your health after the D&amp;C, and let us know anytime u need a listening ear.

rach

Yeah I wanted to go on tour bcoz... I gog to do OSCAR at TMC on Sat. Then I KS, coz of I am gog to give borth at TMC< then I will get the FIB card for the discounts hahaha.

Hey speaking of itching tmmies. Mine has started itching since week 7 lor. And my tummy also started growing bigger very early. Sian man. Now I got pple giving up seat to me in mRT liao haha.

flower4 &amp; lawshe
Do you gals eat lots of spicy food ? Too much may cause heartburn

mommy5
My stomach also very ugly and i got only give birth to one child . My colleague will shocked to see my stomach. It's look as if i give birth to lots of babies. Regret did not wear bikini before i got pregnant.

princess
My MS also reduce a lot this week. So i believe soon all this MS thingy will be over yeah !!
My sis in law, saw my drinking milk. Told me don't drink so much, cause bb will be very big. I freak out , cause when i was preggy with DD , i hate milk. So i did not know, drinking milk bb will be big.

jul04> haha.. good that people are giving u seats.. hehehe... :p

Spring is available at Suntec..

Chern> did u scratch urself alot during #1??
But milk is good for bb.. we need the calcium... dun think drinking milk be cause bb to be big....
and ur SIL is still young rite?? hehhee... how does she know?

rach

Oh.. I went to Marina Sq on Sat, but only saw Maternity Exchange, Mothercare &amp; one more.. forgot name liao. Din like anything there.

Shd have tot to pop over to Suntec.

Do u know what other maternity shops are avail in Suntec? Now cannot walk too much, need to consolidate haha.

just got back from the gynae. Now 8 weeks and baby is 1.92cm. Doc was telling me about the NT test, blood test which is optional and to be done within 11-14 weeks. now still considering.
Anyone confirm doing these tests?

So far, no one gave up their seat to me in MRT ley. *wishing*

I do eat tom yum, chilli, *choy choy* still ok. I guess the key word is eat everything in moderation.

jul04> err.. i dun notice leh.. coz i dun intend to really buy alot from maternity shops.... just buy normal to wear....
those empire cut loh...and trying to get fro frens also... very broke.. so must save on wat i can...

purpleclouds> i'm not doing the tests.. coz we are not going to do anything even if the tests are positive... so dun waste the money..

Well.. I am running out of dresses too. Some are more straight-cut, so they are tight liao. Maybe bcoz I'm more advanced than u, so I got bigger tummy? Anyway it's really quite "fan nao". I dun wanna look like an auntie wor, but yet can't afford to spend so much.

Jul, how many weeks are u already? 11 or 12? I am at week 10 and I have a tummy sticking out but I still can wear my normal clothes

caspinall

Me will be week12 on Fri. But I have to say that my tummy is bigger than normal. Maybe the fats made the tummy grow out faster haha.

It also depends on whether I have eaten, &amp; what time of the day it is. Norm it gets bigger after I eat, &amp; at the end of the day.

What kinda price range is Spring in? Not like Maternity Exchange right? I find that really expensive.

I thought Spring price range was ok. Basic tops cost 19.90 onwards and bottoms about 50 plus onwards. I didn't know maternity exchange is expensive. I even thought of going there to have a look...Thyme maternity at OG and Taka is not bad for bottoms. I saw their jeans and denim skirts on sale..about $50. I will be week 11 on Friday, won't see gynae till end next week..hope baby is doing fine. I guess if I feel ok, no spotting or pain, then baby shd be ok rite? haha..can't help worrying

may i know how come cannot take papayas? I thought is good for milk production.
I thought Spring Maternity is expensive but look from online quite reasonable the pants is about $65. Just wonder should I get S or M cos I am still only 8 weeks

Oh that sounds ok...

Maternoty Exchange uses branded clothes. I saw this nice dress, but it costs $199. So u agar know the price range to expect lah. But if u wana rent an outfit for just 4 weeks, then it's much more affordbale.

haha I undersatnd. I also keep wondering if BB is ok.

jul04> Maternity exchange is ex. but they having sales now ma.. look for the sales pieces..

caspinall> yah same... i'll be seeing gynae 25th feb.. next wed...

babiesmeme> you can take during confinement.. now can take moderately... coz too much will cause yellow color in bb....

Does ur MS start subsiding???? Mine seems to getting worst.... puke even more then in the past.... now the choice of food also worst..... almost dun feel like eating at all now eat fruits... and the choice of fruit limited... sme payaya, rock melon and honey dew... can't take pineapple and watermelon... dinner take apple/ strawberry/peach/plums.. haizzzzz

mama to 5Js

It's in the gene or it cld be coz of my vainess la...I take care of my skin coz even a lil pimple can makes me pretty upset,haha..kua zhang rite...maybe it cld be due to my small frame oso. Think either coz of gene or the tons of chores n handling of kids, even when Im at my fattest (due for delivery), I was at a mere 50kg.
yes, I also look forward to the days when my gals r grown up and Im still "nt very old" and still energetic enough to do "girly" things 2gether with them...

susanna
interested to see my pic arh, i've gt friendster acc, u wanna take a peep?? haha..

shelled
the govt matter, u heard abt the hokkien saying "pi ler long kao tan" ?(wait inside the drain). Think lie inside the long kao wait long long, there also won't be this day tat the govt will do anything to help SAHM or household with single income de...Why?? coz being a SAHM is our choice, if we haf financially difficulties due to the single income, then orh be good lor, we only haf ourself to be blame...They will nv want to know or find out the reasons of why SAHMs become SAHMs.
Actually they r also trying to "lure" mothers who r highly educated with high earning power to stay in the working society by giving high subsidies, incentives, income tax rebates...

Very cute
Fr other thread, some said as early as 12wks. Bt i had my doubt. coz indicated in some internet articles, external genitals only started to take shape only at abt 12wks...
Ur 1st child??

JUL
spring got some nice maternity clothes but also seasonal i find. i just peeped at the suntec outlet after church on sunday, nothing nice leh. i will still be wearing many of my faithful maternity clothese which i collected last 2 preg. i think i bought many from bliss, nine mois etc.. at paragon. their style never seem to go out of fashion and quality v good. as for spring, i can never fit into their jeans or pants cos too short for me. will be hanging at my ankles there. many spore women are tall leh why their cutting so short i also dun understand. also, i dun find their cutting nice. make me look so fat and ass so big!!

girly
i want see ur photo leh!! got facebook acct? anyone of u with facebook acct? add me ok. my username is Teni Poon.

i also the vain type. unfortunately i cant spend hours in front of mirrror doing skincare and make up. mine is chop chop fast one!!

girly - hahah shalled wait and see the day the gender is annouce...

To know when i think about 20 weeks smetime then when we do a detail scan confirm will know de... so no hurry.... meanwhile can enjoy the guessing/prediction game....

Wahhhh juz had MSN fun now is facebook.... mine also in facebook... if you have my hotmail address u will be able to find me hahahah but at ur own risk coz scare u look at my face puke later whahahahaahha

hmmm... did here start the chart of EDD/Name .. etc???

mama to 5js

Juz went into ur FB profile
u sure r one pretty n fun mama...
I haf FB acc too, will PM u my name later on..
friendster acc gt more of my family pics n FB more for my own "fun", haha..
oh..and ur girl is soooo sweet!!

Kiddo
I basically live on things made of flour (bao, bread, soda biscuits), liquids ( milo, cereal, desserts), fruits (strawberries, rock melon, honey dew, papaya, water melon, mandarin oranges tat gt to be sweet).
whole day diet can be brunch (a big pork bao) teabreak (papaya rock melon honey dew 1 pc ea) dinner ( a bowl of sweet potatoes soup)...
I used to be a big eater despite my sz, all this miserable amt of fd makes me weak n sick....

Rach
For my 1st preggy, tummy only itch at the last tri, not so soon. But last time not so discipline in applying cream. So got very bad stretch mark

My SIL is my brother's wife, she has a DS liao. But she only hearsay from her colleague lor abt bb big if we drink milk

girly
email address is [email protected]
i not pretty more towards giantic size hahahahah
but look at more of my sweetie inside....
ya we are so similar taste i had all these till i kind of sick with it yet these are the only food that can go thru the mouth and nose....haizzzz my mum say wait till 4mths everything will be fine coz she too same as me when she was preggy with my bro..... i was like dropping my eyes 4 MTHS...

have your tummies started to show? I think my tummy has expanded quite a bit last few days and breasts also bigger. My mum says that I am noticeably broader. I can't wear my fitting pants anymore, only the looser ones. I've also pulled out two larger size pants which I bought in previous pregnancy which I wore till 4 months. I think in 2-3 week's time, I need to change to my maternity wardrobe already. Previously I also expanded quite quickly and I think for 2nd one, will be even faster since the skin is loose already.

To all the SAHMs,

salute to you. I'm a FTWM and always admire those of you who are prepared to give up your career for the sake of your kids. Although my hubby earns enough to support the family and mine is just to supplement, I just can't bring myself to give up my income. I will feel so insecure if I'm not financially independant. Plus, I need to take care of my parent's financial needs as well since they don't have a lot for their retirement. Also, hubby and I are quite ambitious and perhaps even materialistic. We want to have a comfortable retirement and somehow, just can't bear to give up my contribution to the nest egg. Also, my hubby's job is largely commissioned based. If he is the sole breadwinner, he will be very stressed so at least with double income, it does take some load off him. As a FTWM, we are constantly struggling between work and time with kids and husband. During my son's early stage, I was actually quite upset that he is closer to my mum who takes care of him in the day. Now that he is older, I'm actually glad to be working. At least I have some life away from kids. Guess I'm just not cut out to be SAHM. But it is also tough though coz I don't have a maid and after work and on weekends, I take care of son myself together with a little help from hubby. That means no rest at all.

Girly,
you are really brave to face these problems you have and not choose the easy way out to abort. You are doing the right thing. Previously when I had a hard time conceiving, I always get so upset when people who don't want babies end up getting pregnant while I just couldn't. Although i can't really understand your financial woes, i suppose the first few years will be the toughest (right?), cos child care fees etc are really expensive these days. I suppose when your 2nd one goes to primary school, you probably can start working and can put your two younger ones to childcare then things will be easier? Do you have mum or in laws to help?

Flower4,

poor you. I'm already so miserable with a normal MS where I puke 2/3 times a day. Can't imagine what you are going through. Don't have time to read through all your posts. Hope you are getting enough rest and support to see you through this period.

Hang in there MUMMIES, a few more weeks and we will be in 2nd trimester. (1 1/2 weeks for me.)

kiddo

Juz added u. coz urs private, u muz approved my request b4 i can view u...

saw a girl girl pic, muz b ur dd?? so nw u r having ur no2??

4 mths?? oh mann...

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Predict gender</TD><TD>No. </TD></TR><TR><TD>kiddo</TD><TD>13-Sep</TD><TD>John Tan</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

wahahahah Monday blue no mood to work ... last friday black friday no mood to work... hahahahah suppose i forever no mood to work.... chiammm...

SAHM u r the best how can u gals survive at home!!!!