(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

[sandwich]
wow! so profound! sounds logic to me! hahaha. But i used to eat very little and my weight was 44-45kg all the way eversince i graduate from sec sch. I cant eat much at one go, but i will eat something again after 3hours. Now the amount of food i eat goes down by 50%, the amount of unhelathy food i eat goes down to 100%, the amount of fruits and veges go up to 50%.... still can gain... wonder is it myself gain or is the weight of the water bag + baby etc....

sandwich

Oic. Hey I wud love to be able to wear jeans to work too! But do they look frumpy? That day my mumm told me something that made me so sad. She said I looked v ah ma, now preggie shd try to dress better so that I look more lively & not so dead.

Imagine my MOTHER says I look auntie??? No hope liao *hiaz*

have not logged in for a long time but has been a silent reader. Am now into my 8th week. Have been feeling tired but thankful no MS or NS. Hee, hee. Enjoying this pregnancy. Going to see gynea for the first time tomorrow. A little kan cheong and also a little excited. Hope everything will turn out well.

princess

Yeah I think the FTS wun be done by the gynae. Mine at TMC will be done by the TMC clinic, coz I think only they have the equipment?

Not pain leh, just a bit uncomfortable. I think if dun press, cannot see clearly.

[jul_luvs_babylet]
some people also keep commenting i look so AUNTIE after i married. SO disheartening leh. then i keep thinking, is it my frizzy and messy hair makes me look untidy so people feel i look like auntie. very hurting hor when people say this.

Haha not hurting lah. I am kinda lazy abt my looks. But when my own mother says, then I must sit up & take some notice right?

[lilac]
hihi :) *waves*

same as me, i'm 8wk+ now. hehe..

where you going for your first visit? i think you should be able to see the beanie shape of your baby. :) and heartbeat too!

Remember to update us after your visit ok!

Good for you leh, no MS... i puke like shit.

[jul_luvs_babylet]
Press so hard later my baby pain how. LOL!

Before i got pregnant, i was thinking to go TMC one... then later i realise the gynaes i prefer all so far from me so end up i go back to my mum's gynae better. TMC website so updated unlike ESH! URGH! want to check about those tour also dont have... kns!

my cousins, my family, my relatives say lor.

i so ai mei de lor. but they still say i look so auntie. so sad leh. maybe i more sensitive so i take it to heart lor.

Princessxiaomei

I think the symtoms for everyone is different. I've a friend who never really had MS during her pregancy @ all.. *So envy* and I agree, it's so xin ku to be puking all the time! damn sian..

maybe you can try out more different food? sometimes might be because bb don't like the food you eat that's why throw up? my bb quite selective eating one.. likes anything from mac and 7-up but detest chicken rice, mee rebus and green tea. I tried having fruits for lunch yest coz so sick of puking all the food i ate for lunch, end up throwing up all the fruits as well.. but @ least one comforting thing is that when i threw up the fruits, it was sweet and nice smelling instead of the usual bitter taste..

princess

No lah, wun be pain one. The BB is happily bouncing & swimming ard insoide, all protected.

Yeah I find the TMC website v good also. All the info so easy to find. And they have v regular hosp tours too.

Haha but u said that ur relatives all say bad things abt u, nvr gd things right? Why u care abt what they say? U shd ask other pple lor.

how things... again on MC for the past 2 days still dun feel very well.... sian no choice got to come back to work... first thing kenna complain why i always on MC....
No choice got to tell boss otherwise they will make me fly overseas... hate it....

Went see gynae on Monday everything seem fine and hope it stays the way... though still puke every now and then but as long as bb is okay everything would be okay....

Me too doing oscar scan on week 12 at TMC....

[feli]
I try liao le. Some of the food just turn me off. Some of the food i eat i puke. I try many kinds liao le. Each time i puke, i feel so tired and weak. And i really hate it. Cos it makes me super gaowei. ): OILY , SOUR, BITTER, SPICY i confirm PUKE immediately. The rest, i will puke an hour later. I try many times already.

[jul_luvs_babylet]
woah.. must be so cute... hahahaha...

Hmmm... huh you want me to ask other people, you think i look like auntie? LOL! sad leh...

ya lor.. TMC so updated one.... ESH website ma chiam sot liao... hahahaa... and nothing much to see. KKH NUH TMC website still got things to see.. must feedback liao.. hahaahaaa....

[kiddo]
Whats your boss reaction when you tell him or her you're pregnant?

Hope they will understand lor.

jiayou!

here alot of mummies giving birth at TMC!

Jul_luvs_Babylet
so good that you can still eat. I use to be a greedy piggy b4 i got preg. See everything also want to eat.. now is see everything also sian. and i losing weight so dunno bb taking in the nutrients or not..

Sandwich
Thanks for sharing the belly belt thingy. Looks like it's something that's really useful. Maternity clothes are so ex nowadays! *Faint*

lilac
Enjoy your first gynae appt tml! So good that you dont have MS.. think MS is the worst thing i've ever had! I havent got any gynae yet.. starting to get gan cheong liao but @ least i did my first scanning with a GP at 7w. could see bb heartbeat le..

Princessxiaomei
boss only say "i understand" then nothing hmm wonder what he understand praying he retrench me then get the necessary $$ and run...

OOo many choose TMC ... i still prefer MT A... hahah many too good life there... the last time

[kiddo]
HAHAHA. hopefully he doesnt retrench you or ill treat you like some of my friends. Hope he is Mr Nice Boss and will show more care and concern. He thinks very easy to be pregnant ah. BOX his face la! HAHAAHAHHAA................

You must take good care ok!

You going Mt A or TMC? Your first baby right? You also staying at WEST or NORTH har?

princess,
hmm,i deliver my ger at ESH last yr...

RE: contacts for tours
Maternity tours
Just as you will have to get familiar with your new baby over time, we would like you to familiarize yourself with us before the baby's arrival. We conduct tours of the delivery suites and maternity ward so that patients can get to know our staff and facilities before their hospital stay.

Call the following contact number to book an appointment for the tour:

Mount Elizabeth Hospital - Tel: (65) 6731-2921 (Client Service Executive)
Gleneagles Hospital - Tel: (65) 6470-5610 / 6470-5615 (Customer Service)
East Shore Hospital – (65) 6340-8777 / 6340-8681 (Customer Service)

Wow... the posts are flying.. Went to my gynea yesterday.. She gave me antibiotics for my throat n flu n cough. She is worried that I may developed into pneumonia or something.

and she gave me 3 days mc... but I still got loads of work so I tell myself I will try to settle everything today so that I can take mc for the next 2 days.

But baby is fine. It is 8cm now (8 wks 5 days) and we can see the heart beating really fast.

As for the OSCAR test, that is for the down syndrome test right?

My first pregnancy, my gynea actually asked me if ur baby is diagnosed with down syndrome, will u abort it? If the answer is no, then she said no need to waste $ for the test.

princessxiamei
hahaha in my whole life i never met a good boss yet... so call my immediate boss(nice guy) hire me got force to go by him... so i dunno if he nice or not...hmmmm anyway work juz work lor...

This is my number 2.. (excluding previous mc)hope it be fine ....
I had my no 1 at MT A was pretty enjoying life there... so will be choosing MT A again this time

I styaing at the WEST!

kiddo

I haven't told the big boss yet, he's a man. But my immed boss I gotta tell, coz I kena 1 week MC & bcoz we work v closely together, & I need to go off for gynae appts etc, very hard to hide.

feli

Actaully being able to eat is no good if I eat unhealthy food. I now like savoury & nice-tasting food. Dun like bland & healthy food like yong tau fu, fish soup etc. Not good wor..

mamato5

Hey we're just one day apart! That means ur EDD is 5 Sep lah? Haha so exciting. I aws can't wait for the next appt to see how much babylet has grown & developed.

my initial edd is 11 sept but the last visit baby has grown so much so i dunno if gynae will shift edd not. next tues seeing him again so will see how.

im opp of u. i cant stomach food that is too tasty. the more bland for me the better

i never come in for 3 days, so much to catch up on. not feeling too great these few days. think the MS is starting to kick in more. at nights i'm peeing 2-3 times and also in the middle of the night when i wake up i can still burp which means dinner cannot fully digest even then. feels awful.

been reading about you gals talking about oscar and triple tests. is it the same thing or different thing? when are you scheduled to do your oscar tests or triple tests? i think my gynae will be going triple test for me leh. so i'm wondering if its the same as oscar. but he mentioned only doing that in wk16. seems quite late? read that some of you doing in wk12?

mummies doing triple tests, which wk are you scheduled to do this test?

mamato5

Hey I wish I cud eat bland food man! At least I will be foreced to eat more healthy food

I'm seeing my gynae next Sat.

kiddo

Yeah, no choice. But I'm working for stable co, so at least no fear of retrenchment.

kiki

I think triple test is not the same as OSCAR. FTS = OSCAR. Triple test is done at 16 weeks one, if I rem correctly from my book. OSCAR is like a new thing, which is more accurate if done are wek 12 lor. But both is for downs syndrome.

jul04,

so means its like a different way of testing but it still tests for the same thing? so only need to do either the oscar or triple tests, but not both ya? coz my gynae like never mention about oscar test, only triple tests. so i'm kinda confused when i read about oscar.

kiki

Acoording to what I read.. OSCAR is something new. It will take ur blood, take scan of BB's neck thickness, take mother's age etc & calculate the risk of the BB being DS.

Triple test I cannot really rem.. but it also got blood test & stuff but I think maybe dun have the statistics calculation part.

The book claims that OSCAR got something like 90% accuracy, whereas Triple Test got 70%?

But I know some og the gals' gynaes dun believe in OSCAR. They still think Triple Test better, like more proven or something? Maybe ur gynae is more traditional & careful type?

jul,

yeah, maybe my gynae more old school. hehe... he is afterall quite old.

hmm... thanks for the clarification. i think i'd discuss with hb to see if wanna go for the oscar test instead. if they can claim 90% accuracy, it must be proven and true bah?

for mummies taking oscar tests? can this be done in the gynae's clinic or must go to the hospital to do this test?

Sorry for this late post. Went to the gynae yesterday afternoon and was dead tired after that, so had no time to read this thread.

babiesmeme
<blockquote>I've ordered some from Cooz maternity. They are pretty cheap but the clothes are a tad too big for me. Cos they are free size so I need to alter some. They are all brand new.</blockquote>

kiki
<blockquote>My gynae told me that the more accurate the test, the more invasive. My hubby and I decided not to go for the test as we will not terminate the pregnancy regardless of the result. Sometimes, there is 'false positive'. I have a colleague, both of his children were tested positive for Down Syndrome. But when they were delivered, they are fine. It was 7 months of worry for nothing.</blockquote>

kiki

The OSCAR can only be done at hosp I think. Bcoz of the equipment involvd, I think.

Like for me, even tho my gynae's clinic is at TMC, I still need to do the OSCAR at TMC's special clinic.

I think KKH &amp; NUH are the other places that have it too.

hi mtb,

but from what i read and understand, seems like both oscar and triple tests are not invasive tests leh and don't post any risk of m/c. the invasive ones are CVS and amniocentesis. gynaes usually only recommend to do this if there is very high risk of DS.

kiki

If u want, u can ask ur gynae abt OSCAR &amp; se what he says. If he recommends, then u can go TMC or one of the other hosps to do. If he says not recomm, then good to follow his advice also lah.

The following items are for sale:

1) full set of the Medela Harmony pump (used only once) + Brand new (opened) membane valve (1pc) &amp; Brand new membranes (3 pcs) all selling at $50

2148895.jpg

2) BN valve &amp; membrane set selling at $28 (retail price ~$30)

2148896.jpg

3) (Used only once) NUK standard neck bottles without teats
- 4pcs x 125ml + 2pcs x 250ml selling at $40

2148897.jpg

4) BN Avent Airflex Newborn Starter Kit + 1pc BN Avent feeding bottle (125ml) selling at $40

2148898.jpg

Self collection at AMK or SengKang train station.

Interested please pm me.

jul,

yep, will ask him. but my next appt is only 3wks later. at that time i'd be 11wks. still got time hor? oscar is 12-13wks rite?

kiki

I rem my gynae said optimum time is 12 weeks. I just cheked on the Net, the range is 11-14 weeks.

But u have to book appt one, so allow some time to wait for an appt.

NT scan is the so call oscar test. more accurate.
triple test only blood test.

ahz.. me only going to be the 10th week this sunday. how i wish time fly faster!

kiki

Yes, crystalz's right. I just checked. Triple Test is just blood test, testing for 3 types of 'chemicals' in the body, that;s why it's called Triple Test.

OSCAR is like blood test together with the neck thickness scanning (nuchal transalucency?), so maybe that's why they say the accuracy higher? Coz combined a few tests mah?

blessedmommy

Eh, my EDD 22 Aug, so I don't think I'll be one of the first few to give birth?

When it was 40D really damn painful lah. Cannot be touched at all. Had to put cold compress and all so it would hurt less. But after milk stabilise, went back to 38C and stop hurting totally.

Now i think about engorgement I also get a bit scared. :p

peanutbutter

I heard about the water birth suite @ NUH also. But NUH is quite far, plus we have no car.

The whole reason why I'm keen on waterbirth is because when I had #1, I would go have a warm shower everytime I had braxton hicks, and it always eased the discomfort greatly. So I thought waterbirth should work quite well for me.

My DH say bellybelt ugly... so he got me Bella Band instead. So far not too bad to use. Except a bit troublesome to initially adjust the band when you wear it. Also, after go toilet have to adjust again. But after a while, now I think I cannot live without it. hahaha.

princessxiaomei

I think it's more water weight? Are you drinking enough water? Otherwise water retention will make you weigh more and feel more bloated.

jul_04

I think they also call it "detailed scan". FA also done during 20-24 weeks range. So I think should be same? Too many tests, make us preggy women sibei blur. :p

jul,

okie.

crystalz,

hehe...this sunday will come very fast lah! me then wait long long... another 17 days before my next appt! Zzzzz....

Princessxiaomei, I will be going to Dr. Joycelyn Wong. My all time favourite. hee, hee. U are 8 weeks liao? So our EDD should be around the same date - mine is Sep20-22.

Feli, wah! Your GP must be quite specialized to have an ultrascan machine. Hope your MS will go away soon. It must be really tiring to puke so many times.

Sorrie... *blur me* made a mistake... The bb is currently only 1 over cm .. :p

Sigh.. very absentminded recently.. keep losing things too.

mei76

Hurhur. It is common lah.

I actually gave my boy an empty bowl without food inside. Then he had to ask me "mama? mum-mum where?"