(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

kiki,

I believe your 6mm sac refers to the water sac (that will later develop into the amniotic sac) the embryo (fetus) at week 5/6 is only around 2mm. Which is hard to detect under normal ultrasound scan. Theorectically, the bb's heart cells starts beating at around week 5/6, but because it's all so small and microscopic, normally its hard to detect. I think you don't have to worry too much..

I had my first visit at 6 weeks and can see a 6mm watersac through ultrascan. and my gynae told me that most prob. can't see the fetus as yet as it's extremely small. cheers!

hi enxuan,

thanks for your assurance.
maybe i'm juz over paranoid. this is #1 for me. i juz pray everything goes smoothly.

Anyone here with Dr Lawrence Ang at Sun Plaza. Any comments about him? I read some very good reviews about him and that his stitching is very good if need to c-section. But his clinic didn't leave a good impression. So now I'm kinda having 2nd thoughts.

Would you like to share who your gynae is and why you chose him/her? I can do with a little more advise and help!

I chose mine based on close proximity to my home. Nothing much was done for me during my 1st visit other then just an ultrascan and the nurse took my weight.

What did your gynae's checked during your 1st visit and how many wks were you then? Maybe its too early to check anything else for me.

<font face="comic sans ms"> I went for my gynae visit today. @ 1st couldn't see anything from tummy scan. So Dr. Wong did a V-scan &amp; we saw flickering heartbeat on e screen. Based on e size, my EDD has been changed to 09-09-09.

<font color="0000ff">KiKi,

I was with Dr. Lawrence Ang for my #1 pregnancy. Have share why I changed to Dr. Wong in my 1 of my earlier post. U can scroll up to read.

Reason why I chose Dr. Wong is because she is very patient, reassuring &amp; warm. She really cares alot for her patients.</font></font>

<font face="courier new">
Nick<font color="ffffff">...........</font> <font color="ffffff">..</font>EDD<font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ffffff">......</font>Gynae <font color="ffffff">...............</font>Hosp <font color="ffffff">..</font># of Pregnancy

<font color="0000ff">Cloudme ....... 01-Sept-09 <font color="ffffff">..</font>Dr. Heng TL<font color="ffffff">.........</font> <font color="ffffff">..</font>ESH<font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ffffff">....</font>2nd
enxuan ........ 03-Sept-09 <font color="ffffff">..</font>Dr. Joycelyn Wong<font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ffffff">..</font>TMC<font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ffffff">....</font>1st
Jul_04 ........ 04-Sept-09 <font color="ffffff">..</font>Dr. Caroline Khi<font color="ffffff">....</font> <font color="ffffff">........</font> <font color="ffffff">....</font>1st
Tinkabel ...... 05-Sept-09 <font color="ffffff">..</font>Dr. Chan KH<font color="ffffff">.........</font> <font color="ffffff">..</font>Glen E <font color="ffffff">....</font>2nd
Jenifur ....... 04-Sept-09 <font color="ffffff">..</font>Dr. Joycelyn Wong<font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ffffff">..</font>TMC<font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ffffff">....</font>3rd
Whitey ........ 09-Sept-09 <font color="ffffff">......................</font> <font color="ffffff">..</font>KKH<font color="ffffff">...</font>
Haystack ...... 10-Sept-09 <font color="ffffff">..</font>Dr. Adrain Woodworth <font color="ffffff">..</font>TMC<font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ffffff">....</font>2nd
Lxlb .......... 11-Sept-09 <font color="ffffff">......................</font> <font color="ffffff">........</font> <font color="ffffff">....</font>1st
Hui Chern ..... 13-Sept-09 <font color="ffffff">..</font>Dr. Lim Teck Chai<font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ffffff">..</font>Mt.A<font color="ffffff">..</font> <font color="ffffff">....</font>2nd
WaiWai ........ ??-Sept-09 <font color="ffffff">..</font>Dr. Adrain Woodworth <font color="ffffff">..</font>TMC<font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ffffff">....</font>2nd

If you would like to join us, or update your EDD, please email me! </font></font>

kiki

My daily prescribed dosage of folic acid is 5mg.
On top of that I am prescribed duphaston, 1 tablet in the morning and 1 tablet at night.

I still eat my women's multi-vitamins daily, too. And now drinking Anmum milk about once in 3-4 days (used to try to drink it daily)

Btw, has anyone been told not to squat as it's bad to squat during pregnancy?

Plus do you stop bending forward as much as possible now?
(eg. bend forward to pick up things, etc)

hi jenifur,

wah your edd is a very nice date! i was juz telling my hb if our bb can due on that date how nice. hee..then i read your post.

to be honest and fair. my 1st vibes about dr ang were not that bad. but since its only my 1st visit, i can't be certain. i have juz scrolled back to read your post and feel really sorry for what you've been through. it occurred to me while reading your post that when i ask dr ang abt V scan today, he seemed reluctant to do so. he said i'm still early and its probably too small to see anything and V scan can be quite painful. instead he did an ultrascan, afterwhich he claims can see the sac. honestly, i didn't see any sac, or maybe i dunno how to see. i looked at my hb and ask him, you saw it? hb said yes. so i left it at that. he also didn't give me any est due dates, just said too early to tell. i felt quite disappointed.

my other concern is that his clinic is right at the back of the whole setup, in the front area is the GP area. we were wondering why so strange. in order to get to the women's clinic one has to walk past the GP waiting area where all the sick patients are?? the waiting area in his clinic is small and crampy. weekday today and its packed, no place to sit, many other people standing around, including hb and myself at a corner trying not to get into anyones way. and everyone looked rather grumpy maybe due to waiting time? gosh, it was all quite stressful for me. lol!

hi whitey,

thanks for the info on folic acid. how abt the other ladies here? are your prescribed folic acid by your doc also 5mg?

your women's multi vitamins also contains folic acid right? is it ok to eat too much folic acid?

coz i'm also taking multi-vits but the prenatal ones. i ask the doc today, he said its ok for me to take my own multi-vits only and not take the ones from the clinic. but i later on realised that the dose for folic in my multi-vits are so much lower then clinic prescribed ones at 5mg. however when i check online, its said that the recommended dose is what i'm taking now which is about 800mcg.

i'm so confused! which is which??? take more better or take 800mcg can already?

Gsheng, i am also puking alot, just try to relax and avoid forceful cough each time.. at your next visit to your gynae, you can ask him to presribe u with tablets for vommiting, that might help.

Lynnette, gd to have your update that everything is fine.....

Ladies, realise that u girls mentioned MS kick in only now. but my MS started when i discover my pregnancy, is there anything wrong??

i cant eat much and is always feeling hungry, so miserable... and whenever i am hungry and cant eat immediately, my hunger will give more problems like puking and burping... i am also very sensitive to smell, anything and everything, not sure if this is normal or i am over sensitive..

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">KiKi,

e trick is to go to e clinic, give Mdm Chan yr card &amp; den tell her u r gng for lunch/dinner. Go back about an hrs time. Best time to see him is during e afternoon or last patient on Sat, if not den is really happy waiting. And Mdm Chan can be very grumpy/forgetful when she gets too busy.

800mcg is recommended enough but for lady who are a little overweight, den is recommended to take 1,000mcg daily. Anyway Folic acid itself is a water soluble vitamin, so any additional folic acid that you may have taken in that your body does not need will be flushed out of your system and will not harm you or your baby.

Another must have for us now is Calcium. We will need about 1,000mg of Calcium daily now so don't forget yr to drink your milk.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">LawShe,

Actually having MS is a gd sign, it means that your pregnancy hormones are very strong. There's nothing wrong other than u suffer more when MS started early.

My MS started very early in my 1st pregnancy too. And it was really very bad, I couldn't stomach anything, not even water. Hated e smell of food too...even medication cannot help. I had to be admitted for drip at 1 point. It was really torturing</font></font>

Jenifur,
I like UR BB's EDD too...SO beautiful....
Can you add my EDD too? 05/09/09
I'm with Dr. Lim Yuin Wen @ Mount Al

Ladies another question from me.

My doc mentioned that my bleeding could be coming from my vaginal. Any idea what causes it? The first time, she told me could be abrasion but the bleeding is getting heavier. When i wipe with a tissue paper after urine, I can see fresh blood.
Not sure if it's because of the Vaginal Scan that I had on Mon and Tue.

lynnette,

i heard that some ladies do get 'menses' while being pregnant.

but have you thought of seeking 2nd opinion to make sure that everything is ok?

Well, i actually went to KK on Tue after visiting my gynae on Mon. Both gynae also said that BB is fine and position of BB is right.
Hopefully, it's only "menses" but the bleeding really looks like menses....Haha...
When I go to the toilet, I got to convince myself that I'm pregnant........
Anyway, CrystalZ, thanks for the reply.

Hello ladies! Really nice to see so many of u here.

Its also nice to be in a MTBs thread again..This is 3rd pregnancy..1st one was an early m/c.
From the 2nd pregnancy...I have an active boy who will turn 2 in Feb!
Agree that its very tiring at this stage..Im a SAHM..n doing some freelance work from home.
I should be coming to 5 weeks..not intending to see gynae until after CNY mid Feb maybe..cos I find nothing much can be done in 1st trimester..jus have to get enough rest..n I bought some folic from the pharmacy..n taking up enough calcium.
Actually I've not decided on my gynae..may not be seeing my previous gynae.

Lynette..Yup I've heard that some women get "breakthrough" bleeding..its like menses..apparently the HCG hormones not enough to surpress menses in the early trimester for some..Can check out the net..type "breakthrough bleeding".
However, do get a 2nd opinion if u dont feel comfortable about it.
Hmm..or maybe u doin too much..slow down n rest as much as possible..hopefully the bleeding will stop.

hi jenifur, thanks for the assurance that everything is fine... i am keeping my fingers cross and trying to get enough rest each day..

jenifur, like the others commented, ur bb EDD is really nice... i am so excited to find out my bb EDD.

talking about calcium intake, i just started drinking milk today, will increase the intake from now on... would like to find out if any mummies here take calcium tabs?

Lynette, have your bleeding stop?? must take gd care and avoid carrying heavy stuff

hi jenifur

thanks for the tips!

currently i'm on prenatal multi-vits, inside got calcium about 350mg only. i try my best to REMEMBER to drink a tall glass of fresh milk everyday. will this make up 1000mg of calcium?

darling princess wife

not to worry i think, i also don't have ANY symptoms yet. i'm also about there 5-6 wks. it varies for different people, some get really early some get it later.

Thanks for the concern. Hopefully it's the breakthrough bleeding that I'm experiencing.
Will keep u updated.

Talking about milk, is UHT milk suitable?
Coz, I've not buy any milk for mummy. Been drinking UHT milk only.

hi lynette,

what is UHT milk? is there such a thing as milk for mummy? i'm juz drinking fresh milk, wonder if this is good enough.

darling princess wife... not to worry, my last pregnancy i also didn't have symptoms in the first few weeks. think this time i start to have MS and get tired earlier

jenifur... thanks for updating the list. i will let u know the more accurate EDD later. your EDD is very nice!

lynette.. take care! rest more. what is V-scan? or u mean virginal examination?

mummies... i think i should be very happy for the second pregnancy... but at the same time, i'm a bit sad... because both my gynae and #1's paediatrician advised me to stop breastfeeding #1 who is 6 months old. they said breastfeeding will cause uterus contraction and will harm #2 inside my tummy.

initially i thought i would stop breastfeeding when #1 turns 6 months old, but as time goes by, i think i should give her breast milk longer, since tahan so long already. and i just sent my breast pump for servicing. now have to keep the pump away soon...

i feel a bit unfair to #1, but have to consider the safety of #2 too... hmmm...

i'm having mild cramps, this is normal rite? *worried* everytime the cramp feels abit tighter, i quickly go toilet to check if i'm spotting.

yah lor... Jenifur EDD very nice leh... will get one year free milk or diapers... hahaha... Me &amp; hubby also thought will be nice to deliver on this day also...

I'm 6/7 weeks through.. MS kicks in slowly since last week though... It started with motion sickness... now is really bad already... almost the whole day feel queasy... i also cant eat much at one meal but is always feeling hungry and whenever i feel hungry for too long I cant eat immediately, the hunger will bloat me up... and will feel so nausea...

Havnt been to my first visit yet... though I equally excited to see my BB for the first time... the gynae I'm going to see is on leave and will only see me 2 weeks later... (CNY week)

Btw, anyone have already started to show some bulging tummy already??? I used to have a little bit tummy before pregnancy... but I realise tummy shape &amp; size change recently to become more firm &amp; bloated... I already started to can't fit into my jeans or shorts anymore... but weight have not show much increase yet.. have to start wearing ugly loose clothings... sigh...

for your 1st trimester, how was your schedule like on seeing the gynae? is it 1 mth once, 3 wk once or 2 wks once appointments?

whats the norm? is there a norm? or the doc will decide based on case to case?

Hi kiki,

I also experienced some mild cramps in week 5. Now I'm in week 7. So I think if you're not spotting, don't worry too much

Hi KiKi,
UHT is those packet milk that no need to be stored in fridge. I did see formula milk powder in supermarket shelves....think it's what i meant mummy milk. Haha.....

And I also experience cramps and backache too...
hmm....

oh...i've never noticed formula milk powder for mums, i always thought those formula milk powders are only for babies. hee...

any of you experience indigestion? i ate alot (coz very hungry earlier) for dinner, now 11pm, 4 hrs later, i kinda still feel bloated and slightly sick.

can pregnant mummies drink green tea? the tea bag kind.

kiki

At wk 7 I no longer feel any cramps.

Ya, I'm also wondering if pregnant mummies can drink green tea (both tea bag kind and commercialised in bottles kind)... cos I love green tea!

I havnt really felt indigestion cuz can't eat really much for each meal... but have to keep myself full constantly to prevent feeling bloated &amp; nausea..

I always drink green tea nowadays leh.. but is those bottled type... I tot green tea got no caffine compared to Red Tea like lemon tea...

Casandra

Ya I also think green tea doesn't contain caffeine. But it's not considered too 'cooling' rite?

kiki

I avoid coffee and tea altogether (except green tea). But so hard to forgo tea...cos milk tea is my fave!

Hi kiki..

I avoid coffee n tea now..but guess a cup a day should be fine..especially if its routine for u.
If I really want, I go for decaff..or those fruit teas with no caffeine.

I think they said a cup of coffee a day is ok. But maybe wait till you're 12 weeks. Play safe.

I had a bad cramp last night. Super Menses kind of cramp and bled alot. When I woke up in the night to urine, I realised clots came out. After the clot is out, felt better....Oh on....is it my bb?
Now my tummy feels a little pain.

Will be going to another gynae to check...
Last week already seen gynae 3 times. All three visits BB is fine....

Now the cramp is gone....really hope it's not serious.....

kiki: 1st trimester usually once every month. but u prob need to time ur ultrasounds (ie detect heartbeat at 6-7 weeks and then the down syndrome testing at 10-12 weeks which they need to do ultrasound to measure the fluid at bb's neck and a blood test). then from then onwards, it's once every mth until u are in the last month, then every two weeks, then every week until u deliver. Of course, at 20 weeks, u need do detailed scan to ensure ur baby is ok (ie they check all organs, even fingers, toes, lips etc)

Fresh milk is gd enough. My gynae forbids me to take the mummy's type of milk powder cos he say tat will make me put on excessive weight tat I dun need.

Kiki, casandra: I also feel tat indigested feeling, although I have no MS and no puking. But dun think there is anythg i can do. I just try to take smaller meals.

Wai wai: congrats. No need to feel bad. i also had to stop bfg my 1st baby but I guess it's for the gd of the 2nd one. When I deliver the 2nd one, I can give my BM to the 1st again. Haha...

Re: 1st gynae visit
Hvnt been to the gynae yet since I tested positive. Will see her on Wed. Hopefully everythg will be fine and can detect heartbeat, cos I will be in my 7 weeks.

I'm expecting my 1st baby in Sept too, been to the doc last week and he told me I'm about five weeks pregnant. Currently, I'm looking for a suitable gynae to go to, anyone has a recommendation? As I am a teacher, I thought I shd go to KKH but TMC seems to be highly recommended by many..What do you gals suggest? Spotting happened on my actual day of menses and doc suggest i see a gynae soon...if recommended through him, it will be at TMC..

Lynette,

Yeah, i definately agree with the rest of the ladies. Do you mean clots of blood?? You should have it check immediately. Feedback to us okie? Take care.

I have bought extra 2 bottles of DOM liqour for my wife's confinement. (Mother-in-law already bought them).
All 2 bottles are brand new and I am letting go at $56 each, 750ml bottle.
Supermarkets are selling at $65.
Please contact [email protected] for enquiries!

tinkabel,

really? oh no, today i bought a box of Anmum already. got the chocolate flavoured one, coz i think it will be easier to go down. nvm lah, if its good for baby, i dun mind putting on weight.

all the timing of the scans and necessaary tests, the gynae will plan for you one rite? or do we have to do the planning of when we wanna do these tests ourselves? coz so far i've only been to the gynae once, did an ultrascan, the session was very brief, less then 10mins then he juz said will see me 3 wks later.