(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

Hi MoMoCha,
yup, quit job with environment co last year, now teaching. Do i still sound like someone u know?

You girls are all so seasoned, use a monicker even for real name. I not so smart, thought real name must be Real Name. Didn't expect forum to display real name together with nickname.

Me having a bad cough now. Worst thing is cannot take anti-biotics. Got to rest and depend on my own immune system to recover.

Oh, and Pamelia, thanks for advice on cordyceps. I not too sure whether bad or not, but i did take during past pregnancies and babies turned out ok. Just to be same, perhaps just take plain chkn essence for now.

florence,
me also not smart/seasoned lah...

but i come into thread to read b4 realise that ppl use nick for the real name part ...so i do the same...

jul: congrats u have a boy too!! =)
princess: wa.. u so fast gg wk 14 liao.. i'm only at w13.. today on mc coz caught flu fr my hubby.. feel so bad keep mc-ing.. but really no mood work.. haiz

btw, any mums noe if preg women can go hot spring? tinking of gg to japan in may..

I feeling very depress & upset of the financial situation i am in.Having a 2nd bb now seems to be the wrong time. i'm so uncertain how we are going to cope the moment this bb arrives. God has to come through for us, if not i really do not know how. Why do myself & DH keep on getting to face with financial issues. It's so upsetting.

I know i should be happy to hv another. But the future worries me. I really need a place to vent out. Cried myself to sleep while praying. This pregnancy has making even more negative about everything

hui chern,
look at the bright side...
there's a saying..."there's light at the end of every tunnel"...
so look at the bight for the sake of the bb...
u dun want a bb to have a sad look when born rite?

Gd morning mummies,

kiki.. chked with my mummy.. she say chinese n american ginseng similar ley.. just that chinese ginseng is better.. but she say try not to eat so early.. mayb after 4mth then eat but still can eat abit la.. but maybe dun everyday
eat/drink lo..

Congrats Flower! wow.. its really all boys so far.. must come in this thread more often to get the boy bb dust

Florence.. u mean we cant take anti-biotics?! aiyo... my GP really cannot make it then.. he gave me anti-biotics last wk too.. for my flu n sore throat.. but i din take at all.. and nw i'm having cough too

huichern.. try to be positive? well.. i always like to remind myself of those not so fortunate ones that since they can survive, why cant I.. i can understand your worries.. but if we really dun hve the means to plan for the future yet, we just have to take a step at a time nw.. I'm sure if we're strong and stay united as a family, we will be able to pull it thr.. And i'm sure your family and friends will be ard with you too..

Morning to all! The thread here is really moving very fast!=)

Jul & Flower4, congrats on your baby boy!! Feb got many baby boys in TMC. My cousin just gave birth to a baby boy in 28 Feb and i saw many bb boy (wrapped with blue towel) in the nursery room too! =)

Pam & define, I also have the same appt as you - 30th March. Hopefully can see the gender by then.

Princessxiaomei, regarding your backache maybe you can try some lower back excercises? It might help you to reduce the pain. Also, hope you get over your MS soon!

Re Epidual
Currently, I think I will go for natural without epidual. I'm not sure if i can bear with it but most of my friends told me is bearable. My cousin who just gave birth also w/o epidual. Just 3 pushes and the baby is out! Sound so easy....=p but i heard that the contraction will make us easier to push the baby out.

hui chern,
i am sure that there are a lot of ways to cut corners with pregnancy and having a bb. there are a lot of poor families in singapore who make do with what they have, i guess it's a matter of expectations. for me, i was very thrifty during the pregnancy and having first kid, even when i could afford more expensive alternatives, cos my mentality is that a penny saved now = an extra penny for bb when he grows up.

anyway, to share, during my pregnancy, i had my regular visits at public hospitals and didn't request for a specific gyne. all the prenatal visits/scans/tests/medicine cost me between $500-$700 in total only. delivery was also not performed by a specific gyne. after delivery, i opted for a 6 bedder at public hospital. delivery charges cost less than a $1000 i think. because bb was considered a subsidized patient (bb's subsidy status is tagged to mummy's status), so now all his PD visits/medicine/vaccinations at the hospital are at a subsidized patient's rate till he's a teenager, even though he's seeing a senior PD. we really save a lot by making use of the subsidized rate.

after birth, i chose (and you can too) to breastfeed fully w/out pumping out for as long as possible. you'll save tons of money by doing that! during first two months, i also took care of bb on my own w/out having a confinement lady/maid/parents/in-laws. so that's another form of saving.

Ya hui chern, like what cloudme & Kat said be more positive and look on the brighter side. Don't think so much as it will affect you and baby. Everything will be fine. Just be more adventurous and face the issue together with your hubby - that's what my lecturer told me before. k

sandwich,

wow sounds like u r supermum!! very pei fu... i dont think i can survive with no help... haha

i'll opt for natural w/o epi first.. then see whether my pain threshold can tahan..

wow so many mtbs ar having boys.. my online test prediction and using rachel's caln shows it's going to be gal! and last nite i dreamt of my gynae telling me it's gal.. so i better prepare it's a gal... mayb i'll b the first to report a gal?

hui chern,
for bb necessities, can make do with hand-me-downs for the first couple of months. not necessary to buy a lot of big items like fancy toys and expensive strollers if you can't afford it. a lot of playthings can be fashioned out of household items. and a sling/bb carrier will do a fantastic job of ferrying bb around if you can't afford a $1000 aprica stroller. for cheaper bb books, go to bras basah to get, or wait till bookshops like borders have 30% deals, or can always borrow from library.

reading your post made me kinda sad. i hope you'll be able to cheer up and think more positively. when one door closes, another window opens. a lot of the money saving measures are actually quite nice to embark on. when husband and wife endeavour to save money together for the sake of the bb's future, it may make the marriage stronger. my husband and me shared some of our happiest times when we were scrimping and and saving on everything as we were then poor uni students staying in hostels.

flower4

next apptm is 1st april n i'll be 16weeks and 4days. nt sure if gynae will check for me bb's gender. for past 3 experiences, gynae always tell me can't see during the 16weeks scan. don't know if really can't see or he can't bother to find out for me AND it always turn out to be girl during the 20weeks detailed scan.

so i supposed there might be some true that usu we are able to find out gender of bb early if it's boy. 16weeks still can't see, though nt guaranteed bt 'very likely' to be girl le...

milkyway,
not supermum lah. but when i decided not to have any helper around, and was faced with the reality of coping with a newborn bb, i just learnt to do everything somehow. but have to lower my expectations, like live in a dirtier house, don't get to eat at regular times, look/dress terribly everyday, don't get to comb hair, don't get luxuries like a hot long bath till husband is back at night to take care of bb, etc.

Hui chern

talking abt financial issue, who cld be worst than me?? 4kids coming le...n im a SAHM. meaning we are living on a single income.

Bt im nt thinking too much. Taking 1 thing at a time. Life is nt easy bt it is still getting by...u are nt alone...bt end of the day, WE WILL still be surviving okay...cheers

Is it too early to check for gender at week 13? During my scan, doc told me it's either a girl or it's still too early and boy's genital not developed fully so can't see. Anyway, I'll have to wait another month then can find out.

If I've decided to BF and I'm a SAHM, do I still need to get a breast pump?

Flower4>> confirm yellow noodle cannot eat? I think I ate quite a bit. Tot only must avoid curry cos the yellow ginger cause jaundice.

Ya hui chern,
look at the positive side (it always hard to say then to be done) But u can do it...
b4 me and hubby become so call financial stable, we also save and save things that was unncessary till today we kind of survive and we still save but we do allow ourselves to have some luxury once in a while....
i believe u still young.. so take things slowly dun stress urself too much.

MONDAYS BLUES....... NEVER BEEN ABLE TO CURE FROM IT......

Re:epidural
the contractions will only make u PUSH & PUSH.. But as some pple have slow dilation like 10 over hours less then 5 cm opening.. i believe u would opt in for epidural... my #1 dilated too fast & furious i have no choice of choosing ...the pain is really............. if u need it better take epidural earlier and slowly admit in as girly had mention (i think)

huichern,

i'm sure there will b a way out somehow.. now me and hubby also trying to save and scrimp on things.. cos we expect we need to spend quite a bit on our house which we will b getting keys soon and also with bb coming.. we will need more money...

We also have a car and house to finance and still need to give parents monthly allowance..

so how we save now is to eat hawker, food court... we used to love restaurants and would visit every other day but we have cut down on them...

i'm sure there will b a way out.. talk it out with ur hubby and if need be ur family lor.. i'm sure everyone will b willing to help.

Like wat sandwich says, can always get hand-me-downs for bb stuff, which i intend to do it too..

Cheer up.. it's only Mon!

hi kiki.. u're welcome.. its thr here that we learn more ma
i also learn alot here

ya.. agreed w sandwich.. dun hve to buy too mani new stuff esp the big items ya.. shld be able to get from friends/ relative/ family.. my cot, prams, 1st few months bb clothes r all pass down ley.. of cos brought afew pieces of new clothes la..cannot resist shopping ma.. but i can say 90% are old ones.. cheer up huichern.. it'll be fine ok..

itsy/ flower.. cannot eat yellow noodles n curry? haaha my FIL likes to cook curry for me to eat ley..

Maybe we can ask Rach since she's insurance agent? They might hv a better sense of proper financial management..

Rach > any advise?

hui chern >

mi a first time Mummy and now not working eh.. so also on one income..

Just think positive ok? The more negative u thk also won't solve any probs.. just make u feel worst.. n u feeling worse also means BB might feel bad also..

Just be brave to face whatever's coming next.. there is a solution to something.. just clear ur mind.. and start planning what's the next better solution for every financial woes u're facing..

Worst comes to worst u get help from family... then slowly return when u hv a proper financial planning done for the future..

Im sure ur family will always be there for you one!! I've been thru that when i was younger.. they will nv leave u alone n see u die one u noe?? I appreciate my family for that!! but also cannot take them for granted la.. so if u cross this hurdle le.. must plan well so u wun be facing it again next time..

=) I also dunno how to console u.. just be positive now.. pregnancy does make one vulnerable.. but u're u!

Katherine,

Yah i was told not to eat yellow noodles too... but i'm still eating curry.. i love curry leh.. i'm a spicy person.. haha

i guess moderation is the key!

Har.. cannot eat yellow noodles ar.. I everyday lunch grand mil will cook soup yellow noodles for me eh.. how? I've been eating for like consecutively two weeks..

Morning gals!

Thanks for all ur congrats

cho

See my reply earlier on the hot bath. I also asked gynae abt hot spring / hot bath.

sandwich

haha..at our current situation, nothing to save also..bt we don't haf much liability which im already quite contented.
(1)Our 2nd hand care are fully paid (so don't haf to worry abt mthly installment)
(2)we don't haf to give parent's allowance coz they are working full-time (think they are saving more than us, haha..)
(3)despite many kids, I don't haf a maid (that's a big amt of fixed cost, we don't eat, maid muz eat also and and nt to mention the mthly salary and tax)
(4)rarely buy new clothes for kids coz same gender mah so clothes are passing down. some fr relatives/family...
(5)if no budget to buy insurance with cash value, buy those without cash values which are sooooo much cheaper. for kids best with hospitalization and accident plan (fell then teeth drop, see dentist can claim, fell and hurt head, see doc also can claim)
(6)bb bonus, we deposit 6K into acc and govt will top up the same. meaning will haf 12K value to spend. fr education to visting doctors also can use.
blah blah blah

Other than financing the hsing loan (upgrade fr 4 to 5rm last yr), it's juz those miscellaneous expenses....bt frankly beri difficult for us to save, haha..i do hope i can also

florence, katherine

My Gp said that after passing 1st tri, can eat antibiotics (but only certain types). She did mention tho that if not so serious, it wud be gd to avoid. Depends on individual I guess, on how long u wanna suffer vs eating meds. But I did get cough syrup for my bad cough a couple of weeks back.

I figured if dun eat cough syrup, I will be coughing so badly that I will disturb Babylet, even at noite when I'm sleeping, so that can't be gd also right? Think gotta weight how bad u feel vs the possible effect on BB lor.

katherine >

hee.. it's from nuffnang blog post contest! first time won something from them.. going to watch Confession of a Shopaholic tmr at PS..

yeah hor.. beehoon.. anything other than yellow noodles.. =)

huichern

Jiayou ok? As parents, we want to do the best for our children, give them the best, most expensive things. But at the end of the day,when we think back, our parents also went thru w/o us getting all the branded education, infant education etc etc & we made it right?

If we are blessed enough to have more, we can give more. But if not, we can do out best by providing food & shelter & clothes & love. Times are hard right now, but many other pple are also in financial difficulty. God will provide. Keep praying & dun lose faith.

Jul, which cough syrup u took? e black one by GP?

sheryn.. i wanna watch tt movie too! hehe but dun think hubby will wanna watch with me.. will ask my gal friends to watch together..

Jul >

i also participated in their contest to win 2 economy tickets from qantas.. but dun thk i will win.. cos my blog post too simple..

I also damn long nv go cinemas to watch movie with hubby le.. so tmr will be a nice evening!!

I have a set of MEdela Swing used only 2times with cooler carrier(brand new) bought on 19march. To let go Bought at $469 willing to let go at $380.
Warranty card still with me can fill up with ur own name.

Will include
-3 medela bottle
-1medela nipple cream 37g(Brand New)

http://www.medela.com/ISBD/breastfeeding/products/purelan.php

http://www.medela.com/ISBD/breastfeeding/products/swing.php

http://www.medela.com/ISBD/breastfeeding/products/advanced.php (*Onli the cooler bag)

<font color="119911">Kindly contact me at [email protected] or PM me thanks</font>

katherine

No, not the black one. Mine was packaged in those sealed glass bot with paper carton. I think it was Tussidex Linctus something like that? My GP asked me if I wanted antibiotics since I was 2nd tri liao.

She explained that medicaton will nvr be totally 100% no effect but she will of course not gimme the harmful ones. And she said I gotta evaluate how serious my condition is &amp; decided for myself.

Coz with antibiotics, my cough wud prob clear up in a week. With only cough syrup, she gauged at least 2 weeks. So I opted for cough syrup lor.

Jul >

u can try www.nuffnang.com.sg

do up a blogpost on the subject and stand to win tickets..

the closing date is on 30 march.. so u stl got chance!

I also want to go hols.. but my mil dun allow eh.. she say strictly no air travel.. she say why risk?

Sheryn > I don't might travel for holidays, can relax and have fun but I don't like to travel for work (somemore traveling alone)....sian. Haiz..have to travel in April and maybe in June - hope I'm well to travel. My gynae encourages me to travel as long I'm fit.

*midori*
thanks. On and off i have backaches and making me hard to sleep... so when my hb is around, i get him to massage for me. LOL! If he is not around, jialat liao lor... -.-

*cho*
thought u about the same as me? i'm now ard 14w2d. This weekend gonna see my gynae.. i hope my baby will cooperate and let me see is girl or boy... and hopefully the gynae will try to scan.. or maybe i should ask her help me see if can see anot.. wk15 should be can see something liao right.... can ask her to do it right.. ?

Princessxiaomei

Support belt may help your backaches as It helped me alot before. It also help you to position your tummy at nite. Besides, I am using in even after give birth for tighter my belly.

Most OG and maternity store have it. Or you may check out http:www.coozfashion.com

*flower4*
I notice that those food that i super love to eat before i was pregnant, i don't really like to eat it now. Those that i don't really like such as MILK, i can still take in. I told myself that for the sake of my bones, i have to take milk. Baby drawing calcium from my body with whatever i have.. so my body needs some calcium too.... maybe that's why i having backache so early....

sometimes i get so thirsty too!!! and i have to drink so much water... but come to night time, i keep heading to the toilet every ONE HOUR. Sometimes twice in an HOUR. -.-"

Hmm... some of you mentioning cannot eat curry?? cannot eat yellow noodle? i did eat yellow noodles leh... why cant eat??? eat in moderation shouldnt be a problem?

Sorry mummies for lamenting in the beginning of the week

I'm staying to save &amp; scrimp all we can before bb arrival.
1)Like not eating at resturant, but eat at kopitiam
2)Not buying any stuff for DD or myself
3)DD is in childcare, we don't have maid
4) No vacation for the past 2 yrs liao
5) Getting all hand me down clothes from friends &amp; relative
6)Not getting confinement lady , will be taking care of bb myself

I tend to be more on the negative side. Guess i got to take one step at a time. I believe thinks will work out.

girlygirly
How old r your kids ? So which school do you put them ?

*hui chern*
don't think so negatively. I am like you, always think so negatively... but for my baby, i trying very hard to be positive...

i am not working either, and i have not much savings left after my wedding... plus my flat coming early next year... my hubby not earning much too. It's just nice for both of us. It's really hard for us but we just have to save and scrimp lor... buy only things we feel it's necessary... money is a problem... but if we keep thinking of this, we really will go mad.. so we just try not to think yet... some of my friends even ask me how much is my gynae gonna charge me to deliver etc... i until now also don't know... i haven't really ask and i have no idea how much it gonna cost me.... i only know it gonna be in 1K+ at least... i also have no idea what to do... just walk one step and see how... now think so much affect my mood and baby... i think not really worth it... jiayou k! :) you can do it too!! cheer up!

hui chen

i have not much to said - anyway u hv to think positive
i aso very stress abt financial issue and some more i hv to every day face ppl face(especially the ppl i dont like) and
almost every day hv argument wth my hb .
i know very tired especially when preg.
(i hope u understand wat i try to telling u i dont good in communication)

there have few way to save money aso (for u refer)
1 ) go to polyclinic to get a letter to ask for subsi rate and when delivery ask for 6 bedder w/o aircon as sandwich said
2 ) if u have own house can consider rent out a room
3 ) for bb o children injection can go to polyclinic