(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

I brought my boy for the 18mths jab, but the PD didnt do any assessment leh. Just poke and go.
hmm... must I tell him that I want the assessment? maybe have to charge extra?

regg,

glad you're alright. i'm sure it's a very scary experience.....

kiki,

yr assessment must pay extra if at GP. not sure abt PD. so far i only did assessment when 3 months old or something. after tat can't be bothered. haha!

sharon,
why don't u get yr mum or yr hb to pick up ryan then u don't have to rush to the CC after work? then u don't hv to worry about changing job.

Regg,
This is really scary. Luckily your mil n you are alright.

Baby 18 mth old medical check up
I'm taking my girl for 18 mth old medical check up on this coming Saturday. A few questions to ask the PD. Guess it's time for our babies to see dentist? Anyone starts to take their babies for dental check?

Jul, I'm confused of the injections now. Need to check with the PD what is next.

regg,
oh dear, it's really scary, glad that you are alright, how is your mil now ?

sharon,
is your new company pro family type, as in can work from home on some days ? it helps if companies allow employees to work from home, save on travelling time.

sbb

Hehe I don't think testing this early works for me. Coz that time, I tested right on the day before I expected my period & it was negative. Then the next day, it was faint positive and the next, very positive. Think my hcG level not high enough haha

Yeah he will be very angry, throw things, wanna beat people, shout.. then we'll look at the clock & realised we forgot to feed him breakfast haha. A hungry man is an angry man!

The 18mth assessment is supposed to check on their development - incl height, weight, things like can he point to his nose, head etc.. can he hold things with his fingers something like that

sharon

Er.. Sharon a lot of considerations, cannot just simplify into pay cut. Need to think abt

1) Can you do with a lower income? Do you need the $?

2) Are you happy working long hrs in the first place? Is job satisfaction impt to you?

3) Are there alternative arrangements possible?

regg

That's so scary! Glad that you're both ok.

No lah! I told the others I had migraine, a bit of nausea, etc & they said I could be preggie. I'm not even trying

kiki

Did the nurse ask you questions when you were outside, like can he say some words? Can he point to his eyes, nose etc? Can he walk well etc? Sometimes the PD can be checking things that we don't see.

BB

Think there is immunisation schedule on the appointment card. But anyway, the 18 mth booster is for 5-in-1 or 6-in-1. I'm also confused. I only know coz I brought my boy for MMR last mth & they reminded me abt 18mth booster.

Regg : aiyo regg.. that is terrible. THANKS GOD AND ANCESTOR you are safe and sound now!!! Who won’t cry if like that??
But how is she right now?? But did she say why she continue to drive? Did she not hear you??

Just now when I reading your msg my heart turn cold. Alamak.. scary..

Sharon : EB good or not? Yishun central where?
And the cost is how much huh? I wanted to send him to Jalan Mata Ayer the Bungalow there, call Greentree Monetessori. But very siong wor. Alamak.
Maybe you should look for other jobs. Cos sometimes some companies may seems deceiving. Must work liao than know.

I got a pay increase of $400 after I change job. Sometimes morning I can finish my job liao le.
Actually im sort of lucky. Cos all my other friends same job all work till later. Or you want to cham siong with your boss and see if can change timing but get lesser pay? You work which sector job?

Regg: oh my goodness, so scary!! But thank God u and ur MIL is ok..

Jul: yeah sometimes nigraine can cause nausea.. a very sickening feeling..

I very scared shayna fail the 18 month assessment cos she cannot talk yet.. haha..

Really thanks for all the concern, my MIL dont remember wat happened, she only remember i ask her dont drive so fast( that was the beginning), she is OK now after warded for 6 days in hospital to make sure she clear her UTI and kidney.

BabyS,
Regan also refuse to talk till now wor..

sharon,
depends whether what you want to achieve and whether you need the extra finance of the full time job or not.

regg,
OH NO! poor you and MIL!!! Luckily both of you are ok!!

Celine: i also got a culture shock when i went to china for holiday.

My tour mates and i realise, we get weird stares when we close the toilet door!!!

but my tour guide good, only bring us to toilets with doors!!! hahahaha...

pegs: hahahah.... i dunno if the PD will consider "TEK" as a word.. hahaha!!! even if he considers, its only half a word!!

Zen,
I will moving to our own place soon so everything need do it overselves next time

Kikilala/Joey/sbb/celine
Yeah shitty culture now cos in bank...want a more stable n pro-family job...new job offer some flexibility of working fr home
So I'm so stuck...
Got extra sure better..hb say don't be rash
Must look for better pay, better hours, more work life balance

Sbb,
Dunno good anot...but got vacancy so I just pay
Greentree no aircon one right? I go see before too but when I visited the teachers all china one so I didn't like
EB more locals but got student care with kids, I don't like

babys

Haha count lah. If need proper pronounciation & be understandable, most of our babes will fail liao!

Yest Sam kept pestering me for my dinner. I gave him fish & pumpkin & he kept coming back, going, "p..kin, p..kin" Really leh, the way to motivate this fellow is through FOOD!

sharon

Civil service or stat board lor. But dunno abt pay

sharon,

i see.... which area r u moving to? also in yishun?

babys,

won't fail lah. shayna can speak a few words rite?

jus came back from doc. GP advised me to pull Ethan out from playgroup if I don't him to keep falling sick. He has been falling sick every other week after he started playgroup. Last time he hardly fell sick.

now i'm thinkin whether to stop or just let him go to school a few days instead of daily.

zen

Oh.. did u ask the GP when would it be good to start Ethan on PG again? Coz surely must start sometime right? Does it mean that if delay till, say, 2 yrs old, or even 3 yrs old, the chances of falling sick will be much lower?

jul,

she said older would be better cos they're stronger. and yes, the chances of falling sick will be lower as they grow older. i asked if it's true abt ppl saying let them get sick & they'll get immune to it. she said yes, and tat is if i'm ok with him falling sick every now & then. cos not only the kid suffers, the adults suffer too which i very much agree. but she said for eg. now tat he's having flu & cough doesn't mean he'll be totally immuned to flu & cold next time. it just means tat he's immuned to this particular bacteria. but different ppl hv different bacteria when sick. if i understand correctly, unless he gets immuned to all kinds of flu & cough, he'll not get it again. faint.

jul,

i won't arrange any enrichment during weekend if possible cos to me weekend is family day and for the kids to play & have fun. not study or go for enrichment prog.

Regg,
oh dear glad both of u not hurt.. really scary..

Zen,
currently i sent my boi for wkend enrichment class n it require parent participation n only took 1.5hr n after the lesson we will spend time together so i find not so bad leh cos durin lesson my HB get to interact with him n he gt to play n learn it not as if tt 1.5hr goin to affect our wkend as family day so no harm considering? ifnot go for wkday few time a wk kind?

Zen

I think it depends on indiv. Since your boy is so weak, I also agree with your gp to pull him out for at least 3-6mths for him to recover. When they are older, can go again. In the meantime, practise hygiene when going out like clean hands after playing at playground, wash hands before eating, wipe high chair before using ESP the public ones.

Playgroups are only for those who are stronger and don't fall sick as much. There are many strains of flu. Your boy needs to recover well coz falling ill will affect his growth as well.

Maybe when he's older then u try again. Bring him out to the sun and exercise more. It helps.

Zen

I think it depends on indiv. Since your boy is so weak, I also agree with your gp to pull him out for at least 3-6mths for him to recover. When they are older, can go again. In the meantime, practise hygiene when going out like clean hands after playing at playground, wash hands before eating, wipe high chair before using ESP the public ones.

Playgroups are only for those who are stronger and don't fall sick as much. There are many strains of flu. Your boy needs to recover well coz falling ill will affect his growth as well.

Maybe when he's older then u try again. Bring him out to the sun and exercise more. It helps.

Regg, gosh, that was scary, glad to know that you and your MIL are ok.

Sharon, Can always try the new job and if it dun suit you, go back to banking....

Jul, these days stat board doesn't mean can go home on time. My friend in stat board can end up very overworked!! I work less than her even though I'm not in stat board.

mashy,

my boy does not fall sick much since young so i dun think he's weak. in fact, doc said he's v strong for his age. it's just the environment of the school. too many kids falling sick & all those inconsiderate parents still send their kids to school despite their kids being sick.

on hygiene, ya, we do clean his hands before eating and playing outside etc.

he runs & exercises a lot too.

piggy,

it's actually just my personal choice of not sending kids for enrichment during weekend.
not saying tat it'll affect family's quality time together. cos i'm in the education field for more than 10 years. it's just my way of planning work on weekdays, all play during weekends.

Aiyah irritating! Left my phone at home!

zen

I know what you mean. I'd prefer not to do anything on weekends too bcoz I feel weekends shd be for fun & relaxation & bonding, not studying. But since Ethan has issue of falling sick, maybe it's better to do weekend class only & no weekday class to cut down his exposure to germs & whatnot? When he gets stronger & you can start him on daily PG again, you can stop the weekend class. Just my thoughts lah.

mich

I understand that not all stat boards are eng-eng cheng-cheng. I know, I'm in one! But there are pockets where it's still possible. What I meant was that the chances of such jobs are higher in a stat board than the pte sector, definitely much higher than banking.

Jul/zen

hahaha, I think u gals need to stop thinking abt enrichment classes as studying. Learning is a fun thing and the kids should enjoy it. Don't make it look like study is only for weekdays else next time u will have a prob when they really need to attend classes on weekends. I also try not to schedule it on weekends so that we can have family outings together. But i'm prepared that eventually weekends will be taken up by classes too.

Make learning enjoyable and they will not think of it as tedious. That's my motto. I've friends who try to delay sch, delay exposing them to classes becoz they want their kids to enjoy their 'childhood'. End up they regret big time and started pushing their younger ones earlier. They even start pri sch assessments in nursery now! Coz they said if don't have this discipline for the kids to make time for assessments, they can't cope with the amount of work in primary sch and they start to question why they have to do assessments. So in Singapore, u can forget abt giving the kids their childhood. If u do that, they will only suffer later. The only way u can help is to make learning fun and enjoyable so that they still enjoy whatever childhood they have and learn at the same time.

My friend with 3 kids, oldest in upper pri and youngest in nursery said, nowadays cannot compare our education and theirs. Last time police also wear shorts. Things change and it's now a more challenging environment for our kids.

morning mummies..

Zen,
ya i can understd.. tt y i also suggest wkday class those 2time awk kind if u prefer wkday?
sumtime all this r all individual preference la.. cos for me i bobian i only got time on wkend anyway i hope he can settle in CC soon n i will stop wkend classes too..

Jul
my last job in ministry not eng eng Cheng cheng.
my hb says I very suay or it's my line of work. Always work till death type. That's why I'm reluctant to go back to my prev line.

Mashy, fully agree with you on the enrichment classes. My girl will be completing her 2nd round of the My Gym this weekend. The next 2 weekends, we plan to go to my empty house so that we can enjoy family time and my girl can swim in the pool. Using these 2 free weekends, we are eyeing on music classes to let her have fun since she loves music.

Seimpi School of Music. One branch at Paris Ris Whitesand. Anyone heard of it? Any any reviews?

mashy

Haha it depends on the class. What I meant was that I don't mind "fun" things like Kindermusik (in fact, Sam's just staretd Kindermusik & loves it). But not things like Shichida, Mindchamps or what. To me, that's too sterile leh. I feel so bored!

I'm thinking of Montessori though. I feel that it suits Sam's personality better.

That's why I say it depends on the job. I changed jobs within the same dept, & the workload has reduced by quite a bit. But the frustration & stress level has gone down A LOT! Coz I no longer need to deal directly with the terrible dept boss haha

hi ladies.. good mrng~

took urgent childcare leave ystrday.. frm j.west went limbang early mrng..met wv fren go bai tai sui, den go another fren's plc at serangoon to play mahjong! bahaha~ rush hm before 6pm..to fulfill my evng duties wv the girls. hehe.

sharon:: bahaha~ u saw darren at suntec arh? ya, he came to leave the car for me to drive hm...while he go his boss hse for mahjong! bahaha~
by the way..u saw "Mattea & Keona" first or him!?! LOL~

i would go for a paycut if i can get another offer.. if it's nearer to my plc! my current job pay is already not fantastic, so makes no difference! as long as i can still pay my insurances n gv my mum money..i shld be able to survive de. the only plus abt my current job is time flexibility..cos smtimes my boss leave earlier..n i will follow soon aft. when he's travelling..i smtimes self-declare wfh..(but i nvr read any mails or did any work at all at hm de lar!). BUT, i cant stand my current boss, he's a grumpy pcs of sh*t...blah blah blah.

deedee:: we try to brush my girls' teeth la.. but Keona will owas use her tongue to block. Mattea still not so bad, but they're just mainly eating the toothpaste only. sigh.. plus, my girls still do nightfeeds, so really.. i duno wat to do.. prolly like jul said.. waiting for teeth to rot! sigh sigh sigh.

piggy:: thanks..but i tink i need GNC stuffs rather than iHerb nw. bahaha~ thanks alot for offering to tong pang.

regg:: OMG! my heart skipped when reading abt the experience!!! thank god u & MIL r fine. but her condition is really scary..till like..affect eye..n cant even hear or what..totally out of her mind kind!

last yr on my girls' birthday party.. my younger sis oso had fever..oso high till 40degC...tink she was running high temp for 1-2days le. she came my hse, n basically sleeping in the rm niah. den aft dat..my dad sent her to hosp.. oso kenah UTI till kidney infection!!! scary!

Regg: WOW, that is scary... but glad you and mil are better...

Zen: i think its a phrase every kid has to go thru when they just begin to interact in a group. Virus and sickness are almost a given. Given if you were to send them only when they are bigger, if they are not expose to those virus strain before, they will get sick anyway... so i just take it as boosting their immunity...

Liz:: i will take it as a way of 'boosting their immunity' too. :)
now when im out using public high chair, i dun even wipe them... juz let them be exposed to the germs n bacterias.

hwever, i tink for Zen's case.. if it's really too many cases n too often....(n Ethan has been a healthy lil boy when younger..) it might be good to really juz pull him out awhile. then start agn with couple of days a week kind.. n slowly go into full 5days again? if still same, then prolly chg a centre? (maybe the 'fengshui' there buey gam him?!?) no la.. as like, really.. i mean... perhaps the kids or the air or the hygiene there really not up to the standard if the kids there..or Ethan owas gets sick. smting muz b wrong liao!

fatbobo,
he was alone...didnt see ur girls
wah so shiok....i yearn to play mahjong but no time
only hb get to play

re: mastitis
im down with it again
seriously thinking of stopping bf-ing but yet she bu de
any mummies still bf-ing?

sharon:: bahaha~ of cos girls not ard.. he came frm work. i was like.. cos they look so alike rite.. so prolly u all actually recog the babies' faces more than the dad.. but ya. lalala~

wah.. u really power.. still bf-ing. kow tow to u! hope u will feel better soon.

mashy, what role were you doing in the ministry? And i remember you were in Mediacorp... ya Mediacorp as a whole is not a ideal place for mothers cos of the nature of industry...

Sharon: then when will u she de to stop? Dont want until u become like one of those mothers on those documentaries cos they bf until kid is 9yrs old kind ah..

Mich
comms lor. Like all comms pp wanna work till death. But my hb's current co's comms like everything also no need to do. Hahaha, so free. So maybe it's the boss too bah. All my ex bosses were eager to please and volunteer to do everything and anything. And guess also comms, they are perfectionists. Everything want seamless. But last time in media worse la coz cannot eat reunion dinner, work on weekends no off days. Work till late at night past midnight next day still must report same time coz boss say scared other dept gossip.

i think its better for them to call ill and boost up immunity now than later... sad to say, it is definitely something we cant avoid...

Sharon: I salute u man... still bfing now... But maybe can consider to stop now and plan for 2nd one... hehehe

Anyone up for MJ here btw? LOL

BabyS,
actually trying to stop so keep getting blocked ducts
but the doc say if got ss y stop, u shldnt so i have 2nd thoughts

liz,
no plans for #2 yet...hehe
i would love MJ lei
but no time n ur house got dog! hehe
i miss playing MJ so much
my ryan still goes "ti gou gou"...after seeing ur dog! he means "auntie gou gou"

piggy,

yup, i'll consider putting him fewer days a week instead.

mashy,

no lah, i dun think that enrichment classes are study study kind. of cos there're many fun classes around. like i said, it's just my personal choice to put during weekdays unless really no choice.

liz,

yes, i also feel tat getting sick is not a bad thing cos it also means boosting their immunity. but not when he's falling sick every other week.

fatbobo,

ya lor. i think the teachers too lax. they don't ask the parents to bring their kids home when they're sick. they just informed the parents that their kid is sick, it's better to bring them to a doc. think they're worried to offend the parents by refusing the kids to enter.

there's a notice outside stating tat kids should stay at home & not go for classes if they hv fever, cough, flu etc. but guess the parents just can't be bothered.

sharon,

i'm also still bfing.
same as yr doc, mine also asked me why stop if i still have supply.

mashy,
agreed with you on the enrichment prog for kids, think our thots on parenting is similar ;)

Jul,
for your info, Shichida/right braining enrichment is not all academic. Their colorful & interesting materials are fun useful ways to stimulate kiddos' brains waves.
Thou I did not attend Mindchamp b4 but I got one relative who told me her son went for a motivational seminar by Mindchamp (he is Pri2) and the way they motivate the children is via emotionally make them strive for higher targets in school which simply amused me. haha...

mashy,
u also in comms. i guess it depend on the industry u are in. My co very family oriented. My boss will chase us to go home. Sometimes, 5.30pm the office is almost vacant.

sharon,
keep it if you think you still BF. save $ on FM also. :p

Elnio,
if you still need the contact, my CL is good with baby. PM or FB me.

Regg,
what an experience to go thr!!! scarrrryyy! glad both of u are fine. god blessed.

BB,
Parkway has Seimpi School of Music. My friend's ds attended before. not sure still there. they get to expore to many different types of instruments. feedback from her is quite good. I am also exploring my gal to music but i'm planning to go Yamaha @ TM for my elder gal for convenient sake.

peg:: wah yr company so good...or shld i say esp yr boss. hehe. i oso wana join yr company!!! lalala~

liz:: i... i feel like mahjong oso. although juz ystrday i played..(took urgent cc leave..to play de! lol~) im not really a mj person..but guess oni cny i will hv the feel to play! hehehe. but then oso.. working leh.. hw to mj!?!