(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

BB
wah! thats so scary. i stay on 13th floor and still got bee fly in. lol then hubby told me after rain cannot open windows big big. about 1.5years ago had a cockcroach flew in (YAH!!! it can fly!) scared the hell outta me!

pegsfur
Zachary would also cry when changing diaper, putting on clothes too! very fierce if i take away his toy so that he could wear his sleeves. he will start crying if i am doing my thing and didnt look at him. but when he is playing and look at him, he will look at me and laugh showing that he is happy that i am looking at him. haha like play toy for 1min, look at me and if i am still looking at him, he will laugh. the cycle repeats.

Regg
yah i am still making spree for foogo. but i notice it cannot keep warm for long haha like the website says. 5 hrs but 5hrs means you have to fill the whole food jar full and it will be very very hot after 5 hrs. if put 1/4, will be warm and just nice to feed baby.

jul
I think all MIL are like that. anyway, did you try to feed sam hou zhao san? i find it very effective whenever Zachary have phlegm. i take it too whenever i have phlegm.

pegsfur
i feed Zachary and eat my meals at the same time. else i wont even get to eat proper meals! like 3pm eat lunch, 10pm eat dinner. haha

how do u deal with ur mil if she interfers? Ovann is really guai and you do stuffs fast!!! vacuum my room already took me 30mins lor. must open up about 15 built-in storage boxes to vaccuum. hopefully my new place wont take so long as we didnt have so many carpentry compare to pil's place.

babiesmeme
let baby drink more water, soup. but eventually their poo will be like adults lah.

mashy, pegsfur, bb, reira

hiaz.. yeah i know lah. mil full of contradictions. just thinking of her 'wind from electric fan no good will make bb sick vs wind from her natural manual fan' still makes me feel ?????

just needed to vent my spleen to feel better.

reira

sam has NO phlegm. despite my many cups of coke during preggie days, my 'wrong' methods of feeding him, he isn't showing any sign of dying from phlegm. the only time he got it was when he was sick a couple of weeks back n it cleared quite fast.

maybe i shd blame mil if sam falls sick n gets phlegm. tell her it's her orange!

how do u feed zachary n eat at the same time? i'm aws busy spooning food into sam's mouth coz he'll open his mouth real big like a crocodile after he's swallowed. i dun have time to eat

pegsfur

u r fast! sam only naps ard 1.5h a day. i dunno how to squeeze cooking his meal, eating my lunch, pumping, setting up for his meal (high chair, wet towel, toys), washing dishes etc into 1.5h. not to mention chores????

reira,

Haha ... when i vacuum, i only vacuum the floor of the 2 bedrooms, living rm, kitchen and sofa, oh, and i vacuum everyday mah. Furthermore, mine is a tiny 4-rm, so it's faster

For mil, mine's diff story. Cos u all know that she & i buay gum one. But during the cny, out of the blue she apologised to me & seek my forgiveness! I'm guessing it's becos ovann lah, her precious grandson. Although i agreed to forgive her, I still give her the bo-chup attitude.

Now she'll tend to kpoh wat i'm cooking for ovann, wat ingredients i used, how to jaga ovann etc. Normally i'll just give a 1 word answer like yes or no .. i never eleborate or give reasons. Or if i need to, i'll just say 'the doc say so ... blah blah'. Normally she'll stop asking cos nothing to talk abt liao

jul,

I dun mean i need only 10mins to do all those things leh. It's like i need only 10mins for each of the various chores lor, like wash dishes/towel/clean high chair after his meals, or feed/clean up/clear poo or pee for my dog etc.

Like wat mashy said, i already wake up earlier to cook ovann's porridge, cos i need at least an hour to do it, and which at the same time, need to feed/clean up aft my dog before Ovann wake up.

U know some days i really feel like i'm a superwoman. Within a span of 2.5hrs, from 8am to 10.30am, i can finish cooking porridge, fed/clean up aft my dog, feed ovann, change bedsheets, walk my dog with ovann, vacuum the floors and bathe ovann after that, of cos, not without the rascal crying inbetween these chores. I was like a mad woman zooming in & out everywhere.

pegsfur

Oic. Yeah yeah I know what u mean.

That time when Sam was ard 6-7mths, It's like, I just need 10min to clean up the floor, high chair, wash his dishes etc after his meal, but he also cannot stop crying n wants me to carry him.

jul
oh! same have no phlegm ah. Misuderstood what you posted earlier. thought sam had phlegm and your mil go and feed him orange. haha yah lor if sam really got phlegm. but like always, mil will sure push the blame de lah! can foresee mil say "orange wont cause phlegm" and push the blame to your hubby or you.

Oh, Zachary will say "ah", i feed him once and quickly eat one spoonful lor. but i feed him in bite size so no matter what he have to spend time to chew. he did swallow a few times without chewing and understand that by doing that it will make himself uncomfortable.

mine also naps about 1.5hr a day. but he sleeps by 10pm and wake up at 8-9am. what i did is woke up earlier to do stuffs.

for setting up for meals, i just hug him and drag the high chair =( washing dishes i will let him crawl on the floor and give him balls to chase after so i have to chop chop finish washing within the 10mins incase he got bored of it.

guess all our babies are at the age of crying and wants attention when we are doing something else and not looking at him. haha. i noticed mine will pull my hair for attention or ask me to walk up early in the morning. T_T so angry this morning because of that!

pegsfur
oh! haha. mine hor, if say no, she will ask "why". very sian of it haha she dont understand what does "no" means. die die must ask for reason for the "no". =_=

My husband family oso anyhow feed my bb food I told them cannot all of them will start naggin non stop. Yday my Sis in law juz nag me n hubby sayin we everything don gif bb eat. When I still take care of bb myself, I will take note what she eat but now bb haf been eating all kind of nonsense till I cannot tahan c le feel so depressed.

Good morning Sharon,
My baby bathtub a bit small now. Really a good question lor. BTW, what do u mean shampoo hair separate?

pegsfur

u need to think of a faster way to make Ovann's porridge. 1hr is too long. Try thermal pot? It can help u cut down a lot of time. else use a slow cooker. I finish cooking my gal's food in less than half hour. Time is a luxury for pp like us, so have to think of ways to save time.

haha. ya lo. wat is seperate shampoo? i olways shampoo my boy n wash his body seperately during bath. first i wash his head with baby shampoo, den soak him in tub n bathe him with body wash, den clean him dry wor

piggytoh/bb/michelle,
means use shampoo direct on hair...hehee
hahaa
now my mum still put the baby wash into the water...then bathe ryan in it
no separate body wash n shampoo

Hahaha Sharon, I see. I think first month, I put the shampoo in the water, after the 1st month I started to shampoo baby hair liao. That time I used Mustela, separate hair shampoo n body wash. 4th month I shaved baby hair, I still continue to shampoo her head. Now so difficult to rinse her hair, she is very naughty in every bath.

pegsfur,
maybe u can try this method to cook porridge
my mum does it this way n sometimes i even cook it before i go to work
we will cut the ingredients n wash the rice...then cook on a pot
once it boils (dun need to b cooked)...i transfer to a small container(those 555 one with handle n cover)
then put into slow cooker with abit of hot water juz enough to cover about 1cm of the container height
dun need watch fire, wont get burnt
then when wanna feed, u decide wat type of porridge u wan
if wan more grainy type..dun stir
if wan gluey type...juz stir in container with metal spoon
ryan's schedule not fixed n he wants to b carried too...so my mum gotta do it in the morn b4 i go work or i wake up earlier to do it
time taken to prepare n put in slow cooker bout 15mins
we cook at bout 6-7am..he eats bout 12-1pm
then dun need buy small slow cooker, i use the one my mum use to cook soup

donkeymami/bb,
oopss..so i shld do dat for ryan too
now hard to keep him in the tub..he keeps trying to crawl out

donkeymami,
ur california baby wash is hypoallergic? its hair n body or juz hair wash?

haio all..

RE: SHAMPOO & BATH
oops.. i tink frm 1st mth.. we already shampoo direct to bbs' head..den rinse off..den put them in tub to pongpong body woh.

oh dear... wrong all these 9mths? bahahahaha~

weeee~ my girls r 9mths old today le. :)

sharon> since birth i've been shampoo-ing his hair n body seperately wor. confinement nanny teach me this way leh. cannot?

oh ya~ lalala. gongxi gongxi~ haha.

today of my fren's boy's 1st yr birthday.. but sadly, he cant celebrate his bday cos the nainai juz passed away couple of weeks ago.

RE: NIGHT SLEEP / SLEEPING THRU
kaoz.. duno wat's wrong with my girls hor.. this mrng my hb juz said.. they din sleep thru nvm leh.. ppl bb sleep longer thru the nite as they grow up...ours sleep shorter n shorter as they grow! haha.

these days, my girls will smtimes wake up every 2-3hrs in the nite de leh! jialat rite?!?
duno izit day time play too much har? my mum everytime 'complain' my girls very playful.. play n fight n play n laugh... izit too much fun in the day dat's y restless in the nites arh?

but oso cannot say dun let them play mah hor! headache!!! really duno hw to make them able to sleep thru.. or at least sleep longer!

Fatbobo,
aiyo cannot nvm la bb mus sleep more than gd... r they teethin? my Boi also play alot n luff alot 1 wor but he can sleep thru at nite.. maybe u can try bringni them to swim?

fat bobo

why nainai passed away a couple of weeks ago cannot celebrate? Thought if it's just a few days ago then cannot since gotta be at the wake?

my gal woke up almost every hr last night.
Sianz. She's also same like your gals. Previously she was still able to sleep on her own. Now totally cannot.
Last night scream until my dad came in and brought her to his room to sleep with him. sigh.

pegsfur

i think u said u use an ikea pot to cook right? have u thought of getting a better pot? A good pot distributes the heat evenly and can cook faster. Get one with at least 5 layers. I currently use a WMF 16cm pot. But my gal prefers grainier porridge, unlike your Ovann. Another way to cut down on time is to grind the rice before you cook.

sharon
i use head to toe wash, rub on my palm till got bubble and then apply on Zachary's head & body. while he sit in the bath tub and play at the same time.

pegsfur
sometimes if I need to go out in the morning (to see reno), i will wake up 30mins earlier. cut everything, put all ingredients in the slow cooker cept green veggie. then when i am back, will put in green veggie

mashy,
i tink as a form of respect to the demised bah. another fren of us oso.. the ah ma passed away..then the whole year..they dun celebrate anything..even their birthday de woh.

piggy,
weekdays who to bring them to swim woh. sianz. duno when they will learn to sleep thru. *yawnz*

want milk leh!

but each time they cant drink much.. like 3.5-4oz niah... if day time in-between meals abt 2-3.5oz.

den nite time will wake up..want milk lor. no use to even carry n rock back to sleep de..they wun b able to really fall asleep de.

ya sometimes is either turn or roll too much n knock into the other..den the one kenah knocked will wake up..protest or wat.. but still.. mostly is want milk la! -.-"

ya.. sometimes in the middle of the nite..aft milk.. they will like sit there n play.. both eyes bling bling.. *faintz*.. nowadays, i dun on the room lights le.. on the coridoor light.. else take awhile to tell them it's still 'sleep sleep time'..

bobo,
ur gals are funny :D
just a suggestion, maybe don't let them sleep together, after they wake up at night for milk, they can go back to sleep easier.

My gal won't want to sleep if she hears my elder son's voice in the room. She'll crawl towards her kor kor. ~wants to play~

My girl will ark ark in the night. Ark ark I put tu tu, ark ark I put tu tu, ... I also cant remember I put tu tu how many times a night. Every time she falls into her deep sleep n the tu tu falls off she will ark ark... average 3 times...

BB, same here, i also give tutu & water which can make my girl to fall back into sleep..but ard 5-6am she will cry which hv to feed her milk.

donkeymami, same here. 5-6am must feed milk else she will sit up or stand up n ark ark very loud to wake me up. If didnt attend to her ark ark she will cry.

BB,
sumtime my boi will do the same make some noise n cry but eye close.. but this few day he can sleep v well wor so i suspect tt time teethin so he wan to bite sumting..

Fatbobo,
actually not wise to gave them milk in the nite after 6mth once they get used to it they will keep wakin for milk liao... maybe they currently growth spurt maybe try to increase their milk in the day?

afternoon

talking abt baby sleeping thru at nite, i am one of the unlucky one with my boy still not sleeping thru too! sob sob...

my boy just turn 9 mths on monday. his nite feed inc to 220ml now.sleeping "pattern" have been improved , means he will still wake up at 9pm+, 10+, then till 3-4am once, then 5-6am he can not tahan want milk, but i only give 50ml. his next intake will be 8am.
really wonder when they will sleep thru...

Hello mommies,
My girl only ark ark I already so tired n sleepy in the day, very peifu you ladies especially fatbobo. Jia You ah!! (Drink coffee now, keep yawning in office...)

Regg, ya lor, so sleepy today, dont feel like working. I plan to take a break today n start writing a new protocol tomorrow. Today relax relax. My MIL made pumpkin kuey and green bean soup for my lunch, I've a very full lunch so more sleepy...zzzz

reira

oh.. sam is still eating nua-nua stuff. mil's still not happy with even the heng cai which is chopped very fine n cooked until brown liao! b/c she can see flakes in his poo! she says it's not digested.

i told her n told her n told her that veg is like that. it'll never be totally dissolved but she keeps suggesting to blend till the veg becomes liquid then cook it. sigh...

sandy

hiaz i understand. to them, it's very funny n cute to feed them rubbish n see their expressions. but to us.. heart pain lor

sharon

been usimng shampoo n soap on sam since full mth. but it's the same avent wash, just that i use separately.

another thing to cpmplain abt mil. she pumps so much of it n just dumps it on sam then spread ard. i keep telling her that it's too much! but she has no patience with pumping a bit n use for small area then pump more. argh!

bobo

i also sian. sam used to sleep thru from 3 mths.. then as he gets older, he wakes up more!

jul,
sam now also keep waking up?

Mich,
tis week i gonna wrk 6 days leh!

i am seaching on forum to get mosqitoe patch, my boy use very fast!