(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

DOnkeymami,
i haven book hotel haha.. only book airtix on MOn sooo busy no time to check :p

babyja,
the polished 1 is light brown be4 cook...

Hi Smurfy,
i still grind my brown rice to powder form & use hot water. Hee..i use the same type of spoon to scoop rice and water so it is confirmed 1:5.
As for veg,i steam separately and then when abt to feed,I jus add it in to retain maximum nutrition.

why dun u wash,air dry/fry dry then grind one shot n then keep in fridge.Do this every week very tiring lei.peifu peifu

as for ikan bilis,i dun use at all so really have no idea.

piggy : whats the differenece between polished and unpolished? which one to get?
soy sauce: my nanny only put a little bit to give the taste and bb take two bowls so we not stopping hehehe

pjpj
green veges.. i oso steam separately.. dun put into porridge coz of chemical reaction? the iron frm the green vegetables leached out and prevent optiminal absorption of dunno what :p (u go search internet.. all these terminlogy forgotten for #2 child oredi kekekeke)...

i wash, work fry, cool, grind, cool n put in fridge... but dunno she eat fast or not..but ends up abt every week i gotta repeat the process.. she takes 2 tablespoon of grinded brown rice for her every meal (ANG-mo tablespoon)

babiesmeme,
oh i not sure wat the diff cos Jul mentioned abt it so i jus wan to share there r polished 1 in the market i notice unpolished 1 the colour is darker tt all..

piggytoh..
she did not finish everything leh :p.. she oso onli take mostly 1 chinese soup bowl of porridge... cook more coz i kiasu.. cook more so that adult can taste the funny combinations i have prepared :p.

egg yollk
anyone started???

legumes
anyone started???

berries?? anyone?

how abt red dates n wolfberries?

babyja,
NP la cos the 1st batch my MIL buy 1 is red in colour tt y i happen to know:p but i still let my bb eat dun waste mah.. but no constipation he still poo 2-3time a day...

babiesmeme,

With all the ingredients in the porridge, such as fish, carrots, pumpkin or etc..the porridge taste yummy with no need for soyasauce =)

smurfy,

My mum already started Nat on egg yolk, she is ok with it....
She bought a book on baby food so that can have more idea to introduce variety...which result in Nat being very greedy now...hahahahahahah
She love to eat...

piggytoh
no wonder i got see y some red red one too.. hee.. suaku me..

smurfy
muz keep the grinded brown rice in the fridge ah?

Re : Solids

Looks like many of the babies here have tried a variety of solids. Hmm, my Lucas is still feeding on cereal and puree only. Even with cereal and puree, it's only a very smal quantity. He is not very keen in taking porridge at all.

michelle
it would be US$14.30*1.46 = S$20.88

renovation
today went to tiles shops alone with Zachary :D compared 3 shops which allies with my contractor and one shop's price is really cheap! end up my tiles are mostly $2.50 psf and below.

babyja,
keep the rice in fringe can keep v long...

Reira,
for tiles u mus see if it is equivalent quality leh.. some can be v cheap becos of inferior material thou cant tell from the surface...

donkeymami

oh i see that ur gal's got fever. get well soon!

piggy

oh got polished n unpolished brown rice somemore!

eunice

no worries, sam also has a v limited diet.

cereals - brown rice, oatmeal
fruits - apple, pear, banana
veg - carrot, potato, sweet potato, heng cai, pea, tdy just started pumpkin

dumex mamil gold

anyone using this? any feedback?

dumex sent me a sample, but sam's still on bm. dunno to keep or not?

Janice

how is holidaying with Ethan? We are thinking of going on holiday with bb this may. Dunno how it is going to be like. Haha.

Hi babiesmeme,
ya lor..i jus fry dry..no oil used of course.sometimes if i feel patient..then i will air dry. ahah depends on mood la.

Not to scare u huh,jus share share la..i knw a baby who was fed marmite and salt before 1yr old,guess wat he develop some kidney prob.Dunno is it the cause la..but why do we want to risk the health our little prince/princess rite?

Hi Smurfy,
Wah ur girl good appetite!

Hi Jul,
I wanted to give away also then i jus kept it as emergency and true enuf,one day I fell sick and milk supply went super low so I fed him for a day to replenish supply. The taste is ok..sweeter than breastmilk-reminds of olden times when we drank powdered milk. Have tried Similac..wah tat one is like drinking syrup!

reira> have trf as below:
To Account POSB Savings
119-51004-0 Reira
Amount S$20.88
Transaction Reference 2812361620

btw, will the shipping be more costly if ordered in 3s?

<font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">Baby's Day out Event - final update</font></font>

$12 per family

Get a Baby Bag filled with goodies worth more than $100 with every registration!

Entry requirements - have a baby that's 12 months or below 12mths old

Event details
Date: 17 April 2010
Time: 2pm – 5pm
Venue: The Little Skool-House At Tampines-Junction

It's Baby’s Day Out! Look forward to talks by a pediatrician and a child development expert.

What’s more, develop your baby’s cognitive ability and motor-skills through our hands-on activities at the gathering!

Highlights:
Talk: ‘A Strong and Healthy Child’
by Dr Ang Ai Tin, Consultant Paediatrician and Neonatologist, Thomson Medical Centre
Talk: ‘Importance of relationships to infant and toddler development’ by Dr Melinda Eng, Senior advisor, Curriculum, NTUC First Campus
*Baby crawling contest
*Photography sessions for babies and families
*Learning &amp; Developmental Toys Corner
*Exercise with Baby
*Chopsticks Oriental Healing Massages (for daddy and mummy)
*Craft Activities (for baby’s older siblings)

Those keen to go, pls leave down your name, and email address (i will email you the information required for registration)
1) babymaking
2) mystifiedjan - [email protected] - rec pymt
3) el-nino - [email protected] <font color="ff6000">Frances, i need your details as per the template</font>
4) gin oh - [email protected] - rec pymt
5) sandy dee- [email protected] - rec pymt
6) eboey - [email protected] - rec pymt
7) joyful - j**@gmail.com - previously piggytoh - rec pymt
8) Cheerybabe - [email protected] - rec pymt
9) jul - [email protected] - rec pymt
10) Juliet - [email protected] - rec pymt
11) puroland - J***@gmail.com - rec pymt
12) DolceVita - [email protected] - rec pymt
13) Lina - ck***@yahoo.com - rec pymt
14) Reira - na***@msn.com - rec pymt
15) fatBobo - [email protected] - rec pymt
16) BB - bb****@gmail.com - rec pymt

Total 16 families and 17 babies

pjpj

oh.. but i have fbm in the freezer. if i get sick or period returns, i'll use that first.

hmm what shd i do with the milk powder???

btw sent u a pm on the old navy. keep forgetting to tell u how much.

Hi mummies anyone try the nestle brown rice cereal ? It it good? Or is it better to feed those brown rice grains which we grind better??

Good morning everybody.

babiesmeme,
i find nestle cereals rather sweet. you can let your bb try and see if he likes. every baby is different, so gotta try and error.

Hi bobo,
did you have a confinement lady ? how much did she charge ? i have a friend who's giving birth to twins in aug/sep.

babiesmeme,

my gal luvs both oat wif prunes &amp; brown rice cereal though i oli gave her the samples..&amp; yes it's sweet so i thk most babies will like it.

Jul, thanks she got better today no more feverish thanks god.

Btw, yesterday i read u wan to give peas to sam do u blend it after steamed/boiled?

Good the morning ladies,
Jus wondering do ur babies sit up during whole journey(refuse to lie back), grabbing the front bar of stroller while being wheeled now?

My boy does tat..n it is really a funny sight..

PJPJ,

Nat does that !
Agree that its indeed a funnie sight..
N previously when I see other baby like that, i was wondering when would Nat be able to do it...now she has joined them...hahahaha..

Porridge

I fed bb porridge with ngoh hur, added fresh silverfish bought from the market, used chicken stock previously boiled (with chicken frames and 1 piece of chicken thigh, carrots and onion)

I use white rice and millet.

Things Ive added in:

1. Tofu
2. Carrots
3. Wolfberries
4. Egg Yolk
5. Chicken Breast
6. Spinach

So far likett... depends on what's in the fridge.

My mom did the ikan bilis powder for bb also. She actually washed the ikan bilis a few times, sun it and den pan fry it a little and blend till fine. Den she used the sift the sieve out the finer powder. Those that didnt pass thru the sift she put into teabags and use it to cook soup stock.

Hopefully this can help!

Btw, if there are any other stuffs that can put into porridge to add on its nutritional value, pls share too!!

donkeymami &amp; jooey: thanks for the feedback on nestle products think I will let him try over the weekend

PJPJ: was thinking since my nanny she is quite experenced and took care of her grandsons and many babies for many years should be alright. Anyway I will highlight to her Thanks

Fruits: mummies do you give your babies fruits puree every day?

silver fish = those very small white ikan bilis??
Peas = those green colour type.

I went to the market the ppl there recommend me the "zhen zhu to" simliar to those green colour peas but is red/white in colour anybody feed the bb with these kind of peas before?

So now porridge can put wolfberries too?

pj/piggy/dolce
zac does that as well, sit upright in stroller, bite the front bar and he has a annoying habit of pushing the stroller away from the table with his legs.

sophia
thks for sharing the ikan bilis thing.

one question here, the blender used for blending ikan bilis, brown rice, rice e.g. is it the same blender used for blending fruits? or do i need to get a miller? or coffee grinder?

can the avent steamer/blender be used to blend brown rice/rice/ikan bilis?

Pat,

you mean zhen zhu tou right ?
My mum bought those, she say the mkt pple told her can cook for baby too.
But I duno hw she cook it, add to porridge or ???
hahahahaha...
yeah silver fish are those very small white fish...

To those who had cooked green pea, do you use the frozen type or is there fresh one sold ?

sophie
one more question - where to buy the ikan bilis? is it those dry type prepacked?

oh yes mummies before i forget

i was at the City Square shopping mall at farrer park mrt last weekend and the four seasons organic supermarket there have a super wide variety of baby food from fresh, to bottled to packs.

Didn't have time to browse through totally but saw that they have a wide range of legumes and grains and bottled baby food from healthy times and organix

babymaking,
Kyler like to kick from table or my leg as well haha sumtime he will place his leg on my leg lor machiam king bth...

babiesmeme,
i gave my boi either fruits or vegie puree mix with cereal everyday..

Patricia

- Silverfish: I went to the market last week and chance upon the fresh ones. I ever read in some forum that silverfish can easily be mashed upon cooking. Being clueless at that time, i bought the dried ones. But, i wasnt able to mash it despite cooking for a few hours, end up had to blend. the fresh ones kinda like get smashed easily with the ladle. But i think can only buy from wet markets fish sellers. If u do take this as an option, buy and keep in batches. So can jus defrost whenever u need to use only.

babiesme

sorry i nvr use nestle cereal b4. i've only given sam happy bellies brown rice n oatmeal.

donkeymami

gd that she's ok. is she still on bm?

oh i have a munchkin baby grinder. i just boil the peas, put them in the munchkin, n turn the handle. the skin gets left behind under the grille n the soft inside gets squeezed out.

peas really work man. he pooped last nite n twice thisn am!