(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

reira,
okies...i shall try

kikilala,
giving the 'am' is a good idea...since ryan dun like water
long weekend...shld be goin out...will try out the food jar!

mashy,
thanks..wil try sweet potato again
means i got to b v careful wif food for him liao...
where to buy butternut squash??? i haf read bout it but dun see it
u mention hayley is allergic to eye white...but if food stuff like biscuits with egg content, she can eat?

Mashy
I let my boy try cauliflower, wah he fart the whole night! so smelly somemore!
Is it that boy fart more huh? must be the make of the male system... kekeke!

Hello mommies,
Very busy at work, a few protocols to write. Sigh. R we still meeting on coming Saturday? I might not be able to make it but will try if the meet up is on.

Seems like my baby has put on weight very fast after feeding her rice. She is now 8.5kg (at 7 months 2 weeks) from 7.5kg when she is 6 months old. After feeding her solid she will still ask for milk after an hour so my colleague told me to try dilute the milk. I'm worried she may be too fat.

Ladies-gluey /canto porridge...u can wash 2 or more cups of rice,dry till very totally dry,grind with blender abit .keep in airtight container .

When cooking ,2 spoons or so will be enough for 2 feeds depending on bb.

Sure will hv good results n time saved

BB
My PD told me not to worry about overweight at our bb's age. Later when they start teething, feeding strike and be more mobile, they should start to lose the baby fats quite fast. In fact, my boy is having another round of milk strike. Yesterday he only drink 15ml from the bottle for the whole day.

kiki

hahah, my gal didn't fart after taking the cauliflower leh. :p

BB
don't worry abt wt now. When they get sick, they lose wt very very fast. So fatten her up now while she's healthy.

sharon

u can get butternut squash at most supermarkets. It's shaped like a gourd and orange flesh like the pumpkin.

So far I've not given her any biscuits other than the bb biscuits which are free from eggs. Going to try only after she reaches 1 yr old.

Another way is to get him tested for food allergies. They don't test for sweet potato, so u will need to bring a steamed sweet potato for them to test. They only test for common food like eggs, milk, soy, sesame seed, wheat, shellfish, fish. If u wanna test anything beyond that, u need to bring your own. For my boy, i didn't know gotta bring my own. So end up i searched high and low in KKH and was glad to find grapes and chicken (had to be steamed plain) to test.

kikilala,
mine is bottle strike again...keep pushing bottle away
i was late....missed his feed to wait for me to come home n latch him

mashy,
thanks...shall go find it

BB,
yup dun worry...8.5kg is a good weight...im afraid of ryan losing weight cos he dun wan his milk or drink v little

Think Nat is teething again...
Didnt finish her milk, cranky easily and keep biting EVERYTHING....
Though her bottom two teeth are out, is she gona be cranky each time new teeth are coming out ???

Hi all, anyone of you have any good relaible part time cleaner to recommend? I stay at sengkang, my part time cleaner has decided to help out her husband's business instead. Headache leh, she has been a great help!

sharon
my boy also on strike. 15ml only for the whole of last afternoon.
headache leh... the latex NUK teats that I've been using is not "sticky" yet but got the very strong rubber smell. If its me, I'll also be angry if I have to drink from smelly rubber teat lor!
How?? I'm thinking of getting the pigeon one to try... means got to spend $$ again...

anyone knows if I can get the pigeon wide teat to fit into the NUK wide neck bottle huh?

kikilala> is tat the pigeon food container? i thinking of getting tat. is tat ez to mash baby food?

but the pumpkin so big, wat u do to de rest of it? can cut n put in fridge n juz use de portion i want?

babymaking> oo. icic. luckily haven made real egg yolk n fed to my boy.

bottled puree> ya. usually i heat up de portion i have put in de fridge before giving to my boy. else so cold, how to eat?

mashy> wah. so many food le? my boy so ke lian.

heinz puree: apple, pear, potato&carrot&beef
heinz juice: apple, pear, prune, blackcurrent
puree: sweet potato (seems to have allergy-cause phlegm), banana, papaya, apple
others: orange, chawamushi =p

Michelle
yeh, I'm using the pigeon food container. the small section is for meshing food. I seldom use the electic one actually, everything just mesh manually, even for fresh apple, I just cut and mesh with spoon.

I didnt buy the whole pumpkin, usually can get quite easily from wet market or supermarket those that are cut into sections. I will use a small portion and keep the rest for the next few days. Or you can puree and freeze?

sharon
doc told me urticaria is "feng mo".. but dun tink he's feeling itchy leh.. nv see him scratch.. but doc say will ne be itchy all the time.. i was ?????, then juz listen to the doc loh, feed him the allergy medicine and cream everyday till next checkup..

kikilala
how long can keep the pumpkin in fridge.. wanted to let my boy try but everytime i see the pumpkin so big, dun wan buy liao.. somemore he eat so little..

baby ja
Max i keep 3 days then finish eating already. i'll choose the smallest piece from the lot. about $2 per piece.
if you only can find big big piece one, then better puree and freeze. keep the fresh one in the fridge for too long also no good.

baby ja

sam also hasn't tried pumpkin. mil fed him porridge with potato n heng cai for the p[ast 3 days.

tdy went to buy peas n potato. maybe will make pea n potato puree n freeze for the next 3 days. not gog to mil's so no porridge to eat haha

jul
ya loh.. always see the pumpkin so big.. hee.. but... i will go find the smallest one..

ur mil good ma, can cook for him.. u nv cook for him? javier eat so little.. cant even finish the pigeon small bowl..

baby ja
no need to buy 1 whole pumpkin, can ask the auntie to cut and sell you one small piece if you go to wet market. In NTUC / Cold storage, they already cut it and wrap up.

how to cook brocolli without losing too much of its nutrients and reducing gas huh? I rem for brocolli, i think dont use too much of the stems. use more of the "flowery" portion. issit true? And in regards to losing of nutrients, how ah? steam better?

baby ja

cannot finish 1 ice cube? small eater? I usually mix 1 ice cube with porridge/cereal n other stuff. And i make it a pt to finish it within 2 weeks.

Nat can eat alot !
For those normal rice bowl, she can eat abt 1 to 11/2 bowl of porridge...
She can also eat abt that portion of rice cereal..
Big eater...hahahahahah....

kikilala
oh the they will cut for us then good.. i will go market see see.. my miserable ntuc here so small.. no sell vegetable or fruits.. but got wet market lah.. hee

mashy
normally i will add in his cereal too.. maximum now he can take is oni 1 similac scoop of cereal + abit of puree. if i add too much puree, end up he cant finish too..
maximum i keep in the fridge is 1 week oni..

sophia

until it turns bright green and the stems are soft. Not very long.

baby ja
that's like very little hor. Think my tiny gal can eat more than yours leh. My gal is only 6.7kg now at 8.5mths.

kikilala
tiger food jar design is nice. the one u got is how many litre? i only need one so that when we go out, currently i am using my 1 litre thermal flask haha difficult to clean

mashy
which brand of cheese is suitable for baby?

baby yoplait yoghurt
where can i find it? i got one from cold storage but it says for 1 year onward. comes in a packaging of 6. is this the one?

mashy
can eat good ma..
ya loh.. headache oso.. dunno how to cook his porridge too.. 1 tablespoon of rice oso seems too much on him.. end up i m the one finishing it..

Reira
I got the 0.7L one, I use the bottle scrub to wash the food jar.

there's one baby yoghurt for 6mths+ but its out of stock from the supplier.

I got baby yoghurt for 6mths at Kovan Cold Storage.
Let Nat try but she totally hates it...hahahahaha
So I still have 3 more cups in the fridge..think i will be the one finishing..
Its pretty sour leh...

baby ja

i very lazy hehe. anyway now wrist sprained, cannot do anything also. very sian

i've been gog to mil's everyday this week. so she'll cook porridge. she kept nagging abt giving him porridge for the looongest time so i think she's super happy i agreed to let her cook porridge haha.

reira

u use thermal flask to put porridge? can meh?

Reira
i also cant find the yogurt for 6 months+ anymore, so i just give Renzo 1 year+ de.. the 6 months plus one is too big a tub i think, so 1 year+ de even better.. but think there's cow milk in it ba so Renzo has a bit rashes around his mouth area at first, now okay already, and his poo is soft nowadays after taking that yogurt, i like it.. haha..

jul
if my mil wants to cook for javier, i will be very happy coz she's such a buzy woman.. but hor worry too coz dunno will put salt or soya sauce anot.. that day i commented that he eat abit oni then she say no taste of coz dun like lah. muz put abit soya sauce ma..

babayja... it's those old wives' tale lor..

cos outside hv lotsa those ah-piao mah.. den little kids r so-call more vulnerable to such la-sub tings mah.. especially tian hei hei.. ah-piao cms out to play........
oh then.. ah-piao will like tiao unto the clothes or smting....

smting like dat la.

fat bobo
hahaha.. ah piao huh.. u say the same ah piao with my sis.. so is like that lah.. coz the maid tell me leh say my mil say one.. ask er y she oso dunno.. hee..

bahaha.. yur MIL cute.. heard of it..duno y...but still wan the maid to follow.

for me..i dun hang bbs' clothes outside windows anyways.. cos i hv inconsiderate neighbours upstairs who will throw rubbish out of window de.. so we hang in my maid's room. our outside her room window (ya..very unsightly de..like kampong!! haha)

Kikilala, mashy and sharon. You are right, better have more fats to slim down when teething starts or when baby (touchwood) falls sick.

sophia~brocoli just use the forets n steam only.

fatbobo~ah piao so funny :p good desciption :p

lucas also refuse cereal etc now....just drink milk....but bread he eats hehehhe so just let him be

jul
the reason why i use the thermal flask is so that the porridge will still be warm when i feed him in the afternoon but the cap very difficult to wash

Felicia
I let Zachary tried once and there is no side effect or rash. just that it is a bit sour so he always give the funny look when eating haha

do you give Renzo yoghurt as a snack?

baby ja
my mil said that too and i just ignore her.

recently raining everyday, now i am thinking whether to get a dryer or not