(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

pris, piggy

this am, sam was fed n was sitting in his rocker to poo. just woke up so not tired either. n it's cry until face red, eyes scrunched tight, legs straight, got tears type. when i picked him up, he got the 'wheeze wheeze catch breath'. but it wasn't continous like yest nite in the car seat.

seriously i'm so bad at the differentiating cries leh
why this mummy so lousy? 24h with bb still dunno

sharon

hmm sam is ok with his papa. n if it's the want to carry - anyone also can!

jul/pris,
Tks ...

kiki,
Ya lor, i oso not sure but thinking of substituting them with others ... maybe apple juice? This book i got is from taiwan, and apparently, some of the food which we dun give/delay giving to bb, it seems ok with them leh.

Pegsfur,
the recipe so interestin.. din know gelatine got such a diff name i alway thot chinese is call Yu jiao or wat 1 hahah learn sumthing new today

Jul,
dun be so negative... it takes time to learn n observe... not every1 is born to be super mum... we all learn along the way

piggytoh> keke. maybe ba. cos my boy so small size. 7kg only =p

pris> ya lo. for safety reason. better safe than sorry

dolcevita> think safety first is britax? den is under de same company as ameda pump? i remember i saw it at their warehouse when i went there to repair my pump. u wanna give them a call?

can't remember the name of de company now. maybe can check tonite?

jul> dun blame urself la. we are all first time mummy =p take ur time k.

Hi jeni I use the pamper comfort before changing to huggies dry .. It's reasnable but the material is very plastic not the cloth type .. Sometimes my bb will get red red around the waist area If too tight

die ah....very very strong cravig to eat something though im not hungry..
Eyeing the cup noodles on my desk..
remind me of the days when Im preg...hahahahaha

jul

ai yah, i'm 2nd time mummy i also dunno what my gal wants sometimes. I just look at the clock to see what she wants. If it's near feeding time, then means she's hungry. If near nap time, then she's sleepy. If she cry when it's neither nap time nor sleepy time, she's throwing a tantrum :p

So don't be too hard on yourself.

piggy,

Ya, this book has quite alot of interesting food for bb, like noodles, snacks, desserts,soups both ang moh creamy type and clear chinese type. But the thing is some of the ingredients not sure what is it cos it's not in english, and some ingredients dunno whether suitable for bb or not.

Speaking of that, how old den can bb start to eat eggs? There are some interesting steam egg recipe too.

Hahaa .. i think the 吉利丁 is a direct translation from english

piggy, michelle, mashy

thanks. sigh, i guess i'm just not the super nurturing lovey type. nvm things can only improve lah right?

pegsfur

mil has been cooking porridge with potato n heng cai for sam for the past 3 days. kind of gd that i'm here b/c of my wrist. no need to headache abt how to cook porridge! how's ur porridge adventure gog? how much does ovann eat? sam eats abt 1 1/4 rice bowl?

pegsfur
baby can take egg yolk from 8 mths - but must be fully cooked. i saw some recipes for steam eggs for baby as well - will try it out when ZAC a little older.

but no egg whites till 1 yr and older esp for family with history of allergies or asthma.

just reserved some books from NLB for baby food recipes. hope to get them soon!!

jul,
Haha .. i'm getting better at cooking porridge. From initially it took me 4hrs to cook, till now i only need 1.5hrs .. a very great improvement! I'm starting to love cooking for ovann cos he eats everything up
Ovann is eating 1 full bb bowl, dunno how much is that though. This week i just started him on cod fish and he likes it too.

babymaking,
Oh, ok .. will take note of that. But Steam egg can be done with only egg yolk? No need whites can be done ah?

I've also reserved some books from library but they haven't inform me when is it available.

pegsfur

that's great news! SO happy for u. I can imagine the great satisfaction it gives u to see Ovann finishing up all the porridge that u made. Good work!

pegsfur
I think for baby cook books, must get from recommendation or good authors. Sometimes the publisher just copy from other cook books and then anyhow label de. For us adult to eat is quite ok lor, just maybe the food turn out strange or not nice. But for baby better be careful.

My personal thoughts about cook books lah... eventhough I dont really know how to cook but I love to read cook books and imagine what I can do.

Today I managed to cook porriage with the Tiger food jar. just spend 10 mins to cut the pumpkin + wash rice, boil water... then pour everything into the jar. My boy actually finish everything without any complaints!
I think my boy dont like those sticky canto porriage...

kiki
looks like the tiger food jar is a good buy. i'm still cooking porridge in slow cooker, takes 2 hrs minimum

anyone can share which food jar is better? and oh yeah, of course how long it takes to cook, portable etc?

and oh yes, what is si shen brown rice powder? what herbs are in it and what's the purpose of the herbs?

where got sell just grinded brown rice with no addictives?

Jul,
yeah we improve together

pegsfur,
wow tt great i tink tt is the greatest motivation we get after all the hard work:

babiesmeme,
haha i got this pacifier also ..

Pegsfur-ya man

Jul-

babymaking- si sen is Chinese herb to help bb to hv good appetite
cn hv a look at Yu ren sen brown rice with si sen already

brown rice-buy organic,wash,dry very dry n self grind is e best n easy too

Kiki-me too love to look but actual cookig heheheh so fat never

mashy/piggy,
Exactly! It really motivates me to continue cooking for him, and that all the hard work and sweat is worth it ... else i'd have given up le

kiki,
Lucky u ... Ovann prefers the mushy canto style porridge, so i still need to cook for long hours. Actually i prefer this type oso cos it's easier to feed. The last time i din manage to cook it long enough, the porridge water was literally dripping from his mouth every time i feed, and coalie, while busy licking it off from the floor, also kena some on her fur when Ovann tried to look down at her.

Pegsfur,
I also prefer gluey style porridge cos if watery v diff to feed like ovann , Kyler will be drippin water all over HENG I got mil to help me grind brown rice into powder form which make thing a lot easier for ftwm like me:p

mashy,
dat time u bring hayley for test...its referral from polyclinic rite? muz the polyclinic doc see the actual allergy before they refer u for test?
ryan got rashes today...i suspect it the food he ate...front of his body n neck

sharon

What kind of rashes? Issit the small small tiny dots like heat rash type? Sam has been having those, but dunno issit from no bath

pegsfur> i think egg yolk is after 6mths, egg white is after 1yr

jul> right. dun be too hard on urself. we are all humans. n we cant read wat's on our babies mind. dun worry too much

babymaking> 6mths meh? de heinz custard got egg yolk n it's meant for 6mths. so remember tat time i read, i tot was 6mths wor

babiesmeme> so cute. where u get from?

jul,
it more like mozzie bites...ard his neck n front of his body..one at his lips..one at his eyelid
so i suspect its food allergy
but i haf been giving v low risk food
now suspect it to b broccoli or sweet potato

pegsfur
how u manage to cook the gluey porridge for 1.5hrs? i have to cook 4hrs in the slow cooker to get the gluey one leh..

sharon
my boy got rashes for quite some time. initally is small red dot and will come out different places everytime.. bring to pd also no use, then bring him kkh and they refer him to Skin centre. so final conclusion is he has urticaria.. if dun get any better by his next checkup, will have to take blood test too..

piggy,
Did your mil grind the rice herself or she got it from the medicinal hall?

baby ja,
I soaked the rice overnite and cook over the stove using high heat for abt an hour, den transfer to slow cooker or my magic thermal pot. But of cos, must put lots of water during cooking in case got chao tah

bottled puree
Do we need to heat it up after i put the leftover in the fridge? Or can i just feed straight from the fridge?

pegsfur
i did soak the rice overnite leh.. ok, i will try cooking over the stove first..

bottled puree
i do heat up b4 feeding.. if not, very cold leh..

This is the result from the Tiger food jar
3800028.jpg

Right side is how it is when I pour out from the food jar. (I drain away the water)
Left side is when I mash up with spoon. Actually it is like puree, will not drip and my boy loves it.

michelle
i think becos bottled puree is UHT already so can start from 6mths but if home prepared then 8mths (i think so lah) cos the book mentioned 8mth and above for egg yolks and 1 yr and above for egg whites.

pegsfur
i do heat up, becos it's too cold.

speaking about heating up, which method is the best for frozen puree? and fridged puree?

I currently defrost frozen puree in fridge, and then heat up in hot water, then mix with hot porridge.

for fridged puree, i just heat up in hot water.

but above methods, sometimes food is still cold or just room temperature, any idea which better way to do it?

sharon

ya, she had rashes when i brought her to the polyclinic. GO and get antihistamine. It will help. that time my boy whole body also had big fat rashes. His eyes were so swollen.

<font size="+1">Baby's Day out Event - UPDATE</font>

$12 per family

Get a Baby Bag filled with goodies worth more than $100 with every registration!

Entry requirements - have a baby that's 12 months or below 12mths old

Event details
Date: 17 April 2010
Time: 2pm – 5pm
Venue: The Little Skool-House At Tampines-Junction

It's Baby’s Day Out! Look forward to talks by a pediatrician and a child development expert.

What’s more, develop your baby’s cognitive ability and motor-skills through our hands-on activities at the gathering!

Highlights:
Talk: ‘A Strong and Healthy Child’
by Dr Ang Ai Tin, Consultant Paediatrician and Neonatologist, Thomson Medical Centre
Talk: ‘Importance of relationships to infant and toddler development’ by Dr Melinda Eng, Senior advisor, Curriculum, NTUC First Campus
*Baby crawling contest
*Photography sessions for babies and families
*Learning &amp; Developmental Toys Corner
*Exercise with Baby
*Chopsticks Oriental Healing Massages (for daddy and mummy)
*Craft Activities (for baby’s older siblings)

Those keen to go, pls leave down your name, and email address (i will email you the information required for registration)
1) babymaking
2) mystifiedjan - [email protected] - rec pymt
3) [email protected]
4) gin oh [email protected]
5) sandy dee- [email protected]
6) eboey - [email protected]
7) piggytoh - [email protected] - rec pymt
8) Cheerybabe - [email protected] - rec pymt
9) jul - [email protected]
10) Juliet - [email protected]
11) puroland - J***@gmail.com - rec pymt
12) DolceVita - [email protected] - rec pymt
13) ckw - c***@yahoo.com - rec pymt

Thanks to all mummies who have made pymt

<font color="ff6000">rest of mummies, please make payment and provide details before this sunday 4 april, Thanks</font>

morning ladies..

Kiki,
wah the texture looks not bad wor...

Babymaking,
i was told it is best to steam fridge/freeze puree wor cos hot water not enough to kill the bateria...

mashy,
i juz came back from PD...gave antihistamine too
n it costs me $60!!
so ex lei
his whole body got red rashes like mozzie bites...abit like hives too but red!
eyes swollen too
yday my mum fed him broccoli n sweet potato...sweet potato was new addition
its supposed to be low risk food but so bad reaction!

my boy also having rash on his face, n seems to b spreading downwards. only gave the ivy leaf extract meds for phlegm. dunno if he's allergic to it

kikilala,
is dat pumpkin?
how long u cook it in the jar?

re: carrot
i read somewhere dat it causes constipation...so cant give bb too much?

kikilala,
yah lor...but doc say cant do anything...so i took half day leave
his eyes swollen...look like mini zhu tou
so ugly!

sharon
carrot give moderately and give baby more green veggie. when Zachary didnt poo for 1-2 days, i will give spinach (heng cai) and within 6hrs of consuming he will poo (out the heng cai too)

Sharon
yes, its pumpkin.

here's what I did: Everything done in 10 mins, then just leave it to cook on its own
- Remove pumpkin skin and cut into small cubes
- Wash 1 tablespoon of new rice
- add 150ml of water, pumpkin and rice in a small pan
- heat up till boiling
- pour into food jar
- wait for 2 hours
- pour contents out and drain away the water
- mesh with spoon

I like the semi-puree (there's some texture as I use spoon to mesh only) and I can "pile" quite high up on the spoon (those canto porriage cannot pile up leh)
Now I know my boy's pattern already, he will only take the first 10-20 spoon, after that he will start to fuss regardless of what food he is eating. So I got to either get a huge spoon or pile as high as I can

I also let my boy drink the "am" (water from cooking the porriage) as its quite sweet.

Let me experiment with more different type of vege/meat and share here...

Reira
The isetan sale will have quite often. Dont need to be Tiger food jar, other thermal cooking pot also can. Next time when baby is bigger, then bigger pot means you can also cook your share together.

sharon

when he's totally well, try the sweet potato again. If he reacts to it again, then it's the sweet potato. If not, it's probably something else.

My boy was also allergic to chicken and it's supposed to be low allergy. SO u never know.

kiki
I do the same thing as u.
Now i just cook with the tiger jar everyday. So far i find the carrots still a bit hard for her. Altho soft enough to mash with spoon, she tends to choke on them.

So far I've tried:

Meat: Minced Pork, cod fish, thread fin, salmon, Beef stock
Vege: Spinach, broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, pumpkin, butternut squash, sweet potato, potato, onions, corn, peas, avocado, Old cucumber stock
Others: Bread, cheese cubes

That day when we were out, my hb fed her plain rice outside and she likes it. Maybe when she has more teeth, i'll give her rice.