(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

sharon, think if Ryan doesn't want so much milk, you can hide the milk in his cereals? You can probably increase his cereals? Isaac also prefers to eat rather than drink milk actually. So we even put a scoop of milk powder (with 30ml water) inside his porridge.

smurfy, i have started to add millet already. Am planning to also put in other grains like barley and quinoa soon too. Its got alot more nutrients than just rice alone.

High tea gathering (organise by Eunice)

3rd April

1)Eunice
2)weishy
3) mich

pris
but mine can?? the simmering methods? argghh my this maid not very clever leh.. must give her method that works for most meals.. i use stove to faster the heating process, then transfer to slow cooker so that maid dun need to watch over fire n can do some other stuffs.

mich
the millet u buy oredi, got to wash right? what is quinoa? i have not buy this before.. u use lecthin before?

Mich, I have also started with millet and barley. Will see what i can do next haaahaaa...

Regg, you just give sweet potato alone? If giving it alone, I add bm and also powder ikan bilis.

Thanks Pris, smurfy. Nanny said she'll cook potatoes and sweet potatoes for her lunch today. I'll try garlic this weekend.

pris,
is those big red onions ok that i intake them since i am bfding my boy?

or r u refering to those red small onions/shallots?

hmmm,
can give them garlic and shallots now?
how u prepare those?

Just back from my lunch, still busy doing housekeeping with my laptop and then need to reinstall programs.

bbmaking, my day starts at 7.30am and ends at 9.30pm from Mon to fri, Sat - I start my day at 9am and end at 9.30pm and Sun - earlier as we need to get to church, ends at 9.30pm.

cloudme, I take raw big onion- red, brown or white and lots of raw garlic. For Ray, I cooked them in his food like porridge, udon, noodles, pasta, etc for him to eat.

joeey, so far, Ray has recovered from his bad cold, phlegmy cough very well taking garlic and onion.

smurfy, millet, quinoa got to wash same way as rice. Is lecithin good?

About quinoa:A recently rediscovered ancient "grain" native to South America, quinoa was once called "the gold of the Incas," who recognized its value in increasing the stamina of their warriors. Not only is quinoa high in protein, but the protein it supplies is complete protein, meaning that it includes all nine essential amino acids. Not only is quinoa's amino acid profile well balanced, making it a good choice for vegans concerned about adequate protein intake, but quinoa is especially well-endowed with the amino acid lysine, which is essential for tissue growth and repair. In addition to protein, quinoa features a host of other health-building nutrients. Because quinoa is a very good source of manganese as well as a good source of magnesium, iron, copper and phosphorus, this "grain" may be especially valuable for persons with migraine headaches, diabetes and atherosclerosis

pris,
ok...

boy's phlegmy cough is back...
will try him on garlic and onion...
***crossing fingers**** hope he will take it.

mich
i saw it in ntuc... supposedly good for brain.. but i never start that for my #1 before..

pris
argggh u r stressing me out on the porridge
.... argg i get the maid to continue with this combination.. and me try out other methods this weekend.. :\

mich how u cook the porridge ar?

Hi mummies: the apple rich cake or blueberry rich cake from organix sounds tempting but where is the location of the organic shop to get? sorry I cant find on cold storage ntuc or carrefour

Slow cooker: think the aerogaz slow cooker is worth getting (12.90), the porridge gets soft in about two hour, i add carrot and potatoes my boi finish the whole bowl!

Overcook on stove or slow cooker, nutrients in greens will be lost. Even with slow cooker, I cook brown rice porridge, I only add the green before we eat.

babymaking,

Tks for the link ... but i think that's more for food that has juice and easy to chew. I'm not sure if it works for biscuit which is dry leh.

My day starts like this:

8.00am - Wake up, feed my dog, prepare bb's porridge
9.00am - Wake bb up, feed milk
10.00am - Bring bb & dog for walk
10.30am - Bathe bb
11.00am - BB nap
12.30pm - Feed bb lunch (porridge)
1.00pm - BB playtime
2.00pm - Feed bb 100ml milk
2.30pm - BB nap
5.00pm - Feed bb dinner (porridge), den feed my dog
6.00pm - Feed bb 100ml milk followed by playtime
7.30pm - BB nap
8.15pm - BB playtime
9.00pm - Feed bb milk
10.00pm - Wash up bb, prepare to sleep (normally he'll play in his cot till tired, den will only sleep at abt 11pm)

Finally i can rest!

babiesmeme,
i bott at the harbourfront organic shop opp hwa Xia... but they only got apple n cinnamon flavour.. wher u stay if u stay east side can check with pegsfur la..

bbmaking, my sahm schedule is as follow:

7am-7.30am - wake up and prepare milk for elder son then bf baby girl

7.30am-9.30am - wash up, prepare son for school, prepare and eat breakfast, sometimes send him to school with my girl, feed my girl cereal

9.30am - 10plus - my girl nap, I do housework and prepare her porridge

10plus - 12pm - playtime for my girl, sometimes bring her out to do groceries shopping and buy lunch.

12pm - feed my girl porridge and then let her nap while I take lunch and bathe

1plus - 4pm - feed my girl milk when she wakes up then let her play then she will nap again, will continue with housework when she naps or if I am tired, I will take power nap.

4.30pm - bring my girl to go pick up my boy

5plus - feed my girl porridge, children play while I try to wash bottles/uniforms

6plus - my girl takes a power nap while I eat dinner with my son

7plus - bathe my 2 children and then play with them

8pm - feed my girl milk (sometimes she drinks sometimes she refuse)

8.30pm - put my girl down in her cot, after that prepare milk for my son, prepare his school bag, I bathe then entertain my son, heat up dinner for hubby

9.30pm - my son goes to the room to sleep

9.30 - 10pm - wash bottles and watch some tv, will attemtp to dream feed my girl if she refuses to drink milk at 8pm.

10plus - pump milk then wash all the pump equipment

11pm - either sleep or watch tv

mich,
Wats millet?? So much to learn..where to buy?
i make cereals with ebm..he only eat 1 meal of cereals now..dunno if its enuff?

Sharon-millet u can buy from those vegetarian or organic shops(there's one at the interchange coffeshop) quite a selection...even hv quinoa too n others.

Garlic/onion-it's good to incoperate into all our diets
I find it a good healthy remedy too myself

Gathering-babymaking ,how about having one at ur plce on weekdays?
sahms can join in then

Smurfy-can boil rice first,add carrots etc n leafy green veges last.even fish n minced pork I will add in last as well.

Michelle, ftwm and sahm both shiong. I think taitai easiest. Hahaha... If cannot be taitai then hb's support very impt. Not financially but if can help to bathe or feed the kid regularly or some housework then can ease mummy's duties abit.

Thanks for all your advise. Thank God my blocked ducts got better by late afternoon and by night time was cleared. Kept latching baby and ask her to help mummy clear the blocked ducts. For some reason she sucked for very long in the afternoon. Either hungry coz she didn't managed to drink much earlier or it was so blocked she got to spend more time sucking. haha.

But boy was it pure agony. Was reminding myself that I have to be ready to let go if cant continue to bf anymore.

Mich,
If the millet in grain or powder form? Sounds like healthy. May want to introduce that to Sophie too. Also for barley, need to be the chinese or holland type to cook for baby? Is barley meant to be cooked on its own or with rice?

The porridge I cooked is using Japanese short gain so the texture is more mushy. Over the weekends, I cooked a variety, chicken with spinach, pumpkin with carrot, sweet potatoe with pumkin. Quite pleased with myself considering I'm such a cooking idiot in the kitchen. Haha. All thanks to the slow cooker.

sahm
really well done mummies! i also peifu you all!

Irene do you need to cook dinner or not huh? Me not sahm nor ftwm cuz i am working from home. i cook dinner also. But i am wondering once i start a new job, can i still manage my time well and how to cook for the family sia..

SAHM-I still salutes u guys cos it's tough if I'm one heheheh

Will feel like I'm trap in the house
. If 1 baby is fine ....with 2 I go nuts (which i did when my helper was away for 1 month)

planning ,cleaning all needs to be so organized .

Nt to forgt hubbys needs home cooked food etc ...so me can't be one la period :p

Keep up the good work ladies but dun forgt to treat urself well (facials/massage/pedi etcs)

milk intake
may i know how much milk does you baby drink after adding 2 solid meals a day please?

i feel that last time my boy only need 4 feeds per day and 1 feed can last him for 5 hours, now with 2 solids he still drink quite a lot of milk, but seems that he is always hungry, sweat!!

Sharon
My boy is also drinking 60-100ml for each feed. I think he is all out to make me angry... if I prepare 100ml in the bottle, he will drink 60ml and push away the bottle, if I prepare 60ml, then will drink until like not enough! Every time must throw away my milk!!!

babymaking, my schedule might not be as useful as I have Kai in Primary School.

I latch Ray at 6.30am for his bm then we are back in bed. I get up at 7.30am.

7.30am Prepare lunch for Kai. Prepare breakfast for the whole family,
8.00am Kai is up from bed, get Ray up from bed too. We all had our breakfast. (Ray has his toast.)
8.30am Send Kai to school.
9.00am Ray and I go for our usual walk/grocery shopping (on Thursday)/ Playgroup (Tuesday & Wednesday)
10am Back from our walk (on days without activities), we read books, free play, sing songs.
10.30am Ray plays on his own in playpen, I hang laundry. Then vacuum the living room and mop.
11.00am Latch Ray and he gets his morning nap.
11.30am I cook lunch.
12.30pm Ray and I have our lunch.
1pm We have playtime and read more books upstair,
1.30pm Ray plays on his own, I pack all the clothing into cupboard and then vacuum upstair.
2.15pm Ray has his bath, then he stays in the bedroom to play while I shower.
2.50pm We go to pick up Kai. (School for Kai ends at 3.10pm)
3.30pm Reach home, both boys have afternoon tea. And we have some fun together. Usual play together. Both boys love each other;s companion.
4.00pm Ray latch on and then nap. Kai reads his books, draws, etc. I get food to defrost from freezer,
4.30pm Kai starts on his school homework then proceed to homeschooling works.
5.30pm I start to prepare dinner by cutting all the ingredients 1st, And I usual will pop by Kai to see how he is coping with work, explain and help him along.
6.30pm I start cooking dinner.
7.00pm Dinner is served.
7.45pm Kai has his free time, work on maths on PC. Dh washes dishes while I play with Ray.
8.45pm We head upstair to clean up, then read books and bible. Pray.
9.30pm Light off.

We hardly watch tv except dvd on Friday night.

Sunday - we are usually out after church for family day and Saturday, Kai's swimming lesson in the morning, then we head home, Dh helps with some household chores before we head out again to get more groceries. Then late afternoon, we go out to the park where Kai gets to run around.

I prepare a 28 days menu for lunch and dinner so no need to crack my head as to what I need to cook for meals.

Pris,
Nope, i dint just feed him with sweet potatoe alone.. i steam it then mix into the cereal, so far i tried twice he reject it. the rest he OK.

irene,
I cant imagine if i am having 2 kids now, i already going nuts soon!

Pris
Wow your life is so fruitful there!

28 days of menu? that's so cool cuz i am the one cracking my head hard to think about what to cook for dinner, i dun cook lunch cuz usually i will prepare extra during dinner, and let my helper steam and eat while i look after baby, i have a habit of eating bread and fruits for lunch.. but dinner is the headache part cuz hubby also comes back for dinner together mah..

can share your dinner menu or not? hahaha.. usually i will cook 2 dishes, or sometimes 2 dishes with 1 soup.. recently running out of ideas on what to cook so i tried cooking just 1 dish like laksa or pasta, but a bit unhealthy cuz not enough greens right..

irene> heng i seldom need bathe my son. since i send him to infant care, dey bathe him there. i bring him hm, my mum feeds him. once he reach my hm, he oredi asleep =p only thing is now i feed him 9+, he wakes up. last time he willl continue sleeping thru -_-

donkeymami> think someone in sep mum commented dat de one she bought at expo for 20bucks, bp selling at 15bucks.

Felicia, I used to cook dinner till I was so tired and not enough time to do housework and spend time with my girl so I am using tingkat now.

Regg, having Two kids really not easy. So do plan the age gap well. My kids' age gap is 2yrs. I am not young plus I want my kid to be able to play together.

Testing the thermal cooker just now .. mmmm .. i cooked the porridge using stove for abt an hour b4 transferring to the thermal cooker. 2.5 hrs later, the porridge still wasn't as nua as i wld like it to be. Hiaz .... looks like i gotta go back to using slow cooker.

bear
U r only using tingkat for dinner or lunch & dinner? For me, i'm using tingkat for lunch cos hubby will come back & tabao for dinner.

Pris
thanks.. yup pasta can have more veges but usually i only add brocoli, and my family like creamy pasta so guess really nee more workout after a sinful meal.. LOL

Irene
i see, yup if you got to cook for the family i think will be really siong sia.. sometimes i even start preparing around 330pm if i am cooking soup also, and i still have a helper at home to look after baby for me, can't imagine how you cook with 2 kids! i really admire those with 2 or 3 kids sia, i wish i could have #2 also but i dunno if i can manage or not sia..

tingkat food nice or not? guess i might want to consider if once i find a new job, can't expect my helper to look after baby and still cook at the same time..

Weishy:

I am in for gathering... will be SAHM after this week... anyone wanna org playgroups or such can count me in!

BTW: Any SAHM staying in Hougang/Sengkang/Serangoon areas?