(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Baby poo: ever since Caden is on total fm his poo will either yellow or green ...so far he is ok
baby carrier: I very cheapo I got one for bb from chicco but he outgrown recently and I got a cheap sling from bp bulk purchase from querida cost me $12 only it's imported from japan or Korea I like cos you feel weighless
having no. 2: just wonder when can we try for one more if we are casaran- 1 year? 2 year?

cost me only $12

Tiger food jar: saw at carrefour think is selling at 47。those miss the isetan sale can go take a look at orchard
aerogaz slow cooker: trying today to make porridge will feedback later
og: fp stacker and sorter left about 6 pieces .. Blue elephant left only the display set lucky grab earlier

Ladies ~gathering

let me go chk out which one is FREE one hehheheh .let u guys know asap.

which dates are more favourable can u guys let me know pls tks alot.

1st week of april?

Gathering? If falls on weekend, maybe I can join too. Someone asks me about the disinfectant handwash, maybe I can pass her a bottle to try if she is going.

weishy,
i am keen too:p

My boy can sit up by himself today... but i miss how he did it... n he show attempt to stand by pushin upwards instead of gettin supplort from the rail...but of cos he failed haha..

piggytoh..
haha.. so happy & excited right.. my boy still got no intention to sit up + he still cant sit unsppported veri well.. or rather he dun like to sit as if got thorns at his butt..

piggytoh~hee lucas can sit up by himself think....2 weeks ago...afterwards....nightmare liao....night time wakes up...sit up n wanna climb over the cot!!!!......

babyja~u use the slow cooker already 3 hours still cannot be like tat le.....helper says the mini japanese rice is like that
....so later if still "grainy" i will blend it loo no choice.

the slow cooker im using is those "zi sha" type.......dunno if it affects the results or not.

weishy
u mean if 3 hours will be nua nua liao huh? if later if no nua nua then i blend loh.. i use the normal rice we eat.. eh.. wat is za sha type??

babiesmeme, having #2... i've done some reading on this and the ideal gap depends on the reason you had a c-section. so everyone might be different, and it's best to check with your gynae.

for a planned c-section, it's about 6 months generally. for some emergency c-sections, the cut is bigger and might have to wait 1 year. also if u have some other conditions like gestational diabetes or pre-eclampsia, these will affect ideal timing also i think.

Oh sunshine mine is emergency c section cos I suposed to be induced and goes natural but baby cannot wait so got to do emergency c section

Ladies help! This morn woke up and thought that my breast was feeling full, in the end its because I was having blocked ducts, or I think so... Can feel very hard lumps surrounding the breast. Tried hot compress, hot bath, expressing to clear and massge but cant seem to 'disperse' the block ducts. What should I do?

And whats more the breast feels so hard, cant tell if breast is full or the effects from the block ducts.

Its so painful! Massage until want to cry!!! Will it suside by itself or need to do anything else?

If dont get better by tomorrow, plan to go to TMC and see the lactation consultants for help.

baby ja
the porridge i give to my boy is like your picture de lor.. i dun blend de, cuz blend liao it's like err sweet potato puree like that, thought it is good to have some texture so to train them how to chew and swallow..

joia,
let Sophie latch? Read somewhere dats its e best way to clear

baby ja,
which brand of slow cooker u using? I wanna get one too

re: porridge
today i let my boy try porridge..i juz use normal pot cook n feed
he seems ok with it..so dun need blend?

babyja.
ya happy to catch tt but it means dangerous also.... cat ground him in his playpen anymore..haha..

Weishy,
sigh ever since Kyler can stand by himself alr headache liao the moment i put him in his bed he will attempt to stand n walk.. i was monitorin him seems like he not tryin to sit up but stand up maybe no strength so end up sit only lol....

babyja~yup me too usually hv to blend afterwards...cos not "nua" enough le....

lucas gt no tooth yet ma cant chew.

ladies~if gt free trail which date would u guys prefer?28th march oki?

Piggy: where to get this organix apple rice cake? My boi took the toothipegs bellamy it's so super hard and I put in water and let him try think he too greedy and gets choke give us s fright quickly give him apple juice blur mother!

joia,
I'm from the july thread. Think you may have mastitis. Check if your breast that's hurting is looking red or not (inflamation). If got fever, go see doc for anti-biotics to clear.

I went to TMC parent craft & they say apply hot towel and massage till clot clear, but more painful than giving birth.... Massage & latch didn't clear the clot for me. One of the July mothr taught me to get san1 zha1 (hawthorn slices)& mai4 ya1 (malt grains), boil & drink. Clot cleared within 1.5 days

Hi Sharon try aerogaz slow cooker only 12.90 at carrefour I try today within two hours it's quite soft already I put carrot abd potatoes too my boi finish all the porridge

sunshineG> i think he eats nestle cereal with vege in sch. but only eat 3tablespoon a day, will it result in de nxt day poo so much green? anyway now better liaos. so shuld be ok ba

kikilala> like i mention, bjorn carrier is more suitable for men, cos dey are relatively taller. my hubby oso find it quite comfortable

babiesmeme> yaya, alot of pple recommend tat 12bucks sling. hubby's colleague oso recommend. but we tot bjorn look nicer =x

babyja> yaya. only slow cooker can cook porridge of this texture. this kinda porridge yummy =p

joia> need to keep massaging n keep pumping. n if really dun help, den go tmc let u massage. for my case usually massage works

babiesmeme~hee me also contemplating whether to get that cooker too but too small liao for my girl n lucas' portion so gt the bigger one.....who knows it cooks so slow......!!!!!!!

weishy, i'm in for the gathering too!

joia, I've had the same situation twice already, coupled with fever etc. No choice but to latch/pump as much as possible. Go see the GP if dun get well for antibiotics. Usually it will clear within 2 days or so.

babiesmeme,
i bott tt from organic shop i tink pegsfur bott another flavour also.. it hard also ut i tink it will soften when they start chewin on it my boi hav no prob finish the whole thing n it not v messy :p

Weishy,
icic can gave papaya mah but not too smooth gave him some texture?

Felicia
in the end, i still blend coz HB find not nua enough.. in the end, he still dun eat much.. haiz.. eat few mouthful oni..

sharon
the slow cooker i bought is akira.. last week walk past giant and saw got sale @ $29.90 for 3L cooker then i still got voucher dun waste ma..

michelle
haha.. HB tried and said like old people eat one leh..

baby ja
Haha .. i use stove to cook, took me 4-5hrs to cook the porridge till really mushy. And of cos, inbetween with lots of chao tah porridge and literally boh eng with the checking of the fire. So 2 days ago, i use the stove to cook for abt 2 hrs, den transfer to slow cooker and cook for another 2 hrs.

But! No more cooking for me. I've got the thermal magic cooker!!!
Gonna try out tomorrow

piggy
Ya, i got the blueberry rice cake. I haven't let Ovann try cos it's not individual packing. Ovann still not very used to chewing yet, so i scared after giving him 1 and he can't eat, den the rest wasted cos i dun hv container to store.

Finally, finally .. Ovann is loving the porridge now
Planning to add in vege tml.

pegsfur~heheh looks like this solid thingy is makign u freak out

dun worry u gt ur pot liao
at least no need to "see" fire

High tea gathering (organise by Eunice)

3rd April

1)Eunice
2)weishy

baby ja> old pple eat tat kinda porridge than is nice one lo =p anyway i m not a porridge person. which is oso why so long, my boy haven had a porridge meal =p

morning mummies

i got a qn...my boy has been rejecting milk
so now my mum has been feeding him only like 100ml every 4hrs...im worried he will not get enuff nutrients...he is like taking only bout 500ml the whole day with 1 meal of cereal
he used to drink 180ml every 3hrs

what is the amt of milk ur baby drink now? every 3 or 4hrs?

morning ladies..

Pegsfur,
oh i put the whole packet in ziplock bag,... i only feed durin wkend mah so i open put in ziplock bag n put in fridge

Sharon,
after i start my boi with cereal he can still drink 150ml x 4 but lately he dun wan to drink wor many time only drink 120/130ml he push away liao.. i tink sum1 mentioned be4 nowthey only need 500ml..

morning..

talking abt porridge, yesterday i feed my boy with porridge for lunch too, he ate.
em.. i dint really spent alot of time on the porridge, i used ikan bilis to boil, then use the water to boil the rice..add in "bar chor" for the taste and some veg...he likes it.

Hi Sharon,

I was about to ask the same question.
My girl has been refused to drink milk since Friday, she used to drink 210ml every 4 hours with 1 rice cereal. My nanny call me on Friday (i was at work) saying she refuse milk, her last feed was the night before at 9pm, and she has not drink milk till 11am where i get urgent leave and rush to my nanny house. From then, she has quite reluctant to drink milk, only about 100ml every 4 to 5 hourly (by force).

Should i be concerned?

Morning mummies.

Hi MELim, Sharon,
My girl has been drinking very little too, about 60 ml every 3 hours , by force. She took her 3rd 6-in-1 jab on 13 March and has developed fever, cough, running nose. Last friday, i brought her to PD, PD said it's common cold as there wasn't any fever. But she's lost weight. She kept coughin and vomitting milk. Took cough mixture, rhinathiol, also no use.
She can't take flu medicine as it causes palpitations. I just ask my Nanny to keep giving her warm water to soothe her lungs.

weishy
Hahaha ... ya, at least no need to 'see fire' now

Mmm ... the gathering is a sat again ah .. looks like i have to give it a miss.

sunshine g
I bought the thermal cooker from BHC (or was it BCH?) $39 for 1.8L cooker. I think Mashy mentioned isetan selling cheaper. U might wanna go & check.

piggy
Oh, can put in ziplock bag hor .. silly me, never think of it
The other day i gave him rusk biscuit but because it breaks off easily cos it's abit soft, ovann almost kena choked when he gum off a big pc. He literally grasp for air and he's face turned red! Scared the hell out of me.

I also suspect my girl is lactose intolerant. She can't take Stage 2 Similac, will cause loose stools. PD told me to stick to Stage 1 Similac until 1yo.

Pegsfur,
tt day my MIL gave him a teethin biscuit same thing happen also.. but this rice cake quite ok wor cos it round they wun be able to gum off too much n he seem to like it more impt unlike teethin biscuit less messy

morning ladies!

jul,
can we put baby front-facing in the manduca carrier?

gathering
sigh..... i can't make it for the gathering again. 3rd april i've to attend an event in church. so far i haven't been able to attend any of the gatherings.

last time my boy can drink 200ml for his nite feed. now he only drink 100+ml den push away. i need feed him 30mins apart to make him finish max 180ml

rejecting milk
mummies... when ur babies are 6-8mths old, is food tasting period.. milk should still be the primary food intake for ur baby.. u shld cut down on solids if they dun wanna drink milk..

but 8-9mths onwards... solids should be more important as milk alone is not able to provide enough nutrients to the growing baby.. and u should instead make sure they have wide variety of foods for them.. milk intake can be reduced to 3 times? morning, afternoon n evenings.

i used to hear mummies in my other thread saying their babies dun like solids? how to like and finish eating solids when u have 5-7 full milk feeds per day? :p.. go ask ur PD about milk if u r not sure.. :p (in the past my child oso dun drink alot of milk, almost every trip, i ask my PD to get some reassurance... :p by 1.5yrs old. he even stopped taking any forms of milk.. PD says just give him other forms of calcium sufficient oredi - like cheese, yohgurt etc..)

Morning all

joey, Ray also just recovered from a bad cold and cough without mediation. What I did was to feed him more garlic and onion in his food and I also increase the amount of raw garlic and onion I took as he is still bfding. Ray recovered within 5 days.

MELim, how old is ypur girl? If she is more interested in solid, feed her more solid then, like toast bread, puree, porridge, rice rusks, etc.

koia, hawthorn should not be taken if you are still planning to bfd unless you are weaning bb off bm.

pORRIDGE~!~!~

now my turn to ask questions

1) cut potato+carrot+aparagus into small pieces, simmer using stove cooker for half hr
2)after half hour, put in grinded brown rice into stove cooker (oh before i put in the grinded rice, i will scoop some soup out, and feed her with it during meal times to cultivate her the habit of drinking soup..)
3) once mixture boils, transfer to slow cooker and slow cook for 1hr
4) add in small sizes of fish and slow cook for 15minutes
5) porridge is ready

question:
my method of simmer carrot/potato/vegetables (or some other combination).. is that okay?????????????? will it cause nutrients loss? (i was thinking it is similar to adults eating stew soup) ... if i have dark, leafy vegetables, it is steamed and blend separately and fed as a side dish to the porridge (aka adult eating style, vegetables a dish on its own).

i think i am gonna confuse this silly maid with all the porridge thingies :p... come 9mths onwards. i am gonna add legumes and stuffs (millets, green lentils, red lentils, brewer's yeasts, barley, red dates, wolfberries, seaweed)..

smurfy, potato and carrot, I use boiling water to boil for a short while, less than 10 minutes. As for aparagus, I dun cook too long too.

If I am cooking with pumpkin or sweet potato, I cut them small cube and add in together to boil with porridge.

I cook my porridge over stove usually less than an hour already canto style. For brown rice, I cook it in slow cooker overnight with pork, wolfberries, etc.