(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

joyce c

not as big as joyful's or felicia's hee. i also tot a stroller was all i needed. but i went so many places with sam last weekend, n the carrier was super useful!

i'm not sure if poo-ing 5x a day is healthy. shdn't he have more bowel control by now??

piggy/kiki,
Mmm ... just tasted the avocado ... i dun really like it .. heh, so it means i din miss out anything good.. hahah .. but Ovann's neutral. As usual, he'll frown when he taste new food.

For those who fed porridge
When u add veggie/carrot, Do u blend it or do u chop finely? Ovann's multi-grain cereal is gonna finishing soon, so thot of making porridge for him to try.

Hi Jul04
I joined your ON spree, just check if the items are received.

now my boy can stand & walk few step on his cot & playpen then he will topple. however he still cannot sip from straw on magmag. he sign "gek sai" on his face when he wants to poop, then we will accompany him on the throne, so far he's toilet habit in the morning.

i use the sling and would say is convenient to even move around the house esp when E like to be carried around. my stroller is like white elephant.

Pegsfur,
haha nv as long as Ovann ok willing to eat can le:p

JOycec,
my bb also FM baby but dunno y he poo more after i started solid on him.. i tink it individual bb body bah...

El-nino,
wow ur boi so clever so he manage to pull himself to stand as well? for playpen u level down alr? cos when my boi stand the rail is at his tummy level like quite dangerous wor..

I think both the sling/carrier and strollers have their good use. Strollers are great when u go shopping,have a meal or going out for a long time. Slings/carriers are good when u are running around where there are not many baby-friendly paths.

I use my carrier when i walk my dog cos there are so many curbs, steps and stairs.

pegsfur
depends on what i add in leh, if soft type like papaya, carrot(i cook that for long hours to make the soup base so turn out to be very soft already) i chop only, if harder one like maybe apple, or vege iike spinage, i still blend first then add in..

cuz need to give baby food with texture or else they only know how to swallow.. so i dun blend as often nowadays..

piggy
Yeah, he can stand but he loose control and topple if he step on something on the cot. my cot can level up but playpen is fixed, no adjustment. waist height is too dangerous. i actually train him to stand now trying to walk him a few steps each weekend.

piggytoh,

Dunno leh, but he is quite a "constipated" baby. Went to see the PD once cos he never poo for more than 6 days when he was on FM. Think might have gotten the genes from me cos i do get constipated at times. haha...so we get him to drink more water and take more fruits. Luckily that he likes to drink water.

Hope that his condition will be better when he is older lah.

Think that either Aaden is lazy or he is just bullying me. He doesnt want to hold his bottle, be it milk or water. I bought the magic handle from Avent for him to use but he doesnt like it at all. On the numerous occasions that i train him on weekends, he totally disregard me and do not want to hold the bottle.

Even for the Happy Bellie Puffs, i placed it on his hands or the place mat, he just picked it up and refused to put it into his mouth. He wanted me to feed him instead cos he kept making noise and opening his mouth. I showed him how i placed it in my mouth also no use. The only time that i can train him is only on the weekends.

aarrahhh!!!
I started packing for my trip and realised that my boy cannot fit into any of the old beanies already. Any idea where to get those bape beanies off the rack in Tampines or Vivo/harbourfront? Need it on Wed.

el nino

I emailed n also updated on the thread? did u receive? I'm paying the shipping tdy coz all packages are at vpost usa. Hope can get by early next week, then i can distribute weekend after next. I forgot how u wanna collect?

joyce c

Sam also doesn't wanna hold his bottle. Then he'll start crying/whining coz he's hungry n wants his milk but doesn't wanna feed himself!

Sunshine,

Same here. At least yours wakes up only 3 times. Mine is 3-4 times. Terrible. At abt 1.30am, I will feed her milk. Then subsequently, water. Then she will cry every hour. I'm at wits end. Starting work next week. Now very tired hearing her cry hourly at night. Dunno how to start work like that! Everyday only feel like taking naps in the afternoon.

Joycec,
ya hope ur boi will be better when he grow older..

El-nino,
ya lo v dangerous din expect him to stand up on his own so fast.. my playpen can adjust but if i adjust there is nothin in it for him to practise standin up wor..
actually no need to specially train them to stand 1 esp if their leg not strong enough not v gd for their leg.. if they wan they will learn to stand on their own..

Pegsfur,
i dun sling at all hahah i simply like to use stroller.. esp now my bb so heavy n he cant stay still n puttin him in stroller is so easy esp when i go shoppin :p

phy o
mine is 5-7 times lor... got to give him water, or else he will not sleep back de.. very bad habit..

i did write a post on this:
http://watchrenzogrow.blogspot.com/2010/03/all-about-sleeping-through-night.html

but the thing is he is still waking up often at night although the method i tried seem to help a bit..

basically the idea is not to pick them up, just give minimal attention and hopefully they can be trained to soothe themselves back to sleep..

phy o
My boy also wakes up many times every night
he will sleep at abt 9pm, then wakes up at 11:30pm, 3am, 4:30am, 6am. I'm takiing care of my boy alone at night and FTWM. I just latch him in bed and he will go back to sleep. at least I can still get some sleep myself eventhough i know its bad habit.

joyce..
is that u i lent the ergocarrier? :p u wanna buy over? if not, pls advise when u would be back frm ur trip.. intending to sell off with the baby insert.

jul
just checked your ON spree thread, how much do I need to top up including postage? possible to pm me incase i didnt check forum? thanks a lot =)

Hi bean my pd said for tummy to back they can master only when 7-8 months . For crawling we need to help them by using our hands as the stopper at the end of their feet

Babymaking I was thinking whether we pot prune juice in the mag mag cup will it make bb use the cup haha .. Btw is your mag mag got tupperwAre like smell

been looking ard for the maclaren quest to let my boy try before getting it at taka. But guess what, end up another stroller won my heart. :p It's the Peg Perego. It's twice as ex but the thing that won my heart is the footboard behind. My boy can stand on it and ride along while we push. He really enjoyed it.
We were looking at the Lascal floorboards and figured that perhaps it's not such a bad idea to get the peg perego since it's built-in and manuevouring won't be as diff as the lascal. Now just waiting for taka 10% storewide sale...

jul
u got the peg perego right? U like it?

I got the shopping cart walker for $40 altho some mummies said they got theirs at $50. So $80 is brand new box???

phy o, sunshine

sam has also been waking up 1-2 times a nite, sometimes thrice, for the past mth! still no sign of any stupid teeth. seriously doubt that it's teething, but no idea what's the matter too

but i stuff pacifier. dun feed milk/water or anything.

reira

ok i wrap n weigh then pm u

mashy

yup i got the peg perego pliko p3. it's very solid n sturdy. can withstand knocks from pple in crowded places, big enough for sam who's kinda big-sized, won't topple even with my niece standing on the footboard. i like the extendible handles so i dun need to bend over. n the wheels are big enough that i dun get stuck in mrt gaps / escalators / kerbs.

cons wud be the weight n also the size. coz it's too big to squeeze into small corners so not so easy when shopping in small stores. oh n the canopy doesn't lower all the way, if that matters to u.

yes $80 is very nice box. can give pple

jul

hmm... the shopping in small stores might be a prob. But we're kind of used to it coz most strollers can't fit into small stores anyway. How much did u get it for?

Baby wakes up in the night.
My baby also make noises in the night, ark ark ark to wake me up. Sometimes I hug her and she falls back to sleep, sometimes feed some water, most of the time it works when I put back her pacifier. One month ago, she could sleep through but later wake up almost every hr or every 2 hrs. If she sleeps a lot in the day, it's worst. If she plays a lot but doesnt sleep much in the day, then she will only ark ark after 5am. Last night she slept through till 5.15am and I've to feed her milk. I guess baby is unable to tahan the 11pm 90ml (4scoops) FM anymore, that's why waking me up. She drinks lesser at 11pm last feed though. Sigh.

I disinfectant my hands and put my finger into her mouth to touch the gum, hmmm... top front tooth area hard hard, coming out soon since 2 weeks ago. Still coming out soon, no sign of the tooth yet.

Smurfy,
It is Joyful who borrowed the ergo carrier from you. I believe that she is leaving for taiwan this week. Guess you can check with her when she is back next week whether she likes the carrier.

Do you find it frustrating whenever relatives, mothers or mils pass certain comments about taking care of baby. Everytime i see my relatives, they will ask about the progress lah, like why Aaden has not learn to do this and do that lah. Also pass comment why your milk bottle so much bubbles when baby drink lah, also commented that we dunno how to apply ru yi oil etc etc. I respect them cos they are my elders but really hope that they do the same to us as well.

Dunno why so emotional about it, maybe stress at work or i am experiencing separation anxiety...going to be away from my baby this sunday till tues for business trip...i know it is just a few days...but still cannot imagine how it will be like. Will he miss me? hmm...maybe he is too young to know that.

joycec,

Ya, i got alot of that during the 1st month ... like i said previously in this thread, i hate it when they start to impose their ideas/beliefs on how to take care of bb. Now at least better le cos they know i'm doing it my way.

joycec
same here lor, make me look like a super lousy mummy but in actual fact who knows our babies better than we ourselves.. thinking of it i can vomit blood sia.. LOL

joycec: YES! alot... i still remember those who keep commenting that i duno how to take care of my girl when she was young... most people feel that i am too young to be a good mother, etc... so pass comments here and there...

imagine my fil saw a bruise on my girl's and ask her if i beat her! mega pissed!

but then again, now i feel damn good when the same group start passing comments like my girl is one of the most well-behaved, respect elders, etc... i guess time will prove ba...

I dun think anyone will still dare to ask me those questions like they did 4 years ago... :p

Even my hubby who used to tell me off for buying too much books... but when he saw how good my girl can be with comprehending stories and stuff... he actually offered to buy those expensive book sets!

In short, just believe in yourself!

re: carrier
im using ergo n i tink its really worth the investment!

its much easier to take the public transport using it
recommended by my frend...she used ergo to bring her 6mth boy to europe
i went to first few years at paragon to try both baby bjorn n ergo...ergo's support is so much better...bb feels lighter in it

mashy,
u can get peg prego fr cheong choon..ard $600 dun need wait for sale n they haf free delivery
i got mine there...in fact most strollers they carry are 20% off shopping centres prices

kikilala,
im doing the same..although ryan has no teeth yet..he has started to bite me n its painful..hope to wean him off latching at nite...but seems v difficult
already so lack of sleep...dun latch he will juz keep crying...dilemma
i haven seen any shops seeing it yet...how big is kiiron's head?
i got a new beanie, not worn yet cos too big for ryan...can lend to u if u wan? got another one...woollen one with wings...abit big too
sms me at 97687676 if u need them?

Piggytoh
ya lor.. singtel service not so gd. but than when u talk nicely to them, surprising they tried to help u wor. haha.. i gg to write a recommendation letter to singtel about one of the guy who help me get a technician very fast wor..

my boy can stand but than also ned support. but he still can sit well. haha..
=============

Phy
u kw my boy sometimes he cries than i ignore him.
he will stop after a while and go back to sleep.

==============

Any ladies bb let their bb sleep alone liao ma?

Yah, even hb at times why need to do this and that. Thanx ladies for all the encouragement. It's always nice to know that I can turn to this forum.

Kikilala,
I think I have the bape beanie too, but it's those cotton kind. Is it good enough? Think it's red and blue...haha somewhere in the drawer. I can lend it to u first cos I dun think aaden needs it now. I washed it clean clean liao, just tht no occasion to wear. Let me know if u need it. My office is in the east side and i will be in cityhall tomolor for a meeting.

kikilala> was suppose to get the irobot when i moved in to my new place. but my grandma wanna buy me a vacumm cleaner, n i feel bad making her pay 700+ for it, so i bought a 400bucks karcher instead. regret. now i think i m gonna get a irobot soon -_-

irene> i m not a sahm, so i got no time to do anything =p

pegsfur> the shopping mall i find most baby unfriendly has got to be suntec -_-

babiesmeme> tummy to back as in flip from tummy to back? my boy can do tat quite early, but he still cannot sit himself without support from his hands. n he is lazy even to support himself sitting sometimes, will rather fall n tummy time -_-

joycec> i'll juz ignore. cos i believe everybody takes care of babies in diff way, tat's my baby n i know wat's best for him. =p

Baby Sleeping

i hope this will help those mummies if keep on waking up at night.

i used to pick him up and put him to sarong when he cries. my doc suggested me to tie some toys to bb bed than let him play and than sleep after he is tried playing w d toys.

whenever he cries, i let him cry a bit longer than go to him. i don go immediately. i will put his tutu and disappear fm his sight immediately after that. i realise if put his tutu back liao and see him, he will cry again.

if he continues cry, i will pull his toys than distract him and let him play by himself till he sleeps.

last sat and sunday than he cries few times. than sun, when he cries again, my hubby wan to go to him, i stop him. bb cries a while than stop and flip to sleep.

above is my experience la..

Michelle,
sometimes already feel very overwhelm at work, I really do not need those comments but more of support lor. once my auntie kept passing those nasty comments, I cannot tahan but cannot talk back also. So just kept quiet, guess she can feel frm my body language tht I wasn't happy and she stopped talkin abt it. Than they will go thru my mum lah, kept askin me to do this and that. Like why dun put baby there and let him watch tv instead of carrying him all the time. Haiz...

Michelle

ten fingers up man. suntec is really baby unfriendly lor. the shops for bb cannot make it leh. is it bcos they so near to MS?

joycec

i don kw what is the topic abt but letting bb watch tv not so encouragable.

u know zoe tay, she also tries not to let her son watch tv before 3 leh. that time paper got report ma.. i only weekend let bb watch tv for 10-15mins wor..

Joycec,
take it easy
for me i nv bother wat they say.. my mum is the 1 alway tell me this n tt.. but i nv bother n tell her dr say no etc now she cant be bother to nag me liao cos she know i dun listen n i am quite stubborn.. for relatives they will advice me this n tt i will jus smile n say no i prefer my way n they can see tt i am handlin my bb well all by my self so they got nothin more to say.. but of cos older generation alwaythink they eat rice more than us n they r alway rite.. jus dun bother abt them lor..

SBB,
ya my bb can sit v well also... soon ur bb will be able to stand on his own as well:p

joycec - just ignore those comments. we simply dun need these "uninvited" comments to add on to our daily work stress.

being first-time mom, to be away from baby for a few days is not easy. i could not bear to leave my son too that's why had to ask my hubby to come along when i was on biz trip. ask your hubby to put him on webcam so that you could see him everynight

joycec
I also wonder why people always like to give non-constructive comments. Like my FIL, everything he also got -ve things to say and want to give me instructions... if not he will ask "like that can meh?"
Cant they just give words of encouragement instead?

Everything, I will think of all the counter-measure reasoning that I can use to answer back to them, but I no guts to say out lah... entertain myself only lah...

those KPO ppl always love to comment.got in2 a big fight wif my hubby side few days ago.
They love to say
-how come my girl donno how to use straw drink water how old liao y nv teach.
-how come mux drink so ex milk (im givin my girl mamil gold)
-they love to carry my girl & shake her till cry & say tat they love to c my girl cry (omg)
-they even comment on y me & my hubby treat my girl like gold....
all these nasty comment comin out frm their mouth make me real upset. the best thing is they haf their own child yet these kind of things they still can say out.

Thanx gals! Feels like home whenever I log on. Haha...at least people here r geniune and know what's like being in our shoes.

Kikilala, I will bring the beanies to work let me know if u need them.

Eunice, we had thought of bringing hb and aaden there but I couldn't extend my stay due to work commitment back in Singapore. Luckily hkg is same time zone as in sin and I will be away for 2 days. The biggest test is tht I will b away for about 1week in April and it's a different time zone. Goin to take loads of pictures with my hp so tht I can always look at it

nordic naturals fish oil

just realised i'm running out! anyone wanna share shipping n order from iherb? that's the cheapest with dhl delivery straight to singapore right?

sandy
wahlau! Are they crazy or what? What kind of ppl love to see children cry? I'd grab my bb and just go. BEtter than stay there get high blood pressure and bb being tortured

jul
will u also have the 12% discount from iherb?