(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Donkeymami,
many pp told me porridge cook with fish bone is v gd so my MIL keep cookin tt for my boi but the fishy smell is sooooooooooo ahem...

Re:porridge
i find the porridge turn v watery after a while wor.. any gals got any advice how to prevent tt?

Reira,
oh so will replenish huh.. ok gd shall go again

sounds like the sale not bad... duno if i should go down... the last time i went was abit upset... save the money in buying sale items... end up got fine cos forgot to put coupon... so back to square one...

Mattel Sales
No more walkers, no more ride-on (left the display set), nothing good for baby. It is a very dirty n dusty place. I only stay for less than 10mins there. Wonder how they sustain the sales till 28 Mar 10. It's a wasted trip for me. Trying to force myself to buy the Fisher Price potty, but it's so dirty n the dirt cannot be cleaned... guess tomorrow I'll drop by Isetan Tampines babyfair to grab something for baby instead.

BB
Tampines Isetan got babyfair? I was shopping there this morning but only see a very very small area selling some toy and clothes.
If it is, then dont go purposely.

piggy
yah, porriage will become watery... I got adviced to keep it warm and dont keep stirring when feeding. Use spoon to scoop the top only (like people scooping "dou hua")
It works for me

joia

i think the manduca n ergo carriers are abt the same. same way of wearing, with the waist belt, backpack style etc..

but the carrier shop was advising not to use front carry too long, esp when baby gets heavier. something abt unnatural position, strain on the crotch n spine.

oh.. i'm a cooking idiot too lor!

mattel sale

only bot the same walker as reira n a shape sorter toy. the shopping cart walker was $80! din wanna buy at that price. n jumperoo also too expensive.. already got rocker... so bothing much to buy unless i wanted to splurge on car n basketball.

Kiki,
i did tt too but the below 1 all v watery

BB,
oh all sold out liao ah.. i tink all the gd item all sold on the first few day...

piggy
the porriage you make, is it those cantonese gluey type or watery teochew type?

For me, I cooked till sort of in-between... If I blend it, it will become gluey, if not then I just scoop the bits from the water to feed.

Kiki,
I make those gluey 1 I blend the brown rice into powder.. Maybe too big bowl Liao cam feed all fast enough be4 it turn watery

Reira, yah she has short black hair with baby in arms. I hav short hair too, carrying a grouchy baby in a carrier with him facing me. That place was damn hot on yesterday.

Went back today again to change the toy. Think a lot of toys were sold out already. But I bought something again to my my trip worthwhile. Haha...

Eunice, I wAs lookin at the house u bought. Very tempted to buy...but it's quite expensive leh. Dun think I have place to put that too.

Jul, well at least u like that carrier rite? Saw a dad using it yesterday, looks quite nice. Very tempted to get the beco, cos it's design is very nice. Haha...think better not, if not my husband will ask me how many kids I have. So 2 carriers are enough Liao.

donkeymami,
thanks!!

regg,
ryan was so happy to see regan on sat!

i started giving ryan si sen brown rice fr the medical hall...only 2 days...his poo stinks!!

Mattel sale

I went down with hubby and baby this afternoon too. Really not fascinated with the stuff. Too hot! Wanted to force myself to get small items but ended up not getting them. Not confident with getting big item toys ($40, $50) in case they are not in good condition. Wanted to get FP learning home which is priced at $150. In the end also didn't buy cause not sure whether it was cheap. Discovered that it was actually very cheap as original price was $229. regretted not buying but thank God we went OG orchard point at night and FP
learning home was $149! Bought it in the end. Haha.

Michelle, no worries will keep it for you heehee

I'm FTWM wat time u coming tmr or tue? after 8pm ok for you? cos oli me & bb at home..hubby go for biz trip from tmr till fri.

Sharon, you are most welcome

Piggy, i thk fish is good cos DHA mah...but like wat u say the smell haha...

I make porridge for my gal these 2 days she can finished almost everything so i concluded that she doesn't like to take cereal...mayb she dun like the texture...

piggytoh
seems that they dont replenish the toys. but i find it a bit weird that the toys are mostly sold out and the sale lasted for 2 weeks

Jul
i wanted to buy the rocker so much!! but after thinking about it, didnt cos dont think Zachary will want to sit in it now.

Topic of the Day is on your Mettal purchases! Good for all. I think th FP Digicam is a really good buy. Would have bot that if I went too.

Cooking Porridge

I cook in the simplest way.

Cut the waist meat into pieces. Put waist meat, water and rice into the pot (bot a special small claypot for this purpose). Then cook. When porridge is about cooked, add carrot, fish and sweet potato, Spinach.

So far. my ger has tried:
Carrot
Potato
Sweet Potato
Fish (Threadfin)
Spinach
Apples.

Pumpkin - She hates at 6 months. Will let her try again at 8-9 months :p

Currently am feeding her 3 solids a day. Milk - have to add one morning feed (abt 5am cos not latching anymore), then 11am, 4pm, 9pm. She dropped one milk feed after started on her dinner solids meal. Have started to give her Nan 2 cos I pump every 6hly.

Anyone pumps every 9 hly? Thinking of doing that when I start work.

donkeymami> oo. u r wking ah. keke. ok. will let u know if i pick up from u over the wk den. maybe wed ba. since mon n tues i shuld b hm earlier den 8pm. wed shuld be ok. pick up my boy after wk, den drop by ur place

had a bad scare over last week when Zac was hospitalised due to acute broncholities, he's discharged late on Friday and now on ventolin spray. Thks all for the well wishes on FB, sms and msn.

Pris,
just checking with you. Am thinking abt TCM for after-care, any idea how long to tiao and what is actually prescibed?

mattel sale
we went down on Sat to get the jumperoo seat (which they sold at $30) thk goodness, otherwise the jumperoo is a lost cause. don't know how zac did it but he tore the underpart of the seat.

in the end we pd $280 for other stuff, including a jumping/hopping zebra, little pple garage, a musical potty & FP camera since Zac is so fascinated by my camera.

almost got the learning home at $150, but had my eye on the FP laugh and learn chair & table but those are out of stock and won't be replenished.

the rides on will be replenished next week according to the mgr of the place, but he didn't have a fixed date either. btw they are moving to penjuru and it will be a smaller place and probably no more warehouse sales.

will be going down sometime next week (if MIL is looking after Zac) to check the ride-ons, anyone else going down next week, can help to keep an eye out?

New weaning foods
saw that some mummies have given cheese, yoghurt and rockmelon etc....is it safe to do so?

so far Zac is on a rather tame diet

tried him on the following:

Homemade and fresh foods
plain porridge - he doesn't take this gluey, prefer the cantonese style type

fish - threadfish
fish - codfish

pumpkin
spinach
carrot - he doesn't like this

Store bought foods
plain rice cereal
rice cereal with banana

bottled
brocoli
mixed veg
pear - he doesn't like
plum + banana

gerbers puff - sweet potato
gerbers puff - strawberry

all foods tried over a period of 2 to 4 days individually.

I'm getting not so fussed about following the 4 days rule (since there's no allergy reaction thus far) - any mummies here the same?

this week planning to start him on
1) sweet potato ( is it just me or isn't $5 too expensive for 2 small pieces of organic japanese purple sweet potato?)

no fruits this week as he still have phelgm.

milestones
Zac is almost 7.5 mths now and he still can't flip from tummy to back. He can only roll one way - left. He can't crawl, he uses his head and his tummy to slide around the place, leaving trails of saliva all over the place.

He sits rather well unsupported, as he finally realise if he uses his hands to support himself -he can't play with his toys.

He can pick up gerbers puffs but can't aim it into his mouth. It's funny watching him try to do this.

He still refuses to hold his milk bottle - although he finally realise that if he doesn't he doesn't get any milk, but then he rather cry till someone gives in and feed him. any bottle training tips?

he can't drink from those training sprouts or the straw type as well, i thought it was the cup but we tried other cups from pigeon mag mag to avent but then finally figures that it's because he doesn't like the contents (plain water). - any idea how to make him drink?

babymaking> same. i din go by the 4day rule too. sometimes in 1 day i can feed him so many diff food. depending on wat i eat, if i feel tat he can eat, i juz give it to him. he even ate my chawamushi long long ago. =p

morning ladies..

Babymaking,
hope Zac is better now

wah if no more mattel sales nex time gotta spent more on toy liao

my boi also dun like to drink from training sprouts wor trainin him to drink from straw now. so far only succeed once.. cos i only got time to train on wkend so v hard to train

but he manage to stand on his own yesterday so happy n proud of him

Donkeymami,
ya lor the smell is really v stinky! i keep tellin my HB he stink! lol~

I just bought avocado for Ovann ... but as i dun eat avocado (and thus i dun know), how to tell if it's ripe enough to consume?

pegsfur
the outside should be dark green and a bit soft when you press it.

when you cut the avocado, make sure the inside is not blackish or brown. the flesh should be yellowish green and soft enough for you to dig with metal spoon

michelle
so far ok? hmm chawanmushi also har? :p

piggytoh
yeah, zac is much better now, now hubby at home monitoring him, while i am at work.

I find it hard to train Zac on anything - cos i'm not home most of the time - either at work or weekends in class. He's closer to daddy than mummy as daddy works from home most of the time.

FTWM VS SAHM
In the end, esp after the bad scare, have to make a decision between Zac and work, in the end Zac won.

which is also just nice, cos finally my helper officially inform us that she would like to leave.

so har, I will be SAHM from April WITHOUT a helper - GOD help me.

Babmaking,
ya i agree v hard to train when we are not ard most of the time n i cant rely on IL to train him cos they lack of the knowledge on how to train etc.. tt so great! i wish i can be SAHM not long from now haha..

Night Waking

Phy*o* -- my baby is doing the same thing. it's been 6 weeks already. now she wakes up "only" 3 times per night... usually around 11pm, 1.30am and 5am.

i usually just latch her back to sleep but have been trying to stop doing that. last night, i only latched her once. the other 2 times she woke up, i or husband just carried her and she fell asleep after about 15 to 20 mins.

we thought it was teething at first and over the last 6 weeks have tried every teething remedy. 1 tooth has popped out 2 weeks ago but she's still waking up...

we also thought it was jet lag cos we travelled back to Sg but actually this started before we left for Sg, lasted throughout our time in Sg and now we're back in US, it's still continuing...

any suggestions? i am SO tired...

kiki/piggy,
Ooh .. ok, tks! Cos i dun eat and have never eaten avocado .. haha ... so dunno how it shld look like when it's ok to consume.

babymaking,
Glad that zac is fine now. Don't worry abt being a SAHM ... me & reira are also one, so welcome to the club
Let's support each other in difficult times

Pegsfur,
actually i dun eat also.. n like u nv eat be4...actually even not v ripe also can eat but slightly harder... n more diff to mash... the auntie at NTUC taught me if haven ripe dun put in the fridge leave it on the table for 1-2day it will be ripe..

Pegsfur / Piggy
I dont like to eat avocado too... that time I tried eating the half that is left over. I wanna puke!

My mum says avocado smells like baby poo! and she wonders why I want to buy such food for my baby... food even I dont eat myself!
true lah... so I stopped feeding avocado. cos my boy dont really eat alot (like 1-2 teaspoons) and got to throw the rest. waste food and $.
maybe when he can eat 1 whole thing, that I buy again

bbmaking
a few weeks back, many bbs were sick and we were discussing on TCM
many mums here brought their bbs to the 2 recommended TCM (check FB Aug bubs for address)

Kiki,
smell like poo ah? ok la dun smell so bad leh... my boi if mix with milk or cereal he can still finish the whole bowl wor .. cos avocado v gd for baby so since he dun reject i jus gave lo keke.. maybe i dun eat alot of thing includin vegie so i dun wan myboi to be like me so gave him alot "gd food" now..

my gal also keep waking up in the middle of the night... not for feeding... just wake up to cry a bit then pat to sleep again... isit due to the teeth going to come out?

babymaking, yes, you can do it! I used to manage without a helper and only had my MIL once or twice a week for a couple of hours to help out.

babymaking> ya. so far ok. have given him the heinz puree - apple, pear, pumpkin potato n beef. happy bellies brown rice, oatmeal, fruits - apple, orange, banana, mango. n some random food including chawamushi n others which i forget =p

woot. i m definitely not sahm material. wah. took leave today cos it's hubby's bdae. did de vacumming for one morning n i m dead tired now. cos my hm like 1mth+ no vacuum liao. think got to ask a part time helper to come in soon. it's so bloody messy!!!

gonna go for a good lunch, repair my ameda pump, hair cut n hm to pick my boy from his infant care n another day of leave tml. think i shall continue part 2 of my hm cleaning biz =x

weishy> haha. same la. i din wan go for the sale cos, actually i got alot of toys, plus my boy goes to infant care. after infant care he goes to my mums hm where he have his playgym n a few other tiny toys. when he reach hm, he's asleep liaos. wkend we usually out most of the time. so many toys no time to use. juz like his playmat, bought for 100+ lie there less den 10times -_-

irene> ya. think a PT cleaner is good. dun haf the torture of living with someone unfamiliar n yet have someone to help with the household chores

Michelle
Every time when I vacuum the floor, I'll tell myself that I'm so gonna get the irobot... but till now havent buy yet. Now staying with my mum, I dont need to do much housework.

piggy
My sisters are brought up exactly the same way... but strangely we got different peference about food. like i love durian but my sister hates it, and I dont like sotong but my sister loves it!
personally I felt food cannot force, I remember my mum forced us to drink this super sweet winter melon tea when I'm in primary school... created so much impression that all the siblings don't ever dare to drink "donggua cha" now. Scary!!!

Kiki,
no la i am not tryin to force y boi eat la at least expose him to vegie etc at least wun be like me now i cant except the vegie taste.. when he grow up if he really dun like i cant force him like wat u say also

ready to eat porridge

what's that?

cereal turns watery

why does cereal turn watery? sam doesn't like watery cereal but he takes sooo long to eat coz he's aws distracted n fidgetting abt. i have to make a bit of cereal, feed him, then make a new batch again. any better way?

joyce c

think it's not so much of liking the carrier but that it takes the strain off my arms! i din like beco. crotch area too narrow n the clip fastening's rather fiddly

reira

at this age, they dun wanna sit liao. noaways i use the rocker to rest sam n let him poo after feed. or 5 min in the kitchen while i wash up.

how many times of poo/day

sam's pooing after every feed! that's 5x a day! is that normal?

babymaking

zac's ok now?

abt tcm, i only know the yuguo @ kebangan. think it has to be regular follow up on massage, herbs etc for at least a yr. my sil's kid went there coz she had cough all the time,. the thing abt tcm's that u have to be regular n it takes veeerryy long.

sahm w/o helper? that's me!

Jul,

Yah, sam is a rather big baby rite? A carrier really does come in handy. Initially thought that a stroller is good enough cos usually travel with HB. Now i realise that a carrier is good cos it gives me the mobility and freedom to bring the baby around and yes, take the weight off by carrying them in arms.

How i wish aaden poos everyday. Cos he is a FM baby and is now on 1 meal solids, he doesnt poo that often even though my mil feeds him fruits such as apple or even papaya after each meal.