(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

i give abt 8 tsps of puree n 8 tsps of cereal for lunch +90ml bm. i'll slowly increase solids until i can cut out bm at lunch.. before i give puree/cereal at dinner n change to porridge for lunch. then cut out dinner bm n move on to breakfast oatmeal/cereal bah?

Jul,
actually since u r SAHM if can best to make fresh puree la..
hmm no gd to add the water to the puree ah.. hmm.. cos my MIl been addin it like soup mah we add in all the ingredient n drink the soup... cos i tink when we make porridge n we wan to add vegie to it no diff mah?

alamak i been teachin my boi to do the gong xi action durin CNY but he dun wan to do it tt time now he did tt many time a day dunno he knows wat it mean anot.. lol~

jul,

received yr pm. thanks!

piggy

i wanted to do fresh puree everyday, but really cannot lor. all the washing up for 1 serving is not worth it. nvm i tell myself frozen still better coz homemade hehe

dunno leh, my fren say one. maybe coz they're still young so not so good to use the boiling water to mix into the puree?

weishy, april

i use the same method to steam apple - 5min kao tim sai leh.. so i think prob not the pot. might be fire. i try again 2moro with boiling water n see if can shorten to 15min?

Hi may I know what you all do with the leftover over counter purée or sauce you eat or throw hehe.. My bb love brown rice cereal from happy times and gerber apple sauce but I have to feed hin half an hour than his usual time cos he run out of patience haha

april> keke. gonna let my boy try all too.

piggytoh> hehe. maybe. i nv tasted de cereal, but all smells nice to me =p

babiesmeme> usually wun have leftover, cos de last day he will be forced to finish all de leftovers =p

Some of the mummies are keen on the baby carrier. The one that i got is called Patapum. Bought it onine, but i think that they are no longer selling it when i went in to check just now. however, i think you can get it at this other shop, think it is cheaper as well. http://www.babyslingsandcarriers.com/

The lady frm the online shop (that i bought frm) gave me a pretty indept analysis of the various type of carrier. Ultimately decided on Papatum cos it is somewhat similar to Ergo and weight distribution of the baby is good.

Think ultimately is what you want from the carrier, e.g can pack into your ladies bag? can breastfeed in it etc etc. The Baby Slings and Carrier has a physical shop as well, perhaps can go there and try it out.

Weishy,
can you help me to get the pasta sauce as well? Would love to try out the garden veg since the expiry date is till next year. If you dun mind, i'll be at Hong Kong on 21 and coming back on the 23 Mar. Will be there on a business trip, i can meet up with you in the evening time and bring it back for you if you do not wish to check in.

by the way, it was real nice catching up with some of the mummies last sat. now we know that there are at least 3 joyces in the forum. haha...all with baby boys. next time if i am clearing my maternity leave again, will ask Jul out ok.

Aiyoh I've been coughing for close to 2 weeks liao and still not better. The doctor refuse to give me stronger cough medicine as I'm still breastfeeding. I'm thinking of seeing the TCM at Upper Thomson Rd,but wondering if can eat the medicine if I'm breastfeeding or not.

Any thoughts?

morning

do u all feed in between cereals..cos yday i try feed a bigger bowl of cereal n made it thicker..halfway thru my boy refuse to eat..so i fed water n he cont eating...wondering if i shld do dat? Will i cultivate any bad mealtime habits?

joia,
no idea also...

morning ladies...

Sharon,
usu half way thru the feed i will gave some water wor cos i find cereal, sweet potato v dry even i will feel thirsty if i ate those so i do gave some water...

morning all

sharon
how's ur boy reaction to the milk?

michelle,
the apple sauce is from gerber brand(brought into spore by nestle)

personally i think those apple sauce and other purees from "gerber" are better than "heniz" ones...

just a quick question mummies. zac is now 7 and a half mths but he still can't flip front to back. any cause for concern?

also anyone knows where to get a new seat cover for the jumperoo? zac tore the seat covering.

morning everyone

joycec,
thks for sharing

sharon,
i give water as well, he refuse open his mouth too, i give him water then he continue too..

morning everyone!

my gal refuse to take cereal recently..she can oli take few mouth then will start to give pattern liao...if i force her to eat she will give me pukey face...sigh! i think mayb becos she took porridge on wkdays by MIL...she prefers porridge than cereal

april,

Too bad i cant enroll Nat in the baby show.
Sporty baby is from 12-24 mths while the other show is photogenic siblings. Nat is still the only one for now...wasted..hahahahaha
Thanks for the link anyway

Hi Peeps,

If i puree carrots and sweet potato/potato, can i add vegetable stock or chicken stock to make it less thick instead of water or milk?

Another qn: Any idea on how to prepare chicken stock?

morning ladies!

would like to ask, is there a regulation by ava on food pdts tat we bring in ourselves? saw on sept thread tat they organize spree for HB & HT cereals. wonder if it's approved by ava. so a bit concerned if it's alright for me to feed baby wif the cereals bought frm spree. cos if by-pass ava means not checked by them for safety for consumption?

dolcevita,
they hv it every year, aim for next year.

sophia cheng,
i boil chicken stock using the backbones of the chicken, NTUC sell that too, or buy fm wet or dry market.

april, the chicken/pork stock use for wat ah? porridge?

btw, i thinking to make porridge for my gal tis wkend since she reject cereal..roughly how many rice & water shd add ah? cook wif slow cooker vy easy right?

Can I jus check w u...when u first started feeding ur bb (first week),
- how long did ur bb take to finish the food?
- how much did u give in terms of tbsp or tsp?
- how many times before bb is enthusiastic in eating?

hi donkeymami,
Aaden has been taking porridge during weekday for the past 3 weeks. Yesterday i gave him just brown rice cereal with FM and he is fine with it. 2 weeks ago, he totally ignore the brown rice cereal with FM and the carrot puree that i made. So maybe there are good days and bad days for babies.

Zen-the one from bought fom wreen is chked by e Ava e last time that's why take so long to collect.

Chickn stock-can use chiken bones,afterwards use sieve to drain out e fats etc.

bbmaking
Zac is quite heavy mah, My PD says heavier bbs will be slower. Zac's corrected age is 6+ mths, so maybe got to adjust a bit? Just give him more time to practice, I'm sure he'll be flipping around in no time!

weishy,
yup, wreen's cereals was checked by ava. but not sure abt those tat the mummies in sept organized. i very jialat. cheap i also worry abt this & tat. kiasi mummy. haha!

Joyce,
but vy fedup la..i purposely make puree for her she dun take woh..wasted my effort so thinking to try porridge see if she will reject or not..

donkeymani

dun use too much effort to make the food for your gal. It makes u more upset when she doesn't wanna eat and eating will become a struggle each time. I advocate min effort now.
Then if she doesn't wanna eat, i also dun feel too upset throwing the food away.

babymaking

yes, u need to make adjustments coz he is premature. So 7.5mths now is equiv to abt 6.5mths for him. Dun worry, boys are generally slower. Some dun even bother flipping and progress to other skills. Anyway he's still under KKH's care right? U can always ask the PD next time u see him. Anyway, dun carry him too often, let him be on the playmat & on his tummy more often.

weishy

u're now back in HK?

Zen,
no la all mummies will be concern abt wat we feedin our bb mah..if the cereal is directly imported from the factory i tink shd not be any prob bah since local 1 also from US. even for AVA they dun check every tin mah only random pick nia... if u worried abt tt particular lot she gettin den maybe u dun get from her? anyway she haven reply to my email yet also wor..

mashy, yalor so upset..i gave potato mixed wif spinach on Sat, she rejected...sun i tried potato wif carrot also rejected..then i give plain BR cereal she also dun wan to take...then mu hubby said dun force her mayb she dun like.

donkeymami,
maybe u try porridge lor if she also dun wan mean she havin strike on solid? keke.. i startin porridge with my boi today hope he wun reject my cereal lol~

piggy, cos i always heard MIL said she eat vy fast when she feed her porridge..yet she dislike my cereal & puree

Ya, i thking to make her porridge tis wkend to try try...

I gng HK wif in-law & bb in Apr...cannot cook porridge there..so thinking to feed her cereal but she dun take how? wat to feed her? jz give FM can?

Nat take everything !...hahhaha
Potato with carrot puree mix with BM, she finish up
Avocado with BM, she finish up
Cereal, she finish up
Porridge, she finish up
EBM, she finish up ( sometimes, as too distracted now )

Wat a greedy gal, like mummy...hahahaha

piggytoh,
my hb's work used to be involved wif copyrite/piracy etc. so we're usually quite concerned abt whether the thing is real or not even though the packaging is almost identical. cos even cordyceps also hv 'fake' ones.

tat nite she hv replied me abt the pricing. cheaper by abt $0.90 frm wat we bought tat day. but she haven't get back to me on the expiry.

donkeymani

some children takes some time to get used to the taste. What u can do is, offer the same food for a few days. After a while, they'll take it. So dun keep introducing new food.

donkeymami
dun worry maybe she just dun have good appetite on that day? can always give it a try again, or ask your MIL what she added into porridge, think for those vege or fruits she added you can try to add into the cereal and let bb try again?

HK usually you dun go for too long only a few days right, think just give FM also no problem de, plus by then bb is 1 month older there could be changes maybe she likes cereal already? and also can add in snacks for her lor, like banana easy to buy there and easy to prepare also, or biscuit?

PJPJ
I switch my boy to solid from beginning, although expert will suggest to slowly switch by giving milk as per normal and just add a few tsp of cereal.. see my answer below:

- how long did ur bb take to finish the food?
if he is hungry and likes the food, 25 mins, or else can drag up to almost an hour

- how much did u give in terms of tbsp or tsp?
cereal, puree or porridge i give 1 bowl so in terms of tbsp that's about 13, note: doesn't mean i put 13 tbsp of cereal and mix with other stuff, 13 tbsp means i mix everything already, maybe like 4 tbsp of cereal, 8 biscuit, some fruits puree so total make it 1 bowl about 13 tbsp, he eats around 6-13 but average around 10 tbsp de..

- how many times before bb is enthusiastic in eating?
well the first 2 times he was very excited and eat fast, then slow down a bit, now i dun think he is enthusastic but he just eats his food well like that..

Hi morning ladies,
Me back from battling my ger's runny nose.

Lately dunno why so tired, so didn't pump as much.

Anyway starting work in 2 weeks, abt time to give up pumping I guess. Milk ss getting lesser and lesser too.

Does anyone know of anyone selling off their bumbo? My no 2 easily bored. Thinking of getting her a bumbo to sit. But she can't sit w/o support yet, u think is advisable to let her sit in a bumbo? Cos I saw bumbo got support, thought it would be a good idea to let her sit in it.

mashy
agree with you, i think my boy also has this problem that if i keep introducing new food, he refuses to eat the same food for the 2nd time, so i've been giving him same stuff for almost a week liao, cook till i also sian liao, LOL