(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

duh.. piggytoh.. really got ppl do this arh? hehe.. i was juz kidding niah.. hmmm~ the most so far.. we oni brought 2 bags niah.. hvnt hit 3 yet. dun tink need oso lar... going forward.. they dun even need so much milk oso mah hor.

i noe my fren will owas bring bath towel oso de.. but we never did. no matter hw late we r out.. we came back n clean up.. even like 3-4am.

Felicia, playgroup is usually from 18 mths onwards and its 2hrs per day. The fee is about $150+/- per mth.

babiesme

one of the sep mummies organised a spree for happy bellies. it's $7.61/tin after shipping. pm me if u want her contact k?

happy bellies

sam likes the br cereal! after he rejects apple n carrot puree, he will happily eat some cereal. dunno y.. so tasteless.. ack! but then, i mix bm into it, so maybe got familiar taste?

poop

do u all find that bb's poop gets funny after starting solids? sam's poop changed from mustard to brown n drier after cereal. then with apple puree, the poop texture is like puree! so morbidly fascinating

Jul,
Can pm me the contact of the sept mummy ? It cheap but any idea mus wait how long?

Fat bobo,
actually when they start porridge more thing leh cos the food jar bulky mah but the luggage bag really too much la lol..

donkeymami
Re: drinking from straw
initially Zachary will suckle a few times and then try to drink all the water but end up choked. now, he will suckle from the straw and water will leak from his mouth and he have been doing that for almost a month! what i did is i told him he only need to suckle once or twice and drink. instead of suckle many times then drink cos the flow from the straw is very fast (compare to latching or bottle). he can only do that sometimes.

babiesmeme
$6 for the whole book? where did you photocopy it? photocopy shop ah?

those who bought foogo food jar
Is this the one you bought? http://www.thermos.com/product_details.aspx?ProdID=740&CatCode=FOOD&q=

anyone tried the leak proof straw cup? wondering if can keep water warm or not. the website says for maximum cold temperature retention.

for now i just put rice cereal to those formula milk powder container i got and bring out. then add in warm water and feed directly from the container haha. soon have to bring porridge and other food out. more and more things to bring out and my bag is too small. headache.

piggy

Tried to PM u, but dunno y not working? I try again later.

I think stock is coming liao. I placed order with her abt 2-3 weeks ago mah. And I MAY be able to collect by Fri. She said she has already paid Vpost shipping a couple of days ago. And she has some extra tins, but need to check how much stock she has lor.

U tried which one? I've only tried BR. Not sure if the multigrain n oatmeal are gd?

jul
no lah, i never use that cos too big to bring out. i am using lesportsac small travel tote.

i bought the oatmeal one. Zachary likes it. multigrain i never buy cos donno what is amaranth and quinoa. haha

for me, i stop buying cereal le. still have a pack of bellamy rice cereal haven't open. i opened the happy bellies brown rice cereal for 2 months liao, Zachary still haven't finish. jialat! so far don't smell weird so i think still can eat bah?

not to mention nowadays giving porridge and texture food more often... don't know when can he finish those cereal.

re: drinking frm straw
ethan still doesn't know how to drink frm straw. he bites & chews the straw and pushes it deep into his mouth.

jul,
can pm me her contact too? thanks! ethan likes HB oatmeal more than the brown rice. also dunno y.

Eunice-me too initially due to colour n thought the brand should be oki hehehhe.

Fatbobo-I do bring e trolley bag at times cos now hv 2 ma n carry different stuffs.once hit 2 can eat adult food better
bring lesser.

Cereal-bought organix (apple n raspberry ) was oki for Lucas too.ate all mixed with mAshed potatoes but without fm

Mommies wanna try making pasta can use "ABC" pasta with Peter rabbit sauce ( specially for bbs, bought in HK dunno sin hv or nt.1 jar about $9) abit ex but can dilute ma heheheheh

babiesmeme> i'm using happy bellies cereal. i nv really add a fixed amt of water to cereal. i juz add as i mix till i get the right texture. for happy bellies, realise less water is added to de same amt of oatmeal as compared to brown rice to get the same texture.

i've added heinz apple juice to his brown rice cereal before, have added selfmade banana puree before, oso added the pumpkin, potato n beef puree today. he seems to like it more =p nxt i'll add will be egg custard =p

piggytoh> went to the harbourfront shop today. totally no more cereal =p

jul> i've tried brown rice n oatmeal. as i mention before. to get the same texture of cereal, u need more oatmeal than brown rice. so brown rice is like more value for money =x

hehe. i'm getting one tin of multigrain from cookiezz as well to try. let u know if it's good

reira> wat kind of texture food u giving zac? i still dunno what to feed my boy other den cereal+heinz puree =p

think i need u all to tell me wat to feed my boy. but he's just turned 6mths 2days ago =p

zen

i pm-ed u. she said br is low, but om n multi still got stock

michelle

issit? but aws eat br very sian leh..

reira

oh i tot how can it be that careters bag too small for u when u dun bring ebm or fm haha

if ur zach is already eating other things then no need so much cereal lah. for me, the oatmeal is more for to give sam as breakfast next time. tot can put some fruit puree.. then graduate to mashed fruits n chopped fruits?

i'm soooo hot! just spent 45min re-org my freezer n now i'm sitting in aircon pumping coz so sweaty! grr!

i need a freezer!!!

anyone got lobang? i want the vertical ones, not the horizontal ones

Pris
Help!!!
How do you cook pasta sauce for Ray huh, I am lost cuz if cannot use oil then all the veges we give to baby really don't take very nice, esp for pasta sauce.. how how..

jul
haha your freezer looks great! so envy, how i wish i could have so much BM sia..haha.. for us no milk de more headache okie, LOL

jul
*clap hands* Wah, all your hard work paid off. Still remember in the beginning you were also worrying about ss low, but now can store up liao

jul> keke. ya la. so tat's y i open one tin of br at my mum's hm, one tin of oatmeal at my home. so usually mon-thurs he eat brown rice, fri-sun he eats oatmeal.

den when i'm in a good mood, i give him banana puree with his brown rice, and heinz puree with his oatmeal cereal =p

n i'm gonna get one tin of multi grain from cookiezz to let him try too. but other than all these ready food, i dunno wat kinda food i can give him liaos.

Mummies here. I have a qn on feeding. Actually most books mentions about feeding babies milk first before feeding solids.I used to do the reverse, feed solids first then half hour to one hour, follow by the same quantity of milk that she usally takes(180ml). But want to know if this is alright?

Now usually after solids, she can last longer before taking milk. She's taking 4 teaspoons of cereal and one teaspoon of fruit/vege puree.

Is there any hard and fast rule on feeding solids? Need to follow book that says feed milk first followed by solids? And if so how much milk to drink first? I assume not the same quantity right? If not will not be hungry for solids?

Joia
I read the same thing also but i guess there's no hard an fast rule, I am not an expert though but i am guessing the reason is when we first start baby on solid, they are not used to it so maybe if we give solid first it is hard to gauge if they are full or not since usually they dun finish all and sometimes they even reject it, so at least give milk first can ensure that they still get what is needed ba..

but now since my boy can take solid well, i also give solid directly, and if he finish all then usually that can last him 2-3 hours at least, but sometimes certain food he doesn't like de so he eats a bit, then about 1 hour later i will give him milk still, hehee.. that's just my thoughts only cuz i also dunno what should be the proper way..

Joia-no rules to me as long as bb is fine with it

Eunice-oki can
if I hv chk in then I buy for u.usually try nt to saves time for me ma heheheh but hv things to carry home I will

april-yes yes haven't try though ...... I make we meet up n share share heheheheh see if edric likes ma

pasta sauce-can use regular tomato paste Bt hv to chk if hv added sugar or salt le.

Pris - how u make ar

Thanks thanks. Haha this mummy is the go by book type because no experience

Am keen to start her on porridge in 2,3 weeks time. Have to be hardworking then since cereals so much easier.

Jul, I bought a mini freezer from Carrefour, the standing type with 4 levels of drawers. Hmm but cant remember the brand name now. I can let u know when I get home. Buy already then more determined to pump. How long are you intending to breastfeed till?

joia

Issit Farfalla? Do u rem how much?

Me ah. Think only till 9mths. Coz no latching, only pumping, really very tiring n very hard work. Now that Sam's on solids, I got more work to do, coz gotta prepare puree, porridge, dunno what. And I'm a kitchen-idiot lor.

It's too bad really.. coz if he was willing to latch n my supply is plentiful, I'll have gone to 1yr old.

weishy - pls help me get Peter Rabbit Organic Pasta Sauce - Garden Vegetable

ya lor so ex, i tink i rather be more hardworking to make my own puree haha. save $ also la

Jul-so funny when u say kitchen idiot heheheh but like Sam he's not born to walk etc ma
slowly la trial n error though

Eunice-ya man!!!fresh ones are better anyway. Maybe 1 or 2 for standby go outig etc

carrot puree

success tdy! finally i managed to get it right. but still had to steam more than 30min to get the carrot soft enough. what's wrong with my carrots??????

Jul,
Yes brand is Farfalla. Bought it at $299. That time has 15% rebate so was quite a good deal

Now that I have bf for 7 months, am thinking of stopping at 8/9 months. Already started to give her one packet of frozen EBM everyday.

Just came back from in laws place and MIL was asking why I don't start on porridge since my niece started at 4 months. Then she asked what the ifc feeds my girl. Told her they also feeding rice cereal with fruits and vegetables. I do intend to start her on porridge but not before introducing food with coarser texture since I believe it has to be in stages. Why the hurry???

eunice,
thank for the contact, i will email her to find out more fm her.

weishy, sauce share troublesome. tday start my kitchen adventure cooking.
today i going self made pasta sauce. boil tomota, carrot, n button mushroom n use handheld blender n make into puree, use tis puree to cook pork mince meat n gor hee. all the hor liao...
see if edric eat..

jul,
congratulations! u hv succeed in doing carrot puree, carrot dun hv ripe or not ripe. maybe u steam using slow fire? i use mid fire to steam.

Jul-dun hv la

why need 30 mins har? Urs is wat kind of steamer? Traditional? I'm using those electric ones

April-ohhhh think edric will like it but careful cos tomato sometimes abit to the sour side le. Let us know if he likes ya

joia-hummmm yup no hurry n realy stages .can't hv porridge or cereal all the time too cos later part bb will be lazy to chew on food when they R older

Jul,
thanks received ur email

carrot usu I boil cos can jus poke n see soft or not den will use the water I use to boil n add to the purée..

Michelle,
inonly try BR n OM I tink sg only have diS 2 typpe..

joia

oh.. but it doesn't have defrost function hor? do u have a lot of probs with the icing up?

i was thinking.. now if i get it, i use it to store fbm. then in abt 2 mths time when the fbm finishes, i can store puree, frozen stock etc to use for cooking.

coz i really cmi in the cooking dept, so if can make all those stocks or meat n freeze during weekends, weekdays can just thaw n give sam. better frozen than buy jar/packet, i think????

i also dunno if i can do it. but now my freezer so full, can't even have space to store anything else other than ice cubes, 1 sara lee cake n 1 box pizza

april, weishy, piggy

i put in a bowl, then stack on a pot stand inside the big pot n steam. maybe really fire too small?

aiyah so time consuming.. really must do 4-day supply n freeze liao. everyday like that v stressed.

piggy

oh my fren say better dun use the water to blend with the carrots unless using organic carroits coz got nitrates. so i just use boiled water to blend.

Jul,
no need stress urself 1... usu i make simple 1 cos wkend i alone n tons of chores for me to do.. so usu i boil sweet potato, carrot, potato, avocado etc i dun bother to steam 1...

piggy

hehe for me opposite coz hubs at home to help look after sam n wash up. so i plan to do puree for the followinmg week on sat/sun, then weekday just warm n feed.

coz i also pumping abt 2.5h everyday, really no time n energy liao.

No defrost function. It does ice up but only for the top compartment. The delivery person advised not to open so often so I usually fast fast open then store and close. Haha.

I do think if you make homemade stocks and meat better than buying from the supermarket. But how much puree you intend to freeze? I usually only make a few cubes because she eats her cereals with purees in ifc.

Jul, I'm like you. CMI in the kitchen. But for the sake of baby, I'm starting to take more interest in cooking as I want her to have nutritious meals in future.

For dinner, how much purees do you ladies give your baby? I was thinking of giving 2-3 teaspoons of fruits with bm. Is it too little? May have to also feed milk right?

These few nights,Sophie been waking up in the night again. Suspect she's still hungry but sometimes latch on and suck a while and she'll drift back to lala land.

joia

oic. ok then i'll fast fast open n close too.

i intend to make enough puree/mashed food/meat etc to last a week. sounds like i planning restaurent ops right? but my freezer's really small. so if i store raw meat n fish inside, then i need to store my fbm n puree elsewhere coz really no space left mah.

think 4 drawers will be a good size for me. coz i only have 80+ packs of 200ml fbm. then maybe leave 1 drawer for puree. in future when sam eats more proper food n i deplete my fbm, then i use the other drawers for stocks n cooked meat lor