(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

kiki - oh thanks, i didn't know latching lying down will cause more air....i never burb him la, cos after latch he fall asleep already mah, how to burp.? anyway i thot 6M already no need to burb right?
start porridge with grated carrot or potato, mash potato n pumpkin so far. no sure is it the food causing indigestion, but he seems to love the food more than his milk.

Jeni
I also never burp him lah, but if he wakes up and cries 1hr after drinking milk, then I will put him on his tummy and he will auto burp and its usually quite loud type.

I think my boy dont really like too sweet food. i gave him stream pumpkin / sweet potato, he just eat abit and will start crying. with the nestle apple and cranberry cereal also the same.

but the Nestle mix vegetable cereal he is ok.
so strange...
he just dont like to eat solids... lazy boy!

Sharing of information to everyone here who like to have healthy meal the next time u shpg at ctrpt robinson or OG @ orchard point, u can hv ur meal here http://www.nutrihub.blogspot.com/

i had lunch with weishy, n I suggest organic shop at cuppage plaza tat serve organic food meal. which I love their meal, ever since they start operation jun08. price reasonable,No meat. they oso sell organic pdts, thks weishy for sharing info tat can buy raw dry sweet corns in bits n raw dry lentils red, juz hv to cook it n mix with HB cereal. hehehe now i can feed him some new food.

kiki - oh that's a good idea, ya i noticed that he does burp loudly when he lie on his tummy sometimes..haha....
think my boy likes to try new things so any new solid seems good to him leh..plain porridge he also like it leh haha....pumpkin he eat already smille =) but heard say too high fibre, so can't give much ha?
potato - so so only, didn't have much expression.

how u mummies give apple? can just put in blender? or need to boil? i haven't tried yet...usually give what time for fruits?
also is it ok give porridge or solid food at around 6/7pm? bedtime abt 9pm.

harlo lades...

my boi also keep wakin up n fuss but eye close.. gave him teethin tablet but same so dunno teethin or jus a phase sigh.. really tough on workin mother...

Re: Lunch Jar
remember recently we talk abt tigerz/zojiroshi food warmer.. today i went to OG the havin sales both brand got sales.. after comparing i bott this zojiroshi 1 only $68 original price is $96 so u gals interested can go n see..

btw i tink some1 mention abt 1 tiger airpot can boil n keep warm for 24hr w/o the power on rite???

Jeni,
for apple i jus steam n mash...

Reira,
for sweet potato o boil instead leh cos can use the water i use to boil n add on to the mashedsweet potato the water actually v gd for them... n no change in colour also wor..

piggy, i tried to cut small piece and steam, but steam v long still like quite hard leh.

any idea if potato ok to give? or sweet potato is better?

Jeni
can give both potato or sweet potato
need to give them variaty mah.

babiesmeme
i dont put on mittens for my boy but will wear long pants with legs for him.

april/weishy, thanks for recommending the organic restaurant at Cuppage Plaza. My hb on strict diet now, so this place is great for him... I'm gonna try it out

babiesmeme
no mittens but socks yes, mittens are meant for 1 month old baby so now the biggest mitten is also too small for my boy liao, but he wears long sleeves.. socks i still let him wear.

Jeni
apple i never steam or boil just put into the blender and blend, mash also can de but blend is faster..

i give my boy solid at 6pm, and his bedtime is 9pm so around 830pm we shower him then give him another bottle of milk, cuz in fact milk can last longer than solid food.. so for fruits i give together with his cereal de so it's either 11am or 6pm or both..

kiki
my boy is exactly the same, he doesnt like nestle apple n cranberry cereal at all.. and that day the pear and apple i bought super sweet he doesnt like either.. he rather eat carrot or organic cereal which is not that sweet.. my sister told me most boys don't like too sweet stuff.. dunno how true sia..

can we start doing facial etc. while still breastfeeding? ok to use products wif amino acid?

and can we feed baby bread?

zen, I have been doing numerous facials, and all kinds of facial products from the dermatologist. So I believe its no issue.

Bread is too hard for the baby now I think?

mich,
u mean u use pdts frm the dermatologist or the brand is derma? i used to use pdts frm the skin doctor but stopped after i got pregnant. heard tat some ingredients will affect the foetus so i stopped until now cos still breastfeeding. recently i bought 2 pdts wif amino acid. not sure if can use or not.

Mich-was telling April tat u should get the cold press juicer for him

they hv papaya/pineapple enzymes le!!!

zen-the dosage is too small bah unless u gio for peels or aha treatments

i was eating the gardenia rasin bread jus now & my boy kept looking at me making noise tat he wans to eat. so my mum asks me to give him a little to try. i gv him a little & he wans more. fed him 1 more mouth then i stopped. suddenly worried tat it may cause allergy or something....

zen
I thought cannot use AHA when preggie, but never heard about BFing. If you are worried, then maybe use products that is safe?
I'm using SKII whitening now, also dont know if safe or not. :p

weishy,
in tat cast i'll go ahead to use liao. if not, dunno must keep until how long then can use. always buy & keep until expire then hb 'scold'. :p

kikilala,
i also dunno exactly which ingredient in facial pdts tat we can't use. onli remember tat certain things will cause abnormality in foetus so i jus stopped all & onli use aloe vera gel & bodyshop cleanser. dun dare to anyhow use. i kia si lah. now still dun dare to go do rebonding or colouring. only started doing waxing last week.

ya lor,
i got scared suddenly & read the ingredients. hv sucrose & yeast & dunno wat else. better dun give baby any 'rubbish' first. in case of anything......

zen, I think the only product that is not recommended when pregnant is Retin A because of the high Vitamin A compound. After I gave birth the last time and still bf, I did a procedure with the National Skin Centre and afterwhich the doctor gave me a bunch of antibiotic creams to apply. The dermatologist assured me it was safe for bf because things applied on the skin is superficial and does not enter the blood stream and therefore will not enter the breastmilk.

Now I'm using some skin products (not derma brand) that contains Vitamin A, and its such a small amount on my face, don't think it'll have any effects.

weishy, ha ha the cold pressed juicer, by the time i finish pressing the orange already night time liao! Anyway we have that Philips juicer at home which he uses to juice his organic veges. Pineapple enzyme in powder form??

kiki
i've been using SKII for 7 years, and during my pregnancy i also use it. i called SKII and also asked my gynae, no prob at all, the only ingredient that we cannot use is Retin A like what Mich mentioned, that is being used in anti-aging products usually, sometimes whitening products also.. for SKII they used to have a de-wrinkle cream that contains retin A but they stopped producing it already, so no need to worry, my gynae also told me it is alright to use, all safe..

he did mentioned some very technical terms but i can't really remember already, i think it might cause some abnormalties but not 100% sure on that..

zen, too much Vit A during pregnancy causes fetal developmental abnormalities. But I think in the case of bf, its safe lah, baby already developed.

thanks felicia & mich!

at least i know the reason why now. if not, onli blur blur know better avoid but dunno why.

I've been using Estee Lauder Re-Nutriv Range for more than 2 years including my pregnacy period, I've never heard of retin A is bad for fetus. I also never stop facial during pregnancy. My gynea also never asked me about it. However, my gynea mentioned that too much consumption of Vit A can cause deform fetus. BTW, I still rebond my hair twice when I was pregnant, and I never fail to paint my nails. Pregnant must still be pretty pretty mah.

Babiesmeme
My baby stopped wearing mittens only after 5months (she likes to scratch her face). I've no choice but to remove her mittens cos she knows how to remove them by herself. Now she wears coverall (sleepsuit with booties) to sleep in the air-con room, no mittens. If you touch her palms and they r cold, then either you increase the room temperature or you let your baby wear mittens lor.

BB
yup you are right, my gynae also say can rebond, curl, color my hair, and paint my nails, although i've not done any of these.. haha.. he say no prob de lah, not that you dye the hair red color later baby eyes also red color, so totally no link de..

just that 3 things he mentioned that might harm the fetus, retin A, smoked salmon and soft cheese.. haha.. so i stay away from these 3 only...

Kiki bb and Felicia, yalor the mittens are too small for him already and yes he tend to pull out himself I also scare he scratch his face which he did when he is younger and air con too cold for him. Shall try to lower the temp
thanks. How about blanket I been since he is born use the bean pillow to lay over his tummy especially now he loves to sleep sideways think he is trying to flip

babiesmeme
my air-con is set to 25 degrees. i think its not too cold.

I dont use the bean pillow as my boy either sleep on his tummy or his side. Will use a thin blanket to cover his legs.

hello mummies..

need help...
my bb having running nose n she also spread her virus to me.. i bf. do u all noe if i can take panadol cold n bf her at the same time? or i have to express n throw away e milk if i take medi??

jac~ya u can take panadol .

mich~ no no no its different type la.....it helps to retain the vits...wherelse normal juicer will spoilt the vits etc.....ig o search n let u see

weishy, thanks..so i jus continue to bf as per normal hor.. i;m sick n bb sick.. aiyo.. super tired... and she cannot lie down to slp cos her nose is making her irritated.. poor gal.. i can tahan.. but tis is e 1st time she fall sick... hai...

jacqueline> think u can take normal panadol. panadol cold cannot for pregnant mums, so shuld not be taking when breastfeeding too?

weishy? panadol cold can meh? tot only normal panadol can?

morning ladies...

any advice where to get nice bumper set for baby cot please? mine is FOC one from kiddy palace while i got the cot for my boy, free things are always not that good in quality so want to get one more set for him... hehee

jacqueline> i assume cannot. cos tat time when i was pregnant, my gynae specified no other panadol other den the normal one during pregnancy. i believe breastfeeding is same. cos when i went to see doc now, dey only give me pregnant safe medicine.

felicia> keke. i bought 2 sets of cot bumper set with matress cover everything from aussino. one is disney baby, one is discount past season one, n oso got one free one from buying his cot which i let him bring to infant care

mich, cold pressed juicer retain the vitamins is different from normal juicer, find a day u go down the organic cafe n taste the juice n u noe the different.
Papaya & Pineapple enzyme they self made is in liquid form.

Felicia,
I bought cot bumper from Robinsons, I will always compare the price @ OG orchard point & robinson ctrpoint, sometimes OG Orchard point hv promotions.

felicia
i bought 1 disney baby & 1 discounted set from aussino too..

michelle
when i open the disney set, how come the bed sheet and bumper no winnie the pooh one, oni the comforter have.. then we nv use the comforter also.. feel abit cheated leh.. hahaha..